Book Review – Undeniable by Madeline Sheehan

by Maryse on October 28, 2012 · 44 comments

in My Book Reviews

<—– Undeniably unputdownable! An absolutely coarse, crude, guilty pleasure loaded in shock-value, and jaw dropping infuriation. An intense unconventional romance, and a hero that will have you either loving or hating him (or both!). But no matter if you dream of being on the back of his bike, or hightailing it in the other direction,  you’ll likely be riveted.

I was. In fact, even though I realized I could be heading for some really bad circumstances, I had to “pre-squee” about it, in this post. From the first few lines, I knew “Undeniable” was totally my thing. In terms of angst, this one is of the “sordid” variety, and I found myself cringing, stressing, and wondering why I was delighting in such obnoxious, unapologetic behavior. The shady, okay, no, let’s call it what it is… the full-on criminal activities, the bloodshed, and FTW attitude is front row and center in this book. The club-whores, the “old ladies” and everything in between, this story doesn’t pull any punches, and in terms of romance, many of them are below the belt.

So what’s it about?

One of the original covers…

Eva, daughter of a gang leader, has been crushing on uber-bad-boy, Deuce since she’s been a child.

And then there are real men; men who don’t cry or complain, who don’t just have a backbone, they are the backbone. Men who make their own decisions and live with the consequences, who accept responsibility for their actions or words. Men who, when life slaps them in the ass, slap back and move on. Men who live hard and die harder.

Men like my father and my uncles. Men I loved with all my heart.

Men like Deuce.

Deuce worked his way up in rank in an opposing biker gang, and affiliations between the two gangs, means their paths have occasionally crossed. And as she grows into a woman, her crush on Deuce deepens.

Deuce got to his feet grinning and gave me a two-finger salute. “Bye darlin’.”


It was official. I was head over heels in love.

But she is not the only one affected. At one time, 20-something Deuce adored the sweet little girl that seemed to see through his hard stance. Hoped to have a daughter like her one day. But as the years go by, and the wide-eyed little girl slowly develops into a woman, things between them… change.

… the road to hell is paved with good intentions and he’d just bought himself a one way ticket.

And every moment thereafter will have you on the edge of your seat, feeling every single emotion. Trepidation, worry, confusion, elation, swoooooning love, and utter exasperation. Rage. Ohhhhhh the rage. Over, and over again. In the mood for a roller-coaster read without the safety bar? Here. It. Is.

Another one of the earlier covers…

And when a reader asked me just how “risky” this one got, I told her:

“… these guys are bad-boys and not in the usual way we like them. They deal, they murder, they beat, they talk about “respecting women” to their sons, but ummm…. they don’t necessarily practice what they preach.

There are some ugly scenes.

If you’ve seen Sons of Anarchy, I think you’ll get a good idea of what you’ll see here.”

And what about the Deuce/Eva teen/woman issue? *sigh* I dunno if this is a spoiler, so scroll alllllll the way to the bottom (past the cover photo) if you have to know.

So that aside, if you’re in the mood for gritty and risky, this should work for you. No matter how sure you are that things will finally be okay, there will be surprises. This author doesn’t allow her readers to ever get completely comfortable and I remember writing in our discussion group “Okay. 97% and it’s still going crazy. Whoa.”

And occasionally, I thought it was a little too… “out there” in terms of crazy circumstances. Mostly, it had a realistic feel. I mean, not that I know the “realism” of life in a biker gang, but I could totally “see” everything that was happening. I could believe it, no matter how crazy some of it made me. BUT, sometimes the crazy was on a different, more outlandish level.

Despite that, I appreciated the wild, dangerous ride. After all, I do enjoy Sons of Anarchy, and I loved The Sopranos (and some of that was pretty outlandish, too). *grins abashedly* Hey!! I may like pink and glitter-y things, but my reading/viewing entertainment can’t always be on the up-and-up. In fact, I like regular and maybe even frequent bouts of “unsafe” reading. After all, I’m safe on “this” side of the story, so bring on the crazy. And does she ever! An absolute dangerous and daring read, scenes that easily push us passed our comfort level, but with a very detailed love story to boot.

A story that occasionally gives me what I want but still made me suffer (immensely) through the process. And boy did I suffer, but I delighted in every moment of everyone’s pain. Especially mine.

Titillatingly tawdry, touching and tender, terrifying and tumultuous. But most of all, undeniably unforgettable!

There it was. The pain I glimpsed every time we crossed paths. The sadness that never seemed to leave him.

“You’re better than you think,” I whispered. “I didn’t realize it when I was little, didn’t understand that look in your eyes, why you always looked so sad, but I get it now. Someone got inside of you and messed you all up, made up down and left right so now you think you’re sh%t when you’re not even close. So you need to listen to me when I tell you that you are better than you think. You’re even better than that. To me, you’re the best.

Oh! And do I *heart* Deuce? *purses lips* Well. There are many facets to him and so many things that had my heart and emotions up and down. I can say for sure, that I love Deuce for the exhilarating ride (I mean… “read”), he put me through. I, ummm…. can’t say more than that for now, but once you’ve finished the book, come see us in the spoiler forum where I really let loose. ;) I ranted, and swoooned, and ranted some more.

Here’s a sample of one of my rants:

“Annnnnd another thing!!

Ugh!! I need to kick the next guy in this book that *spoiler*

Whooooooooooo long breath out…. Deep breath in.


By the way. All that to say I’m almost done, and yes. It’s been quite a read. Mostly fun. And angrifying. ;)

4.5 stars!

WANT MORE? Here’s the Undeniable Series Reading Order

*spoiler alert* DO NOT READ FURTHER in case you want to fully experience all of the surprises coming your way.

On whether she is 18 before anything “happens”.

Well… It goes there, when she is 16 (and I squirmed uncomfortably), but let’s just say, it eases up and doesn’t go all the way. As I told the reader who was concerned about this issue: “Okay and the *moment* is not just a staring in the eyes and a kiss. Heavier than that, but he stops it at a certain point.”

And I’ve read other best-sellers (and some famous, albeit darker-themed, movies) that go “there” and more, so this wasn’t too much of a stretch, in that respect.

Get Free Email Updates from me :)

{ 44 comments… read them below or add one }

Bonnie October 28, 2012 at 2:27 PM

Absolutely loved this book! Nice change from the sometimes ‘safer’ alpha males we read about. Not that I don’t love’m all…;)

Takisha October 28, 2012 at 2:35 PM

Loved this one…definitely in my top 10! Maybe top 5 ;)

angie October 28, 2012 at 2:37 PM

Love love loved this book!!!!! Cannot wait for next installment

Kirsten October 28, 2012 at 2:37 PM

Great book… A must read.

Kim October 28, 2012 at 3:22 PM

Perfect review for this book!!! I too liked it and had moments if thorough po’dness(my own word lol)!!! But overall really liked it!!the author is catching some grief in Amazon questioning the validity of the ratings of the book and truly that’s sad because it really was a gritty, angsty back of the bike ride and look into being an “old lady” in a MC!!!

Judi October 28, 2012 at 4:39 PM

I loved it! I really felt for Frankie though…with some help, he could have been my hero…especially at the moments I hated Deuce, for the reasons I hated Deuce, Frankie could have been my hero…twisted I know. But what an exciting read! – almost wish I knew a motocycle gang…almost :)

Maryse October 28, 2012 at 5:17 PM

haha Judi! I had a special crush on Jase and even on Chase (that part is discussed in the spoiler forum).. ;)

Wow… they rhyme!! But it’s true. Chase had his own *thing* …

Maryse October 28, 2012 at 5:19 PM

*hug* thank you Kim!! While of course it will not be for everybody, I think the author will do fine. This book (and writing) stands on it’s own. I’m definitely anxious for more (*hoping* for Jase’s story).

Molly October 28, 2012 at 6:55 PM

My eyes were the size of saucers through this whole book, which was read in basically one sitting (no other option! lol).

I’m basically speechless.

Beth R October 28, 2012 at 6:59 PM

I am so glad you reviewed this book. I L.O.V.E.D It. I want Cage’s story. You know he is going to be a great sexy bad ass.

sandy sciacca October 28, 2012 at 8:21 PM

i read the sample of this one, going to purchase it now,, Just finished Tack:) love him,, good thing my hubby is working tonite , think i’ll be up late reading:)

Maxima October 29, 2012 at 1:22 AM

Once again great review!! I loved it, thank you for finding the good ones! What’s next? Lol

Priscilla October 29, 2012 at 2:55 AM

Loved this book! I read it in one sitting I didn’t cook dinner just had pizza delivered for the fam. Thank you so much for finding this book!! Your recommendations are freaking awesome from rockers to bikers oh my … Keep it up girl!! ;)

mary October 29, 2012 at 5:36 AM

I could not put it down. Great read thanks for the info.

Suzanne October 29, 2012 at 5:42 AM

Thanks again Maryse, loved this book! Had a great weekend between Undeniable and Beyond Shame I was kept well entertained ;)

Angelica Castellanos-Davila October 29, 2012 at 6:15 AM

I read this review and said let’s give it a try… And o boy am I a happy camper! Just loved it…. Couldn’t put the flipping thing down…. A typical love story it was not, and that was exactly what I needed :) yay!.

sandy sciacca October 29, 2012 at 6:21 AM

OMG.. finished it last nite or should i say this morning at about 1:15am, going to be a long day but so worth it,, and i agree was not your typical love story but loved it just the same:)

Lynn Rush October 29, 2012 at 8:29 AM

I have yet to read this. But it sounds like a pretty awesome book. Maybe after NaNo I’ll catch up on some reading. :)

Have a SUPER day!

Angela October 29, 2012 at 10:19 AM

Loved this one, very Sons of Anarchy! I am reading it a second time because I loved it so much. I can’t believe crazy biker gang makes me want to be an “old lady”….so strange!

Johanna October 29, 2012 at 11:41 AM

Loved it!!! Wow!! It left me utterly speechless, and that doesn’t happen often. This book was so gritty and raw, unlike anything else I’ve read before. Wish we had more Deuce and Eva to quench my thirst.

Sally October 29, 2012 at 12:52 PM

Absolutely, Undeniably LOVED Undeniable! A definite 5 star for me! Cant wait for Book 2-(Ripper & Dannys story!) – Here is a quote from her Facebook page …Madeline Sheehan -Book two is in the works! Thanks so much for reading and enjoying, Ripper & Danny’s story is up next (ZZ’s in there too ;) )

Missy R. October 29, 2012 at 2:04 PM

Just finished! Heading over to the spoiler forum because my (wonderful) misery is needing some company right now!!!!

Tammie October 29, 2012 at 6:34 PM


Charlotte October 29, 2012 at 8:01 PM

OH gosh, I have just finished this in one session. However gah, I want it burned from my very soul! I couldn’t get passed the age thing or the misogyny. Well written with lots of twist and turns but I hated Deuce!

I need to go and find my ‘happy place’…maybe watch some Disney….xx

Julie October 29, 2012 at 8:17 PM

Loved this book!

Tesca Pardue October 29, 2012 at 10:28 PM

Thank you so much for letting us know about this book… I read it in one day could not put it down

Helen C. October 30, 2012 at 5:27 AM

Wow & wow!! After reading your review I was bit hesitant on reading, but as always THANK YOU!! Maryse your reviews are always the best & never disappoint! Just finished reading it & I’m still in angst….LOL! It was so worth staying up till 3am :) can’t wait for book 2

Debbie October 30, 2012 at 6:03 AM

Wow! Great story…gritty…raw…racy. I finished this yesterday and I still have it rolling around in my head. I think I even dreamed about it last night.This is the one by which I will judge all other bad boy biker stories. I feel for the next story I read. It will not measure up.

Steph Bosworth October 30, 2012 at 10:31 AM

THANK YOU, THANK YOU! WHAT would I read w/out you? I was so in love with this book I cannot even put it into words. It had a sons of anarchy feel (i’m a huge fan of that show). I read it in one sitting, my poor husband and kids! Cant wait for book 2!

Jo November 2, 2012 at 6:10 PM

Please tell me you have some similar books – I LOVED this book

Pamela Walker November 2, 2012 at 10:51 PM

This was an outstanding book. I thought Kristen Ahsley could be raw but this took my breathe away. I was so taken that I was reading at work and had not noticed my boss walking in. Quite embarrassing! So glad I took Maryse advice and bought the book. I was missing a great biker book. Totally filled my void.

Ida November 5, 2012 at 7:58 AM

AWESOME BOOK!!!!. OMG!!!! I have no words to describe this book. I read it this past Saturday. I ended up going to bed at 3 am because I couldn’t put it down. Most of the time I wanted to kill Deuce, but WOW I loved it all.

Barbara November 13, 2012 at 5:28 PM

I loved this book..gonna add this to my list of awesome readz along with my fav of Kristen Ashley. 5*!

Minha (BrazGirl) November 17, 2012 at 2:07 PM

Just finished this one… Wow! Talk about jaw dropping infuriation…. LOL Outstanding intense read that kept me awake most of the night, but totally Worthy it! :) Thank you Maryse

Kim L January 17, 2013 at 10:55 PM

Loved this book 5 stars!!!! As big a dick as he is still love him. Everything you would want to read about is here love, hated, bad boys, good girls, murder, everything.

Jamie-Lou January 24, 2013 at 1:56 PM

Absolutely loved this….! Up there with my fav’s.. Very different, which was a welcome change. Can’t wait until the next one. X

PS. Can anyone recommend any other similar books?

Laura May 29, 2013 at 7:41 PM

O.M.G. Holy shock and awe and dazed book hang over.

Kimberly rose July 19, 2013 at 6:05 PM

I am so feeling this book one of the best books I have ever read so hot and raw

angela October 6, 2013 at 6:36 PM

Just finished all three books in this series. Loved, loved, loved them! I need more. Where do I go from here? Any recommendations?

Pauline October 19, 2014 at 6:38 PM

I loved this series too. I rated it a 5 for me because I loved it and I would definitely go back and read it again sometime. Thanks for the great review!

Lyn December 28, 2014 at 10:14 AM

Maryse, thank you for your recommendations in post-KA reads which was what drew me here. I read in other reviews that the h is raped and there are multiple cheatings involving the H in this book. Given these are my hardstops, i wondered if you could give me your views. Love your blogs on KA, i am a big new fan of hers :)

Teri September 7, 2015 at 1:15 PM

I just finished this book and I give it a 5-star. I love this story. Oh my, I’m ready to run off be a biker babe! Woo Hoo!!! I’m so glad I decided to read this book!!!

Maryse September 7, 2015 at 1:38 PM

I’m so glad you decided to, also Teri! Now you have the whole awesome series ahead of you!!! :D

Teri September 7, 2015 at 1:45 PM

Wow, I had no idea this was a series. Maryse you just made my day!!! :-)

Leave a Comment


Notify me of followup comments to this post via e-mail. You can also subscribe without commenting.

Previous post:

Next post: