Book Review – Twisted Perfection by Abbi Glines

by Maryse on May 1, 2013 · 17 comments

in My Book Reviews

Twisted Perfection: A Rosemary Beach Novel (The Rosemary Beach Series Book 5)
Another “sweet candy” read by an author that has delivered one of my favorite steamy sweet reads in the past (see my Fallen Too Far review). This one was quick and easy and I’d say on the heat level, absolutely the hottest Abbi Glines book yet. Apparently I had quite the face on me at one point, as my husband asked me what the heck I was reading… YEP. MY silly grin (and bugged-out eyes) said it ALL and had him chuckling.

And I know that a ton of you loved it (this was the one so many of you voted on as my next read, so I immediately purchased it)…

Melissa: Twisted perfection!! Why are you waiting??? Ahh Woods…

Trina: Twisted Perfection!!! Omgoodness…WOODS!!! Love Love!! But in all fairness, I have not read the other two….

Jenn: I read Twisted Perfection last night and LOVED it. One of my new favorites! Woods is fantastic!

Mili: Twisted Perfection. Abbie Glines did an amazing job with this story!!

Kathy:  Twisted Perfection. I’m right in the middle of it now and can’t put it down!

Jaime: Another vote for Twisted Perfection! I read it last week and haven’t been able to get in to another book since. I want more Woods!

Maryse’s Book Blog: Okay. Twisted Perfection it is!

A great start!!! … but for some reason I didn’t connect as well to these characters (or even to Woods), as I did with Rush and Blaire. I don’t know why, exactly, but I’ll work it out here.

Sidenote: Warning for those who intend on reading this, beware of *possible* spoiler-ish type analyzations below. You know I won’t ever give outright spoilers or endings, but since I’m “working things out”  in this review, there might be more detail than you need at this point.

Woods was a sweetheart hero, and has always been such a stand-up guy, and the heroine sure needed someone like him to heal from her emotional pain. As “easy” as the story was at times, it explored a certain depth, detailing the heroine’s dark past.

My psychologist had said it was a night terror. That my trauma was being expressed while I was asleep and my guard was down. Unfortunately, nothing I’d done had helped this. When I slept, my mother always came. Then the memories came with her.

Abused by her agoraphobic mother and forced to live a childhood life of isolation has sure done a number on her, and she’s on a quest to find herself before she loses herself completely (she believes the “crazy” runs in her family), so there was that certain depth to it.

But there was just something about this one, that had me… distant. Disconnected from the intense feelings they were expressing for each other. I wasn’t connecting to why he was so into her so quickly. I’ve heard some say this before for other romance books, and I get it. This is exactly what I felt with this one. What was it about her that he fell for so deeply? Woods was a guy that could have pretty much any great girl (or fantastic fling) that he ever wanted.

This one was a player, the kind a smart girl ran from. I wasn’t that smart though.

Hehe! That made me giggle… I “got” her. ;)

But in this one, there was no real “hanging out”, getting to know one another or lengthy “just friends” discussions, that had me anticipating it. I was missing that sweet build-up that had me anxious for it to finally happen, or not happen (depending on the level of angst the author intends to lead us through). The angst was a mishmash of issues (Wood’s rich-boy country club lifestyle, what was expected of him…

“The job with your dad is worth all this?” Jace asked. I knew he was thinking I was a weak sonuvab!tch. I wasn’t strong enough to break free.

… and her own personal emotional struggles and fears).

“… you’re gonna find out real soon that I’m more of a mess than you already got a glimpse of the other night.”

They met one night, immediately got it on, parted ways the next day and each thought about how “great” it all was after. And then they ran into each other a few months later and it was on again, but full of feeling and possession and claiming too. Pretty much, right off the bat. I just… I dunno you guys. There were just some things about her, or stuff she did (sitting on Grant’s lap for example) that in real life, I dunno… might have actually turned Woods off.

But nope. Woods had his mind pretty much made up the minute she walked back into his life. It was big (personal) emotion, big (internal) decisions, big plans and maybe even big love so soon into their story and it was speeding so fast that I was barely hanging on to them as they raced though it. It was missing essential detail for me to believe it. I needed a slower pace, maybe more “quiet time” together instead of (or along with) the hot and heavy steam that was delivered. I dunno. I just… I didn’t get butterflies.

And then there was Tripp. So much potential in that possible epic friendship “side-story”, but… that too, was somewhat glossed over. That could have been all sorts of realistic angst in itself, making the connection to Woods even that much more intense.

I’m not saying Woods and Della wouldn’t be perfect for each other eventually, just that… I didn’t get to experience that craving of their potential. I didn’t get a chance to root for them.

And then his preposterous entitled family and the shady way that they “handled” things. GAH!!! Don’t even get me started on that part.

So that’s it. Perhaps it was simply a case of “my mood”. After all, a mood does affect a reading experience (especially what one is in the mood for). My craving for darker (more layered) reads lately should have indicated that maybe I wasn’t ready for sweet, steamy and easy just yet. 

But no worries. As many adamant recommendations as I received for this one (some even saying it was her best yet) it’s obvious that it went above and beyond satisfying so many, and that’s a great thing! :D

P.S. Yes it has a cliffhanger ending, but not one that stressed me out like some of ‘em have. Just a hint as to what’s to come next for these two. And who knows? Where there are more books, there is potential for “anything goes”. What I’ve taken away from this one might change completely in the next installment. Authors can be sneaky that way. ;)

3.5 stars

Here are more enthusiastic reader reactions, to give you an idea!

Violy: i love della and woods!!! just finished reading this yesterday. can’t wait for book 2!!!

Jennifer: I am almost done with this book I love woods!!!

Amy: I loved it!!!! Don want to ruin it for anybody but dang…..

Loyda: Awesome book loved it!!! Abbi is amazing…. fell for woods hard this time lol

Rachel: I love Woods!!!!

Heather: It’s on of my faves by her yet!!!! So excited that there’s another coming.

Yashira: One of my favorite books by abbi so far … *Woods (sigh)

Takisha: I finished last night in one sitting…well early this morning…I am so so in love with Woods!!! This was definitely a good one!!! Currently waiting for my Jillian to finish so I can vent!! LOL

Get Free Email Updates from me :)

{ 17 comments… read them below or add one }

Sarah May 1, 2013 at 1:00 PM

I gave it 4 stars because i thought it was too short and above that it ended with an unnecessary cliffhanger, it could’ve all been in one book. But I’ve always loved woods, since i read about him on Fallen too Far, and I loved his story with Della.

Julie M May 1, 2013 at 2:42 PM

Loved this one, I just love her writing! And I totally get what you mean by the way he fell for her so fast, be ause I noticed that too… I just didn’t care because I was enjoying it so much lol :)

Patty May 1, 2013 at 2:54 PM

I gave this a 4….I think I liked there was less angst and back stabbing in this one, I think I needed a break from all that. I’ve been caught up in alot of Motorcycle club books with rough and tough love and give and take. I liked that this was a bit more giving and not as much heartache…BUT…I think the sequel will bring that. I’m sure we havent heard the last of you know who and then there is alot Woods will now have to deal with that will effect them. But seriously we have to wait until the Fall…..I hate that!!! But I hope the sequel has Blair and Ruch in it..I was excited when they introduced Blair in the story but it was like the second to last chapter…..:o(…

Renate Tsivian May 1, 2013 at 3:04 PM

I agree with Maryse….I enjoy the series…but these two just didn’t connect the same way as Rush and Blair. I also thought Tripp was more intresting then Woods for Della. As great as Woods is (and he is!)….it just sounded like he needed someone to rescue. I will read the sequel….i just hope it explains more.

Kathy May 1, 2013 at 3:15 PM

I loved this one. I see what your saying about Woods falling too fast, but I just chalked it up to the amazing, hot sex they had. Men get blinded by sex, and good sex is all it takes for a guy to fall head over heals. I also think Wood’s has the hero gene, and ge loved gaving someone to save.The author touched a little on their dating in a small paragraph she talked about how for the next several weeks Woods would take her to do things she’s never done before, like a helicopter ride ect. So I assumed they took that time to really get to know one another and fall deeper in love.
A few things that puzzled me was 1. She was very open and bold for someone who was hidden away and sheltered. She had great social skills and knew how to flirt where it wasn’t awkward. Someone like her should be totally intimidated by the people she was around. Sitting on laps, and even showing up to a party like that should have been hard for her.
2. Her relationship with Tripp really had me scratching my head. The only reason I can think of as to why he hasn’t made a move on her is that he’s maybe Gay and hasn’t come out yet. Otherwise, it really dosen’t make sense. Why would he just offer a girl his place?
Other than those things, I did love them together. I actually loved that Woods didn’t waste his time trying too figure out what he wanted. Finally!

Melissa May 1, 2013 at 5:48 PM

I couldn’t agree more with your review. Woods was so into her and claiming her as “mine” quicker than any 24 years old real life man would. At times his character was a little soft. I’m getting tired of the heroine that needs rescuing genre. But I love a love story so I will keep reading until the next great find.

LucyLou May 1, 2013 at 8:38 PM

I loved it and can’t wait for the next book about Woods and Della!! :)

Teri May 2, 2013 at 4:37 AM

I gave it a 3.75. 3 for the story and .75 because I love Abbi Glines writing style. I agree that the relationship with Tripp should have been a lot more developed. It didn’t make sense that he would let some girl he barely knew stay in his condo when he wasn’t even there. And then follow her there when he could have developed a relationship with her when they worked together? I also agree with Kathy that her social behavior was not consistent with someone who had been isolated for so long. I wasnt crazy about Fallen to Far until I read the sequel and now it’s one of my favorites. I think this will be the same so I’m looking forward to the sequel.

LaurenB May 2, 2013 at 9:55 AM

I think I have to disagree with you guys a little bit. I certainly get not feeling “it” between the characters because the storyline went to fast or it felt forced. I just had that feeling with music of the heart. But this one, I don’t know. I really felt the pull they had on each other. There are a lot of stories where the guy meets the girl and almost instantly knows she is the one, a la James and Bianca, Gideon and Eva, etc. I think maybe the difference is that they are older and definitely more alpha male than Woods seems to be. But I do think that Woods was told his whole life what he was supposed to want and then realized with Della that he could have something different.

As for her behavior, I saw her as an adventurous teenager finally getting out there. I do agree with you guys that she should have been more awkward having grown up in isolation, but she did have a few years of going out to parties, etc. with her neighbor. I think she was trying to have fun and didnt know that Woods had any feelings for her after their one night stand. Plus it had been four months, so I could kind of understand her a little. Another difference I see with her and other heroines is how much she needed Woods. Usually we get to see how the heroine helps the lonely hero, but here she was a total mess without him. I don’t know, I guess there are other stories like that but I really did feel it with this one and I wish it would have been longer. Can’t wait for the next one!

Hollie May 2, 2013 at 11:11 AM

I’m with ya on the 3.5 review. That’s how I felt too. No comparison to Rush/Blaire for me.

Angie H. May 2, 2013 at 11:34 AM

Maryse, once again, you’ve hit the nail on the head with your review with regards to opportunities missed within Woods & Della’s story. That sai, it’s easily a 4-star read for me because…well, they’re so young and because Ms. Glines has left a lot of room for growth…ala Kellan & Kiera, dare I say ;) Soooo, looking forward to the next one…and I am very curious about this hottie, Tripp, too. Hmmm….

Maryse May 2, 2013 at 1:32 PM

Yep!! Tripp…. I kinda liked his little speech to her… his “solution”. I wanted to see where they would go (not necessarily in romance – although that would have been an interesting twist – but maybe just that deep, soul-friendship connection that could have been forged.

And sometimes I like when I think I know the obvious “HEA” (and the obvious “hero” of the book) and then something is switched up where I’m surprised (and yet still happy). I wondered if that was where this was going, when it came to her budding friendship with Tripp.

Angie H. May 2, 2013 at 1:46 PM

Exactly. The relationship with Tripp could have been extremely meaningful, if not intense and at least sensual (?), because Della really needed someone trustworthy in her corner, which would have pushed Woods further emotionally, too. If Abbi develops Woods & Della further and gives Tripp ‘The Kellan Treatment’ with inner struggles and a match made in heaven, then I’m going to be all in ;)

Maryse May 2, 2013 at 2:00 PM

Yeah!! Me too!! :D LOL!!

Nicole Kruppa May 3, 2013 at 2:01 PM

I was sooooo excited to read this book. I fell in book love with Woods in Never Too Far. I hoped and prayed he would get his book, and I wasn’t disapointed. It was sweet and sexy and emotional. I didn’t want it to end. And the cliffhanger ending has me having day dreams about what happens next!

Kim May 15, 2013 at 8:56 PM

WOW HOT! I don’t remember Woods being this hot in the other books? I totally agree with all the comments about how she should have seemed more awkward. I felt like Blaire’s character was more awkward than Della. Oh and I’d really like to find this town where all these hot, young, rich single men are that are so ready to fall in love…..road trip anyone? LOL

Michele Meehan May 22, 2013 at 5:56 AM

Please emsil me when Simple Perfection is complete. I loved Twisted Perfection and can’t wait for more of this story.

Thanks

Leave a Comment

 

Notify me of followup comments to this post via e-mail. You can also subscribe without commenting.

Previous post:

Next post: