Book Review – True Love Story by Willow Aster

by Maryse on February 21, 2013 · 65 comments

in My Book Reviews

True Love Story
I FREAKING LOVED IT!!!!!! 5 STARS…. OH YES!!!!! Oh. YES! And yes… I have a bit of “the shakes” right now. I was looking for my heartache, and I got it. And I believed every. single. moment. Every one. My e-book is highlighted yellow, and there are notes everywhere. I just couldn’t stop talking to myself about it.

A few of my random musings…

“I’m in actual physical pain. And yet I can’t release the tears and it’s probably why my chest aches so much.”

“Nice!!”

“Nope.” <—- oh I was furious here and all I could say was “nope”. confused

“So well done that I can’t help but wonder if this IS a true story.”

“You’re killing me, lady!” <— my note to the author. I thought it was okay to write this since she wouldn’t see it… but oops. Sorry Willow. ;)

Then… when that wasn’t enough, I exploded all over Facebook. I needed group therapy. Apparently, we all did. There is nothing I love more than when we are all reading a book together and agonizing together. And this was one of those, and SO worth every bit of agony. Here is a short form of our absolute LOVE-FEST for this book (it goes on and on, fellow reader after fellow reader exclaiming their love for it, but then this review would’ve been like… 2 pages long. LOL! Here is the full-length version of our enthusiasm). Oh and… thanks to those who recommended it *ahem* Maria.  ;)

Maryse’s Book Blog: OMG I am soooo happy!!! 1.) I’m on a reading roll! A few awesome ones lined up that I just KNOW I’m going to love like crazy. and 2.) The one I’m reading now… yah. I can tell it’s gonna hurt sooooo bad, and I’m so excited about that. Bring on the pain. YAY ME!! <— sucker for bad-boy punishment, but in books only!! Books. Only. *smirky grin* TRUE LOVE STORY.

Dee:  You’ll love this one. It’s fantastic.

Kostantina: Omg I just finished true love story !! Ahhhhh u will fall in love!!!

Nicola: LOVED IT!!!

Maria: Love this book SO MUCH!!!!! So glad you are reading it!!

Kerri: Just finished this one and let me just say- I can’t wait to see what you think about it….I LOVED IT- I think you will too but it does have that one thing……

Sara: Me too Maryse!! I was JUST going to recommend this one to you. Has a very Opportunist/ Avoiding Commitment vibe going on….

Autumn: I LOVED this book!

Maryse’s Book Blog: Yep I just heard this thing about some mentioning an “issue” but don’t tell me!!! I wanna see what this is… either way, I’m really enjoying this one so far.

Brie: I loved it!!! I couldn’t put it down

Yoandra: LOOOOOOOOOVED THIS BOOK SO MUCH!!! Ah, Willow Aster is AMAZING!!!

Lindsey: Im at **% and want to stop reading b/c I know the bottom is about to fall out and I love these two…..

Maria: I remember that feeling!!! I wanted to stay in delusional happy land!!

Melissa: Just finished it last night. Really loved it. Had to take the rec’d from the illustrious Tarryn Fisher! Glad I did!!

Toski: I am in absolute love with this book. LOVE .. LOVE… and yes it is all wrapped up in one book. If she ever wanted another it would just be a continuance of this story…I kind of liked having the relief of it being done in one book. FANTASTIC read

Julie: I actually did tear up…so good! and what’s the issue everyone keeps talking about…I LOVED it!!

Maryse’s Book Blog: Uggggghhhhh! It’s worse than I thought…. I can’t… There are no words… I mean worse in an angsty way. I still can’t stop reading… But o.m.g. *shakes head*

Julie: I. KNOW!!!!

Maryse’s Book Blog: I T-O-T-A-L-L-Y feel this. Despondent…

Kerri: I know! Willow is a really great writer! I felt the story the whole way through!

Carrie: I’m about 56% in and I have no words right now, ugh…

Sara: I’m at 62%…. Ugh!!!

Maryse’s Book Blog: Ohhh you guys. You know? Just…

Sara: YEEEES!!

Jennifer: You are all starting to FREAK me out!!!! I’m only 50% through!!!!! OMG

Maryse’s Book Blog: Author dug deep to write some of that… Those words. My heart. This is soooooo real to me.

Carrie: I’m just coming off my broken heart from Beauty from Pain:( my poor heart can’t take it!! I agree…

Autumn:This book really got to me too. So well done.

Maryse’s Book Blog: Willow Aster/Author thank you for playing “it” all out in length and detail, this way.

Jules: Loved reading your reactions Maryse. Can’t wait to read your review!

Sadie: Your reactions are the best Maryse. I felt exactly the same way yesterday!!! Still recovering.

Toski: This book was so relative to everyone. I couldnt’ have loved it more. I know I actually felt the betrayal and hurt .. and love.. LOVED it. so so so much. 5 HUGE GIANT SHINY GLOWING stars for me!

Okay soooo what’s it about? THIS is a rock star book done exactly right, for me. In a way that I can perfectly connect to it, because I can see it take it’s time, play out, sweet flirtatious moments with lengthy time of waiting by the phone… everything you think falling in love with a rock star would be like… this is it. But!!!! Not in the obvious “obnoxious bad-boy” rock star way. ‘Cause this mostly plays out in his personal relationships when he’s not “on”, you know? Of course there is that “fame factor” that courses through this book’s veins. Lengthy time apart while on tour, mentions in gossip mags, going to see HIM back stage only to see two beautiful models draped on each arm. Yes… that’s there, too, but this is more than just the “shell” of a rock star life. This one digs DEEP.

It is beautifully written In all of it’s angst and drama. It’s FUN!!! And it’s devastating.

I see with sickened clarity that I will never be over Ian Sterling. Never.

And I could 100% relate to the heroine. Her thought process, her silly musings, her naiveté… I was there, once. Maybe I still am, ’cause I LOVED Sparrow. LOVED HER!!!!!! I loved every moment she lived… even when she was breaking. Especially when… well. I won’t say anymore. Just know that I am in awe of what I read, especially for that last half. I enjoyed the “sweet” romance build, but I especially loved the description, the emotion, and the intensity of the downward spiral. I would NEVER wish this on anyone, but the reality of it cannot be denied.

*rubs hands together in excitement* You guys!!!! READ THIS!!! Just know… this one has “issues” that some do not enjoy. But, I dunno. I love reality-reading even in my fantasy escapes, and I know many of my fellow readers do too. Get me? I think you do.

So what’s it about? What do you think? Gorgeous up and coming, uber talented guitar-god meets sweet barely legal (but she is!!) girl and they are smitten. And the way they meet is totally viable. And… maybe it’s love at first sight, maybe not…

I think Ian Sterling fell for me today.

There is no way that Ian Sterling feels anything real for me.

I fell for him at first sight four years ago.

Of course, I don’t believe in love at first sight.

Okay, if not love at first sight, then I fell in love with him today, when we spoke… when he took my hand in his.

That was pure lust, not to be confused with love.

I’ve never felt like this.

I’m young and don’t know what I’m feeling.

I’m not an idiot; I know my own mind better than anyone.

He is a master flirt and it was meaningless.

I think I rocked his world.

I hate when I do the girl thing. I’m sure Ian left lunch this afternoon and didn’t give me another thought. Why can’t I be like that?

I love Willow. I do. I think that would have been my exact thought process…

And yes… I admit. I thought it was a bit fast at first, but I ate my words shortly thereafter, as the author realllllly took her time with the rest. There was a lot to explore. One thing for sure is that it plays out in reality. “True Love Story”? Or just “True Story”? The author even has the title perfect.

This is a perfectly lengthed?? book (I know… I don’t even think that’s a word but my brain is a bit angst-fried right now) that explores the trials and tribulations of falling in love with a rock star. NO. I take it back. This isn’t about the “rock star” per se. More like, falling in love with the one that doubts himself. Fears being like the one person he never wants to be. Falling for the guy that protects himself against… himself and in turn, self-sabotages. Try that one on for size.

Oh yes… I know. We’ve read this kind of thing before, sure. But the way this one was written. Explored. DETAILED…. I lived it. Yes. LIVED.

I LOVED THIS!!!!

5 stars PLUS!

Thank you SO much Willow Aster, for sending me this book. I was taken on the very trip I’ve been needing to take. Totally re-read-worthy!

 

Get Free Email Updates from me :)

{ 65 comments… read them below or add one }

LucyLou February 21, 2013 at 10:14 PM

Oh Goody … Another 5 STAR BOOK!!!! Ok, I’m reading it next. I love your 5 star books Maryse…You really know how to call ‘em. Thanks for recommending so many GREAT books. :)

Tricia February 21, 2013 at 10:26 PM

@*#:%!! I am getting this right now!

Maryse February 21, 2013 at 10:27 PM

Tee hee!!! Just you wait!

Emely February 21, 2013 at 10:27 PM

I loved it so much I want to read it again! It’s just what I needed because I was going through withdraw after “Grounded”

Melody February 21, 2013 at 10:27 PM

I am so excited!! I just added this book to my TBR list earlier today!! Can’t wait to start it! Thank you for the review! :)

Kathy February 21, 2013 at 10:37 PM

This is my favorite book so far this year. I LOVED it so much. What a talented author. This book had me feeling so many emotions which is the reason I love to read!

Maria G February 21, 2013 at 10:41 PM

I am in HEAVEN reading this review!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
<3

Cody February 21, 2013 at 10:42 PM

Well…I guess I know what I’m reading next! I get so excited when you’re so excited!!

Tosha Khoury February 21, 2013 at 10:43 PM

Woohoo!! SO glad you loved it.

Lindsay C February 21, 2013 at 10:45 PM

Oh my, this is on top of my TBR list!! But I must continue with my studies…Next Tuesday can’t come soon enough then it’s back to my kindle and wine ;) Can’t wait for this one!!

Tracy February 21, 2013 at 10:46 PM

As usual, Maryse, I totally loved one of your 5 star reads!!!!!! This was so deeply emotional and such a great story. I loved Sparrow and identified with her on so many levels. Highly recommended!!!!!!

Jody February 21, 2013 at 10:47 PM

I am half way through and I am loving it but at the same time know something terrible is going to happen which will leave me dying…. I just want to know yet don’t because I just love them together. Argh.

Nikitab February 21, 2013 at 10:58 PM

Is this a cliffhanger book? Part One of a future series?

DeeDee February 21, 2013 at 10:58 PM

Chapter 24! I sobbed through the whole damn thing. Such a good book.

Rebecca Espinoza February 21, 2013 at 10:59 PM

I love this book and I love this author and I love this review. Perfect Maryse. Your review made me tear up too.

Maryse February 21, 2013 at 11:05 PM

No cliffhanger!!

Teresa H. February 21, 2013 at 11:21 PM

Okay, when you start yelling at us in all caps to READ THIS then we all need to read this, like now……so I just downloaded it. No sleep for me tonight. Why do I always check your blog so late. I will just have to embrace my eye bags tomorrow. Me + eye bags = awesome book!

Toski Covey February 21, 2013 at 11:23 PM

So loving this blog post- Everything I would have written and then some;)

Kerri February 21, 2013 at 11:54 PM

I am so glad you loved it Maryse! I could not stop thinking about it all day today I have went from place to place wanting to talk about it with anyone who would….haha. Really though, not many books have sent me through the twisted up emotions this one did, just like you said she dug deep and gave us one heck of a book!

Autumn @TheAutumnReview February 22, 2013 at 12:03 AM

Such a great book.

Kellie February 22, 2013 at 12:04 AM

Once again you have me rearranging my next read….I am excited to start….but I have that feeling I had right before you told me I had to read How To Kill A Rockstar…and well that book had me a complete mess. Luckily I love the pain as much as you do, so I am jumping in with both feet!

Michelle M. February 22, 2013 at 12:38 AM

Ok, Maryse, you’ve convinced me. I’m in. Gonna start this one tomorrow morning. :-D

Ashley February 22, 2013 at 12:53 AM

This book rocked me to the core!!! Beautiful, beautiful, beautiful!!!

Shelly Ford February 22, 2013 at 1:00 AM

Loved this book to the moon and back! There’s nothing better than a well written love story that pours emotion from the very first kissing scene(which had me like gah gah) Willow Aster is going to be a forced to be reckoned with!

Angila February 22, 2013 at 1:20 AM

Sounds like my kind of book look forward to reading it

Lise February 22, 2013 at 2:00 AM

So very happy you loved this one and I just knew you would “get it”

Minha (BrazilianGirl) February 22, 2013 at 6:08 AM

What, what??? 5 stars from Maryse and no cliffhanger??? Cannot ask for more. I just got it, I am so excited!!! :)

Reyna mass February 22, 2013 at 8:31 AM

Okay, I read this book in one day. I was up until 2 am reading as I could NOT put it down. My heart physically hurt reading this book. I truly felt the feelings that both sparrow and Ian felt throughout the book. I love so many of the books that I read-talking about how they become one of my favorites. This one is it. It does have to share the spotlight with thoughtless and effortless, which is what I benchmark all books against as they are my AAALLLtime favorite, but this story is gripping, full of happiness, brokenness and really—–just true love. This is a MUST read.

ashley February 22, 2013 at 8:37 AM

I’m at 20% and i’m really not feeling it! I think it’s just me. It was all just wam bam from the start…who are those people, why do they know eachother and spend time eachother…i can understand her infatuation cuz she had it bad for him since she was a kid but where did his come from…i hope it gets more detailed as i go on cuz as it stands where i am i don’t really see it…and everyone kept telling me just how real this story is…i dont see it:(((…i actually admit with shame that i skimmed a page or two

Sue S. February 22, 2013 at 11:05 AM

I finished this one yesterday morning on my way to work and I have to agree.. It was a great read!

Rica February 22, 2013 at 11:13 AM

I loved this book! Will definitely have do do a re-read at some point!

Patty February 22, 2013 at 1:49 PM

OK…since I have starting following your blog…I get no housework done, I’m glued to my kindle 24/7, before work, after work, lunch hour, late at night…I’m not sleeping right anymore…it’s crazy. My husband is enjoying it though, he has benefitted from it….funny…when ever I give him a really nice kiss or……….he’s like “got a new book on kindle…” funny…. So this a.m. I’m at work ..sneak onto your blog and see the Thief teaser and the review for True Love Story….at lunch I run to my bedroom, unplug the kindle….first I had to refresh my memory of the Opportunist and Big Red….I’ve read about 10 books (all from your reviews) since and then I remembered exactly how much I loved it…….then I bought True Love Story…..and only got 5 pages in before I realized I didnt get a chance to eat lunch and had to run back to work……Within those 5 pages I am hooked…. I was supposed to clean my office this weekend, in prep to get my taxes done…You know thats not gonna get done and its supposed to rain all day saturday…OMG am I in trouble….I wont get anything done….

Since I discovered your blog I have purchased a reading chair, book shelf and kindle in the corner of my bedroom dedicated to read all of your 2011 and 2012 must reads…..almost done..awesome….I worship your BLOG!!!

When is Thief coming out?

Sara Butler February 22, 2013 at 2:08 PM

This is next on my list, but I’m really nervous there’ll be no HEA. I need a HEA people!!!!! :)

Celine February 22, 2013 at 2:36 PM

Ohhhh Maryse reviews like this scare me! I think I could literally feel my heart splinter while reading The Edge of Never, I’m not sure if I can survive this one!

Patty February 22, 2013 at 4:10 PM

Sara Butller……I’m curious…what is HEA?

Maryse February 22, 2013 at 4:19 PM

“Happily Ever After”

Kerri February 22, 2013 at 6:46 PM

So speaking to those who have read this heartbreaking, wonderful book, what can I read now? It needs to be slow and easy on my worn out, very fragile heart. You know, something opposite of this one. :)

Barbara February 23, 2013 at 2:41 AM

Loved it!!! loved it! Loved it! One of my favorites of 2013.

Bertha Alvarez February 23, 2013 at 2:53 AM

Hey! Just bought this on my kindle starting tomorrow! I read all the books u always recommend….my number one favorites BD and edge of never haven’t read one this year that gives me that feeling. Just wondering what does TBR mean? Lol

Tracie G February 23, 2013 at 11:51 AM

LOVED THIS BOOK!!!!! Was so looking forward to it after reading the excerpt from Dirty Red and it so lived up to my expectations!!!!

Fritz February 23, 2013 at 12:54 PM

OK I’m gonna start reading it now. squeeee!!!

Maria February 23, 2013 at 2:58 PM

Loved it!! Definitely 5 stars.
I <3 Ian! I'm a softie, I wouldn't have let him suffer that long.

Michelle M. February 23, 2013 at 6:50 PM

Oh this was a good one. Giddy happy to gut wrenching painful with a sweet HEA. Thanks for the review! :-)

Amy D February 23, 2013 at 8:53 PM

Thanks for this review Maryse!!! I just finished True Love Story and loved it too. There were tears for me, I believed the journey Ian and Sparrow take in this beautiful book.

Linda F February 23, 2013 at 10:14 PM

I decided to give this book a shot and I’m glad I did. I read a lot of great reviews and comments about it. I knew what was going happen. 70% into the book I was sobbing. I need therapy after this book, lol.

Molly R February 24, 2013 at 10:24 AM

As soon as I read your review I knew I had to read this. I am wrecked. I read the book in probably a total of 5 hours. I think I need to take a break from the angsty books because I’m not sure my heart can take much more. My daughter came up to me this morning and I was crying — she couldn’t understand why I would read a book that would make me cry. Frankly, however sad/heartbreaking/happy/angst-filled a book is, I don’t cry. This one did. I love this book. And it’s so well-written, I can’t wait to read more from this author. Thank you for reviewing it because I probably wouldn’t have found it otherwise.

Though, I have to agree with Patty above, that since I started following your blog and reading your reviews, I get nothing done. I’ve always been a voracious reader, but now…. All I can say is that I’m glad I checked this book out as an Amazon Prime member (free!) so I can “return” it — otherwise I’d keep reading it over and over and over (which I do, regularly).

Tricia February 24, 2013 at 11:43 AM

Loved it. Thanks Maryse!

Teresa H. February 24, 2013 at 12:49 PM

I read this book over the weekend and loved it. Thanks for the recommendation!

Patty February 24, 2013 at 6:59 PM

Omg just finished. I absolutely loved it
I did not like how long it took for them to get back together And I couldn’t have read another chapter on *spoiler*, but I guess you can’t have it all.

Any suggestions on something lighter, I need recommend very time.

Patty February 25, 2013 at 9:40 AM

oops..sorry about that…..I had just finished and was reeling…..

Can’t stop thinking about them…..usually I jump into the next book, but I’m in a funk……

ANY SUGGESTIONS…..

Claire February 25, 2013 at 6:00 PM

Wow! I could not put this book down read it very quickly and loved everything about it!
I would def give it five stars + I couldn’t see the pages through the tears at some points and laughed out loud at others, thank Maryse I know i will love the book if you do! X

Claudia February 26, 2013 at 4:46 PM

OMG! This book is the roller coast ride from hell! My emotions were so up and down I didnt even know what to do w myself. I could NOT put the book down AT ALL. It definately has a happy ever after but I still cant get them out of my mind. I just dont know if after what happened I could have done that. (I dont want to leave any spoilers!) This is one of those “I need to talk about it” books! All in all I loved the writing, I loved the characters and I loved the story!

Anne February 27, 2013 at 8:09 PM

Just finished! An totally unforgettable journey! Loooved it!

Mare March 1, 2013 at 9:17 PM

Don’t start this book in the middle of a big project (like I did) you will not be able to put it down. This book was so good, I had dreams about it. I had to remind myself, and yes I actually did this, that Ian and Sparrow are not real people so don’t be so upset – - the author managed to create this affect for me. You will all love Sparrow because she feels what a real person would feel. The internal dialogue that Sparrow had going on was so real and Ian….WOW!!!!! that’s all I can say. I think this may be this authors first book, not sure, but I’ve added her to my favorite author list…waiting for the next book Willow!

Celeste March 3, 2013 at 7:44 AM

Thanks so much for reviewing this book! I just can’t believe I waited until now to read it! I absolutely loved it! And it was such a nice break from the typical ‘rich, dominant man’ books we’ve been bombarded in the romance genre as of late.

Athena March 3, 2013 at 9:22 PM

Looooved this book an absolute 5 star read! Willow is a wonderful writer! The characters were absolutely fantastic and I miss them already!

Chris March 7, 2013 at 8:57 AM

Just finished reading last night and all I can say is WOW – 5 star for sure!!! I loved Sparrow – the character was sooo lovable!! Ian – loved, loved, then hated and wanted to ’cause harm on him!! What a great read and what a great love story! I will go back to this one again and re read!! Thank you for the exciting review!! Now I feel the excitment for this book!

melissa March 10, 2013 at 11:40 PM

Wow wow wow!!!!!! Love love live this book!!!

Keisha March 23, 2013 at 7:05 PM

OMG!!! This book was AWESOME! I was an emotional wreck reading it and at one point I didn’t think my heart could handle to keep on reading. Well written and realistic book and I could feel the emotion of the characters. I really liked Sparrow and I had ‘love,hate,love’ feelings for Ian, but really liked him mostly. Overall, I LOVED this book and it is officially one of my top faves! Definitely a must read and deserves 5++ stars from me!

Sondra April 24, 2013 at 10:12 AM

OMG!!! I read this book in under 24 hours! I just could NOT put it down!!! As usuall…. I am not dissapointed with your 5 star recommendation!!! I am still swooning over this book and I TOTALLY get you when you say it feels like it really did happen!!! It’s so realistic and well written!! Love LOVE LOVED this book!!!

Willow April 30, 2013 at 7:35 PM

This review will always be one of the highlights of my entire life. I’m not even exaggerating in the least when I say that. To know that people are out there not only enjoying my WRITING, but they actually want more? It’s overwhelming and humbling. Thank you, Maryse. And thank you to all who have read it as a result of this heart-stopping review. :) xoxo

Maryse April 30, 2013 at 7:41 PM

I’m still 100% in love with this story. :)

Shawnee April 30, 2013 at 8:56 PM

It’s only 99 cents!!!!!!!

heather a May 1, 2013 at 10:21 AM

I just bought it last night, I hope it’s good! I looked at some of the amazon reviews and now I am a little nervous!!

Jenni December 30, 2015 at 4:28 PM

My God, Maryse, I have been going through your book lists and just finished this one… Woooooow! I cried, laughed, feel in love, felt the roller coaster feelings….all in 1 day. I couldn’t put it down so I read until 5 am. And now I have to find a way to go on without this book :( I love Sparrow! So relatable! And Ian… Omg. Thanks for the review too! I read it after I finished the book just so I can see how others felt too… I’m an emotional wreck right now. So beautiful! 5++++

Leave a Comment

 

Notify me of followup comments to this post via e-mail. You can also subscribe without commenting.

Previous post:

Next post: