Book Review – The Tied Man by Tabitha McGowan

by Maryse on August 23, 2014 · 73 comments

in My Book Reviews

The Tied Man<— I went in to this one blind, and whoa. WHOA my friends!!!! *whooo* That was crazy! In fact, this was almost the first book that I almost DNF’d (did not finish) but would have still reviewed. Not to tell you how bad it was. Heck no. It was great. Sort of. ;) I guess it depends on which part of my brain and/or my heart, you ask. I was consumed by it at a certain point. So much so that I thought there was no way I could carry on. Yes. I put it down and exclaimed to the world that I was done. Nope. No more of that for me! I was going to be a quitter and I was good with that.

But then… I remembered how much people seemed to LOVE it. The emotional part. This *thing* that had ‘em all so riled up. It was LOVED by sooooo many of our fellow readers when it first came out and had been floating on my TBR list for so long… what was I missing?

Jenna: Hi Maryse – I wanted to recommend a book to you that I really enjoyed – it was intense! “The Tied Man” by Tabitha McGowan. It was one of those books for me that I couldn’t go to bed until I was done reading. There are very few books I give 5 stars too, let alone 4 stars…this one, for me, was a 5 star read. Definitely add to your TBR list.

sidenote from Maryse: And so I did. On my TBR list it went… and stayed… for a year. ;) Yep. I was nervous.

Kristi: Loved the Tied man Jenna!! Very few books make me cringe and cover my eyes. This one did!!! Did you hear there is going to be a book two?? YEP!!!

Rebecca: My favorite guilty pleasure that I read this year was The Tied Man. Great writing, intriguing story, and wonderful characters.

Sharon: The Tied Man took me way out of my comfort zone but I loved the book. Broke my heart over and over again!!!

Britton: The tied man for me too!! It gutted me for many reasons and it was a change to have the female be the rescuer!!!

Aimee: OOH yes! I have been putting off doing a GR review of the Tied Man because I just don’t think I can do it justice. I read it weeks ago and it still haunts me.

Clare: The Tied Man by Tabatha McGowan. Beautifully written, heartbreaking, amazing!

Constance: Just completed reading “The Tied Man” – wow – This is a horror story and a fairytale – This book has strong intelligent characters, humor and horror (some hide behind your fingers – put your book in the freezer moments)!!! GREAT Read!

and then…

Constance: Just finished reading The Tied Man. It was a beautifully written book but at times hard to read because it was so disturbing. It’s not for the faint of heart. I hate to say I loved it because parts of it were so twisted but I really did. It was really good but definitely not for everyone.

Tiffany: Wow..So Great..And I wanted to Punch someone in the Face while reading this Book..I LOVED it..Made me soo Angry and Sad..and yet it was Uplifting with the Love thing…Its not a dark read but def an Uplifting read of total absolution and Love..

Darla: Has anyone suggested The Tied Man by Tabitha McGowan to you? Intense. It would be the book baby of Break Her and The Dark Duet. I LOVE dark, twisted and disturbing…but had to trust reviews to finish this one. I’m glad I did. It was powerful.

Tracie: Tied Man is one of my all time fave books. So haunting and so powerful.

Erin: Tied Man was a book I needed a support group for. Some parts hurt so bad. Loved it!

Yikes!! Right? How could I possibly resist this. How could I possibly quit it? I have recommendations upon recommendations for this one over the last year, but they all come with that fateful warning in one way or another. I knew had a feeling this was more than just a “dark-read”. I had a feeling there was something profound waiting for me amongst it’s torturous pain.

I had NO clue what it could possibly be about, so when I finally chose it this week… I went in blind (and that blindness scared me good! I was almost ready to ask for a spoiler…). And you know I’m not a spoiler-girl. I don’t even like to know if a book has an HEA or not, so I can experience the angst and pain in all of it’s glory. Except this one was proving to be a bit too much for me…

QUICK NOTE: Stop here if you like going into books blind and if you’re convinced and want to read this one (with my DARK READ warnings and all). You know I love me some dark reads, and this one was the hardest on me. I had at least two panic attacks while reading this, and one had me pretty much… quitting. Okay, sure, just for the day, but I was SURE I wasn’t going to be able to continue. Just to let you know. I did pick it back up. And for that reason, while I don’t give away any *exact* spoilers in the review, this whole review is about how I felt reading it, how crazy it gets, and the support my fellow readers gave me. ‘Cause now I’m digging into it, below. Okay, here goes:

So we decided to have a group-read. Kept hearing how dark and sad and scary and crazy and intense it was. How we’d need support. And we had each other (and I am SO thankful for that). It was a good albeit a bit of a slowish start, sure… (for a few of us, in fact…). Despite that, the writing was great, the characters, interesting, and the dialogue, just right, I knew I was about to ride the crazy-train eventually, so I was in!

Maryse: I’m reading one from an older TBR list of mine (brought back to my attention for my latest “Books That Made Us Cry” list! “The Tied Man” —> It’s SO good… maybe a tad *slowish* in the start but so well-written, and so unique and so intriguing that I know I’m gonna love it! I’m only a quarter in, so far, but this is gonna be crazy! AND! Considering the old recommendations I received for it when it was first released, I know this one’s gonna rock. My. World. YAY ME!!

side note from Maryse —> HA! Boy was I in for it!!! And I had NO clue… WE had no clue…

Maryse: May I just say… For “The Tied Man” I verrrrry much got a kick out of the rock star/ plane scene. Dialogue and all… *waggles eyebrows* *blush*

Jean: Lol Maryse…..I loved that scene too….. seemed very”doable”…haha!

Maryse: Okay so even though “The Tied Man” is a touch of a slow start for me, it’s so well-written, that I’m into it! I’m so curious as to how they’re gonna get out of this crazy mess.

Bev: Until now have felt disconnected. Some hard things going on but I felt removed from it. But now I’m feeling it. This chapter has me anxious and I’m not sure want to read it.

Jean: Bev, I felt that disconnection at first too. I am at 43% now but had to go to work. What I am struggling with is Lilith’s strength. How has she not broken down by now….no tears, no freakouts?!??! I know I would be a total mental case if I were in her shoes.

Maryse: Oh… The people are so horrible. Wretched! Horrific, depraved, indulgent psychos! Gross. (Not all, mind you. 3 make me want to cry for them)

Maryse: I’m at 50%. Oh and the author’s ability to describe the scenes. Amazing. Like the sounds that nasty gross freak was making while eating. “The snuffling sounds of a rooting truffle-pig.” Ugh. Perfectly described though. I can see each of these gluttonous nasties perfectly, and every scene is laid out clearly (and not irritatingly so). The only thing that irritates is this horrible predicament they’re in.

Maryse: Gah! Seriously u guys. I’ve been sufficiently warned about its darkness, and OMG it’s dark. But I’m dying for relief and it’s so well-written that I can’t stop. In the process, I’m also scared, disgusted, and so sad… And at times I feel like I just can’t anymore. And as much as I like horror movies, I don’t watch (or at least not anymore) “torture flicks” ’cause it’s just too much for me to see that kind of depravity. And now I feel like I’m IN one… Yet, this feels like a BIG story. Not just gratuitous “torture” fluff…

Maryse: Nope. I’m done. I can’t anymore. 53% and I’m out. Brilliantly written, this author is amazing. I just can’t.

Bev: Uh-oh. I’m slightly scared to start chapter 12 . And it goes that much darker? Hmmm.

Jean: Oh no Maryse!!!! I am at 45% and going back to it now on my lunch break. I’m sooooo scared!

Maryse: GAH! I know. I literally closed it down… started marching through the house saying. Nope Noooooppppe. Nope. I can’t do anymore. Husband says …”just finish it…” ’cause I told him how “good it was” and I’m all… “YOU FINISH IT!!!”

Amy: Aw, f%&$ing hell… I’m gonna toss my cookies. And cry. And use some mind bleach. Look familiar, Maryse http://www.reactiongifs.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/02/nope.gif GAHHHHHHHH!! *pulling hair*

LOL! Yep. That totally happened. a TOTAL public freakout (in front of my husband, in my blog comments and on my Facebook). Oh don’t get me wrong. The writing was brilliant. The story, vivid and cutting. Almost too vivid. Definitely too cutting. Awesome and yet… so disturbing. So sad, and at times bittersweet. At times hopeful. So many times… seemingly hopeless. But where it took me (at least at a certain point) just about drove me out of my head! Yep. I finally found a book that was almost too hardcore… even for me. Dark (just like what we’d expect in “dark” reads). But why was this one too much for me? I think it’s because the author is just that good at making us live it.

Billie: The Tied Man was so haunting and completely drained me emotionally. Let us know if you need support during this one!

Kristi: Maryse, this is one of my favorite books ever. Finn will break your heart and never let you forget him. Can’t wait to hear your thoughts and be a support if needed!

Maryse’s Book Blog: Guys… I don’t think support is gonna cut it.

Tabitha McGowan: Gin?

side note from Maryse —> LOL!!!!! Yeah.. maybe Gin would have worked. ;)  

Maryse: Nope. I’m done. I can’t anymore. I’m out… (I think). neutral

Billie: I know!! We weren’t kidding when we said you will need support! It’s so hard to read, but keep going, it’s such an emotional journey.

Tabitha McGowan: Breathe, grab a blankie and a large gin, and know that at about 76% you’ll have made it through. As unbelievable as it sounds right now, I love Finn too much to leave him in hell forever…

Maryse: Thank you guys. Maybe that’s enough support for me to get back to it. Wow…. I have never had that intense of a reaction to a book before (in terms of loving and absolutely hating it at the same time). I’ve had this feeling before but just not this intense, you know? I thought this might just be my first “DNF (but it’s an awesome book!)” review…

Kristi: I read this book a couple years ago and it has never left me. It’s haunting and intense and so beautifully written. The h is ones of the STRONGEST heroines ever. And, as I mentioned before, Finn will stay with you forever.

Tracie: Oh you have to go on!! You’ve gone this far! Lillith is the baddest heroine in the world and the last 20% will have you on the edge of your seat! Please please finish! You have to see sweet Finn get to the other side.

Okay… that was helping. And after a few hours break, I picked it back up. And put it back down. And picked it back up. LOL! The panic attacks were making me squirrel-y. *whoooooo* PHEW!!!!! Emotionally drained was NO exaggeration. This was a CRAZY-INTENSE (and at times, just plain ol’ crazy) read. I mean, you know. I knew “sort of” what I was getting into. I was warned it was very dark, but so emotional. Intense and heartbreaking. So I had the impression that it wasn’t your er… “typical” dark read. You know which ones i’m talking about. ;) I went in absolutely blind. I didn’t read the synopsis, I just went off of the feelings I was syphoning from the recommendations. Went in, thinking it would be an exploration of the psyche. But it explored SO much more.

Amy: have to take a break. I’m not picking TTM back up until tonight when I can down a shot first. This one is just…just…ugh…I don’t think even Her Master’s Courtesan disturbed me this much. Maybe it did and I just don’t remember. If you need me, I’ll be rocking in the corner and squeezing my sweet faithful manatee… ;)

Maryse: I’ll be draped around your ankle… catatonically. Actually, the author saw my panic on Facebook and posted: “Breathe, grab a blankie and a large gin, and know that at about 76% you’ll have made it through…” So… take that for what you will. ;)

Maryse: I got by the bad part… YES yessssss I picked it up again. I couldn’t help it. And now I’m in a VERY good part. I’m scared!!! But it’s good.

Jean: Yay Maryse….so proud of you! And Amy’s not even sharing her manatee!

Amy: *pulling Maryse from my ankle and into the blanket cave* Are you joining us, Jean? ;)

Maryse: *Maryse scrambling to re-latch onto Amy’s ankle… being dragged into the blankie cave* Don’t leeeeaaaaave meeeeeeee!!!!!

Amy: LOL!!! You’re so freaked out you didn’t realize I was pulling you *into* the blankie cave with me!! *reaching out of blankie cave for Jean* Oh, believe me, Jean…the manatee is in the cave with us. ;)

Cheryl: Ok I’ve started TTM. *Reaching hand out to Amy…don’t let go…dragging blankie and drink with me.

Michelle: OMG!!!! Am I starting it or not? Maryse (who loved Captive in the Dark and Mud Vein) walked away because it was getting too dark? Do I spend and try to catch up to all of you or not? I don’t want disturbing just to be disturbing! There has to be a purpose. Now…. go to the dark side or not? You guys are ooh-ing and ah-ing but not saying if it’s worth it for others!!!

Maryse: There’s a purpose. It’s just hard to see the light through the tunnel of very verrrrrrrry dark. I’m 60-something percent in and will be picking it back up tonight. Let’s just say I’m glad I took my break, I needed it. But I’m even happier to be back in again…

Fabi: Michelle, personally, I think it’s worth it. I’m only at 25%. I am glad that I’m not reading it alone. It’s one that just MAKES you want to vent, call your friends, and like Amy and Michelle, hide under a blankie. I would recommend it (as a dark read) because the author is extremely talented. Not to be missed.

Amy: Michelle, I’m not finished with TTM yet but I say join us! *sticking ankle out of blankie cave* Maryse is still clinging to the other ankle, and I just pulled Jean and Cheryl in here with us, LOL!! Seriously though, I say read it but have something light and sweet ready for right after. ;) Oh! Fabi is in the cave, too! :D

Laura: *raises eyebrows* can I just say I told u all so!!! I’m doing this ttm torture for the second time! I’m Scottish btw so if any slang problems just let me know I can learn u all new bad words *giggles* Ok I’m coming to the cave with tissues and vodka u will all need both!! Any other requests?

Jean: I am at 67% with tears in my eyes……”My pulse”…. you guys will know what I mean when you get to it!!! I can’t put this book down now!!!!

Fabi: 28% and hiding in the darkest tiniest corner of Amy’s blankie cave cause I KNOW it’s gonna get worser and worser and my tummy is gonna hate me. Ooohhh I have some wine left. Maybe I should drink before starting back up tonight. No, wait, that will make me even more emotional. Nix that.

Amy: Oh my…75%…*sob* I’m clinging to the author’s comment about the 76% point ’cause what the actual f&$k!!!! I’ll take that wine off your hands, Fabi.

Laura: I can’t do this again chapter 23 is making me cry again and I’m not even on it yet but I just don’t think I can do it but I will support u all through it. . . . Ehem carry on

Fabi: Laura, Laura! LAURA, Lauraaaa, you of all people cannot abandon ship. No, nope, no siree. C’on ladies drag Laura back and pin her down. Spook not fair for you to quit. You’re the only one who knows without a doubt it gets better and is worth the pain.

Maryse: Yep. I’m feeling sick again…

Amy: *passes stuffed manatee to Maryse*

Maryse: *Snuffles into the already damp manatee* He’s so squishy. I’m so devastated….

Bev: This book is making me suspicious of everyone. I’m side eyeing ladies with Labrador sweaters.

Cheryl: Not as far along in TTM and scared. I have all the tough devastating “stuff” to get thru. I don’t mind a soggy manatee… tell me again why we do this to ourselves…

Jean: I don’t know why we do this to ourselves! Whose idea was it to read this one anyway? Need to finish….

Maryse: Cheryl… because we are book-masochists.

Amy: “Whose idea was it to read this one anyway?” <———- *snort* *looking innocent* Yeah, whose idea was it *snort* Um, snuggle anyone? *sheepishly holding out stuffed manatee*

Hehe! I LOVE you guys!!!! ALL of y’all! I had support from both my Facebook crew (that had already read it), and my “group-read” crew. And I NEEDED IT! And obviously we all did… ahhhhh that conversation keeps on going, but just to give y’all an idea if you haven’t read it yet, but want to. Get yourself a “group-read” going with like-minded book-readers that like “this kind of crazy”. ;)

So yeah, there was the 2nd panic attack. ;) By a certain point in that book, we were ALL huddled in Amy’s “virtual blankie cave”, and freaking out together. Quite a sweet and fun group-read if you… you know. Take away the horrific parts. ;)

On Facebook…

Maryse: Okay… y’all that saw my panic attack earlier this afternoon… I said I was done with it (even though I loved the writing), but that my love/hate relationship with this book was too much for my delicate sensibilities.  Yes, even I have my “dark limits” and I put that sucker down. Nope. I. Was. Done. But y’all told me to pick it back up, and I got passed it!! That extra-dark part, and I’m SO into it right now. I’m at 65%. Wish me luck, ’cause some of our fellow readers that are reading along are freaking out again (and they are in the 70% area). *gasp* I’m scared again!!!!

Jennifer: For some reason, this made me one-click, but I’m now completely terrified to start it…so, thanks?

Rita: Maryse, I feel what you are feeling. I read this book when it first came out….every feeling and emotion is as if I just read it.That feeling in my stomach….

Jennifer: Even though there are tough parts to read, the story is just too good to walk away from.

Sabrina: Yes…. I put the book down at that point too… I was so sick to my stomach…but I picked it up the next day…& finished… I probably won’t do a reread !! Lol…

Heather: Just one-clicked! Ahhh, scared!!

Tracie: You still have a ways to go…but it’s so fantastic

Erica:  Acheron and Styxx by sherrilyn Kenyon were pretty dark- to the point I almost stopped. Worse than those books?

Maryse’s Book Blog: Okay some parts are very much like Acheron, and if you read Outlander, remember the last part of the book? You know. That. Like those. Very much. Darker at times, but about right in the comparison…

Jen: I love dark books … Love them ! This was right at the top of the dark ones to me

Natasha: Oh my god you are finally reading this! There are no words to describe how intensely, shockingly, frightenly wonderful this book is. This book is number one in my list of dark reads and very high in all time favorite books. Yes. It’s a very hard read but soooo worth it!!!!!! Stay with it. Don’t stop.

Melissa: Damn, I just bought it. All this talk sucked me in. I just gotta read this.

Lori: Yes, I read a lot of dark books, but this one felt way up there dark

Brenda: I totally panic attacked with this book too but well worth finishing. This book shook me hard!!!!

Natasha: Yes. It’s dark but the interaction between the hero and heroine is just gorgeous and she has some humor in it as well which gives you a break from the dark stuff.

Salina: This one was tough for me too but I’m so glad I stuck with it. Don’t give up!

Alright guys. I trusted y’all and I didnt give up, and I read it to it’s very end! YAY ME!! But boy oh boy did you have to pick me up off the proverbial floor…

Oh yeah right!! What’s it about? Craziness. That’s what. But in short-form (but more detailed), she’s a hugely famous artist (kind of seems a bit reclusive) that goes to a sort of a… oh I dunno… “resort” type-thing (spa-like for the rich and famous?). Anyway, she’s been commissioned by the female owner to paint HER, so that’s why she goes (but it’s a bit more complicated than that). You’ll see why. And once she gets there, she soon realizes she’s in trouble. BIG trouble. And all hell pretty much breaks loose from thereon out. At least for me. Mind you, there are bits of relief, and sweetness, and a sort of “friendship” between three victims there, but when things get bad, my friends. They get REALLY bad. Like… I mean. Probably one of the, if not THE darkest read I’ve read (that isn’t horror). Er… wait. Is this horror?

So all that to say… YIKES! I don’t even know how to review this. I had a massive love/hate relationship with this story (all the while, knowing that this author is incredibly talented), and I AM happy to have finished it. Would I read it again? Not on your life. ;)

Yep. This one was a tough one to swallow, my friends, and while it did make me feel like crazy… it also made me feel… CRAZY.

4 stars! (5 stars for the intensity, 5 stars for the author’s wonderful writing, and 5 stars for freaking me out like that – good job!! But also… 3 stars for freaking me out like that, too. And making me feel like that. Eeeeep! Also a bit of a slow start for me – and some of us, and a bit of an abrupt ending considering all we had been through, so that reflects the overall star rating).

Get Free Email Updates from me :)

{ 73 comments… read them below or add one }

bev August 23, 2014 at 7:39 PM

Great, great review Maryse!!! I was so curious about what you would say and how you would say it. I still do not know why TM told you 76%, lol.
For being such a dark read some of those comments still make me laugh. { Amy’s ankles}.

Jean August 23, 2014 at 7:40 PM

Great review! You had me laughing with everyone’s comments! Oh and your “5 stars for making me freak out like that……and 3 stars for making me freak out like that”……priceless!

Isadora August 23, 2014 at 7:49 PM

I have never read a dark book before, but I couldn’t stop reading your review Maryse!
It sounded SO disturbing! I felt your pain. I was rooting for you to finish even though I would never read it! I’m not as brave as you.
It would probably hunt me for a long time!

Lise August 23, 2014 at 7:58 PM

Ahhh… waiting on pins and needles for your review, and YES… you nailed it!
Great review.
Now- you need to cleanse your palate and let me know when you need another well written, dark disturbing read. I have a few to rec for you!
(((HUGS)))

Maryse August 23, 2014 at 8:11 PM

LOL Bev and Jean!!! Yeah our “bat-cave” antics HAD to be in there. Soggy manatee and all! Gah! I’m so glad I had you guys…

Maryse August 23, 2014 at 8:13 PM

Isadora, and I can’t even insist you read it, ’cause as good as it is, this one is just THAT er… “too much” at times, so I get it. For those skipping out, yes… you’re missing something (*I think*) but then again, you get to keep your sanity. :P LOL!

Maryse August 23, 2014 at 8:14 PM

LISE!!!

Yay for dark-read recommendations!!! Except I have to do at least 2 funny and one super-sappy romance before I go back. My poor heart needs it.

But then after that? I think I’ll be ready for ya!

Amy August 23, 2014 at 8:19 PM

LOL!!! For a book that would be hard to review without spoilers, you did a great job! Cheers – you made it! *lifting Tongue Tied martini*

That was a *crazy* and intense book ride…you ladies made it fun though!! :D

Isadora, if you haven’t read any dark books before then make sure you stick around here while you read this one…we’ll take care of you with a blankie cave, stuffed manatee and all the snuggles you can handle. ;)

Fabi August 23, 2014 at 8:40 PM

Maryse, I wasn’t sure you were going to review it. Excellent review! So proud of how you put that together and demonstrated all the feelings the author invokes without giving away spoilers. Major kudos. I know I can’t do what you do.

Ladies, I think Finn and Lilith will stay with us for a long, long time. Thanks for the support. I would have NOT have kept my sanity reading that without your awesome support group.

Fabi August 23, 2014 at 8:42 PM

Oh and a big thanks to Michelle who linked a pic of exactly what Finn should look like. He will be forever in my mind looking exactly like that.

Maryse August 23, 2014 at 9:09 PM

He’s already my Acheron so I couldn’t re-use him. ;)

Maryse August 23, 2014 at 9:11 PM

*graciously accepts Amy’s martini and gulps it down*

thank you! I needed that!

*oooops!*

Oh wait… Was that yours? ;)

bev August 23, 2014 at 9:20 PM

Very well written , but ……my favorite quotes have to be:

” He’s so squishy.”~Maryse
&
” 75% my a$$.”~Fabi

Amy August 23, 2014 at 9:42 PM

*takes back empty martini glass and looks at it*

:l

*snort* Oh hell, lady, you know I have more where that came from!

*pours another one for Maryse*

Amy August 23, 2014 at 9:43 PM

Okay, I didn’t type that face right…I am actually completely sober… :P

Amy August 23, 2014 at 9:55 PM

:I

Amy August 23, 2014 at 9:56 PM

DANGIT! *throws up hands*

I’m done.

Fabi August 23, 2014 at 10:11 PM

Haaa Amy, no wonder you drink. Sober doesn’t work well for you. ;-)

“He’s already my Acheron so I couldn’t re-use him.”

Oh Maryse, for me Ash is the other Ausie, you know, the one who plays Thor? Much bigger. (I like bigger ;-) ) we’ll maybe not 9 1/2 ” bigger (Michelle ! ). But yeah, well, alcohol doesn’t improve me like it does Amy. Still gotta go finish my bottle of wine. I hate DNFs

Fabi August 23, 2014 at 10:17 PM

yeah bev, there was no let up in TTM. Practically up until the last half of the page it was hurt hurt and more hurt. I love me some Finn & Lili.

Oh and omg, I freakin loved reading that English slang dialogue. Felt like I vacationed overseas last week.

Fabi August 23, 2014 at 10:19 PM

Last half of the last page…

Yup, more wine and less posting for me

Sry bout that

Maryse August 23, 2014 at 11:29 PM

Looking for this one, Amy? :| Or what about this one? :?

*snort*

P.S. *gulps down second “Tied Man” martini (thank you very much, Amy!)

Maryse August 23, 2014 at 11:30 PM

Oh. Em. Gee Fabi!!!!!!!!! LOL!!!! Wow, yah. You ‘n Amy. Just sayin’. Peas in a pod. ;)

Amy August 24, 2014 at 1:12 AM

LOL Fabi!!!! You are a lady after my own heart right now!!! *cackling* Sober is definitely *not* working in my favor tonight. ;)

Amy August 24, 2014 at 1:18 AM

And *you* Maryse, you martini snatcher…YES, that is what I was trying for! I know it’s worked before… See what I did above though? I made it wink! And I can do it again:

;) :P :D :?

Here goes… :|

Amy August 24, 2014 at 1:18 AM

YES!!! Woo-hoo!! *lifts arms in the air*

Laura August 24, 2014 at 2:46 AM

Amy drinking?! Never!!!! Lol

Tracy August 24, 2014 at 8:46 AM

I finished this at 1am last night and wow! Maryse’s review is perfect. The emotional rollercoaster was amazing and exhausting and heartbreaking and ….

This will stay with me for awhile.

Maryse August 24, 2014 at 9:44 AM

*big hug* to Tracy!!! You probably needed that, didn’t you? ;)

Fabi August 24, 2014 at 9:46 AM

Wow Tracy you were able to read it all at once. I want you at my back in a fight woman. *grin* glad you umm liked it – or whatever we’re going to say about that book. No doubt it gets lots of stars.

Lee Hock August 24, 2014 at 9:50 AM

Now you are making me want to re read it! I loved it the first time around, but (hard to admit) dark reads are my favorite.

Fabi August 24, 2014 at 12:01 PM

Lee no shame admitting to dark reads. We read here purely for entertainment. Most of us probably like movies too but we know movies and books are fiction, for fun. These are not self-help books. Lol

Myself, I think I’ve developed a liking for M/M books. Don’t know why since I’m a hetero female. But whatever, I like them and that’s that.

I’ve only read 3-4 so far. A Gentleman’s Wager by Madelynne Ellis (m/m erotica leaning towards porn), Lover at Last by Sherrilyn Kenyon (a love story in a PNR setting) and my most recent Try and Take by Ella Frank (erotica leaning towards romance)

What about you? What are some of the dark reads that you’ve really liked?

cheryl August 24, 2014 at 1:29 PM

Great review Maryse!! This one was probably one of the most difficult books to read because it just didn’t let up in it’s intensity. Getting past 53% I thought I was home free, and maybe it wasn’t as bad as I thought it was going to be, but it just kept getting worse and OH NO 76% was just plain disturbing and disgusting and every bad adjective there is!!!

Sure did help to have the “group” support and oh yes the alcohol!!;)

Tracy August 24, 2014 at 1:43 PM

Thanks for the hug Maryse because YES I needed it. There was one point that I almost put it away for the night because my heart was pounding so hard and I was just devastated but I wanted so much for things to turn around for Finn. So I kept on going and just had to know how it ended. Abrupt would be putting it mildly. I kept swiping the page and nothing happened. I just collapsed on my pillow and hoped I’d I fall asleep.

Happy to have your back any time Fabi :)

Now on to the next adventure!

Amy August 24, 2014 at 2:34 PM

Tracy! I’m impressed…you made it through TTM on your own! *hands Tied Man martini to Tracy* I mentioned it earlier, but the first chapter of book 2 can be read and is the next best thing to an epilogue. I’m going to stay away from book 2, but it was nice to see a little of what came next.

Um, you might want to grab that martini before Maryse does. ;)

And here’s a big *manatee snuggle* to go with it! Don’t worry…he’s dry now. *giggle*

Amy August 24, 2014 at 2:41 PM

Lee, *nothing* should be hard to admit around here. Seriously, this place is awesome because no matter what your taste in books is, you will find someone right there with you. *snort* Stick around and you’ll see just how much they tolerate from me! ;)

And I have no idea what you are talking about Miss Laura. :P

MichelleS August 24, 2014 at 2:53 PM

Fabi – I’m right there with you with the M/M books. It kind of went like this for me: I loved the slow build-up of the Blay and Quinn bromance in BDB and I loved how Thomas (Scansguards Vamps) pined over Eddie… then they FINALLY got their books (YAY)! After that I wanted more, so I read Try and loved it. I read the follow up Take and loved that too. That’s been it for me. If another good recommendation comes along I will definitely read it. Not put off by M/M at all. If one hot alpha guy does it for me, then two is twice as much fun. Hot is hot. Period!

Fabi August 24, 2014 at 3:28 PM

“. If one hot alpha guy does it for me, then two is twice as much fun. Hot is hot. Period!”

Amen sister. That’s the way I thought about it. If one alpha is good, then two is great.

Amy, where did you find the first chapter of TTM sequel. I googled a day or two ago but didn’t find it. I have to admit I’m tempted by a sequel or two IF they focus on healing and getting better for these characters that my heart broke over. I won’t mind glimpses of their dark past but no way will I read another “horror” one like TTM.

Amy August 24, 2014 at 3:48 PM

Fabi:

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/17662480-unbound

In the second (I believe?) comment, there is a link to a blog with an author interview and the first chapter of book 2.

Fabi August 24, 2014 at 3:51 PM

Amy your awesomeness knows no bounds. Thank you. :-)

Fabi August 24, 2014 at 4:25 PM

I had to read the whole interview before I found the first chapter of the sequel. But it was a good thing because I am now in lev with the author. Reading her interview gave me reflections of me and who I want to be at times. Except for the writing skill of course, which I don’t have.

Here’s the best news, and I’m quoting directly from that interview:

TM: Actually, I don’t think *I* could survive another book that puts Finn through the wringer as much as The Tied Man did… Book 2 is about lots of things: healing; learning; growing. Saying that, there are still huge challenges, and that element of darkness that is so much a part of both Finn and Lilith’s make-up. Book 2 grew out of the realisation that I couldn’t write an epilogue for TTM (and I did try, but it was a little bit shit); Lilith’s narrowly escaped death, and Finn is hurting physically and mentally, and has a monkey on his back – how could I have them holding hands on the sand and watching the sun set? I think we get a sense of Finn’s latent strength in TTM, and 2 will give him the opportunity to really show us the man.

I am definitely signed up for the next book! Can’t wait. Hope it doesn’t take her another five years for this one though. lol

Lise August 24, 2014 at 4:47 PM

For your next dark-twisted-mind-f**k read: ‘A Sordid Love’ by Courtney Lane http://bit.ly/1rtOYnb ;-)

Tracy August 24, 2014 at 5:19 PM

Thanks for the martini Amy! Hope Maryse doesn’t mind too much.

I just read the first chapter of Unbound and I am definitely in. I just love Finn too much to not find out how he does.

I am in awe of how a writer can come up with these ideas and weave them into something that just guts us but still keeps us going.

I believe that Fighting Destiny is next. I haven’t read this series yet but have been eyeing the Dark Hunter series and The Opportunist. Too bad I can’t read 24/7.

Maryse August 24, 2014 at 5:22 PM

Martinis for all! We need ‘em after this one. But beware of me. I like to snatch ‘em right out of your hand. ;)

Fabi August 24, 2014 at 5:54 PM

Tracy, I will personally vouch for the Dark Hunter series. It’s a top 3 in the great reads of that genre.

Maryse August 24, 2014 at 6:12 PM

I LOVE IT too!!

Tracy August 24, 2014 at 7:00 PM

Thanks Fabi and Maryse. Fantasy Lover is on order from the library. I think the thing that has held me back is that I didn’t start them when they first came out and now there are so many to catch up on. Then I start thinking about ALL the other great books I’ll miss out on. I suppose these ar good problems to have.

Amy August 24, 2014 at 7:12 PM

Oh Fabi, it definitely has bounds…like the bottom of my martini glass. :P

Really, Lise? Don’t you know using the word mind f&$k is the same as using the word “dare” with me? I don’t turn down either one… ;) I one-clicked that one and will make it my b*tch when the sequel comes out!

*discreetly sipping martini while watching for martini snatchers*

Maryse August 24, 2014 at 8:15 PM

*discreetly planning sneak-attack on Amy’s martini*

Fabi August 25, 2014 at 5:57 AM

You know Maryse, that’s how it starts. A sneaky sip here, a stolen glass there…just saying.

Celeste August 25, 2014 at 9:50 AM

I feel like I’ve been through the wringer just reading this review. I’m intrigued, but I don’t think I can do it. Kudos to you though, for finishing!

fabi August 25, 2014 at 10:12 AM

Celeste, this would have been a slightly easier read if the sequel was already out.

Ashley August 25, 2014 at 1:54 PM

I wanted to go into this blind so am avoiding most reviews/comments. Was it as dark as Judgment? That is the only one on your dark reads list that I had a problem stomaching in certain parts. But I’m not anxious to repeat that experience

Carla August 26, 2014 at 1:22 AM

Oh my! I’m still reading this book. 61% I think i’ve been reading TTM for almost 2 weeks now. It never took me so long to finish a book.
And to think that I never wanted to read “captive in the dark” because that’s twisted and now I’m reading TTM… The darkest of all! Man! If I only knew… lol my poor heart! LOL

Terri August 27, 2014 at 10:02 PM

Hi everybody! My name is Terri and I just found this website and Maryse and I have been looking at all of the books just on the first page of the website!! All evening! I love, love, love to read and I read A LOT!! And I am about to one click The Tied Man just from Maryse’s review and from all of your reactions and comments about this book!!

May I have your support? LOL!

I read a wide variety of genre’s of books and I am constantly looking for new or recommended books and/or author’s. So I am oh so happy that I found your website Maryse!!

Sooooo, here I go with TTM!! Please wish me luck!!

Nice to “meet” all if you!
Terri
From OK

Maryse August 27, 2014 at 11:52 PM

Welcome, my new friend!! I think you will definitely need support, and we’re here. ;) *hug*

Amy August 28, 2014 at 1:37 AM

Terri, you’ll love it here! :D When you need it, we’ll be here with a blankie cave and the stuffed manatee to snuggle with. There will even be Tied Man martinis, but…

*peeks around*

…*someone* likes to snatch those so watch your glass. ;)

Fabi August 28, 2014 at 10:01 AM

Hi Terri. You sound just like I did when I found Maryse’s blog. It’s become my home away from home. I love interacting with people that are as crazy about a good read as I am.

Feel free to come vent as you’re reading TTM. I’d never read anything like it before and couldn’t have read it without all these lovely ladies pulling for each other.

Terri August 29, 2014 at 3:17 PM

Hello to Maryse and all of my new friends here!!

Thank you To Maryse for your warm welcome to your website. I love it here, reading all of your reviews and seeing all of the comments from your friends. I hope beyond hope that I will fit right in and soon be able to make comments and suggestions regarding books. To be able to share my love of reading with a group of people that feels the same way, well I feel very blessed to have found you, and everybody here, to share that with!

Amy and Fabi, thank your for your very warm welcomes and to be offered to comment and share means so much to me! Also to be offered the now infamous manatee makes me feel like one of the group! And the warning about potential alcohol stealing peeps, well that made me LOL!

Okay I need some help! First of all I am not a slow reader, I was just busy yesterday and did not have the chance to read. I have often wondered why I am being punished, see I cannot read in the car, it makes me carsick. Sooo, it is pure torture to have a 5 to 6 hour car trip to face, with a book like TTM calling my name! But endure it I did and I am now happily making up for lost time!

I am at 38% and ready to scream! This book is like watching a beautifully written (and oh my can she write) train wreck, you can hardly stand to watch but you cannot look away either!! I have a book on standby, one that is written by a very reliable author, thank you Maryse for getting me started on this series, and one that wild horses would normally not be able to keep me from. I decided late last night, well actually early this morning as it was quite late or early (I never know how to put that so late/early it is) to take what I felt was a much deserved break from TTM but I was only able to stay away for 5 mins!!! So back to TTM I went!

And I know, from reading Maryse’s review and all of your comments, that I still have so much more to face. So I found my favorite blanky and I am looking for you guys to go in to the closet with me! HELP!! And where is the manatee, being from OK and in fear of looking stupid but doing it anyway since looking stupid has never held me back before, I do not even know what a manatee is but I am grateful for the manatee while reading TTM!!

I will send another update soon!

Thank you again, all of you!!!
Terri
Anguished reader of TTM, currently at 38%
From OK

Jean August 29, 2014 at 3:28 PM

Terri, your last comment made me laugh! We are a bunch of crazy people here! Stick with TTM! We are all here for you…. even Maryse had to walk away from it at one point!

Oh, and the manatee is from a book called Night Owl by M.Pierce which we all loved!!

bev August 29, 2014 at 3:36 PM

Yes Amy’s manatee comes from a so sweet it almost hurts scene from the book Jean mentioned.
A real manatee is just as cute. Too cute. If you have not seen one you must look up. I can try a link but this could fail.https://www.google.com/search?q=mantee&aq=f&oq=mantee&aqs=chrome.0.57j0l3&client=ms-android-americamovil-us&sourceid=chrome-mobile&ie=UTF-8

bev August 29, 2014 at 3:43 PM

LMAO that didn’t work. How I was looking @ pic of manatee and cafe pops up I do not know.

bev August 29, 2014 at 3:45 PM
bev August 29, 2014 at 3:48 PM

Whoot *fist pump* baby manatee.

Jean August 29, 2014 at 3:56 PM

Great job bev!

Fabi August 29, 2014 at 4:03 PM

Awww manatee. :-)

Terri, when I spent a lot of time one my car I used Audible and had my books narrated to me while I drove. Used earphones if I had family in the car. Audible and Amazon now have a deal where you can automatically pick up in the book with reading/listening without losing your place. It’s awesome how kindle and audible sync with each other. Seamless reading even when traveling. (I also get sick if I read in the car)

bev August 29, 2014 at 4:06 PM

Lol, Why thank you Jean.

Terri August 29, 2014 at 4:13 PM

All,

Bev, get ready because I say and do all kinds of crazy things that will probably make you laugh. Like I said looking stupid has never stoppedw before which could provide entertainment for some and might cause some of you to look into hospitals for the insane in Oklahoma. Or maybe some will just be glad they don’t live in the same state or country?!?! LOL

Thank you Fabi for telling me about Amazon and Kindle and the deal they have regarding audiobooks! Why oh why didn’t I think if that yesterday!?!?! And it is nice to know that I am not the only one cursed with this blight about reading in the car! It is pure torture!!

Okay that rips it, I am gonna order a stuffed manatee and read the book that brought the manatee to the group! I want both so I am reminded of my new friends! So I need some help in choosing my new manatee?

On Amazon Wishfeiends has a Manatee and it has a baby!! What do all of you think about that one? Do any of you have any suggestions?

Thank you all for being here for me!
This book, this book! [screams, GAHHHHH!]!! LOL
Terri
From OK

Amy August 29, 2014 at 6:26 PM

Lol! You are so in the right company, Terri! So glad you found Maryse’s place. :D These ladies are saints for tolerating my comments! Aaaaaand here comes the beloved peanut gallery. :P

This looks just like Manny (my real stuffed manatee):
http://www.pinterest.com/pin/361554676305061635/

I share him for “virtual” snuggles and cuddles around here, *especially* with books like TTM!

Matt from Night Owl has a stuffed manatee (like Bev said…and that scene *clutching chest*), and he also has another manatee that…well, let’s just say THAT one could be “cuddled” as well. *snicker* You should check out Maryse’s review of it!

Terri August 29, 2014 at 8:59 PM

Amy, and all….
Thank you for the link Amy but I need further help please, is there a way to buy that manatee? I need it, I know it won’t arrive before I am finished with TTM, but this is like the Zombie Apocolypse, I am in preparation mode for future, dark reads and I need the Manatee before the Zombie’s arrive! LOL

Also, would all of my new friends please make recommendations for the next book I read after TTM? As all if you know that have read TTM I need something light, fun, positive, funny, etc, but I also want a book that is really, really good!!. I have read more of your reviews Maryse, and I have so many now on my TBR list but I thought I would ask what books people would choose to read after reading TTM?

I have not made much progress after my last update, I have had some phone calls from friends and family that took some time. Updates will follow….
Thank you SO much, all of you!
Ciao,
Terri
From OK

Terri August 30, 2014 at 4:28 AM

Progress Report….
62%
Please do not leave me now!!
I realized something about this wonderfully written book. Most of the time I can make what turns out to be a surprisingly educated guess about where a book is going, who the killer might be, or how it might end.
With TTM I have no idea what might happen next and I cannot figure out how the author might end this book.
I. Have. No. Clue.
What a refreshing change!
Ciao,
Terri
Terrified in OK! LOL

Terri August 30, 2014 at 6:52 PM

Progress report….
The Tied Man-TTM
100% Complete

Whew! I am finally done! What a great book, even with all of the darkness involved! This author really can write! I highly recommend this book.

And to all of my new friends on Maryse’s website-Thank you so much for all of your comments and support while I read this book! I look forward to getting to know each of you better!

And now thanks to another of Maryse’s reviews….
Wallbanger
Ciao,
Terri
From OK

Amy August 30, 2014 at 8:10 PM

Dang, Terri…you muscled your way through that one verrrrry well!! I’m impressed. ;)

Here’s a snuggle anyways. *handing stuffed manatee to Terri*

Fabi August 30, 2014 at 9:38 PM

Awww Amy, between your drinks (when they’re not swiped, ahem) and your manatee snuggles, a girl just can’t go wrong around here.

Yeah, wtg Terri! I haven’t read the next one you’re reading so you’ll have to let me know what you think. Though, I can already tell you’re wayyyy tougher than me.

Leave a Comment

 

Notify me of followup comments to this post via e-mail. You can also subscribe without commenting.

Previous post:

Next post: