Book Review – The Edge of Never by J.A. Redmerski

by Maryse on November 16, 2012 · 135 comments

in J.A Redmerski, My Book Reviews

The Edge of Never <—- This is one of the BEST BOOKS THAT I HAVE EVER READ. I’m shaking and my shaking started AFTER I finished reading. I haven’t had this happen to me in a LONG time. Ages. Maybe two or three books total in my entire reading life that not only made me cry, but made me tremble and shake AFTER my cry-fest. After the fact. AFTER I finished the book. I’m still trembling as we speak. What is this? An adrenaline rush? Coming down from the adrenaline rush? When will I stop shaking?

In fact one of my favorite people messaged me, and I didn’t even notice because I was busy crying too hard. But as soon as I realized she was there, waiting for me… I had a book freak-out right on her. I bet she didn’t see that coming! ;)

Maryse: Sorry I was just in tears over a book and I’m still shaking with it. Amazing read, but I just saw this message now.

Colleen: Oh what book????

Maryse: It was just released yesterday, and I just jumped on it for $1.99 ’cause I liked the sample, but OMG the sample is nothing compared to the rest of the book. BEST. OMG. I have had a few “bests” and this is absolutely one of ‘em. The Edge of Never. I’m literally shaking right now from my emotion overload. J.A. Redmerski.

Colleen: Yay!!

Maryse: I feel like i’m going to seize my nerves are going crazy.
*whoooooo* big long sigh out. I need a drink.
LOL! I so needed you for this. thank you! THIS my dear is… to me on the level of The Sea Of Tranquility not at all the same story but ABSOLUTELY on that level

Colleen: :) Oh yay I’m leaving for a cruise and need a good one!

Maryse: I would scream this one from the rooftops, but the blog is gonna have to do. LOL! I’m afraid of heights. ;)

You guys. PLEASE!!!! PLEASE do yourself a favor and read this. I went through so many amazing emotions, and at times I… no I can’t say ANYTHING. Read. it. Just read it. I just finished it and the only way I can ease myself back into my “real world” is to express myself here. Now. And all I want is to talk about this book, and I need you guys for that.

This was a beautiful BEAUTIFUL story. Amazingly detailed,  poignant, eloquently written, and the character’s voices were so… honest. Emotion, thoughts and fear, down to their purest form.

Depression is pain in it’s purest form and I would do anything to be able to feel an emotion again. Any emotion at all.

You think you know where it’s going, you have an idea of the potential angst to follow, but it’s just SO much deeper than that. I was taken by surprise over and over again.

That’s when I realized that everything I did from that point on produced the same results:

This is your life, Camryn Bennett. This is your life.

I feel like fate was smiling down on me yesterday when I happened upon one little teeny tiny email letting me know that this brand spanking new release (just released yesterday) would be on sale for that day only. And after I read the sample, I KNEW.. I just knew. This was for US.

Maryse’s Book Blog: Bargain book alert! This one was just brought to my attention by “Liz” (telling me it was bargain priced at $1.99 for today only) and I loved the cover. I thought it had a paranormal “vibe” to it, but when I saw it was New Adult Contemporary I checked out the synopsis and then downloaded & read the sample. So far so good, and I think I’m going to continue this one today… Yep. I’m curious enough to have one of those last minute TBR shifts: The Edge of Never by J.A. Redmerski

Kim: Ohhhh I bought it hehehe what haven’t I bought lately

Maryse’s Book Blog: I know… me too. This one wasn’t even on my radar and when I started sorting my emails (with the intention of ONLY handling my emails) I got… sidetracked with this. *woops* *sigh* I’m hopelessly addicted to books.

Theresa: Bought it today, can’t wait to see what you think about it.

Nancy: If it is $1.99 for today only, then I had to buy it.

Julie: McClung Got it!

Jennifer: Oh I got it too! About to start it :)

Elizabeth: That was me.. if it was through Goodreads <3 J. A. Redmerski ^^^ You were mentioned on Maryse’s Book Blog FB Page <3

Maryse’s Book Blog: Yep! it was you! :) And I’m reading it as we speak. The writing is so very good!

Elizabeth: The cover is breathtakingly beautiful <3 I want to frame it and hang on my wall <3 So glad you are reading it!!!

Angelia: Got it thanks Maryse

Erin: holy crap balls you will need tissues

Maryse’s Book Blog: Yay!! I’m loving it so far!!! Already caught my breath a few times with her deep thoughts.

Joanna: Okay, I’ll bite. It’s so hard to say know when they cost less than a coffee, you know? And I don’t even LIKE coffee, so this is clearly a much better use of money, LOL

Erin: just wait youll see what im talking about

Joanna: Finished reading this today. I gotta say I think it’s a beautiful story. Loved it

Maryse’s Book Blog: I only have *—*% left to go and I am LOVING it!!! Made me cry once already, but it’s the whole shebang that’s got me, so far!

—-> (sidenote from Maryse… I’m chuckling a bit here, ’cause I remember how I was feeling at this point. Oh I WAS LOVING it right up to that point alright, but what little did I know…I didn’t realize that my LOVE level was going to skyrocket  in just a bit…)

Joanna: Up late last night with this one – thanks for suggesting it!!!!

Maryse’s Book Blog: Me too – I slept on and off through the night and kept waking up just so I could keep reading. Now at work and can’t wait to get home to finish!

Michele: OK, I just got it. :) Curious if anyone has read her “Darkwoods Trilogy”? It looks good, thinking I may get them… Anyone? :) Thanks for the recommendation Maryse!! :D

Maryse’s Book Blog: O.M.G… (<— sidenote from Maryse. haha!! Yep. nods to my “past-self”.)

Ashley: I just finished this. I ugly cried…like *a certain book* ugly cry. I give it 5 stars! Best money I’ve spent recently!!

Maryse’s Book Blog: Another freakin’ BEST BOOK I EVER READ. Omg best ever. Please someone put up the discussion board on the spoiler forum while I finish this last page… I can’t see through the tears.

Michele: Oops… I may just wait then if it’s that bad..lol…. BUT… “Best Book I ever Read”…eeek.

Maryse’s Book Blog: Oh PLEASE PLLLLLLEEEASE read this book. I’m still shaking from my emotions. Oh GOD Ashley, YES!! Are you shaking? I’m shaking. SHAKING!! Trembling… I can’t… OMG . HELP. Best book I ever read (with a few others) but BEST book I ever read.

Michele: OK… I can’t stand it.. I am about 60% on Ghost & Macy then I will start it… Best Book Ever & Shaking… The only book I have ever shook over was Captive in the Dark by CJ Roberts. Can’t wait! :)

Ashley: Maryse. Seriously. I tried to dive into another book just to stop myself from restarting it immediately. Loved both of the characters, loved the story. It almost gave me a little Sea of Tranquility feel, but not quite. Andrew may be one of my favorite characters I’ve read in a long time. I seriously think it was one of the best finds ever Thank God my kid was napping and my husband was gone, because I couldn’t deal with people for a bit. I’m not joking when I was talking about the ugly cry. It was worse than with *spoiler*. Amazing book. I would put down whatever book anyone is reading to start this book IMMEDIATELY! Don’t think…just do it NOW! Michele you won’t regret reading this. Amazing books. I was so involved with the characters!

Tracy: I am reading The Edge of Never and am 89% through it and I don’t want it to end..it has that Sea of Tranquility feel, but much more intense and steamy. It’s not anything like SOT as far as plot, it just grips your heart like that one did! 5 stars from me!

Tracy: Just finished and all I can say girls is have the tissues ready…I NEVER cry with books, and I lost it! Good Luck!

Sabrina: I have to 2nd Tracy– probably 2nd book that EVER made me cry!!!! Aghhhh

Sarah: I just finished it today and I loved it! I’m like Tracy, I never really cry when I’m reading, I’ll get a little sniffly if there’s a really sad part but I was full on crying by the end of chapter **!

Claudia: The Edge of Never has a Sea of Tranquility feel..Loved both books!!!!

Ashley: Someone tell me a forum will be opened soon. I am about to explode!

Maryse’s Book Blog: I’m on it Ashley!!

Two perfect strangers who’s paths cross by sheer serendipity. They seem to be on a lonely road to nowhere. An attempt to find themselves. No. More like, to lose themselves.

I think the bus ride has been more of a taunt than a time for meaningful contemplation. I should’ve known that time alone with my thoughts would be unhealthy.

Until they find each other.

Neither appear to have much to lose, and during their long bus ride together, they get to know one another, and really connect. Bond. At a moment in their lives when each of them simply wanted to be alone, to shed their skin, their pasts, and what was expected of them, and not look back.

There is a guy sitting next to me with beautiful green eyes and a beautiful sculpted face and a beautiful way of thinking. There’s no such thing as a bad bus ride when you’re in the company of something beautiful.

I shouldn’t be here…

But their time together gives them a renewed sense of perspective on life.

I hope it never comes down to me being forced to tell him my problems and all of the things that led me on that road-to-nowhere bus trip, because I will feel so stupid and selfish. My problems are nothing compared to his.

Profound, right? But it get’s deeper. Because they change course. They choose to live in the now, and release their social pressures, their expected “life-paths” and they decide to take this unexpected trip together. They surprise everyone but mostly, they surprise themselves. And boy did they surprise me. I found myself (at times) incensed at the author, at myself, and at “them”, but in all actuality… to me? This book is a pure stroke of genius.

Do yourselves a favor. Read this, and have your tissues handy. Whatever you are feeling, EMBRACE it. An absolute GEM!

Andrew and Camryn… I will NEVER forget you guys. Your beautiful story will haunt me forever and I couldn’t be happier to have come to know you both, as I did.

5 STARS PLUS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

AND YES!!! There will be a second book! —> The Edge of Always by J.A. Redmerski - expected release date November 5th 2013

Let’s discuss. Trust me. You’re gonna need to: http://talk.maryse.net/threads/the-edge-of-never-by-j-a-redmerski.443/

 

Get Free Email Updates from me :)

{ 134 comments… read them below or add one }

LucyLou November 16, 2012 at 7:43 PM

WOW… 5 plus stars! Glad I bought it yesterday. Maryse, your on a 5 star book roll. I’m so excited, keep em coming. Your never lead us wrong. :)

Minha November 16, 2012 at 7:43 PM

Wow!!! 5 stars from Maryse??? It’s already on the top of my TBR list!!! Thank you for such exciting review :)

LucyLou November 16, 2012 at 7:46 PM

That last sentence was suppose to say “You never lead us wrong” . Spastic fingers.. ha ha :)

Stephi November 16, 2012 at 7:53 PM

It is amazing, Maryse. I finished reading it very early this am and I am still thinking about it. I logged onto your website to leave you a message, then, reconsidered because it was 4am!! It rocked my world and blew me away. I kept thinking, “Gosh! I hope Maryse is reading this already. I need to talk to someone about it!”

Lise November 16, 2012 at 8:09 PM

I am 51% now and know I will be up all night. My heart is racing in anticipation. What, what is going to happen to me!?!!

Claudia November 16, 2012 at 8:14 PM

100 stars!! Loved everything about it… I was scared because I really thought..well..I thought he was going to …at the end, and I was afraid of reading the last chapter. Really, I was…and then…the end was just perfect!! Do yourself a favor and read this book! :-)

Angelia November 16, 2012 at 8:17 PM

So glad I picked this up when you mentioned it the other day, This will be my next read, Im even half tempted to put off what Im reading and just jump into this

Maryse November 16, 2012 at 8:25 PM

Did anyone else have the uncontrollable shakes like I did?

Maryse November 16, 2012 at 8:26 PM

Yah Claudia, I almost stopped reading. DO NOT STOP READING. This is one of the best books ever!!!! Whatever you are feeling, EMBRACE it.

Melissa November 16, 2012 at 8:30 PM

Ok. I bought it just from your fb post alone. Please please please tell me there’s a HEA…or at least warn me. I’ve had too many heartbreakers this year.

Maryse November 16, 2012 at 8:34 PM

I can’t tell you! NOBODY TELL HER!!!

Maryse November 16, 2012 at 8:35 PM

Believe me… just read it!!!!

I promise. I promise.

Angie H. November 16, 2012 at 8:52 PM

Maryse!!! You devil woman. This goes to the top of my TBR list this weekend. Can’t wait to join the group therapy session shortly thereafter from the sounds of it. I’m with Melissa…I need a HEA 99% of time and would rather know ahead of time, but ok, fine…I’ll dive in head first ;)

Maryse November 16, 2012 at 8:57 PM

;) Good!!

Steph November 16, 2012 at 9:12 PM

DITTO – BEST BOOK EVER!!! I just finished it, still don’t have words to describe it but I could not put it down until I finished it. Not a book you can walk away from until the very end.

tootsieandem November 16, 2012 at 9:16 PM

Must finished not 10 minutes ago.Still have tears in my eyes and a quiver in my belly. Thank you for the recommendation. I check in with you daily to see what I’m reading next. You’ve never steered me wrong. OK now I can go back and read this review!

Kelly Watson November 16, 2012 at 9:23 PM

Just bought it. I can’t pass up a book with reviews like this! :-)

Devon November 16, 2012 at 9:53 PM

I, too, check everyday to see what I will have to read next. Everyone of your favorites are mine, too. I bought this when I was reading “Just Remember to Breathe” (super refreshing, that one, BTW), and knew I would be moving this up to the top. I’m afraid to start it tonight because I’d like to get something done around the house this weekend. :)

Tesca November 16, 2012 at 10:34 PM

Moving this one the the top of my TBR thanks Maryse :)

Kim November 16, 2012 at 11:43 PM

40% in and I SWEAR if this ends up bad I will need therapy!!! I bawled my eyes with Charade!! I KNOW I’m going to lose it but I will not ask and I know you guys won’t tell me if there is HEA!

LucyLou November 17, 2012 at 12:37 AM

OMG! You guys are killing me. This book sounds awesome!!! I’ll start reading it as soon as I finish “Happy Hour”, which I am enjoying immensely by the way. Maryse, your blog has propelled my reading experience 1,000%. From your great recommendations to just…just all the FUN!!!

Kirsten November 17, 2012 at 12:57 AM

Just finished… I’m speechless, so emotionally spent. Wow this book was amazing.

Melissa November 17, 2012 at 7:10 AM

What a review! I just started reading the sample but after reading your review I can’t wait to dive in !

Melissa November 17, 2012 at 7:17 AM

That’s not fair, Maryse! A Fault in their Stars almost killed me. My husband came home and found me hysterical and thought someone died. Happy, fluffy, HEAs without cliffhangers are the only books my heart can take…oh eff it, who am I kidding. Off to read this one lol

Amy November 17, 2012 at 9:23 AM

I could not agree more. AWESOME Book!!!!!!

Christy November 17, 2012 at 9:48 AM

I bought this the day it was on sale for the bargain price..it’s waiting for me in my kindle, I am currently on book 3 of EIT (which btw I am addicted to) hmmm….maybe a little break to read this one is needed! Sounds amazing!

Angie H. November 17, 2012 at 9:55 AM

Yep *tears* awesome, excellent…a soon-to-be classic, I think. Thanks, Maryse *more lousy girly tears* ;)

"Auntie" November 17, 2012 at 10:00 AM

Thank you Dear One, for this suggestion!!!

Sandy November 17, 2012 at 11:42 AM

The Edge of Never is my new book to compare all others to.. Author must have been a magician in another life– creating in my minds eye a visual of these broken but authentic characters, the sprawling road they traveled, and the emotion – Jesus the emotion!!!! Feel like I took this book for granted just picking it up and reading it like that- not knowing what a precious and wondrous gem it was going to be!

Arryn November 17, 2012 at 12:18 PM

omg 5 stars and tears!!! tell me though? it is a cliffhanger? i seriosly cant take anymore of them! i am waiting on so many follow up books. its too much :p

Traci B. November 17, 2012 at 12:25 PM

I am 25% in and was hooked in the beginning..
I unfortunately have to break later for a girls night to Breaking Dawn part 2…lol…Never thought I would say unfortunately about a Twilight movie lol

Jeannie Smith November 17, 2012 at 12:41 PM

Just bought it – when you say it is a “must read”, I don’t question it!

Erin November 17, 2012 at 12:59 PM

Just downloaded it and poured a cocktail… wish me luck!

Maryse November 17, 2012 at 1:12 PM

Wow Sandy! My thoughts exactly!!! She weaved magic before our eyes… and I too, feel fortunate to have had the opportunity to read this amazing story.

Maryse November 17, 2012 at 1:13 PM

*hug* to Melissa.

Melissa. I promise.

Maryse November 17, 2012 at 1:14 PM

And to all of you that have read, or are reading,loving or just getting to this book now… I am SO happy we’ve been able to experience this one together. This is definitely a “together” read.

Maryse November 17, 2012 at 1:16 PM

Arryn, no cliffhangers in this one. It is a standalone read. :)

Jackie November 17, 2012 at 1:16 PM

This was such a great book. I read it in one sitting. It was so different and I really felt for the characters. I am glad you gave it five stars. Everyone should read this book.

Maryse November 17, 2012 at 1:16 PM

LOL Traci!!! I get you about that! I’ve been hearing it’s good though, so at least that. ;)

DeeDee November 17, 2012 at 1:47 PM

Maryse!!!! You’re making me poor with all these great book recommendations. Not to mention the lack of sleep I’m suffering from. hahahaha Of course I’ll be reading this one.

Allison November 17, 2012 at 2:39 PM

I had bought this the day you posted it was on sale. I haven’t read it yet because I am smack dab in the middle of another book. After reading all of the above, I think my current book may have to take a step aside! Sorry kiddos, I think mommy may have to lock herself away and get lost in a book today!!!

Shanda November 17, 2012 at 5:22 PM

I am 66% in…..

Kim November 17, 2012 at 7:23 PM

Ok 78% reading this slower than any other book!! Vagisil best and only laugh thus far other than that lump in throat something is so wrong and I haven’t figured out what yet!!!

Paula Novack November 17, 2012 at 8:05 PM

I just finished this book 5 minutes ago and immediately came to read your review. I can’t tell you how much I love this book!!! I’m emotional drained from the crying. My heart is still beating fast. No words can truly say what this book meant to me. God, I loved it.

lindsey November 17, 2012 at 8:20 PM

I just finished, and I am a mess! What a wonderful book. Seriously, I couldn’t put it down if I wanted to. Which I didn’t. I read it in four hours of not moving. I didn’t even take a bathroom break. After a good cry (and a pee), I still don’t know what to do with myself! I’m just supposed to cook dinner and watch 30 Rock? A more serious book hangover I’ve never had!

Kim November 17, 2012 at 9:53 PM

Finished book and emotionally! I don’t even have the proper words to tell you how much I LOVE THIS BOOK!! I’ve cried more today than I have in a very long time!! Whew!!! Big Breath I need to seriously come down from the crying jag I felt my heart rippled out stomped on broke into millions of tiny pieces and I would so totally recommend this book!!!

Melissa November 17, 2012 at 11:21 PM

Holy freaking WOW. Thank you, Maryse! You haven’t let me down, yet :) I trust you with my book-reading life. I have to go lay down now, that put me through Hell and back.

Takisha November 18, 2012 at 2:12 AM

Started this morning and just finished. All i can say is WOW! Brilliant! Absolutely Amazing!!! I dont know what else to say..LOL! One of THE best books Ive read since Sea of Tranquility. WOW!!!!

lisa76 November 18, 2012 at 2:24 AM

I have not shed tears like this since Taking Chances. I think it was ar around 85%that I lost my #$%& and sobbed. It was so good & worth it!

Jennifer Lee November 18, 2012 at 10:07 AM

WOW!!! Just WOW!!! What an awesome book!! I think it’s got to be the best book I’ve read, it’s the first book I have ever had dreams about! LOVE IT!!!!

Jacque November 18, 2012 at 11:33 AM

okay starting this one today, guess I should go buy some kle
enex first.

Maryse November 18, 2012 at 12:30 PM

*grins* YAY!!!

Stacey November 18, 2012 at 4:18 PM

OMG!! This was so awesome – I am emotionally spent but was not ready for their journey to end. Another great recommendation Maryse – I totally agree with 5 stars!!!

ashley November 18, 2012 at 4:32 PM

Omg….thank you maryse…for the review..i oicked it out cuz of you and now i feel i should give you the biggest hug ever…i dont think i’ve ever cried soo much reading a book…it melt my heart…i loved cam and andrew soo much it was like i was in that car with them…a love so pure and beautiful and…unexpected…talk about fate alright :) :x…i also loved how the author was true to their love from the firts glimpse(and booyyy there was some serious and true loving out there) …amaziing…i cant stop crying and shaking …im lucky that my “fate ” already hit me in the heart while waiting for my coffee in a shop or else i would be buying a bus ticket for idaho like…yesterday :) )…well first a plane ticket for the states and then one for idaho (we have to do it right if we want andrew …not jinx it :) ))…i thank u again for the review…ill read everything u tell us i promisse :)

mary November 18, 2012 at 5:30 PM

Awesome book hope there is a follow up

gina November 18, 2012 at 5:32 PM

I almost fell off the treadmill. I was crying and shaking wat too much. what a fantastic read!

Lise November 18, 2012 at 7:04 PM

Epic, epic love. Best of 2012!!!

*swoon* *heartache* *squee* *tears* *laughter* *joy* *pain* *LOVE*

Becky November 18, 2012 at 7:39 PM

Boy, did I feel this deep deep down. Wow. I needed medication for this one (or a REALLY strong drink).

READ. THIS. NOW. Don’t think about it, do it.

Ginger November 18, 2012 at 7:50 PM

WOW….. My husband & 8 yr old son went hunting @ our ranch this weekend. I stayed home to get out the Christmas tree & start decorating. Well, needless to say -they walked in & I am sitting in my pj’s crying like a big ole baby!!!! I read the book in 1 day. It was AWESOME!!! I haven’t cried like that except for after reading How to Kill a Rockstar! This is truly a fabulous book. I LOVE LOVE LOVE it! Thanks Maryse.

Kristen November 18, 2012 at 8:42 PM

Holy hell, this is a great book! Read it! Read it now!

Rene November 18, 2012 at 10:55 PM

Fantastic book.

Melissa November 19, 2012 at 3:15 AM

I was crying at the end and then it turned to big crying. Shaking woke up the dog at 2 am crying.

Two books in a row that have done that. Wow. Andrew is my new tattoo book love.

kelsey November 19, 2012 at 4:26 AM

Loved this book, loved Andrew, read it on one long lazy Sunday… And it is one of the best I agree :-) What to read today?

andrea November 19, 2012 at 5:06 AM

i can’t listen to The Civil Wars anymore…i feel like im gonna break in two everytime i hear poison and wine:(…i cried in the car like a freaking crazy woman when i heared it on the radio and my husband was just looking at my like a crazy person…had to pull over to calm me down…thought i was sick or having a panic attack wanted to drive me streight to the hospital.this book is like a love song…soothing and wonderful to the core. it reminded me when i almoust lost my love in a hospital 5 years ago. i told him what the book was about and i think my hubby was touched too…even without reading it. read it please you’ll learn a very important lesson…just live every second of your life to the fullest and make the most of it.

Leigh November 19, 2012 at 6:35 AM

TOTALLY AGREE! A great read, and i never cry! I just finished it! A great read on so many levels. Thank GOd I am so thankful that I found your blog Maryse, live in Europe and you have introduced me to so many great books, this one as well! THANK YOU!

DeeDee November 19, 2012 at 7:58 AM

I cried 4 times reading this book! It’s a well written story that invests your heart in the characters. And the ending….*sob*….so good!

Jacque November 19, 2012 at 8:36 AM

Just finished this book, wow just wow. Hard to get through some parts with the tears streaming down my face. I am gonna have a book hangover for days maybe weeks. 10 stars **********

Stacey November 19, 2012 at 4:14 PM

Oh my! I just finished the book and am still trying to catch my breath. I loved the entire thing. Thank you for sharing this one.

Marta November 19, 2012 at 4:17 PM

OMG this book needs to come with a warning, I am a mess and my family thinks I am crazy. Thank God there’s your blog Maryse where my reactions to this book (and reading in general) are accepted LOL. Best book I have read in a long long time…WOW XXXX

Sarah B. November 19, 2012 at 8:03 PM

Thinking about this book all day…I’m still shaking and coming down from it. Thank you so much for all your recommendations. It’s def one of my favorite books! Thanks to your blog. ;)

Clarice November 19, 2012 at 8:13 PM

Omg! I effin’ cried at the end of the book! Like, seriously! It was ball out tears! I shared exact same feelings when I cried during The Notebook! lol I was at the edge of my seat at the final chapter. I almost didn’t want to turn the page with the idea of what might have happened. *sigh* This is another book that’s going to keep thinking about it for days. But, most of all, I feel like going on a bus trip to anywhereland.

Minha (BrazGirl) November 19, 2012 at 11:03 PM

” I belong to you Andrew Parrish, I want you to own me”…
Wow!! Heartbreaking, intense, engaging… Just a perfect read. Thank you Marize for another great recommendation! I will definitely look for other books from Redmerski. Wonderful writer.

Heather November 20, 2012 at 8:51 AM

Just finished this book…it was perfect. Loved every minute of this story! My favorite part is when Andrew performed “Laugh, I nearly died” by the Rolling Stones…youtubed the lyrics, while reading…the author couldn’t have picked a better song for that moment and this book. Adding it to my playlist…so I can remember how amazing these characters were…

Eunice Dilone November 20, 2012 at 9:44 AM

OMG.. I was a HOT MESS last night.. I couldn’t put this book down. **Yawn – went to bed a blubbering mess at 2am!!** Such a great book. Greatly written. Thanks for this recommendation, I will definitely spread the word.

Melody November 20, 2012 at 1:41 PM

Ok I read the book and it built me up tore me down and put me back together and then last night on the voice I heard the song Stars by Grace Potter and I thought of Andrew and Cam made me tear up again

connie November 20, 2012 at 8:41 PM

I finished it and Loved it . I think it would maknangreat movie..

Shweta November 21, 2012 at 3:15 AM

Hi Maryse, I soooo want to read this book after reading your review…but please tell me its HEA…my heart cant take heart breaks….please please tell me…

Keighley November 21, 2012 at 7:55 AM

I’m still coming down from my ‘Book High’ after this one! Absolute emotional rollercoaster. At one point I was so worried about the direction book was going to go, into a genre that I am sick to the back teeth of, but when you think this book will go left it veers to the right then does a loop-de-loop. Absolutely loved it. Definately up there as one of my favs of the year.

Brittany November 21, 2012 at 1:05 PM

Thank u for my new favorite book maryse!! Best book ever!! It’s been 2 days and I’m still book hungover!! Such a ride with this one!!

Maryse November 21, 2012 at 1:10 PM

I’m still right there with all of you guys!! AND!! I have a surprise. An interview with the author, coming up!! *squeeeee*

Cynthia November 21, 2012 at 1:49 PM

Thank you! I love this book! New favorite book for me. I can’t stop thinking about it. I read it, regained my composure and then read it again immediately. I am having a hard time writing this because I am shaking so bad. Thanks again!

Sweeta November 21, 2012 at 8:20 PM

Can I just say that I love love loved this book as well! I loved the way Redmerski developed the characters and my heart just broke over and over again for them both! In the end, I’m so happy they are happy AND I miss them already!

Helen November 22, 2012 at 4:51 AM

Still crying as I write this… My 1st full out tears streaming, heart pounding book ever!! Great read, I don’t know if I’ll be able to fall asleep as I keep thinking of Cameryn & Andrew. Amazing book & as always thanks Maryse for such a wonderful recommendation! Sigh….

Jen November 23, 2012 at 5:24 PM

This is without a doubt the best book I’ve read all year. Thank You so much for telling us about it. I could go on and on about it but I think prior posts have said it all. This one will be with me for a long time…..

Raelene November 23, 2012 at 5:31 PM

I could just write “ditto” to all above comments! Read it in one sitting, LOOOOOVED it, still thinking about it two days later. ((shivers))

Regina November 23, 2012 at 8:56 PM

You were soooooo right to give it a five star. Andrew was amazing!!!! Can’t wait to tell my friends. LOVED IT!!!!

Yani November 24, 2012 at 10:03 AM

I LOVE this book!!! I finish reading it in one day..couldn’t put it down. I laugh, I cried….this book brings all your emotions out…by far one of the best books I have read this year !!!!!!

Kiki November 25, 2012 at 1:08 PM

What other books made you this emotional?you mentioned in your review. I ordered the book.

Maryse November 25, 2012 at 1:16 PM

Hi Kiki!

The others would be “The Host”, “How To Kill A Rockstar”, and “Slammed”.

Amber November 25, 2012 at 11:12 PM

I just have to say…… 48%!!! Do I need to say more??? Nope.

jenniffer November 26, 2012 at 1:57 AM

Hello,
Scrolling down to your blog, ive notice that you recommended this bk. I was about to put it down, because i really dont like to read bks with sad endings. (life is already too complicated to willingly suffer from a book, as well), but im happy i didnt. this story is beautiful, lots of courage! When it comes out in audiobook, i will listen to it again, as i usually do for my second time around. Thank you for this recommendation.

Krista November 27, 2012 at 11:37 AM

OMG!! This was the best book ever!! I was sobbing and trembling all night long, I couldn’t put it down, I was up all night reading it till the end!
( although at one point I almost did ) I also loved the parts where I was laughing so hard my cheeks hurt : )

Amanda November 27, 2012 at 11:41 AM

I could NOT put this one down!! Finished it in one day!! Love the characters!! Wonderful story!! Ahhh!!!! So happy I found your blog weeks ago!! Thanks for the great recommendations!!

Farah November 27, 2012 at 3:47 PM

Maryse what to read after this??
I think you should start a list. Lol
I loved this book! And I want more like it!

Pam November 29, 2012 at 10:04 PM

Wow…im almost speechless! Best book ever!!! Its been a long time since a book has made me cry to the point that my face looks like a punching bag!!! ***SPOILER*** The last letter…*sniff*….*sniff*…omg :-( Although the yeast infection/tiny condom convo at the grocery store, on top of Andrew and the vagi-fem almost made me pee my pants from laughing so hard!!!!! :-D Loved this story!!!!!

Tammie December 4, 2012 at 8:10 PM

OMG!!!! I am 94% done this book and I just don’t know if I can take it anymore….don’t know if I can actually finish it, I am crying so hard core, so emotional I don’t want it to end this way. This book is so amazing and the feelings all the way through are so so true to life. The way we just do what is always expected and never going of the road in fear of being judged. I will be thinking about this book for weeks to come, I just LOVE, Camryn and Andrew! My husband asked me what was wrong and I just simply asked him to not make me talk about it because I will actually go off the deep end!

Tammie December 5, 2012 at 2:16 PM

Okay finished it late last night just couldn’t help myself….LOVED IT, and I mean LOVED IT!!!!! I might even have to consider this one a re-read at a later date so I can fully absorb everything.
Thanks for this amazing recommendation Maryse! A big hats off to the author for bringing a truly amazing story to us, super fantastic awesome job J.A Redmerski!

Nicola December 10, 2012 at 6:20 AM

One question Maryse; out of Rock Me, Slammed and The Edge Of Never, which is your all time fave? I can’t decide which one to pick up first and would greatly appreciate your advice.

Cowanda December 10, 2012 at 11:31 AM

I gotta see what all the madness is about….just purchase the book from the B&N……review from me in 2 days…..maybe 1 if the book is good….

Jenn December 10, 2012 at 3:52 PM

I just finished it and I totally agree one of the best books I have ever read!!!!!

Jamie December 11, 2012 at 12:26 AM

I just finished it and my husband couldn’t believe the kleenex I needed to get to the end! I don’t know how it happened, but it did….I was starting to feel like yeah this is cute and they are great together, but started to loose interest waiting for the 3 important words until BAM! Everything changed and suddenly all the details I was getting bored with flooded me with so much emotion. I was blindsided on this one for sure! 5 stars

Pengwen December 11, 2012 at 9:17 AM

Yes, I couldn’t believe how emotional I got with this book! I mean complete waterworks! An amazing story! I am so in love with Andrew! 5 million stars!

Shantel December 11, 2012 at 3:16 PM

WOW! You were so right!!! I am not gonna lie, I did get kind of antsy at around the 24% mark…like, is this it? what’s up with the 5 star Maryse :) , but then I continued on and wow, did it get good, like really really good…”if you let me f@ck you, you will have to let me own you”, I seen this quoted a few times here and there and was waiting for it, that was at about 48%, needless to say the Kindle did not leave my possession from that point forward, nope, how ’bout when you went to go potty? yep, took it with me…LOL…I CRIED, not SOB, like really CRIED, then @ 98% – 2 months later, I was bawling, that was so cruel…but I LOVED it…it deserved every 5+ star given…

Maryse December 11, 2012 at 4:31 PM

haha Shantel! I know right? That whole beginning sets the stage but has more of a teen angst feel, (the so called “friends” etc…) and you’re like okay…i’ll keep reading, but then WHOA!!! AND then SUCH a WHOA that it now becomes a forever favorite.

Christina December 13, 2012 at 9:00 AM

I just read this in one day! I absolutely loved it! Except for the last page. I have to be honest, the balloon deflated. But otherwise, the rest was amazing!

Leslie C. December 28, 2012 at 11:50 PM

O.M.G. This has to be added to my all time list. I have never felt characters like it did when I read this book. I don’t know what else to say other than – READ IT!!

simone December 29, 2012 at 3:16 PM

OMG just finished the book and totally agree…. i been on the sentimental side right now and don’t know what to do. I will have to read it again. This is book is on my TOP 3 list

Kim L January 4, 2013 at 12:16 PM

OMG I literally just finished. WOW I have all these emotions going around in me right now. Tears are kinda still flowing. It was beautiful, funny, loving, scary and sexy. I think I just found another book boyfriend. I want an Andrew. :-)

Angela January 5, 2013 at 10:02 PM

One of the best books I have ever read!!!! I cried so hard!!!! Do you have any other suggestions?? I have read Sea of Tranquility.

Maryse January 5, 2013 at 10:09 PM

Ten Tiny Breaths… Very good too, and in my top 25 of 2012. Let me know. :)

http://www.maryse.net/books/book-review-ten-tiny-breaths-by-k-a-tucker.html

Patty January 6, 2013 at 8:31 PM

This book hit everything for me…love, angst, loss and did I say love.. this was wonderful, I can’t say enough.

Maryse January 7, 2013 at 2:00 PM

YES!!! I’m looking for another that’ll give me that big reaction.

hazel January 10, 2013 at 12:36 PM

OMG…Just finish reading it and all I can say is OMG

Christina January 12, 2013 at 12:28 AM

Oh, I loved this book so much. At one point, I was like “why am I reading this, why am I doing this to myself?” it was so emotionally draining. But oh goodness, am I glad I read it.

Andrea January 12, 2013 at 1:17 AM

Maryse I just want you to know I have been following your book blog for a while now and came upon one of your reviews for “The Edge of Never”. I just want to say I have never laughed or cried so much before in a book. When the end came, I didn’t even know how to feel. My husband just looks at me like I am crazy. I am pretty sure I still have mascara running down my face! It was an amazing book and a great recommendation. Definitely an emotional read.

Tara January 16, 2013 at 10:43 AM

Wow!! Just finished this book last night. Great book and very emotionally draining. The letter….oh my god the letter! Tears, sobs and shakes.

Melodie January 25, 2013 at 5:27 PM

One of the best book ever !
Can you please make an article about ” what to read after the edge of Never” like the ones you did with BD FSOG and thoughless ! Please please please !

Naomi January 26, 2013 at 12:25 PM

This is one of those books that after you finished reading your still in their world for hours after. So good, so emotional, had me laughing,blushing and crying. Crying to the point u don’t want to go any further but do because it’s so good. Kept thinking it was movie worthy all the way through.Read it now!!

Roni February 2, 2013 at 10:36 AM

I had to comment because I just finished “the letter” and am half a page into the 2 months later… And I have to say I am a sobbing mess. Both from being sad and from being happy…. It’s a good thing I finish these types of books at home, if I was in public, people would think I’m nuts. One of the best books I have read by far!!!!!!! Thank you so much for this blog, I have fallen in love with so many different characters. This is a 5 star for sure!!!!

Mélodie February 2, 2013 at 2:34 PM

J.A REDMERSKI is also working on a sequel of the book :) !

V. February 9, 2013 at 5:11 AM

I bought this book back in November when you recommended it but I’ve only just now gotten around to reading it. I delayed reading it after checking out of the bad reviews it got on Amazon. Not sure what book those bad reviewers were reading but it can’t have been this one. The Edge of Never was wonderful and I suddenly feel the need for a read trip.

V. February 9, 2013 at 5:23 AM

Need for a road trip! Silly typos.

Kaye February 9, 2013 at 9:05 AM

Another heart stopping book! I really really love it! I never thought a book could make me cry so hard! This does it, along with Gabriel’s Inferno and Gabriel’s Rapture! Finished this in 1 day!!!♥♥♥

Heather February 10, 2013 at 6:51 PM

I loved this book. I was trying really hard not to cry but I cried & cried. I’m glad I’m glad I moved this to the top of my tbr list. :-) I want to go on a road trip and eat beef jerky :-)

Nicole G February 11, 2013 at 7:13 PM

What a wonderful book! My heart is still pounding. Beautiful story… I’ve read about 12 books in two months from your blog, and I just can’t stop. I usually finish them in two nights of reading! I think I might be slightly obsessed.

Nicole

Lauren K February 18, 2013 at 5:40 PM

LOVE love loved this book, couldn’t put it down.. Loved everything about it, such an emotional rollercoaster with tears & that doesn’t happen often!! 5 stars 100% ❤

KC February 21, 2013 at 11:55 PM

Will there really be a sequel to this book?? It is a story I will never forget – one of the best ever! This author deserves praise!

Zez February 27, 2013 at 5:10 PM

Oh no, another one not in the uk kobo store! Help, where can I get this in ePub for my kobo?

Maryse March 5, 2013 at 1:17 PM

YES!!! There will be a second book! —> The Edge of Always by J.A. Redmerski – expected release date November 5th 2013

http://ma.ryse.me/edgeofalways

Anne Sexton March 10, 2013 at 12:49 PM

Was not expecting much after just kind of running across this while waiting for RECKLESS a few weeks back. And wow, it blew me away. I am still listening to the Civil Wars. This was a haunting, wonderful story. So glad there is a Book 2 in the works.

Shana McKee March 24, 2013 at 7:02 PM

Loved loved loved this book!! I couldn’t put it down even at the moment I knew it was going to wreck me. Ever since I found your site I have read books back to back. This one left me feeling empty with a book hangover. I just couldn’t pick up another immediately. What would you suggest as a good follow up?

Bethan April 26, 2013 at 12:14 PM

I don’t even know what to say after finishing this! It was heartbreaking and wonderful and it made me cry and laugh and cry! I can’t wait for the sequal BUT I hope it doesn’t taint this book for me! Everyone should grab a copy and enjoy the journey xx

Teresa July 8, 2013 at 7:43 AM

Love it! Sempre was my number1 book but I’d say it just met its equal in ”
” the edge of never”

Jeanette Hanson August 21, 2013 at 3:58 PM

At 92%. The crying has commenced! LOL O M G!!!!

Leave a Comment

 

Notify me of followup comments to this post via e-mail. You can also subscribe without commenting.

{ 1 trackback }

Previous post:

Next post: