Book Review – Losing It by Cora Carmack

by Maryse on October 17, 2012 · 61 comments

in My Book Reviews

Losing It (NOTE: this review was written around 1am – that’s how much I loved this book.)
Hey!!! Hey everybody. I just finished this book… two minutes ago. And I’m hyped. It was good. Great. No. Brilliant. Just perfect for me. Exactly exactly what I was looking for, and not what I’m usually seeking in a read (you know my usual… super-angsty, tattooed bad boys, rock stars or alpha men). This one had none of those and yet ABSOLUTELY thrilled me and pulled me right out of a slight reading slump.

Recommended to me by a few fellow readers when I created the “teacher-student romance list” and after reading the synopsis, I just had to get it:

Christy: I just finished Losing It by Cora Carmack and it fits perfectly in this list! Loved it!!!

Celeste: I just read Losing It tonight! I loved it! Funny and emotional!

They were so right! And you guys? Did I mention this book was brilliant? It had it all. Sweet, lighthearted,  incredible romantic tension (steamy but in a different way). A kiss, or a longing stare… a touch… ohhh there was a couch scene that just *wow*. The attention to detail made it so that I was living every bit of it. And I want to thank the author for not rushing through it. Letting us experience every moment. Only a little over 200 pages, but I feel like this book isn’t lacking a thing. Of course… I would have loved it to be longer, but this was just an overall GREAT read for me.

Clever and sweet and well rounded. The entire cast of characters (*sigh*... Cade….) the setting, the dialogue, the situations, really allow the story to come together naturally. Nothing forced. None of it over the top. OK some of the funny moments were extra funny ’cause they were a little over the top at times, but in stressful situations, I’ve been known to do some realllly weird stuff, so you know… this worked for me.

“How’s your cat?”

“What cat? Oh! MY CAT. The cat… that is mine. Oh she’s…” I had said it was a she, right? “She’s fine. All meowing and purring and other cat things.”

That had me giggling and it was even funnier in context. You’ll see how this “cat” plays into this one…

I didn’t huff & puff or eyeroll once. I clutched my chest, and awwwwwwwww’d, and I whimpered when she did, sniffled, and moaned in agony a few times (out loud!!), but all of it was real to me. Some angst (just the right amount), a couple of definite tear-jerking moments, a realization, heartache, but lighthearted and fun and just… the whole shebang, ya know? I sooooo needed this. I didn’t put it down once and devoured it in four blissful hours.

Okay wait… my husband saw me with my big goofy grin as I was typing and he just asked me what was my favorite part and I smiled and said the end. THE VERY LAST LINE (the epilogue) had me grinning from ear to ear (even more than I was already grinning). Perfection. Absolutely sweet perfection. Just so clever, the author must have been beaming with pride at herself when she came up with that. So he said what was it? And I couldn’t just tell him the last part without him knowing what it meant in context to the story so I started from the beginning and went through it scene by scene… and whoops… he just left and told me he’d let me just go ahead and write my review. Yep. I’m too pumped over this one and I was “and then… and then… and then-ing” him too much for his attention span, it seems.

But I have you guys to share this with! So, wanna know what it’s about? Okay off the bat I’m going to say it is reminiscent of one of my favorite books (which everyone knows I am a die-hard fan of and it can never be replaced for me). I LOVE “that book” to death (I’m being cryptic just in case some of you haven’t read the book I’m referring to and I don’t want to spoil it’s surprise, so don’t click the link if you don’t already have an idea of which book I’m referring to). That particular book delighted me with it’s shocking reveal, and will forever be one of my all time absolutely perfect favorites.

And you know me, when I find that ultimate book, that perfect story that had me so emotionally connected, I’m always hoping to run across another that might give me that again. Can you blame me?

In fact, if I was to start a “What to Read After that book” list (hey…. I just may ;) ) THIS would be my first choice listed.

“Losing It” just gave me that similar warm and fuzzy feeling again. Plus of course, the obvious… the college teacher-student shocker that is just SO fun to explore (and I will say this one is “clean on the steam” factor until much later, but still so well detailed, and so steamy in others ways that I was absolutely in tune with it).

I liked him. He didn’t like Shakespeare, and he rode a motorcycle, and he was my teacher… but I liked him.

I’m done. I won’t ignore.

I won’t pretend or resist.

I want more.

Luckily everyone is an adult in this book (too) so I didn’t have to cringe and I could just go with the flow. And another similarity is that this teacher (Garrick) is also an arts teacher (drama) that used to be an outstanding student himself, who accidentally meets “Bliss” at a bar one night. Before the last semester starts, so you know… they didn’t “know” yet. But once you get passed that, this story takes on a life of it’s own. Best friends, after-rehearsal parties, maybe even a love triangle? And anyway, what kind of triangle can it really be, when a part of that triangle isn’t even an option?

“I’d like to keep this job, and besides, your personal life is none of my business. What happened between us is over.”

His voice turned hard as he spoke. Over? Why did that feel like a punch to the stomach?

Okay, I know… even though how I describe it sounds similar, it still becomes and takes on a feel, that is it’s own.

So SO good. Please. You’ll see. This was an absolute treat.

4.5 stars. 5 stars? I’m leaning for 5 stars, considering how I leaped right out of bed and still just want to soak in the sweetness that was this book. Sorry about the gush-fest. It was one of those that had me feeling elated and I couldn’t help myself.

P.S. Okay the cover isn’t really my thing, ’cause my version of the drama teacher was more along the lines of Alex Pettyfer (British, blondish hair that hung over his forehead, kind of scruffy faced until he shaved… you get the picture ;) ) and that guy down there looks well… not like my version of the teacher. But still, the inside of the book… Yep!!! Read it!

Get Free Email Updates from me :)

{ 61 comments… read them below or add one }

Brenna October 17, 2012 at 5:09 AM

I’m intrigued for sure! Just bought it! :)

Shanda October 17, 2012 at 5:32 AM

Just bought it. I LOVED, LOVED, LOVED *spoiler*, so I can’t wait to check this out.

Yvette October 17, 2012 at 5:39 AM

I finished reading Losing It as well last night. It was a good read! You get me in trouble with you suggestion lists, and book reviews haha, just kidding I love it!!!

Erin October 17, 2012 at 7:10 AM

I agree, I loved this one as well, but teacher-student relationship books are my kryptonite. Seeing your post with the list last weekend made me giddy. I had tackled the majority of them previously, but it did give me a few to add to my TBR. Thanks again!!

Catherine October 17, 2012 at 7:29 AM

I just finished, and loved it.
It makes me want more….

Jeannie Smith October 17, 2012 at 7:40 AM

I don’t think I will ever get through my TBR pile at this rate!

Anne Marie October 17, 2012 at 7:41 AM

A 4.5 almost 5 star book!?!? Yup, this is moving to the top of my TBR list!

Lauren October 17, 2012 at 7:51 AM

I loved it! Such an awesome book. My cheeks are sore from smiling so much!

Stacey October 17, 2012 at 8:08 AM

This is my internal dialogue every morning for the last several months since finding this website, Marsye:

I will not read a book today. My house is a disaster and my kids and I have to go find something to do today! ..I will not read a book. ‘

Okay, one quick peek at Maryse.net to just “see” if anything good is reviewed on there, you know, for tomorrow, or the next day…something I can read once everything gets done and the house is back in order.

DARN IT! THIS BOOK LOOKS SO GOOD and I must read it NOW!

…the dishes, again, will have to wait until later. I hope my husband doesn’t mind running out of clean underwear. again. :-)

Denise October 17, 2012 at 8:37 AM

Finished this at 12:30 am last night and fell asleep smiling…LOVED this one!

Nicole October 17, 2012 at 9:44 AM

Maryse! Such a great start to my Wednesday morning :) As soon as I saw your new posting and the rating you gave, I bought it right away. I am 31% through the book and I wish I can just stay home and read the whole day. It sure had its funny moments there were I was laughing alone in the subway. Thank you for your great suggestions!

Maryse October 17, 2012 at 10:01 AM

I can’t wait for you all to get to the end and find yourselves beaming extra hard!! Mind you, I hated “finishing” it. This one was just my thing.

Meg October 17, 2012 at 10:17 AM

Loved it! Reading “Letting Go” now….another good read.

Jackie October 17, 2012 at 10:49 AM

I just starting reading it early this morning. I took a break and saw your review. Now I am excited to finish it. The housework will have to wait.

Maryse October 17, 2012 at 11:09 AM

Stupid housework!! hehe :P

Kim October 17, 2012 at 11:33 AM

Sweet!!!! I bought this book the other day and I’m so psyched to read it!

lisa October 17, 2012 at 12:20 PM

I just finished “beyond shame” and i`m still smoking LOL. this book is calling me TY

Annie October 17, 2012 at 12:48 PM

I loved this book! It’s amazing how the author can evoke such intense feeling without writing the specifics. (don’t get me wrong, I love specifics!)

sandy sciacca October 17, 2012 at 12:50 PM

oh i think the publishers should all give Maryse a portion of their money LOL, i get up every morning and check the site to see what new book to read , my account says amazon , amazon, amazon,:),, anyway already at 40% and loving this book:) can’t wait for tonite to get here so i can finish it..

Carla October 17, 2012 at 12:58 PM

Wow! It reminded you of “that book”!? It must be really good and it really sounds great. I ‘im gonna buy it.
Thanks for the recommendation, Maryse. ;)

Maryse October 17, 2012 at 1:17 PM

Annnie!! LOL “specifics” – nice!! hahahaha – but yes she mastered that.

Maryse October 17, 2012 at 1:18 PM

Stacey – that is just hilarious and I’m in the same boat!! *sigh*

Deb Edwards October 17, 2012 at 2:01 PM

Always reading but my TBR never gets shorter. I just keep buying new books. I blame you Maryse. :)

Stacey October 17, 2012 at 2:02 PM

OMG. I loved it. Just…LOVED.it. I could just feel it right along with her. So amazing.

I don’t think I’ll ever be able to look at cats the same way again. Lol.

Favorite line: He was flabbergasted. That was the best word. His flabber had been thoroughly gasted.

Maryse October 17, 2012 at 2:15 PM

I blame me too, Deb. My list always changes but never gets smaller. ;)

Maryse October 17, 2012 at 2:16 PM

YES!!! So many awesome awwwwesome parts. I even felt when she got that virus. That was SOME detail right there, I felt sick right along with her!

Amber October 18, 2012 at 12:09 AM

you’re like…oprah for self published authors. i swear. If you say it’s good…them I’m reading it…because you said to. lol

Kristen October 18, 2012 at 12:35 AM

Haha! I’m with Stacey and Amber! Laundry…? What laundry? Or, it’s 10:30pm, I’ll just read ONE chapter…if you’re not getting a kickback from amazon for the THOUSANDS of books we’ve all downloaded because of your recs, you should be! ;)

sandy sciacca October 18, 2012 at 8:46 AM

loved it, i think the ending was my favorite part:)

Maryse October 18, 2012 at 11:25 AM

Lol!! You guys make me grin like crazy! :)

Kerri October 18, 2012 at 1:17 PM

Tears running down my face I am laughing so hard at this book. Oh my, the cat, great scene. :) I can already tell I will be thanking you for another great book Maryse!!!

Maryse October 18, 2012 at 1:24 PM

Sandy – that last line was genius wasn’t it? So subtle, but the perfect ending.

Kerri – I LOVED Bliss and her goofiness. I could totally relate to her (even though some of her blunders were out there… still, I got her).

Karen October 18, 2012 at 1:33 PM

Thanks for the recommendatiom. I loved this book!

Emily McDougal October 18, 2012 at 2:06 PM

OMG!!! Like lots of people on here, I too have lots of chores to get done!!! But I too check your blog every A.M. and when you were so excited about this one, I of course bought it right away!!!! I had just finished “that” book, so it was PERFECT timing!!! I loved this one SOOO much!!! I laughed out loud a ton, and even cried! But know I want MORE, it was so short, but so GREAT!!! I agree with you about the cover, he is not who I picture either ;)
Thanks for this one :) Now I MUST clean :/

Cree621 October 19, 2012 at 9:02 AM

Finished this one last night, and I LOVED it too! I was in a bit of a book slump myself and Losing It was just what I needed to get out of it. A definite 5 star read for me :)

Rachel S. October 19, 2012 at 1:45 PM

I read this book yesterday. There were also times that I was grinning ear to ear like a fool. Those two were just so darn cute!!!! And I was a good girl and did not skip ahead to read the last line of the book like I SO WANTED TO!!! And then when I got there **sigh** Perfection :)

Maryse October 19, 2012 at 1:49 PM

Made it all worth it, didn’t it? ;)

Michelle October 19, 2012 at 9:35 PM

Loved this book!! Can’t wait for Cade’s book!!!

Ida October 22, 2012 at 10:48 AM

Finished it a day and loved it. I wanted MORE!!!! Now I have absolutely nothing to read. I need suggestions ASAP please.

Maryse October 22, 2012 at 12:01 PM

Hi Ida! Have you read “the book” I mentioned in the review? it’s a MUST read!

Ida October 22, 2012 at 1:50 PM

I read it before Losing It. I just don’t know where to go from here.

sandy sciacca October 23, 2012 at 6:46 AM

i just finished When Summer Ends, it reminded me alot of this book, :)

Biate October 25, 2012 at 7:44 AM

I loved Losing It!!! I giggled so much! The whole thing with the cat was just so funny.

Mint October 26, 2012 at 1:22 AM

Just finished the book. I love Bliss. I love Garrick. They’re so cute and so forward with what they feel. Aww…
And I love love it that there is an epilogue from Garrick. It makes him much much nicer and cute and sweet. Not that he’s already all of that.
And the amazing thing was the length of the book. Just perfect. Not too long. Not too short. And she really draws you there in the moment. Love it >.<

Lisa76 October 30, 2012 at 8:03 AM

I loved this book! It had me wanting – a hot teacher, a guy with an accent, a guy with a motorcycle, a cat. Ok well not a cat but I really do want the rest ;) I loved that Bliss was awkward and goofy. The ending was pretty darn awesome as well!!! Loved it :)

Sheree November 6, 2012 at 1:07 AM

Eeek I really want to read it! But its not available through Kindle anymore?? any ideas? I’m frantically searching for a copy!

Maryse November 6, 2012 at 10:07 AM

Hi Sheree!

The book title link and book covers lead you directly to it for Kindle. I hope that helps!

Mel November 8, 2012 at 10:47 PM

Hi Maryse,
Where else can I get this book from? It isn’t available from kindle anymore :(

Heather @ Red Headed Bookworm November 14, 2012 at 5:15 PM

I picked up this book the other day. It sounded like it would be good. Can’t wait to read it now!!!!

Maryse November 14, 2012 at 5:19 PM

Read it Heather!! I LOVED this one. Sooooo so good!

lisa November 15, 2012 at 6:59 AM

One of my Favrite`s of 2012! <3

Aishah November 19, 2012 at 6:11 AM

heyyyy:)
absolute <3 this book a nice book is also the secret of ella and micha by jessica sorenson:)
still trying to find the forever of ella and micha

Mel December 11, 2012 at 11:46 PM

Still not available in Australia yet :(

Kim December 13, 2012 at 1:07 AM

I loved this one too. When the said he was English in my head I read it in an English accent. Lol. But when she was sick that was sweet. But she had me cracking up with that cat. Lol

Elizabeth December 31, 2012 at 1:42 PM

I really hope that she does a follow up book with some of the secondary characters….any word on that happening?

Livy January 6, 2013 at 9:37 PM

Omg!! I loved this book! Anyone recommend some books similar? I kinda of pictured while reading it with JAMIE CAMPBELL BOWER as Garricl. Super delisious to me.

Maryse January 7, 2013 at 1:57 PM

I have created a teacher/student book list but have not yet read all that many on it. Give this a try and let me know if you come across anything awesome:

http://www.maryse.net/books/book-recommendations/teacher-student-romance-books.html

Patty January 8, 2013 at 7:17 AM

Fastest book I ever read, I couldn’t put it down. Yet again I found it because of your blog and spot on review. I’m off to ten tiny breaths…the againagain.

Amanda January 21, 2013 at 11:47 PM

I honestly didnt really get into this one. Maybe after reading a book that reading Edge of Never and then Emi Lost and Found series I found thos one lacking so much. I think it just didnt reel me in and I couldnt get into the emotion of the characters very well. :/

Nancy H September 11, 2013 at 1:26 PM

Finished this on Friday. It was really good.

Lisa Haines September 11, 2013 at 6:32 PM

I also love the fact when you give us the steam rating!! Some of the New Adult ones don’t have much which is fine but its good to know for those that like some steam!!

Leave a Comment

 

Notify me of followup comments to this post via e-mail. You can also subscribe without commenting.

Previous post:

Next post: