Book Review – Every Wrong Reason by Rachel Higginson

by Maryse on September 20, 2015 · 41 comments

in My Book Reviews

Every Wrong Reason (<— releasing this TUESDAY Sept 22nd – TOMORROW!!! :D )
Ooooooofffffff!!! OH MY GOD I don’t think I’ve ever cried so hard for a book before in my life (and this isn’t a “death” one, I promise). This is all about life, and living… or trying to.

Anyone that enjoyed “After I Do” will get me, with this one. It has that feel, but I’m almost tempted to say, even more intense at times. Or maybe it was just me? This week? ‘Cause I could NOT stop crying. In fact, I think the last time it’s been this bad, was when I read The Host a few years ago… like many years and tears ago (and if you read that review, you’ll know how bad I was…).

HOLY. MOLY. It took me FOREVER to read this… but not because I didn’t love it. But because I could barely read through the darn tears. I cried… and I cried. And I sobbed. And I sniffled… and pouted… and giggled, and “virtually snuggled her dog” and sobbed and laughed, and cried and cried and cried and cried. I. AM. EXHAUSTED.

And I started crying practically from the start, and didn’t stop to about ohh… I dunno… 85… 90%? *snort* You guys. Don’t let that scare you. I cried, because I KNOW…. I KNOW EVERY SINGLE PERSON can relate to this book in some way or another.

So BEAUTIFULLY written, so real, so infuriating, so frustrating, so powerful… so sad. So hopeless. SO hopeful. It encompasses EVERYTHING anyone that has been in a serious relationship has eventually gone through (married or not), but the fact that divorce factors into this one BIG time, anyone that has ever been, or contemplated being separated or divorced, this one is TO BE READ!!!!!!!

We might be good people separately, but we were monsters together.

I was doing the right thing. I wanted to be happy. I wanted to live a life without screaming and name calling. I wanted to breathe again.

Not because it’s a cautionary tale for everyone in this situation (I truly believe every relationship and personality is different, every circumstance leading to a potential endings have their reasons, many valid and necessary), but, I dunno. I just feel like everyone in a relationship, would benefit from reading this one in some way. Even if it be to just… have a good, deep, soulful cry. I can’t imagine the author didn’t cry her eyes out, too, writing this. This one hurts!

Maybe we were really better as friends. Maybe we had to get out of our marriage in order to appreciate the other person for who he or she was.

GAH!!!! The internal dialogue, the grievances (whether valid or exaggerated) will have you RIGHT THERE with her. And you know what? Probably even RIGHT THERE with him, too!!!

“I have been trying! What do you think I’ve been doing for the past seven years? I’ve been trying every single day! And it’s not enough! It’s never enough! I cannot keep doing this day in and day out. I can’t keep pretending that things are okay and then falling apart every time we start arguing. Nick, I’m exhausted in my bones. You’re a good person, but it’s like I bring out the absolute worst in you. And the same is true about me! I’m fun. I’m a really fun person. People like me! All of the people except you…”

‘Cause in this one? Neither one is the villain. Neither one is necessarily wrong, or the “bad guy”. Neither one has done anything outwardly… “wrong” to the other… you won’t even find yourself taking a side. Because BOTH have taken each other for granted, not supported each other in ways that the other needed, perhaps even allowed one to take on the brunt of the relationship. Most of the “effort”. To the point that both completely lost themselves, lost their “happy”, lost their love, and lost each other in the process. This is a case of circumstance and emphasis on all the wrong things in life. Too many years of too little effort. Or maybe too much effort, but just in all the wrong ways. No matter. Their need to be apart is inevitable.

I had never known this kind of depression before. I could hardly tolerate my soon to be ex-husband and yet his absence left me unexpectedly battered.

And it’s what they learned while they are apart that had me sobbing into my pillow.

Recording my reactions would have been this… all the way through… with a ton of UGLY crying. Oh I have that picture, too. *yikes!* I tried to compose myself enough for a more normal looking one… like this. Ugly crying? Yeah… that’s real. I have proof.

Maryse: I’m finishing a book that I’ve pretty much cried through, from start to “almost-finished”. It’s been an awesome read, but my heart aches. BADLY! I’ll be reviewing it tonight. ;) I didn’t record myself, ’cause it would have just been a big red-nosed, puffy-faced, ugly cry fest and nobody wants to see that.  rolleyes LOL!

bev: No hint?

Maryse: Every Wrong Reason. It certainly has that “After I Do” feel…

bev: Yes, Maryse, that’s the one Amy wanted. Lol.

Theresa: Oh and I love Rachel Higginson…can’t wait to read the review for Every Wrong Reason…I have that on my list for purchase!

Maryse: DAMN THIS BOOK that won’t let me stop crying… will it ever stop? I swear I’ve been reading it for days ’cause I can’t see through my tears…and crying makes me sleepy.

Maryse: OMG I swear 75% is about to kill me… i’m reading, sobbing and pacing…. I seriously don’t know how I’m gonna finish this… I’m almost there but i keep needing breaks, and to re-connect with you guys so I can calm down. Its why I switched to “Fugly” for a bit… figured maybe I was being hormonal? LOL!!!! And here I am… still trying to finish this one. It’s fabulous… and heartbreaking…

bev: Lol. Its given you a head ache and made you sleepy…. but it’s “awesome.”  :-P

Maryse: Ugh… 89%… I’m a mess. I took a picture. I may include it in the review but it’s not pretty…*snort* Eh… this story is not pretty either, so it’s fitting….

Cheryl: MARYSE- that makes my heart hurt just thinking about reading Every Wrong Reason. Brings back memories of reading After I Do. I better stock up on Kleenex before tuesday!

Tessa: You’re scaring me Maryse. 0.0

Amy: You’re killing me here, Maryse…Badger didn’t make me ugly cry but I need an emotional “pressure release” book after it, and EWR sounds *perfect* for that! Gimme, gimme, gimme!!!!  *sigh* Fine…since I have to wait until Tuesday,

bev: I wonder how the Damn book is treating Maryse?

Amy: Yeah…she did “damn” that book, so you KNOW it’s going to be rough if it has her full-on swearing without symbols. ;)

*snort* OMG I TOTALLY CURSED!!! *gasp* IN PUBLIC!!!! See? SEEEEEEEE how this book affected me? I threw caution to the wind and cursed in writing!!!!! LOL!!!! AHhhhhhhhh you guys it was AH-MAZING!!! This is yet another new “favorite author” of mine. First “The Five Stages of Falling in Love” and then THIS one? HOLY MOLY amazing-author alert!!!!!!!!!

But does it fix them? Living separately? Does it solve everything they were searching for?

We might be different people now.

But he still knew me better than anyone else.

And did they (SHE!!!! LOL!!) drive me crazy at times? OH GOSH YES (to that last part, at least). I will let you take their journey with them, and you will see. Through your tears, that is. ;)

Why did it hurt so much? If this was what we both wanted, why did it feel like death instead of life?

I had loved this man once. I had loved him more than anything else in life. And now we treated each other like enemies.

So all that to say… this may devastate you… or this may elate you, and it did BOTH to me.

Any book that is poignantly written as to make me feel EVERY SINGLE moment in her life (we’re always “her”, by the way), any book that feels like it was written by someone that has ABSOLUTELY BEEN THERE, any book that embeds itself into my heart this deeply and can both break, and make my week, is my favorite!!

“Do you think I’m making a mistake?” I asked the mess.

Kara was quiet for a long time and when she finally spoke, her voice was gentle and reserved. “Do you think you’re making a mistake?”

5 STARS!!!!

The end. *phew* wow…. yeah… no makeup. What’s the point? LOL! :P

P.S. It took me about FOUR days to read this book…. and NOT because the book wasn’t good (OMG I LOVED THE ENTIRE BOOK!!!), but because I cried too much. READ IT!!! I wholeheartedly put my whole heart behind this one, and I can assure you… the author did too. And yes… if you let yourself go…. give yourself to this one’s realism, you WILL FEEL IT like I did. But it is SO WORTH IT. I promise!!!!

P.P.S. Thank you so much to the author for sending me a review copy!! You’re killing me. Seriously. neutral

Get Free Email Updates from me :)

{ 41 comments… read them below or add one }

bev September 20, 2015 at 8:35 PM

Not a “death one”, rofl.
Now Amy will be all, “Damn it”, girl likes her “death ones”.
Great review. Glad that this is a good read for you, lol. Just no crying books for me, right now. Though not sure if would with this one. I usually don’t cry easily with books. Maybe, then.

Maryse September 20, 2015 at 8:38 PM

;) LOL!!! I hesitated on saying not a “death” one, but for as much as I sobbed, I didn’t want to give anyone the wrong idea (in case they wouldn’t read it for that.. I know how bad of a chicken I am when it comes to characters dying)…

Although… holy moly it gave me that same effect.



fabi September 20, 2015 at 8:53 PM


Maryse September 20, 2015 at 9:01 PM



Tessa September 20, 2015 at 9:12 PM

Wow. That’s extreme. And thanking the author with a frowny face? Yep, it much have hit you in the feels big time. *hugs* Ebul awesome book that probably put you in a fog! *kicks book* Part of me is now tempted to read it, but the other part is screaming at me to back away now.

bev September 20, 2015 at 9:22 PM
Maryse September 20, 2015 at 9:39 PM

GASP!!! I LOVED that, bev!!!!

Allison September 20, 2015 at 9:45 PM

Jesus Horatio Christmas.

Your review almost made me cry.

But then I laughed because you mentioned that you cursed in writing and I had to go back and read your comments like 17 times thinking, “Where is the curse?! How am I missing it?!”

Yeah. I finally figured out you were talking about “damn.”

I am a New Yorker. I curse like a dock worker. Damn? That doesn’t even count. LOL you’re adorable.

Think my doc will give me a script for some emotional sedatives so that I can attempt this book? The book that got me the most was Falling Into You by Jasinda Wilder. I have read it about 5 times and every. single. time. I ugly cry. Never fails.

Maryse September 20, 2015 at 9:48 PM

Oh I LOVE a good ugly cry… it’s… therapeutically… expulsing. < — and obviously that is not a word, ’cause my autocorrect is screaming at me right now. *snort*

You’re gonna need at least a ton of tissues, and peace from lookers-ons. Nobody wants to be watched, while reading this. ;)

Amy September 20, 2015 at 10:00 PM

Um…*snorty-sniffle* If the review wasn’t enough to make my eyes and nose water, then the pics definitely were. Those alone made me want to cry *with* you. And you know what I really love? That I don’t know going into it if they are going to work it out or not by the end. THAT is going to make this so much more poignant.

GAH! I can’t wait to get my hands on this book!! :D

Yes, Bev, even without any “death” in it. :P

Amy September 20, 2015 at 10:06 PM

Hey, you know what? If you’re hormonal then *I* must be hormonal as well, and Bev is *obviously* hormonal ’cause she’s been on a needling roll today, so we all must have synced cycles from how much time we spend “around” each other here. *snort*

Maryse September 20, 2015 at 10:08 PM

*happy dance* (still snuffling, though)…

I’ll be there with you Amy, (and everyone else that decides to read it) and I’ll hold your hands.. and you can all snuffle my sleeve.

That’s love, right there!!!

Maryse September 20, 2015 at 10:10 PM

Amy!!! I thought the very same thing. Women that stick together… er… ummm..

I’ll leave it at that. ;)

Amy September 20, 2015 at 10:16 PM


Nothin’ beats “brovulate” though…that was freaking classic. :P

bev September 20, 2015 at 10:23 PM

Oh. My. God. Amy!

And keep your sleeves to yourself.
Have you ever been around a sniffing child only to look down and realize that’s exactly what they did to you?

Amy September 20, 2015 at 10:53 PM

*giggle* Aw Bev, does someone need a snuggle?

Maryse September 20, 2015 at 11:22 PM

*raises hand* I still need a snuggle.

Tessa September 20, 2015 at 11:36 PM


Amy September 20, 2015 at 11:54 PM

I’m always ready to snuggle!

*snuggles into Maryse and Tessa*

And I still have plenty of space free on my PJ top to snuffle on. ;)

Maryse September 20, 2015 at 11:57 PM

Puppy pile!!!

Cheryl September 21, 2015 at 5:54 AM

I didn’t read the review yet, I want to go into this book totally blind, but all the “crying” and woooahs….my heart rate is up already in anticipation of the ANGST!!

Theresa September 21, 2015 at 6:02 AM

Oh Maryse….you looked soooooooo heartbroken in those pics. I am a crier by nature… I cry when I am happy, sad, stressed, frustrated, oh and when there used to be Hallmark commercials (they got me every time!)!!! I can not wait to read this book….we can all use a good cry and a snuggle! Cuddles!

Cheryl September 21, 2015 at 6:20 AM

I did read the author’s “sneak peek” at the 1st chapter and I felt sad and teary-eyed- the mixed emotions she was feeling and his hurt/anger. UGH-this is going to be a tough one, but can’t wait to read it! How weird am I?!!

Roya Carmen September 21, 2015 at 7:51 AM

This looks full of angst!!!… like the kind of book which will make me appreciate my happy marriage… on my TBR list for sure. :)

Ela September 21, 2015 at 8:37 AM

Still hope there’s cheating!!!!

Lauren September 21, 2015 at 9:34 AM

I’m kinda scared to read it. I’ve been through a divorce & it completely shattered me. My ex-husband was my brother’s best friend & we didn’t handle our relationship the right way, sneaking around & lying to everyone. At the time it was fun & exciting but later I realized it was just sneaky & sleazy & in a way doomed our marriage before it even started. Divorce, no matter the reasons or who initiates it, is hard on BOTH parties. Me, I felt like a failure. Aside from raising my kids, my marriage was one of the most important things I would ever do in my life…and I failed at it. At least that’s how I felt at the time & for a long time after. That I had failed at one of the biggest things I would ever be a part of. I had trouble facing my friends & even my family. I’ve since remarried & have been married to him for 10yrs but I swear….I never, ever want to go through that kind of hell again.

Maryse September 21, 2015 at 9:48 AM

Ela you kill me!!!! LOL!!!!

I love each and every one of you, I swear I DO!!!!

You guys make my day, and I’m FINALLY done crying… and it feels so good!

Ahhhhh but I would not ever take back that reading experience. It was incredible. Therapeutic. Fulfilling.

Maryse September 21, 2015 at 10:08 AM

Lauren…. what you just said is A TON of what this book is about.

I get exactly what you are saying… this book really cuts to the core. It could almost be a “trigger” for some.

But at the same time, the message is so important. There are different factors for everyone…

Jean September 21, 2015 at 11:54 AM

After that review, this one is a no-brainer for me. Can’t wait for tomorrow! I loved After I Do and have had 5 Stages on my TBR forever!

Tasha J September 21, 2015 at 12:14 PM

I love this review. At first, it sounded like a book I wouldn’t want to read bc I hate ugly cry books. I don’t always read happy ever after books, but I have to really be in the right mindset for an ugly cry book – they kinda fuel my depression. But the quotes that u wrote really hit home. I have felt those things and I know people who have felt those things: family, friends. I love how you described it as so Real. I need that emotional release right now and haven’t been able to get lost in a book in weeks. My grandma passed away recently and everything has been so crazy, chaotic and stressful. So I’m excited for tomorrow, this sounds like what I need right now! On a better note, I also haven’t even turned the tv on in weeks let alone watch something for myself in a month at least but my phone died today (which is where most of my reading occurs) so I decided to scope out what was new on Netflix. I don’t know if it’s *new* or not but omg u guys have to watch this! It’s called For A Good Time, Call… And I was so surprised by how awesome it was! A pick me up for after u read this, u will love it, I promise! It’s about these 2 girls who start a phone sex business, but it’s NOT a porno! Haha, it’s really funny but not like too raunchy funny either and really heartwarming too. Even if u don’t watch a lot of tv, it’s nice to kind of get out of a funk or just take a break, u will love this movie, swear!! Lol

Cheryl September 21, 2015 at 12:16 PM

Ela, not sure it would be considered cheating since they separate at the beginning of the book and are in the process of a divorce. Sorry to disappoint you!! ;)

Maryse September 21, 2015 at 12:21 PM

Agreed, Cheryl… there is nothing out of the way, that goes on in this one, in regards to stuff like that… (you’ll love them both). Just real life, real couple issues and resentments and reactions and words and actions and… AH. I’ll start crying again.


Maryse September 21, 2015 at 12:26 PM

THANK you Tasha!!! After my reading frenzy I need a good pick-me-up movie and that is exactly what I’m looking for. You just made my day!!! :)

*big squeeeeeezy hug* I’m sorry about your grandma.

Tasha J September 21, 2015 at 12:45 PM

Thanks Maryse!

Lauren September 21, 2015 at 12:52 PM

Tasha, is that the movie that was written by the two woman that star in it? I think I read something about that when it was in the theater. Got lots of great reviews.

Tasha J September 21, 2015 at 12:59 PM

Lauren, I have absolutely no idea who it was written by, it popped up in my news feed on Facebook and I was curious so gave it a shot. If it was written by them though, how cool! They did a really good job, lol I was fully prepared with backups that sounded good if it sucked.

Ela September 21, 2015 at 1:40 PM

Close enough Cheryl!

Michelle September 21, 2015 at 8:10 PM

Oooooo I’m all over this one! Sending a hug Maryse after seeing how much crying you were doing in the pics :( My ugly cry face is too horrific to even take a pic of!

bev September 21, 2015 at 8:17 PM

Michelle, right? Like that’s her ugly cry face??? Lol.

Lisa September 22, 2015 at 5:37 AM

Oh Maryse you make me laugh so much….if you think THAT is ugly crying!!!!!! You still manage to look gorgeous…. even sans makeup and tear streaked. Bless.

Maryse September 22, 2015 at 11:14 AM


You guys… I didn’t post the ugly-cry ones. :) They are horrendous! LOL!!!! But thank you for thinking THAT was my ugly cry. I wish. Tee hee!!!

Leave a Comment


Notify me of followup comments to this post via e-mail. You can also subscribe without commenting.

Previous post:

Next post: