What to Read After “It Ends With Us”

by Maryse on October 2, 2016 · 14 comments

in Book Recommendations

One of the BEST books of the year (and one of my new forever-favorites). It Ends with Us: A Novel has brought about many visceral reactions out of my fellow readers. And we can all say that no matter what, we will NEVER forget this one. In fact, it has touched SO many, and has shined a light on such an important issue, that many feel they have found a voice, and hope, through this realistic, profound and desperately important realization.

Janet: I’m playing catch-up. I just finished Colleen Hoover’s It Ends With Us, An absolutely stunning, heart wrenching, intelligent, 5 star read! Maryse, I can see a ‘What to read after…’ list on the horizon, but frankly it’s going to be a tough one to follow.

Maryse: Janet!! What a great idea for a list. It will be hard to follow, but I’d love to have one that follows that genre and level of depth and emotion.YAY!!! EXCELLENT!!!! :D *happy wiggles*

Josephine: In a book funk!! New list required please – “What to read after ‘It ends with us’ or anything Colleen Hoover”. Any suggestions appreciated!!  :-)

Allyssa: It Ends with Us has completely altered my mindset and has made me re-examine so many situations! I have recommended this one countless times already and will continue to do so!!

Marion: This book……This book it’s only August but I swear no one can top this book this year…..wow!!!!! It’s not just that I totally related to certain situations having been through them myself….but the feels!!!! I haven’t got feels like that since FSOG! Five beautiful shiny stars…

R. Renee: I can’t even imagine what to add to this list! I’ve never read anything remotely like it! I’ll have to check some of these out!

That said, I must insist… if you HAVEN’T READ this book yet, DO NOT LOOK DOWN!!! I went into the story “blind” and had the shock of my life, and was HOOKED from that moment on. It resonates. It radiates. But it does so even more, when you enter this love story as the heroine did.

Amy: Going in blind to It Ends With Us is what gave it the most impact, and not having any idea what was coming forced me to live every single emotion along with the h. And man, it was rough. Usually books are so black and white with this subject, but CH took the gray and made us SEE it and all the complexities which come along with that gray area. You know I still find myself thinking about it and saying, “but what if…?” right before my heart plummets into my tummy. THAT is how much it affected me.

Rebecca: it really is that powerful of a book…. the book shows how everything is not always in black and white. Some things you have to be part of to fully understand and this book pulls you into it to be able to understand! For an author to be able to transport you into characters they create, feel what they feel, their hopes and fears.

Alex: This book actually has been the one I’ve been really wanting people to read. After reading this book it really opened my eyes to how many woman in my life alone are going through similar things. So I really hope it ends with us opens their eyes like it has done for me.

The books below are those that we’ve found that have this similar “feel” (and IF you haven’t read this book yet, I don’t want you to know what it’s about by the blurbs, and/or titles and recommendations listed below). SO again… look away unless you are okay with spoilers of a “genre” or storyline.

R. Renee:  I never realized how much fun it is going in with no clue of what you’re getting into! It has to be recommended by people with similar tastes as me though! …I’d recommend it to someone who wouldn’t usually read that kind of thing. But, only if that person is going in totally blind. If not, it’s still a good book, but loses the wow factor that it has blind.

Janet: It Ends With Us – which I have recommended with abandon, to anyone who’ll listen…

And here are a few books from MY reading past that have this “feel” (the good… and the scary):

Pulled by A.L. Jackson <— Second chance romance but a scary aspect, too. (my full review: “I was so focused on the scary aspect that I almost missed the rest.”)

Amy:  I loved Pulled by AL Jackson. It was another book where I was so excited when I found this place and realized other people had read the same books I had! Okay, that sounds hokey but whatever. :P

Retrieval (The Retrieval Duet Book 1) by Aly Martinez (my review ”I can tell you what it’s about, but it’s so much more gripping when you go into it blind (even though I can acknowledge that if you KNEW what it was about, more than the blurb, that is, you’d still want to read it.“)

Amy: To comment on the suggested books…Retrieval is a great emotional book to follow It Ends with Us.

Transfer (The Retrieval Duet Book 2) by Aly Martinez (my review ”It had me swooning, and on the edge of my seat, terrified for what was about to happen next, and I was invested right to the very end!“)

Brutally Beautiful (The Beautiful Series Book 1) by Christine Zolendz  (my review “…there’s a reason she’s running…”)

Consequences: Book 1 of the Consequences Series by Aleatha Roming <— This one’s really controversial (and VERY dark). Not quite the same feel as Colleen Hoover’s book, but it does explore the subject matter, albeit in a different way. If you read it, you’ll see why (my review) and Cristina LOVED it!

Cristina: “I spent the weekend with the Consequences series. Definitely one of the most mentally and emotionally taxing reading experiences of my life. It was the most unpredictable love story I have ever read. This series shocked me and twisted my tummy over, and over, and over again. I say “love story” lightly. This series is not for the faint at heart. If you like an easy love story or an easy hero/heroine, run far, far away from this series. Is it dark? The first book yes. But after that, it was more emotional than anything else. I would call it a psych thriller.

One quality I look for in my hero, in a dark series, is redemption. That’s what makes it a love story for me. It’s here, but it doesn’t come easy. I wasn’t sure after book #1 it was even possible for me, by Romig’s superior writing got me there. This series is going to stay with me for a while. These kinds of feels don’t go away easily.

It’s time for a glass of wine and a light read. Phew! I’m brushing the sweat off of my forehead. Well done Aleatha Romig! Well done indeed!”

Truth: Book 2 of the Consequences Series by Aleatha Roming <— series continuation…

Jansen: I HATED Anthony Rawlings from Consequences by Aleatha Romig! Midway through Truth I was eating out of the palm of his hand!

Convicted: Book 3 of the Consequences Series by Aleatha Roming <— series continuation…

Fear of Falling: a Fearless novel by S.L. Jennings <— Patty loved it!

“What a beautifully written novel filled with so many emotions I haven’t quite been the same since reading it! I cried, my heart teared apart, I smiled, I fell madly in love with Blaine! He is a real, true Man! Syreeta has out done herself and just blew me away!”

Picture Perfect by Jodi Picoult

Accidentally on Purpose by L.D. Davis <— Lindsay suggests this one! “Accidentally on Purpose is somewhat similar-ish.”

Amy: Accidentally on Purpose (holy angsty gut twister!!)… I usually swoon over the H with them and hurt with them and freak out in jealousy with them, and even if the h acts like an idiot I usually still like her. But with this one? I just feel sad for her. Every time he ropes her back in (ooooooh he’s a JERKFACE, Maryse!!!!) I keep thinking, don’t do it, don’t do it, don’t– *throws up hands* Way to go, dumba$$. …yes, it has cheating and the h makes some awful decisions. BUT anyone who avoids it for that reason should know that she does have to face the consequences of her actions…and damn, that woman is humbled.

Mia Sheridan <— Jo recommends this much-loved author! “I also think that any Mia Sheridan book deserves to be on your list :-)” (I LOVE this author too. Here are my Mia Sheridan book reviews).

Only For You by Genna Rulon <— Anna suggests this one! “I loved It Ends With Us! I love everything Colleen Hoover writes, but this definitely felt like an important book. It’s not quite the same topic or even really quite the same level of depth- but a while back when I read Genna Rulon’s Only for You, I remember feeling good about the way she tackled some tough topics including the culture of violence and the role of bystanders. Also the different level of vigilance required of nearly all women with regard to their own safety.” Sidenote: Hey I read this one, too!!! Here’s my review!

Don’t Make Me Beautiful  by Elle Casey <— Chris recommends this one! “Don’t Make Me Beautiful by Elle Casey. Also based on true events. So good. The author usually writes romantic comedy stuff.

Thou Shalt Not by JJ Rossum <— Nancy is adamant about this one belonging on this list!

Maryse: I know I have mentioned THOU SHALT NOT by J.J. Rossum. It definitely belongs on this list!! It is one of those books that you want to go blindly into reading. It is a forbidden love story that is emotional, angsty, with cheating and adultery. It has a shocking ending!! The rather difficult factor is that you can no longer buy the Kindle edition. (Only paperback). I bought my Kindle copy back in 2013, so those of us who squirrel away books we buy, should have it in our Cloud.

Delicate Love: The Stonewater Series, book 1 by Josephine Brierley <— Mary suggests this one! “Delicate Love by Josephine Brierley. Real life mixed with real love and 36 questions that you have to answer for yourself! It will hook you in!”

We’re desperately seeking more!! Let me know if you’ve read this one, and what you have to recommend that has this “feel” or subject matter (new or old!)
              

Get Free Email Updates from me :)

{ 14 comments… read them below or add one }

R. Renee October 2, 2016 at 9:10 PM

I can’t even imagine what to add to this list! I’ve never read anything remotely like it! I’ll have to check some of these out!

Lindsay October 2, 2016 at 9:13 PM

Accidentally on Purpose is somewhat similar-ish.

Maryse October 2, 2016 at 9:18 PM

I’ll add it, Lindsay! :D

Ashley October 2, 2016 at 9:43 PM

Marion…. FSOG?

Marion October 2, 2016 at 10:39 PM

Fifty Shades of Grey, Ashley….. in terms of the “feels” & how hooked I was.

Jen C October 3, 2016 at 12:21 AM

Eeep, I’m about to start this one. I loved Consequences and Accidentally on Purpose… Can’t wait to see how It Ends With Us plays out.

Mary October 3, 2016 at 8:19 AM

Delicate Love by Josephine Brierley.
Real life mixed with real love and 36 questions that you have to answer for yourself!
It will hook you in!

Nancy Parken October 3, 2016 at 9:49 AM

Maryse: I know I have mentioned THOU SHALT NOT by J.J. Rossum. It definitely belongs on this list!! It is one of those books that you want to go blindly into reading. It is a forbidden love story that is emotional, angsty, with cheating and adultery. It has a shocking ending!! The rather difficult factor is that you can no longer buy the Kindle addition. (Only paperback). I bought my Kindle copy back in 2013, so those of us who squirrel away books we buy, should have it in our Cloud.

Chris October 3, 2016 at 2:02 PM

Don’t Make Me Beautiful by Elle Casey. Also based on true events. So good. The author usually writes romantic comedy stuff.

Anna October 3, 2016 at 2:12 PM

I loved It Ends With Us! I love everything Colleen Hoover writes, but this definitely felt like an important book.

It’s not quite the same topic or even really quite the same level of depth- but a while back when I read Genna Rulon’s Only for You, I remember feeling good about the way she tackled some tough topics including the culture of violence and the role of bystanders. Also the different level of vigilance required of nearly all women with regard to their own safety.

Jo October 4, 2016 at 12:22 AM

I loved It ends with us, I also think that any Mia Sheridan book deserves to be on your list :-)

Amy October 4, 2016 at 7:19 PM

Going in blind to It Ends With Us is what gave it the most impact, and not having any idea what was coming forced me to live every single emotion along with the h. And man, it was rough. Usually books are so black and white with this subject, but CH took the gray and made us SEE it and all the complexities which come along with that gray area.

You know I still find myself thinking about it and saying, “but what if…?” right before my heart plummets into my tummy. THAT is how much it affected me.

R. Renee October 4, 2016 at 7:20 PM

I’m going to be down a friend tomorrow because of that book! She emailed me earlier today asking for a rec. Just a few minutes ago I get an email,” OMG I LOVE Ryle!” Guess she’s reading it. :D

Amy October 4, 2016 at 7:47 PM

To comment on the suggested books…Retrieval is a great emotional book to follow IEWU. And I loved Pulled by AL Jackson. It was another book where I was so excited when I found this place and realized other people had read the same books I had! Okay, that sounds hokey but whatever. :P

And Accidentally on Purpose…yes, it has cheating and the h makes some awful decisions. BUT anyone who avoids it for that reason should know that she does have to face the consequences of her actions…and damn, that woman is humbled.

Leave a Comment

 

Notify me of followup comments to this post via e-mail. You can also subscribe without commenting.

Previous post:

Next post: