My Mom’s Book Review – Already Dead by Charlie Huston

by Maryse on January 26, 2011 · 19 comments

in Miscellaneous, My Book Reviews

My mom emailed me the other day, with a detailed review of a book she’d been reading. Unfortunately, it wasn’t her cup of tea, but oddly enough, she put a lot of effort into telling me about it.

So here it is, my mom’s first book review.  Hopefully there will be more to come from her, maybe about books she DOES like (*hint hint*) ;)

BTW – my mom’s a BIG fan of the Black Dagger Brotherhood, Lara Adrian’s Midnight Breed series, and of course, Terrible and The Downside Ghosts. She has decided to start the Fever series next. I’m anxious to get her reactions! I just know she’ll LOVE it!

Already Dead: A Novel
Hi Sweetpea! What is the title of the book you wanted me to read? I finished the other one…Already Dead. If it’s free and there’s nothing else to read… why not… but otherwise…
 
It’s the story of a guy (Joe Pitt) who became a “vampyre” due to a vyrus that he was given through another person who had the vyrus (that is really how they spell Vampyre and Vyrus in the book ’cause of it’s functionality).  This vyrus causes them to have to feed on human blood on a regular basis, otherwise the vyrus starts devouring them from the inside.  They also become allergic to the sun the way vampires do, but they eat and drink like normal people, and this vyrus cleans their blood of any disease whatsoever, and heals them quickly when they get wounded.

When he was infected he should have died but another vampyre rescued him and pulled him through. Terry, the man who saved Joe Pitt, started to organize the vampyres in his part of the district and they became the “Society”. They gave Joe some odd jobs to do to try and keep the newly affected vampyres under control so they don’t turn rogue. Another guy “Predo” is the head of the “Coalition” in another part of town and they also give Joe Pitt (his real before the vyrus name is Simon – but he changed his name after being infected) some odd jobs to do for them to keep the order.
 
While investigating some mysterious deaths, he discovers that there is someone infecting people with another kind of virus which turns them into zombies for a few days.  The newly turned zombies feed on human brains so they kill randomly to feed themselves, but they only live a very short time ’cause that kind of virus eats them from the inside and eventually they just cease to exist.

Joe Pitt is hired to find a young girl who ran away from home.  The parents are very rich and were sent to him through Predo, the father being a pedophile doctor and the mother being a lush and a tramp. So Joe is hired to find this girl and while doing so he gets beaten a few times and almost killed a few more times…. 

SIDENOTE: My mom goes into a quick summary of the “end” result of his multiple investigations and a little “love story” part that left her somewhat indifferent… so I’ll leave those spoilers out…

So, in case  you’re interested in putting a footnote somewhere about this book… not worth your time! 

So there it is folks. Surprisingly enough, once I checked this out on Amazon, it appears it has a ton of good reviews, but and then,there are also quite a few like my mom’s, so who knows? Maybe you’ll like it? Let us know :)

Get Free Email Updates from me :)

{ 19 comments… read them below or add one }

LilyofDarkness January 26, 2011 at 9:41 AM

Grandmaker, you should not tempt the progeny so!
I think I’m going to read this, it actually sounds interesting…I am so twisted.

Maryse January 26, 2011 at 9:43 AM

LOL! I thought the same thing… ;)

Mom (Grandmaker) January 26, 2011 at 12:48 PM

Well what do you know… I can’t wait to get your reactions to this book… but as I know both of you (I think) you’ll find that there is not enough “hot scenes” and too much of the gore without purpose! lemme know how right or wrong I was… maybe I should have read it all in one shot instead of putting it down on a regular basis!

Maryse January 26, 2011 at 1:04 PM

My theory – if you like a book while reading it, you might LOVE it even more if you are able to read it in it’s entirety, uninterrupted. If you don’t like it, nothing’s gonna change that. At least you stuck with it ;)

And you’re right. I always like a side of romance with my danger. Tee hee!

LilyofDarkness January 26, 2011 at 1:10 PM

I am on the fence. I can read books without romance (Reacher) and packed with violence (Reacher) sometimes with not much reason (Reacher) however they never have the vampire element to it..(Reacher again). I also like Stephen King and Dean Koontz, and sometimes they are filled with gore and not a shred of romance whatsoever. Eh. We’ll see.

Maryse January 26, 2011 at 1:14 PM

True…I forgot my horror obsession.

No romance needed in horror, but then again, the thrill is in the fear when it comes to that genre. As long as I get my *thrill* I guess…

I was totally a Dean Koontz and Stephen King fanatic (and others…)

Remember mom, when I spent that entire weekend at the cottage on the front porch (I was about 9 or 10) reading the Exorcist? Good times… LOL!

LilyofDarkness January 26, 2011 at 1:16 PM

Wasn’t that the movie your mom watched while pregnant with you?

Maryse January 26, 2011 at 1:19 PM

Nope that was… hrmmm…mom do you remember? I think Carrie might have been it.

Mom (Grandmaker) January 26, 2011 at 1:33 PM

Yes it was Carrie… the Exorcist came after you were born… but I also love Dean Koontz and any other horror book as long as it has a story that you can follow and that keeps you on the edge of your seat… same as with horror movies… I love them… the scarier the better… I can’t wait to go see the latest one about that preacher who has done so many exorcisms that it looks like he got possessed himself (it’s at least what the previews seem to hint at)… I’ve only seen the previews in French and the title is “Le Rite”… I don’t know what they called it in English… it might be the same.

LilyofDarkness January 26, 2011 at 1:38 PM

Its the same title called “The Rite” with Anthony Hopkins….I can’t wait to see it either!

Maryse January 26, 2011 at 1:41 PM

In english it is almost the same “The Rite”. I DO want to see that.

Mom have you even seen Paranormal Activity yet (1 & 2??) – best horror movies I’ve watched in a long time. Scared us all silly. At home, we had the lights on in the house at night – all night – for days.

Although, come to think of it…lights on or off didn’t really help anyone in the actual movie, but you know… it feels safer that way ;)

LilyofDarkness January 26, 2011 at 3:15 PM

I have not watched etiher one of those yet….

Mom (Grandmaker) January 28, 2011 at 2:47 PM

No… I didn’t watch them yet either… I wonder how matante Francine is with horror movies, ’cause we could watch them with you when we go over… but I think she’s chicken about watching horror!

Maryse January 28, 2011 at 3:01 PM

Poor Aunt Francine. I know more horror chickens than I know horror fans, that’s for sure.

It’s all your fault mom. Watching horror movies while you were pregnant with me, and then having me keep you company watching horror as a child, just so you wouldn’t have to watch them alone, yah…

By today’s standards, that would be considered *off* LOL

But look!! I turned out just fine! Actually, I think my husband would beg to differ, as he finds my love of horror disconcerting.

But I tell him, watching horror teaches me what NOT to do in a bad situation. Ups my chances of living longer! Plus, I have a theory that those thrills and adrenaline spurts are good for you!

Mom (Grandmaker) January 28, 2011 at 3:08 PM

I totally totally agree with you! it can’t be all bad there are lessons to learn in there womewhere… when you were 3 years old we took you to a drive in movie to watch “The Last House on the Left” and it was so funny to hear your comments that were completely innocent and absolutely not in touch with what was happening on the screen… you just couldn’t see the bad in what was happening… when the girl got shot in the lake you thought she was going for a swim! ; )

LilyofDarkness January 28, 2011 at 3:09 PM

Come on Maryse, watching those movies has taught me I might make it out alive if I follow this critera
1. run UP the stairs when someone breaks in
2. whimper loudly in the closet or under the bed
3. be the pretty one in the group

or my own personal version:
1. Run up the stairs.
2. Go to the closet
3. Grab the shotgun
4. Shot that sum-beach.

But then again if we are talking about demons, ghosts or other stuff like that? Wet my pants and pray.

And Maryse…fine? You know what FINE stands for right?

Maryse January 28, 2011 at 3:10 PM

LOL! I still have that ability ;)

Mom (Grandmaker) January 28, 2011 at 3:20 PM

ok… now you got me grand-proginy… WHAT DOES FINE STAND FOR!!!

Mandi November 24, 2012 at 10:56 AM

*MandiDark*

Grandmaker my mom thought the EXACT same thing only she choked down the entire series! I kept telling her she should quit reading them if she disliked them so but she said she was going to finish them and finish them she did but never liked them anymore than when she first started them so they have dropped to the very bottom of my TBR list ;)

Leave a Comment

 

Notify me of followup comments to this post via e-mail. You can also subscribe without commenting.

Previous post:

Next post: