Book Review – November 9: A Novel by Colleen Hoover

by Maryse on October 28, 2015 · 126 comments

in My Book Reviews


November 9: A Novel
I read it (*squeeee*!!) but it’s not out yet (just 2 more weeks of waiting to go!!),  although I’m here to tell you, you’re in for a treat!! It’s a totally unique way to tell a sweet love story. In true Colleen Hoover fashion, this one has all of her infamous feels (whether you’re giggling with glee at how clever her characters are, or wanting to throw your book in fury ’cause they can be so darn thick-headed sometimes!! ;) ). The dialogue, the fantastic character introspection, POV’s from both characters (and yet you have no clue what’s gonna happen even though you know what they’re both thinking), everything that’s signature to this author is here.

And best of all? Not one, but TWO gasp-worthy surprise reveals.

Oh yes!! I was quite delighted. In fact the first twist was the one I thought was gonna be the big *thing* (my eyes bugged out of my head in sheer agony-tinged delight), ’cause I knew *this* was gonna throw a monkey wrench in the whole thing. And you know me, I love the book drama, but by the time twist #2 came about (P.S. I didn’t see it coming either), the whole story… pretty much comes full circle.

So what’s it about?

Eighteen year old Fallon is an ex-teen actress who’s career came to a screeching halt after a home fire scarred her face (and body) badly. She has an estranged relationship with her famous, emotionally distant, career oriented father, but is extremely close to her down-to-earth, wise and very loving mother. Her mother gives her an incredibly insightful bit of advice.

 “You’ll never be able to find yourself if you’re lost in someone else.”

My mother isn’t famous. She doesn’t have an incredible career. She isn’t even married to the love of her life. But there’s one things she’s always been…


And Fallon is determined to live by it. So when her world suddenly changes for just a bit, when a gorgeous (but kind of train-wreck) of a guy looks at her,

I don’t usually notice people, considering they do everything in their power to avoid eye contact with me. However this guy’s eyes are intense, curious and staring straight at me.

TRULY looks at her, past her scars, and cleverly integrates himself into her life (I’d let you read that part on your own, but I can’t resist quoting this genius “rescue-attempt” scene):

I stiffen beneath the guy’s arm when I feel his lips press against the side of my head. “Damn L.A. traffic,” he mutters.

Random Dude just put his lips in my hair.


Is going.


The guy reaches across the table for my father’s hand. “I’m Ben,” he says. “Benton James Kessler. Your daughter’s boyfriend.”

Your daughter’s… what?

My father returns the handshake. I’m pretty sure my mouth is hanging open, so I immediately camp it shut. I don’t want my father to know I have no idea who the guy is. I also don’t want this Benton guy to think my jaw is touching the floor because I like his attention. I’m only looking at him like this because… well… because he’s obviously a lunatic.

He releases my father’s hand and settles against the booth. He gives me a quick wink and leans toward me, bringing his mouth close enough to my ear to warrant being punched.

“Just go with it,” he whispers.

He pulls back smiling.

Just go with it?

What is this, his improv assignment?

Tee hee! Oh I was already crushing hard in him!!

So friendship between them is sparked, and you’d be amazed at how much it progresses in just one day. My heart was beaming as I smiled through their goofiness, and their “getting to know you” stage. P.S. He’s a writer, and she’s a total book-addict, and us readers will certainly recognize ourselves in her, as she explains our book love (and book boyfriends) to him. :P Like when he asked her what he least favorite thing in a book was:

He makes a face. “Insta-love?”

I nod. “When two characters meet and supposedly have this great connection right off the bat.”

He raises an eyebrow. “Fallon, I think we might already be in trouble if that’s one of you least favorite things.”

*snort* :P Right?!! CUTE!!!


“Did you just say sigh? Out loud? Instead of actually sighing?”

“Eye roll.”


And Fallon has nothing to lose, going about her whole day with this stranger-now-friend, because she’s leaving L.A. to move to N.Y. THAT night. Of all the dumb luck. Or bad luck. But because they only have THAT day, they pretty much… bond. And you know what? Totally believable. Even their wishful thinking “deal” that he proposes (or as it she?) where they can meet again, once a year on that exact date for the next 5 years (you’ll find out why),

“What if we meet up again next year on the same day? And the year after that? We’ll do it for five years. Same date, same time, same place. We’ll pick up where we left off tonight, but only for the day. I’ll make sure you’re following through with your auditions, and I can write a book about the days we’re together.”

In that exact restaurant, is whimsical, sure, but why not, right? This could work! Plus, he’s gonna write their story!! *sigh*

And so this is the tale of a girl’s life, and a boy’s life as they go from “young adult” to “new adult” on one day, once a year. But while the story is mostly always progressing on November 9th (for us, the reader) it’s never just “that day”, of course. But it’s that day that we learn about the course of that year.

“I think the fact that we’ll continue living our lives is what makes this idea so great. We’ll both get to experience life like we’re supposed to at this age, but we get to be with each other once a year. It’s the best of both worlds.”

Quite ingenious, if you ask me. How can that possibly work? And yet I was I was intrigued. I was imagining all sorts of stuff.

Mind you, I did struggle with the first half/middle of book, as the “how” of it develops. Oh I found it pretty brilliant for sure, at least for the first meeting and then meeting #2 a year later. I was SO in. But as the story progresses, my “just go with it” mode crumbled, and I was, at times, incensed at the rules of their friendship. I just stopped believing it. There was some eye-rolling and huffing and puffing on my part. Grumbling and maybe a little cursing… and some name-calling from me (erm… I won’t share my notes with you. *blush*) What?!! I was exasperated!!! I was dubious.

I mean, maybe there are people out there that are so genuinely tenacious and unconventional that they could actually sustain this kind of quirky friendship, despite all odds. Because lemme tell you in real life? I have a hard time believing this wouldn’t have totally fallen apart by meeting #3. Just sayin’ ;) And probably sooner.

But this is book fiction, right? It’s certainly not out of the realm of possibility that something like this CAN happen, and even if it’s highly unlikely, it sure is a fun escape!

And anyway, the minute surprise reveal #1 hit my screen, and my jaw dropped, and my heart sped up, I was thrilled (my notes here: “I accept this twist.”) <— LOL!! I suppose the adrenaline of that moment flooded my skeptical book-heart, and my “just go with it” kicked right back in and mostly held on, the rest of the way.

And by reveal #2, the depth of emotion and “reason” of it all, that I have grown accustomed to with this author’s brand of story-telling, radiated through.

Although I still have a few skeptical moments here and there (and a few questions unanswered) but that’s just my reality-side kicking in, and for a sweet story like this, my recommendation to you is… just go with it. It’s darn good!

4 stars!

P.S. Thank you to the publisher for sending me this review copy!!

P.P.S. The publisher has a “galley” version of this book (a rare, uncorrected, not-for-sale proof) to give away to a reader on my blog!! Want it?

CONTEST WINNER HAS BEEN SELECTED (now closed) How to enter for a chance to win it? Just leave a comment here letting me know your favorite angsty moment in any of Colleen Hoovers’ books (try to keep it spoiler free), AND”LIKE” Colleeen’s Facebook page, Atria Indies Facebook Page and my Facebook page…  and by 10pm EST, Sunday November 1st 2015, I will randomly select ONE winner for the “galley” copy.

And just for fun, I would love it if you wanted to tweet about the book or share/post the giveaway or this review on Instagram/Facebook.

The winner will be contacted and will have 48hrs to respond with a mailing address, so if you are picked, do not delay or you will lose your chance. This book will be sent to the winners directly by the publisher.

Open to US only however all are welcome to comment!

Get Free Email Updates from me :)

{ 126 comments… read them below or add one }

Casey October 28, 2015 at 9:48 AM

Pick me! Pick me! Please, please, please! Can’t you see I’m begging lol

Maryse October 28, 2015 at 10:17 AM

LOL Casey!!!! :P

Amy P. October 28, 2015 at 10:23 AM

My favorite angsty moment is in Slammed when Layken finds out who her teacher is. (Already like Coleen Hoover, Altria Indies, and you on FB, plus I tweeted this link) :-)

Maryse October 28, 2015 at 10:28 AM

Thank you Amy!!!! :D

Mary Feagley October 28, 2015 at 10:32 AM

Looking forward to reading it, sooner or later!

Jennifer S October 28, 2015 at 10:37 AM

It is not angsty but I still LOVE LOVE LOVE the Happy butterflying birthday cake scene.

Sonia Rivera October 28, 2015 at 10:41 AM

Can I pick my angst moment as the whole Ugly Love book?! At least the later part of it… You know… The ummm (baby) orrrr how the cover simply gives me anxiety every time I see it in my library? Because well.. You know?

You said no spoilers haha

Laura October 28, 2015 at 10:59 AM

When Will is reading Lake her poem !

Jenn October 28, 2015 at 11:02 AM

I loved Ugly Love. One of my favorites. …..Thanks for the giveaway

Kayla October 28, 2015 at 11:03 AM

How do you expect me to pick just one? Lol

I’m pretty sure all of Ugly Love left me pretty angsty, and sad, and happy, and emotionally wrecked lol

And I can’t remember just one part specifically, so there’s that *shrugs

Nafisah October 28, 2015 at 11:04 AM

I have read everything by Colleen, everything she writes is amazing and I can’t wait to read this. Thanks for the chance to win a copy!

Renee Giraldy October 28, 2015 at 11:04 AM

I’d love to win an ARC I’m a huge fan

Katie Lowden October 28, 2015 at 11:09 AM

I so love Colleens books, so thank you for the chance. There are so many angsty scenes, Slammed is one of my favorites, finding about her “teacher”, about her mom, Wills parents also Ugly Love, ugh so much there! And Hopeless, just everything, especially inside the house scene!

Kristy Petree October 28, 2015 at 11:09 AM

I love all of Colleen’s books! My favorite angsty moment was probably when Layken runs into Will at school for the first time in Slammed – gah! I died a little lol. Like all the pages, have a U.S. address, and shared on facebook, thanks! :)

Rachel October 28, 2015 at 11:10 AM

Hopeless and losing hope are by far my favorites of her books I would say. It is beyond angst through out the whole book and I can’t say my favorite angst part without giving spoilers away. But the love he has always had for hope was amazing to me.

Lindsey October 28, 2015 at 11:11 AM

Oh I LOVED all the angsty moments in Maybe Someday!

Maria Malaveci October 28, 2015 at 11:13 AM

Omg! How do I choose just one? It would have to be Ugly Love but I can’t say the part! It would spoil it for someone who hasn’t read it yet. Eeeek!!! Thanks so much for the chance. Following & love all the above ❤️

belinda October 28, 2015 at 11:15 AM

My favorite CH book is still Maybe Someday… so many parts I want to choose, I don’t know of I can pick just one!! All those “just kiss alreaddyyy!” moments…

Jeanna Szablicki October 28, 2015 at 11:15 AM

How can we pick one favorite moment? There’s breaking the record for the best first kiss ❤️. There’s “I got schooled this year.”

Jeanna Szablicki October 28, 2015 at 11:17 AM

How can we pick one favorite moment? There’s breaking the record for the best first kiss ❤️. There’s “I got schooled this year.”

candace wilson October 28, 2015 at 11:17 AM

I love all her work…. she is an amazing writer…. thanks for the chance to win this one…can’t wait to read

Jenn October 28, 2015 at 11:20 AM

Carving pumpkins! To me there is so much emotion there, and so much going unsaid for the moment!

Meagan October 28, 2015 at 11:20 AM

I love the entire book of Finding Cinderella but my heart broke for her when she had to give the baby away

tina October 28, 2015 at 11:24 AM

Love, love, love this!!
Thank you for spoiling one lucky reader!!

Fabi October 28, 2015 at 11:24 AM

I love your review! I’m *dying* for this book. Colleen Hoover – *sigh*

My favorite angsty moment is when Ridge “hears” Sydney sing. (I still get goosebumps every time I think of it)

I’m tweeting this link right now…

jessica buendia October 28, 2015 at 11:25 AM

Oh so many to choose from.. I think the Slammed series wins for having the most angst moments.. esp the whole “point of retreat” thing.. then in Hopeless when he tells her who she really is. that really got me.

and one of my favorite scenes was Maybe someday, when he feels her sing, and the permanent marker scene.. love! (sorry through those in even though they aren’t angst)

Renae McBrian October 28, 2015 at 11:25 AM

Every angsty Sidney moment I Maybe Someday. She’s my favorite.

Vivian October 28, 2015 at 11:26 AM

“I…will never…regret you.”

That is my favorite angsty moment in any CoHo book. It ripped my heart out, stuffed it with feels, and then placed it back inside me. Maybe Someday is still my favorite book of hers.

Thalia October 28, 2015 at 11:26 AM

I cannot pick just one. I love when Will reads Lakes poem and every single angsty part in CONFESS (My favorite so far)! I will be reading this as soon as I get it no matter what else I am reading at the time. TWO WEEKS!!!

Mary Ann Bailey October 28, 2015 at 11:27 AM

Any of her books can give you that moment

Ilene October 28, 2015 at 11:29 AM

From Hopeless:

Why Sky is adopted. (It was so sad btw, without giving away too much information.)

Also, the “best first kiss in the history of first kisses.”

Michelle October 28, 2015 at 11:31 AM

Ugly Love would be my favorite angsty Colleen Hoover book

Maine Avancena October 28, 2015 at 11:32 AM

Its from Maybe Someday..

When Ridge wrote something on Sydney’s palm.


Kelly Tannacore October 28, 2015 at 11:33 AM

I just love all Colleen’s books because they all have that moment in them. I loved how Sydney dicsovers that Ridge can’t hear and how he ‘listens” to music in Maybe Someday. Thank you so much for this chance!

Kim October 28, 2015 at 11:34 AM

Pick me please!!! I LOVE Colleen Hoover – Ugly Love…I mean COME ON!!! And plus, it’s my BIRTHDAY Sunday :D

Tammy Armstrong October 28, 2015 at 11:34 AM

Please please!! Confession 1- I’m a book addict!

Itzel October 28, 2015 at 11:36 AM

Maybe Someday, the computer scene when all was reveal, OMG!!.

Ang Ski October 28, 2015 at 11:36 AM

Sorry. Can’t do it! Just 1 angsty moment???…. Out of 1 book????…. I just CAN’T pick 1. CANT DO IT!!!!!

Nafisah October 28, 2015 at 11:36 AM

It is hard to narrow down but I first was introduced to Colleen’s book through Finding Cinderella. I love Daniel and I think the moment he finds out that Six is Cinderella and they find out they had a kid, angst and heart-wrenching all in one! I fell hard for Colleen and have been in love ever since.

Fabi October 28, 2015 at 11:38 AM

All these comments are making me want to re-read every one of her books again.

Lisa October 28, 2015 at 11:40 AM

Heck the whole book of Slammed – there was so much angst and WTF will happen next and OH NO – not that!!! I love Colleen!!!

Enid Pérez October 28, 2015 at 11:45 AM

I don’t have just one favorite I love all her books..

Tina October 28, 2015 at 11:53 AM

I have never read a Colleen book! I follow your book blog religiously and have read many books, but I’ve not tried hers yet. THIS SOUNDS AMAZING! I’d LOVE to win! Thank you Maryse!!!! Clearly from reading the other comments, I need to read her books! Will DO!

Diane October 28, 2015 at 11:54 AM

I love everything about EVERY Colleen Hoover book. Too many to choose. Thanks for the chance.

Bex October 28, 2015 at 12:00 PM

Every angsty moment between Laykin and Will in Slammed. So good!

(I like all of the FB pages and I shared your FB post on my timeline!)

My Book Fix Blog - Kelli Quintos October 28, 2015 at 12:04 PM

How did you get into this Blog Tour! I have a blog and am obsessed with Colleen Hoover books. I got her to sign my Slammed book at the last convention I went to. She is so sweet. I would love to read her new book and review it on my blog.

I found out about your page through Colleen Hoover’s facebook page and I liked the other two.

My angsty feeling is just about the entire Slammed book without giving anything away. All the characters feel alone before they start opening up and realizing just how alike they really are.

Jenn Garza October 28, 2015 at 12:04 PM

“Don’t ask about my past. And never expect a future” -Ugly Love

Sue October 28, 2015 at 12:24 PM

Favorite angsty moment,,, pretty much the whole time that Tate and Miles were together, but not together…

Andrea C October 28, 2015 at 12:37 PM

In Losing Hope when Holder finds the notebook and starts reading it.

Jessica Frider October 28, 2015 at 12:49 PM

When Ridge listens to Sydney in Maybe Someday

Sarah Phillips October 28, 2015 at 12:57 PM

If I HAVE to pick just one…I’d say Ugly Love when Tate tells Miles to ‘Finish’ scene

Lisa October 28, 2015 at 1:12 PM

I have to go with Hopeless. My favortie angstyish scene, was the “First Nonkiss.” It had my blood boiling. So so good! Thank you for the chance <3

Sasha October 28, 2015 at 1:17 PM

When Ridge puts the earbuds in Sydney’s ears for her to hear the song for the first time. Gah!

Kim October 28, 2015 at 1:17 PM

Love it so far

Corissa Palfrey October 28, 2015 at 1:17 PM

My angst moment has to be the entirety of Hopeless…. I can’t figure out how to say it without spoilers!!! But the whole book is amazing!! Just like all her books are!

LYNN ROBERTS October 28, 2015 at 1:35 PM

Liked all of the pages, and my favorite angst moments were in Maybe Someday and the times that they played music together. It was so beautifully poetic, but so impossible due to other conflicts… for their relation to go any farther than music, even though it was always there! Thanks for the chance.

Sue Sachse October 28, 2015 at 1:56 PM

Wow, how to choose just one. Colleen Hoover is synonymous with angst. I LOVE her books

Christie October 28, 2015 at 2:08 PM

I LOVEEEEEEE everything in HOPELESS. Can’t name just one :)

Charity October 28, 2015 at 2:15 PM

In Slammed when Will said “I’ll take the Lake.” Sigh…….

Erika Moore October 28, 2015 at 2:19 PM

If have to say (one of ) my most angsty moment(s) was in Slammed when we find out who Will is. But I love all of her books…

Krystina Cabrera October 28, 2015 at 2:20 PM

OK, my favorite angsty moment HAS to be from Ugly Love when Miles says “Well, for one, I’m not allowed to break your heart,” he says. “Second, I’m also not allowed to break your damn heart. And last, I’m not allowed to f**king break your damn heart.”

Lacey Thach October 28, 2015 at 2:24 PM

Near the end of Ugly Love!! I cried my butt off at that part!

Veronica October 28, 2015 at 2:41 PM

My angsty momento in Confess is… well I have quite some of them XD, but one of them is when Owen sacrifice himself for his father benefit :x

I love Colleen’s books and with time I’ll have them all on my shelf :D

Shirley October 28, 2015 at 3:15 PM

My favorite Colleen Hoover books are Slammed and POR. There are so many angsty scenes, they are all my favorite! LOL. I loved when Layken and Will saw each other at school the first time and I loved the classroom scenes. Makes me want to read it again!

Kelly Scroggins October 28, 2015 at 3:24 PM

I love Colleen Hoover’s books. Hopeless and Finding Hope are my favorite. My favorite part is the almost kiss in the kitchen when Holder is cooking for Sky. *sigh* Thanks for the giveaway!

Gina Opsal October 28, 2015 at 3:34 PM

I love all of Colleen Hoover’s books…they are fantastic! Thanks for the give away!

Dominique Lee October 28, 2015 at 3:36 PM

SLAMMED! Where my love for all things COHO began. The angst between Layken and Will is pure literary gold. I’d love to win this galley. It would be a treasure. Thanks for the chance and the great review.

Pixie Lent October 28, 2015 at 3:42 PM

Here’s the truth, I haven’t read Colleen Hoover books yet but what a great way to start by winning a copy of November 9?
Thanks for the opportunity.

lia s October 28, 2015 at 3:46 PM

Finding out truth about hope”less”

Lisa @ Lost in Lit October 28, 2015 at 3:52 PM

I’m going to go with an Ugly Love scene here… But no spoilers means I’ll just say ALL OF IT!!! :) Thanks so much for the giveaway!!

Kelley October 28, 2015 at 4:10 PM

Hopeless..when he sees her bracelet and KNOWS.

Alison October 28, 2015 at 4:11 PM

Slammed. Although I haven’t yet read anything of hers that I didn’t love!

Violeta M. October 28, 2015 at 4:12 PM

So many angsty moments… one of my favorites is from Confess but cant say without it spoiling it lol! All of her books give the angsty feeling that I love… Thanks for the chance!

Lacey Thach October 28, 2015 at 4:18 PM

Near the end of Ugly Love! Made me cry my butt off!

Christi Schanke October 28, 2015 at 4:36 PM

OMG, it’s hard to pick one, but it would have to be Hopeless, pretty much the whole book!!

MichelleS October 28, 2015 at 4:49 PM

Slammed – my first CH – and when she finds out who he is…. still love that book so much

Verna October 28, 2015 at 4:51 PM

I love when Will reads his poem to Lake, I love Will!! Already love all pages

Brooke October 28, 2015 at 4:55 PM

The no kiss scene from Hopeless!!! Thanks so much for the giveaway!

Stephanie October 28, 2015 at 4:56 PM

My favorite angsty moment is in Ugly Love when Tate and Miles are having sex and he calls her Rachel and she says, “Just finish, Miles.” Tears. Streaming. Down. My. Face.

Kristen K. October 28, 2015 at 5:08 PM

I love love love Holder and Sky’s first kiss!

Pam October 28, 2015 at 5:26 PM

I’m going to say Ugly Love, but not what part because I don’t want to spoil anything.

Heather Heslep Morrissey October 28, 2015 at 6:21 PM

I feel like the entire book Maybe Someday was angst filled and I loved it!

bn100 October 28, 2015 at 6:54 PM

never read this author, so no fav moment

Terrill R. October 28, 2015 at 7:21 PM

In Maybe Someday when the reality of Ridge and Maggie’s relationship hits Sydney. Prior to meeting Maggie, Sydney didn’t have to think about her being real. As much as this is my favorite book by Colleen Hoover so far, the love triangle killed me.

Tanya October 28, 2015 at 7:22 PM

Favorite angsty moment: In Slammed when Lake and Will are in the hallway at school. Lake realizes that Will is a teacher and Will realizes that Lake is a student. OMG, the drama! Loved it (even though it hurt my heart for them both)

Cheryl October 28, 2015 at 7:24 PM

After Tate tells Miles that he missed her and it all falls apart…

Sorry, I’m not on facebook or twitter.

Alyssa Davila October 28, 2015 at 7:35 PM

The most angsty scene I liked was the whole love triangle in Maybe Someday. Nothing hits you right in the feels like a well written love triangle where you’re rooting for both girls to win the guy. Angst to the extreme.

yohanna baez October 28, 2015 at 7:45 PM

Slammed is one of my favorite
Thank you

Heather October 28, 2015 at 7:50 PM

All of Ugly Love or Confess!

Kim L October 28, 2015 at 8:22 PM

I this is awesome. Favorite angst has go to be when Holder told Sky who he thinks she is. OMG the feels!!!!

Sue October 28, 2015 at 8:49 PM

How can you pick just one. CoHo’s books are amazing.

Kim P October 28, 2015 at 8:58 PM

I love when Sydney and Ridge write songs together in Maybe Someday!

Stephanie October 28, 2015 at 9:04 PM

My favorite angst moments are all from Ugly Love!

Anne October 28, 2015 at 9:22 PM

I have to say Ugly Love had some major angsty moments. I cried so much with that book!

Can’t wait to read November 9. Love Colleen!

Jennifer Lane October 28, 2015 at 9:58 PM

Great review! When Holder realizes Skye doesn’t remember him, my heart broke.

Jamie Everson October 28, 2015 at 11:12 PM

I was just re-reading Hopeless and talk about angst! I forgot how much I love this book, well I love all Colleen Hoover books. Would love to win this give away, thanks!

Julie October 29, 2015 at 12:20 AM

I can’t choose just one–I’ve loved all the Colleen Hoover books I’ve read!

Rachelle C October 29, 2015 at 4:03 AM

My angsty moment was from Ugly Love it really wasn’t a moment so much as the push and pull from Miles.
Can’t wait to read November 9!!!!
Thank You Maryse for the chance

Minha October 29, 2015 at 4:43 AM

Is it a stand alone? Sounds very intriguing, would love to win. Thanks!

Jen reilley October 29, 2015 at 6:37 AM

The whole Ugly love book was to me. I can’t wait for the movie

Jennifer Taylor October 29, 2015 at 8:15 AM

All of Slammed. Slammed is my favorite of her books. I already liked all three pages. Thank you for this giveaway.

sondes October 29, 2015 at 8:25 AM

i’ve read all CoHo’s books and i love every single one of them , now i only need november9 *-* … btw i fav book was confess i cried from the first page (u know adam’s death :x ) :’D

Shirley October 29, 2015 at 9:43 AM

I can’t really pick one favorite comment in Colleen Hoover’s Books, because every book I read from her becomes my favorite. But one of the books has an even bigger space in my heart than the others, because as I always say, it was not a book but an experience. And this one is: Maybe Someday. My absolutely favorite. And from that book my favorite angsty moment would be, when Ridge is trying to see Sidney but he doesn’t know where she is living, so he does all this crazy stuff to find her, and whenever he does go to her house all of what happens in there. Only by writing it and remembering it, I get all weepy.

I hope I win! I truly can’t wait to read November 9.

Kim October 29, 2015 at 10:49 AM

I have loved all of the books I have read by Colleen Hoover! But Losing Hope has stuck with me.

Heather October 29, 2015 at 11:11 AM

Shoot that is a tough question but if I have to say just one I will pick when Layken finds out who her teacher is…. oh my!! Thanks for the chance. Great review, by the way!!

nancy October 29, 2015 at 11:14 AM

I’d love to have this book. Colleen Hoover always delivers a great story.

Shelly W October 29, 2015 at 11:55 AM

I have actually never read a book by Colleen Hoover. Hangs head in shame.

Julie October 29, 2015 at 12:04 PM

My favorite moment of all Colleen’s books is the scene in Ugly Love where Miles calls Tate Rachel by mistake. So, so heartbreaking.

Holly October 29, 2015 at 12:26 PM

I have at least one from each book, but here are two . . .

Maybe Someday: Ridge telling Sydney that he failed miserably at not falling in love with her.


Ugly Love: Miles to Tate “if I were capable of loving someone, it would be you”

Jackie Lynch October 29, 2015 at 3:57 PM

I would love, love to read this book but not only this book all her books.
I have yet to pick up or read a Colleen Hoover book.
It’s pin my bucket list.
Because she is fantastic and I LOVE HER statuses and tweets she’s a hilarious women.
So this would be a dream as well.

Thank you for this chance.

Cara Nicole October 29, 2015 at 5:47 PM

Would love this!!! I would have to say just about any moment in Ugly Love :-) Thank you so much for the chance!

Elena chavez October 29, 2015 at 5:52 PM

Hopeless and losing hope are my absolute favorites of her books. I cant say my favorite angst because i would have to write both books out from beginning to end, but to be honest both book really do it for me. Colleen truly has a talent. SHE REALLY ENJOY MESSING WITH YOUR EMOTIONS IN ALL OF HER BOOKS.

Elena chavez October 29, 2015 at 5:53 PM

Hopeless and losing hope are my absolute favorites of her books. I cant say my favorite angst because i would have to write both books out from beginning to end. Colleen truly has an amazing talent. SHE REALLY ENJOY MESSING WITH YOUR EMOTIONS IN ALL OF HER BOOKS.

daphney October 29, 2015 at 8:22 PM

Angsty? Well nothing more angsty than the poem written by Layken to Will entitled Mean. I love it :)

Patty October 29, 2015 at 8:28 PM

Can’t narrow it down to one moment in so many wonderful books, which I have read all of hers.

Annie October 29, 2015 at 8:28 PM

I love everything written by CoHo but Slammed will always remain by favorite. As for the “moment”..we all know which one.

Jen October 30, 2015 at 1:04 PM

Maybe Someday . . . when they are writing the song in Ridge’s bedroom.

Mary October 30, 2015 at 2:18 PM

Definitely the climax of Maybe Someday – how can I pick just one? Probably when Ridge ‘says’ “I change my mind, you need to leave now.” That gutted me!

Grey October 31, 2015 at 11:06 AM

Um whoa!!!! I’d Love to win this one! *faint* I think I just toppled over! Cannot pick a favorite! Whoa! Shocked!

Barbara Murray October 31, 2015 at 1:11 PM

I am just going to say Ugly Love my favorite of Colleen’s books.

Debra D November 1, 2015 at 4:03 PM

Slammed when you first find out the Will is her teacher!!!!! AHHHHH! Love it!!!

T. Hosler November 1, 2015 at 5:02 PM

I’ve read all of Colleen’s books with Slammed being my favorite. I don’t want to spoil anything, so I will keep my favorite angst part to myself. Great giveaway!

kellye November 1, 2015 at 7:49 PM

Not sure if this is “angsty” or not but I loved the mother leaving the folded notes for her for after she was gone

Christie November 1, 2015 at 7:53 PM

Umm love love love all of her books and esp Hopeless. Loved the angst in slammed when she finds out he’s the teacher!

Dee Swan November 1, 2015 at 8:05 PM

Pretty much the whole book of Ugly Love!! Loved it!!! Thanks!!!!

Erika November 1, 2015 at 10:21 PM

I love Colleen Hoover’s books! Thank you so much for the chance to win!

Leave a Comment


Notify me of followup comments to this post via e-mail. You can also subscribe without commenting.

Previous post:

Next post: