Book Review – Sweet Thing by Renee Carlino

by Maryse on May 16, 2013 · 79 comments

in My Book Reviews

Sweet Thing: A Novel
<— THIS!!!!! 5 stars!!!! This is what I’ve been craving, waiting for… wanting, needing to read for weeks. Months. This was it. This was the one I was referring to, when I would bemoan that I wished I could find another book that would make me crazy for it. Oh, I mean… don’t get me wrong. I’ve read some pretty fantastic reads this year that I’ve loved and will easily make my best of 2013 list, but THIS is the one that just might make the top.

I received quite a few enthusiastic recommendations, and the only thing I regret was not having read this one sooner.

Elizabeth: I thought I’d suggest a book I just finished – Sweet Thing by Renee Carlino. I guess she’s a first-time author but you’d never know by how effortlessly the story was told. I was hooked from the beginning. I loved the NYC backdrop, the music woven throughout and of course WILL. He’s not a “rock star,” (though I love bad boy rock stars) but like the heroine, Mia, he is a talented and rising musician. They connect over music and it’s just a really great story. The heroine has “issues,” but overall they made sense to me. I won’t forget the book anytime soon. I don’t think the blurb does it justice at all and it definitely has quite a bit of angst…not too sweet :)

Jessica: Not sure if you’ve read Sweet Thing by Renee Carlino, but I absolutely loved it… The book is about a girl, Mia, who is trying to find herself after the death of her father. She meets a wonderful, funny musician on the plane, Will, who later becomes her roommate. Needless to say, Will is so awesome and he develops feelings for Mia. Of course, she screws up…repeatedly. Put it on your TBR list and give it a chance.

Karen: I never thought I would be recommending books that don’t feature a “bad boy” hero, but I’ve discovered that a hot man crazy in love is just as much a turn-on for me…especially when they get hurt and leave…turning the “tough” heroine into a blubbery mess! Sweet Thing by Renee Carlino. Will isn’t a bad boy or a rock star but he’s a musician and he’s hot…he totally reminds me of Andrew from Edge of Never. Mia wants Will but she doesn’t think he makes good “forever” material so she tries to maintain a “friends only” relationship…

There are a few LOL moments as well as several heart-wrenching scenes… the very last sentence in the book had me sobbing.

You guys were SO right!!!!! This is one of my absolute favorites this year, and just one of my plain old favorites, altogether. ;)

Why? Everything.

But mostly because it gave me that feeling again. The feeling I got, from back in my earlier “indie” reading days, connecting to books that would soon become my favorites of all time. When I would find myself devouring one after another proclaiming a new favorite, each time and I just couldn’t choose my favorite between them (and still can’t, to this day). This books fits that era… those books, for me. I could relate, cry, laugh, and fall head-over-heels with the hero, deciding that no, this one, he <— was the perfect man (yet again). This was one of those from back in the day when I couldn’t believe my luck at the plethora of awesome reads out there to be discovered. And I’m delighted to know that there are more of ‘em out there just waiting for us!

Maryse: Wow, I’m in book-love with a Wilbur. *sigh* I’m loving “Sweet Thing”. My heart just keeps swelling. It’s gonna burst, I just know it. In a good way or bad way? That… I don’t know.

Jillian: He was just so…so…*sigh*!! I’ll take a Wil all for my own, thank you. Just don’t tell my husband!

Ashley: Oh I am SO glad you’re finally reading this. He is one of my all time favorite boyfriends!

Maryse’s Book Blog: it feels like the books I fell in love with a year or 2 ago… It’s hard to describe what I mean… It just has that old feeling. Or at least, I do…

Renee: Oh ‘Sweet Thing’ is so so so good! It was one of those books that I wished had never ended.

Kirsten: I loved Wilbur Maryse. Mia drove me a little nuts at times, but I could understand her, and where she was coming from. I enjoyed the writing style here, and was surprised that this was the authors first book.

Melissa: I kinda wanted to shake Mia though.

Sylvia: I fell for him hard, he had me at the airport in the beginning!!! Just read it last week and had a smiled plastered on my face after!!!!

Maryse’s Book Blog: Me too I wanna shake Mia. Gah!! And now, I wanna shake *spoiler*, and that’s not very nice of me, is it? I wanna cry.

Kirsten: LOL. Mia is just so scared, and wanting to control every aspect of her life, and obviously that isn’t possible. I Will though, and he had me laughing the minute he got to his seat on the plane.

Ashley: I was in knots through most of it. I didn’t know whether to scream, or cry, or laugh like a maniac. I was so sucked in by it!

Sadie: Heart swelling is a great way to describe “the feeling” with a good book. I too had complicated feelings for Mia…LOL (wanting to shake but understanding

Summer: It was so good and now I am in a rut. The last few books I have read just did not bring me in at all.

Maryse’s Book Blog: Oh… my throat hurts from the teardrop-induced “bones” trying to rip through my neck… U know? When u’re holding back and it feels like bones in your throat? This.

Ashley: Oh yes Maryse, next comes the body shakes from holding it back. Best to let the sob out now and save some pain. Sigh. I may need to reread so soon after finish. I need more Wilbur!

Kim: Love, Love, Love Will, so much. He’s right up there with Kellan and Travis for me. I need another….STAT!! Any suggestions guys?

Kerri: It is the best book I have read all year!

Maryse’s Book Blog: The emotional waves (my heart dropping and soaring) and the butterflies just keep coming.

Denise: I’m so glad you’re reading this Maryse!! I absolutely LOVED this book. I loved the author’s sense of humor and Will definitely ranks up there with my top book boyfriends. This was one of my favorite books of the year.

This one had that feeling. The feeling that all of my favorite books gave me, all wrapped into one. The “feel” was Flat-Out Love, Slammed, it was How to Kill A Rockstar, it was Beautiful Disaster, On the Island, Love Unscripted, it was Thoughtless, it was Rock Me… (I could go on… but, see where I’m coming from?). But I don’t mean it was a copy of those (sure there were similar situations but it created it’s own thing). Life situations that we’ve read, seen or lived before, but a story that totally stands on it’s own. These book examples were simply to give you an “idea” of that feeling that I’m talking about. Did you get it reading those? You’ll likely get it reading this.

What I’m saying is… it had all that heart, all of that emotion, all of that wit, that charm, the supporting characters, all of that angst and intensity, all of the hero’s absolute sweetness. It was that touching (but not preachy) message that filled me. Fulfilled me.

Nobody was really… “broken” here (although I love those reads too). But this one was lighter, in that respect. They were just people in their mid to late twenties adjusting to new life situations and in turn, developed an amazing friendship. *sigh* It was soooooo beautiful, you guys. And at times, soooooo deliciously painful.

What else did it have? It had that relaxed, yet skilled writing style. The important details and the tiny “background” details that you barely notice but that fill in the scenes. Complete the story. Nothing was skipped. Realistic. It didn’t feel rushed. It had the perfect relationship progression with understandable reservations and angst, along with just a few of those all-important over-the-top reactions. Nothing was overdone (oh, well…okay maybe some of the heroine’s reservations were quite… GAH!!!!) Hehehe… the foot-in-mouth syndrome afflicted her often. Yes, I face-palmed, and *if* I eye rolled it was ’cause I was mad at her… but I never eye rolled at the story itself (if I’m eye-rolling at the story, that’s not a good thing for me). It’s as if the author respected our “melodramatic limits”.

But, yep. Overall, it had that great flow. At times dramatic, even a tad melodramatic, but in a way that kept me hooked despite my exasperation. Read it in one sitting, and I didn’t get bored once.

What else did it have? Fantastic characters that I could see perfectly in my head right from the start. How they talked, how they thought, how they looked. Their facial expressions, the depth of their emotions…

Tears had poured from her eyes without any change in her facial expression. It’s pure pain and pure surrender when your soul cries without any fight from your body and that’s how I knew she was deeply affected.

This book played out like a movie in my head and I had no problem getting to know them. Connecting to them.

It had that female character that I merged with. That I became. That I could relate to on an uncanny level (whoa. I swear, it was like reading… me). I delighted in how much I could relate to her. Her irish heritage, family situation, her love of Damien Rice, her favorite drinks, her occasional 5am wake-ups and how crazy that makes her, even her love of planes because it took “it” all out of her hands and she could just… relax.

I love flying. It’s an escape for me. There is nowhere to be; it’s surrendering to fate.

There she was, in all of her life goals, musical abilities, and both her perfectly reasonable (and completely unreasonable) thought processes. She was emotional. She was real. And, she was also infuriating. Irritating. Even a bit mean at times (that part wasn’t “me” so much ’cause I know me, and I would have never been able to resist Will). I was shaking my head, wondering… how she could? How could she? There wasn’t a “dark” past to her, but she certainly had an occasionally selfish human side. Her issues stemmed from her hopes and dreams and her struggle against her own true self. But the strife it caused her, and others? Oh… the strife.

And it had Will. Some of you mentioned I would fall in love with another Will, and you guys weren’t kidding. I ABSOLUTELY did. Fell for everything about him. He was PERFECT in all of his wonderful quirky imperfections. OMG did I ever swoon!! I tittered and giggled, when he was being cute…

“You’re sweet,” I said, squeezing his hand.

“Wanna sleep in my bed tonight?” he said with a crooked smile.

“Not a chance, Wilbur.”

He shrugged, laughing it off.

I swooned when he was being serious. And I got teary-eyed when he was hurt…

His smile faded. It was the first time I saw a hint of sadness in his eyes.

… and when he purposely hurt back. He broke my heart. Or maybe my heart broke for him. Or both. I’ll let you experience all of that.

So what’s it about?

Mia moves to New York after her father dies, to take over his business and take care of his affairs. And on the plane to NY, she meets Will, a gorgeous “starving artist” type (he’s a musician) that is all too willing to chat. And as they do, they bond, and she’s attracted. BIG TIME!! Despite her plans for a set and secure business future (and possible future with a like-minded husband), the starving artist type “calls to her”. And she insists on resisting it tooth and nail.

“I want to meet a man who is a team player. Not someone who is swept up in his feelings and art.”

But Will is hard to resist and while she is determined to not have any romantic involvement with him, they are kindred spirits, with so many of the same likes and values and they make AWESOME friends. And eventual roommates. Yep. Roommates!!! Oh the fun (and the titillating agony)!!!

“Anyway, we can just figure it out as we go.”

I had no idea how meaningful those words would become.

I LOVED IT!! Can you tell? ;)  It gave me every emotion and in just the right amount. My perfect read.

Yes, the author did send this review copy my way, and yes, I was told my name appears in the story at some point ;) (and to my delight, I forgot that tidbit until I “hit” it and I couldn’t help but be excited that “book-me” lives in their world!!). But I can promise you this (and I can promise you this with all of my reviews) but I really feel the need to make this clear on this one, because of just how much I want you to read this. This review, and how much I loved this book stems 100% from my own honest opinion and my own personal experience as I took in this sweet story. No bias, here. In fact, I’ve had it for awhile, and I’m saddened and deeply disappointed in myself that I didn’t read it sooner. This book has pulled me out of my reading slump and has invigorated me, and I could have had this feeling sooner.

But better late, than never, as they say, and I’m THRILLED to have finally read it. This was such a good book, you guys. I wanna read it again.

5 stars PLUS!!!!


Get Free Email Updates from me :)

{ 79 comments… read them below or add one }

Steph D May 16, 2013 at 12:59 PM

Ok, NOW I know what I will be reading next! I can feel your excitement and love for this book, which is making me all giddy…lol! I’m going to finish the book that I am currently reading, even if I need to stay up all night so that I can start this book tomorrow morning. I may just have to sneak some reading in at work tomorrow :) Thanks for the suggestion….now off to purchase the book!

Maryse May 16, 2013 at 1:03 PM

I can’t wait to hear what you think. My heart will be floating all day. Probably even for the rest of the week. :D

Steph D May 16, 2013 at 1:10 PM

Wow…now I REALLY cannot wait to start it! I’ll let you know how it makes me feel :)

Tricia C May 16, 2013 at 1:11 PM

You had me at your first line! Downloaded! I cannot wait.

Elizabeth May 16, 2013 at 1:20 PM

Ahhhh Yay!!! This thrills me to no end Maryse. One of my favorites of the year and maybe ever. I agree with everything you said. I want more from this author and I love this book!

Lisa May 16, 2013 at 1:45 PM

Nice. I’ve been desperately needing a book that has that magic our favs have had. After reading your review, I’m not even gonna download the sample, I’m jst gonna buy. Thanks Maryse. Oh and can’t wait to come across your name in the book. That has to be a trip.

Karen May 16, 2013 at 1:46 PM

Sweet Thing was on my TBR list, but after reading your review, I just ordered it for my Kindle! Thanks!

Katie May 16, 2013 at 1:47 PM

A MUST READ!!!! breath of fresh air book!!! You will love it.

Jamie May 16, 2013 at 1:53 PM

Wow I hate when I see that you are this excited about a book and I have already went over my book budget for the month. That means I am going to have a not so happy husband when he checks the bank account, because I am going to have to buy it! :)

Joanna I May 16, 2013 at 1:57 PM

Just downloaded…thank you Maryse!! :)

Kerri May 16, 2013 at 2:02 PM

What a perfect review of this book, so well said Maryse! Like you , I loved sooo much about of this book. After seeing that you were reading it, I could not wait to see your reaction. I want to read it again just to feel those feelings you are feeling today, sometimes I still catch myself thinking of Mia and Will and some of the really good parts and then they make me smile all over again!! Best read of the year by far, one of those that you’re almost afraid to keep reading others after it because they will not compare, yet it would have been a tragedy to have missed out on this one. So for those who have not read it yet- do not cheat yourself of this fantastic find!!

Elysa May May 16, 2013 at 2:06 PM

Maryse you hit the nail on the head with your review. This is a wonderful book and that doesn’t even begin to describe how wonderful it really is. Sweet Thing for me was a happy accident b/c I had won a contest on FB through Fictional Boyfriends and had to choose a book from their list. I didn’t know most of the authors or titles and the ones I did know I already owned. I am sure the book gods played a part in me picking Sweet Thing and it was the best choice ever. I read it in one sitting and was a mess after I had finished it. I love Renee’s voice and the flow of the story. I am anxiously waiting with baited breath for next book, but I think she should write this story from Will’s POV. Also, I think this book should be made into a movie. I feel if I keep throwing that out into the universe, the universe will hear me and Hollywood will call Renee and make it happen.

Lisa M May 16, 2013 at 2:09 PM

I didn’t know what to read after Unbeautifully but now I know. I will be downloading Sweet Thing tonight!! Maryse anytime you give a book 5 Star, its a must read for me and never disappointing. Can’t wait to start it!!

Linh May 16, 2013 at 2:18 PM

Yeah! Can’t wait to read it. Gonna go buy right now. Thanks Maryse!

rachel at backngroovemom May 16, 2013 at 2:22 PM

I just read this over my relaxing mother’s day. I loved it….I loved Will’s quiet determination to find happiness …

Aarjullor May 16, 2013 at 2:32 PM

I just finished this book last night, and I LOVED IT!! I haven’t cried this much during a book in ages, I just dripped tears. The writing was just so good, perfectly paced. I generally like books where the main characters are together for the majority, (Kristen Ashley), but this book did not leave me wanting. 5 stars!

Sadie May 16, 2013 at 2:32 PM

OK, I need to let go of this amazing book and move on to Unbeautifully which I know I will also love, but didn’t you adore how they connected over their passion for music? How he appreciated her talent and loved hearing her play and vice versa? And how he’s sort of the anti-rock star, even though I love rock stars? Loved it all.

Maryse May 16, 2013 at 2:42 PM

I loved when they played together. I love that she loved that there was always music playing at their place (even muffled through the walls). That comfort…

I loved their dog…

And YES!! I LOVED his passion for his art, and his insistence on staying true to it.

Every bit of it.

I’m with you, Sadie – Unbeautifully is next for me, so maybe we’ll end up reading it together? But I’m gonna bask in this one all day…

Jean May 16, 2013 at 2:51 PM

Wow! After a review like that, how can I not download it! Thanks Maryse!

Sadie May 16, 2013 at 2:56 PM

I’m still basking and it has been weeks (a month?) since I’ve read it. It is THAT good. Loved the dog too and how Will really understood who Mia was. And the connection with the prologue…and the end?! Such a well-rounded, complete story for me.

Rose May 16, 2013 at 2:58 PM

Just bought this after reading your review. Obviously moved way up the TBR list to “next”! Thank you for the review and mainly your reference that this took you back to some older Indie books – sounds just what I’ve been looking for :) .

Maryse May 16, 2013 at 3:09 PM

:D !!!

I can’t wait to hear back from you guys. If you need any emotional support, or wanna yell at some parts, I’m here for you all.

Jennifer May 16, 2013 at 3:15 PM

Wonderful review and I couldn’t agree more, this book is definitely on the top of my list for great books of 2013.

melissa May 16, 2013 at 3:55 PM

Oh wow! Sooo many good books that have come out this week and then I read THIS review! I may have to reorganize my TBR list for my next read. Almost finished up with Allure by Nina Lane….sooo good.

Siana May 16, 2013 at 4:23 PM

Yay, so glad you read this! Wonderful review – you really captured what a beautiful story this is. I read this book about a month ago and it’s still staying with me more so than any book I’ve read since. Hopefully more people will get to know Will and Mia after reading your awesome review. :)

LucyLou May 16, 2013 at 4:47 PM

OMG!!! A Maryse 5 star book!!! I just added this to my TBR list and bumped it up to read next. Thanks Maryse.

Paula May 16, 2013 at 4:52 PM

It’s about time! And WOW – better review than I could even imagine! Welcome to the Sweet Thing worshiping club! ;-) For me, it was all about the Prologue…it was like I was reading what was inside my own head. And then the dedication at the end…I was one giant puddle. This book is a work of art!

Paula May 16, 2013 at 4:56 PM

OH, and BTW, not only is your name in the book Maryse, but MY name is there too, but as a SONG name! Haha! It’s a fictional song name, but still a song name, nonetheless! Renee told me she has a friend with my name, so it wasn’t actually named after ME (darn it), but that was still cool!

LucyLou May 16, 2013 at 5:07 PM

Maryse said: “I’m with you, Sadie – Unbeautifully is next for me, so maybe we’ll end up reading it together? But I’m gonna bask in this one all day…”

Yes, Yes, Yes, Let have a buddy read!! Sounds fun!! I haven’t had a chance to read “Unbeautifully” yet and would love to join in on the reading group!

Maryse May 16, 2013 at 5:11 PM

Let’s do it, LucyLou!! Tonight, late I may start it, or tomorrow. :) But you MUST read this one, too.

What to do… what to do…

Carissa May 16, 2013 at 5:19 PM

She is driving me fucking bananas!!!! I had to put it down! Oh. My. God.

LucyLou May 16, 2013 at 5:25 PM

Sounds great Maryse. I’ll start “Unbeautifully” tomorrow and then read “Sweet Thing” after that. FUN!!

Sasha May 16, 2013 at 5:25 PM

Hi Maryse,

I found your blog a few months ago, and I normally agree wholeheartedly with most of your reviews (in fact if you review something 4 stars or plus, there’s a 99% chance I’ll check it out and read it :) This is my first time commenting !

Read your review this morning, purchased straightaway, had a long train ride so read it this afternoon. Without giving any spoilers away…. I absolutely loved Will, but Mia totally did not deserve him. He was adorable, gentle, amazing (etc etc swoooon) and she was just completely self-involved, rude, wrapped up in her own issues, lapping up attention but not giving any back. There were a few moments in particular when she came across as abhorrently selfish. I just couldn’t see why he was attracted to her, I was honestly rooting for him to pack his bags and run away from this whiny cow!

Is anyone else with me on this? Am I completely missing the point? I couldn’t understand why she was looking down on him, when her career trajectory wasn’t exactly stellar ( Kell’s basically ran itself, and everytime she was upset she would just hole up and ignore everything and everyone). There were a few times when Jenny tried to set her straight but other than that…gahhh!

This is not to discourage anyone from reading the book. I really loved Will, and most people seem to adore the storyline.


Sara May 16, 2013 at 5:26 PM

Loved this book!! One of the best I’ve read all year!!

Paula May 16, 2013 at 5:33 PM

And, now that’s it’s official – all those going to Book Bash can meet Renee…including me!!!! Yipeeee!!! Thanks Maryse…you’ve made my day!!!

Maryse May 16, 2013 at 5:34 PM

Hi Sasha! I’m so happy you commented. :D

I suppose much of it for me, (and my acceptance of Mia) was her growth. The lessons learned, and how they were learned, and how deeply she learned them. The honestly in that realization. And that ending…

And of course, Will’s incredible integrity. How could I not love it as a whole?

But I can understand what you’re saying. She absolutely infuriated me at times. I’d say I couldn’t have been “that strong” to resist him. but it wasn’t about strength, was it? It was about a sort of… selfish fear.

Maryse May 16, 2013 at 5:40 PM

I know, Paula! *squeeee* I can’t wait to meet Renee!!!

Elizabeth May 16, 2013 at 5:55 PM

Maryse, I agree with you about Mia. Sasha, for me, there were many times I questioned whether I’d react or “resist” the way Mia did, but given where she was in her life, her family background and fear for her future, I *got* her. I also think she valued Will’s role as a best friend and she feared change. By the end, I saw the growth that Maryse pointed out. Overall, a good book makes you feel (even yelling at my iPad, which I did, several times), and I really felt this one. :)

Kerri May 16, 2013 at 6:39 PM

Sasha, love all points of views when it comes to a great book. You have such valid points but how I personally overcame Mia and her frustrating ways, UGH, was that I know for me, there are some decisions/actions/etc… in my mid-twenties I wish I could have a redo on…..if you know what I mean. So lucky for Mia she had WILBER- and don’t we all wish we had a Wilber waiting in the wings for when we screw up….. Now that I say that- I’m not sure anyone is deserving of him. hehe :)

Kerri May 16, 2013 at 6:41 PM

By the way- I am so incredibly jealous of all of you book girls who get to go to book bash!! Please post lots of stuff about it so I can live through you. Thanks!

Autumn Thibault May 16, 2013 at 8:02 PM

This book frustrated and enthralled me! I wanted to ring Mia’s neck and then make Will my own!! Loved it though, it was amazing!

Rachel May 16, 2013 at 8:51 PM

I downloaded it the moment you posted your review and just finished omg so good! Idk what I would do without your blog and it was definately what I needed I have read to many dark reads lately. Thanks.

Cherine May 17, 2013 at 2:49 AM

Just downloaded…thank you Maryse!!

Julie B. May 17, 2013 at 11:07 AM

I just started Sweet Thing, I am at 6% on my kindle. Is it too soon to love Will?? Thanks Maryse for your wonderful recomendations, you’re the best!!

Autumn @TheAutumnReview May 17, 2013 at 11:09 AM

I have this one for review and you just made me bump it up on the schedule!!!

charity May 17, 2013 at 12:19 PM

Loved loved loved this book. Stayed up all night . I laughed and cried with Mia and Will. Such a great read. Made me feel llike I did when I first read Beautiful Disaster and Slammed!!!!! Added to my top 5 list!!! Must Read this Book if you haven’t!

sandy sciacca May 17, 2013 at 2:05 PM

ok just finished it and i loved it also although i do have to say there were a few times i really wanted to smack Mia, how could she not see Will for who and waht he was and instead of fighting their attraction just go with it, but of course her character is what helped make the book so good. and i must say u are right that it is sometimes refreshing to read a book that is more about love and life and not about exes and alpha bad boys, but i still love them:),,,,,,,,,,,

Kyle May 17, 2013 at 2:50 PM

Okay, so I am still iffy on this book. I loved Wilbur completely and I agree that Mia was pretty annoying with all her wishy washy-ness… that said I also felt really bad for her. I felt that she didnt have a very good support system. Yeah, she had all of the girls from the cafe but I felt that they should have helped her out more instead of just ignoring her when she screwed up. It seemed they always sided with Wil, and I just felt bad for her. They always gave it to her straight, but I think sometimes youe just need someone on your side instead of telling you how much wrong you did. It just seemed unfair to her to never have anyone understand where she was coming from. Does that make sense?

Renee May 17, 2013 at 7:24 PM

Hi Maryse, I’m a massive fan of your blog! I check it religiously everyday but it just occurred to me I’ve never comment on any of your reviews.. So today I thought, Why the hell not?! I LOVED this book with all my heart! I felt so connected to it. I finished it last night and I have a HUGE book hanger and I haven’t had one of those in a long time. I loved your review on this book. You hit the nail on the head.. I agree with everything you said and felt. I especially agree that it gave you ” that feeling”. I haven’t felt “that feeling” in so long and I thought it was lost. I better stop writing not otherwise this will turn into a full essay but I *heart* this book and I love your reviews! You rock girly! xR

Renee May 17, 2013 at 7:29 PM

P.S sorry about the typos.. Bloody iPhones!!! X

Maryse May 17, 2013 at 8:33 PM

The feeling… Exactly. That is what I’m always hoping for when I read, and this one delivered. :)

Kayla May 18, 2013 at 2:11 AM

Oh Maryse! You never let me down! I, too, was in a book slump and had to read this after your review. I can’t even put it into words how this book hit me. It was like a gut punch to my soul. Beautiful writing, beautiful story, and times where I did the sobbing cry. I couldn’t put this away, and Mia and Will will stay with me a long time after. This has crept up into one of my top 10 favorite books. I longed for something after The Edge of Never that would make me passionate about reading again, and this book did just that. 5++++ stars!!

linh May 18, 2013 at 3:48 AM

My heart is beaming still from this book. I am absolutely swooning for Will. Mia was INFURIATINGLY self centered and stubborn but I think the author did that on purpose to show how lost she was before she learned more about herself and found her way. It was beautifully done with the all important character of Lauren. She hinted at it in the prologue saying that she wished she could Mia all her wisdom but wisdom can’t be taught. Mia needed to make mistakes to truly appreciates how PERFECT Will is.

Ahhhhhh. Best book in so long for me. I wish I had a Will just to hang out with and feed off his good vibes. EVERYONE NEEDS A WILL IN THEIR LIFE.

Paula May 18, 2013 at 2:33 PM

Lauren’s thoughts in the prologue about wisdom needing to be earned was a goosebump moment for me. I’ve decided that it’s now a future literary quote for me! And it was the perfect introduction to the theme of the story – from the viewpoint of a complete stranger. Then how the story was tied up by Lauren in the epilogue was just pure genius. I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again, this book is a work of art!

Jean May 19, 2013 at 9:52 AM

Was up til 3:30 am! Read this book in one night…Loved it! Thanks Maryse for another great recommendtion!

Molly Pina May 19, 2013 at 10:14 PM

This is one of those books that is right up there with Slammed and Beautiful Disaster. I am about 60 percent through and I am DYING! In my head I am screaming, “If she lets him go without telling him how she feels, I am going to lose it!” LOVE this book! Thanks, Maryse!

Helen May 20, 2013 at 4:16 AM

An amazing book that was written perfectly. Yes Mia was infuriating most of the time & yes I wouldn’t have been able to resist Will for that long

Helen May 20, 2013 at 9:21 AM

Oh no!!! I just realized what I wrote didn’t post completely

Melissa May 21, 2013 at 3:29 PM

I LOVED this! Maryse, you are always spot on when you give a book 5 stars! I know immediately that I will like it. I couldn’t out this one down. I read nearly everything you recommend and especially when you give such a glowing review. You even got a mention at the end of the book! It was just what I needed to read at the time. I love it when you find a book that makes you smile and is sweet and at the same and time tugs at your heart..

Sue May 22, 2013 at 9:38 AM

I loved this book. It made me laugh, cry and at times want to pull my hair out Mia. Can somebody PLEASE explain to me though the interaction between Lauren/Will in the epilogue. Did I miss something?

Maryse May 22, 2013 at 9:45 AM

This is what the author told me about that part, as I too was wondering…

(so everyone who hasn’t read this book yet, skip this part until after you finish): ;)

I asked:

“Quick question in case I’m missing something – I get Lauren started the book – she’s the writer and I LOVE how clever you start and end it with her. And how closely tied she is to Mia (life and looks). Did Will know her? I feel like I might be missing a deeper twist or message there…”

And the author answered:

“I like to think that between the time that Mia and Will reunite and then see Lauren on the street, Mia has told Will about Lauren. Will knows Lauren helped Mia sort of “see the the light”.

When Mia whispers to Will, maybe she’s saying. “That’s her, the writer, Lauren, that I told you about.”

But also, maybe there is some recognition for Will. Maybe he has seen Lauren before, if only just once? Maybe Lauren reminds him of Mia? Will is just a genuinely nice guy, but I wanted the audience to wonder about it.”

Maryse May 22, 2013 at 9:49 AM

Yep… in my mind I think that Mia had told him about Lauren, and I think when Will finally “met” Lauren, that he was appreciative/thankful/relieved/happy when he saw her, and let her know it in his sweet reaction to her. Maybe he even did see a lot of Mia in Lauren…

Chris May 24, 2013 at 7:06 AM

Just finished Sweet Thing last night and it is a must read for sure – 5 stars and top of my list for 2013!!! And YES, it leaves you with that “feeling”…I am still feeling it this morning – I am such a book dork!! Now, I will say I wanted to hurt Mia, several times, BUT it was all part of a great story. She had a lot to work out in herself – and at times I wanted to shake it out of her!!! Then Will – how could you not love this guy. I loved everything about him!! I loved the background of the story – her dad, the music influence, all the advice she got that wasn’t so clear. I will re read this one for sure!! I feel like I need some chocolate and a stiff drink!! ;)

Avery May 28, 2013 at 9:52 AM

Awesome review… Loved this book so much! Thank you!

Sue May 28, 2013 at 1:14 PM

Thanks Maryse for the thorough answer! This was a great book & felt kind of lost just at the end (ahhhh, frustrating). I thought at one moment she (Lauren) might have been one of the girls Will picked up at work.
Anyway, thank you Maryse! Love your blog!!

Sue May 28, 2013 at 1:15 PM

Thanks Maryse for the thorough answer! This was a great book & felt kind of lost just at the end (ahhhh, frustrating). I thought at one moment she (Lauren) might have been one of the girls Will picked up at work.
Anyway, thank you Maryse! Love your blog!!

Ellen May 28, 2013 at 2:01 PM

I just finished reading Sweet Thing based on your recommendation and I have to say, regretfully, that I don’t share your enthusiasm. I liked the story, and loved Will, but the author could have used an editor. There were several typos and a couple of glaring errors (“new” when the author meant “knew”) and that curtailed my enjoyment of the book. I also thought several parts just went on too long. I didn’t relate to the heroine’s decisions. Also, the sex was PG-13 at best. Liked it, didn’t love it, wouldn’t recommend it.

Liz June 5, 2013 at 3:04 PM

Dear Maryse,
I am follwing your blog for almost a year now and never commented on anything. However I want to thank you for all the great books I got to know through you – honestly I can say you never dissapointed me with any book you liked. At minimum I already read 40 of your recommendations. Sweet Thing made me so happy – I just wanted to thank you for this and hope it gets back into the Amazon BS 100 – this books deserves it more than a lot of the others. Keep this up – I am counting on you! A loyal German friend!

Maryse June 5, 2013 at 3:26 PM

I love this book, too Liz, and it deserves to be at the top!!

Marina June 6, 2013 at 8:31 AM

I LOVED this book!! It sooooo had that feeling. I loved How to Kill a Rockstar and have been looking for a book with that feel and this definitely had it. Loved it. I could have done without the “You’re Mine” scene. I don’t understand why books feel they need to go there since FSOG. And I felt like the pink diamond ring was just not Will and Mia. And some typos, but aside from those moments it was just beautiful. Loved the characters and their bond, the mystical alchemy. Loved the writer’s excerpt and how it was a turning point…….. Thanks so much Maryse for this recommendation! 5 Star top of this year for me! What to read after this??? Not sure I can move on!

Ali June 8, 2013 at 2:05 PM

I would have to respectfully disagree with a 5 star rating on this book. It was very similar to How to Kill a Rockstar… I wanted to kill Mia, myself. There were parts I loved, but it didn’t give me “that feeling”, DANG IT! And I WANT “that feeling”!!!! :)

K June 12, 2013 at 4:55 AM

Omg I just finished this. I have no words. The cover threw me off a little as it really did look like a sweet, bland, bored-so-ill-read-it book. And I gotta say, I have never been so glad to have been bored in my life! This book was totally Kill a Rockstar vibe and I LOVED IT just the same, if not more. “This Girl” pulled me out of a 4 month slump last week, and “Sweet Thing” just has me itching for more now! What is it with guys named Will!???

I like the idea that Will recognized Mia in Lauren, so I’m sticking to that! :P

Thank you for recommending this! Can’t wait to read another novel from this author.

Bethan June 24, 2013 at 2:27 AM

I’ve just finished reading this book! Wow it was amazing! So beautiful…I actually ached inside when I was reading it! It had me in tears at the end! Huge 5 stars from me! Thank you for bringing this book to my attention! Love your blog Maryse x

Teri July 3, 2013 at 8:08 AM

Thank you Maryse for reviewing this book. I probably would not have found it otherwise. I absolutely loved it. I was beginning to think there was something wrong with me-that I had been reading too much because everything I have read lately has just been blah. This brought me out of my book funk. This is not your typical romance. There were times when I hated Mia but she redeemed herself at the end. I want Renee Carlino to know what an amazing job she did and I want her to write more!!

Lisa July 7, 2013 at 12:04 AM

Loved this book, Maryse!!!! I’ve been waiting for a book to take me out of my funk and this one delievered. I squeed when I read your name at the end!!!

Angie H. July 8, 2013 at 1:34 PM

I’m too old to start a fan club, but Wilbur’s really got me thinking it would be a good idea, especially if it means we’ll get to be reading more about him ;)
Soooo, I really wanted to LOVE this entire book, Mia & Wil’s entire story, but I just couldn’t get past the overall feeling of it being a bit of a mash-up of Thoughtless, Effortless and Reckless. That said, there are some very insightful/crystalline/profound moments in this book that were expressed so incredibly well by the author, that I found myself being Mia, or her me, just like Maryse said. And Will & Mia together, both as “friends” or otherwise, was often as fun as it was magical. This is an original voice with some derivative elements that could be edited away, so I’m going with 5+++ stars for Will, 3 stars for Kiera-I mean-Mia ;) and 4 stars for the whole book. Am very interested in reading more from Renee Carlino, a diamond in the rough, for sure :) Thanks for the recommendation, Maryse!

Nicki July 15, 2013 at 10:24 AM

I LOVED the book so much!!! I was confused at the end when Mia asked Lauren if she had figured everything out as well?? What did she mean and also what do you supppose Mia whispered to Will before he blew Lauren a kiss and waved goodbye? Finished the book over the weekend but cannot stop thinking about it :-)

Mary Baker July 24, 2013 at 5:38 PM

I absolutely loved this book. The evolution of Mia was one of truth and reality. I love Will’s sense of humor throughout the whole book and how he knew exactly what he wanted but understood Mia’s need to grow into herself and become strong independently before they could move ahead. I gave it a 5 as well!!

gracie July 27, 2013 at 7:17 AM

Enjoyed the book but only because of Wilbur! A bit much to take in when it comes to Mia. Not a fan. Does the lady protest too much. Death of Pops definitely can have made her emotional but I really don’t understand her extremely irrational hesitation. She comes from a loving family, obviously never had financial issues and Wilbur is awesome. I don’t believe finding out about her parents’ marriage would be the reason. So what’s the deal? Couldn’t help but feel the author stretched It out for the sake of portraying Wilbur as perfect. He is! To the point that I think “move on to someone more deserving of your love.” Maryse, I am, even this one, loving your recommendations! Thanks.

Leave a Comment


Notify me of followup comments to this post via e-mail. You can also subscribe without commenting.

Previous post:

Next post: