Book Review – The Wild Side by R.K. Lilley

by Maryse on August 14, 2014 · 26 comments

in My Book Reviews

The Wild Side
HIGHLY recommended by many in our reading crew, including our reading-bud, Michelle:

Michelle: Well, you know what I’m going to say…. WILD SIDE baby…. come on!!!

… and when she found out I chose an older book off of my main TBR list a few days ago, and not this one, she freaked!

Michelle: You picked smut and an age difference and didn’t go for Wild Side? I’m shocked Maryse… so I know you are in a big time smut mood…. you should have picked Dair to scratch that itch…. ha!

LOL!!! *snort* :P

Yep. I think Michelle was gonna bonk me on the head with her Kindle again, if I didn’t give this one a go next, so I did! And considering how much I love R.K. Lilley, I was beginning to question my own sanity, too. Of course I’d love this!! Right?!?

Michelle: OMG. Yay. You put Wild Side on the list. Happy dance!! So here’s why you need to read it: it caught my attention when it was released and you had it on your list back in May. But, I saw it was a novella, so I passed. Then a few weeks ago someone mentioned that book 3, the final installment, was out, so I took a chance. Whoa! That’s all I can say. Loved everything about it. Is it “Hopeless” where your world is rocked? No. But it is still so memorable because it is way better than it should be based on the plot. He is so so yummy I can’t even describe him. And she is so so wild and wicked. And then, low and behold… there’s a story in there too? A total surprise. One of my summer of 2014 faves.

Jean: I think if all of us don’t read the Wild Side, Michelle will hunt is down!

Maryse: LOL!!! Right!?? ;)

Michelle:  …just get excited when I have a 4.5-5 star one that you don’t have yet… like Rosie Project and Wild Side. I get a little nutso. Forgive me.

Maryse: I am on it!! :D

Okay so this review is going to be short and sweet since essentially… this book (or should I say “part 1″) was also short and sweet. Well… more like STEAMY!!!! And sweet. ;) But being the intro to a three part serial (which is complete, by the way!), it really only gave me a taste of what’s to come.

1.) Told from HIS POV (and I just love being in his head ’cause he’s just so… goofy and sweet and shy and a bit awkward and so obviously hot, but he doesn’t know it, and well… I have a HUGE crush on him).

2.) An introduction to the two main characters. They meet at a gym. He’s been secretly eyeing her for days (weeks?), but he keeps a respectful distance. She decides to make the first move and she doesn’t let up once he lets her in. She is persistent and so very… forward.

“I like you, Alasdair. Can’t you tell?”

I didn’t have a good answer for that. My ex-wife had done a number on me. Married twenty years to the woman, doing everything I could think of to make her happy, and she’d hated my guts. I couldn’t have been particularly likable.

P.S. Awwwww. But he IS likable. LOVABLE. Did I mention how much I ADORE him?! Especially his reactions to her.

“I’m messing with you, Alasdair. Don’t worry, I’m not a stage five clinger.”

I didn’t tell her that I wanted her to be one.

3.) Their initial meeting and subsequent interactions together (fast and furiously hot!), and kind of hilarious at times…

“Take off your shirt,” she told me.

I obeyed.

As I’ve said, I was unable to tell her no.

Incapable.

Literally.

Also, on a douche bag side note, I worked hard to look good naked, and it was nice to show it off, for once.

She made an appreciative noise.

I don’t know why, but I took that as a request to pull my d!@k out, so I did.

She whistled. “Holy sh!t. That is f#@king hot, but can we kiss first?”

I flushed, and put it away, murmuring an apology.

LOL!!!!! OMG I was dying!!! While normally my reaction to something like that would have been “Eeeeep!!! I don’t know you, put that back!!!” But with Dair? He is just so awkward and cute I couldn’t help but love him more. What a dork. I could totally see his embarrassed face tucking it back in. *snort* Ahhhhhh…. Dair. Dair, Dair, Dair….

Maryse: …laughing. Dair is tooooo cute! The scene we he just er… *blush* eek ”whips it out” and she says… “That’s hot but can we kiss first?” LOL!! Poor guy has no clue what to do with her. rolleyes What a kick!! I just read that scene to my husband and even he’s laughing…

Rebecca: These books are so intriguing!! And yes, love Dair as the midlife crisis, newly divorced, anti-alpha!!

Shanda: Love that series Dair is filled with so much self doubt he doesn’t know what to do with her and Iris is so mysterious.

Donna: I loved this series…so fun and I love, love, love Dair!

Michelle: I loved his “douche bag moments” and when he talks about twerking and being an old fart…. he’s so funny…. there REALLY is a story in there… book one was almost purely crazy lust filled…. not that that’s a bad thing…

Maryse: Yeah I liked it! I skimmed over the steam, ’cause you know… there was plenty of it. LOL! But I’m very curious about her. And I like him SO much!

Michelle: He was the reason I kept reading. I had to know what he was thinking and how he would react to her and their situation. The sex was overwhelming, I admit, but it did set the tone for the story.

Julie: I almost think there is no one as hot as Dair right now.  Such a good series.

4.) Yes! Lots of sex, but you know… it’s all good. ;)

Michelle: keep reading with Wild Side… it’s not a slow start…it’s uh… um… pretty much an X rated sex fest for about the first 50% – to set up the whole older man/younger woman obsession…. so, stick with it.…. I swear there is a story there. ;)

You bet, Michelle! After all, I believed it (all of that heat!). After all, it’s been a year, for him, you know, and now he’s got a sexy relentless blonde that makes him feel like a king (especially considering how his wife made him feel when they were married… ugh!!) ;)

But like Shanda and Michelle said… what’s up with her? A bit of intrigue as to why she (gorgeous 24 year old) was SO into him (an obviously successful, handsome and respectful 40 year old) <— well if you ask me, that right there is plenty for me to crush on him, but… what else is going on here?

5.) A look into his past and present (a famous author, recently divorced from his gold-digging wife…)

6.) An “Oh NO he didn’t!!” moment that came with consequences and now has me excited to start book #2!

Yep… just a taste, but what a taste it was! This book may be “bite-sized” (at only 125 pages) but it was delicious and had plenty in it to keep me wanting to continue… Off I go to see what Dair is up to!

4 stars!!

Get Free Email Updates from me :)

{ 26 comments… read them below or add one }

Fabi August 14, 2014 at 10:54 AM

I have to chime in since I might have been the first to jump on Michelle’s suggestion for this series. Boy, was she right about it. Book 1 was great, I agree with you. But the story gets so much better and complicated. Even though I had figured it out pretty early on from the clues, it in no way detracted from my fascination with the story. I read the trilogy in one day and night. Needless to say I lived it. Thanks again Michelle.

Now I have to post something about one I just finished from my TBR. I know some of you read it but I’m not sure where to post yet. Not here since this is Wild Side.

Aren’t we all being so good to read from our TBR lists?

MichelleS August 14, 2014 at 11:08 AM

Maryse – I considered books 1 through 3 ONE novel – they were just too short to be stand-alones. And books 2 and 3 finally get to the story, where book one is almost purely the physical crazy steamy part. Hope you actually get to books 2 and 3. That’s when it gets good.

Fabi – you know we always veer away from the book being talked about, so do tell……

Are you kidding me? Read from our TBR lists? she said read from our TBR lists! LOL (no – I am squrreling and going to read Kresley Cole’s new IAD one, Dark Skye, because it has enough reviews now to pique my interest. After Lothaire I was a bit weary…. but it sounds like it’s a good one).

Maryse August 14, 2014 at 11:16 AM

Yes do chime in, Fabi!! :D

Maryse August 14, 2014 at 11:16 AM

And I am going onto Dair #2. ;)

fabs August 14, 2014 at 11:25 AM
fabi August 14, 2014 at 11:26 AM

just a typo, didn’t mean to change my name lol

fabi August 14, 2014 at 11:28 AM

Oh and Michelle, I have to go to PNR after my last one too. I had 2-3 “real life” ones back to back and they were all potent so I need some escape next.

MichelleS August 14, 2014 at 11:33 AM

I agree, Fabi. That’s why Dark Skye is calling my name. It’s 10.99 though…. pricey…. but the sample got me hooked. Several books have picked up at that scene where the island is discovered and the immortals are freed / escaping… and this is one of those. Fated mates. Separated for 500 years. They were kids then. He’s now scarred and angry as hell. He’s HUGE and winged! Oh yeah.That’s what I am in the mood for. :-)

fabi August 14, 2014 at 11:36 AM

oh, that sounds sooo good right now. But I’m not sure I’ve read that series. It’s not a new one right? Even if I’ve started it, I know I’m not caught up on it. :-(

Amy August 14, 2014 at 11:54 AM

So, it’s in Vegas…right? And my mind automatically goes to Tristan and Danika…right? And I’m hoping this series is linked with them…right? Because I’m obsessed with them…right? Right. I was resigned to this being totally separate when *surprise* in book 2 a couple of characters make a very brief appearance (not T&D, but that’s okay *sigh*), then there’s a scene in the Cavendish hotel/casino, and they even discuss James a little bit. Not what I was hoping for, but I’ll take it! :D

MichelleS August 14, 2014 at 12:18 PM

Fabi – series is Immortals After Dark – the new one that just came out is Book 14. One of the best PNRs in my humble opinion.

Amy – right you are… Vegas… little teasers just for T&D lovers… but not too much…. if you didn’t read that series you’d never even know or care… so how are you liking our mid-life-crisis Dair?

Amy August 14, 2014 at 12:56 PM

Awwww, Dair is a sweetheart. He really starts to take what he wants though once he lets loose, huh? ;) I’ve been with my husband since high school, so I can’t say I wouldn’t be the same way as Dair at first.

Actually, I take that back…I *can* say I wouldn’t be like that because we have made sure that monogamy *does not* equal monotony. *giggle*

Lori August 14, 2014 at 2:26 PM

I love R.K. Lilley, but do not love that each novella is 3 bucks. $9 for a book is just too much, I’m cheap, I rarely pay more that $3-5 per book. I’ve been waiting for at least one of them to go on sale, I’ll probably be waiting forever.

Tessa August 14, 2014 at 3:08 PM

I love RK Lilley, but I’ve been unsure due to the age difference. Not due to that specifically, just so worried she’s going to be someone I hate at the end. (Gold digger heartbreak thing). Fair sounds so sweet though, I’ll try it, I think. Just, it’ll suck more if I like him a lot and he gets hurt.

Tessa August 14, 2014 at 3:10 PM

Oh, Michelle, number 14 was good. Funny and sweet, ironically. More importantly, a few key things are revealed about Nix’s visions.

MichelleS August 14, 2014 at 3:46 PM

Tessa – you shouldn’t like her…. true…. but YOU DO. You really do. You pull for them to make it because he is just so…. Dair… smart, funny, horny, addicted, jealous, adorable Dair. But you WANT them to make it. Not a gold digger at all. And yes, Lori, the $9 was a hard pull to swallow. Hate the series novels. That’s why I waited. It was that dang free sample that hooked me. Oh yay about #14. Nucking Futs Nix makes an appearance? Even better. She’s my favorite. All the Valkyrie are.

Laura August 14, 2014 at 4:02 PM

Oh craploa!!! I’ve just finished the afterlife saga and I’m in a FOG big old can’t get them out of my head fog patiently waiting for the next one fog!! So what do I do start this Wilde side or go to kresley’s side argh I just want to read afterlife again I need out of the fog :(

Linda August 14, 2014 at 4:35 PM

I love love love Dair!!! My heart actually felt achy because it was too short. Did I mention I love Dair!!!??? Bless his little heart.

Janet August 14, 2014 at 8:56 PM

I didn’t really know which direction The Wild One was going in and read it again straight after, knowing what I knew about her. Dair reminded me a lot of Cal in Night Owl – another self centered, magnetic rogue. I’ll read anything R K Lilley writes, but the Tristan and Danika trilogy is still my favorite, they were such good characters, and I wept buckets.

Janet August 14, 2014 at 9:01 PM

Oh and you were spot on with ‘How to Kill a Rock Star’ – great recommendation!

Maryse August 14, 2014 at 10:39 PM

Yay Janet!!! How crazy was that, right!?!

Linh August 14, 2014 at 11:07 PM

I like book one. Solid four stars. Book two wasn’t even a book. Maybe 3.5 stars for content and 2 stars for length. Book 3 to me was just boring even with all the reveals. 3′stars for the last book.

Razor August 15, 2014 at 1:02 PM

So….I struggle with this series and when I mean I’m a RK Lilley die hard fan, but these stories were rough for me and I did not like Dair, his “junk” had way too much control over his mind and I’m a not a 40 year old man, but I just felt like his character was not real. I did, however like Iris, but this series was rough for me and I wanted to like it so bad!

marina August 15, 2014 at 4:55 PM

This series was great!! Angsty, mysterious, hot, edgy… It did have a Night Owl feel. I know it’s not the right area for this comment but… everytime How to Kill a Rockstar comes up I feel a pull to reread it again. It would be the third time! Seriously, that book calls to me. I wish I could go back and discover it again for the first time. Night Owl too…

Tessa August 15, 2014 at 8:55 PM

Just finished it and huh. Just huh. I need to read more to actually know if I like it.

Livia August 17, 2014 at 5:43 PM

My internet connection popped out in the middle of my original message so I hoped it doesn’t show up twice. I was e-gifted The Wild Side-1 but I waited until about a week or so before Dair-3 so that I could binge read the series close together. I’m not a huge erotic romance fan and I’d never read anything by RK Lilley. To my surprise, I loved the series and I think the way she released it in installments was kind of genius. Poor Dair didn’t know what hit him when he finally took notice of Iris. The age gap thing would normally deter me from reading this series but it worked for this story. And Dair’s friend Turner was a complete riot and deserves his own full length novel. I had fun reading this series and especially enjoyed the humor and putting the clues together to solve the mystery surround Iris and her true identity. It a fun read overall. =)

Leave a Comment

 

Notify me of followup comments to this post via e-mail. You can also subscribe without commenting.

Previous post:

Next post: