Book Review – It’s All Relative by S.C. Stephens

by Maryse on February 15, 2016 · 60 comments

in My Book Reviews, S.C. Stephens

It’s All Relative

IMPROMPTU REVIEW TIME!!!!! OMG!!! Tee hee!!! I’m so excited that Amy just told me that THIS book is up for pre-order right now (and coming out SOON!!!!) twisted *rubs hands together with devilish glee*

LOL!

Amy: You guys! YOU GUYS!!!! Did any of you read it way back when? I read it not long after Thoughtless and HOLY FREAKING ANGST! It’s taboo with heartbreaking angst, and it just doesn’t let up from what I remember. MARYSE! This one needs to be added to the I’ll-never-forgive-you list!!!!

Maryse: OMHG OMG OMG OICJBDHSVCdhjbCKDJSBCD OMG!!!!!!! THAT BOOK. I CAN’T. HOTTEST MOST TABOO (ALMOST TABOO? AND YET SO CLEVERLY <— :D TABOO) MOST OMG BOOK EVER!!!!!!!!!!

Amy: YES!! *jumps up and down and points at Maryse* That!!! THAT is the perfect reaction to that book!! The sex-but-without-actual-sex-’cause-it-is-taboo scene?!? *thunk* And the bee sting scene? “Stupid bees!” GAH!!! It was one of those “why can’t they just be together” scenes!!  I’m having so many flashbacks from that book and going nuts now because EVERYONE who loved Thoughtless needs this one!!! The butterflies in my tummy just smoked a sh!t-ton of crack!!!!

Jean: I never read it Amy. Is it just being rereleased or something? I preordered it of course based on your and Maryse’s reaction!

Maryse: OMG OMG!!!!!!! I NEED TO WRITE THIS REVIEW!!! I READ THIS… whoops sorry. *capslock* TEE HEE!! Okay… so. I read this back in my I dunno… 2012-2013 early indie-days when it was free, and it BLEW. MY. FORBIDDEN-LOVE MIND!!!!!! And now… it’s up for pre-order and I FREAKING BLUSHED!!!!!! THIS ONE. You like forbidden love stories? THIS ONE. OMG LOL!!!!!! Ahhhhhhh *giggle* (P.S. Thank you AMY!! FINALLY!!!!!)

Kim: I’m so happy!!!! I’ve wanted to read this one!!! :D

Maryse: Tee hee!!!!!! :P

Nadia: Loved this one !

Danielle: Eeekkkk I’ve never read I cannot wait to!!!

Kristie: I read this while standing in lines for rides at various amusement parks (Cedar Point, Kings Island, etc) on a family trip about 3 years ago. It was such a crazy book to read while a bunch of people are standing right by you… Loved it!!! And boy did those line times just FLY BY…

Francine: This book was awesome!!!!!! Fiction press! Let’s not forget Collision Course!!!!! Woo hoo!

Michelle: I loved it too!

I’m serious you guys. You like taboo? THIS. THIIIIIISSSSS!!!! Oh yes. This will make your eyes bug out, your brain and your heart war against each other, and will give you all the chills and thrills that S.C. Stephens is known for. YOU KNOW she goes “there”. All of that uncomfortable pining, resisting, loving, and everything shocking that will make you say NO!! NO THEY DID NOT!!! Oh yes. Yes. They. Did. :P This is one of those.

Patricia: It’s all Relative was hot Maryse you feel (naughty at first) but hot nontheless

Yamira: It’s all relative, it has a tabooish thing about it, since the *spoiler*, but its also very good.

Sara: I can’t wait until you get to experience ” it’s all relative” I’m dying to know what you think about it. Since the subject is uh,well ….uncomfortable? Lol. And the guy….AHHHHH! Soooo hot :) ~

Amy: It’s All Relative? *biting my fist* S.C. Stephens can write some angst!

Maryse: Amy… just you wait. The day it comes out, I may even do a re-read of “It’s All Relative”. ;)

Rachel: I read It’s All Relative twice when it was free on Smashwords. Soooo good! I’ll be curious to read new reviews when it’s released!

Okay… now I’m writing this review from memory, having read this book maybe 3 or 4 years ago when it was still free on Fictionpress (or something like that), so bear with me. I don’t even think I still actually “have” the book so that I can backtrack and quote some delicious, shocking, emotional goodies for you. But here’s what makes this one extra-special… it’s the fact that I can write this review without even having to backtrack, no matter how long ago I read this. YES!!!!!! IT STUCK WITH ME!!! The feeling, the scenes, the OMG-STEAM that I could barely handle… oh WOWOWOWOWOWOW!!!

And while (from memory) the writing at that time wasn’t… you know… profound or anything, (meaning it wasn’t a really “deep” book, other than of course… love, and how we want it to conquer all… even social expectations), it WAS unputtdownable! It was a full-on thrilling love story, with everything needed to make me jealous, worried, exciting, and heart-palpitatey! Yeah yeah… I know… it’s not a word. Doesn’t matter. You know what I’m saying. ;)

So what’s it about?

Her grandma is in the hospital, so she comes to town to visit (er… or did she already live in that town – can’t remember)… anyway… she’s there to help take care of her and visit with her. And one night… she goes out to a bar, gets all gussied-up and meets HIM. OMG HIM. Everything about him is pure HOT and their attraction is electric. They can’t resist, they immediately connect (I know what you’re thinking – insta-love) but it’s not that exactly. And anyway, tell me you’ve never seen someone from across the room, and felt your heart thump HARD for him even if you had no idea who he was. Right? It’s like that…

So they go home together. And OMG. IT. IS. HOT! Not only hot, but they REALLY like each other. But the next morning, she gets up, and leaves (after all, it’s a one-night stand and all that… you know how it goes) and eventually heads over to see her grandma that day.

But when she walks into her grandma’s room, she gets quite the surprise!!! eekeekeek W.T.F?????!!!!! confused

Maryse: But Amy….. RIGHT????? How CLEVER was that freaking book? I mean… you know… *waggles eyebrows* OMG she was a little bit genius with all that. Just sayin’

Amy: It was SOOOOO clever!!! I was dying while reading it because it just seemed SO FREAKING UNFAIR and the angst was killing me and then…and then…her brilliance body-slammed me!!! IT WAS FREAKING AWESOME!!! Gah! I love the way that woman slays me with her stories!! :D

And I’m letting y’all off, here. Let me tell you. It gets CRAZY, it gets ANGSTY, and it gets EVEN HOTTER than their one-night stand. Tee hee!!!!!!

Now… it doesn’t top “Thoughtless” for me, I mean… that was just a masterpiece of romance-angst, and heartache. But if you love S.C. Stephens, this one sure does the trick, too!  Like I’ve told y’all in the past… taboo subjects <— I’m a sucker for those stories, but I always feel *squicky* when it comes to review time. Tee hee! I read this one back when I was in the “taboo closet”. lol So I kept… *mostly* mum on the subject.

BUT I’M OUT and if you love a fun, thrilling read… (and actually get a kick out of the shocking – yet fun – stuff), this one is for you!

4 stars (back in the day, I would have given this one 3.5 stars, but considering that I still remember it, and still think about it often and get the thrill-y feel, I MUST give it 4 stars!)

P.S. The author says:

“I’ll be releasing the cult hit, It’s All Relative!

For those of you who loved it on Fictionpress, you’ll be happy to know it’s the same basic story you read, it’s just been cleaned up with slight revisions here and there. For new readers, this one is packed with love, angst, heartache, and a pretty unfortunate circumstance (but hang in there while you’re reading it–the payoff is worth it!!).”

Now for the giveaway!!

How to enter for a chance to win the signed copy of this book? Just leave a comment below (and/or if you have one… let me know your favorite forbidden romance book) and by 10pm EST, Sunday March 20th 2016, I will randomly select one winner for the signed copy of “It’s All Relative”!

The winner will be contacted and will have 48hrs to respond with a mailing address, so if you are picked, do not delay or you will lose your chance. This book will be sent to the winner directly by the author.

Giveaway open to international!!

Get Free Email Updates from me :)

{ 60 comments… read them below or add one }

Sharon February 15, 2016 at 8:13 PM

Oh, “It’s All Relative” was a really angsty and naughty book. Such taboo-ness. I loved it. I gobbled up EVERYTHING SC Stephens wrote after Thoughtless and I read it all for free one chapter at a time. I am tempted to reread this new version to compare them.

But first I am back to Truth (book 2 of Consequences). This series is pretty good.

Lisa February 15, 2016 at 8:26 PM

One-clicked. No brainer.
Amy and Maryse’s hysteria sold it. Thanks book babes. ;)

Maryse February 15, 2016 at 8:26 PM

LOL Lisa!!!!! We did get a little hysterical, didn’t we?

*snort* :P

Maryse February 15, 2016 at 8:27 PM

Sharon, I did too!! I was HOOKED on S.C. Stephens and couldn’t believe my luck when I found she had so many stories to read on Fictionpress.

Amy February 15, 2016 at 8:32 PM

“unputtdownable” “heart-palpitatey” “squicky” <—- Oh, you KNOW it's good when Maryse starts breaking out the descriptions, LOL!

I haven't been able to stop thinking about this one since I read that announcement…and now that it's going to be available again for everyone, I can let loose with all my LOVE for it!! :D

Do you remember the roommate? I was SO FREAKING ANGRY at her and it was totally not justified because she did nothing wrong, but that's how much SC Stephens can trigger my emotions. With Thoughtless (still the best one of hers, IMHO) the angst and heartache were because she was torn between Kellan and Denny while Kellan dealt with it the only way he knew how *chest clenches* but with this one, the heartache came from the possibility of what they could be being taken away from them and yet they just couldn't let go. GAH!!! Okay, I need to calm down now…

Amy February 15, 2016 at 8:39 PM

*giggle* Our reactions should tell you something about how much fun it was to read, Lisa. ;)

Maryse February 15, 2016 at 9:10 PM

Furious, Amy!!!!!!!!! Oh I was… there were definite different “angst angles” to this one!! :D

Cheryl February 15, 2016 at 9:13 PM

Maryse and Amy have me jumping up and down wishing it was March 15!! One-clicked!! :)

Amy February 15, 2016 at 10:58 PM

Different angst angles…YES!! Exactly Maryse!

Oh man Cheryl, it is crazy angsty goodness with a healthy-sized dose of HOLY FREAKING HOTNESS!!!

Cait February 16, 2016 at 3:14 PM

Oh holy god this sounds freaking amazing! So I one clicked here in little old Ireland and have to wait until the 15th March!

Alison March 14, 2016 at 1:50 PM

Must be mine!

T. Hosler March 14, 2016 at 2:35 PM

Just pre-ordered. I can’t wait to start reading it in the morning. Yay me!!

Mollie W March 14, 2016 at 3:09 PM

This book sounds so good!!
One forbidden book that I loved was On the Island by Tracey Garvis-Graves.

Thanks so much for the awesome giveaway!!

Linda March 14, 2016 at 3:25 PM

I got all caught up and excited about all the comments and well hello S.C. Stephens!!!! Went to one click and had already done so back in February!!!! Yeah I’m so on the ball!!!!

Jean March 14, 2016 at 3:31 PM

I want it! I want it! I never win anything! *Jumping up and down* (and I already preordered it)!

Sarah Scholz March 14, 2016 at 4:14 PM

Wow! Cool review & giveaway :-) Sounds like a great book :-) Thank you for the chance :-)

Cheryl March 14, 2016 at 4:22 PM

Cannot wait for this one!!!

Flowers in the Attic.

Glenda March 14, 2016 at 5:55 PM

One clucking just for all the OMGs :-) love the taboos, so much fun to be outside the box! One book series that still stands out for me was Education of Sebastian, Caroline and Sempre Fi books by Jane Harvey-Barrick.

Grey March 14, 2016 at 6:36 PM

Oooh! Oooh! Pick me, Pick me!! *jumps up and down* I love taboo! You guys know this about me *giggle*

Favorite taboo book, oh man, this is really hard… I love taboo… um, even though, I wasn’t thrilled with how the whole series ended. I have to go with The Ground Rules. I absolutely LOVED the first book. It was amazing. That book gave me such wicked pretzel tummy, I couldn’t stand it!

Thank you so much for the opportunity Maryse and SC as well!

Dena March 14, 2016 at 7:14 PM

There are so many taboo books. I read this book long ago but I forget the title of it or who wrote it.
The girl falls in love with her adopted brother and they have a secret affair even though she is with someone. On the way to meet her he gets into a car accident and thats when everyone finds out that they are in love. I really loved the courage that the girl showed.
Those are my favorite ones however I like the dramatic ones too.
Thank you for the giveaway! :-)

Eden March 14, 2016 at 7:22 PM

Hey Maryse! Thanks for the giveaway!
The last forbidden romance I read was 18 by JA Huss! Super hot teacher/student romance.

AngieG March 14, 2016 at 7:29 PM

Awesome giveaway! My fave taboo book is Forbidden by Tabitha Suzuma.

Joy Books March 14, 2016 at 7:51 PM

First of all, thank you Maryse and S.C. Stephens for giving this chance/opportunity open to International readers.
I love reading your (Maryse) blog/post because of your book reviews and recommendations.
This is where I got the lists for your “Highly Recommended Risqué, Taboo and Forbidden Love Stories”.
And from there I started reading all this “Taboo Romance”.
One of the book that is an all time favorite for me in this category is by
Tabitha Suzuma (FORBIDDEN).
It is a heart wrenching story and it touched me so deeply, so much that I felt overwhelmed with those emotions. This book I highly recommended too.
It was also through your blog that I first started my S. C. Stephens book (THOUGHTLESS) that got me hooked with the Thoughtless Series and kept me reading more of S.C. Stephens books.
I hope you choose me, coz I would love to have a signed copy of IT’S ALL RELATIVE BOOK.
Again, thank you for this chance.
More power to your blog.!!!!

bn100 March 14, 2016 at 8:36 PM

no favs

Sue March 14, 2016 at 11:01 PM

Forbidden by Tabitha Suzuma. I still think of that book and read an epilogue type added ending on her website. So many years, life can be so unfair. I would not want to read another one anything like Forbidden. Just too upsetting.

Maria March 14, 2016 at 11:16 PM

Maryse you are a genius when it comes to reviewing a beloved book of yours who incidentally becomes a beloved of mine! ! Thoughtless series by S C Stephens are maybe one of my top three most read and close to my heart series of all time… Kellan and Keira are a permanent part of me forever.. I’ll soon get some ink about a quote from Thoughtless! It’ll be my very first tattoo too! That’s how crazy I feel about these characters! Also Collision Course is a classic favorite and Not A Chance ! But It’s All Relative with the old blue tree cover from all those years back when I discovered S C Stephens and bought almost everything directly to my kindle is one more amazing story! To hear those incredible news that she’s revising the story with polished new scenes and a brand new and gorgeous cover I was sold from the moment she posted this huge surprise! ! I would be honoured to have It’s All Relative in paperback as well! My kindle has every S C Stephens book but my bookself has only Thoughtless series all five books! Thank you Maryse for this giveaway and your blog! I am following you anf read your posts and reviews/conversations everyday! Most of all Thank You S C Stephens for your immeasurable and unlimited graciousness, generosity and heart you have! ! I wish you all the best for It’s All Relative’s comeback! Good luck to everyone! Kai and this book specifically is a gem! !

Michelle Tikal March 14, 2016 at 11:20 PM

I loved this one on Fictionpress! Can’t wait to read it again!! Love this review, thanks for the chance!

Maria March 14, 2016 at 11:26 PM

No need to say that Thoughtless is my first and forever No1 forbidden romance of all time!! There are many more forbidden romances that I love and more recently Slip Of The Tongue by Jessica Hawkins! Thank you Maryse for every book recommendation to your amazing reviews and interviews! ! I am a very happy and broke reader thank to bloggers like you but I love it! Being a college student is hard economically but when a story calls to me I can manage to cut my other expanses to buy kindle copies!! I am happy for this!! Keep your joyfulness at your reviews because it’s fun for us to read as well!!

Janet Watts March 14, 2016 at 11:47 PM

I love S. C. Stephens’ writing! Am about to one-click as soon as I post this comment.

Silvia March 14, 2016 at 11:52 PM

I read this book some time ago when it was free but want to read the newer version. I love this author and had the privilege of meeting her in Portland last summer. What a gracious and lovely woman. One of my fave taboo reads was The Original Sinners series by Tiffany Reisz!
Thanks for the chance!

Jackie March 15, 2016 at 12:16 AM

My all time favourite taboo romance will always be Flowers in the Attic. I remember stumbling upon that series waaaay back when I was much to you to be reading it! It has always stuck with me through the years. More recently I would say Fallen Too Far definitely is a all time favourite though definitely on the lighter side of the taboo scale!

Kat Trujillo March 15, 2016 at 1:07 AM

Thanks for the chance

Thais March 15, 2016 at 3:55 AM

So ready to read this after reading how excited you all sounded about it!

T. Brown March 15, 2016 at 5:16 AM

OMG!!! I so wanted to read this book prior to your review but now I REALLY can’t wait to read it.

Brandi Swendt March 15, 2016 at 9:22 AM

Hmm..Thoughtless was my favorite forbidden..I’m Miss Stephens partial :-)
The stories suck you in.
Thanks SO VERY MUCH for the chance. Can’t wait to read this

donna coletta March 15, 2016 at 9:43 AM

Wow! Will sooo be oneclicking this one..Love SC Stephens and the Thoughtless books are some of my all time faves sooo cant wait to get my greedy little hands on all jis angst!

Barbara J Murray March 15, 2016 at 1:56 PM

I loved Stepbrother Dearest by Penelope Ward

Laurice McClung March 15, 2016 at 2:12 PM

I loved Thoughtless back in the day! Thx for the chance.

Sonia March 15, 2016 at 2:14 PM

SC Stephens is one of my favorite authors. Thanks for the chance.

Sue March 15, 2016 at 3:35 PM

OMG, I need to read this! And would love the chance to win a signed copy

Gina Opsal March 15, 2016 at 3:45 PM

Can not wait to read this book…have been so excited for th release! I am reading Collision Course right now!

Sue Pfannenstiel March 15, 2016 at 4:28 PM

Sounds good!

Esther Gerdzen March 15, 2016 at 4:30 PM

Thank you so much for the giveaway . Forbidden by Tabitha Zuma is a great taboo book .

Patricia March 15, 2016 at 4:50 PM

On the island by Tracey Garvis Graves! Loved it!

Melanie March 15, 2016 at 4:53 PM

Amazing giveaway! Thanks so very much for this chance!!

Betul E. March 15, 2016 at 6:05 PM

On the Island by Tracey Garvis-Graves and Forbidden by Tabitha Suzuma

Karen Gagnon March 15, 2016 at 6:35 PM

Thanks for the post and your thoughts on this book, I loved reading them. I hadn’t heard this was releasing yet and now I am so excited to read it!
My favorite forbidden romance is Slip of the Tongue by Jessica Hawkins! =D

Leigh March 15, 2016 at 7:06 PM

One Clicked! I LOVE SC Stephens!

valeria March 15, 2016 at 7:39 PM

Thank you so much for the giveaway . Forbidden by Tabitha Suzuma

Dominique Lee March 15, 2016 at 8:27 PM

I love your reviews, you never fail to disappoint….with phrases like, “heart amputated”! Hahaha.. I’m out of the “Taboo Closet”, One of my all time favorite taboo reads was Slammed by Colleen Hoover. Now I’m off to one-click….thank you

Dominique Lee March 15, 2016 at 8:28 PM

I love your reviews, you never fail to disappoint….with phrases like, “heart papatatey (auto correct nightmare of a word!!!” Hahaha.. I’m out of the “Taboo Closet”, One of my all time favorite taboo reads was Slammed by Colleen Hoover. Now I’m off to one-click….thank you

jenn March 15, 2016 at 9:41 PM

Thanks for the giveaway

Jamie B March 15, 2016 at 9:47 PM

Love S.C. Stephens and this one sounds soooo good!

Ang Ski March 15, 2016 at 9:53 PM

My favorite book ever was Thoughtless. Definately forbidden love when you’re in love with your best friends girl. Would love the opportunity to win a signed copy from my favorite author! Thanks for the chance!!!!!

Heather Strand March 16, 2016 at 12:39 AM

Thanks for the awesome giveaway! My favorite is Forbidden Romance by Lora Leigh.

Lacey Thach March 16, 2016 at 3:41 PM

I can’t wait to read this!

Kim P March 16, 2016 at 8:47 PM

It sounds so good! I can’t wait to read this! Thanks for the giveaway!

Anubha Agrawal March 18, 2016 at 1:12 PM

Love your review!!!! Can’t wait to read this one :D

Dana March 20, 2016 at 3:13 PM

I wanted to love this book, because, well, thoughtless, et al! But I figured it out really early on so maybe it took some of the angst away for me? I did lots of skimming because it seemed so repetitive. The only reason I stuck with it was because I was sure there had to be a twist I hadn’t figured out but there never was. Overall pretty disappointed! Off to check my tbr for my next read!

TIna March 21, 2016 at 1:19 PM

Yay!! Can’t WAIT to read this book! Love your review! I’d love to win the book!

Leave a Comment

 

Notify me of followup comments to this post via e-mail. You can also subscribe without commenting.

Previous post:

Next post: