Book Review – Night Owl by M. Pierce

by Maryse on October 27, 2013 · 104 comments

in My Book Reviews

Night Owl (The Night Owl Trilogy)
I loved it! Fun fun fun, suuuuuper-steamy (like eye-popping at times… he’s got a dirty dirty mouth!) but SO much more than that. Definitely erotica but with an intense story in the mix, and a twist or two (right off the bat) that grabbed me. And then bring on the angst! Yet, I dunno how to describe this one, without giving too much away. It’s like everything we love to read, but with it’s own “feel” you know?

I posted it on a recent bargain post this month when Justine recommended it saying:

“Just read this book in one sitting. If you liked 50 Shades then you will probably really like it”

Well of course I love ”Fifty” and “Bared” (but I’ve been slowing down lately on my “billionaires”). So many book-billionaires out there to choose from. ;) Still though, I know there are tons of us still looking for more (nothing better than being in the mood for a genre and having plenty to play with), so I posted it.

But then I received this comment by Laura:

“Maryse – I loved the Night Owl! It wouldn’t liken it to 50 Shades though – its totally different and gave me that “feeling”. – so so so good!”

So… like Fifty, but… not? Okay! My attention is piqued. And then the latest reader-recommendations came in, and I knew I was SO in!

Kristina: I just read book 1 in the Night Owl Trilogy you mentioned. OMG, so good!!! Seriously, this book was fantastic. … Super steamy & has a great pace!

Amy: You HAVE to read Night Owl by M. Pierce. OMG Stay up all night squeee! So good! I think it is going to be the next big thing this year!

Anna: This year… Hmm… Had to be Night Owl by M. Pierce. I can’t help it. I loved it so, so much. (side note from Maryse <—- when I asked for your fav book of year.)

I get it!!! I so get the “like Fifty but NOT”, comparison. AND OMG it was great!! This one had what I wanted in a “genre change”.

So what’s it about? I’m gonna short form it, ’cause I loved the mini-surprises and all of the rest of the discoveries as they came.

This was the old cover (when it was still indie)

Matt and Hannah are writing a book together… online. They’ve never met, and as far as Matt goes, they never will. In fact, his rules are NO private info is to be exchanged. No names (other than screen names: “Night Owl” and Little Bird”). No pictures. No nothing! He’s in a relationship after all. And he’s not “interested” in the outside world. He just wants to write, and he trolled the net for an online writing “partner” and she’s… pretty good!

But one day, she sent him a chapter. From her real gmail account. With her real gmail picture showing her in all of her glory.

She was beautiful. And I was furious with her, for foisting her picture and last name on me.

Matt was FURIOUS!!!! Imposed upon!!!!! And… titillated.

My whole body was tingling.

I needed to tell Hannah to stop and that I wasn’t single and that we were going to ruin our pleasant anonymous online friendship.

I’m leaving it there. ;)

Let’s talk about the *ahem* “hero”. He stole the show (even though I LOVED being her, and I loved her!). But him. He’s almost like nobody I’ve ever read before. But I feel like I know him. He’s SO real. So obnoxious. Demanding.

Matt’s smirks came in flavors – two parts kindness, one part wicked amusement, a little lust in the mix. Oh, and one hundred percent smug bastard.

And yet, so endearing.

Matt stopped at a florist and bought two lily bouquets. He shoved one at me.

“Flowers,” he muttered.

“I see that.” I gave him a peck on the cheek. “You’re so adorable. So sweet and strange…”

*giggle* Awwww there are so many “endearing” Matt scenes. You just wait.

And the flaws… OMG the issues he has (but not the usual romantic “mistake/guilty conscience” thing). This guy’s issues are… I dunno. Definitely an innate part of him. And bad. And dirty (in good ways *waggles eyebrows* … and in bad ways). His quirks and his personality are all HIM.

But there was something about him. It’s like… he was alpha, he was brooding, he was bossy, impatient. self-centered and selfish.

F#@k, I needed to stop worrying about this sh!t – at least for now. F#@k now, worry later.

Mmhm. confused

He was anti-social, and of course, he was hot! He was rich. He was commanding. He had sway *swoon*. But he was also so… intimately private, primal, and SO vulnerable.

“Beautiful man. I wish you could see yourself. You look lost.”

“I feel lost,” I whispered.

*sigh* and *heart*

Okay okay… LOL!!! Wait! I know… this sounds like EVERY one of our heroes in part or in full. I’m making him sound like the rich billionaire heroes we love, and while on “paper” he seems/sounds like them, when you read him, experience him, you’ll see what I mean when I say he’s SO different.

This is not another “Fifty” (even as much as I LOVE Christian). This guy? Less perfect “god-like” (with imperfect issues) and more imperfect “human-like” (with beautiful traits). There was just *something* about this guy, his FEEL, that I can barely compare him to anyone. He was so realistic, so… bratty. So weird. Not so secure, even in his pomp.

AH! Almost… if I HAD to compare him to another book-hero, I’d say “Dex“. A weird twist of Dex, Fifty and “hermit”. Obnoxious, and dirty-mouthed. Some of the things he’d say (let alone… DO) eek made me red-faced. FOR HIM!!! When he was in the moment… look out, he was letting it all hang out. And yet I loved him (and cringed at him) at the same time.

God, I felt amazing. I felt tattered in the best possible way, like our violent passion had blasted me clean.

And here’s the thing. Matt is a BAD boy (and not “bad boy” as in tattooed, bad-ass and a player. No… that’s not him). I mean bad as in… grrrrrrrrr!!!!!! Some of you might have a hard time with some of his… mistakes. But this is where the book really takes form. Comes to life. He is human, and he makes some serious mistakes. But that doesn’t mean they don’t come back to bite him in the a$$.

Let the fun (or torment) begin!!!

So all that to say, FANTASTIC writing (at times it got so deep!), fantastic pacing, fantastic characters. They are true to life (and nothing is that far-fetched in it’s angst). I believed it all. And I fell for them. I FEEL for them.

Oh I hear you now. “But but but! It says “trilogy”. Is this a complete book?” Yes! But then there was an epilogue that opened up a whole new, er…. story. Book, that made me go “what what whaaaaaaat?” Eeeeep! And I can’t wait for it! Bring it! I can’t wait to see where this author takes us next.

4.5 stars!!!

Here’s a last minute quote from the book that I loved. It’s NOT at the end (so don’t think that this is the epilogue).

“I’m trying to teach you this mysterious skill, one that you seem to lack. It’s called how to say goodbye.”

I smiled and rubbed the back of my neck.

“What are you grinning at?” she said.

“I never want to,” I said.

“What? Never want to what?”

“I never want to learn how to say goodbye.”

P.S. Thank you to the author for sending it my way. After these recommendations I was already SO on it, but since you sent it over, I can’t thank you enough!!!

P.P.S. OMG MATT and his sweeeeeeetness towards animals. Even the stuffed toy kind. *sigh* I LOVE HIM!!!!! I just wanna snuggle him and his bunny and his manatee. *giggle*

P.P.P.S. Okay yes, at first I thought it was a tad bumpy and speeding along with them, er… intimately (attraction-wise) but I get it, now. And it ended up working out perfectly, for me, in terms of my reading enjoyment.

Get Free Email Updates from me :)

{ 103 comments… read them below or add one }

M. Pierce October 27, 2013 at 7:57 PM

OH MY GOD. Thank you for reading my book! *Faints dead away*

Maryse October 27, 2013 at 7:59 PM

LOL!!! Your rocked it, M. And now I’m wondering if I have a crush on you. You know… considering your, er…. ummm. Okay I’ll stop here in case it’s a spoiler. ;)

Ann October 27, 2013 at 8:18 PM

Well, I just bought this after reading your review and am going to start it now!!!

Amy October 27, 2013 at 8:26 PM

*snicker* You want to snuggle his manatee. LOL! Sorry, got a dirty mind and I’m bored and hubby-less this evening. ;) I bought this the other day and now I REALLY want to start it!

Maryse October 27, 2013 at 8:28 PM

hahahahahahah!!!!! Yeah. It’s so fluffy!!! :P

Amy October 27, 2013 at 8:33 PM

OMG! Then he needs to manscape that thing!!!! LOL!! Okay, I’m done, I think…

M. Pierce October 27, 2013 at 8:39 PM

What has this become… haha…

Jeanie V October 27, 2013 at 8:45 PM

Loved this book too! I remember meeting the author through your blog! :) And it’s so crazy I was attracted to Matt’s a*holery & filthy mouth hehehe!!!

Shannahan October 27, 2013 at 8:52 PM

There is definitely something captivating about this book. I have started reading another book, but yet I can’t get Matt out of my head and find myself going back re-reading bits. Maybe it is his dirty mouth LOL!

Amy October 27, 2013 at 8:56 PM

M., this is me taking Maryse’s innocent comment and dragging it into the freaking gutter with my mind, lol. ;) How exciting to “see” you here! I’m looking forward to starting your book. :)

M. Pierce October 27, 2013 at 9:07 PM

Amy, my mind too has a permanent residence in the gutter. Except on Sunday mornings. I really hope you enjoy the book. I’m over the moon with Maryse’s review. Her passion for reading and blogging and her support for indie authors is freaking dope.

Erin M October 27, 2013 at 9:54 PM

This has been on my TBR List for awhile…. I think it just got bumped. Super excited to read!!

Maryse October 27, 2013 at 10:08 PM

LOL Amy!

Let me know what you guys think. :)

shunda October 27, 2013 at 10:39 PM

Maryse I depend on you so much for what I’m going to read and this was one of the books that land on my radar thanks to you. The love scenes alone were enough to warrant a cold shower. I absolutely loved this one but the ending had me scratching my head. Hummmm

Maryse October 27, 2013 at 11:01 PM

Steeeeeeeamy! *whoo* ;)

AngelaL October 28, 2013 at 2:06 AM

Love one click shopping at Amazon and have just added this to be TBR pile. I’m wondering if you have any idea when Book 2 & 3 will be released please?

M. Pierce October 28, 2013 at 2:27 AM

Book 2′s tentative release date is January 2014.

Sarah Jane October 28, 2013 at 7:00 AM

Oooh must read…..Is this only available on amazon? Anywhere sell it in an epub format?

Heidi October 28, 2013 at 7:02 AM

Hi Maryse!

Just want to say again how much I ABSOLUTELY LOVE your website! I am an avid book lover, mom of four, addicted to reading! I have recommended your site to dozens of family and friends! Yours is the only site that reviews all types of books. FANTASTIC! Ok now that that’s off my chest. Ha ha

Read TRUE LOVE STORY…amazing! Read HOMETOWN FAVORITE…great! Currently reading MAKING FACES…and you are so right… Can’t put this book down!! Hubby not liking my new friend Maryse! Lol. NIGHT OWL on my TBR list. Can’t wait to start that either! Again, thank you for this wonderful book review site!!


Jean October 28, 2013 at 9:30 AM

Oh, I’ve been wanting this one. Just 1-clicked it and can’t wait to read it!

Shannon October 28, 2013 at 10:01 AM

Okay, I’m hooked…getting it now!

Michelle October 28, 2013 at 10:10 AM

I just saw you review, 1-clicked on Amazon and about to dive in.

Rose October 28, 2013 at 10:16 AM

One clicked last night then put aside what I was reading and had to stop at 55% in because I hate reading endings half asleep and possibly missing part of the experience. I’m loving it though and you hit it on the head with your comment about the character being like others “on paper” BUT reading so differently. I can’t wait to finish after work and see where the story finishes!

Ashley October 28, 2013 at 11:14 AM

Loved this book!!!!! You were so right about his dirty mouth too!! Definitely erotica but much more. His imperfections made him beautiful because he wasn’t the ‘perfect’ man! Reminded me of the biographies you read about Fitzgerald and Hemingway. Broken, vulnerable, and tender but also loving, kind, and naughty ;) !

Maryse October 28, 2013 at 11:20 AM


YES Ashley!!!! exactly. Bratty (in his impatience) and sweet and such a PAIN in the ***!!! Oooooh the things he said, and yet he’s a character I absolutely adored! *love*

Rose… I can’t wait to hear what you think!! Definitely “reads differently”.

Kelly October 28, 2013 at 12:30 PM

Please, please, please M. Pierce can you hold a seminar and teach my husband to talk dirty? Pretty please?

Maryse October 28, 2013 at 12:35 PM


M. Pierce October 28, 2013 at 1:47 PM

Maybe I’ll write a book. “Dirty Talk 101.”

M. Pierce October 28, 2013 at 1:48 PM

Sarah Jane — as of now, I can only sell the book through Amazon. However, a cheap paperback edition will be available soon, and in about two months the book will be available across a variety of online ebook vendors.

Rachel October 28, 2013 at 3:27 PM

Ahhhhh – another perfect recommendation! Thank goodness the baby had an extra long nap today and I have a forgiving husband who won’t mind a sink full of dishes. Pleeease find me some more angst like this! I need the ache!! (Tell me I’m not the only weirdo…)

Maryse October 28, 2013 at 4:05 PM

If you’re a weirdo, I am too, Rachel. ;) I LOVE this kind of ache!!!

mary October 28, 2013 at 4:14 PM

I loved this book…the love scenes …I loved Hannah and Matt…awesome….thanks for your glowing recommendation for this book…I bought it a while back on my to be read list and I started it and finished it with out stopping….m pierce…awesome writer…

Kelly October 28, 2013 at 5:59 PM


jen October 28, 2013 at 6:18 PM

This book is sooooo good! I am 47% in and I am obsessed!

Maryse October 28, 2013 at 6:31 PM

:D !!!! Oh yes. I know all about it…

Becca October 28, 2013 at 7:30 PM

I was completely confused when you said “Like 50, but not.” But now I get it, oh now I reeeeaaaally get it! Only 50% in, and I’m obsessed. OBSESSED! I should be studying, but I can’t put my Kindle down

Nikitab October 28, 2013 at 9:24 PM

Best book I have read in a long time, and I mean, I read a sh*t-ton o’books! Fell in love w these two and their quirky, sexy, compelling story! Intriguing ending. More please!

Nanette October 28, 2013 at 9:32 PM

Hey Maryse! I am so getting this book now too! Your recommendation clinched it for me. It’s definitely going to the top of my TBR list NOW!Thanks for always making me stalk your blog! I am on the train to work n going home stalking it to find good reads! My husband is hating my tablet now ( which he got me for my birthday!) cos I can’t stop reading! LOL

Jen October 28, 2013 at 9:52 PM

Holy hell! I just finished it. Wow! I can’t wait for book 2!

Becky October 28, 2013 at 9:52 PM

Top of TBR list, will be starting it immediately! How cool the author is interacting with us regular folk!

Carmela K October 28, 2013 at 9:57 PM

After being in a reading slump for what seems like an eternity… This book totally hit the spot!

I loved the character (Hanana was not whinny, which made me love her) and the chemistry they shared. Hot… Hot… HOT! Fell in love with Matt, even in his ugliness and self destruction, he never stopped loving her.

I can’t wait for the next book! Yes, I am hoping I was hallucinating about the Epilogue… Because really WTHeck???

M. Pierce October 28, 2013 at 10:02 PM

I am just refreshing this page and enjoying the comments more and more. Thank you guys (and Maryse especially) for making Night Owl a top-100 book on Amazon (#35 at the moment). So surreal.

Val October 28, 2013 at 10:46 PM

I just finished this. The Dirty talk was worthy of all your praise. As was the book. I couldn’t put it down. I loved Matt. And both main characters were great. Many times in angsty books loke this the main female character can get annoying. This was the perfect mix for both characters. I cannot wait for more Matt.

Did I mention the dirty talk? It is worth another mention…

Maryse October 28, 2013 at 10:59 PM

LOL!!! Yes…. oh if I could repeat some of it… *smirk*

Maryse October 28, 2013 at 11:02 PM

I’m so happy you guys are not only joining me on this read, but chatting here with me (us all), too (for those of you starting and those of you finishing it…)

LOVE it!

Lindsay October 28, 2013 at 11:28 PM

This was such a unique story, and that epilogue! Gah! I loved the side characters (Laurence too!), I loved the angst, I loved the writing, I loved the sexy times–I just loved it! Done with the lovin’, but in all seriousness I did not expect the fresh plot line. I hope we don’t have to wait too long for the next book.

Summer October 28, 2013 at 11:38 PM

I loved this book. That ending ugh can’t wait for book 2!

Rose October 29, 2013 at 1:21 AM

Just finished and LOVED it. Matt’s mouth…Matt’s dirty mouth- didn’t he just grab the reader’s attention? The story line didn’t go in a direction I expected either although I found myself just lost in the reading of it and not trying to predict what was going to happen. I remember being at 60% then realized I was at 91%…. I need to write a review on Amazon and Goodreads but just want to bask in the aftermath(minus that Epilogue!) for a day or two. Seriously will be thinking of this book and the characters for a few days. Thank you for reviewing on your blog and the recommendation:)

Celeste October 29, 2013 at 7:49 AM

Just finished! I’m not sure what I thought – there were so many scenes that just made me blush and I kept thinking, ‘Do I like this?? Can I rec this book to my friends?’ Bottom line? I sure can!! LOL.

Matt just WON. So very endearing and his flaws just make him even better. And yay for Hannah for having a spine! She only lets herself be ‘humiliated’ when it works for HER. I love this woman!

My only complaint? I want more. But that’s my favorite complaint. :)

I think I love you, M. Pierce, and I’ll definitely be watching for more…

Betty October 29, 2013 at 1:06 PM

OMG! Maryse you guys keep talking about Matt’s dirty mouth, I’m sold! And he’s a bad boy too, AWESOME!
It’s already on the top of my TBR list.
I think I will fall in love (AGAIN) with another fictional character.
Thank you for another great review.

Victoria Paige Books October 29, 2013 at 2:51 PM

I loved this book and nearly didn’t read it because I know going in that there was a dealbreaker for me. But Matt is such a compelling character, flaws and all. Can’t wait where the next book will take us. You want a steamy read, this is it!

LisaB October 29, 2013 at 4:26 PM

Just started reading, suddenly being home sick with the flu isn’t seeming so bad!

Ashley B. October 29, 2013 at 4:39 PM

Oh my-what a great find!!! Thank you Maryse and ladies! I am only 13% through and this is my new favorite!!! I LOVE Matt and his attitude-so hot! I cannot wait to see what happens in this book! Just wish all three were already out! M. is definitely a bright new gem!

M. Pierce October 29, 2013 at 5:42 PM

Lisa, I hope you like it! And when you’re done, this blog is loaded with reading recommendations and reviews — and the people here are awesome. I have the blog bookmarked and kind of check it a dozen times a day…

… ahem… anyway. Happy reading. Thank you everyone for your kind remarks here, I am reading them all and enjoying them more than I can say.

Val October 29, 2013 at 5:48 PM

OMG. Just finished, M. WOW. Need book #2 now! When?! Soon, please? Thanks, M for another great, amazing reco. Congrats, M. Pierce!

LisaB October 29, 2013 at 6:00 PM

Loving this book so far. Absolutely loving it!!

Maryse October 29, 2013 at 7:58 PM

:D I miss Matt.

Dana October 29, 2013 at 8:22 PM

LOVED! The epilogue felt like i got stabbed, but in a good way? Such a great story, great characters, great pace, just great! Can’t wait for book two!

Nikitab October 29, 2013 at 9:16 PM

I have never had such a book hangover. I feel so…lonely without these two!

Denni October 30, 2013 at 5:15 AM

Ok ok u have all convinced me I’m downloading it now………

Christen October 30, 2013 at 5:58 AM

I just finished this and looked at the clock… 5am. My 3 year old will be up in 2 hours. If loss of sleep isn’t a side effect of a good book, then I’m not sure what is.

I want to rant and rave about a certain part, but don’t want to spoil anything. If you’ve read it then you should know what I’m talking about. Mind=blown.

Nanette October 30, 2013 at 6:37 AM

Just finished it! Wow! Maryse your recommendation was well worth it!I loved it!Can’t wait for the next installment. M Pierce, you ROCK!!!

Traci October 30, 2013 at 12:48 PM

It was the best book I’v read in a looooooong time! But someone posted on Amazon that the next book is going to be paranormal???? I hope that’s not right.

Denni October 30, 2013 at 5:34 PM

Ok I’m finished I’m off to the pet store!!! Ooooo I loved it but I’m very confuffeled about the epilogue?! So when’s book 2 out

Liz October 30, 2013 at 5:41 PM

Wow. I read them all – the fifty alikes…cross, in flight, stark…but this one could be the one…same, but so totally different. Finally another truely broken hero. This was sooooooo good. Thanks to you Maryse I found it…and under one dollar. This is rediculous….everybody MUST buy this NOW. This price will and cannot stay….

Roni October 30, 2013 at 5:48 PM

THIS WAS SOOOOOOO GOOD!!!! I hate starting a trilogy and now having to wait. Fabulous job!!! I love how bossy he is, and I am so glad we got to see him at his worst.. And then she brings him back in the end!! I can’t wait for number 2!!!!! :)

Maryse October 30, 2013 at 7:02 PM

Denni, are you getting a bunny? Are you calling it Laurence? :P

Rhodes October 30, 2013 at 8:17 PM

I can’t quit thinking about this book! It just gave me “that” feeling, you know!? Not many books do that. And I’m normally not into so much dirty talk (for me it can sometimes be more of a turn-off) but WHEW this so worked! This was fabulous M Pierce and you have a huge fan right here. I can not wait!! for the next two books!

Andrea Schiltz October 30, 2013 at 8:21 PM

Is it a cliffhanger?

M. Pierce October 30, 2013 at 8:27 PM

Rabbits make awesome pets… just throwing that out there…

And wow, the support here is amazing, thank you guys. I am so touched, and I’m loving all this feedback. Mm, I think I need to make an account so I can read this spoiler thread I’ve been hearing about…

Maria Majeed October 30, 2013 at 10:56 PM

I loved this book. Can’t waitnfor book 2 last light. But the epilogue confused me. I guess Matt *spoiler*…..I dunno….what r ur thoughts guys

Nanette October 30, 2013 at 11:39 PM

okay I now signed up to read the spoiler thread too.

Denni October 31, 2013 at 4:05 AM

Yep maryse!!! Do u think if I take it out on a leash I will meet a sandy haired man with green eyes? Lol or can I buy him at the pet store to lol x

Heidi October 31, 2013 at 7:14 AM

Late for Jazzercise because I am sitting in car and can’t put book down,, HOT, HOT, HOT!!! I’m such a book nerd!!! Happy to find tons more book nerds like me! Lol

Happy Halloween and happy reading all :)

Jean October 31, 2013 at 8:18 AM

Read this book in one day – could not put it down – loved it and Matt! He is so different than any of the other book boyfriends. But that Epilogue!! What the heck! I can’t take it! I had to re-read the end and Epilogue like 3 times! My head was spinning! When is the next book coming out M. Pierce? We are all dying here with anticipation! I can’t stop thinking about this book!!!

Linda October 31, 2013 at 9:27 AM

OK just finished Night Owl last night. Could not put it down. LOVED it!!! Love Matt and Hannah. Did I mention I love dirty mouth sexy as hell Matt. But damn that epilogue M. Pierce that’s just mean mean and oh yeah MEAN. Now we have to wait for book 2? Harsh:((( xoxo

Heidi October 31, 2013 at 9:44 AM

Just started this. And all I can say is HOT, HOT, HOT!!!

I am supposed to be getting out of car for Jazzercise class, but am sitting in car and cannot put this book down! Lol. I’m such a nerd!

beth October 31, 2013 at 9:57 AM

I wish this author would write “dirty talk 101″ i will buy it for my BF for Xmas…;) Loved the book i finshied it last night, I wanted More and more cant wait for the 2nd book to come out…need to know what happen :)

Emily October 31, 2013 at 11:23 AM

OK – I loved this book, I loved Matt and his mouth, I loved the rabbit, I loved so many things! I’m so Team Matt……….but the Epilouge………my poor iPad almost got chunked at the wall. I literally yelled into the dark of my bedroom “WHAT????………….NO!!!!!” My poor husband was so dazed and confused. ;) Thank you Maryse – this blog and all your book love is my favorite! :)

Jean October 31, 2013 at 11:32 AM

Haha Emily! I am feeling your pain with the Epilogue…what the heck!

Heidi H. November 1, 2013 at 1:01 PM

Gahhhhh I DIED.
Could I have a Matt express mailed to me for Christmas? Pleasekaythanks. Ooh ooh also, a stuffed manatee! ♡♡♡

Amy November 2, 2013 at 12:32 AM

I finally read it, and WTF?!? The epilogue? Seriously, W.T.F.!! Am I the only one reacting this way? Probably. Dangit, you better give me a turn with the manatee, Maryse. *I* need it to snuggle with now after all that! I did love every minute of it though. What a ride. ;)

melinda November 2, 2013 at 5:48 AM

Oh My God this was so good. Putting washing on the line with the kndle, cooking the bbq with the kindle, doing the dishes with the kindle. LOVED it Loved it. SOOOOO steamy just as good as 50 shades. ever moving story line .Loved Matt. Read it in under 3 hours couldn’t put down. Don’t think I can wait until January for the next book. Thankyou Maryse. Thankyou M Pierce.

Ashley November 2, 2013 at 10:45 AM

Ok… I am 73% into this book and I have to keep putting it down because I haven’t read something this intense (in a GREAT way) in quite a while. This book is unlike anything I have been reading so I wanted to take a breather and everyone know that this story is well worth spending a Saturday in your pajamas curled up on the couch….and it is sunny outside! Cannot wait for the next one by M Pierce ;)

M. Pierce November 2, 2013 at 3:08 PM

Hey guys. I’m still reading these comments and loving them. You’re all so kind.

Lise November 3, 2013 at 2:43 PM

Damn, Maryse… I didn’t even realize you already read this one. *head in clouds* I just finished it this morning and loved it… glad you did too!

Beth Knipple November 6, 2013 at 9:39 AM

Maryse, I picked this book up from your recommendation. Didn’t read your review just off the rating. I started it and immediately did not like it, and thought ok what am I missing. I came back and read your review and all the comments. It was enough to get me to go back and continue. So glad I did. Once I realized that it was not just an erotic story I was completely sucked in. Thank you all for gushing about this story, it was because of everyone’s strong response that kept me reading. It is a 4.5 rating in my opinion.

Kara November 6, 2013 at 12:30 PM

I’ve read hundreds (literally) of romance books, all for different reasons and all interesting in their own way. I read Fifty before it was “FIFTY!” My connection of commonalities to Ana pulled me to the book and obsessively sucked me in. BUT….Night Owl…..there aren’t enough words to describe my the addiction to this book. Matt and Hannah are unique, tangible and mostly REAL. There story isn’t about sub/dom or billionaires without love. It was REAL. For anyone who loves romance with a twist, Night Owl is a ….MUST READ! Thank you Maryse for finding this book and bringing it to us.

Marina November 7, 2013 at 11:23 AM

Wow, the beginning texting in this book has to be one of the hottest intros to a book ever. Loved the writing. Loved! The reference to my favorite Warpaint song just sealed the deal for me. Great book! Looking forward to more!!!!!

Jodie Roach November 8, 2013 at 10:28 PM

Loved Night Owl and can’t wait for the second book! I read somewhere the second book would be a paranormal book :( Kinda confused!

Isadora November 9, 2013 at 9:55 PM

Thank you Maryse for another great recommendation!!
I had my family visiting from Brazil for the last month and I haven’t read anything while they were here. I couldn’t wait to get back to my books. My TBR list is huge, and I was so glad I chose the Night Owl!
It had a great flow, loved the story, the references to my country, and the characters. Everything that happened in the book felt real and made sense, I never once “rolled my eyes”, and thought that’s ludicrous!
Loved this book!

raquel November 13, 2013 at 11:03 AM

I loved this book so much. I just finished it and can’t wait for the new one. Please don’t let that epilogue be true I need more of Matt and Hannah.

Marilyn November 15, 2013 at 4:38 PM

I love it! I’m super excited for book 2.

Cristiane November 26, 2013 at 8:49 PM

Thanks again Maryse for another great one. When I go see my family in Brasil I make sure I leave my mother in law home with hubby(LOL) . OMG…I don’t want to say too much by I hope I misunderstood the epilogue(please) and lets leave at that.I can’t wait for book 2.I loved it Night Owl…and his filthy mouth was hot.

Lindsy January 1, 2014 at 9:44 PM

Any idea if/when this will be available for Nook readers?

ELAINE January 12, 2014 at 12:54 PM


Jodi January 13, 2014 at 12:06 AM

Omg. What just happened to the last few hours of my life?! I just flew through this book. Seriously, when is book 2 coming out? I need more of Matt and Hannah!

Ps – thanks for bringing “bad” Matt back at the end. Hottest birthday present ever. #onbatedbreath #hurrybook#2!!

M. Pierce January 21, 2014 at 2:56 AM

Lindsay, this should be available for Nook in February!

So wonderful to see people are still commenting here. Thank you guys! I love to read your comments.

AMO January 24, 2014 at 11:12 AM

Marsye, I read Night Owl back when you first published this review. Thank you so much! It immediately jumped to the top of my favorite’s list. If you guys haven’t read it yet, you need to read it now. It blows everything else out of the water. Seriously. Each time I go back for a reread I’m more amazed at the writing. Beautifully done. Also, very best dual POVs in the genre.

And I think the new cover is super hot and sexy! Will always have a special place in my heart for the original cover, of course.

missy brown January 24, 2014 at 4:09 PM

Trying to get this on my kindle thru amazon but says not released yet??

AMO January 24, 2014 at 4:57 PM

Hi Missy, I read on the author’s page that the Kindle book will be available on Feb. 11th (due to publisher taking over). Mark your calendar. It’s worth the wait! :)

Dee January 28, 2014 at 9:25 AM

O..M..G..!!! Out of the norm… I’m Speachless, baffled, In awe, hell I don’t even know! Ok, we’ll. Go back to the speachless. Wow. This book was amazing. Thanks for the recommendation. I needed this to cleanse my book palate. Definitly a must read. My emotions were so all over the place along with the 2 lovable characters I’m almost exhausted. Well worth it. Thank u M.Pierce for this amazing book. Bravo… seriously. You Rock!

Annie Adores Alphas February 12, 2014 at 7:13 PM

I’m in the mood for a rich, arrogant alpha to get whipped by a gorgeous girl. This has been on my To-Be-Read list for awhile. I hope it’s as good as the reviews I’ve seen! Don’t let me down, Pierce!

Leave a Comment


Notify me of followup comments to this post via e-mail. You can also subscribe without commenting.

{ 1 trackback }

Previous post:

Next post: