Book Review – Reflected In You by Sylvia Day

by Maryse on October 4, 2012 · 41 comments

in My Book Reviews

Reflected in You: Book #2 in the Crossfire Series (see my review for book#1 – Bared To You, if you haven’t read this yet. I recommend THIS series as the perfect read after Fifty Shades of Grey. Or just… the perfect read. ;)

Finally!!! It feels like I’ve been waiting ages for this and the day finally came! Annnnnd…. went. *sigh* Yes. I devoured this one practically in one overnight sitting and I have a feeling I read it way too fast. I couldn’t help myself. I gorged on Gideon! I was a Gideon glutton. *blush* (too much?) Tee hee!

But here I was, constantly awed by the gorgeousness of the complicated, frustrating, messed up, sexy-as-sin man I was falling deeper in love with every day.

And it took a couple of days to digest because OMG… stuff happened, people! But I can assure you, I didn’t digest quietly. Privately, yes… quietly no. I let some *spoilery* emotions out here or there with some fellow readers, and I’ll let y’all in on ‘em too (within reason). *whoops* Looking at my notes, I … ahem. Said a few *choice* words. I called someone a name. A few “someones”. Not nice ones, either.

Now I will admit, I was “liking it” through the first half, but it was when I hit that 50% mark that I was IN!!!! I mean, come on. I was obviously already SO IN, but when I hit 50% my addiction went through the roof. My connection to the story solidified. My irritation level with anyone who interrupted my reading at this point… yep. I wasn’t very nice. And when I’m a “mean reader” you know I am loving it.

My husband was all…

“oh and so like.. listen to this thing I just read on the Internet… *blah blah blah blah blah…..*

and I was all… “Uh huh” *nod* *nod*

And he was all “blah blah blah, look, here’s a video of how it’s done…”

And I was all… *blink blink*

and in my mind I was thinking… “OMG! Grrrrrrrrrr. THIS *spoiler* is happening RIGHT. NOW!!!!!!! And I need to know if it’s what I think it is, and you’re interrupting me!!!?????” <—– imagine my voice at it’s screechiest right here, and you’ve got what I would have sounded like had I said what I was thinking. Let’s just say, at that point, I was very mad at men in general. ;)

Hrmmmm… come to think of it. It is possible I did screech that, ’cause I don’t remember him trying to get my attention after that one.

This installment heatedly furthers their story, and provides more insight into who they are, and who they’ve become in their short tumultuous time together. It gives us more extreme angst and infuriating moments (lengthy indulging moments) lots of intense passion (mostly ALWAYS intense passion) and that delicious jealousy always waiting in the wings.

“Hi, ace.”

His beautifully etched lips thinned for a moment. “Is there a particular meaning behind that endearment?”

“Well… you ace everything you do. And it’s the nickname of a fictional character I have a crush on. You remind me of him sometimes.”

“I’m not sure I like you having a crush on anyone but me, fictional or not.”

“You’ll get over it.”

Er. *smirk* I think he’d have a serious problem with us… ;) LOL! Actually, it was mentioned by a fellow reader that the fictional character “ace” she was referring to is none other than Roarke from the J.D. Robbs “In Death” series.

Tracy: Anyone that has read these-Eva called Gideon “Ace” because Eve calls Roarke “ACE”…she even mentions that this is why in Reflected…thought it was so cool!

Maryse’s Book Blog: OH WOW!!!! Thanks Tracy!

Tracy: … And she doesn’t actually name this series, but no doubt that she is talking about it because Roarke and Gideon are so, so similar!

And most of that jealousy isn’t as sweet and harmless as the quote above. There is a lot of it that is quite understandable.  Not all of it was that “simple misunderstanding” stuff. Some of it was… in your face.

Kirsten: They’re driving me nuts… but I love it!

Maryse: LOL! When she saw *spoiler* … ARGH!!!! I was stomping into his office, with her, *spoiler* and … I was all… NO! WAY!

Kirsten: Oh you and me both. I was livid. LOL. Right away all I could think was jeez I’m only a bit in and Sylvia so has me feeling everything.

Maryse: Oh God help me there’s a *spoiler*.  <—- sidenote from Maryse: This one was a reaaaaal good!!! I wish I could tell y’all what you’re in for. I didn’t even see it coming until I was right there and I thought… Oh wow this was written for us! You’ll see.

Kirsten: LOL. Ah yes *spoiler*… Knew you’d like *spoiler*.

Maryse: Ooooooooooooh he is soooo mad. So mad!! Ok I’m officially loving the book. 50 percent in, but it got me. I am hooked.

Kirsten: I was so pissed at *spoiler* for *spoiler*. What the hell was *spoiler* thinking? Brace yourself for the ride!

Hehe. I know. It doesn’t say much, does it? But it says a lot. That these two are FAR from “the perfect couple”, but they simply can’t get enough of each other…

I’d been sucked into the Gideon vortex almost from the outset. As much as I’d prefer to spend every waking moment with him, I knew it wasn’t healthy.

But that’s what we like. That’s who they are, and the ride they take us on is a total roller coaster. Points where I was SO mad at him. And at her.

“Christ.” His eyes blazed. “Not this again.”

UGGGGGGH!!! How daaaaarrrrrre he! Or was it… she? *waggles eyebrows*

Oh the mind games. But is it a game? Are their painful pasts influencing them so much as to jeopardize their future? Or is there something more complex in play?

What’s it about? This is Gideon and Eva, a month or so into their relationship (this one literally starts off the morning after the last one ended) and everything they still need to… figure out. Very simply, them. And a burning, raging, out of control love where everything “normal in a relationship” is sacrificed to appease and attempt to constantly indulge in their obsession of each other. But there is only so much of that burn that they can handle. After all… that kind of burn can flame out of control.

Are we there yet? Let’s just say… I can’t wait for #3. ;)

4 stars for the first half. 4.5 stars from 50% on. And because it’s Gideon… I’m officially giving it 4.5 stars.

“I’m not bailing when things get rough this time. Seriously, Cary” – I held his gaze – “am I really all that far ahead if I can’t take any waves?”

“Baby girl, Cross is a tsunami.”


Get Free Email Updates from me :)

{ 41 comments… read them below or add one }

Melissa October 4, 2012 at 8:48 PM

EEEkkkkk!!! I LOVED this one too! I was the SAME way with my hubby….he finally said, so I guess your book is really good? Oppps! My most FAV part…(well, one of them) was when he pinned her in the elevator and said….”WAIT”!!! MMMmmm…..Gideon, hurry back soon PLEASE!!!!!

Maryse October 4, 2012 at 8:56 PM

OMG YES!!!! That “wait” was SO NEEDED.

Dawn October 4, 2012 at 9:00 PM

First, I loved this book. It wasn’t until I finished it, that I realized how much. But Gideon PISSED me off !! Not since Kellan and Kiera (whom I adore !!!), have I wanted to jump into a book and strangle someone. That said, I still lust him and his heroic ways. Can’t wait for Entwined. Or Reckless, for that matter !!! ;-)

Amy October 4, 2012 at 9:02 PM

I laughed so hard at your impersonation of you and your husband. My husband and I are the exact same way. It usually ends with him rolling his eyes at me and my books! lol…
I have to admit, I was pretty peeved with Gideon through a lot of this book, but once I understood everything it all made sense. Now I love him again! Can’t wait for book 3!

Maryse October 4, 2012 at 9:05 PM

They BOTH had me SO mad, but yes, especially HIM!!!!! I LOVE IT! I LOVE when I get that upset. When I care that much, and when I freak out. It means I have become the heroine.

And let me say… that other “thing”. You know… her. Well. Wow. Eeeeeeeep!!! ;)

Maryse October 4, 2012 at 9:06 PM

“LIKE!” to Amy and Melissa for your similar husband situations. I’m glad I’m not alone on this! :P

Joy October 4, 2012 at 9:26 PM

I have to say that I wasn’t sure that I could get over my infatuation with Christian until I met Gideon… I love this story!!! And can’t wait until Entwined!!!

By the way, does anyone else think that Ian Somerhalder would be an awesome Gideon??? Just sayin’…..

Kuklamou October 4, 2012 at 9:35 PM

I was dragging butt at work because I stayed up ALL NIGHT to read RIY! I loved & hated them both at different times (and a couple of times I wanted to smack them both!!). I am so unpatiently waiting for EWY in December. If anyone is interested, Sylvia Day has a spoiler forum via Facebook for Reflected In You. It answers some of those burning questions. Don’t go there unless you have read the book!
PS. My husband fell asleep on the couch and I purposely did not wake him so that I could engulf myself with Gideon!

Kristin October 4, 2012 at 9:38 PM

Absolutely loved this book!! I sat all day and read it..I couldn’t put it down I got so caught up in Eva and Gideon’s story. I’m already reading it again because I want to really enjoy it this time, I read so fast the first time just to see what was going to happen. Can not wait for the 3rd it can’t come fast enough.

Melissa October 4, 2012 at 10:25 PM

I think this book was better than the first! The ending was obvious (I thought) but so worth the wait! I can’t wait for the ending! Once again, Thank you for the recommendation! I am going to read this book again this weekend to see what I missed! I read it so fast! I am a stay at home mom and read all day while my son was at school and my hubby was out of town!

Brianna October 4, 2012 at 10:30 PM

I’ve been waiting for 2 days for this review & not surprisingly, you didn’t dissappoint! I felt the same way about “needing to digest.” When I finished, I was at a loss! At 50% I had to put my ipad down and pace for a minute! This book pushed all my limits, but I couldnt get enough. I texted my “reading twin” throughout in anguish, love, anger, and just about every other emotion imaginable (without spoilers, of course)! By the time I finished, I called and begged her to put life on hold because I NEEDED an outlet! My quote was, “I’m at a loss, Ang. Crossfire makes 50 seem like a light-hearted comedy!” (haha) Thankfully, she happily obliged and I could vent within 24 hours! Love your blog, love your reviews, love your recommendations! Thank you!

Kathy October 4, 2012 at 10:35 PM

OMG I can not believe it ended there!!! I am so glad we only have a few months til book 3. I was not loving this book but all of a sudden it got me. I finished the book in utter disbelief and now can not stop thinking about it. I will be rereading the book soon

Angie H. October 4, 2012 at 11:45 PM

Oh, I am right there with you Maryse (& other readers) with the ‘tude emanating from my better half when I’m engrossed in a book. It looks weird reading out in one’s car late into the evening, so that option’s out. And every time I mentally scream at Gideon & Eva not to do something damaging, I remind myself that they’re in their 20′s and COMPLETELY absorbed with one another. The fact that they’re in counseling is fairly impressive and their raw emotional states aren’t really out of line for their situations. Sylvia Day is so good at the logical angst, isn’t she? Gideon is just even more appealing in “Reflected” and I wasn’t sure that was possible. May have to find a secluded cabin to read Book 3 ;)

Sandy October 5, 2012 at 5:57 AM

OMGoodness!! I was not expecting that Twist really even though looking back I should have been. Sylvia Day took me all the way THERE. I loved it and cannot wait for book 3. If Gideon is a tsunami then baby he can sweep me away! I read the black pajama pants at the beach house like 10 times cause it was that good.

Barb October 5, 2012 at 7:48 AM

First, I just want to say, you are one of the first web-book bloggers that I found. You have lead me to some really wonderful books that I was looking for after BD, plus many more! Thank you! Now to Reflected, I loved the book up until maybe the last 3 chapters. I felt like Eva just withdrew and became so domicile. What I loved about her in the first book was that she was a no take crap girl! Glad to see she started to get it back towards the end of this book, Yay, Eva got back!!! Gideon on the other hand, what was up with that? We need some Corrine explanation and a huge Nathan expanation!!! Frankly, I started to get turned off by, Gideon and really. What was insinuated at the end is still wrong, no matter who it is (trying to be vague as to not give any spoilers away)! Yet everyone seems to be overlooking and missing this point, just because we all love Gideon!

Ida October 5, 2012 at 8:06 AM

WOW!!!! I just pulled an all-nighter to finish the book… Yes, I’m dragging my butt at work today, but it was so worth it. Brianna I’m with you. My heart was beating fast and my hands where literally shaking at that point in the book. I had to walk away and take a breather. INTENSE doesn’t even begin to describe it. I never thought I would find another series that could surpass 50, but Sylvia Day did that and more. I don’t think I’m going to make it to December for book #3. I WANT IT NOW!!!

Maryse October 5, 2012 at 8:39 AM

LOL Barb!!! Yes! I couldn’t bring it up officially in review but… let’s just say in real life… *eye brow* raise.

There’s still a third book though, and I’m curious where it could go in that respect.

Kirsten October 5, 2012 at 8:52 AM

@Barb- Come join our spoiler discussion thread on RIY so we can talk about some of your concerns since I don’t want to spoil anything for those who haven’t read.

@Maryse- As always enjoyed your spoiler free review. Also I appreciate that I can pick apart a book with you, and share my joys and frustrations with each of the characters. Lord knows my husband doesn’t want to hear about it. hehe. This little community right here is the best. Thank you! Now I’m counting down to Hollow and you know you’ll be hearing from me a ton then. ;)

Carrie October 5, 2012 at 9:10 AM

I feel every emotion you all just described!! I’m so glad I found this blog and apart of this community!! I LOVE books and what they make you feel. I love Gideon—but I love how strong Eva is too. Though she will do sometimes annoying things…she doesn’t let this force of a man push her down and around!! Except when her clothes are off ;) and that is ok ;)

Lisa October 5, 2012 at 9:31 AM

I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE these two characters (and sometimes hate, hate, hate…ok just a little, arghhh). You all have said it best about the emotions that are evoked from Syliva’s CrossFire series, which are intense, enthralling, and just mind-blowing :-) . It took me all of the first book and about 50% of the second to really “get” Eva and her issues. But I found myself, first once, not only loving Gideon but Eva just as much by the end of this book. I can only imagine what’s in store for us in Entwined with you, which I am beyond excited for and cannot believe we have to wait another two months!! **Mental note: From now on, I really need to wait to start reading a series until ALL the books are published :-(

Karen October 5, 2012 at 10:12 AM

I read Reflected in You in 4.5 hrs, couldn’t put it down. I had to see how it would end. The ups and downs of their relationship was very stressful. My first thought was I didn’t like it. But now that I’m back rereading it at a much slower pace, I’m enjoying it more.

I’m curious how book 3 will end. On twitter, a fellow tweeter asked Sylvia Day if there would be a 4th book and she said it was possible.

sandy October 5, 2012 at 1:32 PM

so loved it, hate waiting for next one:(,,,, not sure who i love more Christian or Gideon,, maybe i’ll take both:) haha

Kim October 5, 2012 at 5:57 PM

I loved it!!!!! I can’t wait until December for book three.. OH MY mile high club :) Gideon WOW!!!

Natalie October 5, 2012 at 7:44 PM

I loved the book too! Gideon often made me mad, but I love when something Im reading can effect my emotions like that. I too have a boyfriend that gets the evil eye and annoyed “uh huhs” from me while reading a good book! Im so looking forward to book #3, but this book was such a crazy ride Im almost worried about the damage the next one can do to my nerves :P But Im sure it will be worth it!

Celeste October 5, 2012 at 8:15 PM

I have a feeling I read this too fast too. For me, it was more frustrating than anything else. I wish she’d let them enjoy their relationship a while first before just throwing problem after problem at them like that. And then the whole deal at the end? I really didn’t like that plot twist. I don’t think it was realistic at all. I’m going to reread though and maybe it’ll be more believable/make more sense.

marion croslydon October 6, 2012 at 11:18 AM

Thanks for your review, Maryse. I struggled for the first half. Not sure I could take all the drama and the psycho side of Gideon… then I got addicted. I totally got the end and now I want Entwined. It’s definitely not a “Neutral” book! M x

Barb October 8, 2012 at 8:28 PM


Patty October 9, 2012 at 10:41 AM

OK, now I am going crazy…this doesnt go to print until 10/23, I may have to run out and get my kindle now…..It’s been a while since I read “bared to you” maybe I will re-read it in the meantime to refresh my memory…..

Can anyone recommend which I should get a Nook or Kindle….I did notice alot of Maryse’s review are available only on Nook….HELP..

I cant wait for this book to come after reading all your comments…..I am hooked…

Ida October 9, 2012 at 10:46 AM

@Patty…. I have the Nook Color and I love it.

Maryse October 9, 2012 at 11:44 AM

Patty – they are actually mostly available on Kindle. Many indie writers appear on Amazon (Kindle) quicker then on Barnes & Noble (Nook) for some reason…

Surj October 9, 2012 at 2:32 PM

Omg…. I couldn’t put the book down. I started it on sunday and finished it at work (I’m a pharma rep so finished it waiting for my doctors to finish their clinics in hospital!!!! God help anyone that tried to interupt me). The book was so intense and I felt so many emotions reading it. It was so addictive. I cant wait for entwined and am really hoping that that won’t be the end of the story… will I really be ready to let go of Gideon?????

Avery October 10, 2012 at 11:35 AM

Absolutely loved it! Thanks for the recommendation! I found your site after reading 50. I also read it too quickly and I’m in withdrawal again lol. I did feel that the ending was very predictable but I didn’t mind. Off to check out the discussion boards…

Holley October 13, 2012 at 11:59 AM

Can somebody tell me who had been in gideons office when eva found him taking a shower and lipstick on his shirt?? Cos it wasnt corrine xx

karen October 17, 2012 at 7:51 AM

Im so glad i looked at your site. I thought i was going mad. I read all of 50 shades really fast and felt so emotional. Then i read bared to you and reflected in you really fast and at the end felt like i had been on an emotional roller coster. I thought i must be the only one that wanted to cry at them splitting, wanted to kill G for hurting her by *spoiler* in the end. Since reading this site i know im not the only one going crazy for a fictional character in a book. God i cant wait for book 3. My nerves need a break though so im glad ive a few months to wait.

TL.Johnson October 17, 2012 at 8:40 AM

This book is wonderful and I can’t wait until the 3rd release because I’m ready for it. Since then I have been reading the, “For His Pleasure” series. Very good read.

Monica V October 17, 2012 at 4:19 PM

Just read that the 3rd book will come out in MAY!!!!!! This is not good.

Sandy J. Long October 25, 2012 at 11:05 AM

What can i say that hasn’t already been said… LOVE EVA… she has been a work in progress.. and love how she is finally finding her strengths and taking risks… Who wouldn’t want a Cary in their lives… where can we get one… He is perfect for her as her best friend both broken and have dealings of their own but understand and support… AND now my Dear Gideon… Can i just slap you around a bit, i hated that you were putting poor Eva through the ringer and it wasn’t until the very end ( Which i had to read twice ) to see it was a process for you and that you did in fact have her heart… double checking the dates for the book #3 seriously MAY 2013
I think i am going to have a heart ache until then… I so want more and i so want only good things with them… but MAY!!!! :( makes me really sad… Maryse, i know you can get inside scoop… work your magic girl… MAKE MY DAY…tell me my wait is NOT MONTHS FROM NOW!!!!

Barb October 26, 2012 at 3:08 PM

Just saw that Entwined in You isn’t due for release until May 2013. It’s not bad, that Reflected in You, had left me with mixed emotions and had to wait until December 2012, but now I don’t know if I will care enough to read it after waiting so long! Maybe the author had to go back and do some editting to bring it all together after this release and so many unaswered questions!

Saroj Naik November 4, 2012 at 6:16 AM

what is the cost of the book in india.

shanna November 15, 2012 at 12:02 AM

Omg I like 50 shades but I loved tis book I can’t wait for entwined its killing me …

gadunga November 27, 2012 at 3:59 AM

After reading Fifty Shades series and now Bared to You and just finished Reflected in You my husband is sleeping on the couch because of my night lamp on till all hours of the morning arghhhhhh

Can anyone please help and recommend another book while I wait for book three?????

Leave a Comment


Notify me of followup comments to this post via e-mail. You can also subscribe without commenting.

Previous post:

Next post: