Book Review – Beautiful Disaster by Jamie McGuire

by Maryse on July 24, 2011 · 81 comments

in Bad Boys & Rock Stars, Jamie McGuire

Beautiful Disaster
I went on a book-bender this week, but the “bender” consisted of only one book. This one. This is the first book, in all of my reading experience that I have ever finished, just to immediately start reading again. Not because I didn’t understand what happened and had to re-read to comprehend it (it’s an easy,albeit emotionally-involved, read). I didn’t re-read it because I forgot what happened, and needed to refresh my memory for this review. No. Every scene is permanently burned into my brain. I read it twice, simply because I loved it that much.

I have been talking about this book non-stop for a week with Lily, going over every little detail, analyzing moments (luckily, she read it with me, and felt the same way as I did). Her first words to me, when we emerged from our read-a-thon last Sunday evening?

Lily:  Hello Friend! Im in LOVE. He KILLED me today. KILLED ME.

Yup, I knew exactly what she was referring to. She got a possessive ”growl-full” from me :twisted:   Hey, I couldn’t help it.

Maryse:  TELL ME YOU did not wanna cry with him.
Lily:  I DID and you know I don’t do that.
Maryse:  I TOTALLY DID. This book is SO real – with little moments of childish YA’ish issues but once you get past that… mostly the best. I am already re-reading.
Lily:  you and rereading is a big deal!

And re-read I did. Nice and slow this time.

Maryse:  I finished Travis again last night and now it’s time. I have to release him. *sniff*
Lily:  *passes tissues * It’ll be ok
Maryse:  I know… I’ll find another. But he was something else…perfection in a mess.
Lily:  that he was

Considering my intense connection with “Rock Me”, and then right after, my love for this one, I’m worried my book-luck is about to run out, and because of that, I have been procrastinating this review. It’s true. I didn’t want this book to be over. But it’s time now. I’ve got to move on, and tell you guys all about it, so that you can enjoy it too. I have to learn to share.

Okay, so the main characters are officially “young” (they’re in college), and occasionally, there are some immature school issues that are detailed in this story (the rumor-mill, a couple of jealous confrontations,  a few drunken frat parties that had me worried for her liver, and some unnecessary angsty misunderstandings that had me eye-rolling just a bit). But overall, I forgot their age. This is NOT a YA book, and while the intimacy is not as detailed like some of the “bad-boy” books I’ve read lately, the issues overall, are very adult.

Abby Abernathy has moved far away from her hometown and left her reputation (and bad childhood) behind. She’s starting new. Nobody (except for her best childhood friend) knows her here, and nobody will (at least, not what kind of lifestyle she’s from). Having an alcoholic, gambling, bad-boy of a father has her determined to meet a preppy, clean-cut ambitious college boy. She is not going back to that lifestyle.

Heh. Yeah… you know where this is going, don’t you ;)

Into her life, walks Travis Maddox. Think UFC fighter. Shaved head, tattoos everywhere, bulging muscles, a ferocious street fighter that never loses in the ring, and a ruthless bad-boy lover that never loses in his bed. Oh but the girls always do, the day after.

Travis rounded the corner in a pair of boxer shorts and yawned. He looked at his guest, and then patted her backside.

“My company’s here. You’d better go.”

She smiled and wrapped her arms around him, kissing his neck. “I’ll leave my number on the counter.”

“Eh… don’t worry about it,” Travis said in a casual tone.

He’s a heartbreaker, but makes no apologies. In fact, everyone knows exactly what he’s like, and yet the girls relentlessly pursue him anyway. Groupies, if you will. He’s locally famous for his unbeatable fighting skills and infamous for his bad-boy ways. Unfortunately for Abby, her best friend “America” is dating Travis’s cousin (they all pretty much, live together), which means she runs into Travis a whole lot more than she’d care to.

He was the worst kind of confident. Not only was he shamelessly aware of his appeal, he was so used to women throwing themselves at him that he regarded my cool demeanor as refreshing instead of an insult. I would have to change my strategy.

He thinks she’s cute, and is intrigued with her. She doesn’t fawn all over him like the others do. She doesn’t care who he is. He decides if he can’t “have” her, then he wants her as a friend (Travis is never “friends” with girls). He’s even nicknamed her “Pigeon” (which I LOVED – you’ll find out later, why).

“What’s wrong, Pidge? Hard day?”

“No, I’m thoroughly disgusted.”

“With me?” He was smiling. I should have known that he expected the conversation. It only made me less inclined to hold back.

“Yes, you. How can you just use someone like that, and treat them that way?”

“How did I treat her? She offered her number, I declined.”

My mouth fell open at his lack of remorse.

And friends, they become. After a few days of having stayed (platonically) at his place due to some issues at her dorm, he realizes how disappointed he is that she’s going back, now that it’s fixed. So he comes up with a little bet. If she loses the bet, she continues to live with him for another month. She takes the bet, loses and the fun begins ;)

Not only do they live together, but they become inseparable. They study together (I mean, he helps her study. He’s actually a straight A student)…

“What? You don’t think a guy covered in tats and that trades punches for a living can get good grades? I’m not in school because I have nothing better to do.”

… eat lunch together, go to parties together. He even brings her to his fights cause she’s his good luck charm. He likes her. LOTS. But, he knows better than to put the moves on her, She’s made it abundantly clear that their friendship better not be a ploy for him to get her into bed.

“I don’t want to sleep with you, Pidge. I like you too much.”

He walked past me to the bathroom, and I stood, stunned. Kara’s words replayed in my mind. Travis Maddox slept with every one; I couldn’t help but feel deficient in some way knowing he had no desire to even try to sleep with me.

He actually respects her, and likes her enough to try and stick by it. Try is the key word here. Because, it’s obvious to everyone, that Travis is developing some pretty strong feelings for Abby. And Abby is proving to be really good at resisting his charms.

“I’ve been drinking, all right? Your skin was three inches from my face, and you’re beautiful, and you smell f*&%ing awesome when you sweat. I kissed you! I’m sorry! Get over yourself!”

His excuse made the corners of my mouth turn up. “You think I’m beautiful?”

I loved that! Fighting in the ring might be easy for him, but resisting his urges, and fighting for Abby’s heart is proving to be quite a battle. This love story is not easily handed to us. I mean, she even begins dating another guy, right in front of him!! ACK!

As fun as this book is, it gets emotionally rough at times. Very rough. Travis tries to be patient, but his temper and his jealousy come into play many times, disrupting their peace. He attempts going back to his “old ways” right in front of her (you’ll be appalled a few times), and manages to break her heart (and his) in the process. Every broken hearted moment,and every time it looks like their friendship might be coming to an end, you will feel it. Lump in the throat, tear-filled eyes, they are unavoidable in this book, and they happen often. He makes mistakes. She makes mistakes.

He looked out the window. The trees cast a shadow across his face. Travis clenched his eyes shut, and a sinking feeling settled over me. It was agonizing seeing him suffer, knowing that not only was I the cause of it… I was the only one that could take it away.

“Trav? Are you okay?” I asked.

There was a long pause before he finally spoke. “I’ve never been less okay in my life.”

Woops. The lump in my throat is back. :-(

Despite his wild, spontaneous ways, and his tough guy stance, he has always had complete control over his situation. No more. And he is freaking out! Travis is extreme in every measure, and he quickly realizes that his heart is the most extreme part of him. He has never been in love before, and has no idea how to handle his feelings.

As I mentioned to Lily:

Maryse: He is so strong and yet so vulnerable. He breaks so easy.
Lily:  He breaks for her. No one else does that to him
Maryse:  the most fragile heart I’ve ever seen in a book…

I’ll admit, he’s scary at times – there were a few red-flags (the kind of thing you might warn your daughter, in real life, to stay away from) but never once did I lose faith in him, or stop loving his character. Not once. He’s not that kind of “bad”.

But just in case, there were some out there that might not have liked him, I avoided ALL reviews of this book (already 96 5-star reviews and counting). I didn’t want my impression of Travis to be *spoiled* or influenced. I wanted to give you my real feelings for him, and their story, and I didn’t want my logical side to get in the way of that.

Anyway, he’s not the only pain in the butt in this book. She had me growling quite a few times, running from stuff she had no need to run from, and then sometimes, making some very grown-up choices that had me vehemently nodding and applauding her strength. They both have a lot of growing up to do, and a lot of insecurities to get over (her past and her fear of not ending up there again, his past and fear of not having that kind of closeness again). And who knows if “growing up” will fix any of this. Sometimes, this turbulent way of being, is simply ingrained in people.

So are you in the mood to be swept away in a relentless whirlwind of emotional angst? This whole best friend-love affair-devastation mess of an excellent book? Read this. Every little moment, every little nuance, dare I say? Awkwardly perfect. Every breath is there, every tiny nudge, every insecure, hesitant look. Every natural moment in a budding relationship. There.

This book was titled perfectly. They truly are a beautiful disaster.

P.S. this is the song (Invincible by Crossfade), that to me, describes the two of ‘em perfectly. Almost as if the author heard it, and the wrote the story… the lyrics are perfect.

Oh and!!! If you’ve already read Beautiful Disaster and want to know what to read next (for *that* feeling again) – here’s my list —> What To Read After Beautiful Disaster

Get Free Email Updates from me :)

{ 80 comments… read them below or add one }

sara July 24, 2011 at 11:18 AM

Finished this the other day too. Loved it. You might enjoy darons guitar chronicles. couldnt put it down. There are 2 parts now and the author has a blog with all the chapters she’s working on in part three . It’s free too. Daron is gay but assuming since u r a fan of blay then u would b cool with Daron’s story too.

JenM July 24, 2011 at 11:48 AM

Okay, you’ve totally sold me on this. I just downloaded a sample and I have a feeling I’ll be buying the book today. Great review.

Jackie July 24, 2011 at 12:37 PM

I can’t find this one in iBooks store :(

Roxy July 24, 2011 at 5:37 PM

Omg I was so excited when I saw you start to read this, I KNEW you were going to love it as much as me. Best book I’ve read in a long time. Your review does it justice.

Maryse July 24, 2011 at 5:42 PM

Sara and Roxy… I swear I feel like reading it a 3rd time. Best book ever! Almost. Pretty much. Okay, yes… the best! ;)

Jackie, download the free kindle software and read it. WORTH it!!

JenM – let me know if you end up reading it. I’d love to get your feedback!

Jennifer B July 24, 2011 at 7:57 PM

Ive already been warned about Travis,,lol but I do have it,,,I can’t keep up,,,after Lily’s review on Cry santuary,,Im reading it now,,and I want to start the Darkest Passion,,you guys,,are killing me,,,lol but I LOVE IT!!! give me more,,I want more,,,,

Jane July 25, 2011 at 4:02 PM

This has fast become my Go To Page every morning, to see what new reviews have been posted and all the books I need to add to my reading pile. Well 2 piles actually, the physical pile (beside the bed, natch) and the e-pile in my Kindle. Love the Blog :-)

But I can’t believe you seem to have missed out Nalini Singh……. what???

JR Ward’s BDB series (and the Fallen Angels) are in my Most Read Pile, taking equal position with Vampire Academy – and Nalini’s Psy-Changeling books. Shapeshifters (of the HOT animal kind) are battling to protect themselves against the Psy enemy, a cold, unfeeling race of beings. Except every now and then, they fall in love.
And then you have her Guildhunter series…. Angels (of the good and Very Bad variety) and the ultimate Hottie, the Archangel Raphael – who falls in love with a mortal. When Archangels love, mortals break.

You HAVE to read them. Seriously, your bookshelves are missing 2 incredible series of books. Go on… give them a try – you won’t regret it, I promise :-)

Casual Merritt July 26, 2011 at 12:04 AM

When you goosh over a book or series … I have to have! And I am NEVER disappointed!! Great GREAT book! I never put it down!

Tracy B July 26, 2011 at 12:50 PM

Ok. I added this to my overwhelming kindle collection. I used to catch up on it before I added more… but now I keep checking your site and Inkmesh daily so I don’t miss anything and now my collection is blowing up my kindle. I usually skip YA books (prob since I’m 43) but I thouroughly enjoyed the Twilight series so I’ll give it a try.
IDEA: A banner or such that says what your reading now and next would be cool for an impromptu book club reading for those interested in reading the same book along with others?

Maryse July 26, 2011 at 1:39 PM

JennB – believe me… remember when you realized when I said read Rock Me, now… there was a good reason for it. Travis is in the same boat!!

Jane :) Thank you so much for the Nalini recommendations. I’m particularly interested in the Angel falling for the mortal… that sounds right up my alley!

Casual… Wasn’t that book just SO intense? I LOVE feeling like *that* while I’m reading. And here’s the thing. I was on a business trip, and bored at night, so I thought to pick something up that would be “easy” and not complicated like some paranormals. So I chose this one. OMG I didn’t even want to go to sleep I was so into this book. I thought I’d suffer for the lack of sleep, during the day at work, but NOPE. I was riding that adrenaline rush for the anticipation of getting back to the story. Now THAT is a good book!

Maryse July 26, 2011 at 1:43 PM

Tracy – no worries – age will not matter one bit in this one. The YA issues are few and far between, but the real issues they deal with, are relatable even to us. This is about intense passion, and some messy situations as a result. Good fun, but even better, the reader is fully involved… emotionally, at least ;)

Oh and good idea about the “banner” thing – I’m on it! :)

Jane July 27, 2011 at 1:13 AM

I started reading Beautiful Disaster last night and have NOT been able to put it down yet. God…. it’s addictive :-) I’m not quite half way through and don’t want it to end…

Is it just me though, or is the Kindle version badly edited? Irritating typos and formatting are sprinkled throughout the text. I hate being dragged out of a story to grumble about a spelling / grammar mistake, but some of these are intensely annoying… e.g. “I pushed passed his shoulder”. Grrrrrrr!

Kelly July 29, 2011 at 9:16 PM

Ok So the other night I feel asleep after work for a few hours and when my husband came home and woke me up I couldn’t go back to sleep. I then found this book on my Kindle. I love having 24 hour acess to a book store. I read this book in one night, I stayed up till 4 AM to finish it. I then couldn’t not get it out of my head. I loved it. I then picked the book up and reread the whole thing. I have never done that before and I thought I was crazy. I googeld the book and I came across this site. I am glad I am not the only person out there that had to reread it. I just Loaned it to my sister and I can not wait to see if she has the same responce. I did not give her any details just that I thought it was good. I am now off to see what this book “The Rock” is all about. I am hoping it is as good.

Kelly

Nat August 1, 2011 at 8:34 AM

You should listen to the words of this song,it sounds like those two even more then the one you put here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fygBE8dNawU
:) )) Btw,I loved this book,it’s amazing,even if Travis is a bit on the lunatic side. :)

Mishi August 10, 2011 at 9:12 PM

i totally love this book..and like you, i’ve read this twice in a row..and then after that i keep coming back to read my fave moments and skipping everything with Parker on it.. :)

Maryse August 11, 2011 at 3:14 PM

LOL! I liked the Parker tension… for awhile, but then I was anxious for her and Travis to figure it out already!!

Remember?
Remember that scene after they drank a bit too much, and she was getting into her night shirt, and then Travis jumped up behind her and started kissing her back? But then he held back completely. Remember?

*wow*

hehe Okay a re-read is in order…

Johanna August 13, 2011 at 4:32 PM

I happened to come across ur page.
I LOVED! Beautiful Disaster…read it in 2 days and I have to say I’m tempted to read it again. It was sad and frustrating and happy at the same time, I couldn’t wait for them to finally get it together.

Maryse August 20, 2011 at 10:52 AM

Still my favorite ;)

Trisha August 20, 2011 at 2:02 PM

You have me completely intrigued! I just bought the ebook for only $4.99, what a bargain…..can’t wait to start! Thanks for sharing your review!

Maryse August 20, 2011 at 2:14 PM

Come back and let me know what you thought… although I have a feeling it’s just going to be a succession of OMG *squeeee* LOL!!

Maryse August 20, 2011 at 2:15 PM

and there’s more to come, as per Jamie’s latest Facebook posts. YAY US!!!!

Johanna August 20, 2011 at 2:48 PM

Awesome News

Trisha August 21, 2011 at 2:00 PM

Okay Maryse, I kept thinking all day yesterday about how much you raved about it and I wanted to feel like I did with Twilight too that I finished the book I was reading at 11:30pm last night and immediately started “Beautiful Disasters”. I ended up staying up until 3:00 am which hasn’t happened to me in a while! I’m only about 39% in and while it doesn’t have any paranormal in it I am completely hooked and in LOVE! Thanks again!

Donna September 18, 2011 at 1:31 PM

OMG… I just finished BD and like you I could not go to sleep till it was finished. I know what you mean now. That was my first “Bad Boy” kind of book and I want more. I gotta look at your Bad Boy type books. WOW. Not that much can follow BD, but what would you recommend. Maybe I should have started something else and then read BD. Oh well…. Too late now :( It seems we have the same taste in books! You should have a “after BD page” like you do for twilight… haha
I really hope McGuire writes it from Travis’s POV. That would be awesome to know exactly what goes on inside his head during those crazy scences with Abby and how he handled himself during her absence during the holiday after ThanksGiving. Man that would be awesome!
WOW…. I gotta read it again more slowly this time. Oh and thanks so much for your amazing review on this book. I read it b/c of your review and the interview with the Author. Yours and Lily excitement sold me on the book during the interview!
THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU! sigh**** going to read again!

UKSandy September 24, 2011 at 11:44 AM

I started Beautiful Disaster after reading your review – I’m now 70% in and I just HEART TRAVIS!!!!

Maryse September 25, 2011 at 7:21 PM

UKSandy…

Annnnnnd how’d you like the Beautiful Disaster that is Travis? Hehehe

Becky K. October 6, 2011 at 5:48 PM

I first have to say that I am huge fan and supporter of S.C. Stephens and found your blog after you did a review of Thoughtless…and I’m very glad that I did! I’ve read several books that I’ve found here on your site….the most recent being Beautiful Disaster. I loved this book! The characters were great….especially Mr. Travis Maddox ;) I didn’t think that I would have find a male character that could join the ranks of Kellan….but he most definitely has. I was worried at first that it would be too YA, but aside from the minor school happenings, their true issues were very easy for readers to relate to. I have to admit that I should have waited until the weekend to start this book because I was very unproductive at home and work while reading this. I hope to read Fifty Shades soon….maybe after I read Beautiful Disaster Again :)

Maryse October 6, 2011 at 5:54 PM

Christian from “Fifty Shades” is in the Travis/Kellan league. Maybe even more so – hehe ;)

But Travis and Kellan and Christian for me, are tied at the top.

Nicola October 24, 2011 at 11:44 AM

I got this book on my kindle this morning and 7 hours later read the last page..wow…I don’t know what to do with myself now…what between Christian and Travis…such amazing characters, so many extreme emotions. I love love love it!!! Can see why you read it again…!!! Thank you! Nx

Maryse October 24, 2011 at 3:05 PM

One of my favorite books ever, for sure!!! Still to this day, I can remember almost every single part of it, and still swoon at some of *those* moments ;)

Bia November 6, 2011 at 10:56 PM

Maryse: ok…*drums sound* STARTING BEAUTIFUL DISASTER reading, right now! I will let you know as soon as I finish…jezz..we are going to bankrupt ourselves buying so many ebooks! :) . ( Wish iPad’s iBook allowed us to lend each other books, right?)
I’m reading ALL your suggestions that I havent yet! BD, FIfty Shades, and then…I dont know…heheheeee….do you still love ” Paranormal/ Vampires, etc” genre? Or are you switching to ” Contemporary Fiction/Romance” like BD and Fifty Shades?? Love your blog, and sharing opinions with you, BTW.
Thank you for being patient and reading my long comments,,,:)

Rebeka November 25, 2011 at 10:41 PM

OMG…

All I cans say is

TRAVIS

Ughhh. I teared up and was longing to come back home from work to read it again !

I’ve recently just finished reading this a 2nd time !

Now i’m onto your list of books to read after this one to have the same FEELING :)

Best. Book. Ever.

Maryse November 26, 2011 at 11:16 AM

Rebecca. I agree. Have you found my What to Read After Beautiful Disaster list yet? You’ll have fun there.

http://www.maryse.net/books/my-favorite-books/what-to-read-after-beautiful-disaster.html

I’m gonna make a sort of part two to that list, because I’ve hit a bunch more.

Rebeka December 2, 2011 at 10:02 PM

Ah Yes I found the list!

Oh Goodie :)

Thanks Maryse

Stacie December 14, 2011 at 8:48 PM

So… I happened to stumble upon some fabulous new today. The author, Jamie McGuire, is going to write Beautiful Disaster from Travis’ point-of-view! I’m not sure if that’s already been mentioned the the above comments, but I thought I’d share.

If you’d like to check out what she had so say, check out the author’s Facebook page: http://www.facebook.com/#!/notes/author-jamie-mcguire/some-announcements-you-may-have-missed-could-contain-spoilers/297526920291958

So excited!

Tabitha S. December 19, 2011 at 12:47 AM

I totally agree with you on this book. It was amazing! Before reading it I was looking for reviews to see if it was as good as everyone says, and that’s when I stumbled upon your website. You convinced me to read this book, and let me say this it was AMAZING! (:

Maryse December 22, 2011 at 11:34 AM

Tabitha! I’m so glad you gave it a go. Totally worth it wasn’t it? And we’re all still on a quest to find more like it, or that give us that same *feeling*.

And actually.. we’ve found quite a few! Have you read any of the ones on my “What to Read After Beautiful Disaster” list?

http://www.maryse.net/books/my-favorite-books/what-to-read-after-beautiful-disaster.html

Tabtiha S. December 22, 2011 at 6:11 PM

Yeah, it was worth it, and I can’t say I have but I’ll definetly check it out soon! :)

Karen January 13, 2012 at 8:34 PM

After seeing you recommended “Beautiful Disaster” I downloaded it on my kindle. I have to say I couln’t put it down. I loved it!!

Roni March 26, 2012 at 9:32 AM

I seen your review on this Friday and immediately bought it….OMG I was so glad I did, I LOVE Travis!!!!!!! A couple parts in this I totally sobbed, to picture him on his knees outside completely heartbroken…it killed me and I was sooo mad at Abby!!!!!. But then they had the perfect ending and it made it so worth it. I can’t agree more that every part in this book it permanently embeded in my mind. Thank you so much!!!!!!!

Kaitlyn April 2, 2012 at 2:31 PM

I LOVE THIS BOOK!!!! It is my favourite all time, best I’ve ever read, I read it about 4 months ago and 2 weeks later again and it is still my favourite. and I’ve read exactly 150 since then. It was sooooooooo sad for Travis, when he was on the ground… I loved the conversation they had when they initially got together, it was seriously awesome. I also Loved America and Shep, felt bad for him when he was convinced everything was going to go horribly wrong but it was also funny. And I also felt sad for Travis when he had to watch her with Parker. I love how she was all mature about the groupies thing, but Travis’s jealous moments were adorable, touching and sexy. It was great how she had no clue what was happening when everyone else and their mother did.
I am seriously considering reading it again any day now, as soon as I have time because I’ll be checked out for a couple hours. Even so, I run through scenes in my head, I know whole paragraphs. I loved how he respected her and it was so obvious he was in love with her but didn’t realize what the heck was going on because he’d never felt LOVE for someone, it wasn’t just attraction, but respect and caring too. Although her intentions are honourable, we all know what is really happening in that section I know u know where I’m talking about when I almost want to throttle her but instead settle for sitting here going NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO and bawling,(make that the 2 times, first event and ALMOST reconsideration!! GRRR.) Literally. Because we can deduce why he says what he does when she should just spit out what she was going to say, seriously end a lot of their pain and suffering as well as ours. But TRAVIS IS AMAZING, I agree he was so vulnerable but only with her, totally swoon inducing, not just worthy. There is a big shift from the cocky, bad boy in the beginning to the one in love with Abby, she does that, and he’s still there, the guy we love, we just create and enjoy a new side of him. This book was perfect and seriously
NOW I HAVE TO READ IT. and I will be up until 4 in the morning tonight to finish it. WORTH IT!!!

Kaitlyn April 2, 2012 at 3:42 PM

BD Just feels like home if that makes any sense, the second I start it I just get calm

Debbie B April 13, 2012 at 2:57 PM

LOVED LOVED LOVED This book. Brought so many found memories of my college days and the disastrous relationships I had that was similar to Abby & Travis’ UGH! He’s just so swoontastic!

Kathryn Hughett June 1, 2012 at 4:08 PM

I am so glad they changed the cover on this book. I might actually consider reading it now. I really prefer my characters to be between 27 and 35 in age even though I actually enjoyed and read the Twilight series 6 times.

Johanna June 4, 2012 at 10:42 AM

OMG!! I loved this book!! I read it in one day. Could not put it down. When I finally finished it last night, all that entered my mind was Travis. It took me an hour just to fall asleep. This book was incredible, and I have rated it 5 stars on my Nook. I cannot get this man outta of my mind …sniff sniff so sad that there is no follow up to this book. I want some more Travis, PLEASE…

kaitlyb June 4, 2012 at 11:24 AM

Jamie is currently working.on a Travis pov for BD hopefully out the fall.

Christine June 9, 2012 at 7:42 AM

LOVED IT!!!!!! I have 5 kids and managed to read it in 2 days between naps..the kids playing nicely (that never lasts very long)..lol..then from bedtime till 1am!!!! My laundry has multiplied but I don’t careeeeeee!!!!! This was such a nice little escape!!! Thanks!!! …. now to find something to suppress my Travis withdrawals!

Sara M June 19, 2012 at 5:31 PM

So… i love this book, which is how i found your website. This story and the way its told is beautiful. I think ive read it 5 or 6 times now!! I read it in between new books when i need a travis fix :)

Maryse June 20, 2012 at 9:40 AM

One of my all time favorites forever!

Melanie June 20, 2012 at 3:38 PM

Loved the recommendation! Everyone needs a Travis!

Tene June 26, 2012 at 3:35 PM

Wow, i jus finsihed readind BD last night and its all i can think about! I read the 50 shades books and loved them, but then BD popped up on my recommended list from amazon. Boy am i glad i bought this book. My fav book EVER!!!!! I have always loved a tattooed bad boy, but Travis wa so much more!! Love him. I cant wait to read the book from his POV. Thanks for the list too of books to read after BD, i will def check them out!!!

Maryse June 28, 2012 at 12:15 PM

So happy to help a fellow Travis enthusiast!

KJ July 6, 2012 at 10:09 PM

I lovvvvveeed this book!!!!!! Im so sad it’s over
I think I like it better than 50 shades

Lauren July 16, 2012 at 8:01 PM

I absolutely loved this book!!!!! I read the reviews before buying it and I am so glad that I did! I don’t know why many do not like Travis but I adore him!!!!! He is not only a bad ass but he protects the one woman that he loves! I love this story. I reread it and it makes me fall in love with Travis over and over again!!!! When I first started reading it, it was all I could think and talk about!!! Thank you for recommending it!

Maryse July 17, 2012 at 8:56 PM

I’d recommend it over and over again! Travis is still one i’m trying to find more of.

Heidi July 22, 2012 at 3:17 PM

I started AND finished BD last night – I couldn’t put it down! I’m not one to get “emotional” over a book but I actually cried when Travis was revealing his feelings to Abby. I did have a hard time visualizing what he looked liked because I’m not usually drawn to guys of his description but that didn’t matter – he had my heart and I was rooting for him all the way. I did want to compliment Jamie McGuire for making BD such an enjoyable read and for not using the same descriptive adjectives over and over or making Abby a girl who blushed every other paragraph. I have a feeling that I too will be re-reading this book. Five stars!

Maryse July 23, 2012 at 11:22 AM

Heidi! Oh I knooowwwww…. each time his heart would break because he’d be feeling she was leaving… ugh!!! PAIN!!! I felt every moment of it and teared up big time.

I loved it. I am craving a re-read on this one so bad lately, it’s not even funny. I have a feeling when I re-read it I may feel it just as intensely as the first time, just because as I reflect on the scenes, my heart still feels that intense tug.

She did a great job on this!

LeaAnn Livingston August 3, 2012 at 11:01 PM

I loved this book!!! Thank you so much for this website……I was trying to find something to read after 50 Shades…..this was it…..I love Travis & Abby!! Can’t wait to read more about them….both his point of view and their future!

Shan August 8, 2012 at 10:30 PM

Oh my!!!!! I can’t believe I just caught wind of this amazing book and it has been out for a year!!! Thank you for this recommendation Maryse, I am pleased to say that I couldn’t wait for the paperback after reading the sample and bought the digital version when I got to work, that was @ 530 am, it is now 530 pm and I have read the WHOLE book…I can still feel the butterflies and the ending, oh my god, the ending!!!! I have found love after 50….*sigh* I’ll give it a day or two before I read it again…ladies, it reall is THAT GOOD! Enjoy!

Ana August 16, 2012 at 10:38 PM

OMG!!!! I won’t ever stop being grateful to have found this page!! I wanted to find something to appease my FSOG obsession and although Bared to You came close, Beautiful Disaster took the cake! First book I have EVER read twice, and seriously thinking about another re-read!!! THANK YOU Maryse for recommending this amazing, addicting, wonderful book! I’m in love with Travis and I can’t wait for WD and hopefully more books on Travis & Abby, I feel there can be soo much more!!! Ok — now I need something for my Travis obsession!!!! :) Thanks again!!

Ashley October 7, 2012 at 1:22 PM

Thank God for your blog. Seriously. I read 50 shades, then I read Dirty, and then….then I read Beautiful Disaster. I’m re-reading it in between Thoughtless and Effortless. My poor husband, I’ve had my nose in my Kindle. I’ve been in love with this book and I’m reading it a second time b/c I can’t get enough. I totally get the Travis obsession!

CJ October 7, 2012 at 4:16 PM

I must say that I’m smitten with this book. For me, it was like Twilight for a much older audience (even though they are teenagers). I see the similarities between Grey and Cross and Travis, but this is not one of THOSE books. I really did enjoy reading it. I even went back and re-read some of my favorite parts as soon as I was done:) and I finished it in two days:) Very happy I found your website and recommendations!

I was wondering: have you all seen some of the negative reviews for this book on Goodreads? People are NOT happy with Travis’ behavior.

Susan Roden October 8, 2012 at 9:25 AM

I loved this book and I’ve told everyone about it. Thanks for the review it really made me download and read it. I’m now upset that I have to wait for Walking Disaster till 2013. Way to long.

Sweeta D. January 16, 2013 at 9:53 PM

Now I know why you swoon over Travis! He is the perfect combination of bad ass, intelligence, sexy sexy time, and raw emotion! OH THE RAW
E-FREAKIN-MOTION! I stayed up late to finish the book last night and have been re-reading chapters all day. When he said “I BELONG TO YOU,” I just about died! Abby was a bit of a space cadet but I’ll give her a pass for her poker ability, cause that’s just cool…..I can’t wait for Walking Disaster. Seriously (with the serious face)…can’t wait!

Maryse January 16, 2013 at 9:57 PM

YES!!!!! His emotion, RAW emotion had me is such an absolute swoon, and he was just so real that he is still my #1 to this day, forever.

Nicole P. February 14, 2013 at 2:00 PM

How funny is this? Everytime I hear Taylor Swift’s new song “I Knew You Were Trouble When You Walked In”, I picture Travis ;)

Cindy February 19, 2013 at 4:01 AM

I started this book yesterday. I have not slept a minute, and have now finnished the book.. And I am sitting here like a zombie, wondering what to do now :p where is my Travis?! What a fantastic and wonderfull book!!! I loooove the characters. I hate abby’s father!! I just want to cry now :p coming down from the book-high ;)

Amy Rachiele March 23, 2013 at 12:49 PM

Okay… If you haven’t read this… your life is empty… hehehe…. Travis is smokin’…. ;)

Jennifer Jones March 23, 2013 at 1:18 PM

Yay!!! I’m so in love. Well I’m so in love with Travis, Christian, and Kellan, but that’s besides the point. No wait that is the point. How could anyone not immediately fall head over heals in love with the most amazing men and I can’t wait until next week with Travis’ story is out. I’m soooo excited and don’t think ill sleep until I’ve read it!!!!!!

jessica April 7, 2013 at 3:26 PM

I loved this book and i cannot wait to read Travis’ POV in the next book! I found this book after I read 50 and bared while I was waiting on reflected to ship to me. I read the book in a day

Bethan April 9, 2013 at 4:09 PM

Omg…I’ve just read this book from start to finish in 6 hours! I am in LOVE with travis and pigeon!!! I love your blog maryse, reading the books you’ve suggested have helped me through a shit time!! Thank you, :) shhh don’t tell my husband but I’m sneaking off to bed to read walking disaster! X

Mary Ann April 14, 2013 at 2:19 AM

I just finished reading Beautiful Disaster and I am in LOVE with this book. I need to re-read immediately. I feel the magic and the thick fog in my brain. How to move on…sighing…Thank you Maryse for your blog. I love your book suggestions and lately miss the Friday free book list…

Mary Ann April 14, 2013 at 2:21 AM

James Morrison song “You Make It Real” reminds me of Travis…his love for Abby…

Angie August 5, 2013 at 1:13 PM

Ok. I have not strayed from the paranormal in quite some time (in love with BDB). But after finding your blog and looking around then reading your review of BD. I am going to buy it right after I post this. Can’t wait. :) .

Marika September 10, 2013 at 8:43 AM

The actual song he sings to her at her birthday party is Thing For You by Hinnder. That song actually brings tears to my eyes. I LOVE Beautiful Distaster and Walking Disaster.

Maryse September 10, 2013 at 9:11 AM

Oh… I know. I LOVE that. Now I just want to read the book alllllll over again. *sigh* I will NEVER tire of Travis. I have a feeling he’ll be my #1 forever.

Maryse September 10, 2013 at 9:11 AM

How in the heck did she resist him for as long as she did?

cristiane September 23, 2013 at 9:58 PM

Well, I saw how much you all liked Beautiful Disaster, I went ahead and read. OMG… LOVED IT. I am so grateful for what Maryse does.
Thank you. I am so glad I found this site and I am so glad I read this beautiful love history. Thank you girls for you opinion as well.xoxo

Gabby November 22, 2013 at 8:41 PM

According to iTunes the book is in development for a movie?!? I went through her website but states nothing, I have googled it and some sites “stated” future movie!! I need to find this out!!!

Teri June 9, 2014 at 11:19 AM

I’m late the party but let me just say I have so much angst in the pit of soul right now… I’m pretty sure I’m in love and have no clue what to do with myself now (lol)… How does one get over Travis!!! Sigh. He just shot up to the top of my favorites. Yep, I’m in love ;-)

Leave a Comment

 

Notify me of followup comments to this post via e-mail. You can also subscribe without commenting.

{ 1 trackback }

Previous post:

Next post: