Book Review – Hopeless by Colleen Hoover

by Maryse on December 18, 2012 · 73 comments

in Colleen Hoover, My Book Reviews

Hopeless
This is one intense book. INTENSE I tell you! Intense subject matter, emotionally intense, romantically intense, and intensely stunning. Gut-wrenching, dark, and even occasionally panic-inducing. I found myself trembling as the revelations were slowly coming to light.

But that dark intensity blends harmoniously with the lighthearted moments of laughter and silly-sweet banter.

He’s quiet for a minute, then grins again.  “I can’t believe you think I’m hot.”
“Shut up.”
“You probably faked passing out the other day, just so you could be carried in my hot, sweaty, manly arms.”
“Shut up.”
“I’ll bet you fantasize about me at night, right here in this bed.”
“Shut up, Holder.”
“You probably even…”
I reach over and clamp my hand over his mouth.  “You’re way hotter when you aren’t speaking,” I say.

That part made me grin, and there is a lot of that.

It is loaded in “light” despite the dark aura that surrounds it, relieving a lot of that pressure. Allowing it’s beauty and warmth to shine through. And it’s deep. Building on a new friendship, learning to connect and actually feel. Something that the heroine never thought she’d be capable of. Plagued by nightmares, and somewhat… numb. She can’t cry. She’s not even sure she can love. She’s never let anyone in. She’s never felt like letting anyone in.

Why? I’ll let you find out.

So what’s it about? Here’s a little taste of the beginning…

After years of homeschooling, “Sky” is finishing her last year of high school at a real one. Having only ever had one friend (her neighbor) she’s socially reserved, and not that concerned about the mean girls, no matter how insistent they are in getting under her skin. They’re wasting their time. She couldn’t care less. But she makes one friend. Loved him!!!

And then she made two friends. Loved the second one even more!

“Dean Holder?  Messy brown hair?  Smoldering blue eyes?  A temper straight out of Fight Club?”
I shrug.  “Dowds sike dim,” I say, my words barely audible thanks to the grip she still has on my face.

She releases her hold and I repeat what I said.  “Sounds like him,” I say, massaging my cheeks.  “You know him?”

She stands up and throws her hands up in the air.  “Why Sky?  Of all the guys you could be attracted to, why the hell is it Dean Holder?”

But then… I wasn’t so sure I was supposed to love him. It started off one way, went in another direction, and then pulled me right back to that… initial feeling of “crazy”. I was nervous. And so was she. But while she’s hearing warning bells, she can’t help how she feels around him. Wait. What? Feels? Yep!

I hate it.  I absolutely, positively hate this beautiful, magical feeling.

She’s feeling. Intensely. And no matter how many kisses and make-out sessions she’s had in her past, this guy is holding all of the cards. She wants his kiss like she’s never wanted anything before. But he knows she has… issues, and he wants to be sure she’s 100% there with him when it happens.

“Let me inform you of something,” he whispers.  “The moment my lips touch yours, it will be your first kiss. Because if you’ve never felt anything when someone’s kissed you, then no one’s ever really kissed you.  Not the way I plan on kissing you

And may I just proclaim that the “first kiss” in this story is the  most gratifying, incredible, OMG experience of my book-kissing life? Just you wait. ;)

But don’t think we’re all good after that. This one’ll keep you guessing. I guessed and guessed, and had some things… close, and some WAY off.

What’s her deal?

His eyebrows draw apart and he frowns, cupping my cheeks.  “Where’d you go, Sky?”

What’s his deal?

I hate that there are so many sides to him that I don’t understand, and I don’t know if I even want to keep trying to understand them.  There are parts of him I love, and parts of him I hate, and parts that terrify me and parts that amaze me.

Of course they’ve both got a hidden past making them who they are today, and as they feel their way in the dark to each other, the fun (or the un-fun ;) ) is in the reveal. Like I mentioned to a friend who was also “taste-testing” this one before it’s release:

Maryse: Oh you have a ride ahead of you. I swear I guessed like 5 different things before I got it right. It’s like the author waves her hand in one area and says “Hey you! Pay attention to this… and then you’re all oooh I know!!! And then *poof* you didn’t know at all. Now zipping myself back up. LOL! hehehe. I can’t say anymore.

BFF: you know I love you but sometimes you suck.

Maryse: LOL!!!!!!!!

BFF: Stinker.

HEA? I can’t say. Just know I died a little as I read this. And I came to life a few times, too.

“You can’t get mad at a real ending. Some of them are ugly. It’s the fake happy ever afters that should piss you off.”

4.5 stars!

Get Free Email Updates from me :)

{ 73 comments… read them below or add one }

Amy H December 18, 2012 at 5:33 PM

This book is not on my nook tablet. Slammed and point of retreat is. I read them both and cried my eyes out. Loved those books. Hopefuly they will put it on the nook soon.

Lise December 18, 2012 at 5:41 PM

*Whew* your review has me all worked up. I just bought the book and cannot wait to start reading it tonight.
Great review, as always! :-) :-)

Kim December 18, 2012 at 5:51 PM

shit. On a day when I have no money and I’m ready to start a new book. shit.

Erin G December 18, 2012 at 5:55 PM

Just downloaded it!! So excited

Lucy @ The Reading Date December 18, 2012 at 6:02 PM

Thanks for spreading the good news…I just bought it, yay! There’s a lot of “intense” in the beginning of your review that has me worried, but excited too. I’m so intrigued!

MaryLove14 December 18, 2012 at 6:28 PM

deos this have a HEA ending or will there be a second book?

Amy December 18, 2012 at 6:40 PM

Where were you able to find the book. I have looked on Amazon and Barnes and noble. I can’t find it. Help

Maryse December 18, 2012 at 6:47 PM

Clicking on the book cover will lead you directly to it on Amazon. :)

angie December 18, 2012 at 6:48 PM

is the end going to piss me off?

Cowanda December 18, 2012 at 6:50 PM

I can’t get it….The B&N are so slow in getting the good books…smh

Maryse December 18, 2012 at 6:52 PM

Ahhhhh I don’t know if I can tell that or not… LOL!!! I wish I could. I’ll ask Colleen how that can be answered. ;)

Maria December 18, 2012 at 6:55 PM

Ok so your review has me all excited, I can’t wait till my kids go to bed so I can start this book, and there goes my Xmas shopping tomorrow…;)

Cathy December 18, 2012 at 7:00 PM

Loved the review! Now I can’t wait to get the book on my Kindle and start reading! I just love your site :) I always come to you when I need a good book to read! You know just what I like!!!! :)

Diana S December 18, 2012 at 7:30 PM

Thanks for the review. Can’t wait to read it!!

MaryLove14 December 18, 2012 at 7:32 PM

Maryse, you have to tell me!!!! i just finished reading Fallen Too Far and i don’t think i can read another book that is going to keep me hangin :(

Maryse December 18, 2012 at 7:36 PM

Oh okay I can promise you there is NO cliffhanger. :) How’s that?

angie December 18, 2012 at 8:15 PM

you tease you!!! im gonna dive in here in a bit and hope for the best!!!

Fritz December 18, 2012 at 8:24 PM

i’m not over TEN TINY BREATHS and FALLEN TOO FAR yet but i’m gonna read this because i’ve been waiting too long for this book. i don’t care if i would be a hot mess after reading THESE books consecutively. my hanky is prepared.

Julie M December 18, 2012 at 9:08 PM

Maryse where’s your link?

Marsha Shew December 18, 2012 at 9:17 PM

Ooooohhh thanks for offering this book in the giveaways….I dont have it yet ;o) I do have a funny Christmas Shopping story….it was this year….we went out on Black Friday and came home with very few gifts….but did manage to pick up a Tuxedo Tee Shirt and a Disco Ball…..go figure??? I blame it on the lack of sleep! LOL

Kirsten December 18, 2012 at 9:29 PM

Great review Maryse. Can’t wait to start this one, and no cliff hanger… Yay!

Erin Hill December 18, 2012 at 10:12 PM

I’m almost done with all my xmas shopping this year. I did most of mine online to avoid all of those “funny” stories. lol!

Maryse December 18, 2012 at 10:33 PM

Thanks Julie!! Wow how did I miss that? The book covers were linking direct but I forgot my “usual” link. LOL!!

Done! :)

Joanna I December 18, 2012 at 10:52 PM

Another book to add to my list, yayyy!! My sweet husband just handed me an Amazon gift card, what a nice surprise… Let the book buying and no sleep begin! :)

Marian December 19, 2012 at 1:37 AM

Awesome review! I can’t wait to read this one!

day December 19, 2012 at 2:32 AM

omg I really want to read this book is there anyway I can get hopeless borrowed to me via kindle from anybody?

Kathy December 19, 2012 at 6:16 AM

OMG! I stayed up last night reading this. It took me forever to fall asleep after this one. It’s one of those books that makes your heart pound. I love a book that makes you feel and this book definitely did that. It just may take me a while to recover. Loved it!

Abby December 19, 2012 at 11:32 AM

I just found your blog and I love it!! We have alot of the same taste in books but you have read so many more books which just gives me more great reading ideas. Thank you so much for doing this. I’ve saved your blog to my favorites and I will visit often.

hazel December 19, 2012 at 12:30 PM

I can’t wait to read this book.

Stacey December 19, 2012 at 12:34 PM

My eyes were falling asleep last night at about 90%, but I forced myself to stay awake and finish it because there was no way I could end the book for the night (or around 1am) at that point! And I was so glad I stayed awake and finished it.
Beautifully written, heart-wrenching, love inducing…it was such an intense and thrilling and amazing….and I’m not even sure those are the right words to describe it at all…because it was just more than that! I loved it.

Christina December 19, 2012 at 12:44 PM

What an amazing book! I was up till 3am and got to 89% and I had to sleep, interview in the morning Should’ve just stayed up and finished reading it as I couldn’t fall to sleep.

OMG Holder talking about their first kiss!! LOVED!!

The meaning of Hopeless had me crying.

It also had me laughing at points, my DH was wondering what I was reading, lol.

Another fantastic book by Colleen.

Traci B. December 19, 2012 at 1:38 PM

Damn…I skipped the reviews and comments because I’m only @ 25% and I think i guessed whats gonna happen..damn damn damn!!! Lol I’ll report back If I’m correct or not lol…and If there is another part 2 I have to wait for my kindle may be in trouble haha

Traci B. December 19, 2012 at 7:30 PM

Ok so i’m at 68%.. i was wrong about what happened phew!!

Nicky December 20, 2012 at 12:37 AM

That was amazing! And bonus points for The Sea of Tranquility reference. Hehe.

Surj December 20, 2012 at 12:15 PM

Maryse…. Omg I loved it… Just loved it but I’ve got to stop reading books that make me cry. In the last week and a half, I have read the coincidence of callie and kayden, the sea of tranquility, fallen too far, ten tiny breaths and hopeless. My husband is starting to look at me funny because I seem to be crying a lot (over books!!!) I have become obsessed with reading but just love it and love your recommendations. However please can you recommend a book that will have me howling with laughter like I laughed when I read wall banger please? Any recommendations gratefully received. I don’t think I have any tears left lol xxx

Monica Villanueva December 20, 2012 at 1:31 PM

Surj read Snacks and Seduction (chocolate lovers series). They are super funny and super HOT!! Tara Sevic is the author. There are 3 books in the series. I promise that you will laugh till your stomach hurts.

Surj December 20, 2012 at 3:33 PM

Thank you so much Monica. I have just downloaded the first book. I’m looking forward to laughing whilst I read and by the sounds of the reviews, it’s just what I need. Thanks a million again xxx

Erin G December 20, 2012 at 4:16 PM

Just finished it… um, wow. just wow. I think I’m going to take a little break from reading now

Erin G December 20, 2012 at 4:17 PM

Surj- also read Wallbanger and Against the Wall/ Beneath the Sheets… all of these are really funny

Scoti M. December 20, 2012 at 6:25 PM

Wow! I loved Slammed and POR but OMG this book was just…WOW! I read it all today and I just really couldn’t stop until the end. Neglected my laundry, dishes, children (just kidding!) and basically just devoured this book! Great job Colleen, one of the best books I’ve read all year!

Lindsay C December 20, 2012 at 7:25 PM

OMG…I did not “lived” this book. I LOVE it!! HOPE-ing for a sequel!

KristaB December 21, 2012 at 12:29 PM

Slammed and Point of Retreat were at the top of my list for a long time but Hopeless just took their spot! I couldn’t put it down. Definitely a MUST read!!

Minha (BrazGirl) December 21, 2012 at 12:51 PM

Just finished it and its 5 stars for me!! I am looking forward to the day Colleen Hoover decides to take a little break from writing IA and decides to write an adult, contemporary romance, WOW! I bet it will be heart shattering… I can just imagine her ability of writing emotional, well-developed characters mixed up with a mature, sexy, steamy relationship… It would be the perfect storm!!! :) but the truth is, whatever Colleen decides to write going forward, I want to be reading it…There are not many romance authors out there that can take me on this kind of “reading high”, like she did with Hopeless.

Minha (BrazGirl) December 21, 2012 at 12:55 PM

Ohhh and I did quote you on my review Maryse :)

Takisha December 21, 2012 at 10:32 PM

Just finished this one a few hours ago and i loved it! Like you, i was trying to guess and guess what the heck was REALLY going on and I just had to tell myself to stop trying to guess and wait and see how things play out..lol

Is there going to be a 2nd book? Not that there needs to be but I can see where there could be

Ida December 23, 2012 at 1:28 PM

I was finally able to get it for my Nook. Can’t wait to start reading it : )

Hlee December 24, 2012 at 3:14 AM

I love this book! I just finished it and I’m already thinking about rereading it again!

Meredith December 24, 2012 at 7:51 PM

Just finished reading this one–I just loved it!!!!!

ida December 25, 2012 at 3:07 PM

I read it in one day. Wow….. just loved it. Holder………. just no words to describe him.

Stephanie Jacob December 27, 2012 at 4:25 PM

OMG!!! That’s what I have to say. Absolutely amazing story!

Cassidy December 29, 2012 at 3:29 PM

Ummmm…WOW!!!! Totally took me by surprise!! Amazing story.
I feel speechless!! A must read. ❤❤❤❤❤

natalie December 29, 2012 at 5:29 PM

OMG, Colleen Hoover is sooo talented! She has now become my 2nd favorite author, behind Stephenie Meyer ;) Hopeless was just beautiful, she really knows how to drag every single emotion out of you!

teri December 31, 2012 at 2:02 AM

Okay, so it’s 2 am and I just finished Hopeless…and I’m drained, just emotionally drained. I can’t think of another book that took me through such a myriad of emotions, I wept, cringed, gasped, fell in love, ached, laughed…it was wonderful. So glad I saw it on the recommendations!

Tanya January 1, 2013 at 4:18 PM

Just finished this book and WOW! Absolutely loved it! I love Sky and Holder. I could see the twist coming and had to re-read the book again straight away with Holder’s frame of mind at the forefront.Such a touching story that made me cry and feel deep emotions, I just couldn’t put it down. Just finished The Bronze Horseman trilogy and was feeling a bit lost but this book completely enveloped me. So beautiful…

Kim L January 1, 2013 at 7:05 PM

I put this on a FB post but I should put it here also:
Wow just finished reading Hopeless by Colleen Hoover this morning. One word to describe INTENSE. The story kept me guessing the entire time. I think I went through every emotion known to man. I laughed, cried, and was SHOCKED. Overall I LOVED it. Loved Holder and his passion and intensity and yes Maryse the first kiss. wow. GREAT read!!!! If you haven’t you shouldn’t. Don’t skip ahead and peek ( I was soooo tempted but didn’t) the anticipation was well worth it.

Kristin January 2, 2013 at 9:08 AM

So I always look at your recommendations and love them so I decided to take a chance on this book..can I say I Loved It!!! I started it and finished in one night couldn’t put this one down. Amazing read..

Dawn January 3, 2013 at 1:25 AM

Started Hopeless yesterday and could not put it down. It’s been awhile since a story sucked me in like this one did. I loved everything…but I think I will re-read the Best First Non-Kiss chapter at least once a week for months!! WOW!

Jax January 3, 2013 at 2:54 PM

ahhhh this book made me laugh and ugly cry all at once. For the first time ever I didn’t cheat and skip ahead after reading some of the reviews so I literally gasped and cried when the big reveal happened. This book is intense and gut wrenching…and I loved it! I know it said stand alone but I’m hoping with enough begging she will write a sequel I will take a damn novella at this point darn it!

Patty January 16, 2013 at 8:51 AM

OMG…Intense your not kidding….I have never read a book in a day….I couldnt put it down, it was ….everything, it ticked every box for me. I received a kindle for Christmas (FINALLY)….but the only thing about not holding the book in your hands, unless you look at you % remaining….your not sure when it’s gona end which also adds to the anxiety for me. BUT when this one ended I was complete. It couldnt have ended any more perfect yet I wanted more. Can you tell I’m rambling and at a loss….I JUST LOVED LOVED LOVED IT.

Tara January 18, 2013 at 12:44 AM

I laughed out loud soooo many times. I really love this author. Can’t wait to read more from her. The banter is so witty, real and just plain delightful to read.

Jenn D January 19, 2013 at 9:53 AM

Another awesome book by Colleen Hoover. She has a fantastic talent for writing in a way that keeps you guessing with every turn of the page (or swipe of the screen)! Ha! I couldn’t put this down and LOVED, not “lived”, everything about it. I laughed, cried, and every emotion in between. I might just have to read it again…it was that good!

Heather February 4, 2013 at 8:12 AM

Is this in the middle of a reprint? This isn’t available on Amazon . . .

Lisa M February 7, 2013 at 11:46 PM

Wow!!! What a truly amazing story! I heart Holder! Another book I couldn’t put down! Loved it loved it loved it! I will definitely be checking out the list of what to read after Hopeless as well as all the freebies I have on my kindle to choose from. There’s a sequel??? Really??? Have I missed the details about it because I’ve been too busy reading?

Nicole Kruppa February 13, 2013 at 9:54 AM

OMG OMG OMG! What a freakin book! Finished it last night. This morning I’m re-reading all my book marks. This book had me laughing out loud, sniffling, swooning and sobbing. It had it all. AND I LOVED Holder and Sky. Both. Equally. I wish I had someone else who read it to pet and cuddle me cause I need to talk about it! LOL
Colleen Hoover NAILED it with this one! NAILED it!!! Buying it for my sister (who doesn’t read like me) and forcing her to read it! ;)

Debbie March 2, 2013 at 7:03 PM

Just downloaded the book this morning and read it this afternoon. Great recommendation. Hard to believe Holder was only 18. Hope Colleen writes a book with older characters next time. However, Sky and Holder were the perfect age for the subject matter and it was easy to forget they were In high school.. Loved it!

rachel at backngroovemom March 13, 2013 at 1:41 PM

I had this book sitting in my e-reader for a few months…I just read it. wow! It really left me breathless in a weird way – the love really came off the pages and just the unconditional bond between those 2…

Judy April 4, 2013 at 2:23 PM

This book was AMAZING! There were times I was shaking my head thinking “did that really just happen?!?” So many twists & turns, I gave up trying to figure out the ending! Definitely FIVE STARS!

Ashley June 21, 2013 at 4:00 PM

OH MY GOD! Is all I can really say about this book right now. I just finished it literally twenty minutes ago and my head is still spinning. I read this book in one sitting, and I almost feel bad for anyone who witnessed my facial reactions while reading it. It took me all the way from relaxed to sitting at the edge of my seat and back. I love this book! FIVE STARS ALL THE WAY!

Deb August 28, 2013 at 12:58 PM

I did not see a recommendation for Losing Hope – which I believe is Dean’s story, is that worth reading?

day August 28, 2013 at 1:42 PM

Yes deb I would say it is worth reading. I actually read the book & I wasn’t that much of a fan of hopeless but I enjoyed losing hope a lot more.

Eyna March 26, 2014 at 4:02 AM

Can someone tell me…is this book a trilogy series?

gopaal June 26, 2015 at 5:48 PM

Ms. Maryse,
thanks for taking the time to review. I was reading the book and came across the phrase “dowds sike dim” uttered by Sky. I tried to find what it means, by searching online and asking the people I know, but without success.
Do you happen to know what it means. Would you be kind enought o email back to me? giyyeru@gmail.com

sincerely,

Gopaal.

gopaal June 26, 2015 at 5:49 PM

thank you

Leave a Comment

 

Notify me of followup comments to this post via e-mail. You can also subscribe without commenting.

Previous post:

Next post: