Book Review – Fallen Too Far by Abbi Glines

by Maryse on December 17, 2012 · 103 comments

in Bad Boys & Rock Stars, My Book Reviews

Fallen Too Far: A Rosemary Beach Novel (The Rosemary Beach Series Book 1)
<— I read this one tonight. Straight through. Devoured it. Easy. But now… not so easy. In fact, I just walked into my husband’s “office” and stood behind him. In my Cookie Monster pajamas. Watching. Slouching. Moping. Needing attention. After a few minutes of big heaving sighs he finally turned around (possibly a little creeped out) and said…

Husband: Is something wrong?

Me: No.

Husband: What’s with the face?

Me: Nothing.

Husband: Why aren’t you reading?

Me: ‘Cause.

Husband: Is your book not good?

Me: Yes. *pout* 

Husband: Then go finish it.

Me: I did. *heaving sigh*

Husband: Ohhhhhh it’s one of thoooose huh? Bad ending?

Me: I dunno. Yes. No. I dunno. *shrug* I wasn’t ready to finish it yet. And now I’m finished. I’m bored and I have nothing to read. :(

Husband: *eyebrow raise* Uh huh. Riiiiight. Nothing? I’ve seen your book downloads.

Me: Well…. no more of that one, and it was exactly what I was in the mood for tonight.

Husband: So go find another one. I’m sure there’s more where that came from.

Me: But what if I don’t know what other one will be like that one?

Husband: Does this author have any more books that you haven’t read yet?

Me: Yesssss.

Husband: *gets up… gently grabs my shoulders and spins me around out of his office and into my reading room and plops me down into my blogging chair* Write. The. Review. Do it now while you’re all moody.

Me: Fine. *sigh* But I wanna read some more of that one.

Husband: You can’t. You finished it. It’s done. There’s no more. Write the review and then… read another one from that author after.

Me: *sigh* Fine. *mopey face* neutral

So here I am. Writing the review. Can you tell I loved it? Can you? It’s not that I don’t wanna write the review. I do. But it’s… as if I’m feeling compelled to go lie on my bed and stare at the ceiling. For hours. Frowning. Wishing I could read more of that book. It would be useless of me to try to read anything else right now. I’m in that world at the moment. I want more Rush. I have a Rush-crush. I’m lonely. I tried to get my husband to cuddle me but he seems to think it’s prime time for me for me to write. *hrmph* I don’t know that I’m all that… “expressive” right now. *hrmph* When I tried to cuddle, he said,

“Ohhhh no. Did you cry?”

Indignant me: “Noooooo!”

*hrmph* Did. I. Cry? *smirk* As if I have a habit of crying. Er. Well. ;) It’s our secret. But you see… someone did cry. And I needed to cuddle… “them”. But I won’t say who. Or why.

This one was good, and I don’t know how to describe exactly what… hooked me. The writing was fine. The story was good. The characters. Good. Okay. Extra good. hee hee! *shrug* I easily sipped into the heroine’s skin. She was relateable. It kind of moved fast, and he sort of… said things that made me squinch my nose at times. And the others… UGH!!!

And yet, after a few more chapters… I was sucked right in. That little bit of extra melodrama be damned, I was in. I think there was magic in the air with this one. It was all very good, nothing extremely out of the ordinary (except for that twist that I knew was coming, but could not, for the life of me, figure out). And now I know why things were a little “extra” melodramatic. So… I get it. But you know. It was… good.

And yet for some reason, I am so seriously affected. I think romantic angsty pixie dust flew out of this e-book at me and enraptured me. Either that, or Abbi Glines is totally my thing when it comes to pure guilty pleasures.

‘Cause that’s what I consider this. Sweet sweet, bad for my teeth, candy that… even though I know is just a tad too sweet, I CRAVE it. Like… have you ever eaten something where you think you like it, but you’re not sure just how much? But you keep eating it, liking it more and more until it’s all gone. And then shortly thereafter, you seriously crave more of it. And each time you eat it again, you crave it even more and you know… this is gonna be a favorite. Well. That’s how I feel about this book. At times it felt a bit too much… and yet, it was exactly what I wanted.

So what’s it about?

Blaire has just lost her mother. Devastated and alone, and pretty much homeless, calls her father (who abandoned them once upon a time) for a place to stay.

Calling my father, after he had failed to come even once during the three years my mother had fought death, had been hard. It had been necessary though; he was the only family I had left.

Which just so happens to be his new wife’s house. Well. Her son’s house. ‘Cause you see she was a groupie once, had a famous rock star’s baby, and now of course, the rock star’s son (Rush) has… a lot. Fun right?? Oh yes.

Rush Finley is your step-brother. He’s the only child of the famous drummer for Slacker Demon, Dean Finley. His parents never married. His mother, Georgianna, was a groupie back in the day. This is his house. His mother gets to live here because he allows it.

Well. *eyebrow raise* Now we know what Blair’s in for…

Blaire however, just wants a place to stay until she can get a job, back on her feet, and get the heck out of Dodge. And that means moving into “Rush’s” house. And, Rush… well. He’s arrogant and cocky and “seemingly” a little inconsiderate. Except that for some reason, he takes pity on her, and accepts her into his home. But he’s not that nice. And he wants her out, soon. And he doesn’t even seem to care when she walks in on a few… very *whoooooo* sexy situations. In fact… he seems to like it.

“Last night is haunting me. Knowing you were watching. It drives me crazy.”

And as time passes,  a few opportunities allow them to get to know each other a little better.

“We’re friends. I’ll talk and I won’t leave. Just please, stay in here with me.”

There’s an attraction, but Rush has a HUGE terrible secret that forces him to keep his distance from her. And his rich and spoiled entourage practically force her to keep her distance… all together. Oh some of ‘em were just wretched!!! Eeeeeeek I felt like I was watching a sort of… Gossip Girl meets Pretty in Pink. Well, you know what I mean. ;)

Everyone has an agenda. A secret. A lifestyle. And she’s the outsider and some wanna keep her there.

And I’m gonna leave it at that. ‘Cause getting to know Rush… is a rush. And you all totally need to give him a go.*sa-woooooooon!!!!* He was wayyyyy over the top at times (they all were)…

“Blaire, I’m not a romantic guy. I don’t kiss and cuddle. It’s all about the sex for me. You deserve someone who kisses and cuddles. Not me. I just f&%k, baby.”

… and yet, I still swoooned like mad. We all did.

Maryse’s Book Blog: So I’m reading Fallen Too Far by Abbi Glines, and I start noticing a weird… kind of… tremor-y feeling. Just like, as if I’ve just received awesome news or something. It feels like my heart is excited… and then I realized. OMG, I think “Rush” is giving me a rush. I think I’ve got a little adrenaline spike going on. I think I’ve got a Rush-crush and he isn’t even very nice, yet. But you know I LOVE that. ;)

Yanira: I can’t wait to start tonight!

Michele: lol Rush-crush.. heheheh you are funny. I am feeding my infant while trying my best not to think about starting this book, I can’t wait to escape… Hopefully Rush will be my next book boyfriend. lol

Heather: I finished it at 330 this morning. You will LOVE it!

Anne: You made me smile

Glenda: Just got mine. I can’t wait to start.!!!

Kostantina: I’m half way through and I’m loving it!!!!!

Priscilla: Stay up till 5 this morning loved it can’t wait for second book

Sue: I love Abbi Glines,,, her guys always give me those little tremors

Claudia: Me too..

Kristi: I’m feeling it too Maryse!!!!

Sarah: Me too… Definitely crushing on Rush !!! X

Carina: You have no idea. Keep reading.

Celeste: Read it in a day. Couldn’t put it down! It seems line March’s book line up will have me selling my left kidney.

Anjanette: Bought it last nite finished it at 6am this morning

Lisa: I read it cover to cover in one sitting. There was no putting this book down, even for bathroom breaks. I have a major “Rush Crush”. I can hardly wait for March, and book two!

Robin: Just bought it, but now I’m thinking I shouldn’t start it until I have time to read the whole thing!

Megan: You will love Rush.. It’s a promise!!!!

Michele: heading to Amazon!! Tee Hee.

Paula: I’ve read it twice already! Rush *swoon*

Claudia: Just finished and ..damn..waiting for book #2!!:-(

Paige: Ok, just bumped this to #1. Starting now…GO!

Emma: Don’t want to feel left out, just got it too!

Sally: Oh my I just saw all this. Guess I know what I’m reading after I finish Ten Tiny Breaths. Please tell me it’s not paranormal.

Stacey: LaCock Oh, Rush. I love him. I just finished it a few minutes ago. And between Rush and Kayden (Coincidence of Callie and Kayden), I have absolutely two new amazingly fabulous book boyfriends. The only thing that makes me so sad is I didn’t realize they were both series books. I’m pretty sure my heart has shattered a thousand times over the last two days for a thousand different reasons between the two of them. And now I have to wait for more!? It’s so not fair!

Angie: i just finished this book i didnt realize it was a series either i’m lost how long for more i need more of the story!!!

Angie: The next book is scheduled for march!!

Maryse’s Book Blog: March 2013!!??? Nooooooooooooooo!! Nooooooooo! Whyyyyyyyyyy? Whyyy *hiccup* whyyyyyyyyy? Arggghhhhhhh. *hrmph*

Sandra: should i wait Maryse?

Maryse’s Book Blog: Well I’m glad i read it ’cause I had much fun for a few hours, but, I’m suffering a bit right now. Yes. It’s a quick read and well worth it, though.

Angie: I’m a little lost now … Was so worth the read though!!!!

Maryse’s Book Blog: That’s right!! I’m lost. I still want to read, but more of this!

Angie: Yep!!! I sat absorbed and moved to ten tiny breaths or I would think about fallen too far all night… Still probably lay awake half the night thinking about it!!

Now I know… you’ll likely be mad at me once you’re done this one, but it’ll still have been worth it. ;)

I’m going to go with 4.5 stars for this. 4 stars for the overall book, and 5 stars for how it made me feel… overall. Feel me?

And now that I finally have this one off my chest, maybe I can go ahead and give another book a go, right now, ’cause I’m SO in the mood to read some more. Hrmmm… my husband was right. Well. Would you look at that? Why is he always right? ARGH! DO. NOT let him know I said that. ;)

Oh and that cover? Gorgeous right? TOTALLY THEM!!!!!!!

Get Free Email Updates from me :)

{ 103 comments… read them below or add one }

Jennifer N December 17, 2012 at 1:01 AM

Ok so now I want to read this book. Love the cover! But first i have to sy your dialogue with your husband was adorable! Very sweet!

Maryse December 17, 2012 at 1:03 AM

It was 100% real. I knew exactly how to start this review after that… ;)

Cassie December 17, 2012 at 1:16 AM

Oh my God Maryse the conversation between you and your husband had me laughing so hard I was crying. I have had that exact conversation with my husband!!! I even made him read it to me because I was laughing to hard to finish it. Thank you for letting me know I’m not alone :)

Nicky December 17, 2012 at 1:23 AM

I am so with you Maryse. My mind keeps wandering back all day to a few scenes, especially that last one. I want to give that person a hug too. I’m frustrated though, I’ve unknowingly picked a few cliffhangers in a row, and my iPad throwing arm is getting twitchy!

Maryse December 17, 2012 at 1:27 AM

LOL!!!! Our group is SOOOO alike It’s why we’re a group, after all. We get each other. ;)

Maryse December 17, 2012 at 1:28 AM

Yes this year has been cliffhanger extravaganza, Nicky. So right. Grrrrrr!!!!!

Ginger Snaps December 17, 2012 at 1:32 AM

I read this today too. Had exact same reaction. Didn’t want to read anything else after, so I read it again. *sigh*

Carrie December 17, 2012 at 1:35 AM

Sooo….. don’t throw rocks at me… but I have this Love/Hate thing going with some of Abbi’s books. I love to read them but then… hate that I fell for it… again. Naive girl/Playboy guy… virgin/manwhore… insert name changes. Just on the outside of novella in length. They are great cleansers between heavier, angst filled reads though. I didn’t read the release before this one (Just for Now?) because well… $4.99 for virgin/manwhore I will pay… but $7.99 is too much for a ‘snack’.

All that being said… Rock Star. Rock Star with a Secret. Rock Star with a Secret that gave you tremors.

I’m soooo gonna cave. I wonder if I can hold out until tomorrow.

Maryse December 17, 2012 at 1:40 AM

LOL Carrie!!! Well I’m going to admit this is my 2nd Abbi Glines read. My first was “Breath” over a year ago, and let’s just say… this one… SO DIFFERENT.

So for me… totally fresh (even though, of course, we’ve “read it before” considering the typical bad boy, and why he’s the way he is, and all that…) but I just haven’t read it “Abbi’s” way, yet, ya know?

P.S. Hahah!!! Virgin/Manwhore <— you had that one pegged!

Steamy for sure, though… whoooo!! And of course there’s my intense Rush-crush. I can’t get passed a few of his… moments. He got better as the book went on and by the end, I was HOOKED on him.

Oh and you had “snack” used perfectly here. I SO needed this sweet snack. It’s been a bit intense here, book-wise.

angie December 17, 2012 at 2:18 AM

I was not expecting the end at all I seriously backed up a couple pages reread then forward trying to figure out where the end was then when it dawned on me that was the end I wanted to cry

Liz S. December 17, 2012 at 2:27 AM

Ok so I loved your review because I pretty much felt the same once I finished it… lost. There needs to be a disclaimer: Beware of Cliffhanger. This the second one in row for me… its starting go make me an emotional mess ugh. So good though.

Christina December 17, 2012 at 2:37 AM

Ack, just finished the book and there’s a cliffhanger!!! What?!? Nooooo!!! I want more of Rush ;)
Well anyways I loved the book despite the cliffhanger. It’s good that we don’t have to wait long for the next one.

V. December 17, 2012 at 3:42 AM

The next one? I was hoping it was a stand alone. Gonna get it as soon as it is on Kobo.

Maureen December 17, 2012 at 6:43 AM

I’m sold. This book is next! I’m asking Santa for some of those cookie monster PJs. Oh and BTW, I may have a tiny crush on your hubby…what a sweetie! ;)

Rachel W December 17, 2012 at 7:19 AM

Agree with Jennifer, it sounds like you have an amazingly supportive husband ;) you guys are too cute.

Kirsten December 17, 2012 at 7:54 AM

Great review Maryse. I want to read this one, but another cliff hanger :( I don’t think I can take it.

Laura Podrasky December 17, 2012 at 8:06 AM

Yes, I read this and now I’m feeling just the same. I can’t believe we have to wait until March for more of them. It’s going to be a long lonely winter!

Nicole December 17, 2012 at 8:09 AM

I agree…the book was over way too soon, and I totally didn’t see the cliffhanger. It was so disappointing and so good. I was way into the book and then it ended, and I was WHAT???!!! CLIFFHANGER??? NOOOOO!!! So I am no so patiently waiting for book 2 in march!

coco smith December 17, 2012 at 8:32 AM

Absolutely adoreddddd this book. Same emotions running through me. Such a swet story!! Maryse……please please let me know when you find something similat. Im dieing over here!!!!!!!

joey December 17, 2012 at 9:08 AM

Love your blog and reviews. I read it every day. :) Thank you!

Jenny December 17, 2012 at 9:12 AM

absolutely perfect description! LOVED the book as I do all Abbi Glines books… but when I looked down and saw it was 99% and it wasn’t over I found myself chanting “NO NO NO!” Cant believe Abbi did that to us… I even tried to start another book to get rid of the “no no no” feeling but ended up reading a whole chapter of a new book still thinking of Rush! I wonder if we all sign a petition of ‘undue stress’ will Abbi release the next book sooner??

Erin G December 17, 2012 at 9:42 AM

Goign to start as soon as I finish The Opportunist…

Twilla December 17, 2012 at 10:24 AM

Ahh… Here’s a big hug…… I have to put my other book away and start this one. You made me want to read it now but can’t I’m at work, can’t wait to my lunch break. grrrr!!!

Jamie@Addicted2Heroines December 17, 2012 at 11:04 AM

Fantastic review! Just finished this last night and I couldn’t put it down! I couldn’t figure out the big reveal, either. I can’t wait until March!!!

Christy December 17, 2012 at 11:33 AM

Ok this is going to be my next read….today! I think I need to jump on the Abbi Glines band wagon here too…I haven’t read even one of her books yet :( I see/hear so many good things though so ok…I’m in…starting now. :)

LucyLou December 17, 2012 at 12:13 PM

Oooohhh.. this looks soooo good!

helen December 17, 2012 at 12:32 PM

Oh noooo….I have a feeling this is going to be another great read. I downloaded last night but only read about 3 sentences. I think an early lunch along with some in between reading @ work will be on the agenda today..hehehe. Cant wait ;)

Rebecka December 17, 2012 at 12:43 PM

Books like this need to come with a warning label. It was too good.

Michaela December 17, 2012 at 1:20 PM

Well, that left me with a “huh. …now what do I do?” feeling. I was expecting some major turn, but not what happened! Rush is adorable. I think I would have liked a little more angst.. But then again, Abbi Glines has such a “sweet” style of writing. I agree. 4.5 stars.. I’m just bummed we have to wait until March to find out what happens next! I want more Rush!! And maybe even Woods.. He turned into a decent, professional guy!

Scoti Miles December 17, 2012 at 2:22 PM

Just finished this one! I think I’m having Rush withdrawls already! He’s very Travis-like to me ;) Can’t believe I have to wait unil March for the next one…BOO!

Tobie December 17, 2012 at 3:51 PM

I couldn’t stop reading. Even though I’ve read”this book before” man who’re/virgin, angst, secrets etched. There is something about this one. I almost wanted to cry when I was done. I just wanted more. I just can’t stop thinking about it. I HAVE to find something else to read…don’t know what but I have to get my mind off this book because I can’t stop thinking about this book!!

Stephanie D December 17, 2012 at 5:09 PM

I cannot wait to get home and purchase this book! Thank goodness my husband will be out so he’ll never know…lol! He thinks I’m crazy that I have some many on my TBR list and still buy books. I just tell him…. but Maryse gave it a 5 star rating, he just shakes his head and then tells me to enjoy my book :)

DeeDee December 17, 2012 at 5:28 PM

Hahahahaha! The same thing happened to me when I finished last night! I was so bummed it was over. I started and put down 2 or 3 books because they weren’t the same as Fallen Too Far. Now I have to wait until March for the next book! Waaaaaaaa!

Teresa December 17, 2012 at 5:31 PM

Just start to read it again, that’s what I did!

Ana December 17, 2012 at 5:32 PM

Waiting 4 months for the next one is major torture!!!!

Maryse December 17, 2012 at 5:38 PM

You know what I’m gonna read next? I think it’s time for Abbi’s book, “While It Lasts”

It’s been on my TBR for awhile, and I hear it’s awesome, but I know there are books before it in the series that I have yet to read. Can I read While It Lasts as a standalone?

What do y’all think?

DeeDee December 17, 2012 at 5:55 PM

If you read While It Lasts, you might be spoiled to the previous story lines, IMO. But I will say I read Because of Low first before I read her others and I didn’t feel like anything was spoiled for me. And if you liked Fallen Too Far’s story, you’ll love Because of Low.

Traci B. December 17, 2012 at 6:47 PM

Read fallen too far, and I was like Jenny above when I realized I had to wait for part 2….ugg!!!!! I have so many part 2&3 books coming out in the spring i’m gonna be busy reading at least…oh and I actually did not guess the plot twist…also u may want to read the vincent boys/brothers by abbi. Beau is one of my fav book crushes lol.

Maryse December 17, 2012 at 6:47 PM

Good! I have both and am in the mood for more like this…

Christina December 17, 2012 at 7:52 PM

Yes, read Because of Low first because than While It Lasts well make more sense. Then you’ll have to read Just For Now :)

Can’t wait for the Vincent Brothers new releases, to see what steaminess she’s added :)

Sarah B. December 17, 2012 at 8:13 PM

Thank you for the chuckle tonight, reading your banter with your hubby. I can’t wait to read this book. I so want a Rush crush too. ;)

Karen December 17, 2012 at 9:30 PM

Absolutely loved the book.i want more Rush. Your review was perfect!

jewels December 17, 2012 at 9:33 PM

I should have read the whole review before i downloaded the book….damn damn damn! Gotta wait 3 months for the next one…really?..noooooooo

Megan December 17, 2012 at 9:47 PM

I loved the Vincent Boys and tried my hand at Fallen To Far and loved it and hated it because of how it ended! I was like you left wanting more:( Hurry up March! …… and who cant get enough of virgin/ manwhore cause we all want to relive that moment especially with these bad boys;)

Devin December 17, 2012 at 10:16 PM

Ughhhh just finished and feel the exact same way!

Joanna I December 17, 2012 at 10:18 PM

I’m about half way through the book and loving every bit of it!!

Tiffany Smith December 17, 2012 at 11:39 PM

LOVED THIS BOOK!!! I wasnt gonna read it yet until I read your review!!! Holy,Started it and I could NOT stop until It was DONE!!! It had it all!! THANKS!!

Maryse December 18, 2012 at 12:50 AM


This was a winner!!! Look at us all loving it!

Theresa December 18, 2012 at 12:50 AM

I read your review this morning and immediately started the book. I finished it tonight because I couldn’t put it down. I feel exactly like you did after you finished, shoulders slumped and ready to cry. :-/

Takisha December 18, 2012 at 1:34 AM

I started this last night after finishing Accidentally on Purpose and it was just what i needed! I loved it, a lil shocked at the twist…i knew something was coming as well but didnt know what. RUSH! yea something had me crushing on him big time and i can not wait for more of him and them! Good read!

Helen December 18, 2012 at 3:05 AM

Oh…geez you did warn me Maryse & yet I continued to read as Rush had me hooked. I feel angst x10!!! I just can’t believe I have to wait until March :\ as always another amazing read!

Fritz December 18, 2012 at 3:36 AM

I just finished the book and waaaaaaa. We experienced the same after-feeling Maryse. I can’t wait for the next book. Be right back *sniffs*

Tasha December 18, 2012 at 7:16 AM

Im going to read it now! But i feel like giving you a hug!! lol

LaurenB December 18, 2012 at 9:20 AM

I wasn’t sure about this one given it was about a stepbrother and stepsister, but now I definitely will check it out. And you could read while it lasts first, which was my favorite of the seabreeze series until just for now came out, and I can’t decide which one I liked better. I would say, though, that she seems to be upping the ante with each one. So if you don’t read because of low first, I think you might be disappointed in how innocent that one is compared to the others. Or maybe that was just me. Breathe was my least favorite, although it was a sweet story. Anyway, I better get to work but I can’t wait to get home tonight and read this one!

Kim Cheeseman December 18, 2012 at 9:47 AM

OMG…I just finished the book at 230 am I was at 80% and had to go to sleep…so finished this am….did not expect this to end this way…I try to read your reviews AFTER I read the book…no spoilers you know…and I just cannot believe the ending….I hate not having the next book RIGHT NOW!!!!! Yes, I LOVE me some RUSH….What a book….You have really found some Great ones, Maryse!

Pam December 18, 2012 at 11:09 AM

Why do you do this to me, Maryse?? I was 91% through when I left for work this morning and when I got into my office, I pulled it up on my Kindle app and had to finish it on my phone! I was holding it under my keyboard tray in case anyone walked in! Now I am in a Rush-induced stupor and cannot focus on work (hence the reason why I am posting this right now and not actually doing my work)!

Maryse December 18, 2012 at 11:23 AM

I do it ’cause it’s fun and I don’t wanna be the only one in that stupor. ;)

Tee hee!!!!!! :P

Joooiinnnnn ussssss. Joinnnnnn usssssss….

*book-zombie trance walk*

Kellye Pickens December 18, 2012 at 11:38 AM

Good Grief! I look rough today! I stayed up ….way too late…got up …way too early….just to read this book! I’m late to work just because I couldn’t put it down. I even had someone honk at me because the light turned green and I was ‘occupied’. tee hee
Thanks for the recommendation

Joanna December 18, 2012 at 11:48 AM

That book was soooo worth only 3 hours of sleep!! :)

Christy December 18, 2012 at 1:03 PM

Just finished this book…ahhh I need more! I’m not ready to be done either…do we really have to wait until march *whiny voice* I think I’m with you Maryse, I’m going to read some more of Abbi’s book. I’ll take the recommendation from above & start with because of low :)

Melissa December 18, 2012 at 1:08 PM

So weird! I felt the SAME exact way as you Maryse. I want more of them NOW. I definetly need a HEA for Blaire and Rush. I wouldn’t mind seeing a stand alone book for the other two men (Grant and Woods). : )

B Palmer December 18, 2012 at 2:02 PM

I just finished reading it too. I give the 1st half of the book 3 stars and the end…5+ stars! I didn’t see that coming! I am now hooked and waiting for the 2nd book as well…come on March!

Val December 18, 2012 at 3:39 PM

Ugh. Maryse!! Why?!! I’m in a serious funk now. I’m sleep deprived too. Spring can’t come fast enough. Need something to uplift my spirits!!

Joan Dunn December 18, 2012 at 6:11 PM

I read this book last night after reading your review. The only thing is I need to read again after that finale. I am still not sure what is going on. Don’t get me wrong, I loved the book and can’t wait for part 2 in March 2013, but I was still unfulfilled and yes, a lot like you were – sad and not wanting it to end that way. Until next year…..

Tracy D. December 18, 2012 at 6:12 PM

I’ve read all of Abbi’s books, and Fallen Too Far is my favorite so far-I think-but, to be fair, I think I have said that after every one of them..oh well, I will say without a doubt that Rush is my number one book boyfriend by Abbi..well, there is Beau and Sawyer…hmmm…nah, it’s bad boy Rush! The next book can’t get here fast enough..type, Abbi Glines, type :)

JBetts December 18, 2012 at 8:21 PM

After reading this book from start to finish (in one sitting, mind you) I feel like I’ve just given myself an early Christmas present. A testosterone filled, angsty, tear-jerking present. (Yep, I cried. The end was too much for me. I’m a wimp).

So I obviously loved Rush (tattooed, alpha-esque, arrogant and dirty- RIGHT up my alley), and the secondary characters were great… but this story was all about Blaire for me. She was strong, perseverant, thoughtful, kind, and loyal. One of my all time favorite herorine’s.

Sara December 18, 2012 at 9:00 PM

I’ve read plenty of Abbi Glines books and this one has my insides twisted!! I can’t even formulate complete sentences right now regarding how this book made me feel!

Lindsey December 19, 2012 at 10:31 AM

Thank you for writing that! My husband and I had a similar conversation as I finished and let out a huge sigh. I am still digesting that I have to wait to see what will happen. Its like pausing a movie in the best part :( All in all because of the ending I couldn’t even rate the book because it is so unfinished in my mind.

Missy December 19, 2012 at 1:15 PM

Maryse – sista, you nailed this review! I feel like I was in a parallel universe. I read it straight through, went to my hubby (looking for a cuddle), he reacted the same way by sending me out of the room to read something else (and get over it), and lastly, sleep did NOT come. I just laid there, looking at the ceiling. Ugh!

liz December 20, 2012 at 8:24 AM

I’ve been reading your blog for a few months (and love it!) and this is my very first comment…

After reading this book (in one sitting) I am a wreck!!!!!!!!!!!! How could it end there? We have too many months to wait until the next one comes out. Totally unfair!!
O.k. that’s my mini-rant…I now need to figure out a way to go finish living my life.

Alicia December 20, 2012 at 3:16 PM

I just finished this book. I read it in less than a day. I couldn’t put it down. It was just a sweet book. I am so frustrated with the ending. I did not see it coming either! Great review Maryse! Every book you reccomend I love too. That Rush what a guy! Very steamy scenes… I hope Blaire and Rush get their happy ending. I’ll be so mad if they don’t!

kristen December 20, 2012 at 9:41 PM

I am so upset by the ending march cant come fast enough I cried at the end. I was so shocked I felt like you did I was in awe I cant even believe it.

Carissa December 21, 2012 at 3:56 PM

No! No! No! No! I feel empty. I want to break things. It was so good!!! Why’d it have to end like that?!?! Why???? I need more and I need it now. I can’t even…omg. There are no words.

Shannon December 21, 2012 at 7:48 PM

I just read this book and march cannot get here fast enough! Thank you for recommending this book.

Amy D December 26, 2012 at 7:30 PM

Ditto on the convo with sig oth. Don’t they know?
I loved this book so much that March cannot come quickly enough. Sigh*

Shawna December 26, 2012 at 11:12 PM

I just devoured this in one sitting tonight. Such a great read. I loved it and want the sequel NOW!!! Thanks for suggesting this one for sure Maryse!

Angie H. December 27, 2012 at 5:22 AM

Um yeah…this story was intense and compelling and sexy.
Not proud of it…but I need more Rush like NOW!
First time reading Abbi Glines and she did not disappoint.
Great story and chemistry between the main characters that leaps off the pages. Need Never Too Far (Book 2) sooner than March! Aaarrrrggh.

Helena F December 27, 2012 at 7:39 AM

I’m about to start this book, and I thought I’d check out what you thought of it, and your conversation with your husband just cracked me up so much. I’ve had that same conversation with my husband countless times, and it’s nice to know that I’m not the only one that throws around the heavy sighs when I want attention because of a book I’ve read or currently reading.

Sandra December 27, 2012 at 12:17 PM

I loved this book, I want more!!!! Can’t wait till the second part is out!!! Maryse what book are you reading now??

Minha (BrazGirl) December 27, 2012 at 3:15 PM

Just finished Fallen To Far Maryse. Now I totally understand everything you described on your review, because I am feeling the same way. Its impressive how you could put in words that feeling that I had no idea how to describe. you’re awesome. Loved it and can’t wait for more. :)
Have no idea what I am reading next…

Aimee December 27, 2012 at 10:15 PM

OMG!!! I just finished this book . This is the quickest I’be ever read a book . At the end I was like…’s over!?!?! What a great book and great way to start my relationship with my kindle I got for Christmas . Thanks Maryse!!!

Tanya December 28, 2012 at 8:28 PM

I thought the way Blaire was treated was horrible! Woods and Grant were were the only decent people in the book (Rush included). Having her under the stairs eating PB sandwiches was particularly cruel – like Cinderella. Talk about paying for the sins of the father. I hope she doesnt forgive him. He treated her terribly and she watched him snagging all those girls. If she does, she is a better woman than I am.

Jenni December 30, 2012 at 12:59 AM

Fantastic one day read that ended in heart breaking tears. I was sucked into their emotions through the entire story. So ready for the more Rush (and Blaine).

Mindy December 30, 2012 at 9:02 PM

GAAAAH! This book ripped my heart out…I’m pretty sure I walked away in a daze & loving every second of it! I mean really, as things were unfolding I was caught up…so caught up in what was happening not realizing that pouting/venting about it until my husband called me out on it!

I was nearing the end when it dawned on me that I was completely sucked in….like that fight or flight feeling that snatches you before you’re even aware of what’s happening. Same feeling I got with “How To Kill A Rockstar (which I fear that book may haunt me for the rest of my life…but in a great way).

The end left me going, “Wait a minute….What?” and spinning back on my kindle to go “NOOOOOOOOO, I need more”

Can’t wait for MORE <3

stacey inutson-hall January 2, 2013 at 2:22 PM

It amazes me how we all had the exact same reaction to this story! I haven’t found a book that has made me want to turn around and read it again immediately because I didn’t want to lose my feelings for ALL the characters. Yes, I openly admit I have a Rush Crush too!! ♡♥♡

LucyLou January 4, 2013 at 3:04 AM

I finally read this book since it’s on your 25 best for 2012. I could not put it down and now I am down :( Between this and “Dirty Red”, I am angsting (is this even a word) my life away waiting for the next books in these series. But what is really disturbing is that I AM LOVING IT!!! ;) Oh and I too have a Rush Crush! ;)

Nicole January 4, 2013 at 10:03 AM

Ok, me too. Rush-crushing major! I couldn’t wait to read this after reading Maryse’s review. I read it yesterday – sneaking in some at work ;) – and finished it last night. I couldn’t put it down! My husband was following me around the house looking for attention, so I kept hiding in various rooms so I could finish it! LOL But when I finished I sooooo wanted to snuggle. That ending! UGH! Lefting me squirming and wanting more more more. I can’t wait for the next book. Tapping my fingers until then! :D

Maryse January 4, 2013 at 10:25 AM

haha looking for attention!!! ;) That was very cute!

Nicole January 4, 2013 at 11:32 AM

he he he.

tise January 5, 2013 at 10:54 AM

Ok so now i totally understand your angst you felt in your review. Didnt think it was possible after reading The Edge of Never, but you did it again. I am in another book depression lol*sigh*. How many more days until Rush returns? Lol

cindy January 5, 2013 at 12:45 PM

I also loved this book. I tryed starting another one last night and put itdown after first chapter. Cannot wait for march. I am going to get another abbi book and hopefully it will be as good!!!

Sandy January 6, 2013 at 11:13 AM

OMG!!!! I so need a huge hug…. This book flipping Abbi she has done it again I fell for this hook line and sinker. I have been moping since last night when I finished its unbelievable how strong Blaire is, and what I loved the most was her concept of saying goodbye… She didn’t get that chance with Valarie or her Mom and when she decided to to the goodbyes with Rush, ooooooohhhhhhhhhhh someone please hold me. And her line:
“GOODBYES WEREN’T ALL THEY ARE CRACKED UP TO BE. I KNOW THIS NOW” :( OMG someone please put me out of my sad misery.

Cathryn zuniga January 12, 2013 at 1:00 PM

I just read Fallen too Far and I absolutely loved it!!!!!
I felt the same way at the end; I was disappointed to
Know the next installment comes in March ;0(
Are there any other books like this one that you could recommend???

Caroleanne January 21, 2013 at 12:12 PM

Who’s excited for “Never Too Far” to come out on March 12??

Maryse January 21, 2013 at 2:34 PM


Christina January 21, 2013 at 2:59 PM

I thought it was coming our at the end of Feb, Looking forward to it either way :)

Michellè January 29, 2013 at 10:19 AM

What….no!!! I just finished last night or should I say this morning!!!! 5am. I need more. Maryse, I wish I read your review first! 3+ weeks is going to be difficult to wait!!! I don’t know how you other ladies are hangin in there who read it over a month ago! Please tell me the days get better…I am yearning for more Rush!!!!! What should I read next!!? I need something to to get my mind off off this one ASAP!!! Anyone recommend NOAH or COLLIDE?

Nicole Kruppa January 29, 2013 at 1:14 PM

Michelle, I am so with you on that! I can’t wait for the next book either!!! I read Captive in the Dark after this. I needed a draker read to help me out. LOL And it did. ;)

april February 5, 2013 at 9:39 AM

I’m half way through and I have such a Rush crush!!!

Nicole P February 7, 2013 at 7:36 PM

OMG. I bought this book this morning and finished it in a few hours. What an amzaing book. It left me so wanting more. Rush and Blaire are awesome together. I had no idea what the cliffhanger would be. And boy or boy, I can only imagine how it is going to play out. While Rush is NO Travis, he definitely is close to it. Love, love, love this book. Thank you so much. :)

Melissa Chavez February 14, 2013 at 1:05 AM

OMG!!! You always do this too me! You give a review and then the what ever you say just…sticks with me and torments me….until I have no choice but to wait until my hubby goes to bed and then download it to my e-reader!! Jamie McGuire’s Beautiful Distaster tormented me forever until I got it. I devoured it. Travis… yummy. You sing to my readers heart. But I have soo many downloads now that I don’t know where to start!! This week alone I got both Flesh and Skin by Kylie Scott. And haven’t gotten to them yet. And now I am jonesing for this one. It’s like I need my book fix even tho I have sooo many books on my shelves and in my e-reader that I don’t know where to start!!! But I will be getting this one too!!! LOL. It just sounds soooo good. This will be download # 5 for me this week. good thing I handle the checking account. Hee hee.

April Chamberlain February 16, 2013 at 6:29 PM

I LOVED this book. I have never read a book before where I have felt a character’s torment like one. There were parts that left me feeling really sad (and I felt like crying) and then other parts that made me so happy (I just sat there smiling too myself). The way these characters come across is just fantastic and it makes it really to relate to them, especially Blaire

Danielle September 12, 2013 at 8:39 AM

So glad i didn’t find this blog until august, 2013!! But now that I’ve downloaded so many in such a short time, my hubby is asking me where this reading crazy came from……….so i totally blamed Maryse!! LOL Anyway, I finished this book and b/c I’m here so late, the 2nd book is already out so I downloaded it last night and have to wait til after work to start it!!

Leave a Comment


Notify me of followup comments to this post via e-mail. You can also subscribe without commenting.

Previous post:

Next post: