Book Review – Effortless by S.C. Stephens

by Maryse on September 1, 2011 · 46 comments

in Bad Boys & Rock Stars, S.C. Stephens

BIG SPOILER ALERT!! DO NOT read further if you haven’t read book #1 yet (Thoughtless). Just don’t! You’ll ruin all the fun for yourself. Book #1 was one of the best reads of the year, for me. Not knowing where it was going, or how “they” were going to end up made it even that much more exciting, and heartbreakingly terrifying!

If you still haven’t downloaded “Thoughtless” (what are you waiting for!?), you can get the e-book here (Thoughtless).

I loved this one too!! Effortless was also exhilarating and panic-inducing, and considering Kellan and Kiera’s rocky situation, I was expecting anything.

Anything could happen when it comes to these two. It doesn’t necessarily matter how they felt about each other. They began their friendship making terrible mistakes, Lying to one another, lying to themselves, lying to their loved ones. The scars are still too fresh. But they can’t help themselves when they are afraid of being hurt. Promising things they shouldn’t, making the wrong choices, and ruthlessly hurting each other in the process.

This is why I love these books. Because they rock the boat. This two-book series doesn’t shy away from the risqué situations that are normally considered “misunderstandings” in other romance novels. The “misunderstandings” in these two stories, well… they might actually be real… They might not be jumping to conclusions. The suspicions might very well be founded. Especially after what these two were capable of in book #1.

Ethics and I had crossed paths recently, and I’m not sure that I fell on the right side of the morality line. No, no I’m pretty sure I’d failed miserably. Kellan and I both.

I was nervous, reading #2. Terribly nervous. Oh don’t get me wrong, I LOVED that feeling. I love that kind of book-agony. I even had to moan about it a little to my Facebook girls, once I reached the 39% mark in my Kindle:

Reading #2 in the “Thoughtless” rock star series (Effortless) & stopped at 3am. I’m afraid to pick it back up ’cause I KNOW where it’s headed & don’t know if I’m ready to deal w/ the emotional wreck that’s coming. I’ve frozen them in time at a “sweet” moment & I’m scared to continue. And yet, I’m DYING to continue reading…

It didn’t take me long though. I continued reading ;) I was literally CRAVING these characters. Needing more. I was ready for them. Throw it at me, wicked author, I can take it. I lived through book #1, and loved every minute of it. *Woops* That’s not nice of me to say, considering how badly some of  these poor characters were tortured! But it’s true. What doesn’t kill me only makes me stronger, and all that. And I was ready to take on the rest of #2.

So what happens? I’ll only tell you a bit, because I loved wondering if I was in for a similar ride again. LAST WARNING – If you haven’t read book one – STEP AWAY from this review. This is your last chance!!

Okay, so, Kellan and Kiera are working on their issues. Nice and slow and sweet. They are not rushing it this time, considering their foundation is not a solid one. Sure, their hearts know each other, but their minds are clearly apprehensive.

Kiera continues to live with her sister in her own apartment, picks back up at Pete’s bar (so we get the old crowd back!! YAY!! I love them all). She DATES Kellan (her kind of “dating”, not his kind of “dating” – tee hee!!).

“You’re the one that kicked me out,” I said, managing to keep my voice light, even though the memory was a painful one for me.

Backing us towards the hall, I watched a flash of pain wash over his face. It was gone instantly though. Shrugging, he laughed out, “Well, it sounded like a good idea at the time.”

They continue living their separate lives, but enjoy growing the relationship, making sure it is rock solid before they move further. Essentially starting over again.

“I know we’ve taken this slow, but I still want to move forward… with you.”

I swallowed at the warmth in his voice, the love in his eyes. I wanted that too, I really did, but I was trying to be a stronger person, my own person and I knew that if I moved back in with him, he’d be my world again. I’d drown in him.

It’s wonderful and relieving to read this. We get to enjoy the relationships that Kiera’s friends have with the other band members, and even the quirky “fling” Griffin is having with her gorgeous sister.

I was wondering… when is it all going to break? Oh I knew what was coming. It was inevitable. Kellan and band are getting popular. Playing local outdoor concert festivals, sharing the stage with some very famous rockstars. His fans (and groupies) are growing in numbers, and Kiera is struggling with his “rock star” persona. Her heart is about to burst!

I resisted the urge to turn and tell them that he was taken, keeping my gaze focused on him instead. I shouldn’t be jealous or irritated by fans…”

And that’s when all of her fears become reality. Kellan and crew just got noticed by that famous band and they’ve been asked to go on tour with them for 6 months.

It was to both want a future for someone, and desperately not want it at the same time. I wished him all the success in the world, but only if I didn’t have to share him.

Yup. You know where this is going. How can you keep an already tentative relationship going when you are so far apart? How can she trust that his bad-boy persona won’t rear it’s ugly head and tempt him to stray with the gorgeous girls that keep throwing themselves at him. After all, she can’t be there for him while he’s on the road, and he’s got quite the playboy past… she accidentally saw it with her own eyes 8-O

Kellan didn’t seem at all worried that we’d burn out, but I sometimes did. After all, he could have anybody. Even if he was experiencing something with me that he’d never had before – a true, deep to his core love – a secret, buried part of me knew that now that he’d been opened up to love, he could find it again with someone else if he wanted to.

God I hated that thought.

They’ve both grown somewhat (actually, I found myself respecting Kiera, and her thought process. She knew what she did… she acknowledged, she learned…). Sure they think they completely trust themselves not to “go there” again, but, can they trust the other? Kellan has quite a past, but Kiera sure managed to do a number on him, too.

I just have one more thing to say. Secrets. And… stuff ;) I promise… you’ll smack yourself in the forehead a few times for sure!!! So good!! SO SO good!! I just wish there was a number three. That would make it better.

Oh, did I forgot to tell you? There will be!! *squeeeeeee* The author said this on her Facebook page:

“hopefully it won’t be too long before I get another one out, although, I don’t want to speed through it because it’s got to be good enough for you guys.”

I could just HUG her and *squee* in her ear!!

Get Free Email Updates from me :)

{ 46 comments… read them below or add one }

Yanira September 1, 2011 at 9:09 AM

OMG!! There will be a 3rd one!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Soooooooo happy! You’ve made my day Maryse!!!!!
I ♥ these books so much, the whole thing even though it is quite the emotional roller coaster it’s all so real and so human, the mistakes they make, the circumstances, the growing pains.
It’s been one of my favorite reads so far. I thank you soooo much for posting the suggestion on the site!

Terrah September 1, 2011 at 3:49 PM

Thank you, thank you, thank you God! I am so happy right now, I could almost cry…just to know that there will be another one sometime in the future!!!! Now, if I can keep from tearing my hair out trying to be patient. I am telling you, read her book Conversions, I really enjoyed it as well (although it isn’t Kellen *sigh*). I am actually reading Conversins: Bloodlines which is the 2nd one in this series and rrrreeeaaaalllllyyyyy liking it as well. In all of her books that I have read, she has an AMAZING way of bringing you into the story with your whole heart and soul. By the end of them, you feel like you have just been through a whirl wind of emotions and drained completly dry. She is great at making you laugh, making you cry, and making you totally fall in love with each and every character…even when you don’t want to… ;)

patricia nesbitt September 1, 2011 at 4:49 PM

See now I don’t have to become a stalker……this works for me….is it wrong that I want to be “dated” by kellan I am okay with flinging. Opps I mean flings

Fathieh September 1, 2011 at 7:23 PM

Wow! thank you a lot. I finished the thoughtless and right now I am reading the second and I am so happy to know that there will be another one :-* and best of all is that you put the link so I could get them to read. THANK YOU SO MUCH.

Johanna September 1, 2011 at 8:06 PM

That is just Awesome….I finished reading book two this morning and WOW!!! I so love these books….it was so emotional. I did smack myself in the head like u said…lol ( I thought he was being bad) Plz let us know when u find out when 3 will be available.

Tori September 2, 2011 at 12:48 AM

Yay!!! So excited that there’ll be a book 3! I love getting to follow a couple through more than one book. Once I fall in love with them, I just want to see where they go together. Thanks so much for the initial recommendation. I’d have never found these books without you!

Christina September 2, 2011 at 11:21 PM

Wow! I just read effortless and thoughtless in 2 days. You have got to be the book guru. Every book you have recommended I have absolutely enjoyed. Effortless was amazing and so was Thoughtless. I cannot wait for book 3!!!

kareni September 4, 2011 at 12:29 PM

ireally would like to read these but for some reason I can’t get the site to open……I have tried on IE and Firefox? Can someone email me the link? I am so bummed!

Maryse September 4, 2011 at 1:05 PM

Hi Kareni!

It looks like the author might be currently editing it. Here is a different link to book #2 —> (not as “book pretty” – but still readable)

Maryse September 4, 2011 at 1:38 PM

I’m very excited for book #3!! She hasn’t provided a time frame as of yet, just that there will be one.

Maryse September 4, 2011 at 1:38 PM

I’m so happy you guys enjoyed these as much as I did. My mom is addicted too, and finishing book #2 as we speak!

Karen September 4, 2011 at 4:58 PM

Thanks Maryse!! That worked :)
I am heading out for dinner now but will read it when I get home!

Karen September 5, 2011 at 7:31 PM

Loved both books!!!! Can’t wait for #3. I am going to start reading Collision Course tonight :) Thanks for the link Maryse.

Inez September 6, 2011 at 12:22 PM

Thank you again! I finished book one and unfortunately had to come to work today, so I could not continue reading book #2! (They haven’t said good-bye yet) I am so drawn into these books, and sooooo happy there is going to be a book #3 (squeee!) I am so worried about what’s going to happen!!!!!
Please let us know when you find out when book #3 is coming out, I have to continue this series!!!!!!!

anjali September 7, 2011 at 3:58 PM

both the books sound amazing!!! but ever time i try to go on e-books it will not let me open up the book , it keeps saying that it has not been published.
can someone please help me get a hold of both of the books please!!

Maryse September 7, 2011 at 5:41 PM

Okay another quick note: Author is having her books profesionally edited and being “readied” for sale on Amazon and Barnes & Noble (Kindle and Nook) and stuff like that. In the meantime, it appears she still has her older (original) versions up here:

I’m not sure how long those will stay up there…

Kelli September 7, 2011 at 7:39 PM

/Book Three Holy crap I am so excited!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I loved this series too, and came to respect Kiera, even though I was convinced I never would. Love how they *spoiler*d each other too, so sweet and intimate! lol

Donna September 22, 2011 at 10:01 PM

OK… I got the sample chapters online. It goes up to chapter 15 which is titled Merry Christmas which is a major cliff hanger and then I go and buy the ebook and I can’t find it anywhere. Only a paper copy and I JUST CAN”T WAIT.. I am at a major cliff hanger here, for those who have read the book can understand my anxiousness. Don’t want to give anything away.. UGHHH… Mail takes too long. Is is offered as an EBOOK. I want to download and devour it like yesterday.

Maryse September 23, 2011 at 8:36 AM

Ok girls! Check above in the interview for my “UPDATE” on the “Thoughtless” e-book links for purchase (right in the final part of the interview where I ask where her books can be found) – S.C. Stephens just emailed them to me

Hope that helps!

Bheng October 28, 2011 at 11:47 PM

Hi Maryse,
I love both Thoughtless & Effortless…and i do love Kellan & Keira…can u imagine, i have finished reading effortless in less than 24 hrs..coz i can’t really stop reading it..if the author is editing Effortless i would to read it again. Please let us know when will it be available…
Thank u so much…

Carla December 23, 2011 at 12:07 AM

Hey Maryse! I just wanted to say thank you for this book indication. I just finished this second one and love it. The story is amazing. I was looking for a good contemporany book with mature people but not so much, just like in beautiful disaster, and most important “another Travis” and I found your “what to read after BD”. Aand i must say, geez what in hell is Kellan Kyle?! I loved him much more than Travis. I mean, while both of them were incredible guys with their girls, Travis scared me a little bit sometimes. Too much obsession, you know what i mean?! Back to what i was sayin both of them were incredible falling in love for the first time and the way they treated Keira and Abby, but i always felt that Travis was a jerk with the other girls, he treated them like crap, they both were like “whore” but that’s where I liked Kellan more. He didn’t payed too much attention to the other girls, not even their names but he treated them right. With a little bit more education. While Travis… Besides Kellan had all that musician thing. But between Keira and Abby I don’t really know who was better, but I think I still pick Abby. Keira in the first one was too much cruel with Kellan and Denny. Anyway… thanks so much! I loved your sugestion!

Aestas January 1, 2012 at 12:11 PM

Help!!!! I just finished Thoughtless and I NEED Effortless. Is there anywhere other than Fictionpress that I can get it? Preferably for kindle???????? Ack! Need more Kellan & Keira!!

Maryse January 1, 2012 at 12:56 PM

Not yet Aestas… :( hopefully soon!

Cristin January 13, 2012 at 1:50 PM

Loved both books! Is there any other books that are like them that you would recommend?

Maryse January 13, 2012 at 2:29 PM

Hi Kristen! Here is a list of the books that had us readers in a serious frenzy – not necessarily all “rock stars” but emotional, intense, crazy stories in each of ‘em:


Kait January 14, 2012 at 12:14 PM

Any update on when effortless will be available on the kindle? I am 90% done with thoughtless and I really really can;t wait to start the next one!!

Maryse January 17, 2012 at 1:50 PM

Hi Kait!

The last bit of news she’s provided about it was on January 1st 2012 (on her Facebook page) saying:

“Happy New Year everyone! Lots of things in the works for me…Effortless is almost ready to publish, Collision Course won’t be too far behind it, and I’m on chapter 20 of Conversion: The Next Generation. So much to do…”

So it’s not available yet, but should be soon!

I hope that helps!

WendyCullen April 25, 2012 at 1:47 PM

OMG, I loved Thoughtless and am loving Effortless. I wish the Nook had Effortless available. This love triangle was exciting, painful, thrilling, and exhausting. I never wanted a guy with a tat but Kellan’s made my head want to explode. How Freakin Sexy!!!

Elizabeth April 27, 2012 at 6:13 AM

I just finished Thoughtless and Effortless and can I say that I am in love with Kellan. His personality is amazing and man…I can just picture those grins. Can you post a link to the author’s Facebook page? I can’t find her through search.

Maryse April 27, 2012 at 11:19 AM

Hi Elizabeth!! Sure thing!!/pages/SC-Stephens/122623531149513

The author is currently working on book #3!! YAY!

Quin April 30, 2012 at 6:11 PM

Can you believe there’s going to be a third book names ‘Untitled’ in the Thoughtless series! I cannot wait! I am SOOOOO excited!

Minha May 4, 2012 at 11:37 AM

Thank you Maryse… I loved all your recomendations and I want to thank you for letting me know that there are orthers out there like me that enjoy the emotional frenzy so much… I thought I was crazy!

About Thoughtless and Effortless:
I would also like to mention that I’ve developed a huge crush on Griffin…. I Know!!! Is it just me??? And I’ve never liked guys like that, so I must still be a little crazy… LOL

Lisa May 16, 2012 at 10:06 PM

Please don’t shoot me…I just finished Effortless after reading it within a day. I love K and K! Thoughtless annoyed me a bit. She played them both way past the just stop point. I felt horrible for Denny! I understand first love and the safe feeling but she bed hopped and I was a little sickened. I enjoyed Effortless way more. I could understand that apprehension and distrust…I still think Kellan could do better. She was so negative! Thank you again for an awesome suggestion and I cant wait for a third book! I cant wait to see Anna and Griffin as parents ;)

Jill May 18, 2012 at 4:08 PM

Oh, gosh! I am only 10% in and I don’t want to go on!!!!!!! So freaking nervous!!! Should have waited to start this one after I finished Thoughtless – just to be able to relax and have a normal heart rate for a bit – but now that I’ve started it I can’t stop…. Tell me I am going to survive!! ;)

Robin June 25, 2012 at 9:59 AM

OMG, the news of there being a 3rd book has me going nuts!
I have to say that I have NEVER had a book keep me up all night (I was even able to put down 50 Shades to get some sleep) but holy crap, these books ROCK! I felt like all these things were happening to me!! Needless to say I’m pretty tired from my lack of sleep.
It’d be cool too if she did books on all the guys in the band and their girls!
Does the third book have an ETA or a title yet?

Maryse June 25, 2012 at 12:08 PM

Hi Robin! No news yet other than those “teasers”. Very excited!! They’ll be on tour for it.

Anjali August 14, 2012 at 1:11 AM

Does anyone knw whn the third book is coming out?? I’m really excited and I want to know what happens to both Kiera and kellan aswell as the test of the band!!!! And a specially griffin and Anna and *spoiler*!

Ruth August 29, 2012 at 4:54 PM

Had my post Thoughtless minute and now I am Ready for more Effortless! Have a feeling there is still plenty of angst to go round. Loved the review!

Kathy October 3, 2012 at 11:39 AM

Loved Thoughtless and am reading Effortless right but I must say I am a little nervous about the title Reckless.

Kathy October 3, 2012 at 11:51 AM

Loved Thoughtless and am reading Effortless right now but I must say I am a little nervous about the title Reckless.

Patti October 31, 2012 at 7:23 PM

I just read both Thoughtless and Effortless and I was so emotional with both books and I just could not put them down. I crave for more and not sure I can wait until March 2013 for Reckless. I truly hope that the suspense will be worth the wait which I am sure it will be. In the mean time I will just have to re-read these books again.

Tori November 13, 2012 at 11:20 AM

OMG!!! Was on a downer once i finished reading effortless. I got so sucked into Kellen and Kiera’s lives that i felt sad and lost once it ended. I am so happy to see that there will be a 3rd i cant wait to feel their love again :)

Kim December 31, 2012 at 12:07 AM

Just finished effortless …I am really happy with direction the author went with the characters and story…I WILL definitely read number three when it comes out…cannot. wait to see what happens in the bigtime and with Griffin.& Anna….love me some Kellan and really grew to like Kiara in this book…it was also good to see Denny back.

Leslie March 23, 2013 at 12:03 AM

Maryse – are you going to post a review of Reckless?

Denise January 21, 2015 at 7:23 PM

Oh God Please………The bathroom scene in Effortless!!!!!! HAD TO read it again!
Is the third book Reckless?

Maryse January 21, 2015 at 7:24 PM

Hi Denise! Yes it is. :)

Leave a Comment


Notify me of followup comments to this post via e-mail. You can also subscribe without commenting.

Previous post:

Next post: