Book Review – Rock Me by Cherrie Lynn

by Maryse on June 16, 2011 · 30 comments

in Bad Boys & Rock Stars, My Book Reviews

Rock Me (Ross Siblings Book 2)
This is yet another book that had me reading practically non-stop from page one, except I had to stop so I could sleep, and I didn’t even need or want to! Stupid responsibilities!

You know you love a book when you wake up in the morning, can’t stop thinking about it, and get excited when you run into people so you can tell everyone around you about it. Lily got my first dose of enthusiasm…

“So good
SO SO good
I think he is my new favorite. Everything he says or does or how he acts… mind blowing.”

It’s true. When I think back to the “hero” of this book, he felt so real. How he spoke (to her, to his brother, to his friends), his attitude towards life, his lifestyle, his entourage, even the Korn concert (and ohhhh wow did I LOVE that chapter).

“Can I have it, baby?” he whispered.

She gave the briefest of nods, which caused her mouth to slide over his.



He just felt, to me, like the real deal. In fact, I’ve known “him and his entourage”, once upon a time.

Then I gushed all over my Facebook girls…

It’s my #1 in a long time right now cause OMG I can’t stand how much I heart the bad boy – woooo hoooo – Like I told Lily (oh yah I gushed for an hour this morning - I gotta review it I can feel it in me)

I told her – I like ‘em honorable deep down, but all attitude on the outside… and this one is THAT.

Then, well, I had to tell you all in a mini pre-review. I wasn’t even done yet, and I KNEW I was loving it right to the end. And what a great mood I was in all day knowing I had the rest of their story to look forward to that evening.

Of course it helped that I was totally in the mood for something of this calibre. Miss sweet and innocent (Candace) gets her first tattoo and crushes HARD on Brian – the badboy tattoo artist (to his obvious amusement). He might not have been an official “rock star”, but he had all the qualities of one. I quickly realized this might end up being a player’s game, and that I would get all of the rush and maybe even a bit of the heartache from her crush.

He dropped to the bed and went into her arms, pausing only to grab her battered old teddy bear from underneath him and give it a fling across the room. She could imagine him doing the same thing to her heart.

I nodded at that part. Oh yes. He was bound to break it.

‘Cept… I wasn’t expecting to feel so much from the book. Oh, I wanted to – this is exactly what I was looking for.  A nice jolt out of reality into pure emotion and angst. I originally thought it would be light and fluffy book candy (and it was, in a way – a total guilty pleasure), but it actually delved quite a bit deeper.

“You make me feel too…” He trailed off staring at her. She lifted her hand and stroked his cheek.

“Feel too what?”

“I don’t deserve this.”

Her heart broke. She’d never taken Brian for a guy who suffered from lack of confidence. He’d always been so vibrant and sure of himself. Why would he begin to have doubts about his self-worth here in her arms? Surely nothing she’d ever said or done led him to believe she didn’t think he was good enough for her.

“It’s not about deserving,” she said softly.

“You’re probably right, but it’s the easiest way I can sum up the situation. I can’t be who you need me to be.”

Ahhh, there it is… :roll: and there’s more where that came from.

There was so much one on one time, so many moments of intensity and then… so much warranted insecurity. Instead of the author telling us how each character felt, or what they were “doing”, the characters told each other, and every motion, every subtle nuance between two would-be lovers, to their very intimate encounters, were detailed so perfectly. I forgot I was reading. It was if I was there. Like watching a movie, I could see every moment clearly, but it was even better than that, because my heart was fooled! Something about it was magic…

And like all love affairs in these novels, this one had a catch. Oh you’d think that getting the bad-boy to commit might be the biggest problem. And… maybe it was ;) I’m not gonna say, cause that’s part of the fun in this book. But, while they both come from the “same side of the track” (both are from wealthy families), he is the black sheep of his, and she has been controlled and schooled all of her life for perfection. Mr. Long-haired, fully sleeved and pierced (yes, in all the right places) is not exactly someone you want to bring home to daddy. Well, at least not Candace’s daddy. And especially not her snob of a mother.

Moments of sheer perfection when you knew everything would be perfect, and that there was no question as to how they felt about each other, to moments of absolute uncertainty and angst when one (or the other) would start second-guessing exactly where it was all going.

Little baby “spoiler-ish” moment here (just one paragraph where I analyze Candace. It doesn’t really give anything away, but just in case) ;)

Mind you, Candace did get on my nerves a lot throughout this book. Her character is my main complaint. She is young, extremely inexperienced, and easily influenced. Her newfound need for independence mixed in with her need to please her family created so much instability in her thought process. She was a mess. Her intense feelings for Brian, suddenly had her scared to death, which added to the rattled state of my own emotions (let alone, theirs!). In the end, I mostly wanted to throttle her. The message was clear (become an independent person no matter who you are, and don’t let your feelings for someone dictate your future – yes – GOOD message), but in the end, I’m not so sure I buy Candace’s “evolution”. You’ll see what I mean.

Spoiler-ish moment over!

But as much as she drove me crazy, there was one moment that actually had me shedding a few tears very early in the book (and there could have easily been more of those, I just restrained myself). This moment simply caught me off guard. I was so caught up in their private little world, and suddenly my tears just fell, as hers did. And it wasn’t even a moment where something bad was happening to her, but it was a moment where she realized that she was lying to herself.

Time to put her on her big girl panties and deal with it. The consequences had been laid out for her from the beginning.

After a night of intimacy (as she convinced herself that she was just living in the moment and whatever the morning brought would be of no consequence), the light of day had her facing a different reality as they prepared to go their separate ways (for the day, or forever, she didn’t know yet).

But at least the water running over her face camouflaged the tears she finally let flow in earnest. Had to get them out of her system now. Get them out, get it over with. She didn’t have any idea where this was going, but it hadn’t hit a brick wall or anything. They had time. They were okay.

So why was she near sobbing?

She jumped and whirled when he entered the shower behind her, his chest brushing her shoulder. “Thought you were coming in later,” she said, hearing panic in her voice. He was looking straight into her eyes, which she knew were red and weepy. There was no hiding that, or the trembling of her bottom lip.

Dammit. Caught.

Brian slicked the hair back from her forehead, as he was apparently fond of doing, then put his hand to her elbow and gently moved it up to her shoulder. When he wordlessly pulled her to him, she hated herself for going so willingly, and for utterly breaking down when his arms wrapped securely around her, holding her tight to him as she sobbed.

*sniff* I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again. I felt this.

Interested in the series? It’s a series!! I read Book 1 (Unleashed - about his conservative, hottie brother) and it’s prequel (“Barely Unleashed” a free read!) after this one. They’re also very good – but I realized while I enjoy a bit of contemporary romance every once in awhile, I like it with a “rocker twist” (if i’m not reading about a vampire, he better be hot like one ;) ). I’m looking forward to the next book! You’ll guess who it’s about a little past the Korn concert.

5 stars

Get Free Email Updates from me :)

{ 29 comments… read them below or add one }

Sherry June 16, 2011 at 9:23 AM

So is it fair to say that I hate Candace already and am jealous of her???

Danna June 16, 2011 at 9:29 AM

Don’t know if this is a review or a “feeding frenzy” but it sure make me want to run out and order this book for my Kindle!!
Keep those great reviews/frenzies coming!

Maryse June 16, 2011 at 9:34 AM


Sherry – Yes, and believe me, your jealousy will only get worse. I swear I think he’s real!

and yes Danna, this is more of a frenzie ;) I’m still all love-wired from the quick skimming of my favorite parts… so many of those. I may as well just re-read it.

Yan June 16, 2011 at 4:19 PM

I ♥ this book so much, very much like you I’m a paranormal fan, but Rockers and Bad Boys gone Good are my 2nd choice.
I’m as obsessed as you are with Brian, he’s my favorite character in a looooong time, because he’s all tattoed, but he’s not a bad guy.
I just fell in love with him instantly.
If you have know of more books like this please keep them coming!
I’m new to this site and I ♥ it!

Maryse June 17, 2011 at 5:07 PM

My pleasure Yan! He is truly the #1 star for me right now. And if YOU find anything similar that you think I might like, please let me know!

Lezanda June 18, 2011 at 4:15 AM

I also loved this book! And I loved the music more! But the song that kept playing in my head was “Stay” from Shakespeare’s Sister.

Shreya June 19, 2011 at 2:20 AM

Brian is simply rocking my world……!!! bt what about the other Ross brother-”Evan”….????
i started with Evan & Kelsey’s story and just fell in love with both of them…..thats when i decided that Cherrie Lynn’s next book “Rock Me” is definitely worth a try…..and here i am……….. :D :D
love you Brian Ross….!!!!

Nicola October 25, 2011 at 8:39 AM

Just finished Rock Me and oh my Brian is lush in every ideal bloke for sure!! I did enjoy this book as some of the situations were very like one’s I’ve been through and it’s an extremely addictive read as yes I spent another night reading not sleeping. The only thing though is I just didn’t get Candice whatsoever…I really disliked her at times….part of her actions/thoughts just annoyed me and I thought she seemed extremely naive for 23! Then again that could be partly because I felt really protective of Brian LOL!!! And yes I’d like a go at his tattoos as well ;0). Thanks again for another great read…will browse around your reviews now for the next one…;0) Nx

Niki July 24, 2012 at 7:50 AM

I found your site when I read your review on C.J. Roberts Captive in the dark (one of my all time favorite books). I loved what you said about it so I checked out a few of your other book reviews. When I read this one I was immediately interested. It was everything you said it was. I found Candace to be annoying. I found Brian to be too delicious for words… If only men like that really existed.. Thanks for the good read. I look forward to reading some of the other books you reviewed..

Ana September 1, 2012 at 5:51 PM

Thank you for another great recommendation Maryse!!! I LOVED “Rock Me”– another favorite “bad boy” to add to my list!! :) Have you heard of “Weekends Required” by Sydney L.? It’s a six book series and the first 2 books are out, they are pretty good and steamy! :) hope you look into it, since I feel we all have the same taste in books! Thank u again for this website! Now on to another recommendation! :)

cara cutrer September 5, 2012 at 10:32 AM

HA! I sent you an email telling you…YOU HAVE TO READ ROCK ME!!! well, looks like you already did. Hehe. Holy moly! You don’t know how good it makes me feel to know someone out there feels the same way as ME after this book.
Now you’ve got me wanting to read it again. I’VE ALREADY READ IT THREE TIMES!!! Let me tell you, after the first time, even guys in the flesh and blood couldn’t compete with Brian Ross. I was completely. Messed .Up. I only wanted him. That turned out to be a bit of a problem ….with him only
being a fictional character and all. I even had a VERY rock guy that in my eyes he looked like ( really two). I don’t want to mess up how he looks for you. But…I’ll tell you. If you want a real person to put to Brian. I felt like I was right there in this story. At the concert. In the truck after the concert ;) WOW! that was a Very VERY yummy part…of MANY!!
I even went and got another tattoo ( already have a small daisy on my foot) I got two little hearts. For Brian and Candence…of course :) oh, yeah I had it bad.

other guy in my head. Anyway, I will tell you…if you like, but I don’t
want to if you already have w pic of your own Brian in your head.

Maryse September 5, 2012 at 10:57 AM

Tell me!!! hehe

cara cutrer September 5, 2012 at 11:04 AM

HA! Sent you and email telling you….YOU HAVE TO READ ROCK ME!!! well, looks like you already did. Hehe. Holy Moly! So good to have someone feel the same way as me about this book. After the first time I read it, even guys in the flesh and blood couldn’t compete with Brian. I was completely. Messed. Up. I only wanted Brian. That turned out to be a bit of a problem…with him being a fictional character and all.
I felt like I was right there in this story. At the concert. In the truck after the concert. Wow! That was a VERY YUMMY part….of many.
I had it bad for a looong time. I have fallen many times since then. Kellen. Travis and I think I may be falling for Jake from the Mighty Storm.( just started reading it) …yeah, I’m a book slut;) Yep! Haha. But Brian will always have a special place in my heart :)

cara cutrer September 5, 2012 at 11:32 AM

Jeez… my comment went through twice!!
Okay… anyway, at first I thought he looked like the lead singer from Three Days Grace. Adam. When his hair is kinda Long and in his eyes a little. Then I emailed Cherrie Lynn and asked her, because I need visual and she said to her that there is this pic of Toryn Green…he is a singer…he has on this black cap and his is throwing the horns while signing a guitar. She said that’s what she would picture him looking like.
See if you can find that pic.

Maryse September 5, 2012 at 11:45 AM

Oh wow that is REALLY good, and yes VERY close to my version… didn’t he used to be bleach-blonde with kind of curliesh super-cute hair? I remember the singer for Fuel in the video “In my Hands” REALLY was sooooo cute. Back in the day, you know ;)

Is that him, too?

Maryse September 5, 2012 at 11:46 AM

Oh no different singer same band…. but Cherrie’s version is fantastic!

cara cutrer September 5, 2012 at 11:51 AM

Mmm-hmm ;)
I have yet to find someone good enough for Kellen or Travis. Have any ideas?

Patty October 12, 2012 at 2:53 PM

LOVE LOVE LOVE IT!!! Thank you again for a good review…..

Krista October 15, 2012 at 12:06 PM

OMG!! Maryse, I just finished reading Rock Me – Thanks again to your recommendation and reviews! But I have to say your killing me here with all this angst bad boy reads ( I’m loving it ) it’s like I can’t even come up for air, then BOOM, you go and throw another must read at me! Sometimes I think I have to stop and get over the last one before starting the next book cause its driving me crazy – but of course I can’t, I jump right to the next one! Your blog is amazing, it’s all I talk about at work with my book club friends! And Brian – what can I say, I’m in love!! I think instead of changing my top 5 my list just keeps on getting bigger and bigger : )

Ida October 15, 2012 at 12:27 PM

I loved this book. I absolutely love Brian.

Maryse October 15, 2012 at 12:45 PM

Brian will always and forever be one of my #1 book heroes.

Elizabeth October 22, 2012 at 3:49 PM

Brian beats Travis by miles. He is the most well written hero I have experienced since Jamie of “Outlander”. Sigh… I had to make a playlist for Brian and “Rock Me”- starting with songs from the book, with the addition of Evanescence, Evans Blue, Incubus, Three Days Grace, Theory of a Deadman, and a little Creed. I am adding as I explore music previously unknown to me -kind of like dating a new guy :) Asked my husband if he would consider a piercing- he looked at me like I’d lost my mind! Yes, Brian will do that to you…

Brenna November 3, 2012 at 6:39 AM

Does this series HAVE TO be read in order? I bought Rock Me a while back and I was about to start it today when I noticed on goodreads that it’s part of a series.

Elizabeth November 5, 2012 at 12:13 PM

It doesn’t really have to be read in order. The story of Brian’s older brother, Evan, is told in “Unleashed” and the short story (pre-prequel) “Barely Unleashed”. Those two do give a tiny bit of background info on Brian, the hero of “Rock Me”, but not so much that you need to read it first. There is another in the series being released shortly (can’t wait for Ghost and Macy’s story only because I long for a glimpse of Brian!) I would only read “Unleashed” first because once you read “Rock Me”, Evan’s story is blah in comparison, even though it is a good story on its own. Once you meet Brian, preppy, goody-goody guys like Evan just won’t do it for you anymore :)

Lisa November 7, 2012 at 7:40 PM

Is it necessary to read the first book in the series or can I jump right into this one and not feel lost?

Elizabeth November 8, 2012 at 9:39 AM

Jump right in to “Rock Me”! If you love it, go back and read the others…if only for a glimpse of Brian (sigh…) Okay, I made googly eyes at a pierced and tattooed helper at the phone store the other day- never mind that he was about 10 (okay, 20!) years younger than me. I think this book has short circuited my brain or something…must stop reading Maryse’s bad boy favorites! :)

Maryse November 8, 2012 at 12:46 PM

*grins* (and giggles) :P

Suze June 16, 2016 at 12:51 PM

I read Rock Me and the rest of the series when it came out. It is still one of my favorites. I think I will do a re-read just because. Thank you.

Maryse June 17, 2016 at 10:35 AM

Suze I’d love to know if Brian still makes your heart swell like he did the first time. I’m tempted to re-read it, too!

Leave a Comment


Notify me of followup comments to this post via e-mail. You can also subscribe without commenting.

{ 1 trackback }

Previous post:

Next post: