Book Review – Author Anonymous by E.K. Blair

by Maryse on August 26, 2016 · 45 comments

in My Book Reviews

<— Author Anonymous: A True Story JUST WENT LIVE ALERT!!!!

A scandalous, riveting, tragic train wreck of a love story. It’s interesting, very personal and raw and well written… but it’s a freaking train wreck. Right to the very end. Oh yes, my friends. A la “Arsen”, for sure.

Before I knew what was even happening, I was making choices I didn’t even know were choices, and I couldn’t take them back.

But this one’s a true story. eek Yep. Yet another uncomfortably scandalous read that just… *scratches head* well… had my jaw dropping. Many times. You know what they say. You can’t look away.

How? How do I write this? I mean, even the author… that is NOT “Author Anonymous” (she wrote this for her) has posted videos and such, explaining the intensity of writing a story like this. And… yes. Just as I’ve imagined. Authors all over Facebook are posting statuses indicating they are NOT AUTHOR ANONYMOUS. And I get why.

My name is hotter than it’s ever been, and I can’t allow that to fade if I want to stay relevant. The industry is cutthroat these days with the influx of people who are now self-publishing.

And lemme tell you. There is SO much detail in this book, I’m actually worried that her identity will be revealed. That is, unless they’ve purposely “planted” details that are not at all where or who she was with at whatever time was indicated. Publisher included. Yikes. YIKES!!!!! UPDATE: The author of this book confirmed that she purposely changed and mixed up the details (dates, events, even personal details) to prevent pinpointing author anonymous..

Yet at the same time. OMG!!!! This of COURSE is going to be (and was) practically unputdownable because she is one of us. Living a life like one of our books. But steeped in reality (and you KNOW how reality goes) neutral. “Romance” books or not, this is something some have experienced in one way or another. Yet, our romance books always come out smelling like roses in the end. Will this one? This REAL LIFE version? My lips are sealed.

What’s it about?

One of our beloved “indie-turned-published/indie-hybrid” authors, right here, right now (NYT Best Seller, even!!), started a little research for her future stories. Sure, she’s seemingly happily married with two young children (and both husband and wife are successful). Incredibly so! But after discoursing with fellow book-friends, she learned about a “sex-personals” website of sorts, and … well… she joined it. Anonymously. To learn.

And she met someone. At first it was all “research” and fun-and-games,

Brooke and I continue to goof around while texting Alec. We are just two girls teasing around with a boy, the way young adolescents would do. We may be women in our thirties, but girls will be girls no matter what age they are.

…until the intrigue kicked in, and she got sucked in. BIG TIME. I won’t say any more about that, other than, you have a good idea of what you’re in for, from this point forward.

Yes. My friends. I believe this story is wholeheartedly true. It is gritty. It is raw. It is uncomfortable (at times, humiliating).

I’m a thirty-two-year-old woman acting like a complete idiot. There is no way he’s going to talk to me now that he’s caught me spying on him. I mean, who does this?

I’ll tell you who . . . me. A middle-aged housewife who was desperate for a little bit of fun.

And not at any time, does “author anonymous’s” story come across as glamorized. Right to the very end, I cringed, I worried. I nightmared for (and with) her. I almost don’t want to talk about it, because it’s ugly.

Why am I crying? Why does this feel like I’m losing something special? Why did I get so attached?

“You fell for him, didn’t you?”

It’s an ugly addiction with a beautiful promise at the sake of so much “normal”. What once was considered “happy” or contentedness, suddenly becomes what she wants most to escape from.

I blindly thought we’d never change, that we’d never lose the spark, that we’d never run out of things to say, and that we’d never be able to keep our hands off each other. I miss the newness and the excitement that comes along with it, and I wish I knew how to get it back.

And something exciting, surprising… shocking, comes along.  It’s almost (maybe?) IT. What she was destined for.

But then again…

*sigh*

How to review this?

Could I put it down? Barely. But I HAD to. HAD. TO. It was one of the most distressing reads I’ve ever read…. RIGHT ALONG THE LINES OF ARSEN. I’d say ARSEN almost *ALMOST!!!* wins out in romance, (YIKES!) but this… the reason I shy away, and agonize worse over this one, is because it is REAL. So this makes it that much more tangible, ya know? More. Just more.

This happened. This is HAPPENING. We know her, you guys. And she drags us into her heaven. Into her nightmare. Into her life.

“That was mine!” He slams my body against the wall before letting go of me, as if I’m poisonous. Maybe I am.

“I f**king hate you!”

This is her reality. OMG all of it. ALL OF IT IS LAID OUT FOR US to see, hear, experience and grudge upon. And each step of the way, you will struggle with whether you want her to get what she wants, or suffer the consequences. But I assure you, my friends. Not ANY OF THIS is serene. EVERYONE is affected, and the “heroine” (our author anonymous) is one of the most altered.

It makes me want to run away even more. Makes me crave freedom over and above what I used to.

If there were ever issues in our marriage before, they couldn’t come close to how many we have now.

For better, or for worse? I won’t say any more. Other than it’s good… if you can handle it. Maybe even if you can’t.

4.5 stars <— You want something to shake you up? You want to read a raw reality “love story”? This is the one. Love story doesn’t always = romance. Read at your own risk. But come on. You know you want to.

“What red flags?”

*gulp* neutral

Oh! And… here it is on Amazon UK

P.S. Thank you to the author for sending me a review copy.

P.P.S. I know who I was rooting for.

 

Get Free Email Updates from me :)

{ 45 comments… read them below or add one }

bev August 26, 2016 at 8:45 PM

Um….I think I will pass.
Unless the author part is a ruse and it’s really blogger anonymous.
*side eyes Maryse*
It was actually a forum/group for mini pincher owners, wasn’t it.
*shakes head*
Really, no judgements.

Maryse August 26, 2016 at 9:07 PM

LOL!!!!!

I am not Author Anonymous. ;)

Oh come on, bev!!!! Read it. Sherlock would.

Lulu August 26, 2016 at 9:45 PM

I couldn’t agree more! I loved this book but this story, Anonymous’ year, most definitely was a train wreck. How scary that we all could be there though!!! Awesome review!

Amy August 27, 2016 at 3:21 PM

O. M. GEEEEEEEEE!!!!!!!!!! Another Marmy book!!

Holy moly, this one is going to work me over, isn’t it? And the fact that it’s REAL?? My tummy is already twisting just from your review.

Hmmm…reminds me of another trainwreck-that-I-couldn’t-look-away-from read where the housewife kept making face-palming choices yet I could never dislike her. ;) GAH! Why do we love these kind of stories?!?

Cheryl August 27, 2016 at 3:32 PM

Definitely the “train wreck” analogy. I have to question why? As in why share this story, especially as a “true” story. If all authors say “not it” eventually it will get narrowed down to who it is. Have to think if I really want to read this.

Amy August 27, 2016 at 3:37 PM

You do, Cheryl…you really do want to read it.

‘Cause I said you do.

Okay?

Okay. :P

Maryse August 27, 2016 at 4:28 PM

LOL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :P

Maryse August 27, 2016 at 4:29 PM

Oh yes Amy… this is Marmy in full force. And it’s NOT fiction!!!!!! *gasp*

Tessa August 27, 2016 at 4:53 PM

“Oh come on, bev!!!! Read it. Sherlock would.”

ROFL

I’m tempted.. Super tempted. At the same time, eeep!

Leslie M August 27, 2016 at 5:54 PM

This sounds awesome!! I have to read it. I bet this will un-slump me.

Jan August 27, 2016 at 7:03 PM

Eeeek! Sounds too sca-ey for me. Strangely tempting, but I don’t think I could hack it.

Maryse August 27, 2016 at 9:16 PM

LOL Tessa!!!! Hey… Sherlock would be extra curious about this! ;)

Leslie… let me know what you think.

Jan… it’s definitely tempting.

Cheryl August 27, 2016 at 9:55 PM

Amy, don’t bully me!! :>

I think two things; this will really mess with me because it’s a true story, not our normal “only in books” scenario and my brain won’t let go wondering who this really is.

Maryse, maybe you can keep an ongoing post of all the authors who say “not it”!! Also, Maryse does the author say why this “train wreck” is being shared?

bev August 27, 2016 at 10:36 PM

Lol, Maryse & Cheryl are on the case.
The Holmes & Watson of the indie romance world.

Ela August 28, 2016 at 12:43 AM

OMG ARSEN??????? OH AND HEY YALL!

Carla August 28, 2016 at 3:21 AM

Wooow now that is something different and just what I was looking for…
It does sounds tempting!!! But if I read this, I know I’ll be forever curious about who is this author and what if I never find out?! At the same time, maybe I shouldn’t know. Lol This is crazy!

bev August 28, 2016 at 11:04 AM

Maybe it’s not anyone that we’ll known. With how easy it is to one click and price of some ebooks it is a lot easier to end up on best sellers list.

Amy August 28, 2016 at 2:34 PM

I’m figuring details have been changed so the author isn’t easily recognizable. Plus, we don’t know *when* it took place so we have no idea the age of the author now, so it could be anyone. Make sense?

I just know this one will hurt more than the norm because it really happened. I’m a little nervous. Yeah, I said it. Don’t get used to hearing it though. :P

Cheryl August 28, 2016 at 8:29 PM

EK Blair has two videos up and in it she says this happened about 2 1/2 years ago. Well-known author that she is a big fan of.

Amy, that’s exactly how I feel. I’m still scratching my head over why the author wanted to publish this.

bev August 28, 2016 at 8:31 PM

Sales.
Cynical maybe, but… *shrug*

Leslie M August 29, 2016 at 6:05 AM

I just hope it REALLY is true & not a whole publicity stunt. That would make me sad.

Ela August 29, 2016 at 8:30 AM

Ok ladies! You’ve made this very difficult and intense in your searches! I must admit it is I who is Anonymous. Please no judgements.

At least until the real Author Anonymous is found… :)

Amy August 29, 2016 at 10:08 AM

HA Ela! I beat you to it and already claimed to be Author Anonymous on the other page!!

Guess we both have guilty consciences. :P

Ela August 29, 2016 at 1:19 PM

That’s just a technicality Amy! *snickers* oh boy do we ever have things on our minds!

Maryse August 29, 2016 at 6:32 PM

hahahahahah!!!! *snort* You guys crack me up!!!!!!!

And I believe this story is true. It’s just so loaded in detail, and it IS NOT glamorized. In fact, when I say it’s often even… humiliating, I mean it.

I truly believe this is a true story. if you read it, you’ll understand why. It just … it’s not pretty.

And it READS like one of our stories…

Kim Box Person August 29, 2016 at 10:33 PM

Oh I don’t know~ I’m never hesitant about reading a book. I LOVED Arsen but the thing that is holding me back~ a little ~ is I was blogging during this time frame big time and I really don’t need nor want to know who it is. That’s their secret to tell. Sigh ~ knowing me I’ll read it because I keep seeing the words train wreck associated with it.

Susan August 30, 2016 at 11:44 AM

Okay, I just finished this book we need to have a forum to talk about this. I’m with everyone else who has questioned Why? If you’ve been around from the advent of self publishing, book blogs and author signings like I have I have a hard time believing this author won’t be found out. It’s just a matter of time.i have so much more to say but do not want to spoil the book for those who haven’t read it. Sigh….

BD August 30, 2016 at 1:02 PM

I think Ela is on to something…from the timeline that EK provides, the details she says she left the same vs. what she changed…the “hybrid” publishing thing…the dates of book releases…and, if I can figure it out…I’m pretty sure it won’t be long till everyone else does too. I think it’s sad. I think the “attention seeking” she says her therapist identifies in her is a big part of the “why”. Now that the thrill is gone from the affair…this is the next venture. For me, this book was soon different than Arsen. I may have connected to Arsen differently though because of the specific type of loss in Arsen and I could put myself in her shoes and remembered how broken I was during that time for me. In this one…there wasn’t really a “why”…there was just an opportunity. Eeeeek!

Heather August 30, 2016 at 4:02 PM

I didn’t think it was as dramatic and crazy as Arsen. It was a great read though. I needed a follow up epilogue like a few years later bc the last one threw me!!!!

BD August 30, 2016 at 4:09 PM

Heather, in one of EK’s groups or posts, supposedly that was a “one-off” and they are happy today. And, I totally agree about this vs. Arsen. Arsen nearly gutted me. It was CRAZY!

Lori L. Clark August 30, 2016 at 6:04 PM

First and foremost… trust me, if this was anything to do with a Min Pin forum group, I would know. <3 I haven't read the book yet… But I am curious, where does one find this “sex-personals” website of sorts is and how do I sign up?!

Ela August 30, 2016 at 6:25 PM

I’m slow reading BECAUSE THIS IS NO WAY CLOSE TO ARSEN JUST ANOTHER ‘REAL’ CHEATING BOOK. We all read and pretend it’s reality, this books just happens to be reality written! Just my thoughts..

Shawna August 30, 2016 at 6:29 PM

I could not put this book down. I agree we need a side forum to discuss. I am left feeling shattered and really need to know that she is okay, how she is today. I think having her story told is part of her healing process. Plus the storyline hasn’t been done before. It was exciting to read! I applaud her and the author for sharing a story so intimate.

Susan August 30, 2016 at 7:35 PM

BD you and I think a like. I too thought this had to do with her attention problem and this is another way to get it. I honestly think she will be found out and I hate that for her because if she is still with her husband, he will be crushed and then you have to deal with the fallout from the kids as well. I think she is absolutely crazy to have told this story let alone let it be published. Indie world is too small.

Ela August 31, 2016 at 8:40 AM

I created a spoiler thread:
http://talk.maryse.net/threads/author-anonymous-by-e-k-blair.6142/

Sadly, so far all this book is doing is pissing me the f*ck off! Real or not real!

Traci August 31, 2016 at 2:31 PM

I didn’t even read your review Maryse and I described it as a train wreck. Wow. I’m in a book hang over now. I kinda want to either give her a hug or punch her. She’s got a great bff though!!

Maryse August 31, 2016 at 3:07 PM

LOL Traci! She sure does…

Maryse August 31, 2016 at 3:28 PM

LOL Lori!!!!!

Us and our beloved MinPins. MinPins rule!!!! :P

Er… I am not sure where these “personals” are… LOL! And Author Anonymous forgot to include it, I think. *snort*

Kelly September 1, 2016 at 12:50 AM

I’ve read the book! Couldn’t put it down and now I’m leaning towards because of a few details that connected for me. It feels wrong to even guess though because whoever it is…it’s just SO SAD! I feel really bad for her husband. Also, I have best friend envy! :)

Jan September 2, 2016 at 12:25 PM

Didn’t find it very hard to figure who this may be…hope she can keep,her her privacy….

bev September 2, 2016 at 12:34 PM

So…your not going to tell us?

Jan September 2, 2016 at 1:03 PM

Not with a good conscience…

Kelly September 3, 2016 at 2:45 PM

Jan, just curious. Why do you hope she can keep her privacy? She could have kept her privacy and not asked for this book to be written. I am concerned that her husband might find out because of this instead of by her telling him which is how he should find out. After ruminating for a few days I feel somewhat icky about the book itself, not just the story even though the fact that it’s sticking with me shows how absorbing it was. But I’m having all the feelings now and even getting angry at both her best friend (who I thought I loved at first after reading) and EK, cynically wondering if maybe they would have given a little more tough love to her if they weren’t both making money off of her. I know that’s a horrible way to think but this girl seems to have some mental health issues and i think she needs an intervention. She should be forced out of her lies, not have her story shared with the world.

L.S. September 6, 2016 at 9:41 AM

I’m still not sure how I feel about this book but I will say that I do have a LOT of feelings about this book. Many of the same feelings other readers have already posted….anger, astonishment, silently-judging-her-even-though-I’m-trying-not-to. But I actually have a different take on the “moral” of this story. I don’t think anonymous has learned a thing or tried to change the overall outcome of her story. In fact, I would go as far as to say that this whole “anonymously” coming forward is just another stunt for attention, most especially to get the attention of her “drug of choice.” Or maybe it is her way of getting the last word…..I don’t know. I will say she may have gotten in over her head in the beginning with her poor choices (although, I don’t see how this could happen to any woman; there were, after all, choices–very, very, very bad choices–being made!) I believe, like many other readers have stated, that those in her life affected by her choices have and will continue to suffer should she not get the help she needs. E.K. Blair is an amazing writer and from what it sounds like, she was able to portray anonymous how she would have been unable! She bleeds emotion and this one definitely has me reeling. If I every have anything half as interesting for you to write about (please God, please NEVER, lol), she is definitely the woman for the job.

MLN September 7, 2016 at 4:04 PM

I agree with Ela; that was my gut reaction and after looking at things closer, I only feel stronger about it.

Leave a Comment

 

Notify me of followup comments to this post via e-mail. You can also subscribe without commenting.

Previous post:

Next post: