Book Review – Bad Rep by A. Meredith Walters

by Maryse on December 28, 2012 · 27 comments

in My Book Reviews

Bad Rep
<—- Yes! Good! Much of what we have come to expect in our New Adult colleged-aged reads, sure, but… Jordan made this book, for me. His reactions and his… passion (okay, I’ll say it again because this word works so perfectly for him – his intensity) were sublimely reminiscent of my beloved Travis, that many of my little hiccups with the book were quickly forgotten.

Jordan’s bad-boy/good-guy character was not only believable but he had that extra edge to him that made him seem real. Okay sure, his initial introduction made him seem a little too much of a …. “cookie cutter heartthrob” to me. Successful college student, fraternity president, most popular (and gorgeous) guy in school, legions of groupies (he even has a nickname because of it) but he’s also tattooed, pierced and a drummer in a popular local band. Oh! And sexy unattainable bartender by night. Yep. He’s perfect. I was feeling like a bit of a hypocrite, ’cause he was absolutely everything I thought I wanted in my bad boy characters and yet, I was a touch jaded at first.

But I was hoping the characters would eventually come alive, and had my fingers crossed that I’d come across a more “raw” version of him, and I’m delighted to say, he emerged. A bit cocky, but a bit insecure, too. The way he flirted,

“What was that? I think I got pregnant just watching you two,” she snarked.

… the way he pursued “her”, the way he was. To be fair, I sometimes questioned why he was so intense about her specifically (I would have loved more detail and attention to the initial friendship) but hey… attraction is attraction and sometimes right from the very first look, it can’t be denied. So I went with it. But then, there were my favorite moments. His jealous moments, his overreactions, his anger… his pain. THERE it is. There. He. Was.

Maryse’s Book Blog: I’m reading this one right now!! It’s pretty good! Jordan is … *sigh* (WOW!!) and embarrassingly enough, I’m enjoying (and relating to) her running away issues. I know.. eye roll – hehe but I can’t help it. I’m all… “Ugh! Time to leave!” hehe. Fun! AND!! Wait! At the same time, my logical side is also exasperated with her “issues”. I’m just enjoying getting carried away in her mindset.

Brandi: Loved this one…..Jordan = smoking hottie

Candice: I’m reading it right now too. Almost finished! It’s so good!

Clarice: I just finished it last night. Ooh the number of times I just wanted to slap some sense into the girl!

Jennifer: Finished last night (well really at 1am lol) loved it but I agree her issues did get a lil annoying BUT in the same breath I did like that she *spoiler*!!!

Ashley:  I’m about 60%, really enjoying it as well. I know somewhere you posted that it was BD mixed with Mean Girls. I’d throw a little Thoughtless/Effortless in there too with her issues, not the same issues, but still very flighty.

Chrissy: It was really good, so good I was up till 4 am reading it because I had to finish it.

Manda: I finished it this morning. I love that they didn’t tap dance around the situation and you actually got to see what happens when you make those kinds of decisions. There is always a price for happiness.

MaryJoan: I literally just finished it and I really loved it. Jordan can be added to the never ending list of book boyfriends…sigh…

Sabrina: Maryse– I really liked this book too– for some reason I could not put it down!!! Enjoy!!!

Kim: OMG I so loved Jordan

Danielle: I loved this book! And like a true book zombie stayed up till 4 AM to finish it.

Liz: I really enjoyed this book. But yes her “issues” drive me nuts towards the end.

Rachel: Reading this one atm too, not bad

Kristie: Loved it

Krista: I just read this…..I liked it too. It was like Kellan Kyle, Travis Maddox and Jack Carter rolled into Jordan Levitt.

⇈ Yep!!! What they said. ;)

Did I love it? Sometimes, yes. Lots of moments I loved, and quite a few that I really struggled through. Struggled with the heroine, as if I was her (her pain, and insecurities and shame… oh yes. I felt those at first, right there with her).

I felt battered and bruised and the tears started again. I couldn’t stop them. And I hated these people for witnessing my weakness. I had never been brought so low before. And they all had a front row seat.

But at some point… she lost me, and I struggled to believe her. I “get it”, I got her, where she was coming from, what she naturally struggled with, and how she was dealing with her “issues”. Yes. I got all of that. And for the most part, I stuck by her mindset (and perceptions). After all, we are only human and when we are in the middle of a mess, we often can’t see or think straight.

However, the level of “crazy” that she experienced with her outrageously immature student faculty, and her insistence that she stick to her “ideal of belonging to a group” made me eyeroll. There was viable drama here, for the purpose of the story, struggle and growth of the characters. And then there was over-the-top drama that the character seemed to force upon herself. And that’s when I started skimming.

So what’s it about?

Maysie meets Jordan at her new job in a bar. He’s got everything going for him, and he’s got an eye on her. Sweet smiles, super flirty (and I mean… so obviously wants her). They start connecting…

He was going to be difficult to stay away from.

But who says I even wanted to? We had chemistry and he was f&%king hot. I was a hot blooded college girl, why shouldn’t I indulge?

… until… D’oh! She finds out he’s got a girlfriend.

Everyone loved Olivia. Including, apparently, the guy I had just spent the entire evening lusting after.

And not just any girlfriend, but the president of the sorority she’s just dying to belong to. They’re a royal couple. And he’s known to be 100% faithful to her. Good right? He’s a faithful guy. But when Maysie crosses his path, he can’t resist his attraction to her, and it’s that very lack of resistance that gets this story rolling.

God, this guy was a complete player! I was so thankful I had wised up before being sucked into his rock god pants.

I’ll let you experience the resulting “hot mess” for yourselves.

Hot mess… and, sometimes just a mess. Had I not been as exasperated with the somewhat “high school” feel of this college’s student faculty, I may have loved it 100%. I just didn’t believe this type of “reaction” and gossip could happen to this extent. From my own college experience, I remember everyone having an “older” feel. An independent, focused air, and not so caught up in petty drama, and name calling. I’m not sure if it was simply because the college I attended was so large, and the one in this book was so small, but the rumor-mill, and immaturity level of these college students just didn’t… convince me. The problem wasn’t just within the “clique”. It became school-wide. And this was pretty much the main part that sidetracked me and had me skimming in exasperation.

I wanted to feel that sense of community. Now, I wished nothing more than to be lost in the crowd.

BUT!!! Things get rolling and then there is a whole lot more to “it” (this story) than petty clique issues. And that is what I connected to. Thank goodness for the few of her more “true-to-life” friends (especially one in particular). And for the more realistic moments/emotional confrontations, ’cause they allowed me to experience Jordan in his full glory (I stressed over him quite nicely, thank you very much). We all know… I LOVE doing that. My heart felt him in all of his heartthrob moments, and especially in his anguish.

4 stars total from me, for this guilty pleasure (3 to 3.5 stars for the melodrama, 4 stars for the love story and 5 stars for Jordan)!

P.S. Wanna see what he looks like? Here’s the author’s example right from her Facebook page.

Thank you for that, Ms. Walters!! It made envisioning him soooooo easy, and well. Just look at him!! Perfect for Jordan. Oh and! Thank so much for sending me this review copy. :)

Get Free Email Updates from me :)

{ 27 comments… read them below or add one }

Christina December 28, 2012 at 12:41 AM

Agree with your review :)

Maryse December 28, 2012 at 12:45 AM

*hug* YAY!! :D

Alicia December 28, 2012 at 2:01 AM

I’m a hard ass…you are SO much nicer than I can ever hope to be. I gave this a 3 1/2. The whole sorority bs and the way Mays didn’t stick up for herself made me ill…any woman/man whomever who would treat me like they treated her would have mouth full of rocks and sticks by me. (I just made that up: rocks and sticks). Jordan?? TOO PERFECT…and he cheats…but oh freakin YUM. My type of bad boy. I love him…but…the editing errors. That’s a non issue since this book has been reviewed! (sorry Maryse). And who in Eff’s sake spends $3500 in a MONTH in this economy with a job at minimum wage?? GRRRRR!!!
But I still wouldn’t kick Jordan outta my bed…after I shoved the hubs in the closet. Don’t judge, you would too.

Lise December 28, 2012 at 6:20 AM

Very nice review, Maryse. I did enjoy this book, but I absolutely LOVED Find You in the Dark by the same author. I highly recommend it!

Sharon Chalk December 28, 2012 at 9:26 AM

I have this book on my list but havent started it yet cause I got caught up in Jasinda Wilders new book wounded after just finishing the entire block of novella’s of big girls do it better,so this one had to wait,what I want to know and not one person mentioned,is this book even remotely steamy,Im a little old for the college crowd,but when I went to college there was a lot of sex going on and yet not one reviewer even mentioned that 3 letter word,so is there any steam in the book of is it something I could let my 15 year old read??

Lisa76 December 28, 2012 at 9:50 AM

I’m at 86% and furious with Maysie. I just dont understand why he just didnt dump Olivia once he “knew” he wanted Maysie so bad – ugh! I sure hope Milla gets what is coming to her – PLEASE!!!! Guess I’m just going to have to finish this one up so I can see how it ends.

Nancy Parken December 28, 2012 at 10:06 AM

Very good review!! You really have a gift for writing reviews for all the books you review without “spoilers”, being fair, & never bashing a book, so others, who might like it, can make-up their own mind. I remember after reading “Fall from Grace” & then reading your review & it was “exactly” how I felt, but don’t have your talent for putting it in words.

Maryse December 28, 2012 at 10:42 AM

Sharon, yes this is steamy. They definitely go at it… ;)

Alicia, I too, was so irritated with why she wanted to stick with the group so bad. I get the initial shame moments but to be so intent on it and what they thought of her, I just couldn’t continue to connect with her for that part of the story. Oh and yes that credit card bill freaked me out but I dunno… at first I believed it thinking maybe she was spoiled or used to extravagance, but I was surprised with the kind of father she has that she’d even go there. (Yikes!!)

Maryse December 28, 2012 at 10:49 AM

Lisa I know! I kept wondering why people mentioned how irritated they were with her towards the end (when I was feeling that irritation in the middle), and then I got it.

Thanks Nancy!! There were many parts I was totally into… and a few, not so much, but overall, I practically read the book straight through and I can say I enjoyed it. Maybe not shout it from the rooftops, but certainly, if you’re in the mood for a “lighter” read (with some trivial personal issues) and a very intense “bad-boy”, this is one of those. :)

heather December 28, 2012 at 11:38 AM

Nice review. I just bought this yesterday. Cant wait to read it. Have to finish avoiding responsability

Toni December 28, 2012 at 12:01 PM

Hi everyone!

Maryse I love your website! It’s fantastic and your reviews are so thorough!

I agree with Alicia on this one. This book was too drawn out for me and by the time they got together I was not invested in them or the book anymore. I read it to the end but this one was not one of my favorites. The main character was just a tad to winey for me at times.

Shawna December 28, 2012 at 12:09 PM

I had a hard time getting into this after reading about Rush in “Fallen Too Far”. I finished that book one night and started this one that night as well. I didn’t “get” the attraction as to why Jordan wanted her SO BAD. But I of all people should see it because that’s how it was for my husband and I…immediate. But anyways, once the story got going, I might have been annoyed by the sorority crap and drama, but I LOVED Jordan and his passion for her. Other then the initial mistakes he made, after that mixer night, he more than made up for it. I won’t say anything else but she annoyed me more than anything. BUT, I still loved them :) Great read.

Shawna December 28, 2012 at 12:11 PM

Do you think this will get a sequel after how it ended? Could be….

Donna December 28, 2012 at 5:22 PM

Wait!!! What book is Jack Carter in???

Kristen December 28, 2012 at 5:31 PM

Just finished this also, and my thoughts are similar to your review and others’ comments: Entertaining and worth the read? Yes, definitely. Jordan? Hot. Drama, romance, and steam? Check. But…for me, at times something was lacking with their growing connection and relationship. I felt like sometimes the author nailed it, painting the picture through character reactions and dialogue. Other times, I kinda felt like their connection was just being stated, rather than shown…but maybe that’s just me. And I’m right there with you all as far the “high school” feel of the gossip and such. Still, a solid read for sure, though!

Jenni December 28, 2012 at 6:33 PM

That’s it if Maysie runs again Jordan I am yours!! xoxo

Tracey December 28, 2012 at 6:45 PM

I really enjoyed this book. I agree, the drama did get to be a bit much but overall I loved Maysie and Jordan. They had great chemistry and enough angst to keep me hooked. Jordan was a great character and despite the tough position he found himself in he managed to stay in my good graces. I may have to re-read this over the weekend again, I often do that with books that I can’t stop thinking about!

Helen December 30, 2012 at 8:26 PM

Jordan….has my heart! I I fell asleep last night75% thru the book & had wonderful dreams of Jordan LOL! Great book <3

Kim L December 30, 2012 at 9:00 PM

I just finished. I’ll give it about 3.75 to 4. I did the whole sorority thing in college we had our issues but I never saw anything like this. We always kept things in house. I went to a big school so for the entire school to hear of any issue of one person would be kinda ridiculous, but she did say it was a small school of 700 in the book.
Secondly I LOVE and hate Jordan he should have broken up with Olivia from the start, and how come he didn’t hear anything about Mays. I should have stood up to everyone earlier instead of telling her not to worry about other just them,
Mays, I know she had issues with her parents (I kinda wanted her to go off on them lol) and that made her doubt EVERYTHING.
I loved how they couldn’t stay away from each other and how much Jordan was will to do to get her, and how he stood up to her father “sigh” hee hee. Also no matter the girls around he only had eyes for her.
OMG The party at Garrett. WOW.
Milla I wish she would have gotten more then what she did. (But I’ve been told I’m kinda violent :-D )

Takisha January 1, 2013 at 7:59 PM

Just finished…this book had a Thoughtless feel to me on a lower scale. The petty drama through me and made me feel like i was reading about high school kids and not college young adults, but as stated in your review, Jordan is what made the book for me along with Riley. Ok so as soon as he soon Mays on June 18th at 345pm and fell hard he should have broken up with Liv but hey…its never a right time to say goodbye and he apologized over and over and admitted to not handling that properly so hey! LOL Last thing…i didnt picture Jordan to look like the authors picture that you shared..I pictured him to look like James Quantaince i dont know why….hehehehe

Anissa January 4, 2013 at 12:14 AM

Totally agree with this review. I’m reading the book right now and I am half way through the book. I simply had to stop reading and just come back to it later. I also agree that the student body was way to dramatic. Overall I like the book is good. LOVE Jordan by the way he does remind me of Travis Maddox. HOT!!!!

Heather January 6, 2013 at 8:43 PM

Love this book. I agree with this review. I wanted to slap and hug Mays at the same time. :-) and Jordan deff reminded me of Travis in some parts of the story. Read the book in 2 days

Maryse January 7, 2013 at 1:58 PM

I loved quite a few of Jordan’s more… heartbreaking scenes. WOW that was some intense pain right there.

Nicole P February 9, 2013 at 3:21 PM

I wasn’t crazy about this book. It was a good read, but I didnt “feel” it. Too much useless drama. :(

Bobbye booth February 10, 2013 at 8:27 AM

This book made me cringe, didnt like it at all!

Chris February 22, 2013 at 9:05 AM

Just read this in two days and really liked it! It was frustrating as hell about Mays sticking it out w/ the *itches…and agree Jordon should have broken it off sooner than later!! …so annoying that Mays gets labeled as the “whore” and Jordon nothing – but thats a little dose of reality now a days. I loved his passion for her and in my mind he was HOT – that made it a great read for me!

Sue September 15, 2013 at 10:18 AM

I loved this book, I can totally relate with the whole college drama (since I am in college) lol. I was kinda disappointed the next book wouldn’t be about Maysie and Jordan but am sure I’ll still love it anyway.

Leave a Comment

 

Notify me of followup comments to this post via e-mail. You can also subscribe without commenting.

Previous post:

Next post: