Book Review – Room 212 by Kate Stewart

by Maryse on September 4, 2014 · 25 comments

in My Book Reviews

Room 212
Well well well! What do we have here? A total one-click winner (and bargain priced, at that!). Romantically angsty and tumultuous, but nothing too crazy. Well… hrmmm… crazy enough to have you furious and wanting to chuck your Kindle at times, but umm… just not unforgivable. Well… then again… ;) Lets just say don’t get too comfortable, ’cause this love story takes plenty of emotional turns. Prepare for upheaval. Prepare to be pi$$ed! And prepare to encounter at least ONE scene in this book that will have you remembering your own “Once upon a time…” like that (and not always in a good way).

*phew* This one was awesome. And you know what? I did it again… Amy, my trusted reading bud has been recommending this one to us for weeks (months?) now.

Amy: BAM!! Whooo-hoo!! I’m two for two with books I loved, and back to back at that! Room 212 and In the Fields - loved them!! *happy dance* <— June 3rd 2014

Amy: Room 212. Oh wow. It’s sooo much more than what the blurb shows. The only thing I can compare the feels to is Avoiding Commitment but not as angsty and – obviously – a different storyline. This was a 4.5 pushing 5 star for me. And I don’t throw 5 stars around often. ;) <— June 6th 2014

Amy: Remember - Room 212. Yes, I’m still yakkin’ about that one! <— July 4th 2014

Amy: Okay, so I’m mentioning it again…Room 212. The blurb gives an okay description of it, but I can sum it up saying that she is rebellious and out for fun, he is goal oriented and has his life mapped out, and they both lie to themselves about what it is they want and what they can handle with where the relationship will lead…and we all know how that turns out. Just get a sample of the book and read the prologue – that alone had my tummy twisting! <— August 12th 2014

Amy: And I’m gonna bring up Room 212 again…her reaction to the climatic event and her actions after were so genuine and realistic that it made me all weepy. Especially when she goes to her mother who she is not really close to but who she needs so much at that point. <— August 17th 2014

Donna: Yes yes room 212 <— Oh we have another Room 212 lover!!!

*snort* :P Poooooor Amy!!!! So adamant, and SO right… and yet… we just let her wallow in her book love, all by herself.

And I always had every intention of reading it… but I just couldn’t gage what the book was about by that blurb. And apparently many of us couldn’t so Amy helped us out a little. And then… I was ON IT! Just like she said, that prologue HAD ME. I was SO in… and chastising myself already for not having jumped on this one sooner. This was exactly what I was looking for. I’m a romance reader, but not just “love” but all of the insecurities and drama and “entourage” that goes with new love. I LOVE that, ’cause in real life, it’s never that easy. ;) And this one felt real.

Amy: Room 212 is a romance with a good ol’ healthy dose of emotion and angst thrown in. The prologue alone let me know it was going to be rough. Seth has some *major* mood swings and Laura is on the wild side and they fight (oh lord, do they fight *shaking head*) but I loved them and just wanted things to work for them so badly… it just has a simplicity to it without any crazy twists or traumatic pasts or dark secrets (even though I thrive on reading those!) and with the right amount of angst and emotion…enough to make me hurt and give me the feels but not so much that I was a wreck. Yep, that is my “gush” book…we all have ‘em!

Jean: Amy, I’m at 80%of Room 212 and whoa…what a whirlwind! This just better have a happy ending or I will hunt you down! Lol!

Amy: You loved it, Jean??? YAY!! *dancing around* I don’t know about you, but her actions after that part – you know which one – and when she visited *********** made her pain just palpable for me. I’m so happy you loved it, too!!

Jean: Haha you guys are too funny! Yes Amy I now understand your obsession with Room 212………I honestly can’t stop thinking about it and it’s hard to explain why….I had a long car ride home tonight and I just kept replaying the book in my head…..”

Amy: Jean, before I forget…I had heard this song before but never really listened to the words until today. O.M.G. I know book-song connections are very personal and subjective, but pay attention to the words (not so much the actual video) and tell me this doesn’t make you think of Laura. Maryse (and anyone else who reads Room 212 :D), you’ll see why when you read it. ;) I feel like crying for the girl in the song Habits even when I’m *not* feeling emotional, let alone when I *am*. And after 212… *stifled sob* I guess I don’t have to say how excited I am about you starting it soon!

Maryse: Amy!  gah!! Her breakdown to ****** is soooooooooooo real!! *sniff sniff*

Jean: Yay Maryse is reading Room 212! I know that part with ********* had me crying and feeling right along with her! Can’t wait to see your review!

Amy: *gasp* You’re reading it?!?!? *happy dance* I know…that scene with ******** had me crying. Good lord, I actually *felt* her pain! Then when she tries to take her mom’s advice and do things to stay busy (not sure if you’re there yet, but it’s not too long after that scene), I seriously laugh-sobbed. *pulling Maryse and Jean in for a group snuggle* …before I get pushed away for being “creepy.” :P

Maryse: AMY!!!! Okay so I’m writing the review… and OMG I just watched that Tove Lo video… about Laura. There could not be a more accurate portrayal of her emotional devastation and condition. WOW. THAT VIDEO. When she’s crying in the bathroom… *sob*

So what’s it about?

Party-girl, Laura, gets bonked in the face by a frisbee one day by cute but cocky frat-boy and friends. ;) They all like her. Especially him. But she’s a bit homeless right now, and getting over her cheating ex, and wants nothing to do with these boys. She’s got a plan to get back on her feet, get a new apartment, and avoid “love” altogether.

But Laura and Seth meet up again (by accident) when he walks into the bar, where she works. Sparks are are igniting both of ‘em, and she eventually concedes to a date. And then another… and well. You know how it goes. BIG intense, all-consuming make-out sessions, and that constant need to be together. But then one day, she overhears…

Er. ‘Nuff said!!! Read it!! I highly recommend it, if you love heartache. In books, I mean. Only in books. NOBODY likes heartache in real life. ;) I’m not that crazy. Heh.

Yep… WOW. This one was great. There is nothing in here that I didn’t actually believe. Well… okay, sure… certain parts of the angst was stretched a little, but you know? I believed it. Gah!!! Wow. Pure tumultuous love story in all of it’s sweet ecstasy. From the initial “meet cute”, to it’s tentative beginning…

- oh no – were those loafers? This was not the look of the guy I had seen the last two days. This was the look of a… a… Ken Barbie.

My heart sank. Sh!t, I was going on a date with Ken Barbie in his Mercedes. What happened to my hot club kid?

to it’s eventual intensity and all consuming fire, when they realize how into each other they are….

The feeling in my chest was so overwhelming and I let me happy tears fall freely. I turned to him and kissed him while the rest of the world flew by us in a blur. In our world it was only us and we held each other tightly…

…and it’s potential heartbreak. *sigh* (cue that video link up there). ;) Whoa.

Good writing (at times a *touch* hard to follow in the sentence structuring, especially in the beginning…), but the story itself was totally there! Great pacing, in depth characters and best of all? My heart hurt, just the way I like it.

4 stars! (maybe even 4.5 stars). ;) Definitely 5 stars for a few parts. This book has *oooooomph!!!!*

P.S. It’s completely from her POV, which I loved ’cause it made every experience that much more poignant. I love not knowing what “he” is thinking or feeling, or doing or planning… in a book. Always only in a book. <— LOL! :P

Get Free Email Updates from me :)

{ 25 comments… read them below or add one }

Rachel September 4, 2014 at 2:59 PM

Perfect, you know how I love the ache! Especially for only $.99. I’m off to click! Thanks!

Linh September 4, 2014 at 3:09 PM

I will definitely read this.

Now you HAVE to read Ten Below Zero Maryse! It was such a good book.

Yamara September 4, 2014 at 3:48 PM

OMG! OMG! Loved this book so damn much!!! Glad you enjoyed it!

Now go read her next book NEVER ME! Also a stand alone and don’t let the blurb fool you!!!

Amy September 4, 2014 at 3:53 PM

*jumps from seat*

SQUEEEEEEE!!!!!

*grabs Maryse and squeezes the air out of her*

Oh wow, Jean was right…I *did* badger, LOL!!!!

****I don’t *think* this is spoilery, but I’ll leave it to Maryse’s discretion. ‘Cause her discretion is waaaaay better than mine. ;) ****

Just when I was getting myself together and recovering, the prologue comes in to play and the book says, “Nuh-uh, I’m not done with you yet!!” :P

Michelle S September 4, 2014 at 3:57 PM

Well, if that all it takes to get you to read (squeaky wheel)… then I will mention AGAIN the book I just finished. I want someone else to enjoy it, dang it. It’s called Fate Book. It was such a surprise. It starts off with a girl who tells a whopper of a lie because her arch-enemy is such a bee-yotch. She posts on FB that she has a boyfriend and uses a picture of a hot model she finds on the internet. Who is going to find out? He’s in the Hamptons!! THEN….. one day he shows up!! nd he tells her to go along with it, or else. or else what? Why? what the? Then it gets crazy. The girls is so funny and loveable. And he is a complete mystery. And you have NO IDEA why he is pretending to be her hot boyfriend. The writing was great. It’s a stand alone. HEA. Epilogue. It was like KA lite….. loved it. If nothing is doing it for you, you should read this one.

Maryse September 4, 2014 at 6:38 PM

LOL!!!!!!!!

My ears are ringing but I DON’T THINK THAT WAS TOO SPOILERY AT ALL…. THAT IS JUST TEMPTING AMMMMYYYYYY!!!

Oh. Er… am I talking too loud?

*rubs ears… shakes head*

*grumbles* Darn ringing… so this is how everybody feels when I do that? ;)

Maryse September 4, 2014 at 6:39 PM

Okay Yamara, I’m taste-testing Never Me right now….

Maryse September 4, 2014 at 6:40 PM

Linh I’m scared!!!!

Michelle September 4, 2014 at 7:40 PM

I picked this one up too and glad I did based on the review.

I will second Ten Below Zero and have already raved about it on here. It’s a tumultuous read but has a HEA if that pushes anyone to try it…or to chase the scary away *cough* Maryse. It’s one of my favorites this year for sure.

Yamara September 4, 2014 at 7:51 PM

Woohoo is it safe to say Kate has threatened my life if you don’t like it. Lol but I’m sure you’ll love it!

Cezanne September 4, 2014 at 9:50 PM

I love this review. I still need to read Room 212 but I read Never Me and enjoyed it. I

Fabi September 4, 2014 at 10:18 PM

Great review. It’s on my tbr. Fate Book is on my wish list. Too scared of Ten Below. But I remain, nearly buried in snow, with Written in Red. Have so mention (in the last ten minutes or so) that I really like it? :-)

Amy September 4, 2014 at 10:39 PM

LOL!! We’ll just buy everyone earplugs and call it a day. :P

I read the blurb for Never Me and went to one-click it…surprise, I already had it! I didn’t even realize it was by the same author. Looks promising!

Fabi September 4, 2014 at 11:16 PM

Are you reading WiR Amy?

Amy September 4, 2014 at 11:54 PM

I am, Fabi. :) So far I’m really enjoying it. I’m not as far into it as I would like to be, but I’m hoping to catch up tonight and tomorrow. No errands + chores caught up + taking a day off from work + hubby tied up with work = me reading alllllllll day long!!!! :D

Fabi September 5, 2014 at 6:21 AM

Lucky girl :-)

kandace September 5, 2014 at 8:48 AM

Michelle, I think Fate Book is my next read.

Jean September 5, 2014 at 10:08 AM

Great review Maryse! Guess we should listen to Amy every once in a while. I am intrigued by Never Me, also scared to read Ten Below Zero, and really want to read Fate Book!!

Jealous of your planned day Amy, but I had that yesterday and never put Ugly Love down until I was done!Loved it!!!!!

Jen P September 5, 2014 at 10:28 AM

I think I might try this one next…another angsty read…Empathy…

Amy September 5, 2014 at 11:28 AM

Jean, wasn’t UL just so achingly beautiful???? Now you can check out the Gravity song by Sara Bareillis and get *that* song stuck in your head with UL. ;)

Amy September 5, 2014 at 11:30 AM

Oooooh, Empathy looks good. Need I say it? I will anyways…one-click!!!

Jean September 5, 2014 at 11:33 AM

It was Amy! I don’t know why I always hesitate with her books because I always end up loving them! So far I have only read Slammed, Maybe Someday and Ugly Love…..all unforgettable!!!

MichelleS September 5, 2014 at 7:08 PM

Jean – same here – I waited to read Maybe Someday and was kicking myself. I will NEVER doubt this author again. She always delivers. WAIT A COTTON PICKING MINUTE….. you haven’t read Hopeless? That was my first Colleen Hoover book. Will never ever ever forget it. Please tell me you just left it off your list!!!

Jean September 5, 2014 at 7:24 PM

Sorry MichelleS, but I have not read Hopeless yet… I have it though… I know, I know, I should get on it!! She has not disappointed me yet with any of her books.

Andee September 7, 2014 at 12:56 PM

Just finished Room 212… I agree with the review. I was so angry at some points, but had to keep reminding myself they were in their early twenties and were “idiots”… I loved her strength at the end of the book, and ultimately was happy with it. Good recommendation, Amy!

Ok, now what… Bright Side looks to be too much right now… I think Fate Book and then maybe Rule… Too many things on my TBR right now! Love it. :)

Leave a Comment

 

Notify me of followup comments to this post via e-mail. You can also subscribe without commenting.

Previous post:

Next post: