Book Review – Walking Disaster by Jamie McGuire

by Maryse on April 1, 2013 · 75 comments

in Jamie McGuire, My Book Reviews

Walking Disaster: A Novel (For those new to this series, I recommend reading this one only AFTER reading the first one. And believe me. If you’re into the same books I am, you’re gonna LOVE the first one –> Beautiful Disaster).

<—— *squeeeee!!!* I couldn’t WAIT for this book and after what feels like forever (almost two years for a new reunion with Travis) it’s finally here (and I LOVED it!!). But at first, I wondered… knowing what I know now, having already read Beautiful Disaster, having experienced all of their highs and lows with them, will Travis’s POV have the same effect on me? Or will it just be a sweet “companion” piece where the author simply indulges us with a little more Travis (which, come to think of it… would actually be a great thing, in it’s own right, wouldn’t it)? Hehe. ;)

I mean in theory, there should be no “surprises” right? I know how the story goes, and the fact that Beautiful Disaster was 100% through Abby’s eyes, I was granted the torment and excitement of a brand new infatuation with that guy. The perfect bad-boy. The usually unattainable one. The pining, second guessing, wondering what if…? Because while I had a good idea how Travis felt (I mean, come on!!! It was so wonderfully obvious at times), through only the heroine’s eyes, who knows, right? Her version of them and his version of them could be very different.

In her book, I go by what she feels. I see (interpret) things how she sees them. I get to be the girl in love, experiencing all of the firsts, the initial attraction, the flirtation, the resistance, the budding friendship, the hints and the more obvious moments. I get to experience the intense connection as Abby. I get to wake up wrapped in his arms (*whoops* eek how did that happen? ;) ) under the pretense of just being “best friends” while apprehensively falling for him (and denying myself every step of the way). I get to experience the inevitable heartbreak (by her own causing).

And it was AWESOME.

Once upon a time, as I read Beautiful Disaster, I was Abby and Travis was mine.

So would living through Travis’s eyes be as intense? As fun? I mean, did I want to be “the guy” in the story? Ahhhhhhh I now realize that I had nothing to worry about. I am now more in love with Travis than ever. I can’t begin to describe what truly knowing him is like. How much more real he will become to you. He is so human, so lifelike, so tactile it’s amazing.

After spending sixty seconds in the pigeon’s presence, I discerned two things: she didn’t talk much, and when she did she was kind of a bitch. But I don’t know… I kind of dug that about her. She put on a front to keep a$$holes like me away, but that made me even more determined.

From his initial game playing ways (Challenge Accepted!! ;) )…

She didn’t hate me. She just wanted to hate me. I was way ahead of her. If she wanted to play, I could play.

… to realizing he had a whole lotta work cut out for him. Tee hee!!! Yep. Even though he knew her game, he still managed to lose his heart (and panic) in the process, and wow!! What intensity!

It’s all there. His very first heartbreak (I totally get it now), his fears, his disappointments, and his emotional devastation. His fear of losing Abby will tear your heart out just like it did the first time.

I couldn’t get enough, and I didn’t want to quit. Even though I couldn’t call it anything but an addiction, I didn’t dare sample a crumb. I only kept her close, feeling better just knowing she was around. There was no hope for me.

I see him in a whole new light. Oh I know… I’ve always proclaimed Travis as my perfect bad-boy hero. But I admit, (and admitted) his temper and his quick-to-fight reactions might have held me back in real life. So let me say at least now, I understand him. His pained heart and his fear of losing the one he loves is simply bigger than him, and there’s a real reason behind it.

I just stared out the window, counting the falling leaves. With each one that detached and floated to the ground, we were one more closer to Abby disappearing from my life. My own natural hourglass.

But, as you read this, you are not Travis. Your heart will be fully indulged and you will be allowed to savor Travis’s POV just the way we like it in our romance novels. In this one, you might not be Abby, but you’ll be the girl that follows Travis around and falls in love with him as he falls in loves with Abby. I know… I wanted to be Abby to, but I’ll tell you what. This way feels almost just as amazing, ’cause no matter what… you will feel close to him. You’ll want to comfort him. You’ll hurt for him and with him. In a way, you’re still Abby. You’re just privy to Travis’s every thought.

I choked back something welling in my chest. Every few minutes, the pain renewed itself. I missed her. God, I missed her, and everything we’d gone through played over and over inside my head.

My palms flat against the wall of the tile, I clenched my eyes shut. “Please come back,” I said quietly. She couldn’t hear me, but it didn’t stop me from wishing she would come and save me from the terrible pain I felt without her there.

So often I would find myself in a scene, slowing it down (yes I slow-motion read MANY of my favorite parts in this one again). They were just as deep, just as intense, and despite having memorized every single detail and moment in Beautiful Disaster, I’d still find myself hoping for a different outcome in a few of my favorite *oomph* moments. Maybe, an early kiss, an “I love you” (<— actually… We did get a surprise one of those in a way ;) ), a certain desperately needed touch that was just a bit more than what was happening in the actual scene. Yep. I knew how the story went and still my mind tricked me into craving just an extra “something” to solidify that connection that was so desperately trying to establish itself. And sometimes, in a way… I got it.

Jamie teased us and drew it out deliciously in Beautiful Disaster, and you’ll get to revel in it again in this one. Those hungered-for moments that, consciously I knew were not coming yet, but subconsciously my heart couldn’t help but picture it the way it would have gone “if it were ME”. You know?

And guess what? There ARE surprises!

Sure you will recognize many of the scenes & situations but I LOVED re-living them through Travis. I was reacting and just as emotionally invested in this one, as I was with Beautiful Disaster. This isn’t about rewriting perfection. It’s about making it even more perfect by expanding on that raw emotion and giving us even more of him.

Mind you, it did start off with a sort of “re-read feel” for me at first (just a tad bumpy as it began to move us along) but Jamie McGuire quickly “finds” Travis. His voice and everything that IS Travis from Beautiful Disaster, shines through perfectly in this book. She didn’t just re-write all of the same scenes from Travis POV. She allowed Travis to LIVE his own life in Walking Disaster and through his eyes, our favorite scenes were just the cherry on top.

There are plenty of moments that Abby wasn’t around to see or hear Travis and the things I know now… *sigh* my heart is in my throat right now.

When she’s go out with Parker, in this book, WE are with Travis. When she was really drunk and may not have remembered certain details about a certain night, WE were with them, through Travis’s more sober eyes. When Travis felt sullen and needed his family to lean on, we went with him. When we heard about him trashing his apartment? Yep. It was true. New Years? Remember what she was wondering? Well, now we get to know… with Travis! There were things said that made me swoooooooon like crazy. There were Travis-thoughts that cinched my love for him as forever in my #1 book-hero spot.

When it comes to this author, I think it’s all in the detail. The detail in her storytelling is what sets her bad-boy story apart from everyone else’s. Many traits that make a person who he (she) is, are here. Travis is not just described physically and given lines and actions, but he is detailed in a way that you swear he lives and breaths amongst us. The author is great at weaving in real human detail, actions and thoughts into her story. His facial expressions, perfectly clear in my head. His temper tantrums, his huffing and puffing, his sarcastic remarks (such a REAL GUY!!!)… it’s all there.

Wow. For a while there, I’d really thought I had changed. It only took a bottle of whiskey and the mention of the word virgin for me to return to my d!ck ways.

I turned for the door and grabbed the knob. “You’re turning me into a f&*king psycho, Pigeon,” I growled over my shoulder. “I don’t think straight when I’m around you.”

And every once in awhile I was all “eeeeeep Travis!! Too much!! Tooooooo much!!!”. Too much reaction… too much, too soon. Just sometimes, too much. Awwww who am I kidding? I would have eaten that up. And I did. But even better than his bad-boy persona, was his fragile heart and tentative approach. As bold as he was, he could be so terrified, too. Everything was included. Even his eye-squeezes as he is trying to not cry, his need to physically be close to Abby in an attempt to comfort himself as he tried to forget an unavoidable future… it’s as if I could breath in each and every one of those moments.

And while the detail is in each moment, it is not overdone. I didn’t skim a thing. Instead I absorbed every bit of it. It’s just… right. From the way they become slowly entangled in each other as they talk, from flirty, sweet nudges to exasperated, saddened breaths. Minute details that relate a subtle action but that elicit a HUGE feeling and reaction from the reader, because each scene is ALIVE.

The author’s attention to detail is what lights up their story. What takes it from a story told, to a life lived.

My Travis love-fog? Oh it is THICK right now and I suspect it will last forever, but I wouldn’t have it any other way.

Did I love it as much as Beautiful Disaster? Well I can say almost as much and simply because nothing can compare to blindly reading and discovering Beautiful Disaster for the first time. I mean, you know how “Beautiful Disaster” initially affected us, right? Just pure magic. So maybe nothing can 100% compare to that. But yes… this one is quite close and I would absolutely re-read it. I cherish this series even more now.

5 STARS!!!

Thank you so much to Atria (the publisher) for sending me a review copy. It was everything I hoped it would be and more!

Get Free Email Updates from me :)

{ 75 comments… read them below or add one }

Lisa April 2, 2013 at 12:25 AM

Great review. I had the same concen about seeing it from a guy’s pov, but you have eased my mind. I was hoping to get it early , but no such luck and now sleep is calling. At least I can go to bed with the comfort of your review. *big yawn* Sorry Travis I tried to stay up for you.

Kristine April 2, 2013 at 12:30 AM

Can’t seem to keep my eyes open. How crazy would it be if I set my alarm? Hmmmm kinda wishing I took the day off tomorrow ;)

Kristine April 2, 2013 at 12:32 AM

See my post time stamped @ 12:30am…not going crazy, it’s only 10:30pm here in Northern Idaho

day April 2, 2013 at 2:43 AM

Woot it is out on kindle reading right now. Happy that my fears (after reading flat out matt) were unfounded. Just started & i love it already

Cherine April 2, 2013 at 3:47 AM

Love it when you squeeeeeee, I now know it’s a must read!

Minha (BrazilianGirl) April 2, 2013 at 6:20 AM

Got mine last night… OMG OMG OMG , I decided to wait until my vacation to read it (2 weeks)…. I want to have time to really appreciate this experience with my loved Travis *** sigh***. I hope I can wait… it’s killing me right now knowing that you gave it 5 stars… Ohhh I want my vacation right noooooowwwwww…. :)
By the Way, There is nothing better than waiking up with such a big gift in my Kindle, it feels like Christmas !!!! :)

Maryse April 2, 2013 at 6:24 AM

I dunno how you are gonna hold out 2 whole weeks, Minha. You are much stronger than me. ;)

V. April 2, 2013 at 6:24 AM

I’m currently in Chapter 8 and loving it! Your review is fab!

Maryse April 2, 2013 at 6:24 AM

I can’t wait to hear what you guys thing of it!

Linda F April 2, 2013 at 7:51 AM

Great review, Maryse! I can’t wait to read this. Feels like forever.

Nancy April 2, 2013 at 8:25 AM

I read the prologue and couldn’t stop the tears from falling. Can’t wait to read the rest!

Jamie April 2, 2013 at 8:42 AM

Mine shipped Saturday for delivery today (I wanted the hardcopy to go with my autographed Beautiful Disaster) … I have been tracking it ,,,lol..
Cant wait till it gets here and start tonight :)
Maryse THANK YOU for always being honest about these books you have led me to so many great reads !!!

Jennifer April 2, 2013 at 10:15 AM

I love your description of once upon a time becoming Abby and falling for Travis. That’s what I’m looking for when I read, that’s what makes a book special for me too! I love falling in love through a beautiful story and beautiful characters who work their way inside of me! Beautiful way of describing that feeling Maryse! Can’t wait to read Walking Disaster!

Patty April 2, 2013 at 10:21 AM

OK…downloaded to my kindle and I’m ready to read…..I’m currently reading Motorcycle Man and I’m loving “Tack” sooooo much!!…..so when I’m done with that tonight I will start…..BUT I had a quick question, I read BD so long ago I dont know if I should re-read it first, so the high is much more intense when I read WD…..does that make sense?…. but also the waiting is killing me so I was just wondering your thoughts since you just finished WD.

Abdul Mahmood April 2, 2013 at 10:29 AM

I am freaking waiting for the book to ship to me. I have to wait three more fucking days. Ugh!!!! It is pure torture and after reading your review I want to book really bad now.

After reading this part from the book: “I choked back something welling in my chest. Every few minutes, the pain renewed itself. I missed her. God, I missed her, and everything we’d gone through played over and over inside my head.

My palms flat against the wall of the tile, I clenched my eyes shut. “Please come back,” I said quietly. She couldn’t hear me, but it didn’t stop me from wishing she would come and save me from the terrible pain I felt without her there”

I had a lump in my throat and I had tears in my eyes. OMG OMG OMG OMG OMG I can’t wait to read it and guess what? Jamie is coming to Katy next Wednesday and I can’t wait to meet her. I am going to meet her and I am so excited.

Ellen April 2, 2013 at 10:54 AM

Wonderful review. I loved Walking Disaster and I am so in love with Travis. I though the book was great. I did get mad at Abby in this one, where as I didn’t so much in book 1 and I might have wanted to pop her a time or two for the way she treated Travis, but they are perfect together. The prologue and epilogue were my favorite parts.

Maryse April 2, 2013 at 10:57 AM

Yep Ellen… she definitely held the reigns in the start of this relationship. I even noted that Travis was unconditionally in love with her (so obvious after this book) and she definitely had much (if not all) of the control over “them”.

Made me love Travis even more!

Maryse April 2, 2013 at 10:58 AM

Abdul… there is SO much more like that scene. It’s extremely emotional and I was so emotional with him. My heart broke!

Marissa April 2, 2013 at 10:59 AM

I don’t think you could have said it any better!!! I fell in love with Travis all over again!! I cried with him, laughed at him, and wanted to hurt Abby even when she broke his heart and he loved her even more!!! I loved the ending and plan on re-reading immediately!! Jamie McGuire is brilliant and I look forward to reading more of the Maddox boys!!!

Maryse April 2, 2013 at 11:00 AM

Thank you so much Jennifer (and ALL of you). You’re gonna feel this one, I just know it!!!

Missy April 2, 2013 at 11:53 AM

It was one of those delicious nights…the anticipation of the midnight download!! My husband had been warned that my alarm would be set for midnight, just to make sure that my TWO MOST FAVORITE authors latest books would be there. Once I checked, I’d be consoled, and of course, then the difficult decision, which to read first??? Hmm, gotta say, I have read, reread, reread, and reread again Beautiful Disaster. It’s just THAT book for me! So of course, Travis was waiting for me!!! Maryse – I loved your review (as always) and can’t wait for my date with Travis.

Danette April 2, 2013 at 12:27 PM

:sigh: Yep. Travis is still my no. 1 Book Boyfriend. This book was worth the wait for the Prologue alone.

Danette April 2, 2013 at 12:28 PM

oops… I meant Epilogue.

maria cantu April 2, 2013 at 12:49 PM

That was an amazing review. I can’t wait to read it.

Sweeta D April 2, 2013 at 1:05 PM

As always, your review helped me make the decision…..
I was totally afraid of reading a companion novel that wasn’t as deep as Beautiful Disaster, but now I am totally excited to make this my next read. Right now I’m S-L-O-W-L-Y devouring Quin and Blay (I missed my Brotherhood SO MUCH)…I may have to speed it along now….
Thanks Maryse!

Teresa H. April 2, 2013 at 1:23 PM

I just finished Walking Disaster…5stars…just as great as Beautiful Disaster. I loved the epilogue. Thank you for introducing me to Travis!

Ida April 2, 2013 at 3:05 PM

I started reading Walking Disaster at an ungodly hour. I can say that today is not a productive day for me. It’s all about Travis!!!!

Becky April 2, 2013 at 3:31 PM

I am in awe of the review you just wrote. I am now more excited to start reading this book tonight. I can’t wait to fall in love with Travis all over again.

Nicole P April 2, 2013 at 5:26 PM

OMG, OMG, OMFREAKINGOD!!! Just finished reading this book. What can I say. Jamie out did herself with this book. Travis is just so amazing. His love for Abby leaves your breathless. What a feeling after reading this book. As I sit here, I can even form the words I want to say. These 2 books definitely will always be in my head. Travis and Abby rocked my world.

Michelle April 2, 2013 at 7:02 PM

Just finished it….I love Travis more today than I did before, which I didn’t think was possible. Caught my attention from the first scene and gave me great closure at the end.

LucyLou April 2, 2013 at 8:00 PM

Can’t wait to read this!!! It will probably be a sleepless night. :)

Alexa April 2, 2013 at 8:39 PM

I have to say I didn’t all out love Beautiful Disaster and I did find myself a little bored with this from time to time. It was practically the same story so several of the scenes could just be speed past because I knew them. Idk maybe if I had loved the first book more then I would have loved this too.

Thanks for the great review

Kayla April 2, 2013 at 9:03 PM

I hate to say this…but I was a tad disappointed. For me the chapters seemed real choppy and I didn’t feel the same BD flow while in Abby’s mind. There seemed to be a lot of time jumps and just not enough time with Travis while he was alone or with family. Of course I love Travis to death and enjoyed being in his head, don’t get me wrong. Guess I just expected a little more. Plus I have to say I really, really disliked Abby in this version. To me she seemed to be more cold and really screwed with poor Travis’ heart more than I thought…his scenes were gutwrenching.

Michelle April 2, 2013 at 9:26 PM

Loved it!!!! I like how she moved the story along too and the epilogue had me in tears!

Jenn D April 2, 2013 at 9:34 PM

I took off from work today to read WD! I just finished moments ago…So worth it!! I didn’t think it was possible, but I’m in love with Travis now more than ever! I’m going to have definite Travis withdraw! They HAVE to turn Travis and Abby into a movie so we can relive their story as often as needed! I think I’m going to need a book break for a few days until my heart rate calms down and the knot in my stomach goes away! Way yo go J.M. – another fantastic book!!!

Toni Dooley April 2, 2013 at 9:40 PM

Omg! Soo good! The ending was not what I thought it would be. Makes me wish she would write another book into what happens next!

Travis simply takes my breath away. To finally see into how he was feeling the whole time was heart breaking. I love him like Most of us do but Jamie went into such depth of his emotions to the point where I didn’t even are if she recalled some of the same scenes in the first book…sorry ladies can’t give it all away…but as I was saying. Travis is the perfect “bad boy gone right” no. Cliche there he’s is simply a bad kind of good all on his own.

I will be re-reading this one as I did the first. Hopefully as I said before we can get Jamie to write us one more!

Lindsay April 2, 2013 at 9:44 PM

The epilogue was a wonderful surprise. I’m glad we got the closure we readers desperately needed! Great review.

Meri April 3, 2013 at 12:59 AM

I’m currently in a Travis fog too!! I can’t move on to other books….I
It looks wrong because Beautiful Disaster introduce me to Travis but……I love the Walking Disaster MORE…
Abby’s POV is a bit unrealistic as she has this wall (as Travis called it).
But Travis POV, everything is RAW and REAL…
Thanks Maryse for introducing me to BD..
I follow your blog and books you read and you always steer me in the right direction, more than I expected…:)

Deanna April 3, 2013 at 1:21 AM

I have to disagree with you, Maryse, THIS WAS BETTER than BD!
Loved finding out how Travis turns out, and it was a great relief seeing as I felt he previously looked like a potential abuser after BD.
Also, he had me in tears while Abby never did.

Michele April 3, 2013 at 1:30 AM

I read BD again last night in anticipation of the release of WD today. The reviews on Amazon are not too glowing. A lot of the comments say there is really no new content and it appears a lot of readers are disappointed in the book. Now I’m conflicted if it’s worth the money.

Patty April 3, 2013 at 5:53 AM

Omg just read the prologue and was choked up.. cant wait to get into it.

Tonya April 3, 2013 at 6:19 AM

It really was a good book! I was leery because I didn’t want to reread BD scene, and she did a really good job of going there, without overdoing it. So much more in love with Travis from his POV.

Courtney M April 3, 2013 at 7:10 AM

Just finished reading WD and after a LONG wait to read it, I have to say I feel complete. This journey with Travis and Abby has been a wonderful ride through love and pain from start to finish. Beautiful Disaster is still my favorite book, Travis is still # 1 book boyfriend/husband and being able to see their relationship develope through both of their eyes and understand the emotional toll on both of them has been quite rewarding. I only wish we were able to see a little more into Travis’s childhood and teenage years prior to college. Perhaps with the other Maddox brother’s stories, we can see that. Thank you Maryse for bringing this book who had these great characters written by an author whose attention to detail makes you forget about everything and everyone just to read a book.

Lisa M April 3, 2013 at 7:54 AM

Wow!!! Just finished it! I loved Travis’ POV. There were so many times I wanted to cry for him. The pain he went through from the very beginning the prologue I was in tears! We waited so long for WD to come out. It was so worth the wait but as usual I always feel sad when I come to the end of the book!

LaurenB April 3, 2013 at 7:58 AM

I just finished this morning and I have to stop myself from grinning like an idiot all day at work!

Love the review. I agree that I totally felt like Abby when I was reading BD, (but I think that’s at least partly because I felt like I was kind of reading my own story. I met my husband the first day I moved into my apartment in college and we were friends for 1.5 years first and there was a lot of angst in the beginning). And I am so glad that Jamie gave us Travis’s point of view, because I was in that bubble with Abby about how they first got together until reading this.

I do have to disagree with those who are disappointed about the repetitiveness of this one because we were told from the beginning that that is what it would be. Maybe that’s why I wasn’t disappointed. I had just reread BD on Sunday and Monday and I was amazed that I was still glued to my iPad even though I knew exactly what would happen.

And that epilogue…yay! Thanks again for the review and for introducing me to this wonderful series when I was looking for what to read after fifty shades (which is how I found your blog and now check it every day!)

rachel at backngroovemom April 3, 2013 at 8:22 AM

was fabulous — the epilogue made it all worth it.

Mertxe April 3, 2013 at 11:02 AM

I love Travis POV, i love how he love, when she left i felt the pain in his heart. he is so REAL.

Leslie Marquez April 3, 2013 at 1:46 PM

Wow, I just finished it. I am blissfully happy about all things beautiful! I say that while Beautiful Disaster is and will forever be my favorite bad boy book, it was nice to know the behind the scene stuff we didn’t see in BD. We understood how tormented and terrified Travis was about everything with Abby. I think I love Travis more then ever. I think I am going to go re-read Beautiful Disaster. Never get enough of Travis…

Jen Lewis April 3, 2013 at 2:56 PM

OMG – Maryse, I love your review – I started tearing up again just reading it… And Walking Disaster – AHHH I loved it even more!! I didn’t think Travis could really get any better in my eyes, but he did – oh HE DID. Seriously, I feel like it should be more than 5 stars. I have really been in a book funk since probably Consequences/Truth a few months ago… I haven’t really just had that wonderful moment when you’re almost high from reading an incredible book… Ya know where you don’t pick up another one for a few days cuz that last one is still playing scenes over & over in your head? But this one did it! OH YEAH!!! I am a goner for Travis Maddox…. And that Epilogue… And TRAVIS!!!!!!!! Yummm

But what makes me really SUPER DUPER EXCITED is that it seems like Jamie is going to be telling us a story about Trenton very soon. Another Maddox boy to fall in love with… YAY! I think the baby will always be my favorite, but wouldn’t it be nice to get to know his family?!?!?!

Deanna April 3, 2013 at 7:10 PM

I finished Walking Disaster and fell in love with Travis all over again. I agree with your review; its all in the details. I absolutely love how we see through his eyes; especially when she out on the dates with Parker. I loved the prologue as well….LOVE LOVE LOVE!!!

Brittany April 4, 2013 at 12:18 AM

I have finished Walking Disaster an I am very much in love with Travis all over again. Only for me I felt she left out a few very important Scenes. What was Travis thinking when Abby got attacked or at the wedding. Just felt I still needed a little more. Loved loved the Epilogue! Strong 4.5 stars just not 5.

Kelly April 4, 2013 at 12:37 AM

Loved the ending and Epilogue! I enjoyed getting to know the Maddoxes more in this book. Jim Maddox is up there with Grace Trevelyan Grey as favorite parent- is there such a category?
Trenton & Cami next???

emily April 4, 2013 at 8:34 AM

I finished Walking Disaster yesterday and am totally going through withdrawals!!! I absolutely loved it! I can’t stop thinking about it and love Travis even more! I loved it almost as much as Beautiful Disaster…but what Maryse said is right – the feeling the first time reading Beautiful Disaster was absolutely magical – nothing can ever replace that initial feeling, but Walking Disaster comes does a wonderful job recreating that magical feeling! I definitely have a book hangover from this one! :)

Katreena April 4, 2013 at 9:08 AM

I freakingly love love love Travis!!!!! *sigh* I wonder what Abby is saying in this scene “Hep . . . merf . . . furfon . . . shaw.”

hazel April 4, 2013 at 1:05 PM

I just finish Walking Disaster..I have to say at first I thought wait it’s like rereading Beautiful Disaster and then it’s not. Looking at the whole relationship troug travis eyes was amazing. Kudos to Jamie for another wonderful book. I loved the ending.

Tasha April 4, 2013 at 1:22 PM

Loved both books, love Travis!! However, so frustrated, why did someone not turn on the lights @ Keaton, it’s been driving me crazy!

Michaela April 4, 2013 at 2:34 PM

So, I JUST finished Walking Disaster! I started it on the 2nd and it took me 2 days to complete it — normally, I just tear through a book, devouring it and anxiously moving on to the next. But.. I couldn’t this time. I took my time and enjoyed all of the moments that made Travis and Abby exactly who they were and became. I needed to take my time with Travis and his POV. Walking Disaster was everything I thought it would be and so much better! He drove me crazy!! I wanted and needed more of Travis and Jamie McGuire definitely delivered!!! 5 stars!!! I haven’t enjoyed knowing a story and rereading it from a different POV in a while and this was the icing on the cake. Travis — mmmm! ;)

Anton April 4, 2013 at 3:10 PM

I just finished this book and loved it

Loved to read Travis’ POV.

What a great ending

Looking forward to seeing Jamie’s next book.

Rachel April 4, 2013 at 3:29 PM

I was actually pretty disappointed by this book. I was really looking forward to it, and to reading about Abby through Travis’s eyes. It was borderline boring at times, and most of it was word-for-word Beautiful Disaster, some scenes with just the pronouns switched. It bothered me to read over and over about girls Travis “bagged” (gag), then he turned into a lovesick hero…but i didnt really see that in his thoughts. it was disappointing and almost confusing. I loved BD, but I think she should’ve stopped the story there. There was nothing new from WD except the epilogue. Bummed, here. Now I’m a little worried that This Girl (Colleen Hoover) is also going to be a disappointment.

Nik April 4, 2013 at 3:41 PM

Finished the book and it’s definitely more than I was expecting. I was reliving all of those moments through his eyes and what a wake up call it was! i would always try and make up what he was thinking while reading beautiful disaster but reading it and actually knowing was mind blowing. I can’t help but fall in love with Travis all over again and so deeply.

Looovveeee the epilogue I’m so glad she gave us that! They survived! And found it so funny that they named their kids after her fake ID name!!

Loveeee this series!! It is on my top ten!

Paige April 4, 2013 at 4:05 PM

Barely, and I mean *barely* three stars for me. I KNOW it was marketed as Travis’s POV and boy did it deliver! He is an angry, possessive, back and forth guy. He messed up SO much and then would beg for her back. And then do it again, and beg for her back. There is NO way I’d date a guy like him. I wish I’d left this alone and just kept BD in my head. Thumbs down for Travis. Jerk.

Patty April 5, 2013 at 8:41 AM

OK, finished this morning after I sent my son off to school….I loved it !! BUT I must say I did love BD more but I’m fine with that, I didnt think it could surpass how I felt for BD. I did cry once or twice, the pain he felt was so deep. I absolutely loved the extra chapter and the epilogue….even though I wanted it to be longer…but I’m sure if it was I would still want more, so I guess it has to end at some point.

Now I dont know what to read next, I’m feeling a little lost without Abby and Travis…..will there be spinoffs on the Maddox Brothers so I can read about them further? Hopefully they will still touch on Travis….hehe

Melissa April 5, 2013 at 9:25 AM

Rachel, I agree with you. I LOVED Beautiful Disaster and read it multiple times. I liked Walking Disaster but it was the same scenes word-for-word with very little new stuff added. Yes, Travis’ pain was felt alot more in this one but, I thought we were getting scenes we didn’t see in BD such as the wedding and honeymoon maybe even a few more tender sex scenes between he & Abby. There was so much hype leading up to this that I guess the book itself was a bit of a let down :( BUT I still LVOE Travis & Abby and their story.

Kaye April 5, 2013 at 3:38 PM

I just finished the book… i still can’t get over it! It was really nice reading Travis’ POV this time – knowing what he was thinking all those times when they were together and especially those when they broke up. When I read BD, i cried, probably bec i was feeling what Abby was feeling.. and now that I finished WD, it made me cry even harder! I can’t still get over it. I’m still hoping for a 3rd book, but then finding out that they now have their own family is kind of the ending I was expecting to read. Hands down to Jamie McGuire. Definitely one of the series i will NEVER forget. I will always have their story with me… ♥♥♥

Carla April 6, 2013 at 3:36 AM

Diffently a good read! I enjoyed the read it was smooth and my first in the POV. I’ll look forward to the author expanding on the Maddox’s in the further books- hopefully!!!!

Minha (BrazilianGirl) April 6, 2013 at 6:11 PM

Of course you were right Maryse… I could not wait until my vacation… Travis kept calling me…. I read BD again to see if I could hold on. LOL silly me… It Just made me want to go straight to WD even more… Just finished it… *** sigh*** Travis is still my favorite book boyfriend… Even more now that I could take a glimpse of the mature, awesome hubby and father Travis…

Minha (BrazilianGirl) April 6, 2013 at 7:00 PM

Ohhh Maryse, just read your review after finishing WD, OMG, you nailed it!!! It’s probably your best review ever!!!! :)

Maryse April 6, 2013 at 8:10 PM

YAY!!! Thank you Minha. Nothing but my possible best for Travis. It was such an easy review to write, too. As soon as I was done I ran to my computer and just started typing. I had to put that energy and my super-crush into words and it just flowed right out of me like that.

Mandy April 8, 2013 at 7:38 AM

After reading all of your wonderful reviews I will go ahead and read this. I admit to being one of the ones who thought “do I really need to read this because how different can it be since I already know (and love) their story?” Thanks girls :)

Melissa April 8, 2013 at 10:11 AM

Maryse your review was spot on. Love Abby and Travis! I can’t wait for the movie. I really hope the Maddox brothers get their own books. Loved every minute of this book.

Noelle Zamora April 9, 2013 at 10:57 AM

I totally loved it…I will never get over Trav…he stole my heart from Edward (Twilight) Lol…now Edward is in third place…never thought that could happen. ..siiiigggghhhhhhhhhhhhh Caleb (Opportunist) is number 2…hope my heart isn’t broken forever lol

Ruby April 18, 2013 at 1:33 PM

OMG ! I didn’t even know it was possible to miss so much a character ! I was so happy to read Walking disaster (best gift Jamie Mcguire could do to her fans !) and now I’m already very sad because I finished this book ! I hope we will get Trent’s story very sooon ! Keep us posted Maryse !

Jackquelin May 9, 2013 at 2:38 AM

Maryse THANK YOU SO FREAKING MUCH! lol I loved Beautiful Disaster and once again fell head over heels for “Trav” In Walking Disaster. I loved with him, cried with him, felt his heartache and my heart was just as heavy with love as his was at the end. I can truly say I appreciated the ending to this one much better then BD. The story was finally complete and the epoilogue made it that much better. I had to write to you after I finished especially because you introduced me to Mr. Maddox <3. It was also a surprise when I read the Thank yous at the end! I think its awesome Jamie thanked you and shes right your blog is extrodinary. As soon as im done here ill be searching your blog for a new book. Thank you once again Travis has a place in my book heart next to my husband Mr.Grey **sigh** lol thank you Maryse

tamaranicole May 10, 2013 at 8:56 AM

Maryse!!!! I have fallen in love with Travis!! I can’t begin to explain how amazing this book it. I’m so happy that I decided to read it (in less then 2 days) the last time I was this sad about a book ending was definitely 50 shades. Thank you so much!!! For introducing me to Travis and this incredible book. I feel like I am home when I am on your site.

Diane May 31, 2013 at 9:09 PM

Both books were so wonderful, I can’t decide which one i liked best! I’m sure their story is finished but I would LOVE an Arouse/Allure type book about them as a married couple– just sayin’!!!!

Leave a Comment

 

Notify me of followup comments to this post via e-mail. You can also subscribe without commenting.

Previous post:

Next post: