Book Review – Shadowfever by Karen Marie Moning

by Maryse on January 22, 2011 · 55 comments

in Karen Marie Moning, My Book Reviews

Shadowfever: Fever Series Book 5

SPOILER ALERT!!!

If you came here cause you’re interested in this book, and wanted to know how I reviewed it, it’s a 5 star for sure! Action packed, unrelenting, wickedly infuriating, and at times, deliciously sexy (in it’s own way). What? I’ve said that before? Well… it couldn’t be more true in this case. And, when have I ever steered you wrong? This book is deeply satisfying. You won’t ever be bored (but you will need to come up for air at times). EVERYTHING is connected in the end (from book#1 to now), and because of this, I can’t even give one part away, without *ruining* something else.

Therefore, I’m going to be a little lax on my no-spoiler policy, cause, honestly, it’ll be impossible to properly review this book without giving away the answer to that last evil nifty little cliffhanger. Now, while I’m not going to give away any major spoilers, I would recommend, that if you have not yet read this series, don’t read this review. This one is a “too bad so sad for those who haven’t read the series – stay away” review.

Go to the first one.

Interested in the series?  Karen Marie Moning – Fever Series Reading Order

Just know, the series is addictive (and WILL be one of your favorites). And this book is as good – if not – better then it’s predecessors. Oh AND!! I’m gonna let you all run free in the comment section too, so definitely do not peruse that part if you haven’t read this book yet. But if you have, by all means, join in and tell us your favorite parts!

The first two chapters of this book are simply devastating. For months, we’ve all been guessing who Mac killed, and I’ll admit I thought it was probably Christian. You know, with all his recent physical changes, being in the “Silvers” and all….anything was possible.  While the “real” option was so obviously Barrons, (considering the “beast” was protecting for her so intently, and the whole IYD situation), I just wouldn’t accept that as a possibility. But I was wrong. The author doesn’t leave us hanging in this one. She doesn’t have us re-live any other situations, follow any other characters – she gives it to us straight. Barrons is dead, and the anguish that MacKayla feels is so perfectly detailed, so emotionally heartwrenching.

Her mind is rattled. Her thoughts fluctuate from scattered and erratic to completely focused, from despondent to hopeful and then back again…you feel her devastation, you relate, you get it.

…the worst of it is that you woke me up from my Barbie-girl world and now I’m here and I’m wide awake, you bastard, I couldn’t be more awake, and you left me -

I think I’ll scream until he gets up.

He was the one who told me not to believe anything was dead until I’d burned it, poked around in it’s ashes, then waited a day or two to see if anything rose from them.

Surely I’m not supposed burn him.

I don’t think there are any circumstances under which I could do that.

I’ll squat.

I’ll scream.

He’ll get up. He hates it when I’m melodramatic.

and as she tries different things (from attempting to tap into magic, to physically holding his wounds closed)…

I am suddenly furious.

How could he be mortal? How dare he be mortal? he never told me he was mortal! If I’d known, I might have treated him differently!

“Get up, get up, get up!” I shout.

But he doesn’t get up.

She is devastated. So much so, that she becomes emotionless. Cold. Calculating. Maybe even a little corrupted. She practically becomes Barrons.

But she comes to a realization.

I know now where Barrons ends and I begin.
When Barrons ended, I began.
Me.
Mac O’Connor.
Sidhe-seer that a certain Seelie Prince said the world should fear.
I kneel and kiss Barrons a final time.
I do not cover him or perform any ritual. It would be for me, not for him. There is only one thing left that I will do for me.
Soon, none of this will matter anyway.
I had to be ripped in half to stop feeling so torn in two. Divided, never knowing who to trust.
I’m now a woman with a single ambition.
I know exactly what I’m going to do.
And I know how I’m going to do it.

The very book they have all been chasing and running from, is the key. She will capture it, learn it control it, and make it do what she wants. And all she wants is for her world to be the way it was…a world where her sister Alina, and Barrons are still alive.

It was going to be mine. I would study it. Grief had focused me like a laser. I could learn anything. Nothing would stand in my way. I would rebuild the world the way I wanted it.

To accomplish this, she sides with her worst enemy, The Lord Master “Darroc”. He has a few answers about the book, and believes he can merge with it. She plans to seduce the secrets out of him.

Planning to do anything it takes, even sacrificing her own dignity (what good is it for anyway, when she no longer has anything to live for in this world), she follows him out of the silvers (learning even more as she goes about herself) and back into Ireland. She “connects” with him, comes on to him, but never gives in to him completely. I had the impression, though, that he was truly connecting to her. There was something there, and it made me question, just how bad he really was. Was there more to Darroc?

I will give you everything. And you I will not lose. That is a mistake I will not make again. If you come to me knowing what I am, there need be no fear, no mistrust between us. Take my kiss, MacKayla. Accept my offer. Live with me. Forever.

Meh…doesn’t matter cause… his head was efficiently popped right off his neck like a berry!!! (poor gorgeous, evil ex-fae – dead). And what is that I hear? What we’ve all been waiting for. Barrons and his beast rattling dangerously inside of him, as he watches from the shadows.

She’s standing in my alley, kissing the bastard that had her raped and turned her Pri-ya.

No let’s be perfectly precise: She’s grinding herself against him and shoving her tongue halfway down his throat.

My monster rattles it’s cage.

Violently.

Yup! He’s alive, and witnessed Mackayla’s little intimate exchange with Darroc. Oh come on people, you knew he couldn’t stay dead. I told Lily, as she begrudged the whole first two chapters of the book. that I KNEW Barrons was not dead dead – NO WAY. This series can’t exist without him, especially not the last book, and anyway, he’s magic. We don’t know what he is, but the magic will fix him somehow (hopefully sooner then later, cause I wanted as much Barrons in this book as possible)…

Despite Barron’s watching furiously, he wasn’t the one to take his revenge on the evil villain that was manhandling his woman. It was the book. THE book. The Sinsar Dubh (oh and some Dragon/Hunter thingie).  Why oh why does that book insist on following Mac around? What does it want with her? Why does it *play* with her, speak with her, try to entice her, but not kill her like it does the others? Who is MacKayla to have so intently captivated the most evil book in the world?

So this is what the book is about. Finding out, once and for all, how to stop the Sinsar Dubh, and what it wants with Mac. Watching as the Seelie, the Druids, the Sidhe-Seers and whatever “Barrons and friends” are, attempt to cooperate (or not), for the greater good. Uncovering who, (or what) Mackayla really is (loved this part)! New powers in her arsenal, vivid memories that aren’t hers. The clues, the memories, the powers… it all comes together to an obvious answer, and then all falls apart again, but, I loved the whole process of unearthing her great mystery.

And of course, the grand finale, that reveals the enemy. Oh there are LOTS of enemies in this series, no doubt (and most have been strategically picked off), but…who’s the one that started this mess? Who has the most to gain? MacKayla has kept everyone at a distance, and not completely sided with anyone for the entire series. She constantly feared that they had ulterior motives for wanting the book, even though she was secretly in love (lust?) with a few of ‘em. Was she right in the end? And… considering how suspicious some of her “allies” are of her, how much some even hate her, are they right? Is she the enemy?

Most infuriating moments: Mackayla’s head games. When Barrons was dead, she goes on and on in her own head that if she just had one more chance she’d not resist him anymore – tell him everything she feels, give herself completely to him, trust him, love him…

I would give my right arm to be back there, for just one day. Live it again. Touch him again. Hear those sounds he makes. Smile at him. Be tender. Not be afraid to be tender. Life is so fragile, exquisite, and short. Why do I keep realizing that too late?

… and then boom – he’s  back and she’s back to playing hard to get.

…I’d have made a complete fool of myself. I’d have confessed feelings to him that I’d felt only because I’d thought he’d given his life for mine.

Nothing had changed.

There was no deeper level of understanding or emotion between us.

As my mom would say… “She brings on her own misery.”

And when he dies again? She’s back to moping and missing him, anxiously awaiting his “resurrection”. When she walks in the door, and there he is, does she throw herself into his arms and confess her undying love (maybe the 3rd time’s the charm?)?

Hell No! Instead, she irritates us all (and especially an already highly irritated Barrons).

One of my favorite Mac/Barrons moments:

“You will never do such an idiotic thing again,” he said, muscles bunching in his jaw.

Given my track record, I was pretty sure I would.

Amen to that! This girl can be so smart and stupid at the same time!

My favorite parts – ANYTHING Barrons. An accurate description of him:

Unpredictable as a hungry lion, he  might be feared by everyone else, but he never ripped out my throat, only licked me, and, if his tongue was a little rough sometimes, it was worth it to walk beside the king of the jungle.

I especially giggled over his “cravings” for Mac and his frustration over his unrelenting “condition”. She plays hard to get. he just plays hard. *blush*  He doesn’t pull any punches, doesn’t beat around the bush. He puts it all out there (well, his physical needs, anyway ;) )

“Please,” I groaned.

“Please what, Mac? You’ll have to ask for it this time, spell it out in graphic detail. I’m done giving you everything you want without making you ask for it.”

Emotionally, he might seem like a closed book, but he has his moments…

When you know who I am. Let me be your man.

It’s because it’s never easy with him, that has me so intrigued. There isn’t anything tender about that man, (ew!…”tender” isn’t the right word for Barrons at all – those two words shouldn’t even be in the same sentence together). Lemme try again: his version of “vulnerable…no not that…romantic NO! hrmm…mild? okay…”mild” let’s go with that… His version of “mild” is still scorching! He’s so intimidating, it’s hot. He can stare at her with a sneer on his face and passion in his eyes. And he doesn’t hide from any of it.

“There was purity in that basement. that’s the way I live. There was a time I thought you did too.”

I did, I wanted to say. I do.

“Some things are sacred. Until you act like they’re not. Then you lose them”

He’s so not “tender” but he has other desirable attributes. With Barrons, what you see is what you get (well, ‘cept for his “other half”). And well…that comes out too, when all is said and done.

The intoxicating love “triangle” continues between Mac, V’lane and Barrons, too, causing even more friction within their entourage.

“Your wish, my command, MacKayla.” He smiled. “Shall we spend tomorrow at the beach together?”

Barrons moved beside me. “She’s busy tomorrow.”

“Are you busy tomorrow, MacKayla?”

“She’s working on old texts with me.”

V’lane gave me a pitying look. “Ah. Old texts. A banner day at the bookstore.”

“We’re translating the Kama Sutra,” Barrons said, “with interactive aids.”

I almost choked.

Twists and turns and unlikely enemies, like you never saw coming. At least I didn’t. I was sure I had it figured out, but nope. Fear not, however, as the author explains it all. Situations that annoyed me (black river anyone? Anytime something bad happened *boom* the answer in Mac’s head and the object magically in her hand! I would roll my eyes and think to myself, “Oh sheesh…how convenient for Mac”) did eventually make sense. No gaping holes from what I could tell.  Well, ‘cept for what Barrons is, and I hear some are upset about that. I just know he’s immortal, and some kinda beast thingie, and that’s okay with me. Giving his kind a name, doesn’t change much, in the grand scheme of things (and I have heard it will be further explained in the spin-off).

Which, of course, I will read with abandon!

Until then… I will have to make do with re-reading these. Maybe if I physically devour the books, I will absorb their essence? Oh right, mine are e-books. Okay, sleeping with my iPad under my pillow? Surely all that magic being so close to my suggestible brainwaves will give me some extra powers? No?

*pout*

5 stars!!!

Get Free Email Updates from me :)

{ 55 comments… read them below or add one }

Jennifer Bakley January 22, 2011 at 7:52 PM

I did not read your review,,,cause Im still reading it I just wanted to tell ya it took me 2 days to start it 2 feckin days..lol I have never been that nervous to start a book in my life..lol and after the first chapter I wanted to STOP!!! and started crying,,,OMG!! I acted like suck a fool,,,cried yes i cried but Im better now,,,Im 50% percent done with it..but it has been rough,,,anyway,,,Im gonna have it done by tomorrow,,and I cant wait for discussions…lol
as always..thanks for sharing..
Jennifer

Jackie January 23, 2011 at 5:18 AM

Hi Maryse, Yeeaaah – we can talk properly now : no more coded references to scenes.I loved so much about this book, KMM’s character development is truly brilliant and I feel like I know these characters so well. I’d re-read 1-4 the week before this book was released, and there were some definite clues that it was Barrons within the beast, so I wasn’t surprised in chapter 1. I also knew that Barrons had to come back (500 pages without Barrons just wasn’t going to happen!) Why then did I hurt and ache and grieve when he died? The emotion was so intense!
My absolute favourite thing about this book is the sexual tension between Barrons and Mac – those eye conversations are WOW! So frustrating – many times I felt like screaming at the book, “Would you two just grow up, acknowledge what you’re feeling and get on with it.”
I’m still compiling my “The Bits That Made Me Giggle’ top ten as we discussed on Facebook.
On one of the many occasions when Mac asked Barrons what he was, he replied something along the lines of ‘You’ll know the answer to that when it no longer matters’ . For me it did cease to matter – he showed her who he was, he protected her, brought her back from Pri-ya, saved her life, gave her a home, trusted her…. Barrons became his actions and I think this is why KMM still hasn’t given a name to what he is. She showed us what he is – very clever writing!
Maryse – thanks for being there these last few days when I was still living the book and needed someone to bounce off of and for being as daft as me with your best bits. xxx

Maryse January 23, 2011 at 1:24 PM

Hey Jenn!! So glad you came by, even if just to give me a progress report ;) Can’t wait to hear what you think!!

Maryse January 23, 2011 at 1:26 PM

Hi Jackie! Tonight I’m gonna post some of my favorite FAVORITE parts. I’ve got a bunch of stuff highlighted and ready to go. See you then!

LilyofDarkness January 24, 2011 at 10:05 AM

*cracks knuckles* Sup.
Let’s do this thing.

Ok – Barrons is a Beast, and I don’t care to put a name it. He is awesome, and we found out enough. Didn’t KMM make it clear that if Mac found out too much Ry-O and the boys would kill her? What I want to know is what the feck the Z stood for. Seriously. Jerrico Z. Barrons. “So that’s what he’s going by these days?” – what the hell is the Z?

I was blind sided constantly with this book….but I loved the tension. There were soooo many times in it I wish-washed between her being the king to her being the concubine to not knowing what the hell she was….I know that had to be the goal, but it wore me out. I loved when she accepted she was an appendage of the king and then it was clear she was NOT.

I loved everyone bickering. I loved Ry bitching about the Scot women and their need to repopulate the country.

I loved her mom bragging about Barrons eating apple pie.

I want to know more about V’Kruck. That was neat, but then again I am a dragon lover. Don’t judge me.

I want Barrons shower. SIX SHOWER HEADS? Count me in!

I loved the eye conversations, and when he said “What Ms.Lane?” to her and she told him “Don’t pretend you didn’t just not have that conversation.” LOL

Lis January 24, 2011 at 10:36 AM

I am not even sure where to start. First, I came late to this series. I finished the 4th book on Sunday, then realized that the 5th didn’t come out until the following Tuesday. I found myself tapping my foot until it downloaded. Then….well, then.
THIS BOOK WORE ME OUT!!! I mean, the facillitating back and forth, the endless questions about who Mac really is, what is Barrons, where are her parents, what exactly was Ro and what was she up too, who actually killed Alina,V’lane..not V’lane,who was the 4th prince, were Mac & Barrons EVERY GONNA HOOK UP AGAIN????? It took me over a week to finish it and I still have questions.
I’ve never had a book keep me so frustrated. I like my books with more dialouge and less description, but it payed off in the end. I think…
I may have to go back and re-read the last chapter…just because….

LilyofDarkness January 24, 2011 at 10:41 AM

Lis, hit us with the questions, we are all geared up to springboard!

Lis January 24, 2011 at 11:42 AM

OK, Maybe I read the dang book to fast and missed some important things…
1.) Who ( or what) exactly is Mac? If not the king or the concubine, then who?
2.) What is this lake she keeps pulling from? Where did it come from? The King? Did he put it there along with the book?
3.) Where is Christian?
4.) Dani kinda bugged me too, but I grew to like her. A little…so where is she? What happened to her after she sifted off the water tower?
5.) Are there anymore Unseelie coming thru or has it stopped since the book (V’lane) was frozen?
6.) Have the Seelie imprisoned the Unseelie yet or are they still roaming around?
As I’ve said, maybe I got in my own way while reading this book and missed these answers. I apologize if so. I’m usually not so dense and can usually follow along, but as I said, this one wore me out! ( in a very good way…)
thanks guys!

Lis January 24, 2011 at 11:51 AM

One more thing and this is an observation not a question. One of the things that frustrated me more than anything was the lack of intimacy between Barrons & Mac. All that screaming and self-loathing during the first 5 chapters then she just shuts down when she finds out he’s alive? I just didn’t get that. What was the point of keeping them apart? I mean, sheesh, the guys is hot and if it was me and I was ready to kill reality to make a fake world with him in it, I think I may have tackled him the moment he walked back into my life.
Just a thought….

LilyofDarkness January 24, 2011 at 12:12 PM

Lis, LOL! Ok
1. Mac is sort of an extension of the Unseelie king, because the book touched her in the womb and she has a copy of the book inside of her. She is a human, just really hard to kill and the backup file of the book
2. The lake…well I guess it’s what is hiding the book from her, put there by the Unseelie king..I’m guessing here.
3. Christian is pissed and getting his own book, hopefully own series. We don’t know.
4. Dani is off the grid, not sure where she went when she flashed off the tower, but I think she is going to be in the spinoff series.
5. Not sure if more Unseelie are coming thru…but the walls are not back up yet.
6. The Unseelie are still roaming, remember her saying Jayne and his crew are still killing them?

Don’t worry – most of those questions required pure conjecture on my part. Maryse – anything to add?

LilyofDarkness January 24, 2011 at 12:14 PM

And Barrons would have had a second skin named Lily if it was me. I’m just saying, who the hell needs food? I would have thrown myself at him like spider monkey jacked up on Mountain Dew.

Maryse January 24, 2011 at 12:38 PM

Ok I wanna play too!! (darn I should SO be working right now)

1.) Mac is a sidhe-seer just like her mom, but holds basically all of the Unseelie King’s evil side in her via the books “transfused” magic. She’s like a “vessel” for the book. I told my husband this part cause i thought it was neat (cause her mom was pregannt when holding the book, that the book’s power essentially transfused into the forming fetus)… so the book is a part of Mac. Or I prefer “Mac is the book” tee hee!

2.) The Lake in her mind, I would say is where the Book manifested it’s magic… where it stores all of it’s tricks, and knowledge. A lake of knowledge, if you will…

3.) Christian is off sulking somewhere (until the spin-off ;)

4.) Huh? I didn’t pay attention to where Dani went – good question…

5.) I think they ALL came through when the whole thing came crashing down…Now it’s to put ‘em back…

6.) yup – everyone is still mixed together in a big ol’ mess. But at least the book is contained (sorta)..

Perhaps there will be a V’lane-Cruce / Mac face-off in the future?

Yes I def. wish there was MORE Mac and Barrons – personal time that was drawn out for a few chapters while the rest was going on…

Lis January 24, 2011 at 12:47 PM

Lily,
You crack me up! Spider monkey…good one.
since I’ve read your answers,I do remember now. Just was never quite sure exactly what Mac was. I knew she was a sidhe-seer, but what else? that’s what was troubling me.
I think there will need to be a V’lane/Cruce–Mac faceoff. Unless she convinces the abbey to fill the basement with concrete and seal the door.
Christina….good one Maryse! Will be looking forward to that series.
You know, there is one other thing….please don’t roll your eyes!
If Barrons already has a son, then couldn’t Mac be pregnant? I mean, jeez..they didn’t come out of their “nest” for how long? How many ways did they do it when she was Pry-ya? then when she lied about still being one, how long did that go on? Then, then when they FINALLY hooked up again, they stayed in his bedroom/shower/kitchen counter for quite a while, right? That just opens up another whole can of….uh…somethin’. Just sayn’…

Maryse January 24, 2011 at 12:48 PM

Oh YAH! And she’s hard to kill now cause the UnSeelie Princes (well CRUCE) gave her that “drink” or “elixer” or whatever to heal her since she was so damaged from their ravaging her. And well, once a human drinks it, it sorta makes them a bit immortal? A bit anyway…

Maryse January 24, 2011 at 12:56 PM

Woops!!! A freudian slip? My bad – that was truly unintenional – LOL! I fixed it – Christian – NOT Christina – tee hee!

Maryse January 24, 2011 at 12:59 PM

Agreed!! AND YESSS wouldn’t that be something? I mean – the book is in her, and with Barrons’s genes too… Hrmmmm? What kind of magical child will that be? If the book was able to infuse itself into her while her mom was simply touching the book, imagine making a baby while the book is an actual part of her?

Oh please let her go back to Mac and Barrons one day!!

LilyofDarkness January 24, 2011 at 1:04 PM

Wait! Let me hault that bandwagon…while a MacBarrons would be nice, you have to remember he had the kid BEFORE he went all beast! I don’t know if she can get knocked up or not but keep in mind…..beastly Barrons swimmers! I crack myself up!

Maryse January 24, 2011 at 1:08 PM

heheheheh!! Wait but – wasn’t the kid a Beast too? So wouldn’t that mean that he made the kid while he was genetically a beast? Half human/half beast? No?

Do I need more coffee?

LilyofDarkness January 24, 2011 at 1:09 PM

AND if they have kids will the kids have beast in their DNA??? Is that why the one guy was silent for so long…..did they kill his pregnant girlfriend? I mean killing the woman you love is one thing, killing her because she is your knocked up girlfriend is something to stonewall about…….

Maryse January 24, 2011 at 1:10 PM

True that!! OH GOD I just re-read your “MacBarrons” – that is THE BEST NAME EVER!

LilyofDarkness January 24, 2011 at 1:10 PM

NO, the kid was alive before they all changed! Remember he thought the kid was dead dead and then they found him and none knew about the dying and coming back thing for a while. They all got changed together. The kid and Barrons and the men. I think. Now I have to reread that part!

LilyofDarkness January 24, 2011 at 1:12 PM

I do have a talent for nameing things. My fave new term from the book “V ‘Krucking” I swear I am using that from now on!

LilyofDarkness January 24, 2011 at 1:13 PM

Wow, nameing things – er that was to Naming things…..I get so excited I forget simple spelling…*shakes head in shame*

Maryse January 24, 2011 at 1:14 PM

Yah I need to re-read that whole beast/child timeframe thingie again – cause I thought I thought..I dunno what I thought.

Ok my question? What the heck does “V ‘Krucking” – I mean – that was the Dragon’s name so I guess it means riding that dragon? So how can I use it in normal conversation? Teach me?

LilyofDarkness January 24, 2011 at 1:20 PM

You remember when she said “V’Krucking things up.” and then “Nothing would suck more than a V’Krucking” Yes, V’Kruck was the name of the Unseelie Kings dragon, who called her friend, and he was the one who gave Darroc’s head the grape treatment. He was also the one used at the end with the kid, to put him to rest. So I take it as “V’Krucking” was Mac’s play on words of effing everything up. Killing it. Decimating it. I would use it to say “My day is all V’Krucked up.” or “Seriously, what a V’Krucking day.” Eh? Do I make sense? Or am I the only one who read it like that???

Lezanda January 24, 2011 at 3:01 PM

I also took the “V’Krucking” as having an effing bad day. Remember he said he was DEATH, and in my book death just about sums up the worst day you can ever get. I’ve started saying that – but no one’s got any idea what I am talking about. As for the kid; when Mac was in Barrons mind he “showed” her the day in the desert with him, his son and 8 other men and then something (I can’t remember what)happened that changed them. That’s why the boy is still 12 years old.

I totally get Mac snubbing Barrons when he came back. She practically re-invented herself, made a vow to destroy the world (she didn’t even have such strong feelings for Alina’s death) and consorted with her biggest enemy to bring Barrons back. Ok, lousy timing on his part to come back and catch her in the arms of the enemy, but he wouldn’t even listen to her – he just assumes the worst. Just for the record – Barrons can assume about me all he wants.

The two biggest curveballs for me in the book was: Dani killing Alina and V’lain being the bad guy.

Maryse January 24, 2011 at 3:08 PM

ahhhh okay! Makes sense

I KNOW right!?! MYYYY V’lane – he made me swoon throughout the entire series (both of them equally but at some point I was alright w/ it if she chose V’lane ya know)?

Anyway – I see your point about her hard-to-get-edness. True – he wasn’t very cool, and the fact that she had NO clue about who he was, made it that much harder on her when she realized she didn’t even have to grieve.

But I dunno, there were soon plenty of times after that that she could have relented, because he certainly tried in his own way.

LilyofDarkness January 24, 2011 at 3:18 PM

Sorry, he left SO MANY times she could have just said “Ok, you hid shit, I hid shit, we both made bad choices…” but she expected him to forgive her everything – even arms of the enemy at the same time grudging him? I mean if he had told her Ry and the boys would have ended her, the reason she found out who he was landed on the shoulders of Ry – I mean he effed up – Barrons was trying to save her from knowing so Ry and the guys would never have to kill her. She can’t understand that but wants him to understand why she landed in LM’s arms? Double standard much?

And V’Laine – want to talk about someone who played it cool? Ice wouldn’t melt on that Fae! Holy crap he was a perfect blindsiding bad guy, but I don’t think he would have betrayed her. He wanted her too, I think if he could have had her and the book and the Fae crown he would have.

Dani was forced by Ro – and I loved that Mac stabbed her. I would have stabbed that bitch a long time ago.

Maryse January 24, 2011 at 3:23 PM

V’lane…still shaking my head in astonishment…I gasped – GASPED when it happened.

agreed though – he did truly love her I’m sure, she would have been his queen.

I adore the Unseelie King. He felt like a fatherly figure.

OH OH!!! WHo loved Barron’s reaction when she called the bartender “Dreamy-eyed college guy”.

a snake about to strike…

“If that’s what you want, get out of my house now!”

haha!

LilyofDarkness January 24, 2011 at 3:28 PM

HAHAHA Barrons and his loose hold on his jealously – I mean we say we don’t want that, but that was funny and hot.

I loved how Mac’s biggest fear right as V’lane was sucking up the book was that his first act would be to kill Barrons for good, because they always hated each other.

And I think Maryse might still have a thing for him, because get real – he had big black wings – and I know another guy she loves with big black wings. Not naming names or anything *coughZANEcough* He loved Mac. He made that clear and I think he HATED that she chose Barrons.
Another question – V’lane hated Barrons for killing someone he loved, who the hell was it? Do they say or was I so wrapped in the drama of M/B that I overlooked it?

Maryse January 24, 2011 at 3:36 PM

Hey yah right!? What was that all about? Nope – we didn’t get any of that, as an answer.

Maybe V’lane will get his own book? Oh wait how? he’s frozen. But there’s gotta be more V’lane because both she and he are on equal footing book/magic wise. Something’s gotta happen with that.

Yah the Black wings… I have a thing for that.

But they only appeared at the end, and I was still in so much shock, I didn’t put two and two together.

I must have subconciously known the truth about the wings throughout the entire series for crushing on V’lane so long – tee hee!!

LilyofDarkness January 24, 2011 at 3:43 PM

It was your vampire powers picking up on that! Osmosis in action!

Lis January 24, 2011 at 4:06 PM

Aaahh…where is my reply? Is there a page 2 I’m not seein’?
ok, once again, the biggest “gotcha’s” for me were V’Lane and Dani. I mean, wow…
I can’t see how Mac & Barrons can just end. I can’t see them hanging around the bookstore making kissey faces and hosting bbq’s, can you?
Mac & V’Lane have to have it out. They are both hosting the “book”. Dark & light have to come together.
Where is Dani?
Is Christian stomping around Dublin being all surley or did he go back to Scotland? (I am glad his story is coming..)
KMM can’t just leave this hanging.
What about the King and his lady?
aaarrgghh….I wanna know what happens!

LilyofDarkness January 24, 2011 at 4:38 PM

I also can not see them just hanging out at BB&B and making burgers. And smexing. I mean I see the smexing – but they will come up for air.

I think there is going to be another showdown with Mac and V’lane – I mean get real even she said there is too much temptation in there. The book could talk you into touching it, but a hot, naked guy, so perfect looking with big black wings isn’t begging to be touched without saying anything? People have been molesting that David statue for a hell of a long time and he is not even full of spells that people want!

Dani flashed off the tower and is now off the grid – I wonder if she zipped into a silver or something…..

I have no idea where Christian is sulking – but I can’t wait for his story. Boy he sure was pissed about becoming Fae….

The king and his lady are chicka chicka bow bow – I’m willing to bet!

Maryse January 24, 2011 at 4:41 PM

Yah but first he has to make her remember… wonder if that’s gonna be a book too? Would be worth reading…kinda like Acheron or something…

The “before” when they met and fell in love, and all this crap started…and then the “today” when he gets her back and tries to bring her back to him.

Maryse January 24, 2011 at 4:43 PM

Sorry Lis – I think I fixed it. Everything should be showing up now.

Exactly, about Barrons and Mac – Mac holds something very important inside of her, and his “crew” are still pretyy iffy about her.

Hey you know what I just thought of? That NOBODY knows she has the book inside of her ‘cept Cruce, Unseelie King, and Barrons…

There’s more to the story coming up, I’m sure. Sheeesh everyone wanted to kill her when they didn’t know what she was about. Now that we know (and V’lane knows)…wonder how that will come about.

LilyofDarkness January 24, 2011 at 4:58 PM

Remember the last two pages….”The End” ……… “for now.”

MORE IS COMING, and I don’t think in just a spin off, I bet she is going to rock our worlds with another one….just wait and see. She knows she has something there, I mean look at the outcry when it was delayed like two weeks, there was twitter munity!

Lis January 24, 2011 at 5:30 PM

OK,I am offically holding my breath until the next book comes out!

LilyofDarkness January 25, 2011 at 8:20 AM

I can’t wait….I just know there is more coming!

Jade January 25, 2011 at 5:00 PM

Hey guys, I thought i was alone in all this questions…
About dani, doesn’t she have a boyfriend? Who’s the guy? I
thought for a moment he was one of the bad guys cause she
was all misterious about it…

Conchita January 25, 2011 at 5:46 PM

Good review and I loved comments from the regulars. Enjoyed the banter back and forth. I am so looking forward to any spinoffs as there were too many interesting charactors introduced that demand their own stories. In the paranormal world DEAD does not mean gone forever so there are many possibilities.

LilyofDarkness January 27, 2011 at 9:43 AM

Jade – nah I don’t know what’s up with Dani’s boyfriend, but I am hoping in the spin off series that is covered. Interesting to think he may not be a good guy though. I wonder how she will react when she learns that V’Lane was not the great wonderful guy she thought he was….remember more than once she said she was going to give her virginity to him.

Conchita – I agree, I hope the spinoff series is just as detailed and into it as Fever. Main people I would like to see return: Dani (just to know what’s up with her), Christian (I need to know what he’s up to) and V’Kruck – he isn’t a person but I just find him interesting. Plus I want to know what the king and his lady are up now, well, not right now cause I can bet what they’re doing NOW, however, we never found out if the concubine was Abohiel (or however you spell it) – am I the only one who caught on that the name was never spoken….just “the queen” and “the concubine” never her name……makes me wonder…..

Amber C March 5, 2011 at 11:08 PM

It started slow but ended so good!!! Loved…one of my favorite lines and I had to re-read the whole section a few times: “I just watched you die. I have to f*** you, Mac.” HOLY SMOKES!!! I was a puddle on the floor. The way he protects her is unreal. It’s about as good as when Edward told Bella, “You are my world now.” AHHHHHH…

Maryse March 5, 2011 at 11:24 PM

Oh yes… that WHOLE chapter and everything between the two after that… SO re-readable!

Carey July 23, 2011 at 7:47 PM

I just read both of Monings series – Highlander & Fever – back-to-back over the past three weeks. Addictive!
Just finished Shadowfever last night and have been thinking about it since.
1. Need to know more about Barrons history…prior to becoming a beast – as well as how he was turned. Perhaps a return to a third-person POV story would work. After reading her ‘interview’ with Jericho…sounds like he certainly won’t be forthcoming!
2. What happened to Queen Aobheal? Maybe I missed the connection as Book 5 wrapped up… That the concubines had become the Queen over time and had projected herself (she appeared to Adam at the Fae court) and she had some significance in Book 7 of the Highlander series when she appeared to Cian above the stairs in the castle hall. I may have to reread that part….only finished it a week ago in this whirlwind fantasy(!) Apparently, there had been multiple Queens after the one killed by the King. But I think I recall it actually being revealed that the King was older than the Queen…there had been Queens before the one that was killed. And, that the concubines indeed became Queen according to Cruce, though he took V’laine’s face and never drank from the cauldron….and made sure everyone else did over time…including the Fae Queen. Thus, he would remember, and over many millennia, all else would forget. So, I’m thinking he had this planned out a ridiculously long amount of time. Even then, Adam didn’t know and he was the Queen’s favorite…and then the Queen didn’t know her own origins….
3. I’m not too concerned with Dani. Would be nice to see Mac make amends with her, to let Dani know that she realizes it was the crazy beotch’s coercion that made her take Alina to her death. It is odd that Dani and Mac wasn’t wrapped up ….just left off. I can see that it leaves for a possible spin-off, just that they just stopped talking about Dani after we realized what role Rowena played. Honestly, Dani was cute, but if I had to read a whole book in her fragmented sentence POV….I’d need more than a wee dram o’ Whiskey! Ugh… Like it’d be a feckin bummer dude.

Carey July 23, 2011 at 8:01 PM

I keep typing Concubines, but it must be my iPad filling in the plural as I type. I meant ‘concubine’. yes, only one of those… Now back to Queen Aobheal. She talks about some future significant events in Cian’s story (Highlander book 5) and the theme is synchronicity…and the recurring times she must alter history in preparation of acquiring her 5 Highlanders for what ends up being their role (albeit small) in the Fever series. However, at what point was she placed by Cruce/V’laine’s in the tomb, if it was her/ the one and the same concubines?
I feel like I’m missing some Queen/concubine/QueenAobheal connection and timeframe.

Oh, and what was with Christian!!!! Geez it was like he was really obsessed with whether Mac had sex with anyone… As if he he thought ‘mine’ as a Druid towards her. Too bad if that’s so. Though would make a FANTASTIC book!!!!! imagine the Druid Highlander Christian fighting for Mac against Jericho Barrons??? He hates her for feeding I’m underlie and turning him into whatever he is become (even if it’s temporary). Time to go get some Big sexy Highlander Uncles involved…some more black magic…more tags and whatnot… All because he thinks Mac’s the one to say his Druid marriage/binding spell on. And thus without her, he will never have his one true mate. Well, that would certainly explain his frustration with her!

Carey July 23, 2011 at 8:03 PM

He hates her for ‘feeding him UnSeelie’….. Ugh darn auto correct!

Carey July 23, 2011 at 8:04 PM

OK…must take off auto-correct…
‘more tats and whatnot’

Maryse July 23, 2011 at 8:25 PM

LOL! I have the same prob with my iPad… auto corrects for me all the time. Grrrrrr!!

Carey July 23, 2011 at 9:11 PM

POVs?
I’ve read a LOT of Marsha Canham books – in fact thanks to her, I got on this whole reading e-books, bodice-rippers – to Highlanders – to urban fantasy – kick. Thanks Marsha!
Anyway, just finished reading the Moning books in one fell swoop, and now I’m debating whether to go back and read a few more Canham books (the Robin Hood trilogy) as well as Pale Moon Rider…since they are shorter books… than the Outlander series by Diana Galbadon. I understand those are about 1000 pages each and highly involved… I’m excited to begin after the wonderful ride from the Fever series. Gosh, only about a week ago I was afraid to dive in cause I was gonna mourn my Highlanders. Ahhh….
Now to get my husband into the Fever series (I don’t think the Highlander thing is for him LOL). He’s reading George Martin’s Song of Ice & Fire series now….but that will be later on my list.
Anyone NOT think I should finish Marsha Canham’s books up before moving onto Outlander?

Carey July 24, 2011 at 6:56 PM

Oh well, started Marsha Canham…and I am reminded again why I like her so much. I SO enjoy her writing style, it’s more than the subject matter or character development, but the combination of how she chooses and combines her words. Fantastic!

Moxie Pepperpot September 1, 2011 at 10:41 PM

I have read many many series, but none have captivated me like Karen Marie Monings’ Fever Series. I was sucked in and now that I’ve finished the last book, I want to go back. Love Love Love Barons, Mac, and Dani. Okay…I’ll stop gushing now, but it’s hard to do. I may be K’Vrucked.

Maryse September 4, 2011 at 1:39 PM

One of my all time favorite series!!! There will be more ;) She is writing a “trilogy” spin-off, and then there will be two more books written back in the actual Fever series (with Mac, Cruce, Barrons and crew!). YAY us!!!!

Hillari April 30, 2013 at 11:13 PM

Hello Maryse! I just read this whole series, thank you for the suggestion, in two days. I have never been so emotionally exhausted. I don’t know what it was about this series! I do love it though and it is one of my faves!

Amanda Johnson December 4, 2013 at 12:32 AM

A friend of mine got me hooked on this series and i devoured them in two weeks. Talk about a rollercoaster! I couldn’t get enough! I iimmediately fell in love with Barrons. If they ever turn this series into a movie Jason Momoa (Khal Drogo from Game of Thrones) needs to play Barrons. He can Voice me anytime! Whew! Ok…time to go cool down.
Xoxo to all

Leave a Comment

 

Notify me of followup comments to this post via e-mail. You can also subscribe without commenting.

Previous post:

Next post: