Not really a review, but a “to be finished” later… “Fighting for Irish” by Gina L. Maxwell

by Maryse on January 19, 2014 · 19 comments

in My Book Reviews

Just a quick update on one of my latest reads that I announced I’d be reading on Friday (with many of you reading with me).

There are some books that, in theory, have everything I want (good solid writing, an extra “Maryse-like” hero ;) , an issue to overcome, misunderstandings, steam, etc…) and yet despite that, I find myself struggling to connect. I can’t pinpoint it exactly, but I just know, at a certain point, I need to put it down and go onto something else. And usually I don’t officially review those, I just make a note on my “reading progress” page, instead.

But since I *squeeeed* big with excitement for wanting to read this one, I thought I’d let you in on my progress, right here.

Because that is the case for my latest “Friday-night” read, Fighting For Irish. Overall, it’s probably really good. I mean, just look at all of the enthusiastic 5-star reviews it has already received since it’s recent release, and this author has a great track-record. In fact, I suspect I may even have finally set it down right before I was about to get myself in a book-load of angst.

I mean, what’s not to love? He’s a bad-ass monster of an MMA fighter (sexy, tattooed and has his own personal “darkness” that makes him pretty much… unbeatable). He’s sent to “protect” his best friend’s sister-in-law (who’s hiding from the mob). Yep. Right up our alley! He befriends her (she doesn’t know why he’s actually there), pretty much acts as her own personal bouncer at the bar she works at (to her chagrin. LOL! He’s a little overzealous with her male clientele which is cutting into her tips <— tee hee!!), and then gets himself involved in her mob-related issues, forcing him to get back into the ring.

Sounds good, right?

So what, then? What was my issue? I made it to 60-something percent, but after frequent starts and stops I finally just… I dunno. I was reading it. I just wasn’t feeling it. I wasn’t scared, excited, swooning (and he was definitely swoon-worthy), and I didn’t find myself guessing in anticipatory glee. I just… it felt… like I was reading it from the outside looking in. There was a certain lack of intensity for me, emotion… despite the dark past the heroine was struggling with. Despite the dark past the hero was struggling with. No real highs and lows. No adrenaline rushes. No butterflies. Maybe it was too… even-keeled? Or maybe I was too even-keeled.


Like I said, when I put it down, I think poop was about to hit the fan, so I intend to pick it back up soon so I can finish it. I just didn’t want to finish it with my connection (or lack thereof) the way it was. So, no rating as of yet.

That said, I picked up another book from the same Frday-list, and that one hit the spot! LOVED it! My review to come shortly… :D

Get Free Email Updates from me :)

{ 19 comments… read them below or add one }

K January 19, 2014 at 11:55 AM

Remembering Us by Stacey Lynn <— Is good. A short, fast read but different and intriguing. I've been a book funk feeling like I keep reading the same story again and again, so it was nice to really get into a book and "feel" something and not know where the ending was headed.

Maryse January 19, 2014 at 11:57 AM

LOL K!! THAT is the one I read and LOVED!!! I’m going on to that review next. I just didn’t feel right just skipping over “Irish” considering I announced (and invited) everyone to read it along with me on Friday.

Jean January 19, 2014 at 12:03 PM

Maryse, I had the same problem! But continued to trudge through because I really loved the other books in the series! I still didn’t feel the connection by the end……

Maryse January 19, 2014 at 12:05 PM

*sigh* bummer. In theory, it seemed to have it all (at least what I’m looking for in a guilty pleasure read). Sometimes this happens…

Jean January 19, 2014 at 12:15 PM

Its hard too when Remington Tate is my ultimate fighter badass book boyfriend!!!! No one can compare to him! I am going to try remembering us which I also downloaded last week. It looks different!

michele January 19, 2014 at 1:21 PM

I wish i could get into it. I actually stopped reading as i felt it was going nowhere. Glad to know some others had yhe same reaction.

yashira January 19, 2014 at 3:08 PM

Maryse I completely understand the feeling I actually finished it because the other book was pretty good but I felt like there needed to be more intensity between the characters I dunno more chemistry. And Jean I ‘ve been looking for a Remington myself and everyone seems to be coming up short even Travis!

Shanda January 19, 2014 at 3:18 PM

I get it, I did the same with this book Fighting for Irish, I don’t know why. I found myself stopping and checking Facebook or surfing the net. If I am really into a book nothing else matters. I did finish though. Not as much angst as I thought. But wrapped up nice. Who knows…. Moving on to Ignite on your Friday list.

Tara January 19, 2014 at 3:27 PM

I had the same problem – I actually put the book down a bit earlier than 60%. I think I stopped at about 35 or 40% I wanted to give it more because I LOVED Gina Maxwell’s other books. I feel bad :( Let us know when you pick it back up, maybe I’ll do the same :)

My replacement read was Dear Emily by Trudy Stiles. OMG Maryse – this one is right up your alley! TISSUES!!!!!! xoxo

Dawn January 19, 2014 at 9:19 PM

I agree. I liked it but didn’t love it. My favorite so far was Seducing Cinderella.

Jaimee January 19, 2014 at 10:30 PM

I think I pushed through to 70%, didn’t feel it either, but really wanted to. Don’t think I’ll pick it up again…. Too many books, to little time.

Linda January 19, 2014 at 10:52 PM

Just finished Fighting for Irish. Really did like the characters but the story seemed kinda forced or rushed. Still worth reading as I don’t always have the need for too much angst. I did feel Aiden and Kat’s intimate moments. Wow:-) Also want to add that I’ve made it my mission to read EVERY Kristen Ashley series and just finished Fantasyland series. I LOVED all of them. Didn’t think it would capture me but Frey, Lahn, Tor and Apollo had me from their first growl. Xoxo

Jean January 20, 2014 at 9:28 AM

The best one of this series is Officer Off Limits…..such a great story and even better characters (Daniel and Story….yes the girl’s name was Story….loved that)!!!

Jean January 20, 2014 at 9:30 AM

Sorry, Officer Off Limits is from Gina Maxwell’s Line of Duty series! Highly recommend it!

Michelle January 20, 2014 at 9:30 AM

I finished it last week, and can honestly not remember one characters name or the plot! There wasn’t anything that I connected with. It wasn’t bad, it just didn’t grab me.

Jean January 20, 2014 at 9:34 AM

Ok I am totally not awake for a Monday morning…..Officer Off Limits BY TESSA BAILEY!!! Ugh….need to wake up!

Danette January 20, 2014 at 11:43 AM

Glad to see it’s not just me. I’ve made it to just over the 30% mark, but I’ve put it down at least ten times so far and that is just not like me. Afraid I won’t be finishing this one. Moving on…

Renate January 20, 2014 at 1:10 PM

I read it, I finshed it and I like Irish… he did have it all but the story line is very been there and read that….so it was just ok.
Finished “remember us” instead and found it to be a great read and cleansing the reading pallet…

Suzanne January 22, 2014 at 1:44 AM

I admire you for putting a book down when it’s not working for you. So many times, I’ve wasted a day or two on a book that I’ve continued with just to finish it!

Leave a Comment


Notify me of followup comments to this post via e-mail. You can also subscribe without commenting.

Previous post:

Next post: