Book Review – Easy by Tammara Webber

by Maryse on May 28, 2012 · 38 comments

in My Book Reviews

Easy to love. Easy to recommend. Easy to want more. But best of all, EASY to review, because there are no questions as to how much I enjoyed it. From start to finish, I didn’t want to put it down, and I especially didn’t want it to end. Quite realistic (okay maybe an extra dose of drama, but hey, it was awesome!), and the characters (well most of them) were people that I would have wanted to know in real life.

I received recommendations for it shortly after it’s release, and a few times, it was mentioned as having that “Beautiful Disaster” feel to it. It was already on my TBR list, but that little tidbit cinched it for me. There was no reason to delay this, since THIS was what I was in the mood for. Sure enough, it was almost everything I was hoping it would be (*almost* only because I would have wanted just a bit more one on one Lucas time… and come on. Do you blame me? You’ll get me, once you read it). LOL!! I know, I know… there’s more to the story then just the Lucas angle, but that was obviously my favorite part.

And once I mentioned it was my “currently reading” on my Facebook page, the love for it spread like wildfire. This book was exactly up our alley. In fact, I stayed up until near 5am reading it, I just couldn’t let it go.

Maryse’s Book Blog: Okay I’m biting!! This book has just been released, it’s been mentioned to me three times today by three different people (including my trust-y book-bud), and two times, “Travis” (yeah, you know which Travis) has been whispered. I. AM. ON. IT!! (plus I enjoyed another series by this author last year, so I’m starting right now.)

Elizabeth: ‎*Easy* is gorgeous and romantic and gut-clenching and amazing! You will LOVE it ;) !! (Yep, I was lucky enough to get an early copy from the author, and it blew me away!) Tammara Webber rocks New Adult!! ♥!!

Maryse’s Book Blog: Eeeep! So excited! I napped my evening away so I should be good to stay up late for this one.  Already a plus! College based.

Missy: Just finished it. Loved it. Really good. I was going to suggest it to you. I am glad you are ready it!

Kristin: Just finished it…really good! I can see a book 2 in the future!

Maryse’s Book Blog: I heart Lucas… *whoo* his bad-boyedness is nice and intense.  Yes that’s right. It’s 3:30am and I’m still reading…

Maryse’s Book Blog: Okay… 4:30am… As much as I don’t want to stop reading, I must… Still have 40% left to go, and I’m already anxious for wake up time to get back to it.

Melissa: Stayed up too late but finished it! I was so sad when I got to the end, I was wanting more! I hope there is a second book :)

Amber: I bought it based on your recommend and you’re right: fantastic read!

Valerie: Read it in a day. Great read!

Debra: Just finished it and loved it! I will be marking this one to give my daughter in a few years. Such a great YA love story!

Gitte: I started it today…I am loving it!!! ;0)

Brandi: Such a good book!

Kasey: I started reading easy last night and I’m already hooked! (:

Yanira: this book is SO SO SO good. I loved Lucas, one of my fave characters this year! Congrats Tammara Webber you did an awesome job with Lucas, the air of mystery in the beginning and then his story…he’s got everything we love!

Gledis: Loved,loved,loved easy!! i totally missed this last months reading stuff like that without the unnecessary (thoughtless) drama !

Marcia: Almost done with Easy and couldn’t agree with u more on adding to that list. Sooo good :)

Kristina: Wonderful story. Loved every minute of it.

The Forever Girl: You guys are bad news for my husband’s wallet.

Rebecca: Omg, Easy was soooo good, I stayed up a whole night reading it and it was worth it!!!! Thank you again, Maryse for another great recommendation! I think it finally got me out of my reading slump after The Opportunist!

Lise: Finished last night and Loved it!

By the way. I’m going to make a point of saying that Lucas really isn’t much like Travis (other then having that bad-ass, dreamy & coveted by all girls, tattooed (and pierced), tortured soul, brooding, protector-y thing going on). Hehe. Well come to think of it, that’s a lot of what attracted me to Travis, so yes, in that respect, Lucas and Travis have similarities.

Lucas is more reserved. More… self-sacrificing, if you will. I suppose, not as “in your face”, as Travis might be towards the one he wants and towards those that are in her entourage. Lucas is more of a side-line, “I’ll jump in if you need me, but don’t mind me, while I stare at you from a far.” ya know?

BUT!!! That whole “Beautiful Disaster” feel? YES. Right on with that example. The college experience, best friends who will support each other no matter what, typical “college romance” issues and heartbreaks, along with that intense attraction to someone new that lures us in and has the reader aching for more. Oh and a college boy villain or two. And while this might sort of be considered “YA” hrmmm… I dunno. Definitely older YA (or “new adult”), as it doesn’t shy away from the whole college experience. Parties, drinking, and even a few very intimate scenes. Done tastefully, but still a part of the story.

So what’s it about?

Jacqueline follows her handsome, rich, successful “up and coming politician”, high school boyfriend to the college of his choice. Despite Jackie being a talented bass player the likes of “Juliard” she can’t imagine being away from him. *sigh* Yep. You can imagine where this is going. Because once Kennedy discovers all of the sorority girls, he decides to cut “Jackie” loose, just a  couple of months into their first semester.

Over the past three years, we’d become each other’s habit. And thought he’d broken his habit of me when he walked away, I’d not broken my habit of him. I was still tethering him to my present, to my future. The truth was, he now belonged only to my past, and it was time I began to accept it, as much as it hurt to do so.

Dejected and heartbroken, Jacqueline’s roommate convinces her to go to a college frat party, but after seeing her ex with another girl, she leaves, alone. In the dark, on her way to her vehicle, she is attacked and nearly raped by her ex’s drunk best friend.

Struggling uselessly, I couldn’t believe that this guy I’d known for a over a year, who’d not once treated me with disrespect the entire time I’d dated Kennedy. was attacking me in my own truck at the back of the frat house parking lot.

But Jacqueline is saved because someone jumps in and beats the guy down, and escorts her home. Lucas. *sigh*

And shortly thereafter, she realizes Lucas is in her Economics class. Brooding at her from the back of the room, their connection truly begins.

Erin grinned at me. “It proves you’re ready for a long-overdue Bad Boy phase”

“Ooohhh,” Maggie sighed.

YAY!!! I book written after my own heart!!! And the hero is too. But Lucas is an enigma… to all of us. Hot and cold. Caring or indifferent. But always intense. *sigh* (yeah yeah… I know. I’m so predictable). LOL!!

I mentally sorted through everything I knew about him. He’d saved me from Buck’s attack, which I hadn’t told anyone about. He’d beaten the crap out of Buck, which I likewise hadn’t told anyone. He’d stared at me all through economics on Wednesday, and then ignored me completely on Friday, which I hadn’t told anyone. He worked at Starbucks, And he kept asking me if I was okay… but he hadn’t asked me that tonight.

His bad-boy persona has Jackie second guessing her intense attraction to him. But looks can be deceiving and as the book progresses, Lucas’s past and who he is today, come to light. Good? Bad? All I can say is, he is PERFECT with a capital P-E-R-F-E-C-T! Oops! Did I just give too much away? Nahhhh… you’ll see. Y’all knew I would absolutely adore him (so of course I would say he is perfect!), but there is imperfection in his perfection, or… perfection in his imperfection? Well, anyway… uncovering the details is half the fun.

Eyes blazing, he looked down at me. “Jacqueline?”

I blinked. “Yes?”

“The night we met – I’m not like that guy.” His jaw was rigid.

“I know tha-” he placed a finger over my lips, his expression softening.

“So I don’t want you to feel pressured. Or overpowered. But I do, absolutely, want to kiss you right now. Badly.”

Yep. My breath just hitched. *swoon*

And as Jacqueline gets to know Lucas, even more importantly she gets to know herself along the way.

Oh. And there is also Landon. Whoops!? Did I forget to mention him? He is unforgettable. No worries. You’ll have fun discovering them both. ;)

So that’s it, friends. I HIGHLY recommend this for an enthralling, sigh-inducing, emotional read.

4.5 stars!!! (5 if there had been more of that Lucas intensity).

Get Free Email Updates from me :)

{ 38 comments… read them below or add one }

Scamp May 28, 2012 at 2:22 PM

Bought. I swear Maryse Im gonna go in debt cause of your reviews LOL

Maryse May 28, 2012 at 2:26 PM

*blush* Whoops!! But it’s so much fun!

Chrissy May 28, 2012 at 5:06 PM

I read this the first day it came out….and what can I say? Super-loved it !!! Lucas is the “IT guy” for me this year! This certainly deserves a 5 star.

Lise May 28, 2012 at 5:18 PM

I agree with Chrissy, Lucas is my “IT” guy of 2012 so far… he has the triple T (Tortured, Tender and Tattooed) going for him big time.

Carla May 28, 2012 at 5:39 PM

I just finished Gio, and this one is gonna be my next too. Its was already un my TBR list but after this review with too magic words (BD and Travis) it has to be now. ;)

Bia May 28, 2012 at 7:05 PM

Maryse..thank you for your recommendations and reviews..they’re always right on spot!! Always! We all love the same books and I follow you with Chris too!!! Lol..and this gonna be in one of your Best lists? It’s a great read so far…
Keep them coming,.,,
Hugs and
And many more “Travis” ” Lucas” in our literary lives…

Bitchie May 28, 2012 at 8:53 PM

Drat! I was going to start the Emancipation Proclamation fanfic today! You people are hell on my “next up” plans!

lisa May 29, 2012 at 4:18 AM

Got this book sunday am, done monday pm, wow when I read like that .YOU KNOWS ITS GOOD! Top ten for my 2012:)

Fritz May 29, 2012 at 11:56 AM

“I never wanted you to get hurt, but I wanted to take you from him.”

his line (& the ones before & after this) just made me tumble (SRATCH that)… I WAS SHOVED INTO LUCAS’ LAND… and i swoon & sigh doing it! i need me some OBBP *winks

Maryse May 29, 2012 at 12:05 PM

hehehe!! Ahhhh SO many scenes that had my breath hitching, and my reading suddenly go into slow motion.

I agree guys, this one is definitely a 2012 favorite FOR SURE! So glad all of you enjoyed it as much as I did.

And yep. I kind of agree on the 5 star possibility, but like I mentioned on Facebook:

“I had to have some room for a bit of picky, and the only thing I could pick was not enough Lucas. But I’d say that’s a good thing to complain about ;)


Courtney M May 29, 2012 at 4:40 PM

I needed a mental visual for this book for Lucas.. so I pictured Matt Sanders, lead singer for Avenged Sevenfold. With longer hair, Matt has the lip ring and the tattoos… I hope that there is a booK #2 which is more about Lucas.

Bitchie May 29, 2012 at 11:44 PM

I read it, thanks to your review. You were right, this is an excellent book, and now I have to go google matt sanders.

HeatherChloe94 May 30, 2012 at 9:23 AM

As soon as this review came up, I bought the book….it’s AMAZING, it will deffinately be on my top ten, just above Beautiful Disaster, because just as much as I loved Travis, I think I loved Lucas just a little bit more :)

Brittani May 30, 2012 at 1:52 PM

This book was a great read BUT not a Travis worthy which why i agree with marcey review of the book. What I think this book is missing and sooo many other YA/Young Adult books is that. two key reason why us book fans fell in love with Beautiful DIsaster and the Thoughtless series is that 50% into the book our beloved characters were either together or we were garunteed a second book with the same characters. I feel like to many of the books coming out right now drag out the coming together and copp out on the actual relationship part. However two book that I believe that have done this beautifully are this book and Callum and Harper. I hope this made since! :)

Sarah June 2, 2012 at 7:39 AM

Thank you for recommending this book! I really loved it and, of course, adored Lucas. I recently discovered your website and am loving your recommendations and reviews. Thank you!!!

Terra July 6, 2012 at 10:21 PM

Love Lucas!! Love the quiet reserved type! Ached to help him! Think it is as good as BD! A must read!

Dina July 12, 2012 at 12:14 PM

OMG- Maryse you were soo right! this book was amazing :) it totally had a similar Travis-ish feel to it!. Thank goodness I’m a teacher and have the Summer off because i stayed up all night to read this book! Thank you for all the great recommendations on your site! We are so similiar in taste! I used to go on goodreads or amazon for reviews , but now i just come to you ! You rock :) Thanks again!!!- Dina

Regina July 16, 2012 at 9:26 PM

Absolutely Love It!!! In a lot of ways Lucas was similar to Travis. To my surprise I sort of like Lucas better than Travis. Definitely like Jacqueline better than Abbey. I will surely recommend it to all my friends. Regina

Lisa K July 17, 2012 at 8:14 PM

LOVED! LOVED! LOVED! Lucas (sigh) I so heart you! What I wouldn’t give to have you stalk me!! ;) Once again Maryse, a fabulous recommendation! I know if you love a book, so will I! Time to go through your reviews to pick out what’s next!!! :)

Maryse July 17, 2012 at 8:51 PM

*squee* YAY Lisa!! He was something, wasn’t he? I need more just like him!

Emily DelViscio August 10, 2012 at 9:20 AM

Maryse you, my dear, are my new “friend in my head”. I discovered your blog a month ago and since then have read about 10 of your suggestions and I have LOVED them all! It was also great to see that a lot of the other series I have enjoyed over the years are also some of your favorites. Easy was fantastic. I just loved the characters…..and really, could you ever get too much Lucas??? So thanks for writing the blog and keep up with the great suggestions.

Yani August 28, 2012 at 8:03 AM

I would have to agree with emily, i found your blog about a month ago, and i have read more books in a month that i have ever!!!! your reviews are great and so are the book choices….keep up your work you are great at it!!!!!

Sazi September 8, 2012 at 4:50 PM

Do you think there will be a book #2 after Easy? I always like to think writers would do another book esp after book #1 is successful

Kiwipedia September 18, 2012 at 1:45 PM

Maryse, can you recommend any books similar to Easy?

Cori October 18, 2012 at 12:35 PM

I have to say, I also enjoyed Lucas more than Travis (much to my surprise too) He just treated her better, and was way sexier. End of story. :)

Nat October 26, 2012 at 8:19 AM

I liked Lucas more too! Lucas was more rational than Travis. I kept waiting for Travis to be arrested for randomly beating the crap out of everyone. Lucas was protective, but he was smart about it. Love Lucas! Now, the question is, do I like him more than Kellan Kyle. Hmmmm?!

Kiki November 8, 2012 at 8:12 PM

I truly loved every ounce of this story. Read it months ago and will reread it again someday. Can’t get Lucas out of my system.

Kiki November 8, 2012 at 8:15 PM

If you liked Easy. Check out Down to You, Disastrous and The Wild Ones.

Lisa November 14, 2012 at 1:34 AM

Loved it! I hate that it ended. I would love it, if the author continued Lucas and Jacqueline’s journey.

Bobbie November 27, 2012 at 9:22 PM

I loved Lucas!! It has been a while since I wanted to read a book twice (especially the steamy scenes!) I would have to agree that Lucas is the Tortured, Tender and Tattooed type, which is very endearing to me! I just recently found your blog and I love it!!! Thank you for all your hard work!

Kim Cheeseman January 2, 2013 at 7:58 PM

This was one of your favorites for 2012 and so because of your influence I spent EVERY spare minute between taking Christmas Tree down and between getting my daughter ready for bed reading this book…Thank you AGAIN for being soooo freakin COOL!!!!!
I absolutely LOVED Lucas and the female lead Jaqualine was really cool too…What a story….
Thanks again!

Nicole G January 14, 2013 at 2:12 AM

Two a.m. And I just finished reading Easy from start to finish in one sitting. Thank goodness for lazy Sundays. I could not put it down! I’m not sure how I will fall asleep after that read. My heart is still thumping! This is the fifth book that I’ve read in the past two weeks from your “what to read after…” recommendations, and it is absolutely a favorite. Your blog is awesome and has helped me rekindle my love of reading! Thanks for putting it all out there.


Mahin February 18, 2013 at 9:46 AM

I’ve already read ‘Easy’ twice and reading all these comments makes me want to read it again!!! *Not a good idea…senior year…finals yadayadayada*
Oh but Lucas…how you tempt me so *sighs*
I actually just finished reading ‘Beautiful Disaster’ and while I’m all swooney over Travis…Lucas still has the firmest hold over my heart.
It’s the lip piercing I tell you. UmmHmmm…and him sketching…
Damn I’m gonna read it again!

Sarah February 20, 2013 at 4:21 PM

Loved loved loved Easy ! The writting was fantastic, the story felt real and OMG Lucas ! I wish he could be real ! Seriously, the guy is perfect!

Maria March 26, 2013 at 3:08 PM

I personally prefer Lucas to Travis. He’s a much more believable character, whereas I couldn’t picture Travis as being a real person, or someone I’d fall in love with

Bethan April 7, 2013 at 4:05 AM

I found this website yesterday and saw your review for easy so bought it! I’ve got 50 pages left and I don’t want it to end!!! Love it!

Midian April 24, 2013 at 4:46 PM

The male model on the cover of Easy is DUSAN NOVAKOVIC!! *.*

ChatEbooks December 18, 2015 at 8:48 AM

One of my favorites!

Leave a Comment


Notify me of followup comments to this post via e-mail. You can also subscribe without commenting.

Previous post:

Next post: