Book Review – Mud Vein by Tarryn Fisher

by Maryse on April 6, 2014 · 38 comments

in My Book Reviews

Whoa.

*blink blink*

I… ache. My stomach aches. My chest aches. My back aches. My overly-clenched jaw aches. It’s the bad kind of ache (but a good one, too). And I cherish every bit of the pain I’m in. Wow. What an unforgettable way to spend a Sunday.

Right off the bat, I want to tell you that this was a wonderfully torturous, amazing, devastating 5-star read for me. Hooked me from the start and didn’t let me go. It’s dark (subject-wise and emotionally). But if you’re good with that, and if you don’t want to know any more (I highly recommend going into this blind), leave this review and read this book! You know me, I don’t “spoiler” anything, but this one is best experienced in complete and utter obliviousness to what’s to come.

I almost don’t know if I should sit and contemplate this to come up with an eloquent way of telling you how intense and unique and awesome of a story this is, or if I should just let it all out in one fell emotional “word-purge” swoop. <— I think I’m going that route since I really don’t want to tell you much about the actual story itself. I went in blind, and was continuously blindsided every step of the way (and loved every moment of it. Especially the moments that I hated it). I have a definite love/hate relationship with this book (from start to finish), but I wouldn’t change a thing.

Maryse’s Book Blog: Whoa! When I first started reading about this book, I didn’t realize the heroine was kidnapped!! I’ve already had THREE *jolts* for Tarryn Fisher’s MUD VEIN and I haven’t even started it yet. The synopsis (she’s been kidnapped!!), the teaser (he thinks she’s his “soul-piece”), and the sort of… warning letter from Tarryn Fisher to us, her readers. Plus, I’ve seen “crying” picture from early readers posted… I’m scared, and yep —> SO titillated.

Trina: Reading now… WHOA!

Kelsey: I’m reading now Maryse!!

Emma: Downloaded it as soon as I woke up. At 32% with a racing heart and a lump forming in my throat already.

Maryse’s Book Blog: I’m already HOOKED!!!

Sadie: “We all have someone who reminds us of what love stings like.” This book!

Danielle: Just finished it and am trying to wrap my head around what I have just read. Devastating and beautifully written

Sarah: 36% in & loving it!!!

Maryse’s Book Blog: I’m 49% in. Sooooo goooood! She’s an amazing writer. Very unique story and I’m on the edge of my seat with this, emotionally.

Sadie: Finished and loved it. I can’t stop thinking about it. It gave my brain and emotions a workout – the best type of book.

Catherine: Is it a cliffie Sadie?

Sadie: No cliffhanger…

Jessica: I finished it. Yep. No words. Need a few days to digest this one. I don’t even know if I liked it.

Claudia: I am reading and it’s freaking me out!!

Kathy: I am speechless!! This book left me an emotional mess!!

Lisa: I am and loving every second

Sarah: Just finished it …. Amazing 5+ stars

Maryse’s Book Blog: I’m having heart palpitations…

Sadie: Yes it made me feel…intensely

Janet: Wow, so unexpected and amazing. What a talent.

Serena: Have you finished, Maryse Black? I am in love with Tarryn Fisher even more after reading Mud Vein! *sigh*

Heck yeah, Serena I finished, and Tarryn absolutely rocks my reading world. And Jessica… I get you. I too, had to pace and breathe for an hour before beginning my review. And even still, I wonder if I’m ready to write it?

“It’s your darkness that pulls me in. Your mud vein. But sometimes having a mud vein will kill you.”

So what’s it about?

Senna is suffering under the weight of her own emotional detachment issues. Her inability to connect. To relate. To see the good in life. To want. To hope. To love. These things are not what Senna is made of. I think she wants it… but she doesn’t trust it. Or trust herself. Or anyone.

This character… who she is and what she is made of, and what made her that way… it’s just… massive. Somber. Distressing.

I discovered that private things were mostly sour. They sat spoiling in the corners of your heart for so long that by the time you acknowledged them you were dealing with something rancid.

↑↑↑ Whoa. THAT. ↑↑↑

Things happen. I’m not even going to tell you what, because the way the story unfolds is AMAZING. Perfectly in order, even in it’s “out of order” replay. Pieces are revealed every step of the way… and yet this book will keep you guessing to the very end. And that’s why I don’t want to say anything more. Other than, read the book’s dark blurb, and don’t read anything else until you’re done.

Maryse’s Book Blog: 80% in… Whoa. I… Wow. This has been an unputtdownable, anxiety-ridden read. I still have no clue.

Kathy: That’s exactly how I felt. I still had no clue!

Lori: I’m about 1/4 in and obsessed

Hang: You’re killing me Maryse!

Elizabeth: Just bought it. Can’t wait to start!

Kelsey: Yes I’m just errrrrrrr

Jennifer: Ohhh me too!!! Damn that Tarryn!! Not what I was expecting!!! & the end

Allaina:  Just finished Mud Vein, just wow, seriously got under my skin, loved it

Maryse’s Book Blog:  OMG I am finished. Whoa. Seriously. Speechless. Amazing.

If you’re up for something crazy, intense, and disturbingly (and beautifully) honest… a story that could go *any* way, this one is for you! It sure was for me!

I devoured it in one sitting, and suffered from frequent bouts of stress, heart palpitations, and hot flashes. I cringed. I huffed with exasperation. I occasionally eye rolled through some of her more melodramatic moments. I understood. I loved.

Maryse’s Book Blog: “He kissed me with who he was, the sum of his life – and it was all encompassing. I wonder what I kissed him with since I was only broken parts.” <— Whoa. Holy moly! That’s pure sad beautiful poetry. I am LOVING Mud Vein… *my heart*

Emma: I just finished and…OMG. Can’t wait to share.

I felt the need to soothe. To protect. And to smack!  I was a mess.

I suffered under the weight of the oppressive dark cloud that constantly hung over her. That perpetual dark cloud that followed her every moment. Her every thought. Her every feeling (or lack thereof). HEAVY.

“It hurts me when you cry.” His voice is so earnest, so open. I can’t speak like this. Everything I say sounds sterile and robotic.

I try to look away, but he holds my face so that I can’t move. I don’t like being this close to him. He starts seeping into my pores. It tingles.

“I’m crying, but I don’t feel anything,” I assure him.

He pulls his lips into a tight line and nods.

“Yes, I know. That’s what hurts me the most.”

GAH!!! MY HEART!!!!!

And things were moving right along from page one. I was hooked. But things really got rolling, when the psychological thriller aspect kicked in. Thriller? Sometimes I’d almost liken it to horror. Or more like horrific. No… no gore. No guts. No paranormal monsters. Not that kind of horror. But the suffocating, trapped, panic-inducing kind. Persistent darkness with no end in sight (but plenty of hope from the reader’s perspective). That is… if you didn’t become “one” with Senna. Which I frequently did. Claustrophobic, from being inside my own head. HER head. Resulting in my own personal feelings of hopelessness. Not just in respect to the “kidnapping” (and OMG that got terrifying all on it’s own), but in respect to the emotional turmoil. Agonizing.

And yet… could there be light at the end of the tunnel? What would it take. How far did she have to break, to reach it? Moments of absolute relief. Moments of absolute devastation. And I’m good with that.

Oh great. Now my throat aches.

Yep. The lump in my throat is back. But again, feeling like this… aching, needing to pace, and not knowing what to say other than READ THIS!!! <— That’s why I read. I read to feel it all (the good, the bad, the ugly). And this one is a perfect mix of the three.

A love story. A horror story. An absolutely moving story.

Hold on to your hats my friends. Keep your hands and feet inside the ride at all times. There is NO getting off this ride until it’s done (that is… for those of you that like this kind of read as much as I do). ;)

“Why are you here?”

“Because you are.”

*sniff sniff*

5 stars!!!!!!

P.S. This is one of those books that requires a Mud Vein Spoiler Chat “support” thread, and it’s up and waiting for us to let loose right here. If you’ve read the book and need to let it out, come on in!

P.P.S. Be careful reading the comments below… just in case of spoiler-y reactions. ;)

P.P.P.S. Thank you to the author for sending me a review copy. I will read anything you write.

Get Free Email Updates from me :)

{ 38 comments… read them below or add one }

Lise April 6, 2014 at 9:14 PM

Yes, my favorite kind of book ride. So unique and unpredictable. Loved this one and so happy you did as well, Maryse!

Heather April 6, 2014 at 9:38 PM

Just finished it and after thinking about it for a few minutes, I feel like sobbing. My emotions are all over the place. Wow

cheryl April 6, 2014 at 10:13 PM

I just finished and I ache too. I think it was such a beautifully written, unique story, but I’m so overwhelmed and sad, and keep thinking “*** or ***.” I definitely need some time to process what the author asked in her letter–what I think this book means.

Maryse April 6, 2014 at 10:50 PM

My heart is finally settling down. *phew*

Kahea April 6, 2014 at 11:28 PM

Oh my Jesus. I don’t know I can handle reading something like this, but I don’t know if I can handle NOT reading it! Okay, deep breaths. I think I’m going for it. Holy crap.

Jennifer April 7, 2014 at 12:53 AM

Maryse,
Any idea when mud vein will be available in paperback? I’m dying to read it!
Thx!
Jennifer

bev April 7, 2014 at 1:37 AM

I’m intrigued and very tempted. But I have her trilogy in my tbr and thinking should actually read them first. I have to say I’m impressed that you read the book, posted when it went live, updates, review, and spoiler thread in one day. That’s awesome.

Bethany Lopez April 7, 2014 at 4:19 AM

I keep crying. At my desk. In the bathroom. Walking down the sidewalk. I must look like a crazy person… What a book hangover!

Jean April 7, 2014 at 9:07 AM

Ok. I am so on this one…taking a break from BDB series to read it because I have been waiting for it for a while. Going in blind…didn’t read your review! So excited…and a little scared too!

Cat April 7, 2014 at 9:36 AM

I’m at 68% and am hyperventilating.

Maryse April 7, 2014 at 9:57 AM

Oh you guys are in for it!!!!

Cat I know that feeling… it doesn’t really let up. ;)

Jean, keep us updated!!

Maryse April 7, 2014 at 9:59 AM

Bev, LOL!!

That right there, is how much I loved the book. The synopsis, of COURSE, had me wanting to read it (I’m a sucker for the kidnapped girl psycho thrillers), and knowing this author, I knew there would be a love story to boot. I couldn’t put it down (so I finished it fast), and I needed to release that achey chest feel in a review.

So yeah, yesterday was a full crazy day for me and I loved it! :D

Maryse April 7, 2014 at 10:00 AM

Bethany: *big squeeeeeeeeezy hug* I sat stunned and dazed for awhile before I finally jumped into the review part.

How are you feeling now?

Maryse April 7, 2014 at 10:00 AM

Kahea!! You can do it!! :P

Maryse April 7, 2014 at 10:01 AM

Jennifer… good question! I’ll see if I can find out, and I’ll report back, soon.

Heather April 7, 2014 at 10:55 AM

Maryse, what should I read now to get over this ache??

sarah Hampton April 7, 2014 at 1:05 PM

Ok im still trying to deal with this book. I didn’t cry I think i was just in SHOCK… It was a fabulous book not what I expected and I keep going over different scenarios in my head for book two even tho this is a standalone but a Girl can dream! Oh the questions I have Mrs Fisher

Danielle April 7, 2014 at 1:23 PM

I cannot fully express how I felt when reading this book last night. My stomach was in knots. I’m pretty sure I stopped breathing altogether at some point. I was an emotional wreck and am still recovering!!

Maria April 7, 2014 at 1:44 PM

Finished and feeling desperate and emotional. Trying to process, put it all together. Taking it all and using it to do some reflecting. Basically she nailed it. LOVED this book!!

Maria April 7, 2014 at 2:31 PM

What do we read after this???? Help Maryse!!!!!

Rachel April 7, 2014 at 2:59 PM

I’m part of the minority here, but I did not love this book. I could not get enough of Tarryn Fisher’s other books, and re-read them several times. I wasn’t sure what to expect from Myd Vein, but knowing her characters, I figured it would be complicated. It was. The problem I had was that Senna had absolutely no redeeming qualities to me. I couldn’t understand her, or stand her at all, for that matter. It made it hard to care what happened to her, which made the overall story that much more difficult. I loved Isaac, but couldn’t for the life of me figure out why he was chasing after Senna so hard. Nick’s story was pointless, other than to get the book title…sigh…I wanted to love this SO MUCH. But it was a complete dud to me. Other than the beautiful writing, it was depressing, dark, gloomy, confusing. It pains me to be so critical of an author I adore!

Maryse April 7, 2014 at 3:54 PM

Maria … that is a goooood question. I need something light and fluffy and sweet and silly and funny.

I’m going on a search and I will get back to you shortly. ;)

Celeste April 7, 2014 at 9:52 PM

I had things to do today – which didn’t get done. Luckily my schedule was able to be rearranged, because I simply could NOT put this book down until it was finished. For me, it was more of a 4.5 stars – I simply can’t deal with the way things turned out. I mean, I understood it, but my heart is still just breaking over and over for Senna and Isaac. This walks a fine line between ‘I’m so happy I read that’ and ‘why did I read that?’ I’m a big wuss though. I can’t take too much angst. :)

mercedes gabaldon April 8, 2014 at 12:55 AM

So I finally finished this and wow. I was crying and sad how it ended. But I know why it had to end this way. I have not read such a emotional rollercoaster in a while I might need a few days to come back down from this book.
So glad I read this right away. I know if I. Waited it would of been spoiled by the reviews.

whitney April 8, 2014 at 1:11 AM

Gutted and raw after finishing this one. It will definitely stick with me for a while. Wish maybe that we could have got an epilogue from Isaac’s POV…

Margaret April 8, 2014 at 5:12 PM

Wow!!! That was brutal… but loved every second of it. :) Dark reads are my favorite but this was more of a morning of an epic love. Rachael, I agree with you about not understanding what Isaac got from her to warrant such devotion. She had two wonderful men fall for her so she must have been beautiful, mysterious, and brilliant… We probably would have seen that side of her if it was from some other perspective and not her self-loathing pov. The author credited Stephen King and it did have that hopeless feel to it… It was definitely a 5+ star read for me… Now I feel better… Thanks Maryse :)

Jean April 9, 2014 at 9:23 AM

Oh Maryse, I finished the last 20% of this book this morning and I am now in a major book fog! How am I supposed to work today?!?! Came right in and went to read your review which I skipped before…..can’t stop thinking about this book! So glad you started a support thread for this one because I definitely need it….headed there now to see everyone’s comments and hopefully it will make me feel better.

You should really read Coming Home after this one because it will make you feel much better….seriously….I am not kidding! I, personally, am going back to the BDB series (#4 is next, Butch, who I have a secret crush on…not so secret now..haha)….and I need the Brothers back in my life!

Kristina April 9, 2014 at 6:50 PM

I finished first thing this morning and not even sure how I feel. I liked it, I didn’t like it…not sure. What I am sure of is that I read the whole thing in 24 hrs because I could, not, put, it down! I even went into work today and would randomly talk about it with others. I think I am still digesting it.

Suzanne April 14, 2014 at 3:02 PM

Maryse, great review. I LOVED it! I was an emotional wreck but so worth it. Days later and I still find myself thinking about things done or said and taking it all in. Devastatingly beautiful.

Patty April 15, 2014 at 12:11 PM

Ok I’m only 16% in and its not grabbing me…….should I stay committed to it?

Patty April 19, 2014 at 12:22 PM

I just finished, it’s the longest I have ever taken to read a book. I kept putting it down thinking the next time I picked it up it would grab me, I even thought of starting a new book but couldn’t get myself to do it. Maybe that tells me something of how I feel about it, I’m confused, annoyed, mad and upset. I can’t give it 5, I realized we can’t always get what we want be I delighted like her.

Grey April 24, 2014 at 7:54 AM

I’m a frequent reader of this blog… but had yet to make a comment until I read this one. Brutal, raw, gripping… these are the words I’d use to describe this book. Like many others, I simply could not put it down. I’m going to need some serious smut to get me over this book hangover! Thanks for the recommendation!

Jessica May 11, 2014 at 7:00 PM

HANDS DOWN…The best book I’ve read this year so far! I was soo into this book that I read it in a day. Yeah…that good! I did take a couple breathers here and there, but seriously Tarryn Fisher kicked some serious butt with this book!

Heidi H May 12, 2014 at 9:09 AM

… I have no words. I think this book broke me.

Saraj May 12, 2014 at 6:40 PM

I agree with Patty. I read it and I finished it, but it never really grabbed me and when I was done I just thought.. what was the point of this? I felt like it was trying to be psychological Stephen King thriller type book, but didn’t quite get there. Maybe her type of book just isn’t mine as I didn’t really enjoy Opportunist either. Just saw a post by her she was bashing a reviewer, but she did say that her next book was a Uturn..etc… so I am willing to give her another try.

Judy July 17, 2014 at 5:34 PM

I don’t even know where to begin, I don’t think I even have words to express my feelings after reading this one. I loved it, but it broke my heart. This was my first Tarryn Fisher book and it definitely won’t be my last!

amber July 21, 2014 at 9:22 PM

Amazing. What’s next!!!!!!

redi April 26, 2016 at 2:38 PM

Thank you Tarryn Fisher.

Leave a Comment

 

Notify me of followup comments to this post via e-mail. You can also subscribe without commenting.

Previous post:

Next post: