Book Review – Fifty Shades of Grey by E. L. James

by Maryse on September 25, 2011 · 72 comments

in Bad Boys & Rock Stars, My Book Reviews

Fifty Shades of Grey: Book One of the Fifty Shades Trilogy
Stayed up until 4am. Woke up at 9am to continue and read straight through (ecstatically) until it was done. I’m fifty shades of obsessed with this. I just finished this MOST AWESOME book, one that will DEFINITELY make my next “top list”, and I can’t stop thinking about it (BTW: all the quotes below, come from only the first 19% of the book. Can you imagine how much more there will be!!?)

And I gotta thank the one who recommended it to me by saying…

“Hey woman.  You have to read ‘Fifty Shades of Grey’ … I could not put this one down and I am still lamenting over the story in my head.”

She’d been recommending it for a couple of weeks now. Then she said the magic word (cause I was yet again, pining over a favorite hero):

“Wait until you read Fifty Shades – then you’ll be measuring Travis against Christian Grey.  Talk about tortured hero.”

8-O Now THAT got my attention. Hey! A girl’s gotta read what a girl’s gotta read, and we all know what kind of hero I like. So I read it, and LOVED it to death!! And now that I’d finally settled into it, she was nowhere to be found. So I sent her some reactionary, one-sided emails. My gasping moments. My heartaches. My confusion. My realizations.

T!! Where are you!? I. Am. LONEEEELYYY. I miss them!! I want more.

But I lucked out! Book #2 (Fifty Shades Darker: Book Two of the Fifty Shades Trilogy) has just recently been released (and thank goodness for that considering the “cliffhanger” of sorts at the end of this one). How cruel for all of you that had to wait! Lucky I don’t have to. Except I hear there is a book#3 on the way which now has me nervous that book #2 will try to kill me like book one did.

So what’s the book about, you ask?

Ana is unfortunately volunteered to help her best friend with a newspaper article, by interviewing the elusive, rich and powerful, Christian Grey. Unfortunately? Well sorta. Because had her friend not asked her to do this, she would never have met Christian, and she wouldn’t be caught in this predicament (this mutual infatuation) with someone she deems so completely out of her league. But Christian can’t get his mind off of Ana once she leaves. What he wants, he gets. And while she’s not his typical choice (he only associates with those already in his lifestyle – Lifestyle? I’m getting to that ;) ), there’s just something about Ana that calls to him. And ditto for Ana. She knows better then to entertain the thought of dating someone so pompous and seemingly as cold as Christian, but she is drawn to him like a moth to a flame.

“… you were looking up at me all ‘kiss me, kiss me, Christian’,” he pauses and shrugs slightly, “I felt I owed you an apology and a warning.” He runs his hand through his hair. “Anastasia, I’m not a hearts and flowers kind of man, I don’t do romance. My tastes are very singular. You should steer clear of me.” He closes his eyes as if in defeat. “There’s something about you, though, and I’m finding it impossible to stay away. But I think you’ve figured that out already.”

My appetite vanishes. He can’t stay away!

“Then don’t,” I whisper.

He gasps, his eyes wide.

“You don’t know what you’re saying.”

And Christian does try to resist his desire for her. He knows better than to open his world to someone so innocent. Because of who he is, emotionally, he’s certain that he couldn’t ever give her what she wants out of life. He can’t give her “normal”.

I let the irrational tears fall unrestrained. I am crying over the loss of something I never had. How ridiculous. Mourning something that never was – my dashed hopes, dashed dreams, and my soured expectations.

But he just can’t stay away. Yup, he pretty much stalks her. No worries, there is comedic relief in her reactions to him (and his stalker-ish ways) that will make you chuckle, even while you’re cringing.

He pulls up to my duplex. I belatedly realize he’s not even asked me where I live – yet he knows. But then he sent the books; of course he knows where I live. What able, cell-phone-tracking, helicopter-owning stalker wouldn’t.

I LOVED ALL OF THE CHARACTERS in this book. All of ‘em. The friends, the employees, the families. The hero – Christian Grey (but of course!!), and especially the heroine, Anastasia Steele (Ana). She didn’t irritate me not one bit, not ever. Everything she thought, I would have thought. Everything she said I would have said. All of her insecurities, her apprehensions, TOTALLY me. I get her. I bonded with her. I felt her elation when things were good, and I felt her pain when things got rough (well, emotionally, and thank goodness I didn’t have to feel it physically).

“Are you going to continue to scold me?”

“Is that what I’m doing?”

“I think so.”

“You’re lucky I’m just scolding you.”

“What do you mean?”

“Well, if you were mine, you wouldn’t be able to sit down for a week after the stunt you pulled yesterday.”

And there’s that lifestyle thing I was talking about earlier. Yes, it’s *that* type of book folks. A non-submissive, fairly independent girl falling for a “Dom” guy. BUT, surprisingly, as much as the book seems like it might revolve around this alternative lifestyle, it doesn’t only focus on it. But listen, it’s not what you think. It’s so much more. Her “more”. Not necessarily his “more” (you’ll get what all this “more” business is, when you read the book).

I mean, Christian isn’t all that he appears to be. Outwardly, he’s all discipline and order. Power and control. But what happens when Christian starts breaking his own rules?

Despite the alternative lifestyle, this story was still the kind I could (and wanted) to relate to. It is about self-discovery, healing, compromise and connection. There is life in this book, outside of the bedroom, and in fact, there are even tons of “vanilla moments” to make the harder stuff go down easier for some of us who might be apprehensive with these kinds of “scenes”.

For example: the heroine is nowhere NEAR interested in the lifestyle, so I was completely able to experience her trepidation perfectly, with her.

“Say something,” Christian commands, his voice deceptively soft.

“Do you do this to people or do they do it to you?”

His life, however, revolves around it, and she comes to realize quickly, that he has some very specific needs. He has issues. Serious issues. And she has serious reservations about submitting so completely. Yet I understood her reluctance and her desire to accept his… “fifty shades” ;)

“You don’t have to do anything you don’t want to do. You know that don’t you?” His tone is so earnest, desperate even, his grey eyes impassioned. He takes me by surprise.

“I’d never do anything I didn’t want to do, Christian.” And as I say the words, I don’t quite feel their conviction because at this moment in time I’d probably do anything for this man seated beside me.

So… you ask. Who IS this guy, anyway? His name is Christian Grey. A self-made ruthless, filthy-rich, business tycoon (in his late 20′s), who gets what he wants, when he wants how he wants it, always.

“You sound like a control freak.” The words were out of my mouth before I can stop them.

“Oh, I exercise control in all things, Miss. Steele,” he says without a trace of humor in his smile. I look at him, and holds my gaze steadily, impassive. My heartbeat quickens, and my face flushes again.

He’s always in control. In business, in personal, in love. Wait. Christian doesn’t do “love”. Not our kind of love, anyway. His version is very physical, very hard, and can be painful (depending on how good of a “submissive” you are to him. And that’s only if he chooses you). Who wants that, you ask? Who wants to be “chosen” for that kind of… ummm…. love? Well after reading this book. Maybe you would. Shocked? Appalled. Titillated?

Ohhhh believe me, girls. Even if you don’t comprehend this lifestyle choice (I admit, I remain baffled),  you’ll still find yourself pining for Christian. Consequences be damned. You will. And if you don’t.. well *shrug* I dunno ;) Maybe it’s just me?

 

Mind you, it was hard. I was at serious odds with myself!! There were a few jaw dropping moments that had me slightly… okay. Simply put. Horrified. Angrified. I was all… OMG NO WAY! Kinda hate him.

Wanna see what he looks like to me? David Williams, the Rugby player! Muscular, gorgeous with tousled copper hair. Come on. Now tell me you wouldn’t contemplate *maybe*… tee hee!!! LOOK!!! (BTW – thank you Jane for that very special email featuring this very handsome sports star). What a coincidence that you send me a gorgeous copper-haired male, and that evening, I started a book featuring one ;) It was meant to be…

Oh yes. There will be reading moments of pure, unadulterated glee. Their amazingly fun email interactions, their easy-going banter, sweet moments, insight into how well their personalities match despite their very different needs. A friendship evolves, regardless of the “elephant in the room”.

But it can, and will get dark. This book DOES deal with some terribly sensitive subject matter. You’ll experience uncomfortable moments. You’ll occasionally be appalled, and even outraged at his “methods”, his harsh tones, and his explanation of who he is and what he expects of those in his entourage. Especially her.

Don’t let that scare you though. Just do yourself a favor, if you’re in the mood for that *love-adrenaline* feeling, and an intense, tortured, but unbelievably gorgeous, alpha-male, keep an open mind for this one. Christian’s own torture runs deep. It’ll keep you on your toes, trying to guess where it’s taking you. It is just plain amazing. A+. 5 stars. One of my favorites, to be sure.

This is another case of “just go with it”. Don’t think too much. It’s just so much fun *feeling* along this dark (and sometimes light) path, with Ana. The euphoria (lots of it), the worry, the self-reflection, the delicious, addictive angst. The choices. Oh yes. There are always choices. He may be a Dom, but who is really in control here? Right. Just remember that. ;)

“Okay, and what do I get out of this?”

He shrugs and looks almost apologetic.

“Me,” he says simply.

5 stars!!!

Interested in the series? —> E.L. James – Fifty Shades Trilogy Reading Order

 

Get Free Email Updates from me :)

{ 72 comments… read them below or add one }

Tina September 25, 2011 at 11:21 AM

I promise to hold your hand and squee as much as possible with you throughout the next book. You even have my cell number now to call when those moments strike – which they will. I will be with you every step of the way. Including the time when he eats vanilla ice cream off her body.

Christina September 25, 2011 at 12:33 PM

Maryse,
So yesterday I was browsing your site (which I check almost daily!) and I saw you were reading Fifty SHades of Grey, and you were extremely excited about it. There is only one thing that meant, I had to see what you were fussing about! Let me tell you, I started with Fifty Shades of Grey at 4pm yesterday, and finished with Fifty Shades Darker at 6:30 this morning. Honestly, I am WOWed. These books are what you search daily for. They held me captivated. I am so glad you mentioned them. Now, I just have to figure out what to read next that can follow those! Ha Ha Ha!

Jessie September 25, 2011 at 2:31 PM

I loved FSoG but book 2 is even better!! Love Ana&christian. And between Travis M. X. Christian G: Christian all the way!

E L James September 25, 2011 at 4:31 PM

Wow… thank you Maryse… and thank you to the lovely T for recommending this to you. So glad you enjoyed it – thanks for reading and reviewing.
All the best. xox

Lori September 25, 2011 at 5:16 PM

I loved Fifty Shades, I was so hesitant to read it because I”m really not into the BDSM thing but OMG I couldn’t help but get a little hot and bothered by Christian. I’m about 1/4 of the way through Fifty Shades Darker and so far I think he has me even more hot and bothered. Although most of that has to do with the “Vanilla” (lol) ice cream.

Corrina September 25, 2011 at 6:24 PM

This will most definitely go on my TBR list. (And to be read soon) I have to tell you that I read this book Second Changes from Lauren Dane and I loved it. Her Brown Series is really good too. But Second Chances just stayed with me that I think of those characters several times since reading it. The intense love triangle and how these two men love her so passionately you end up rooting for them booth. I loved it. You’ve just got to read it I think you’ll love it.

Maryse September 25, 2011 at 7:05 PM

Sounds awesome, Corrina! I love stories like that!

Maryse September 25, 2011 at 7:16 PM

Right, Lori! The BDSM thing I was a bit apprehensive about, but it goes deeper than that, doesn’t it? It’s more than that…

Maryse September 25, 2011 at 7:18 PM

E.L.

Thank you so much for writing these books! I’m so happy Tina recommended them, too! And so thrilled to hear there will be yet another one to look forward to. Any idea…. when? *so anxious*

Maryse September 25, 2011 at 7:19 PM

Christina.. Did you finish the second one yet? I have a feeling it’ll be a late night for me again ;)

Maryse September 25, 2011 at 7:20 PM

Tina…

Christian takes vanilla to a whole new level, doesn’t he?

Christina September 25, 2011 at 7:28 PM

Maryse,
Of course I finished the second one!! I read the first, turned around and bought the second and stayed up until 6:30am finishing it! I couldn’t put it down! The second one is amazing as well. Seriously, I need to know when book 3 comes out. I’m almost off my paranormal books because all these bad boys are making me swoon. What are you doing to me girl? Ok but seriously, I need another book to read!! Hahaha

Jane September 26, 2011 at 4:07 AM

Haha – well done Maryse, I kinda hoped you’d find an excuse to show the divine David Williams. That email will go down in history for it’s WOW OMG factor :-)

Can’t wait to read 50 SOG – keep up the excellent reviews :-)

Tina September 26, 2011 at 8:47 AM

You have to use the shower picture of David for the next book review.

Maryse September 26, 2011 at 10:19 AM

*blush*

hehe…. oh yes. THAT picture. The real Christian look…

Stacie September 26, 2011 at 11:22 AM

These books made me blush, but… I absolutely LOVED them! I can’t wait for the third and I recommended these too all of my friends.

I thought it was hard trying to find books Travis or Kellan-esque, but now I’ve got to include Christian in my search. What’s a girl to do?!?!

PS – Love your blog!

Tina September 26, 2011 at 1:59 PM

PS – don’t forget Ryan Christensen. Rumor has it he’s hot too. AND he promises lots of juicy stuff in his next story. I even used a few bad words.

Maryse September 26, 2011 at 7:35 PM

Can’t wait!!!

Steph September 26, 2011 at 9:05 PM

I read this soooo many times when it was fanfic. I would constantly refresh waiting for the next chapter. It is so cool to see it as a novel, and to read reviews. The last third is just as great as the first two. So addicting!

Jane September 27, 2011 at 1:20 AM

The shower picture, hee hee. You know, I might have to go back for another look………. SQUUUEEEEEEEEEEE

Maryse September 27, 2011 at 8:22 AM

Steph!! You’re killing me!!

patricia nesbitt September 27, 2011 at 8:44 AM

Crap!!!!! I am a little nervous with the delay with your review of the second book ( truthfully it is driving me crazy!!!!!!and overly excited at the same time) one question will i be a blurbering mess? Cuz lord knows I can’t scar anymore of my kids while out in a populated area after reading the last “normal”"vanilla” book (which was amazingly good”) with all the snot slinging………I wonder how many hail marys I will have to do after reading this? But oh so worth it..teehee

Patricia September 27, 2011 at 9:11 AM

Shame on me !!!!!!!!!! for forgetting to say thanks for ” sharing ” the Christian pic…..hmmmm that will probably cost me another 100 hail marys……( thank Mary I am not even Catholic….)….

Maryse September 27, 2011 at 9:25 AM

Oh… no worries. I WILL post that shower picture in review for book#2. I mean, it’s not “rude”. It simply “suggestive”. Tee hee!! *blush* Plus anyway, they take a lot of showers. That was surely a pic from one of ‘em ;)

Melissa September 28, 2011 at 1:15 PM

WOW. I have been following your blog for a month and a half now and so far have read about 30 books from your lists. (Including BDB which i read the entire 9 books in less than two weeks) and now my new favorite, FSoG. I just finished the second book and tell you that I got less work done in the last two days from these books than ever before. They are beyond heart stopping. I can’t wait until the third is released!! Thank you so much for this blog, I haven’t gone to sleep before 2 AM in 6 weeks! Now I better go get some work done before I get fired ;)

patricia nesbitt September 30, 2011 at 7:12 PM

911 …………….I just started and finished FSOG…please tell me book to does not leave you hanging with your heart slashed open!?!?!? Crap why do I fall for it..we must be book sadist or something because we are most certainly not the “vanilla”varietty………”terrible normal”..more like it and once I come down from my frezy I think I am gonna reread it after book 2 cuz man that was awesome…

P.S E.L. James has to help me come up with a good excuse………for my pre teen daughter I missed her making a goal…..guess what I was doing? Yeap Christain……..teehee

Keli October 2, 2011 at 8:54 PM

I almost can’t talk. These are two of the best. books. EVER! I’ve gotten by on about 12 hours of sleep in the last three days, reading whenever I can just to find out what is going to happen.

Wow. Just wow.

Thanks for another dose of crack hehe.

Nicola October 3, 2011 at 1:21 PM

I accidentally came across your page a few months ago when I was trying to figure out the reading order of a series and have been rapidly working my way through your reading lists ever since!! As a lover of reading with a book or my kindle permanently in close range I thought I’d exhausted every genre until your blog!! Thank you so much for all your reviews etc…it’s opened up a whole new reading world to me and man its a fab one!!! Am up to date in most series now so will give the Fifties Shades of Grey a go after reading your review. So just wanted to say thank you, what a star!!! Nicola x

Maryse October 6, 2011 at 2:37 PM

So Nicola? Have you finished the “Grey’s” yet? Can’t wait to find out what you thought!

Nicola October 12, 2011 at 3:41 AM

WOW…..finished both books in 2 days, everything else got neglected LOL. The last one at 3am this morning and I couldn’t sleep after that. I think I went through every emotion possible!!!! I LOVED them and am glad I didn’t have to wait for the 2nd one!! THANK YOU for recommending them,…..oh what to read next (or again lol)… ;0) Nx

Yvette October 19, 2011 at 3:18 PM

Maryse, you are now and forever my #1 go to for reading suggestions. I just finished Fifty Shades of Grey. I am without words (and that hardly ever happens to me). This is honestly at the top of my list for favorite book in this genre. Thank you, thank you, thank you for your review on this. It was spot on. Am on to #2 in this series, and my heart is a flutter of excitement.

Jackie October 23, 2011 at 10:33 AM

Just downloaded it and I’m starting in the morning! Can’t wait!!!!! xxx

Maryse October 23, 2011 at 1:17 PM

Yay Jackie!! Keep in touch while reading it (if you can pull yourself away) and let me know your thoughts as you go :)

Kristine October 29, 2011 at 8:31 AM

I absolutely LOVED this book & part 2. I have this love/not as strong as hate relationship with these types of books. I get wrapped up in them and am so elated while reading them. I want to meet these men and have them. Then the book ends and I’m left feeling sad and want to read them again but know that I’m being completely deranged for pining for this chatacter in a book! I needed to express that because I figured if you’ve read this book you might feel the same way. Maryse, your site is the best! I have read such awesome books from reading your recommendations! Thanks for taking the time to keep us informed.

Sissi November 1, 2011 at 7:51 AM

MOTU

Jackie November 1, 2011 at 3:35 PM

Well I read 50 Shades in a day and 50 Shades Darker the very next day. Maryse, you know how much I resisted reading these two, but they were truly brilliant. I usually hate all the BDSM stuff, yet these books weren’t really about that, they were about a seriously damaged man who undergoes a hugely painful jouney for love. I adored both characters in this book.

I totally related to Ana and felt every emotion she experienced, including, and especially the horror and repugnance she felt in the playroom at the end of the first book. Yet I also ‘got’ his needs too (a first for me). I could see how he’d been moulded into the person he was by events in his early childhood and later in his teen years..

I loved this book and I’m still thinking about the characters two weeks later – a sure sign it was a favourite. thanks Maryse! xxx

Maryse November 2, 2011 at 1:13 PM

I’m so glad you finally gave in Jackie. Tina had the same issue convincing me, and once I relented, I regretted waiting so long. Now my mom is reading it as we speak. Do you know she said to me (and asked me):

“I can’t wait to read it after all of you girls have ranted and raved over it!! So? What is BDSM?”

LOL!!! THAT was a fun conversation starter! *blush* (but you know her, she’s all good with it, and she’s at 17% and already in love).

Maryse November 2, 2011 at 1:14 PM

Yup Sissi! It took me a few seconds when I saw your MOTU – but then I clued in. It used to be known as “Master of the Universe” before it was published.

Bia November 12, 2011 at 9:43 PM

To Maryse.
MARYSE…OMG!!! I can’t put this book down..so far my fave quote
” Oh my. Christian Grey’s lost look.”
( like you say…squeeeeeeeeeee!!!!)
He’s so Hot, and Ana is so …endearing I guess…so far…let me continue tonight….
Let you know soon :)

Bia November 13, 2011 at 12:56 AM

Teheeeee…..I loved it…:
” Oh my… sweat and body wash and Christian. It’s a heady cocktail – so much better than a margarita, and now I can speak from experience ”
* sighs *
Reading tonight still….can’t put it down yet…:)

Bia November 14, 2011 at 1:22 AM

Hey guys…has anyone seen this? Although  the video’s Christian is not probably what we want, ( even though the girl reminded me of Ana a little), the whole scene, modern style captured his world…I think it’s cool that someone works hard to make these for fans…Maryse, what do u think?

* sighs* …Christian Grey….aghhhhhh

Check out this video on YouTube:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=31ppkP15ARs&feature=youtube_gdata_player

Bia November 14, 2011 at 1:38 AM

Oh my….Maryse, although I agree with your ” Christian Grey” up above ( player), this MUSIC/ VIDEO, was made FOR the book!(so, kind of ignore RB, I like him, but HE. IS. NOT. GREY. hehe.) I’m telling you girls…we are NOT the only ones obsessed with FSG….heeeeeeeeeheeee…..look link below…music wrote for Grey!! I “kinda” like it…:)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ziAwX2IwA3M&feature=youtube_gdata_player

Bia November 14, 2011 at 1:55 AM

Okayyyy…last time..I promise..besides this video fan, realllllyyyyy likes RPat, and HE IS NOT GREY MATERIAL…aside from he fact they are both young…and handsome…
Anyway…this video has almost 18,000 views!! All videos are most found under Master of Universe…
I think I like this one too…kind of more upbeat n sexy….girl…let’s see…click link below…and let Maryse choose …after all, this is her blog..sooooo…she votes first and final…..hehehehe ….

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_cJLWhwBxhM&feature=youtube_gdata_player

Bia November 15, 2011 at 3:29 AM

Maryse…and my fellow readers of “Fifty S. Grey”…you’re soooo right….about THE MORE, MUCH MORE!!! ( her more!) Thank you for recommending this incredible book…
*Ana*
” I feel a paradigm shift. I know that if I do this thing with him, I WILL get hurt. He’s not capable, interested, or willing to offer me any more… and I want more. MUCH MORE. I have deeper feelings for him than I have admitted to myself. ”

Aghhhh!!! Oh Ana….I totally “GET IT” ….I know, just know she WILL be the one getting hurt on this…but …I. AM. LOVING. IT…..(read all night long last night…jezzz…went to sleep after kids went to school..;)… I have to be honest…this hasn’t happened in over 10 years..(me, not sleeping a whole night to read)…so, for whomever is NOT reading ” Fifty” yet…that should be a
“pointer” to …GET.TO.READ. IT. SOON!!!
you’re right Maryse….I totally bonded with her….so…let me continue to read on another all-night reading this amazing book!! ( 3 am!! Jezz)
But…..you guys know….can’t put it down!! :)

Bia November 15, 2011 at 11:43 PM

Maryse…

I’m (loud) sniffing ….I CAN’T BELIEVE HE DID THAT!! ohhhhh….I’m so, but so feeling her angst….all of you were so right…and worst? I can TOTALY understand her…and him ..(when I stop “hating” him, that is)…oh….my…God…
I just died….
Continue reading….FSG…

DebLI November 16, 2011 at 3:05 PM

Just finished the FSoG and am sitting here willing my Kindle to charge faster so I can start the 2nd book. I could not put this one down! So glad you mentioned this one. Definitely a favorite! Thanks!

laura December 29, 2011 at 3:35 PM

I thought the BDB wa

laura December 29, 2011 at 3:40 PM

I thought the BDB was all consuming but this book just drew me in like a black hole with no escape route! I loved the darker book as well and cant wait for freed! then i dont know what i will do with no more Mr Grey to look forward to!

Laters baby!

Aria February 12, 2012 at 6:14 AM

May I just say that this book gripped me from the first page that I couldn’t even scratch an itch to put it down. It’s the kind of plot and character that sucks you in its world that your forget reality and become hesitant in pausing to actually take a snack between chapters. haha
Damn this book reaches the same level as Beautiful Disaster when it comes to gripping a girl’s attention. I felt so incomplete having just finished book1 and was out on a hunt for book2 right away.
Christian Grey, if you existed for real I’d hunt you down! XD

Dulce March 4, 2012 at 2:32 PM

Read Fifty Shades trilogy in 4 days. My inner goddess has a desire and only Christian Grey can satisfy it. Please, please Christian. Jeez I really need to get this out of my system.

Dulce March 4, 2012 at 2:42 PM

Please tell me I’m not alone in feeling like I need to find a Christian Grey, kneel submissively and give myself up to him or I can be the Dom, don’t matter. No shame lol

Maryse March 4, 2012 at 4:14 PM

LOL! Dulce. He does have that certain *something* doesn’t he? *sigh*

No worries. He tops most of our “heroes” lists ;)

Maryse March 4, 2012 at 4:15 PM

I’m still on the lookout for something that will give me that kind of intensity again. He’s hard to beat.

Michelle March 8, 2012 at 10:38 AM

Just started reading this on Saturday and I’m already finished with the second book and anxiously waiting to start Part 3 tonight! I agree, David Williams makes a great Christian Grey!!! yikes!! Have you seen “Christian” on twitter?

I loved your review and agree 100%. I thought Ana would get annoying but so far she hasn’t! And, Christian is just sooo yummy in my head!!!

Please go check out Christian on twitter and tell me what you think **hehehehe** @ChristianTGrey or https://twitter.com/#!/ChristianTGrey

Maryse March 8, 2012 at 11:20 AM

Oh yes!!! Someone submitted that very picture into my Facebook “Christian Grey” folder. That is very nice. ;)

I’ve got to follow him now! LOL!

Jackie March 8, 2012 at 5:29 PM

Good luck Dulce – we read the books months ago and are still obsessing! Just go with it and enjoy the ride!!! xxx

pebbleintx March 8, 2012 at 10:02 PM

At three o’clock in the morning I was falling asleep with Christian and Ana. At seven AM I was having my oatmeal in the RED ROOM. Oh, Christian I’m 68 years old and wishing I was twenty something and looking forward to spending my life with you.

Kay March 17, 2012 at 3:45 PM

Oh dear Lord where are all the real Christian Grey’s!? This book, this man is haunting me. I also need to get this trilogy out of my system, I read all three in under 30 hours and I am truly contemplating starting all over. If Mr. Grey really existed I’d be in some serious hot water, happily

Cecilia April 11, 2012 at 10:46 AM

It’s funny how relatively easy it is to cast Christian Grey but I’m having trouble finding an actress that could play Anastasia. Young actresses these days seem too eager to convey how sexy they are right at the get-go so how to find an “innocent” or at least, innocent-looking girl/woman to be Grey’s match is the really task facing the makers of the upcoming movie version.

Maryse April 11, 2012 at 11:48 AM

I’m anxious to see who they’re going to cast. And nervous.

pebbleintx April 11, 2012 at 12:18 PM

Aria who wrote Beautiful Disaster?? I would like to get the book if it was as good a Fifty Shades.

Maryse April 11, 2012 at 12:47 PM

Hi Pebbleintx!!

Beautiful Disaster is one of my favorite books from last year. In fact, I dedicated an entire blog post to “What to Read After Beautiful Disaster” and of course, featured Beautiful Disaster in the beginning of the post. Here it is:

http://www.maryse.net/books/my-favorite-books/what-to-read-after-beautiful-disaster.html

broco April 19, 2012 at 9:03 AM

Do you have a what to read after Fifty Shades? Please say yes. :) )

Maryse April 19, 2012 at 10:38 AM

Broco… working on it. This one’s a tough list because, while I have a few in the “similar” genre, the feel was never as intense.

EXCEPT!!! for this one: http://www.maryse.net/books/contemporary-romance/book-review-bared-to-you-by-sylvia-day.html

This is my absolute #1 recommendation for “What to Read After Fifty Shades”. It will be #1 on that list.

Hope that helps :)

broco April 21, 2012 at 1:53 AM

Thank you so much! You have made my reading life a whole lot more fun and easier. I’m going through all your “books to read after beautiful disaster”. Thank you, thank you! :-)

Megan Hansen April 21, 2012 at 9:50 AM

OMG I read all 3 books in 3 days (I am on leave from work and have the time luckily otherwise I would have to call in sick from work). I can’t stop thinking about it and how satisfying it all was, those who have not read the third will be very happy with the ending (I have a hard time with series and not being happy with how it ends). Moments after finishing the third book I contemplated re-reading all of them, decided not to but am thinking I should have because the two books I have read since then have just not compared! This series needs to be on the top of my list!!

Jackiepaoletta July 5, 2012 at 4:18 AM

finished fifty trilogy then immediately bared to you, I loved them
Both!! I can see why the comparisons are made but honestly fifty shades just went there. Am I the last one to know that fifty started out as a twilight fanfic?!?!?! I mean now I look back on it and go omg duh!! Why didn’t I see the similarities before!!

Debra August 5, 2012 at 6:13 PM

I just finished the 3rd book on fifty shades. OMG, I loved the story between them, I dont want to do with my self now I’m going to miss them, I didn’t want it to end. I need my fairy tail come true. Great story.

Kristen Thomas August 6, 2012 at 8:39 PM

My Husband actually heard about this book on the radio while he was on his way to work, He kept telling me you should read it you should do it. But me I was all about Nicholas Sparks and thought nothing could live up to him, until my lovely husband went and bought the book for me. Needless to say after the first couple pages I was hooked. I have never read anything like it before, and I was captivated by the characters. And at the end of the story I cried, not only because um hello why would you leave Christian Grey but also because I had to search to find the second book and ended up having to wait almost 24hours before receiving it. I still read this book over and over and still end up with the same feelings and emotions as I did the first time I read it.

Yuri September 11, 2012 at 4:52 PM

i just finished the third book we need more of Mr. Grey :) i was so into them both felt like i was there i cried and laugh my ass threw the whole books…. I love Ana …….

Sydney L. September 18, 2012 at 10:35 PM

On November 20, 2012 there is a book coming out called 50 Writers of 50 shades of Grey! Here is the description from BN.com! “Fifty Writers on Fifty Shades of Grey extends the conversation women (and men!) are having across the country. The perfect panel of insiders—from the editor who first “discovered” Fifty Shades of Grey, to BDSM experts, to erotic fiction authors, romance authors, and a whole lot more—takes you deeper into the trilogy that has captured the imaginations of so many.” Can’t wait!

VG91 November 17, 2012 at 6:46 PM

As a guy (maybe too romantic) I have loved these stories. I dont care about the quality of the writing. Like so many others I just love the story and frankly yearn for that intensity.

Thoroughly enjoying 3rd book atm but waiting for other half to finish as bought for her birthday!

Not a guilty pleasure just a great story and wonderfully enjoyable.

Leave a Comment

 

Notify me of followup comments to this post via e-mail. You can also subscribe without commenting.

Previous post:

Next post: