Book Review – On Dublin Street by Samantha Young

by Maryse on September 4, 2012 · 42 comments

in My Book Reviews

On Dublin Street
A review for this one, already? Didn’t I just start this last night? Yep! I was so excited about this book after the enthusiastic “Labor Day”  recommendations for it, that I ignored my TBR list and jumped on this one immediately. And it appears so many of you joined me!

Maryse’s Book Blog: You girls are just as bad as I am with your awesome book recommendations and making my TBR list build & shift like crazy. That’s right! —>  Just as bad as me! *silly grin* and I love you for it when you find me something that moves my entire TBR list down to move a book right to the top. “On Dublin Street” by Samantha Young. This is what I’m currently reading. Right now. As we speak. I am starting it! *squeeeee*

Cortney: I loved that book!!

Jennifer: Same thing. Just bought it. Totally wrecked my TBR list. :)

Tamara: Reading it now too – loving it!

Megan: Just downloaded it…thank you! I am a third of the way through SITD, then I’m onto Clash. Then…this one!

Maryse’s Book Blog: OMG just had an awesome chuckle. While I don’t think its a comedy of any sort, it is witty! —> an awkward first meeting led to this quote: “I would say it was nice to meet you, but I was naked, so… It wasn’t” tee hee!!

Tamara: I am laughing at bits all the way through

Fabiana: bank is broke again!!! Lol..I can’t stop buying your recs!! Lol..too funny..but..I’m on it!!! Starting now….

Yanira: I’m going to take a break from Heller’s series. This one sounds perfect!

Tasha: I just bought this one to.. Will be starting it as soon as I finish Behind Closed Doors by Shannon McKenna

Yanira: I love Joss already. Meow! And Braden…hmmm.

Linda: It looks so good!!! Can’t wait to start reading it. Thanks bunches for all your recommendations!!

Amanda: Alright….I’m convinced. Starting it now!!

Lucy: Glad you moved this up your list… I read it earlier and immediately fell in love with it.. Humourous yet sexy!

Nancy: This makes the 6th book to move my TBR list around that you recommended, & I think that is only this week.

Michele: GOT IT! :D

Yanira: This book is SO SO SO SO Good Braden is perfectly yummy. I stayed up until almost 2 am this morning!

Jennifer: I stayed up until almost 2 am also Yanira:) Still need to finish it today, got started on it late last night but you are right about Braden!

Joanna: WOW WOW WOW!!!! This one is really good, LOVE it!!!!

Yanira: I’m a zombie today, but is well worth it!! I just want the day to be over so I can return to Braden.

Maryse’s Book Blog: yep!! Yanira, me too! I fell asleep at 1 am and woke back up at 5 am and finished the book at 7am. Zombie for sure, me too. So good though!

So was it everything I was hoping it would be? YES!! Absolutely a great, read that I almost didn’t put down (only reason I did put it down was because I conked out at 1 am, with my iPad cuddled to me like a teddybear). And after my “nap”, I finished it. It feels like I pulled an all-nighter with this one but so worth it. Braden and the upcoming angst was calling me, and I didn’t stop until I was finished this morning. Me a sleep-zombie? You bet! But I’ve worked like this before, so… you know. Plus I have coffee. ;) Ohhhh thank you coffee!!!

So what’s it about? American born Joss has been living in Scotland for the last five years. Struggling from a terribly heartbreaking past, she lives life forcing memories away, and making “friends” but never fully connecting to anyone. Never getting close means never feeling pain if (when) it all goes away again. After her perfectly “suited-to-her-needs” friends move away to London, she is forced to look for a new roommate…

Oh hell, I was in love.

“It’s beautiful.”

I wanted to live here. To hell with the cost. To hell with a chatty roommate. I’d lived frugally for long enough. I was alone in a country I’d adopted. I deserved a little comfort.

I’d get used to Ellie. She talked a lot, but was sweet and charming, and there was something innately kind in her eyes.

… and re-establish her carefully constructed boundaries with new people.

And she tries. But a few of them just won’t let her re-build her walls completely. And one of them… she’s hot for!

“You’re a hard nut to crack.”

Okay, clearly I had to lay it out clear and simple for this guy. “Hey, there will be no cracking of this nut. Now or ever.”

He was choking on laughter now as he stepped towards me, making me back into the couch. “Really, Jocelyn… Why do you have to make everything sound so dirty?”

My mouth fell open in outrage as he turned and left… with the last word.

I hated him.

I really did.

Pity my body did not.

This one was so easy to get into, right off the bat. Quite an intense opening scene, so you knew… what kind of heartache you could be in for. Great writing, and a story and pacing that the reader could totally connect to. Personal drama, friends in the making, and quite a few moments of NO WAY did he/she just DO THAT!!!

Quickly, I turned away completely unprepared for the rush of blood in my ears and tightness in my chest.

But set that tone amongst a very witty cast of characters, and you’ll find yourself grinning like crazy amongst your growl-y moments.

Yep. But even though I was laughing, I knew this wasn’t a comedy. Heartbreak potential abounds, and there is more than just one tear-worthy scene. I shed a big tear! A big one rolled right down my cheek as my heart clenched, so officially, this one made me cry. And it made me mad. So mad. At a few of the characters, in a few different parts, but especially at one. Furious!! But I “got” it. Being human and all, means we’re not perfect, and certain situations can make us react badly. The whole “knowing better” but still reacting… *purses lips*

Certain life experiences, past memories, and future fears can set us on a self-destructive path, and hurt so many in the process. And this one had plenty of that. It was angsty, but almost perfectly paced in a way that didn’t over do it. Ok right, at one point I did mentally scream OH COME ON!!!!!!! (I suppose furious-me might have begged to differ), but it had just the right amount of everything for me to love it.

I hated that he was right. Our attraction was nuclear. I had never known anything like it.

It made Braden Carmichael extremely dangerous to me.

Oh and did I forget to mention the BEST part? Braden. Ohhhh yes BRADEN!!! He was ohhhhhh sooooo intensely gorgeous, rich and a perfect mix of bossy & sweet. A touch reminiscent of a Kristen Ashley alpha-male (my favorites!!). Sure Braden talked just a bit more, (less “one word” answers from this guy) but his “MINE” moments, his one word “Babe.” moments, and his demands were just perfect.

Intense attraction, heart-melting romance, blood-boiling “that better not be what I think it is” moments, giggles, exasperation and angst, made for an excellently balanced, all-consuming read. LOVED it!

4.5 stars!!

Get Free Email Updates from me :)

{ 42 comments… read them below or add one }

Mary jo September 4, 2012 at 12:37 PM

I was having TBR anxiety and wasn’t sure what “mood” I was looking for but, you’ve answered it for me! Downloading now, thanks Maryse!

Devon September 4, 2012 at 12:55 PM

So I had to jump on this one last night when I saw you mention it. I started reading it immediately and, also, finished at 2am. I’m going to let this one sink in for a while before jumping on to the next. It was perfectly paced, the characters were full, there was laughing, oohing, and a tear or two. I really loved it. Her writing style is just hypnotic. I seriously couldn’t put it down.

Kirsten September 4, 2012 at 1:01 PM

I really enjoyed most of the characters in this book, and it just all felt so real. I could understand where Joss was in life, and while it drove me nuts at points, and to tears at others, I got her. I loved Braden in all his alpha maleness. I found the author to be quite witty and I enjoyed the way she paced the story. It was really great read.

Linh September 4, 2012 at 1:29 PM

Oh me oh my. One of my favorite this year so far. Braden was just so PERFECT!!! I love how he talks to her. So ALPHA and so sure of himself. I would love to read this book from his perspective. I thought the author did an excellent job. Can’t wait to see if she does a sequel.

Once again…this blog did it for me. Gave me 4 hours of pure bliss with this recommendation. Thanks Maryse!

5 STARS!!!!!!

Maryse September 4, 2012 at 4:00 PM

So glad you guys loved it too!! I’m still exhausted but in a happy post-book glow.

Melody September 4, 2012 at 6:51 PM

I loved it and I’m sad it’s over I hope for more to come
Thanks to u and your awesome blog

Nicole M A September 4, 2012 at 7:33 PM

aahh! I hate when you write these amazing reviews and I freak out and rush to to buy the book only to find out that it’s not available through them!!! Now you have me dying to read this book and I can’t! :( (I did go on the authors blog and read that she is trying to make them available through b&n) So, now I have to wait “patiently.” :) I absolutely love your blog. (even though it makes me go a little crazy at times.) Hehe ;)

Kristina September 4, 2012 at 7:40 PM

Off and running to buy…

catrina September 4, 2012 at 10:25 PM

So I finally finished ahhhhhhh!!!!! It was everything n more I loved Joss n Braden I love how witty they both were n his cockyness :) I loved the scene n conversation when they met & the “business dinner” conversation I was cracking up! !!! Now I can get a bit more sleep tonight lol thanks for your recommendations Maryse ..hmmm wht to read next I was focusing on other books n stopped n dropped to read what u were reading he!he!he! ;)

catrina September 4, 2012 at 10:32 PM

Did I forget yo mention I tear up twice choked up one :*)
FYI Maryse did u see Jamie Mcgurie’s blogg another teaser for her 1500 mark ;)

catrina September 4, 2012 at 10:35 PM

Beautiful Disaster. …..I’m sorry my words r coming out faster then my typing ;)

Kristina T. September 4, 2012 at 11:34 PM

Grinning :) sigh, very good book. I checked out the author & was surprised that she’s on 26, has written 4 series, & 10 novels.. woah!! Talk about talent. Look forward to more of her books. Thanks Maryse, you’re the best!!

Lauren September 4, 2012 at 11:41 PM

OK so i never really comment on books that I am reading or i sometimes wait until I am done but OMG. I am at 83% and cannot stop gasping!!!!! I absolutely love Braden!! All of him! His cockiness, his aggressiveness, his charm, his confidence! All of him! Thank you so much for recommending this book! I have been trying to get my Beautiful Disaster fix and this one came close!

Mary jo September 5, 2012 at 3:34 AM

OMG! AMAZING! Its 3:30am and I’m definitely going to be a book zombie but it is so worth it to finish this book. And BRADEN, oh my, he is definitely up there with my favorites: Christian, Kellan, Travis, Ty, Joe and Hawk. THANK YOU MARYSE! I’ve been reading some pretty good books but none have taken me here in a while and I’ve missed it!

Carla September 5, 2012 at 12:12 PM

Oh my! great review Maryse.
I need to check this out. It seems this Braden guy is wonderful, huh? When you compared him with KA heros, I was already moving my TBR list. I need an alpha male book right now!

Anne September 5, 2012 at 4:09 PM

Great, great read. Absolutely loved Braden – fantastic character – he has earnt a place right up there longside my Kellen / Travis crushes!

Really entertaining read – loved the chemistry and the witty verbal sparing between Joss and Braden. It’s a definite squee from me

Jill September 5, 2012 at 6:23 PM

Yep, you had me at Kristen Ashley! ;)

Cheryl September 6, 2012 at 8:45 AM

5 Stars! LOVED it. I cried and cried. Sounds like we all agree..Braden will everyone’s list of this year’s book boyfriends.

Kristin September 6, 2012 at 9:11 AM

Totally enjoyed this book! Read all the comments and recommendations on your blog and bought it yesterday and finished this morning.

Danielle September 6, 2012 at 10:52 AM

Beautiful Story! Super Angsty! Super Emotional! Totally Hot Alpha Hero! 5 Stars!!!

Danielle G September 6, 2012 at 9:10 PM

So unbelivably happy I read this! I laughed, I creied, I wanted to beat Joss over the head with my Nook! And Braden…. YUM! Even his name drips sex appeal!

Kristina September 6, 2012 at 9:18 PM

Awesome, just awesome. Kellan…Travis…Christian…Braden…Jake…who’s next? Thank you for all you recos. They are just great.

Minha September 7, 2012 at 5:48 AM

Thank you for another great recommendation. I really enjoyed that Braden didn’t take any of Joss’s “crap”. He is true alfa male, secure and mature (refreshing). The relationship felt very realistic. Great read.

Lisa September 7, 2012 at 11:06 AM

I truly enjoyed this book. I loved how real the characters were written. The chemistry between Braden and Joss was electric. I love that they were snarky with each other and I’ll admit it I loved his potty mouth. Thank you for the suggestion. It was an emotional ride but i loved it. I would love a book about Ellie & Adam!!!

roxyelias September 7, 2012 at 2:08 PM

I really loved this book! The characters were very realistic and Braden was one of the best heroes that i ever read

Keighley September 8, 2012 at 1:23 PM

Next book on my list! I’m Scottish so I want to see f they manage to capture realistic feeling

Kelli September 9, 2012 at 11:29 AM

Up til three, not a good morning for my 6am wake up call from my 6 and 7 year old! Excellent read, had to read ahead, love the characters and could just hear the accent when Braden spoke. One of my favorites this year! The alpha male is so much fun in this one and the arguing, so fun, but Braden has a little bit of dom feel in the bedroom, but not over the top (which I dont’ mind anyway, but this has a good balance!) Lol,

chiqui September 10, 2012 at 5:03 PM

I started this last night, after comtemplating the whole day if I should stop reading rock hard (I cannot connect with Sed and Jessica, Brian and Myrna and well Trey ruined them for me lol!) Im so glad I did!! I cannot wait tonight to finish it. Braden is <3!!

kasey September 16, 2012 at 6:16 PM

I could not put this book down and it did not disappoint. It is a new favorite

Takisha Bodley September 24, 2012 at 2:49 AM

I finally started and finished this one in one day…it made me sad, laugh, gave me a lil bit of angst, i got punched in the stomach a few times with one of the punches literally taking me out but as I continued to read I started feeling better about life :) Good read, glad i finally got around to it…on to the next

Amber September 24, 2012 at 10:21 AM

I LOVED LOVED LOVED LOVED this book. I feel in love with how broken Joss was and Braden he was just oh there are no words. Who wouldn’t want themselves a Braden. I almost smacked him a few times, but I was so frustrated with Joss I could understand where he was coming from. A great great love story.

Stacey September 27, 2012 at 8:23 PM

Another awesome recommendation – thank you!! I couldn’t put this one down and finished it in a day! I loved the dynamic of Braden and Joss’ relationship and how he ‘found’ his way into her little by little.

Kim September 28, 2012 at 10:17 AM

I just started this one and I’m already in love… I laughed Do you have a name? I have two LOL!

Oh I just finished Tara Sivec’s following to Seduction & Snacks- Futures & Frosting- OMG hysterical all I have to say is “Benjamin Wa” when you read that part I hope you are laughing as hard as I was!

Dawn September 30, 2012 at 3:54 PM

Just finished this and WOW!! I totally loved it! Being a Scottish “Lassy” (girl/woman!!) I can assure you a big strapping take charge but sweet as a bar of Galaxy Scotsman is a very sexy being! I’m totally in love with Braden. And Joss and them as a couple! Like you I laughed and cried big real tears throughout this book. I hope there will be another I need more of them.

Denise September 30, 2012 at 7:55 PM

Loved this book!!!
Jocelyn’s journey was heart wrenching and powerful
Braden’s desire to be with her and help her love foreard while accepting who she is was so endearing

The 2ndary character development was wonderful as well

Can’t wait to

Sharon October 8, 2012 at 8:01 PM

I just finished this one…started it yesterday afternoon and just couldn’t put it down! What an amazing read! I loved the passion, the angst, and all of the surrounding characters! It was just beautiful and I am sorry that I waited 2 weeks to read it!!

Thanks for the review, Maryse!

Jenni Hatfield December 6, 2012 at 2:14 PM

Absolutely, fell in love with Joss, Braden and the entire clan on Dublin Street. I hate when I fall in love with characters and the author sums everything up in an epilog! I would have loved to hear about him proposing, her doubting herself, the talk about having children and so on!

Denise December 6, 2012 at 2:39 PM

I have to disagree I LOVE the epigloue. for me it made the book!!!…. Samantha can still go back and show the reading all that was mentioned above

Laurie May 15, 2013 at 4:49 AM

Thank you for the recommendation!
I started reading this story while visiting Dublin and finished it in Edinburgh, right around the corner from Dublin Street. What a terrific read. The characters grabbed me right from the start. I loved (and hated) the rocky road to get to Joss and Braden’s HEA.
Fantastic read. Thanks for never steering me wrong!
From a fellow Canuck.

Carol February 14, 2014 at 5:48 PM

Just finished Jamica Lane and where as Dublin Street was brilliant, Jamica Lane was only ok.

Shawn August 29, 2014 at 9:12 AM

This was another great story. I have followed the series and would recommend them to everyone. It gives you everything a girl could ask for and more!! It’s awesome!

Carol September 4, 2014 at 8:08 PM

Love the whole series!

Leave a Comment


Notify me of followup comments to this post via e-mail. You can also subscribe without commenting.

Previous post:

Next post: