Book Review – A Beautiful Wedding by Jamie McGuire

by Maryse on December 9, 2013 · 18 comments

in Jamie McGuire, My Book Reviews

A Beautiful Wedding: A Novella (Beautiful Disaster)
Okay, now… if there is anyone out there that hasn’t read “Beautiful Disaster“(book #1) yet, first: what what whaaaaaaaaaat!!!?? And 2nd: read it ASAP. It’s one of my favorite books in the whole world  and (my absolute favorite book-guy in the whole world)! So much so that I have about a million things on this blog about it. But you can start with my pre-review (I already loved it so much, I couldn’t wait to tell everyone about it), and then my main review. ;) But if you haven’t read it yet, skip this review (below) and don’t start with this book (yet).

Now, for the rest of us (and I’m thinking that’s about 98% of us here?) hehe… you know where I’m going with this, don’t you?

Me ‘n Travis. ;)

OMG TRAVVVVVVIIIIISSSSS!!!! Traaaaaaaavissss!!!! *giggle* I know, I know… you totally saw that coming didn’t you? Me ‘n Travis forever!

  • Maryse + Travis.
  • Maryse *hearts* Travis.
  • ♪♫ Maryse and Travis, sittin’ in a tree… ♪♫
  • ♪♫ Goinnnn’ to the chapel and we’re… gonnnnna get maaaried… ♪♫
  • Mrs. Maryse Maddo… Er… too far? eek <—- Oh no. Eeeeeep!!! Husband is side-eyeing me as we speak. *squeezes hubby*

Hehe. Alas, it’s not my wedding I’m swooning over (but I certainly tried to make it be), but anything that has Travis in it is 100% squee-worthy to me.

*love*

I love him SO much in fact, that I announced and arrived at our (I mean HIS & her <—*pouts* sad emoticon) wedding ONE week early, last week. rolleyes Oh yes, I was all dressed up with no place to go, ’cause… he wasn’t there yet. *blush* lol But I don’t think he knows, so let’s just pretend I wasn’t. Oh and…

*jedi mind tricks you*

“This isn’t the video you’ve seen before…” <— Keep going past the video below, to read my review….

YouTube responded to TubePress with an HTTP 410 - No longer available

*giggle* Okay yes, I know. You’ve likely seen it. And no… Travis isn’t marrying me. Hrmph! *kicks the air*.

But we already knew that, ’cause THIS is THE wedding that we sorta missed in Beautiful Disaster. This was that missing scene that I so wanted to indulge in. After allllllllll of that in Beautiful Disaster… THIS. Finally. It was there, yes, but this detail, and introspection, is SO much better.

And what an unexpected gift this was. Travis. For almost Christmas.

It was the sweetest treat with a touch of angst.

Despite my struggle to focus, I did hear him say this:

“The only thing I’m afraid of is a life without you, Pigeon.”

Yep… even on their wedding day, there was a moment of doubt. Just… not what you’d think, but exactly what I needed. Sure, I already knew the outcome, but I felt so much for Travis at one point (okay at ALL points, but especially at one point),

… my blood ran cold.

Why was she crying? Who was she crying to? Didn’t she want to marry me? Should I confront her? Should I just wait it out and hope to God she doesn’t call it off?

Abby picked herself up off the floor, struggling with her bags. Everything in me wanted to run to her an help, but I was afraid. I was f$%king terrified that if I approached her in that moment, she might tell me the truth, and I was afraid to hear it.

…and I totally got Abby’s thought process, concerns.

I had to take Travis far enough away, for a specific reason. Something believable, even if it was crazy.

And then… extra concerns.

‘Cause it wasn’t easy, you know? After having survived that tragedy, it didn’t take long for the worry and the guilt, and the need to make this forever, to take hold. Abby feels the need to protect Travis, and she does whatever she has to do. Does it make sense? Is it going to work? I was alll… errr… “I dunno, Abby” I had my doubts. But, well I guess it depends on who you ask (I’ll let you find out what I mean, with that). And what I mean about the “extra concerns”.

Are they too young? Depends on who you ask again, but if you ask a hopeless romantic like me? Heck no… it’s Travis, after all. ;)

Sensible or not, it felt good to be loved so much, and I decided right then and there I would stop apologizing for it. There were worse things than finding your soul mate too early in life, and what was too early, anyway?

The ultimate protector, lover, devoted, loyal, ex bad-boy, but always bad-ass that anyone would be lucky to love, and be loved by.

And there’s an EXTREMELY touching moment that had my heart aching with an abundance of love. A few moments, actually, but there’s a very special one… a special something.

Did I LOVE it?? YES I DID!!!! After all, anything Travis is #1 in my book (yeah yeah… I know I sound Travis-biased and I’m owing it! If that’s the only thing I can own of him, I’ll take it! :P ). But no worries, this one rocks. Travis rocks. And Abby? Well, we already know she’s a shrewd pigeon and anyone that Travis loves that much, well. Yes. She rocks too.

4.5 stars! Ahhh okay fine. 5 stars! For me, it’s hard for anything in this genre to measure up to Beautiful Disaster (which I easily 5-starred)… even this. But you know. I can’t help 5-starring Travis and his delicious intensity (and you get it here, even if it’s “short and sweet”).

It’s a fantastic, slightly sad, sweet, bittersweet and heartwarming novella that compliments the series perfectly!

P.S. Thank you to the publisher for sending me this awesome, gorgeous review copy! Do you think if I slept with it under my pillow, it would… Oh no? It doesn’t work that way? neutral *hrmph*

Get Free Email Updates from me :)

{ 18 comments… read them below or add one }

Renee December 9, 2013 at 10:21 PM

I can hardly contain my excitement You are the one who turned my reading world around and I discovered my love for bad boys( I’m of the firm opinion now that every girl needs a little bad boy in their lives from time to time ) when I discovered your blog one night while in the worst, just found out I’d never work another day in my life, funk of my life!! Your review of Beautiful Disaster had me one clicking that book so fast my head was spinning and its the first book I can say I stayed up all night reading till 6 a.m. when I sadly read the last word in the book I’m obsessed bought a paperback copy then the audio book and if course the autographed hard cover and did the same with Walking Disaster too I recently was in a used book store I discovered by accident and saw on the cover your quote of Five star plus!! This is one of the best books that I have ever read–Maryse’s Book Blog and bought it in three seconds flat ad I’d debated on the kindle version I owe you a big thanks for The Edge Of Never too!!! Thanks for all you do for your fellow book obsessed readers (that’s me) You’ve never steered me wrong (even fell in love with your fav dark reads too) With a bad back, my kindle and your suggestions/reviews have made life a little brighter!! PLEASE KEEP THE REVIEWS COMING and I’ll keep following and reading <3

Maryse December 9, 2013 at 10:27 PM

My pleasure Renee and I’m thrilled you took the time to let me know!!!

You and I appear to have very similar (or same!!) books tastes! And OMG “The Edge of Never” had my physically reacting. I’m so glad you bought it!

*hug*

P.S. Do you have an absolute favorite book yet? :D

Renee December 9, 2013 at 10:56 PM

It would have to be Beautiful Disaster as its the go to book that I tend to pick up and reread so many times I LOVED The Edge Of Always Oh my How I devoured that book and I know I reacted to that book in so many ways loudly I also was envious of the whole jump in a car and go where ever the wound take us journey to How amazing would that be??? I found myself loving Beneath the Burn too If it hadn’t been kindle I was reading on I would have thrown that book a time or two and found myself holding my breath more than a few time too!! My TBR is huge loving all the motorcycle club books (HUGE Sons of Anarchy fan), the dark reads even if they tear My heart out or make me a nervous wreck, the erotic side which I swore I’d not read earlier on in life. Who knew a m/f/m read could really hook me That’s Nicole Edwards of course and I actually heard so much bad about Fifty Shades Of Grey but read them last month ……I’d say we do have a lot of book interest the same but you also make me go places I never thought I’d go with the type of books and I’m loving my rediscovered love of reading

Renee December 9, 2013 at 11:13 PM

Omg how did I forget student/teacher ……..Good and then Better are my fate ABW reads!!!!! Yeep

Maryse December 9, 2013 at 11:44 PM

I want to read Nicole Edwards SO bad!!!! I should totally get started on her series.

And Good!! OMG that was sooooo “sort of” taboo, that I was on the edge of my seat the entire read.
And “Fifty” YES!!!! Still remember how amazed and in a love fog I was after reading those.

Leslie December 10, 2013 at 8:40 AM

I can’t wait to read it today. Kids are home because of a snow day and I don’t have work. I can’t wait. I love Travis. He is so perfect in an imperfect way. I frequently come back to these books when I am feeling like I just need it. You know when you just need it? I cannot wait.

Maryse December 10, 2013 at 12:01 PM

I understand wholeheartedly, Leslie. I’ve re-read Beautiful Disaster 5 times now, and I know that’s not that much for some BD re-readers, but I’ve only ever re-read 2 other books. Twice total. And BD really affects me the same way, each and every re-read.

LOVE!!!!!!

Lauren December 10, 2013 at 12:20 PM

Just 1 clicked it. That & the Killing Sarai sequel. What to read 1st?

Emma December 10, 2013 at 12:37 PM

I am a mega bookworm and even before the Fifty Shades trilogy hit it big I read loads. BUT after reading Beautiful Disaster I had the single BIGGEST book hangover that I have ever had! I just love love love Travis and must admit this novella has been an amazing end to the story so far! I always read Beautiful Disaster when I have a book hangover or to be honest just because!

Renee December 10, 2013 at 1:45 PM

Nicole Edwards Club Destiny Series beyond rocked my socks It all entwined the couple’s in every book so there’s no I wonder what happened to so and do or what’s going on with them!!! Love that and Luke/Sierra/Cole are totally my favorite “couple” which shocked me a little bit but it’s so beautifully written the whole OMG m/m stuff going on just slides by and melts your heart The Walker Brothers series is my next holy cow I have to many books and not enough time series to read but think I’ll wait till January till Ethan comes out to start them GO FOR IT MARYSE YOU’LL TOTALLY LOVE IT I PROMISE Travis and Abby were the first couple to really ummm “affect” me I guess is how I say that but Nicole Edwards couple’s are a close second and the whole getting their freak on is do much better than what I was afraid of in Fifty Shades. I loved the love story in Fifty Shades but some if those scenes felt a little like TMI or I can’t believe they did that feeling but not so with Club Destiny

Renate December 10, 2013 at 4:41 PM

Hey Maryse! Thanks for introducing me to Travis…he really did set the bar really high in the bad boy dep. I am biased and loved reading more Abby and Travis…but something in this novella didnt sit right….I crave all these books with bad ass boys and the heroines that love them…but when they start getting desperate and needy….I dunno…just something was not right….

Annie December 10, 2013 at 7:44 PM

I was a little troubled and disillusioned when I read the beginning of this and put it down. I want to start again tonight to see if I get a different vibe from it. I created this romantic notion in my head at their beginning and reading Abby’s thought processes sort of brought me down even if I “got” her reasoning. But…..it is Jamie McGuire so she will make all things right!!!!
I mean it’s Travis so what can go wrong?!?!?!?!

Krysta December 10, 2013 at 8:37 PM

I just wanted to say thank you for all your posts and recommendations on books, you’re the one who has turned me on to so many books and new authors, Jaime McGuire being one of them. I absolutely love her! I read your page daily to get new recommendations, so thanks again….I don’t know what I did before I stumbled across your page!

yashira December 10, 2013 at 8:59 PM

Maryse I’m not sure if you’ve read this yet. It’s a short novella about Abby & Travis first Valentine’s day as a married couple. MRS.MADDOX
It’s on her website (http://www.jamiemcguire.com/blog/2013/12/3/mrs-maddox-a-beautiful-short-story) . After reading a beautiful wedding I wanted more and found it. ( I just can’t get enough of Travis 0_0 sighs !!!)

Michelle December 11, 2013 at 9:26 AM

I was with you Annie. I didn’t like Abby’s thought process about the wedding. It took away some of the romance to me……but Travis, oh Travis, his reaction after they said “I Do” was so, so sweet and so HIM! I loved it even with my misgivings about how Abby was viewing the wedding. And we all know that they stay happily married, so I think maybe deep down, Abby really was getting married for the right reasons, but she had to talk herself into it in that way so she wouldn’t freak out!

Ali December 13, 2013 at 11:08 PM

You are so freaking cute! I LOVED LOVED LOVED the first book, didn’t love the second book, and am afraid I will not like this book, so I think I’ll skip it, if anyone cares :) I do love me some Travis though. YUM YUM YUMMY! (Can do without Abby :)

You’re a DOLL! I love your glitter lashes!

Maryse December 14, 2013 at 12:56 AM

Hehe!! Thank you. They were kinda heavy!

Annie December 30, 2013 at 2:07 AM

Soooo on Dec. 10th I said I started but then put it down. I was a bit disillusioned (my own fault, I admit) by Abby’s reason for proposing.
Well I just finished reading it and all I can say is……WOW! I am totally enamored with this story, all over again! Jamie McGuire is a genius! She brought Travis and Abby through that short period of time with so much feeling and intensity that I got that same heart fluttery feeling all over again! Maryse, thank you for introducing me to stories such as this “Beautiful” one!
Of course my husband just discovered which credit card I had attached to my kindle acct so I am sure he would disagree with that statement!!

Happy New year!!

Leave a Comment

 

Notify me of followup comments to this post via e-mail. You can also subscribe without commenting.

Previous post:

Next post: