Reader Question – We want a new “What to Read After…” list and even I am looking for suggestions for *this* one…

by Maryse on January 27, 2016 · 9 comments

in Book Recommendations

So many of us are in a specific series “book-fog” right now and we know… that Suanne Laqueur’s The Fish Tales Series is one of THOSE series, that deserves it’s own “What to Read After…” list.

We’ve fallen hard in love, become attached, GASPED in horror (and disbelief) cried our eyes out, and grinned with glee over their journey, and now that it’s complete, we want more!!! P.S. Here are my reviews, just to give you an idea. ;)

 

 

So maybe some of you have read this one, and have more suggestions? What has hit you THIS hard? Let us know, and I’ll start the official list. :)

LisaS : Maryse- I think you may need a new link for “What to Read after the Fish series.” I still feel like I’m just walking [reading] through my days with such aloofness. I just want to find THAT book to make me get lost in the experience again!!

Dawn: Maryse… i just finished The Fish Tales! I have never felt so emotional that I had to get up out of my bed chuck my kindle under the covers then go into the kitchen and start the dishwasher JUST to take a little breather. Have you that was 1:15 AM!!!! But I ended up running back to my room and finishing up by 2:30…then I couldn’t even fall asleep thinking about how in the world to recover!!!!!I loved this series and have no idea where to go from here… and I am an avid reader! I have over 3,300 books on my kindle! HELP!

Maryse: Let’s see what we can come up with. The Bronze Horseman Trilogy (even though the story is not similar), the epicness and feel is. What else…?

LisaS: Maryse- Gosh, I wish I knew as many that touched me like this series did. I mean, if EVER (Oh know, here come the waterworks again…no, no, no!!). Okay, I’m back ;-) Let’s think….

Maryse: The Tristan and Danika series definitely came to mind!! YES! :D And someone just asked me for a “What to Read After Shatter Me” list. LOL!!!

Anyone else?

              

Get Free Email Updates from me :)

{ 9 comments… read them below or add one }

Michelle January 27, 2016 at 7:54 PM

Ahh.. that feeling of dread that comes over you when you finish an emotional read and can’t imagine ever being as mesmerized or invested with another book. Please, please bring on “What to read after..” to help with this dilemma. The first book that comes to mind to follow is Riley Mackenzie’s Abruption. I can’t rave enough about how incredibly DIFFERENT this story is. There’s nothing to compare it to so it is a perfect “what to read after.” I saw you post about it, but if you haven’t read it and you’re looking for an emotional journey that feels so real and imperfect that you forget that they’re actually imaginary characters, or a book with twists and turns that make you question your own intelligence for not seeing things coming, or if you want to laugh out loud because you feel like you slipped into your own family reunion (as an outsider peeking in at the lunacy), and you want to fall in love with the most adorable kids ever, then you have to read this story! Can you tell that I’m having a book hangover?! Sigh. I’m jealous of everyone who gets to read it for the first time going in blind. Ooh– that’s a great list idea too!! “Books to go into blind”- don’t read the synopsis, don’t read a review, just trust and jump!

Robyn January 27, 2016 at 8:36 PM

Carnage series makes me keep thinking just like the Fish series. I read it over a year ago and to this day think about Georgia and Sean.

Theresa January 27, 2016 at 9:43 PM

Let’s face it. We have all read some great books, but I really don’t think any one of us has read anything that completely compares. The style of writing, the words, the emotions, the characters, the way the story flows and twines. Just unforgettable and is going to be next to impossible to find something even close.
Great authors we all read but these 3 books were beyond special.

Sofia Grey January 28, 2016 at 5:06 AM

How about the Curio series by Cara McKenna? He’s a Parisian male prostitute, and she falls in love with him. The story plays out over a few books, and alternates her POV then his as the story develops. They are beautiful and heart wrenching :-)

Also yes to the Bronze Horseman series. I lost so much sleep when I was glued to that!

Jeannie Smith January 28, 2016 at 9:22 AM

I loved the Shatter Me series! Some of the other dystopian books I have loved and recommend are Legend by Marie Lu, Matched by Ally Condie, Divergent by Veronica Roth (one of my favorites!), Delirium by Lauren Oliver and, of course, The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins. Another YA series I loved that isn’t dystopian but more paranormal (sort of) is Soul Screamers by Rachel Vincent. I loved it! All of these are series and are at least 3 books.

Tracey January 28, 2016 at 11:57 AM

I adore the Blackthorn series by Lindsay J. Pryor. Really dark and with incredible plot twists. Blood Shadows got me hooked!

Kim Box Person January 28, 2016 at 5:42 PM

I had a hard time moving on after I read Bright Side by Kim Holden. Since I’ve purchased all 3 books in the Fish series I better get reading. Maybe then I’ll have more suggestions.

This t an awesome idea! Can’t wait to read more suggestions

bev January 28, 2016 at 7:19 PM

But what’s it like, Maryse? What is it that it gives you that you want more of?
I haven’t read it & those books listed are so different from each other.

Lynn January 28, 2016 at 9:25 PM

It’s so tough to find something comparable to this series. The Bronze Horseman is probably the closest comparison. Maybe The Edge of Never & The Edge of Always by J. A. Redmerski?

Leave a Comment

 

Notify me of followup comments to this post via e-mail. You can also subscribe without commenting.

Previous post:

Next post: