Book Review – Fighting Destiny by Amelia Hutchins

by Maryse on July 27, 2014 · 95 comments

in My Book Reviews

Fighting Destiny (The Fae Chronicles Book 1)
Seeeee? I’m being good! I’m actually reading from my “to be read” list. Mostly. ;) Of course, I’ve had a few moments of *squirreling*, reading something shiny and new here and there, but so far, mostly sticking to my TBR list has been awesome. Such as this fun one!

It absolutely definitely reminded me of some of my favorite paranormals that I went nuts for, back in the “day”. You guys had that right! For me, I was getting a mixed feel of “The Fever Series” and “Dark Light” (both of which I LOVED like crazy). And like the first one in both of those series (Darkfever by Karen Marie Moning and Dark Light by S.L. Jennings), this 1st installment too, wasn’t *yet* the “be-all-end-all” book for me. It was, however, a GREAT intro, and I will absolutely be continuing the series!

It’s not a “new-to-me” find, and I’m definitely late to this fairy’s, errr *whoops* I mean gorgeous alpha-Fae’s world. Who doesn’t want a gorgeous Fae alpha-male for a love interest? Right?

The Fae were beautiful, ethereal creatures. Many had taken jobs as movie stars or models. They were the ideal creatures to be on the posters representing the Otherworld beings as they never aged. Timeless beauty frozen right around the age of thirty.

Oh. Right —> The deadly part…

The fire he’d created inside of me, and the feelings I’d felt, were dangerous and exciting. It was why they were considered the most deadly of the Otherworld. They could make you like it as they f@#ked you to death.

eek *eeeep!!*

It’s been floating on my main TBR list (my “Want to Read NOW” one) for at least a year, even though I had every intention to read it. After all, the recommendations for it have been phenomenal.

Missy: Fighting-Destiny-The-Fae-Chronicles – was really good series! This is a must read.

Grey: Ohhh!  Fighting Destiny, definitely gets my vote for what should be your first pick!!  Mmm, that Ryder, he can … rats, I can’t say anything else here or I’d spoil it for you!  However, he’s right up there with V and Barrons as one of my favorite supernatural beings…

LiliG: Can’t believe you haven’t read Fighting Destiny yet!! Shame on you Maryse! (Just kidding. :D ) But seriously, READ IT!! It’s sooooo good.

Marla: The Most Awesome Books would be “The Fae Chronicles” by Amelia Hutchins,,,,Fighting Destiny and Taunting Destiny,,,,are books that everyone should read,,,,Paranormal to the extreme,,,,Absolutely love these books!!!

Brittany: My favorite new book of the year, that had me laughing, crying, and gasping for breath (in a good way!) is hands down Amelia Hutchins’ The Fae Chronicles: Fighting Destiny. Those characters have gripped me tightly and I hope they never let go!!! I cannot get enough!!

Niki: I recently read Fighting Destiny and loved it so much!!! It reminded me if the Fever Series but way more romance. Congrats!!!

Sharon: These books are great! Started with reading book 1 yesterday, and now I’m starting book three. I blame Ryder for it Amazing books! At first I hated him…but that changed really fast! À must read!

Maryse: Oh I love hating the guy!!! YAY!!!

Donna: Just finished Fighting Destiny (The Fae Chronicles) by Amelia Hutchins… if you are in the mood for paranormal romance this one is a keeper!  :)

Dara: Yes, yes, yes! You’ve GOT to read the Fighting Destiny series!

Excited, and so honest in their fervor. Sooooo many here that have devoured these are are awaiting the next one with bated breath. I knew I was missing out.

But you know… I was taking a slight break from paranormals. I had indulged in them daily, for two or three years straight. They were starting to run together. But I was ready. Especially when MichelleS said this:

MichelleS: Oh. Em. Gee. Cannot believe The Fae Chronicles is sitting on your Kindle untouched. The horror!!! I know, I know… you’re worried it’s too paranormal and “fae” and you need to be in the mood for that…. I am here to tell you it is absolutely NOT… the over-the-top hot-hot chemistry and fantastic dialogue is what I loved about this series. Yes, it has the fantasy element, but who cares? How else could these characters be as wicked as they are? Great story. One fantastic hot-as-heck alpha male. Do it. Do it. Do it…”

Rebecka: i”m with MichelleS!!! FAE CHRONICLES! Forget felt it all day everyday!! I get that way every time I think about these books!! I also am 3x that age, but for Ryder I will break any taboo rules any day anytime!! When the next book comes out it will be like….. Husband who??? (thankfully he’s accommodating of my …. addiction er um illness)

Tessa: No squirelling! Read the Fae Chronicles. Ryder is beyond hot, a total alpha (jerk), and story is there. It just drags you in, making you wonder wtf is really going on.

Fabi: I’m working on the Fae Chronicles right now at MichelleS’s suggestion. Almost done with the first one. It’s gooood. I was so in the mood for a paranormal. It’s not over the top sci-fi either. It almost seems like the paranormal part of it takes a bit of a back seat. At first, I thought the heroine was too weak and the Hero too over the top jerk(y). But it didn’t take long before she stepped up with a backbone of steel and he showed his more caring side (in a male, I’m still the boss kind of way of course). Ha! Why do we like these men in our books. God forbid I’d ever have to deal with one long term in real life. ha!

LOL! I was afraid Michelle was about to knock me on the head with her Kindle if I didn’t, ’cause that poor girl (and SO many of you Ryder-lovers) were appalled with me for “floating” this one for so long. She was done with my lollygagging. It was time, and the time was NOW!! LOL!

Hehe. And while I was able to put it down, here and there, it certainly had that impassioned alpha-jerk bent on making my life, er… I mean her life, miserable.

Even choking, this a$$hole was hot – seriously, someone needs to break his nose and make him less pretty.


And yet, even with all of his alpha-jerk ways, he was making me (yes, me, this time! ;)allllll piney and tingly and such. ;)

“If you ever try to connect us again – I will kill you, Witch.” His voice was low and raspy.

I raised my eyes to, set his head on. “You ever try to Fae-f@#k me again – I’ll kill you, Fairy.”

“I’ll show you a f@#king Fairy…”

Oh yesssss… any scene with the two of them together… *whoooooo* Hot and cold and 100% fun!

And!! There was a twist (actually a few of ‘em) that delighted me. Threw a few more monkey-wrenches into this already messed-up mix.

Mind you… it wasn’t perfect. It wasn’t always easy to follow, even thought it kind of was. Their world, and the pieces of the puzzle that built the story? Often convoluted, and yet a bit basic at the same time. Gah. It’s so hard to explain my issues. It’s like, things in the story (the background, the “present”) were obvious to the author… but as if sometimes she forgot to let me in on some facts at times. Until later. Then, they just became apparent (and I’m not talking about the mystery and the reveals).

Just… I dunno. It felt like I was sometimes missing pieces of the puzzle without even knowing that I was missing them. Or that I needed them. Or that I needed to think or worry about them. Things would happen, and answers would come to fruition, but it was almost as if the build-up to that thing went right over my head. I’d be all… Oh. Okay. That makes sense… but I didn’t even realize it. ;) It’s so hard to explain what I mean by that, but it’s as if things were added to the story as the story went, and just fit into place on the spur of the moment. Oh it all fits, it all eventually makes sense, but I seemed to have been missing that sense of urgency or need to solve the puzzle, because at times, there wasn’t much of a build-up to some of the reveals. Things just… happened. Snapped into place, and we continued on our journey. Or maybe I was just tired and missed stuff ’cause of my dippy-ness? neutral Heh.

And I had a little *issue* with the potential love triangles (his and hers). I was SO excited to have my heart broken over those (there was just so much promise on the misunderstandings and jealous rages they could bring on), but, alas… even though the makings of exquisite love triangle-angst were glaring, they didn’t quite reach that level for me to have my world rocked, ya know? I felt teased… excited… but not quite fulfilled in the romantic-angst department.

But what there was an immense build-up of, was

  1. who she truly was… how she fit into their world. That mystery was so fun to try and decipher, and…
  2. the BEST part of the story… the sexual (and eventual romantic) tension that was simply off the charts! And romance with an absolute jerk (or as my friend Amy would say… d!@k). ;) Nothing better than having that push-pull resistance with the most wrong-for-you make in the universe. Or is he the most right for you. I mean her. We’ll see.

Amy: I started FD last night, and so far Ryder isn’t an alpha-jerk…he’s just a d!ck. And yes, there is a difference. ;)

Rebecka: Amy so right…Dick at first but fast becomes total ALPHA hotness. Just you wait…in the next books you are going to love him just for the OPI reference alone!!! Like I told Maryse ……S’All I’m gonna say. READ IT!!

Amy: Okay, ladies, I’m taking your word for it. ;) Right now I just want to introduce his a$$ to the pavement! He’s a jerk, that man…fae…whatever… Is Barrons from the Fever series? I have the first three (four maybe?) books of that series but haven’t read them yet. *sigh* One a$$hat at a time. :P

Maryse: But Amy I love it when they’re d!@ks!!! In books… always… only… in books. :P

Rebecca: Yes to Barrons, but both ass hats are so worth it in the end!! {sigh}

Maryse: And I loved Barrons especially ’cause he was an ass!!!! All the way to the very end. Made it that much more fun in the *ahem* “romance” department.

Tee hee!!! ;)

So what’s it about?

Syn, a human witch with crazy-awesome powers is contracted by the Dark Fae Prince (prince of darkness <— tee hee!!! He sure acts like it!) to aid him in protecting his LIGHT Fae princess bride-to-be. Together they will rule the human (and paranormal) world, and bring world piece, or utter chaos or… well you get the picture. They are both absolutely gorgeous, and their marriage is expected. Needed, for alliances and whatnot.

However there is someone (or something?) going after paranormal women, with a direct threat to his fiancee. And Syn is going to figure it out. Somehow? I dunno. She’s just that good and notorious and all of that.

It was foolproof. I was that good. Seriously, sometimes I scared myself with just how bada$$ I was.

I can’t remember their reasoning in the beginning of exactly why she was the only obvious one for the job – especially considering how much she despised the Fae, but there it is. And anyway, it all becomes clear as the story progresses.

Plus, anyway, there’s a whole lot more to her (and him) than meets the eye.

He had touched my f@#king soul. He knows now that I am darker inside; that I have secrets. I hated it.

We get plenty of answers, yet I’m sure there’s more mind-blowing reveals to come as the series continues.

Amy: Okay, so does book 2 have a CH (<— cliffhanger)? I want to read it, but if there is a CH then I will want to read book 3 which *does* have a CH, and then I will be all pissy…and I don’t feel like being pissy over a book. ;)

MichelleS: Book two is even better than book one, so you HAVE to keep reading, Amy . I never felt like I was missing out with the cliffhangers – and more Ryder was always worth it.

Yep, agreed, at least in regards to the cliffhanger question… If you ask me, I’d say this WAS a complete book. Yes, the series will continue with the characters that we’ve been with in this one, and yes, the end starts a whole new mystery and intrigue, and yes, there’s a whole world-building storyline going on in the background as each character “grows” but… the initial mystery in this one? Solved by the end! Well… sort of. ;)

Enjoyed it, and even though I didn’t have an intense need to jump right into book #2, I’m craving it (and even more now that Michelle piped in saying it was even better!). :D I’d like to know more, and hope that the world-building and writing (even though plenty good in this one) will get even better in the next.

4 stars for the alpha-jerk fun and romance angle, which luckily of me, was the majority and most important part of the story. Plus! He was Barrons-like (although he could have been worse – which would have been even better for me) ;) , and 3.5 stars for this book’s storyline as a whole.


Get Free Email Updates from me :)

{ 95 comments… read them below or add one }

Rebecka July 27, 2014 at 9:45 PM

Yeah Maryse!!!! U DID IT!!!
I so agree Fever & Dark Light…… and I’ll throw one more in too, the Afterlife Saga. ALL get better with each book of the series and leave us wanting more!!! So does our F’ing Fairy!!!
You do gsve to go onto book 2!!

bev July 27, 2014 at 9:50 PM

Hmm this has been on my tbr for awhile, but so easily distracted have not got to it yet. But I’m glad I seem to have such a good read waiting for the right mood and time.
Used to read so much paranormal and historicals but last couple years moved away. By how often I think of historical books lately may be time to dive back in. But the next few days are taken by Scott, Cosway, and Sorelle’s books.
Ok going to mention one more time. Written in Red for the next paranormal fix. World building is great. But do have to say that different than the usual romance because slow slow slow burn, lol.

Maryse July 27, 2014 at 10:10 PM

I LOVE a slow burn. That is my favorite!!!! :D

Maryse July 27, 2014 at 10:11 PM

YAY Rebecka!! I’ve been thinking about them all since I finished it, so I know I’ll be jumping back in soon.

Kim Lambert July 27, 2014 at 10:22 PM

This series gets better and better as it goes! Don’t stop! I am telling you these books are A-m-a-z-i-n-g!! I think of this series every time I hear the Katie Perry song Dark Horse! Love it!

Amy July 27, 2014 at 10:36 PM

You know what I loved? Syn’s dirty mouth! I’m talking about her cussing…get your mind out of the gutter. :P I know some people don’t care for it when the F-bomb is used often in a book, but it seriously cracks me up. *snicker*

I totally get what you are saying about the whole missing pieces thing. I was confused on some of the fae terms used as they weren’t explained, and I am not all that familiar with Fae stuff. I *almost* Googled some of the terms but then figured it wasn’t really making anything in the story confusing, so f&%k it. *giggle* (Believe it or not, I rarely use that word IRL. I’m serious!)

bev July 27, 2014 at 10:55 PM

Yes. Gives me time to fall with them and savour the little moments. And also like to sometimes see a friendship develop.

Maryse July 27, 2014 at 11:03 PM

Ahhh you know me. I love a dirty mouth. In books. ;) In boooooks.

Tee hee!! :P

And maybe IRL too. Makes me blush though (but a certain thrill, to be sure). ;)

Jean July 28, 2014 at 8:07 AM

I completely agree with your review! I really did love Syn’s attitude and badassness! I also want to continue the series just don’t feel like I have to rush right into it. ……and I’m keeping myself clear for the release of Lead tomorrow!!! So excited for that one!

kim July 28, 2014 at 8:32 AM

I tried to get you to read this when I found it last summer 2013, glad to see you finally read it. It’s a 5 for me loved them all.

MichelleS July 28, 2014 at 9:39 AM

Since you finally read something form your old TBR list, I did too… I am working my way through all your 5 star reads… I am reading “Play” by Kylie Scott. Love it so far! He’s another one with a “mouth” on him! As far as this series goes… I read it as they came out… not back-to-back… so I totally get that you would read them a little at a time. That’s where I am with paranormals and historicals now…. one at a time, here and there. Mostly, the newest one in an old series that I love. Speaking of old series that I love, did you ever read the latest in Outlander series? (Written in my Own Heart’s Blood)… it’s the ONLY one in that series, besides the first book, that I would re-read! Loved it.

Fabi July 28, 2014 at 10:24 AM

Maryse excellent review as always. I always feel like I’m reading a mini book with your reviews. Love them.

I had not heard of “Dark Light”. I’m going to have to check it out since you put it up there with the Fever series.

Michelle, I saw a commercial yesterday that Outlander was coming to Stars. The actors looked hawt. :-)

Susan July 28, 2014 at 11:24 AM

Okay, I’m trying to not to laugh out loud. This book may feel like a complete book, but it doesn’t even begin to tell the whole story. This series is amaze ball’s!!! The story between Syn and Ryder get’s better and better. The story and suspense grows and grows. Honestly the anticipation for me was just like when I read The Fever Series. Keep reading it but you have only scratched the surface with the first book.

Maryse July 28, 2014 at 11:35 AM

Sounds perfect to me!! That’s what I love to hear. :D

MichelleS July 28, 2014 at 11:57 AM

Fabi – I am ordering STARZ just for that reason. They are pretty “hawt” – but Jamie in my head is so much better!!! More manly! I almost don’t want to watch because I don’t want to lose the Jamie in my head – and I am afraid I will. Don’t laugh, but it was like that for me with Jacob from Twilight (I said don’t laugh!!!)…. he was so much better in my head. And now, I only see what’s – his name…. sigh…. I really am pathetic! And my two cents on Dark Light series – liked it – a lot – but it is not even close to the Fever series. I remembered that I liked it very much, but couldn’t remember the names or details.

Tessa July 28, 2014 at 12:22 PM

That tension is what hooked me, but book two will make you go nuts. More details and mind f%$# in it.

I liked Dark Light, but it wasn’t Fever league. That’s near impossible. I honestly can’t remember what it’s about. I guess re-read time for me.

I admit, I’ve yet to read the Outlander series. It just hasn’t clicked for me. So I’m looking forward to the show, knowing I get to go into it knowing almost nothing about it.

Amber B July 28, 2014 at 12:23 PM

Keep reading the series! It gets better. The 3rd book was my favorite. And I agree with Dark Light. I loved that series and still waiting on book 3! I need to read Dark Fever it has been on my TBR list for a while.
Thanks for your review.

Maryse July 28, 2014 at 12:37 PM

Agreed, Michelle!!

Fever is my absolute favorite paranormal series. Along with Black Dagger Brotherhood and Night Huntress (Cat & Bones). :D

And I wholeheartedly understand your worry about losing the character in your head. I’ll be like that with Travis, when he comes out on the big screen. I saw the guy I *think* they are using for him, and he doesn’t match my Travis at all. At. All. *eeeep!!* I dunno what I’m going to do.

That said, the Jamie AND Claire they are using on Starz are exactly as I pictured them. I was blown away when I saw the pics. So YAY ME for that. I need to catch up on Ourlander. I stopped on book #4 or 5 I think (and for no reason other than I just needed a break). I think book #2 or was it #3 was my favorite? The one where she stays up all night waiting… (and the bathtub scene). *gasp* I will NEVER forget that part.

I need to continue reading them. And this series. :D

Cheryl July 28, 2014 at 12:37 PM

Maryse great review and I get what you’re saying about “missing pieces.” I felt that and that it was confusing at times because the sentences seemed to run on and “skip around; like a flight of ideas the character/author was experiencing. I did read the next 2 books which did get better and help to explain more about Syn and Ryder and the Fae overall.

Fabi/MichelleS- I’m ordering Starz too. LOVE Outlander series and hope TV series lives up to the books. Series starts August 9. Yeh!!! :)
Outlander Trailer:

Maryse July 28, 2014 at 12:39 PM

Yes Cheryl! Exactly! A flight of ideas!! Perfectly explained on how I was feeling some parts. :D

Maryse July 28, 2014 at 12:42 PM


I am literally YAY’ing and clapping and *squeeing* My husband just gave me the side-eye.

GAH!! They are GORGEOUS! (sorry Michelle). ;)

Fabi July 28, 2014 at 1:13 PM

Cheryl thanks for the date on the new series. That’s just around the corner. I have to see if I have Starz or order it before then. Although nowadays you can catch a lot of series online.

Maryse you always crack me up with comments about your hubby. Mine always just ignored me when I read. Or maybe I ignored him. haha idk

Fabi July 28, 2014 at 1:18 PM

Wait! Travis is coming to the screen?! Nooo. I can’t decide if that’s good or bad. :-)

I keep hearing rumors about BDB coming to the screen too. That one will kill me if it’s not cast right. There was a YouTube video a fan made once that had the characters down pat imo. Wish I could find it again. There are so many.

Jean July 28, 2014 at 1:27 PM

OK girls, don’t yell at me but I don’t know anything about the Fever Series! I am new to the paranormal (having only read the Twilight series, BDB series and now Fighting Destiny). Enlighten me please?!?!?

Amy July 28, 2014 at 1:37 PM

Are you guys talking about the trailer for the Outlander series on Starz? The show looks good, but I haven’t read that series yet. *bracing for the backlash* ;)

Dark Light was soooo good! And Dark Prince had me ready to toss my cookies from the angst. Oh, my heart. And then the novella Nikolai? Yep, oh my heart with that one, too!

Maryse July 28, 2014 at 1:54 PM


The Fever series is my all-time favorite (along with BDB).

I’ll also list my reviews.

My review for book #1 starts at 4 stars, but then 5 stars all the way through after that. BUT!! If you haven’t read the series yet, stick only with the first review so as not to spoil the rest for yourself.

P.P.S. This series is a MUST read!!!! Intense alpha-jerk (and TOTALLY believable, in his ways), awesome angsty moments, crazy-awesome storyline (THRILLING!!), crazy-awesome characters, KILLER cliffhangers (but the series is complete so no waiting for you!! LUCKY!!!!), and one of the best love stories I’ve ever read. MUST READ!!

Maryse July 28, 2014 at 1:56 PM
Maryse July 28, 2014 at 2:00 PM

Yep Amy that’s what we’re talking about. Another must-read series. Even my sister and my niece love it.

I am dying for Dark Light #3. The way #2 ended. *gasp*!!!! My heart achessssss!

Jean July 28, 2014 at 2:09 PM

Lol Maryse! I love your enthusiasm! I’m adding them to my list as you have never steered me wrong before! If it wasn’t for you, I would have never gotten into the BDB series and I would have never gotten to meet Z…sigh….. love him!!!

Amy July 28, 2014 at 2:43 PM

I know! Book 3, Light Shadows, will possibly be out this Fall. *fingers crossed*

Jean, I’m all excited about the Fever series! Let me know if you want to buddy read it. :D And then Maryse can experience it again through us! ;) I know…nerd girl here.

I was about halfway through Taunting Destiny and decided to step away from it for a bit. It seemed to be good up to that point, maybe even better than the first one. Not sure when I’ll pick it up again though…

Rebecka July 28, 2014 at 2:57 PM

Heard it’s Lip Gloss Day today! (yeah my favorite cosmetic) so…. Have a Happy Lip Smacking Lip Gloss Day!!!

I saw the Outlander trailer too and it does look really good.Can’t wait to check it out. I haven’t read any of those books either :(

Jean OMG You have to read get reading PNR!! So many good ones out there! are some of my favs other than those mentioned
Fever Series, Fae Chronicles, BDB, Fallen Angels, Night Hunters/Dream Hunters, Night Huntress (Cat & Bones) & Vlads spin off Night Prince Series (Freaking love Vlad!!! He is so hysterical!!) Charley Davidson Series, Dark Light,AfterLife Saga, The Captive Series and Mark of the Vampire Series…….and still so so many yet to read!!

One of my all time favorite YA PNR reads is Julie Kagawa Iron Fey Series.. I read it as an adult and loved it. Oh Young Love :)

Jean July 28, 2014 at 2:57 PM

Amy I would love to buddy read the Fever series with you, BUT I HAVE TO READ “LEAD” FIRST WHICH I PRE-ORDERED LAST WEEK! I am so anxious to see it appear on my kindle tomorrow and just love the Stage Dive series!

I get what you are saying about needing a break from Fae Chronicles. I didnt even buy the next ones yet, but I know they are ones I can always go back to without forgetting what they are about, just like the BDB series! Lol!

Jean July 28, 2014 at 3:04 PM

Wow Rebecka! Thank you for all that info…..I will definitely be looking into all of them! BDB series really got me started into PNR and that is thanks to Maryse so I’ve definitely widened my reading genre!

Tracy July 28, 2014 at 3:32 PM

Jean – I have to chime in as well for the Fever Series. Absolutely fantastic. First book was good but then lookout! Each one gets better and better. Jericho Barrons! I wish the series could go on and on.

Jean July 28, 2014 at 3:41 PM

Thanks Tracy! Looking into it now!

MichelleS July 28, 2014 at 4:12 PM

I’m going to chime in on Fever and Outlander series. Both are at the very top of my list of all time favorites… but… they are not light reads or short reads. They are long novels and intricate. If you want to read something that will stay with you and have the time and energy for it GO FOR IT. I remember reading these as books, from the library… ugh… they were so heavy! But Barrons and Jamie are worth it. I’m going to marry Jamie and have a secret affair with Barrons. And V’Lane can watch…. ;-)

MichelleS July 28, 2014 at 4:19 PM

Fabi – I hope BDB never makes it to the screen – it’s not one story – it’s each guy’s story – and it would be so so cheesy on film – all their BDB “talk” – I would be covering my face every time one of them said something in that JR Ward-speak! I loved the early books. I remember all the guys and all their stories… but… I don’t think it would translate to film! If Outlander series is successful, I am hoping STARZ goes with the “thrown back in time to a guy in a kilt’ theme and does a series of the Highlanders, by Karen Moning (who also wrote Fever series)… see… six degrees from Fever!!! It’s ALL connected….

Amy July 28, 2014 at 4:26 PM

Perfect, Jean! I am starting Opposition by Jennifer Armentrout when it comes out tomorrow. That is the *only* YA PNR series that I still follow. Daemon Black…ooooh, yummy! And now I sound like a cougar. :P

MichelleS July 28, 2014 at 5:21 PM

Speaking of YA PNR – I never read the City of Bones books and every time I look up a list of all time best bad boys THAT dang book comes up – am I missing something great?

Tessa July 28, 2014 at 5:31 PM

Jean, I’m glad you’re going to give the Fever series a try. I’ve read more paranormal than I care to admit, and the Fever series is beyond a doubt, my number one series. The first is an “establish the story/ characters” book and yet still drags you into the book, salivating for more.

I loved the Fae chronicles, but when compared to Fever… Nothing compares to the Fever series IMO.

Oooh, Opposition is out tomorrow too? Tomorrow is going to be insane. Between my yearly Curran fix and Lead, now Daemon Black… Yeah!

Maryse July 28, 2014 at 6:57 PM

Ohhhh more with Daemon Black!!??? I had NO clue. Okay, I need to get started on tomorrow’s release list. So excited!!


Amy July 28, 2014 at 7:31 PM

No!! Crap, crap, crap! I just saw that Opposition doesn’t come out until NEXT Tuesday, 8/5. No Daemon Black until then! Okay, now I’m sad. :(

Fabi July 28, 2014 at 7:36 PM

Oh Michelle ! Moning’s Highlander series has to be my all time favorite. It’s the reason I even picked up her Fever series. And then when they converged at one point. Oh my heart. Are you following her new one? The one with Dani? I think it’s called Ice but can’t remember exactly. I am so addicted to her books. The highlanders would make great film. And girl! You must read the City of Bones YA series. ugh can’t remember the series name right now. the movie sucked but the books are easily in my top 5 even though they are YA.

Fabi July 28, 2014 at 7:42 PM

Ok here’s a question for everyone. What started your paranormal reading? My intro to it was Twilight.

Fabi July 28, 2014 at 7:46 PM

…and, I just preordered Opposition. What in the world did I do before running across Maryse’s blog? Thank you Maryse and thank you ladies for all the info.

Maryse July 28, 2014 at 7:55 PM

Hehe. Yeah Amy I just saw that, too. Well, at least tomorrow’s reading choices are a bit easier. ;)

Maryse July 28, 2014 at 7:57 PM

Fabi, for me it was Twilight, too!!

Back during Christmas 2008 coming into the New Year 2009. I read the first 3 and FREAKED OUT!!!! LOVED LOVED LOVE, and didn’t eat, or sleep for days, ’cause I was living on my love of Edward. LOL!!

Ahhhhh best romance-book-high EVER! I will never forget it. And I never stopped reading since.

Maryse July 28, 2014 at 7:57 PM

Come to think of it, best Christmas ever!! :P

Fabi July 28, 2014 at 8:03 PM

Oh me too Maryse. As a general rule I don’t re-read books. (Or re-watch movies) but I think I’ve read the Twilight series all the way through 3-4 times!!!

Tessa July 28, 2014 at 8:08 PM

I can wait a week, as long as I get my Curran tomorrow.

My first paranormal was at 12: Remember Me by Christopher Pike, I think. (It had been a few years.). Either that or RL Stine’s Fear Street. Ehicxhever came out first.

Tessa July 28, 2014 at 8:22 PM

I should mention by the time Twilight came out, I think I’d read every conceivable vampire type book out there. I started those at about thirteen? An odd trilogy that I fell in love with that if you ask me what it’s about, I’ll look at you blankly. There was a girl, something special about her that the vampires were hunting her, and in the third book, they went to Vegas.

Yreah, I’m that clueless years later:-\

Maryse July 28, 2014 at 8:49 PM

LOL! Now I’m dying to know what it is!!!

MichelleS July 28, 2014 at 8:57 PM

Fabi – yup, it was Twilight for me too – before that I thought Vampires were too dark (Anne Rice). I was a nut-job for a while until I realized I could read OTHER vampire books… then it was a rush to get through as many as I could… first Lara Adrian’s Midnight Breed series, then BDB, Kresley Cole’s Immortals After Dark, everything my K. Moning (and yes, I loved “Iced” too), Lora Leigh’s The Breeds, and about a bazillion more! Then I got wiped out and overwhelmed, so I went back to good old romances… THEN came 50 Shades and well, it’s been downhill since then…. Then K Ashley was probably the next “whoa” for me….. it’s been a heck of a ride…

Maryse July 28, 2014 at 9:36 PM

Sounds like my reading adventures! Good times… I am so thrilled to be in this hobby and with such awesome fellow readers (and now my friends). :D

Fabi July 28, 2014 at 9:37 PM

Your list and progression is exactly like mine. What about the one I think started with Dark Prince? The Carpathians? The only one on your list I don’t think I’ve read is K. Ashley. I just read fifty shades a couple of months ago. It took me forever to talk myself into reading it. It took me several years to get to Twighlight too. Around the same time Maryse did.

Fabi July 28, 2014 at 9:51 PM

That reminds me, I’ve switched genres several times too. I started with historical romance in my preteens and went to sci fi in my late twenties. Then YA, then PNR, then romance and lately a bit of smutt aka erotica. Blame 50.shades. and some m/m recomendations from this site.

Your turn ladies. It’s so interesting to hear what you read and if you’ve changed your reading habits over the years.

Jennifer July 28, 2014 at 10:16 PM

I’ve just started the Dark Light series and my impression is close to yours Maryse about Fighting Destiny…a bit disconnected and the heroine is young and a bit willfully ignorant…and I thought it was a complete series! Ugh! I hate that….I’m hoping this series gets better….I love the Fae Chronicles though and loved loved loved the Fever Series! Forever grateful for your blog….felt okay to start reading M/ M romance and not feel too much of a weirdo because there were others out there who liked them too! Love them now!

Rebecka July 28, 2014 at 10:47 PM

I was late to Twilght too! I started reading it a month before Eclipse came out….. AT THE MOVIES!!! I know late right??? I fell hard though *thud*sigh*

I liked Infernal Devices over Mortal Instruments ( only read up to #3)
My first ‘taboo’ read was VC Andrews Flowers in the Attic/Dollanganger Series many moons ago.

I had a reading hiatus for several years.. not by choice. Just other life priorities. :( Then got back into it heavy few years back and so fortunate to stumble on this lovely site!! Now I get to share with all you lovely ladies! Yay MARYSE!! Yay Me!! Now I read all kinds of genres. PNR, Dark, Erotic, New Adult, psyco thriller being my favs… better yet when mixed all together :)

MichelleS July 28, 2014 at 10:55 PM

YOU GUYS!!! Fabi hasn’t read Kristen Ashley?!?!?! Should we tell her what she’s missing? Oh come on! We must! Fabi – drop everything and read something by Kristen Ashley. Put a search in this blog and you can review so many of hers. Anything she writes is great / some more than others. My faves: Golden Dynasty, Sweet Dreams, Motorcycle Man, Fairytale Comes Alive. Yes, love historical romance (regency and any guy in a kilt :-) ) and yes, read the Carpathians and Anita Blake and just about every single PNR series there is. Did not read The Hallows or Sookie Stakhouse. I love this blog because I seem to have very very similar taste to Maryse, so I trust her recommendations. Ok – so whar was the VERY FIRST MARYSE book you read? For me it was Sinners on Tour – Backstage Pass – that’s how I found her blog! LOL – that was a hot one, so I came back for more…

MichelleS July 28, 2014 at 11:01 PM

Ooh – Rebecka – that was my fist “crazy sinful” book too – VC Andrews Flowers in the Attic. I read the whole series. I was only about 13 or 14 and it was so shocking. But I wore that poor book out. My poor mom had no idea. Just like now, my husband has no idea how wicked some of this stuff is. I tell him about 75% of the wickedness. I just can’t tell him about any m/m books – I’m too chicken. I have a deal with my friend to come seize my Kindle if I am killed in an accident!!! I’m completely in the closet about my reading choices.

Fabi July 28, 2014 at 11:06 PM

Rebecka, I recently re-read Flowers in the Attic. First time I was either pre-teen or early teen. Series still packs a wallop after all these years.

I’ve read both, Mortal Instruments and Infernal devices.

Michelle I simply don’t know where to start with KA. I keep seeing her work mentioned here and I ‘ve searched a bit for her books but there are series and prequels and I’m just confused with it all. Besides, what does she write? Is it strictly romance? HEA is a must for me.

Omg, I don’t know which book was the first one I read from Maryse’s blog. There have been SO MANY. I’ll have to try to figure it out or it’ll drive me crazy not knowing now.

Fabi July 28, 2014 at 11:08 PM

Oh, I tried Skokie and even tried watching True Blood. But I couldn’t get into the series or the show. Gave up after a few books.

Fabi July 28, 2014 at 11:09 PM


Fabi July 28, 2014 at 11:10 PM

Hahaha Michelle. I am also still in the closet about my reading preferences.

Fabi July 28, 2014 at 11:11 PM

Try and Take are the best two mm ones I’ve read so far. Really really really and really good.

MichelleS July 28, 2014 at 11:32 PM

Yup – Try and Take are my faves too. As far as KA goes – you are GUARANTEED a HEA. She is the Queen of HEAs. She writes the best epilogues, bar none. Seriously. Each series is filled with basically stand alone stories of a couple, and they make brief appearances in future books in that series, which is why, if you can read them in order it’s best, but not necessary. She writes it all. Fantasy, Motorcycle dudes. Even PNR! A lot of people start with her Rock Chicks series… but that’s not my fave. If you want to get a “feel” for her writing, I’d say Sweet Dreams or Golden Dynasty. I have read all her books and she is probably my second favorite author. If you can walk away from this blog with any recommendation that was worth the time – Kristen Ashley is it!

Amy July 28, 2014 at 11:33 PM

Aw, Maryse, I love it here, too! *big squeezy manatee group hug*

Okay, ladies, you’re probably gonna think this is weird but…for me it was The Ruins by Scott Smith a little over three years ago. I was at the Tokyo airport and facing an eight-hour flight home, and the airport bookstore had very few English books (and no English magazines), and that looked the most promising. It was actually really good! Messed up as all get out but still really good. My sweet husband bought me a Nook right after that and then an iPad, and I have been addicted to reading ever since.

I read V.C. Andrews FITA when I was a junior high schooler, too! I felt so rebellious. *giggle* My first contemporary romance was Beautiful Disaster (Travis!!!!!), and the book that started my angst addiction was Thoughtless. I didn’t read the Twilight books until right before Breaking Dawn part 1 came out. I know, I know…I was late to the parade. ;)

Amy July 28, 2014 at 11:36 PM

Oh, and Fabi – you will love Kristen Ashley! I have yet to start her other series, but the Fantasyland series was so crazy good! Lahn!!! *sigh*

Fabi July 28, 2014 at 11:45 PM

Oh my gosh, I still don’t know where to start with KA. Are there any standalones that are really good. Didn’t Sweet Dreams just come out? Or maybe I should just start at the beginning with her, by publishing date? She seems to be an extremely prolific author.

Yup Amy, Travis hooked me on contemporary too! I wonder if that was the first for me from Maryse. I gotta figure that out.

I need to compile a new all time favorites list because there are several I have to add now thanks to this blog.

MichelleS July 28, 2014 at 11:48 PM

My husband bought me my first Kindle a little over 4 years ago because he was sick of buying me paperback with “half naked dudes” on them. I couldn’t find the next in a series and would make him stop at a big store, like Barnes & Noble. He was so embarrassed.

Fabi July 29, 2014 at 12:00 AM

Michelle, I think that’s the funniest hubby story I’ve ever heard.

bev July 29, 2014 at 12:08 AM

With KA my first was At Peace and then went right to Sweet Dreams. I think either of those is a good introduction to her writing. One is from her Burg and one from the mountain man series. If I am remembering right they each are the second in their series, but I do think you can start with them. At that point the books were not strongly linked. Now going on from them yes read in order. Rock chicks read in order which starts with Indy and Lee’s book.
Can I say how jealous I am of some one who gets to pick up oh like Sweet Dreams and read It for the first time.

bev July 29, 2014 at 12:17 AM

Just looked up and saw commercial for if I stay. Did not know they were making it into a movie.

Jennifer July 29, 2014 at 12:29 AM

Definitely Sweet Dreams by KA….second in the series but I still haven’t read the first….although I have read many others since including all Dream man books, fantasyland books etc. I was first introduced to KA by Maryse’s review of Sweet Dreams…I wasn’t sure about it but once I read it I was hooked on her books. And I completely agree about Try! Loved it….I haven’t started Take yet because I want to re-read Try first!

Fabi July 29, 2014 at 8:23 AM

If Sweet Dreams is number 2 you don’t think I should start with number 1 even if they’re not heavily linked?

I think Take is even better than Try. More angsty.

Maryse July 29, 2014 at 8:37 AM

Oh EM GEE Fabi!!!!

You MUST read Kristen Ashley!!! My first from her and STILL my favorite (although she has a ton that are “my favorite”) is Sweet Dreams.

Do it! Do it! Do it! :P

Maryse July 29, 2014 at 8:39 AM

Fabi, Sweet Dreams and “The Gamble (#1) are not linked at all.

Two separate towns, separate characters that will only intersect (and it’s just as a bunch of friends & acquaintances) later in the series, so it wouldn’t matter which out of the two you start with. They are both completely standalone at that point, so … Sweet Dreams!!!! :D

Oh you know. I think I should re-read it.

MichelleS July 29, 2014 at 8:46 AM

Fabi – no, don’t start with number 1 (that one was good too, but #2 is the one that sticks with you). If you want an idea of how she writes (the dialogue, the epilogue, the kids – yup there’s a lot of kids to love, the alpha men and how they never say the word “IF” (ha!), the not-too-young women, all that makes KA’s books her very own) then start with Sweet Dreams. If you want KA at her very best, go with Golden Dynasty. But that one has a fantasy element… so if that’s not what you want right now, see plan A :-) . After that, you can start any of her series anytime and continue it anytime. No cliffhangers (except her PNR series The Three Series). And if you read Motorcycle Man without having read Mystery Man (where Tack is introduced) you still love it, you just don’t love it as much as if you know who he is (so 100% versus 120% – not bad). No matter what, you’ll love her books. So many of us started with Sweet Dreams because Maryse did – so start there.

Jean July 29, 2014 at 8:46 AM

Wow I missed this whole conversation last night! Love it! Twilight was definitely my first PNR and I fell onto Maryse’s site after reading the Thoughtless series and she introduced me to Beautiful Disaster (I will forever be indebted to her for that one)!

Fabi, you can’t go wrong with any KA book and of course I have to thank Maryse for that intro also! And I love all genres now thanks to her… never thought I would love all the dark reads, but I do!

Started Lead this morning! Yay!

Tracy July 29, 2014 at 8:50 AM

Fabi – I just read my first KA based on Maryse’s recommendation about two weeks ago. It was Sweet Dreams and it was wonderful. I didn’t feel like I was missing anything being that it was the second book. There are so many books to read from all the reviews on the blog I never know what to start next. I haven’t read Thoughtless yet. I can’t decide between that or Fighting Destiny or Beautiful Oblivion. Decisions decisions.

MichelleS July 29, 2014 at 9:04 AM

Actually, I blame Maryse for many of my obsessive reads. Sinners on Tour got me into Rock stars. Sweet Dreams into KA and motorcycle dudes. I still don’t know the difference between contemporary and NA, but I’m sure she is to blame there too. She recommended Hopeless – so I started reading all that angsty stuff. Been following her since Aug 2012. You’re a bad influence Maryse!!!

Fabi July 29, 2014 at 9:56 AM

Ok I’ll read Sweet Dreams next. Although Golden Dynasty does appeal with its fantasy aspect. I’m almost done with my current read, so I’ll start tonight or tomorrow at the latest.

Thank you all so much for the suggestions.

Michelle, the difference between NA and contemporary romance is that New Adult focuses on late tens or very early twenties. College or just out of college kids – New adults. Contemporary romance is not age restricted.

Honestly I was never a fan of contemporary romance until Maryse introduced me to the angsty ones.

Rebecka July 29, 2014 at 11:05 AM

Wow looks like I am not the only night owl. I missed the convo too. I was reading :)
Don’t feel bad Fabi I am new to KA too, but LOVE HER!! I started reading her about 10 months ago The Fantasy land series being my first, The Burg, Unfinished Hero…n so many more to go. .Just pick one and run…they’ve all been awesome.

Michelle S- FIITA Your poor mom had no idea. IT WAS MY MOMS BOOK—GAH!! You know you don’t want to think about your parents reading stuff like that!!! To this day she reads like crazy and I DON’T WANT TO KNOW WHAT she reads!!

I’ve always been obsessed with reading since an early age, but after my hiatus, I lost touch and stumbled across Maryse’s site looking for a good PNR read in late 2011 early 2012 …..Yep she introduced me to the lovely Cat & Bones! I was instantly in love with Bones!!! Then onto the BDB and now my obsession is at an all time high and 500+ books later…my obsession has catapulted and my bank account draining (LOL —THANKS A LOT MARYSE)-(JK)

Ladies— do you ever go into the discussion section of Maryse’s site? If so, what threads??

MichelleS July 29, 2014 at 11:13 AM

I didn’t even know there WAS a discussion section!! I must have a blind spot in my vision, because… YUP… there it is. Who knew? I don’t know how it works, but I need it right about now. “Lead” is killing me… her inner monologue is so freaking hilarious. I am highlighting left and right and only 21% in.

Tracy July 29, 2014 at 11:15 AM

Hopeless is one of my all time favorite books. It just made my hear pound.

Jean July 29, 2014 at 11:18 AM

MichelleS….I am at about the same point in Lead. I am loving Lena!

Rebecka July 29, 2014 at 11:30 AM

I’ve been following since 2011/2012, but didn’t officially join until Late 2013 and love to chat with all of you. No one but you all understands my obsession :)

Jean July 29, 2014 at 11:34 AM

Rebecka I am right there with you. Started following Maryse last year and would be lost without her and everyone here!

Oh and I thought the discussion section was only for certain books that were making us all crazy and we needed to vent without spoiling for anyone else…. Am I wrong?

Rebecka July 29, 2014 at 11:39 AM

Maryse has it all there are many threads for general book chats-share pics of hot guys or just fun silliness. Nook/kindle loaning book section and a spoiler section I just learned about too from a long standing member Ela.

Fabi July 29, 2014 at 11:43 AM

I’ve been following for a while too but only recently joined. I didn’t see the forums until late last night. Definitely could have used them while reading Fae Chronicles. Will be checking them out. Not reading Lead because I don’t think I’ve read the previous in the series.

Maryse July 29, 2014 at 12:04 PM


OMG I am soooooo jealous of you right now.

Maryse July 29, 2014 at 12:04 PM

*grins* over the “bad influence” label. Tee hee!!!!!!! :P

Maryse July 29, 2014 at 12:08 PM

Awwwww you guyssss!!!


Y’all make my day every single day.

MichelleS July 29, 2014 at 6:22 PM

Rebecka – speaking of parents and not wanting to know what they might be reading… I get home from work and find my dad reading Dark Lover (BDB)… I was mortified! But he loved it and asked to borrow it (was even MORE mortified). Since then, I freaking kid you not, he borrows most of my books – so I just gave him my Kindle and got e new one. He even read 50 Shades!!! And The Original Sinners. And Fae Chronicles!!! We just pretend like it’s all normal and talk about the general “plot”…. (coughing noises). He is 74, BTW…… can you believe THAT?

Rebecka July 30, 2014 at 9:28 AM

MichelleS-Too funny. Hey maybe it keeps him young at heart. Whatever works!!! :)

Leave a Comment


Notify me of followup comments to this post via e-mail. You can also subscribe without commenting.

Previous post:

Next post: