Book Review – Wallbanger by Alice Clayton

by Maryse on November 29, 2012 · 47 comments

in My Book Reviews

Wallbanger
<—- And that title does NOT lie. I literally squawked with titillated glee when I read the title, and after reading the synopsis? I knew it absolutely had to be mine the minute it was released. After all, I loved this author’s “Redhead” series, so I had an idea of what I was in for.

“… When the wallbanging threatens to literally bounce her out of bed, Caroline, clad in sexual frustration and a pink baby-doll nightie, confronts her heard-but-never-seen neighbor. Their late-night hallway encounter has, well, mixed results. Ahem. With walls this thin, the tension’s gonna be thick…”

Wallbanger lived up to it’s enticing synopsis, and then some. Exceeded all of my expectations. And as much as I loved the Redhead series, this one surpassed it. Rocked my world! I was grinning from ear to ear (my cheeks cramped!) and I couldn’t stop giggling. And sighing. Oh yes. *nods*  I crushed on the Wallbanger (I mean… “Simon”) HARD. Dreamed of him while I was sleeping. Brought him up on our Facebook page every chance I got. I finished this one last night, and I woke up with him on my mind. Oh sure… I know. I crush on all of ‘em, at least a little bit, but often let “them” go almost as soon as I’m done. Or maybe I crush on them via the heroine’s perspective while I’m reading, but never fully… internalize that crush. They remain a “mini-crush” of the moment. Obviously amazing in their own right, but… I’m happy to let the heroine have him in the end. ;)

But Simon is real, to me. REAL I tell you! He’s out there biting whole chunks out of loaves of zucchini bread as we speak!

“You want me to cut you a piece — okay, or you could just do that.” I frowned as he took a giant bite out of the end.

“Thif if mine, righ?” he asked, spraying crumbs.

“How do you function in normal society?” I asked shaking my head as he took another monster bite.

LOL!!! *squeeeeee* He’s just sooooooo WOW!!!

He’s another one of those “100% guy” heroes who’s reactions and antics made me love him even more. The kind of “guy-things” that I could imagine might become irritating over the years, but with the right guy, never do. And that is SIMON! Another perfect hero in all of his imperfections, making me both happy for, and wickedly envious of, the heroine. To me, he’s one of those. If this was a series, I could really get attached. Just sayin’ ;)

So what’s it about?

Caroline gets the apartment of her dreams, only to realize that her neighbor is, umm…. quite loud with his nightly activities. So much so that his bed (which is just on the other side of her bed, separated by an apparently thin wall) bangs on hers. She also realizes that he’s… quite the ladies man.

The girl next door was meowing. What in the world was my neighbor packing to make that happen?

Many ladies, and many different vocalizations of just how much they appreciate… him. *blush*

I fell asleep that night after swearing I would bang back if I heard one more peep. Or groan. or spank.

Welcome to the neighborhood.

And one night, she has had ENOUGH! So she bangs on his door to “interrupt” him. And that’s where the real fun begins. Because he’s HOT!

His eyes were piercing blue, and cheekbones just as strong as the jaw. Completing the package? Kiss-swollen lips, and what looked like about three days of scruff.

Jesus, there was scruff. How had I missed that this morning.

I gazed down his long, lean body. He was tan, but not a premeditated tan – outdoorsy tan, weathered tan. Manly tan. His chest rose and fell as he panted, his skin coated in a thin sheen of sex sweat. As my eyes traveled down further I saw a smattering of dark hair low on his torso, which led below the sheet. Below the six pack. Below that V that some men have, and which on him didn’t look weird or BowFlexed.

He was stunning. Of course he was stunning. And why did there have to be scruff?

And well, so is she (especially in her pink baby doll nightie that she seems to have forgotten she’s wearing). And as they attempt to cope with each other (more like… antagonize each other)…

“I knocked a picture off your wall?” he asked, looking amused and proud at the same time. What a guy.

… they soon realize that they have mutual friends. Running in the same circles forces the mutual attraction to the forefront. Let’s just say, that the potential for “just being neighborly” is presented on a whole different level.

BUT OMG! My mini synopsis doesn’t do this story justice. AT ALL. This is a heartwarming, sweet, playful story about a possible friendship with the potential for a whole lot more. But you know… stuff gets in the way. She has issues… he has issues….. their friends have issues… ;) Although not so much that you don’t love every single moment of it. All sorts of fun to be had!

And what I loved most? While it was extremely funny, it wasn’t just that. The character’s had depth, and the author bestowed us with a definite moment of angst. A few of ‘em, actually. And deliciously intense romance. This is another one of those books, where the characters and their lives were so realistically detailed, that I could “see” and “feel” them pretty much right off the bat.

Me <— 100% connected!

Me <— 100% LOVED it!

5 stars! It may not be my absolute most favorite read in the whole wide world… but it’s definitely one of ‘em. ;)

And it seemed to be that way for the majority of us. Just for fun, here’s a sampling of our gush-fest (and there is more where that came from, ’cause we gushed all OVER our Facebook page):

Maryse’s Book Blog: Omg I loooooove Simon soooo much! And I especially love his love of baked goods. I can’t stop grinning like a fool!

Angie: LOL he was great!!!

Melanie: finished it today…..LOVED IT!!!! It was my first Alice Clayton and I am so glad I found it =)

Patricia: i have gotta check out Simon if he has got Maryse grinning like a fool…

Lisa: Wallbanger was hilarious. It’s definitely high on my faves for the year.

Brandy: Only on chapter 3 or so and I can not stop smiling while reading it! My 2 1/2 yr old keeps asking me why I am smiling at my book!!! Ha Ha Ha

Jackie: 70% in……LOVIN’ it!!! Everyone should read Alice’s REDHEAD series too!!!!

Robyn: Lisa, if you loved it you must read her Redhead series, loved them, one of my favourite reads!

Chasity: I finished Wallbanger a few days ago and LOVED it. Just started the first Redhead book too! Edited to add – well that was yesterday, not a few days ago. My mind is gone!

Maryse’s Book Blog: Omg when he just started taking bites right out of the bread!! LOL! I adoooore Simon.

Chasity: I finished Wallbanger a few days ago and LOVED it. Just started the first Redhead book too! Edited to add – well that was yesterday, not a few days ago. My mind is gone!

Tracy: Alice Clayton rocks! I just read Wallbanger and loved it..the witty dialogue and the smoking hot chemistry between Simon and Caroline did it for me…5 stars!

Melissa: I am reading it now and loving it..the witty text messages back n forth…so much sizzle between these 2..ive been laughing out loud!!

Maryse’s Book Blog: They are TOOO CUTE!!!! He kinda reminds me a bit of the Bradford guys – like he should be related to them – which I love!! (R.L. Mathewson’s Neighbors From Hell boys)

Jennifer:  i agree!!! love the banter between them….loved the end from Clive’s pov!! :)

Tracy: Oh Maryse, I didn’t even think about that when I was reading…he does remind me of the Bradford boys…their bread and apple pie dirty talk cracked me up!

Theresa: Started it tonight and LOVING it! Was planning on getting some sleep tonight but don’t think it’s gonna happen!

Melanie: So for the ones of you that have read it, I just have to say that I will forever laugh my butt off whenever I hear “Welcome to the Jungle” in the future….I could not stop laughing and then couldn’t understand why people around me weren’t laughing too. LOL

Sara: Loved it! Still laughing at Clive attacking Simon! Lol is there going to be a book #2???

Melinda: Just started it again! Read it as fanfic and def worth paying for! Live Clive!!

Ray: Just finished it and I have to say it was very very funny – so not really one for the train! I snorted out loud so often that the lady sitting besides moved seats.

Jo: I loved it too! I want a Simon of my own!

Jody: Just finished it! *sigh*

Katie: Loving it!!! I think I like Clive the most. Her cat dialogue is so something that I hear my cats “saying.”

Erin: loved this book so much! laughed my butt right off

Melissa: Just finished it and I absolutely loved it!!

Ana: Me too. Love this book!

Emily: LOOOOOOVE HIM AND HER TOO!!!!! GETTING READY TO FINISH IT THIS AM!!! HER BOOKS ARE ALWAYS SO HILARIOUS!!!!!!

Yvette: Omg I love this book!! I’m almost done and I’m swooning all over him!! Oh and I love mr. Clive too!! Hehe

Tara: Hilarious!!!!! Educational too…Who knew what “machine-gun sex” was & that someone could “hijack your O”?!?! Loved

Suzie: I LOVE this book. I bought it on Tuesday (because you mentioned it) and finished it on Wednesday. I so wish there was a second book. I would love to see how it plays out with the traveling and all the new relationships.

Get Free Email Updates from me :)

{ 47 comments… read them below or add one }

kelsey November 29, 2012 at 5:23 PM

Downloading as we speak,as I’ve almost finished the Redheads and love Alice’s writing, I can’t wait to get my hands on this :-)

Maryse November 29, 2012 at 5:59 PM

Oh you are in for such a treat!!!! Simon didn’t just bang her wall, he rocked my world! LOL!!! *grins*

Emily McDougal November 29, 2012 at 6:01 PM

Freaking LOVED every part!!!!! I laughed so much, it got a little awkward while waiting in a Dr. waiting room, but whatev!!!! Alice Clayton is one of my fav’s! She writes GREAT romance (woo) but also makes them so funny and real!!!! Awwww, Wallbanger!!!! 5 stars for me toooooo!!!!

Lise November 29, 2012 at 6:04 PM

OMG… 5 Maryse Stars!!! Better than the Redhead series…. started it last night, but need some dedicated reading time. *jumps for joy*

Nicky November 29, 2012 at 6:04 PM

I’m about half way and just grinning along. All my reads lately have been heavy and emotional (but good!), so this is definitely what I needed to pick me up out of my angsty moods and relax a bit!

Kristen November 29, 2012 at 6:05 PM

OMGOSH I loved this book. I would agree it is by far one of my favorites to date. It had everything I love in a book….depth, comedy, romance, swooning, love, oh and that “other” good stuff ;) So great.

Tiffany November 29, 2012 at 6:26 PM

This book reminds me of our neighbor when we used to live in a townhouse. Those walls were so thin!! Banging on walls and loud sounds every weekend lol. Thank goodness we live in a single family home now :)

Maryse November 29, 2012 at 6:48 PM

The sweater sniffing, that drive home with his erroneous thoughts that led to… “..aaaaannnnd I’m… ;)

*smirk* I won’t continue that train of thought. :P

The afghan, his constant requests for baked goods, all of it.

He is the CUTEST thing!

*LOVE*

Cheri November 29, 2012 at 8:28 PM

Is anyone ready to lend it out? If so, please let me know in the Kindle lending section on this website. Thanks. After reading so much about it, I need to put down the book I am reading and read this one.

Sharon November 29, 2012 at 9:29 PM

OMG! Loved this book. It has to be one of my all-time favorites. Thank you for finding it. Simon is awesome. I loved their banter. I just kept loling. Great read!

Melody November 29, 2012 at 9:59 PM

Best funniest book I have read in a while I loved every minute . It made me want to find Alice and make her my best friend cause she is so dang funny

Ames November 29, 2012 at 10:08 PM

I love your review! thanks to you, I want to read this book right now. :D It sounds so delicious!

Sara November 29, 2012 at 10:10 PM

After your review… Uh.. It’s moved up on my tbr list. I love this author! The redhead series was awesome and so much fun to read. So of course I’ve read them more than once…

Chiqui November 29, 2012 at 10:13 PM

OMGEEE Maryse!!!! Im in love with Simon!!!! I have been promoting this book all day yesterday on goodreads and to my friends!!!! Its so worrh it!!! Truly one of the best I’ve ever read!!!

Julie November 29, 2012 at 10:19 PM

Loved this book!! I needed a good laugh and I was laughing till I was in tears! I can’t even pick a favorite part because the whole book was great!! And OH Simon, I think I can just eat him up

LucyLou November 29, 2012 at 11:16 PM

Oh, I think I NEED to read this next after just finishing “The Edge of Never”. I’m ready for a good light hearted laugh. :)

Surj November 30, 2012 at 1:25 AM

Just hilarious. Did she really say “come into my Tahoe????’” I was sat in a hospital waiting room and it took every ounce of will power to to laugh out loud!!!! Just loved it. Thank you for recommending it

Surj November 30, 2012 at 1:27 AM

Lucy Lou: I read it after the edge of never and it was just what I needed. I laughed from start to finish after sobbing my heart out reading the edge of never. You won’t be disappointed x

Shanda November 30, 2012 at 6:44 AM

I finished it last night. I heart Simon. This book was great!!!! Clive cracks me up especially in 2 specific parts I was in stitches. Alice is great, I loved the Redhead books and can’t wait for book3.

Kathy November 30, 2012 at 6:51 AM

This may be my new favorite. Looooooooved it!!!!!!!!!! My husband thought I was crazy last night while I read it. I was talking to my kindle and had a bad case of the giggles. What a talented author.

Jan November 30, 2012 at 7:09 AM

Delightful story,,,that says it all. I loved every page.

Erin G November 30, 2012 at 12:33 PM

Downloaded this one yesterday (along with 14 others… SMH), can’t wait! Just finished another hilarious one… Against the Wall by Julie Prestater. Two funny books.. both titles about being shagged against the wall :)

Michaelela November 30, 2012 at 1:29 PM

LOVED this book! THANK YOU for recommending this! I giggled, sighed, chanted “omg” throughout the entire read. Could not put it down! I’ll definitely be recommending this book often! And the end of the book… I died!! Would almost love to see the entire book rewritten with Clive’s POV! ;)

Eduarda November 30, 2012 at 2:14 PM

OMG I LOOOOOVE THIS BOOK !!!
Looking forward to reread it and have lots of fun once again.
Thank you for recommending this ^^

Rachel November 30, 2012 at 8:48 PM

Loved this!!!
I was literally laughing out loud.

Nicole December 1, 2012 at 1:35 AM

Thanks Maryse for another great recommendation! Loved loved loved this book! Super funny and sweet!

Pam December 1, 2012 at 2:27 AM

Thank you sooooo much for recomending this one!!!! Just what i needed after the emotional roller coaster ride that was “The Edge if Never”. Wallbanger had me laughing out loud to the point my family thought i was NUTS!!! ***Spoiler*** The inner monologue (<—probable spelling error lol) on the trip back from Tahoe…histerical! But the story telling at the party "He. Was. Still…" OMG I laughed so hard, I snorted. Totally snorted!! Loved it!!! Now im onto the Redhead books!!! :-D

LucyLou December 1, 2012 at 12:16 PM

**WARNING** Do not attempt to read this book without tissue or while drinking a beverage. You will most assuredly spew all over your ereader and laugh until you cry. LOVED IT!!!

Biate December 1, 2012 at 12:20 PM

Loved loved loved it! And it had a few giggle worthy moments that just made it extra awesome!!

LucyLou December 1, 2012 at 12:23 PM

Hey Pam, I know what you mean. I cried 2 nights in a row. First night from “The Edge of Never”, where I had to hide from my family as I sobbed with a broken heart and the next night I laughed so hard that tears were pouring down my face from reading “Wallbanger”. My family thinks I need medication from my sudden mood swings. ;)

Cassidy December 3, 2012 at 11:12 AM

I had so much fun reading this book!!!!! Laughed so much I had tears!!!!!

coco December 3, 2012 at 4:50 PM

Adoredddddd this book. One of my Top 5 for sure!

Takisha December 4, 2012 at 10:19 AM

Finished yesterday…cute, fun, funny, good book and i love me some Simon Parker!

Maggie December 4, 2012 at 1:35 PM

LOVED this book!!! I just adored all the snark and couldn’t have loved Simon more.

I read the Clive part near the end so many times and almost wet myself giggling. Coon skin back cap? HA!

Starting the Redhead series now!

Dawn December 4, 2012 at 11:44 PM

Loved it!! Great recommendation :) so flipping sweet, hot and funny!!

Maria December 7, 2012 at 10:35 AM

ABSOLUTELY LOVED THIS BOOK!

Tracy December 7, 2012 at 5:47 PM

ABSOLUTELY LOVED THIS BOOK. IT’S WAS HILARIOUSLY FUNNY AND SWEET AND HOT HOT HOT. This book had me crying i laughed so hard. Starting the Redhead series now

Kim December 13, 2012 at 1:02 AM

I just finished it and I loved it. It was so funny and Caroline her come backs and witty replies crack me up. One of the funniest parts is when they were getting ready for the party.

Deana January 3, 2013 at 7:26 AM

I loved this book, I laughed so many times!!! When the girls were getting ready for the party had me rolling. My family looked at me quite a few times like I was nuts. I reminded them laughter is good for the soul :)

Michele January 3, 2013 at 8:00 PM

Haven’t finished this book yet, less than one hundred pages to go, but it was DEFINITELY worth buying. Too many LOL moments. Absolutely love Clive, and Caroline, and, of course, Simon.

Patty January 6, 2013 at 8:39 PM

omg…..I loved loved loved this book.. It didn’t put you through to much push and pull drama and omg did I laugh out loud and still can when I think of Clive and Andrew….so funny…awesome read…

I can’t decide ten tiny breaths or losing it next…any opinions out there.

Maryse January 7, 2013 at 1:59 PM

Ten Tiny Breaths is intense and angsty, Losing It has a more comedic value to it (but still gets angsty but on more of a romance level). I love ‘em both!

Angela Lozano January 10, 2013 at 3:12 PM

Can’t find this on my ibooks! It won’t show up, do you know if its available?

Belle DC January 15, 2013 at 12:25 PM

Whenever I wanted to read something good, I go directly to your site and look up the books you’ve read and recommend (4.5 – 5 stars). And this may be one of the best… I sooooooooo love it, I pulled an all-nighter for this book, though not having any sleep makes me cranky, but after reading Wallbanger, I was, well.. I dunno, I feel light and happy.. ^_^ So glad Caroline got reunited with her “O”.

Angela Lozano February 13, 2013 at 11:48 AM

I am still waiting for this book to come out on ibooks, do you have any idea when????

Mikell Drobac April 6, 2013 at 7:57 AM

Loved Wallbanger, lots of laughs!!!

Ruth April 6, 2013 at 6:41 PM

On sale today, how can I refuse….
Great review!

Leave a Comment

 

Notify me of followup comments to this post via e-mail. You can also subscribe without commenting.

Previous post:

Next post: