Book Review – Groupie by Ginger Voight

by Maryse on November 1, 2012 · 48 comments

in Bad Boys & Rock Stars

<—– FANTASTIC frenzy inducer!!!!! LOVED LOVE LOVED this book because it was everything I could imagine falling in love with a rock star (and receiving his attentions back) could be. It epitomizes everything we fantasize about being loved by a rock star. And at the same time, puts that very popular “never fall in love with a rock star” warning in perfect perspective.

Shannon and Sherry (and Julie) recommended this one, and I could just hug them so hard! I’ve had them on my Ultimate Rock Star List, but how to choose which to read next? But when you start getting these kinds of recommendations, the choice becomes much easier!

Shannon: Okay, I just finished a marathon read of Groupie and Rock Star by Ginger Voight and had to comment. Groupie was a good lead up to Rock Star, but Rock Star had me TIED IN KNOTS!! My stomach hurt with all the emotion that I was feeling. I felt nauseous and didn’t want my family near me so that I could just finish it all ready. My tummy still hurts and I just can’t stop thinking about it – there HAS to be a third book with the way that it ended. Soul mates, addiction, really bad people trying to cause trouble, rock star, groupies…..everywhere that you turned was another “situation”. No smooth sailing for this couple!! Sorry if I am scattered, but that tells you how much this series is affecting me. Okay, now I have to go and research when the next book is out….there has to be a next book – she wouldn’t leave us hanging like this would she?

Sherry: MUST.GO.TO.BED !!!!!! I’m sick from this roller coaster ride !!!! Loving and HATING him right now :/

Sherry: DONE !! Wow…just wow!! I messaged Ginger to find out when the 3rd one comes out… :( What an emotional ride this was!!

Shannon: I know!!!! So glad that I am not the only one who was an emotional wreck……and there is more to come!

Julie: I’m reading a 2 book bundle series someone posted it the other day, Groupie/Rockstar bundle by Ginger Voight . It’s good!! At first I though eh but it gets better and better I think you all would like it a lot!!

This is no fairytale. Sex, drugs and rock and roll. Tours and the glittery lifestyle. The parties, the limelight, the expectations, even stalkers. All of this, but without being overly seedy. Groupies, “public” appearances, rise to fame and then full-on fame. Rumors. Perceptions of things (right or wrong?) My lips are sealed. You’ll feel it every step of the way no matter what is happening. Chapters of unforgettable TRUE passion. And moments of agony. I hurt.

Reality slaps you in the face, and so many times I found myself saying, NO WAY. NO MORE! I was steadfast in my adamancy that the heroine  remain strong. Keep her integrity intact. Hold her head up high. Not succumb.

All I wanted in that moment was to forget. To go back in time and erase an unbalanced relationship that had been doomed from the start. For his sake, and for mine.

(Don’t worry, that quote came form the first 1% of the book. Still lots to go, from here).

And then… oh help me. This one was soooooooo delightfully hard on me, I couldn’t get over the drama, and I didn’t want it to stop. Simply a euphoric and often maddening rush, that could also be super sweet and touching (and not necessarily in that order).

Mind you, some moments did remind me a bit of an 80′s rock star world. The way the concerts were described, the singer’s name, and how the singer reacted to the girls on stage, had that 80′s feel sometimes. But the band and singer’s description is such that it didn’t take much effort on my behalf to envision a more modern version of them. So this ends up working well enough for 80′s fans and fans of today’s rockers, too. And like Julie commented, while the start had me connecting well enough, I was just “fine” with it. I felt them, was enjoying the story and curious as to where it would lead me, but it was no big deal. And then… it totally was.

Sexy? YES! No over-the-top drama (okay wait. Maybe some over the top stuff, ;) but totally believable in a “fictional” way) and yet the angst is in full realistic force. Plenty steamy, too, but not so much as to bog down the story. Lots for us to connect to but so much more in terms of the character’s personal reflection, lying to each other and lying to themselves. And you’ll find yourself doing the same thing. Thinking one thing (and knowing you won’t deviate from that perception), and then immediately thinking another. Deviating. Flip flopping, There’s a lot of that here.

Who was looking for a boyfriend? Sleeping with Vanni, especially on the verge of his successful career, would simply be an interesting story someday.

This book is so intensely focused on the potential love story  and elation. And frequent heartache. Moments of hope… just to be slapped down by the glaring realities of being in love with a highly coveted rock star. Up and down, up and down, this roller-coaster forced me to hold on tight, screaming and yelling with abandon.

Poor Sherry. She insisted I read this, and she received the full brunt of my panic attacks. Here’s a very “light version” of some of my freak-outs.

Sherry: … if/when you read Groupie then Rockstar I want to tell you a few things about the book…

Maryse: Ok I’m on book 1… (and then later….) —> Wait. What? Who the *bleep* is *spoiler*? OMG *spoiler*?! I’m furious. He’s such a !!!!!! Oh god im so mad I can’t see straight. And what makes me so mad is (*spoiler*) … As much as logical me on the outside knows *spoiler* another side of me understands … Ugh. I’m sooooo mad… Ugh! Help me.

Sherry: OMG !! I love this!!! You finally need ME for support from a book instead of the other way around!!!!!!!!!!! Whoohoooooo ;)
I don’t know where you’re at now, But it gets worse! I was livid!! Oh I wish I could be there to lend you my shoulder ;) I needed one so bad, and I wanted to throw my Kindle so many times ….. tore a little more of my <3 to pieces… ROLLER COASTER ride through out the whole damn book /s !!!!!!!!!!

Maryse: I almost want to stop reading…

Sherry: hahahahaha~KEEP READING!!!! You have to finish both of them today!!!!  If I could do it, you HAVE to do it.  Just keep Reading !!  Do not stop !! I need you to finish and love them as much as I do!!

Maryse: Ok I’m reading. ;) . Grrrrr.

Maryse: I’m at work now and I just cant stop obsessing over it. … UGH!!! NEVER love a rock star. NEVER! I am so sad right now. Lump in my throat ache and here I am WORKING!! Not even reading!

That is why I love these books. They are lessons in life! Even if I’ve already made all of my decisions, these books help affirm them. *sigh*  I have never been happier being so furious! This is wayyyyyy too fun!

Just wait until she gets home from work and sees the ongoing barrage of reactions I sent her way SINCE then (tee hee!! Makes me giggle). She’s got some reading to do (and some comforting of my poor exhausted heart, too!!).

But I can take solace in the fact that I have some reading to do, too. And I’ve never been happier. I have THE SEQUEL waiting for me as we speak and I am so anxious to get to it, that I swear I’m gonna take a flying leap of glee into my big bed, grab my charging iPad, and cuddle the heck out of it, within the next 5 minutes.

Rock Star, here I COME!!! OMG I just realized Shannon says Rock Star had her tied in knots more than Groupie? Oh boy. I. AM. SO. In for it!!!!! *squeee*

Oh. I just realized Shannon also said “… leave us hanging like this…”. Oh well. Marathon read was right, and I can’t stop now.

4.5 stars!!! (I’d say 5 stars, but since it looks like Rock Star might even be better, maybe I should save my 5 stars for it?) hehe. I dunno… I’m too excited I can’t think straight.

Oh. BTW – I bought this as a “Groupie/Rock Star Bundle” (both books for an awesome price)!!!

Get Free Email Updates from me :)

{ 48 comments… read them below or add one }

Jill November 1, 2012 at 7:27 PM

Your review had me panicky already! I see the second one ends on a cliffhanger!? Oh, I am soooo waiting to read these until the series is done. My heart and stomach can’t take it… okay, it’ll probably be my next read… ;)

LucyLou November 1, 2012 at 7:36 PM

Just bought the bundle. Can’t wait to read it. I think I need a speed reading course to catch up on my TBR list. ;)

Maryse November 1, 2012 at 8:28 PM

Haha! I know how you feel Jill. Darn cliffhangers and yet I’m so devouring #2 right now as we speak, anyway.

Lucy, just you wait for the fun that awaits you!! Rock star fan like you are, this will be right up your alley. ;)

steven voight November 1, 2012 at 8:31 PM

Thank you so much for the review. Ginger is on cloud nine is currently writing book three as we speak for NANOWRIMO which is where groupie was born. She also has a paranormal romance since that is your main interest. Once again thank you and I hope you enjoy Rock Star.

steven voight November 1, 2012 at 8:34 PM

Just out of curiosity for those of you that have read it. Are you team Vanni or team grahm?

Ginger Voight November 1, 2012 at 8:34 PM

Thanks for sharing this review with me. I can’t even tell you how gratifying it is to read it because of all my books, this one dances the most over/across and under the line of “love it” or “hate it.” What I hoped to convey was the “be careful what you wish for” aspect of loving someone famous, who gleefully wrings the dickens out of the “bad boy” persona. Honestly, this made *me* squee because I know readers get it and love story as much as I do. That’s the most rewarding part of writing for me.

So thank you so much for spreading the word and sharing the love, both here and on social media like Twitter and Facebook. Hit me up if you are interested in doing giveaways regarding autographed paperbacks, etc. I’d be more than happy to send some free merch your way to help thank you for your support.


(And yes, Book #3 is “Mogul,” scheduled tentatively for a Feb/March release date.)

Maryse November 1, 2012 at 8:48 PM

I’m team Graham but on the fence… you know why… ;)

Maryse November 1, 2012 at 8:50 PM

Ok I’m struggling with that choice. And you know why. Again. Hehe.

Maryse November 1, 2012 at 8:53 PM

Oh and… I think Mogul should be out sooner. Just sayin’ ;)

But thank YOU so much for bringing us this amazing story. Take your time with the 3rd installment. These are absolutely up my alley!

Maryse November 1, 2012 at 9:27 PM

All I’ve got to to say is wow so far on book #2.

Sherry ;) November 1, 2012 at 9:29 PM

Team VANNI al the way <—-not even a race !!

Poor Ginger heard it from me as soon as I finished….she's probably sorry she friended me. And Maryse I couldn't be happier that YOU were finally throwing some of your angst to me for once!! I'm going to message you right now and find out WHO you like now.

Vanni and Andy …do miss them ;)

And Ginger, excited for #3

Maryse November 1, 2012 at 9:38 PM

Okay now that I’m on book #2 I’m back to flip flopping. I love when I do that! ;)

Mint November 1, 2012 at 9:46 PM

just bought them. Hope I will have time to read soon >.<

Ginger Voight November 1, 2012 at 10:15 PM

Honestly I flip-flop between Vanni and Graham myself. ;)

And I love the conversation, keep it coming! :D

LucyLou November 1, 2012 at 11:37 PM

Aaaaahhh! I can’t stand it! Because of all the great comments, I want to start reading “Groupie” now, but I am in the middle of the “Glam Metal” series. This series sounds fabulous!!!

Jenn Keller November 2, 2012 at 7:10 AM

Just bought both books based on your recommendation alone….

Stephanie A November 2, 2012 at 7:31 AM

Just bought them both!!!! Excited to start reading. Thanks for the recommendation.

Becky November 2, 2012 at 9:07 AM

Ahhhhh….I’m dying. Started reading last night because I can never delay a good rock star book and I need SLEEP, like now. I was feeling a major book depression but this has brought me right out of it and I’m back to obsessing. Is it too early for a drink? Graham or Vanni-hmm? Right now, I think Graham but at 2am it was Vanni!

p.s. I really hope the cliffhanger in book 2 isn’t too painful. Because waiting until 2013 will be too long for a HEA.

Sally November 2, 2012 at 9:36 AM

Well….I just bought the bundle based on your very convincing review! BUT going to wait until book 3 to start!!! I hate cliffhangers! LOVE bad boys!!

Julie M November 2, 2012 at 10:53 AM

Team Vanni! After book 1 I was for Graham but definatley team Vanni after book 2!! After all they’ve been thru I mean come on!! :) )

Shannon November 2, 2012 at 12:16 PM

TEAM VANNI!!!!!! Yeah, it has been a bit since I finished the two books and yet I still can’t get them out of my head. I don’t know how on earth I am going to wait until Feb/March!!! I feel bad for the books that I have read since because nothing is really making me *feel* like Rock Star did. I hope that everyone enjoys them as much as I did. Thank you Ginger for writing them!!!

Sandra November 2, 2012 at 5:00 PM

Bought the bundle last night (Thanks Maryse!!), devoured book 1 and now on to book 2. Oh Vinny!!!! On to the 2nd book, so scared of the next roller coaster ride…..

Sandra November 2, 2012 at 5:02 PM

Also, will there be spoiler thread on your discussion board for this book??? Yes please, i need to vent once I’m done with book 2 :)

Maryse November 2, 2012 at 6:11 PM

We’ll be reading it at the same time Sandra. I’ve only just started (I got delayed last night)… Absolutely I’ll put up a discussion forum for it!

steven voight November 2, 2012 at 8:16 PM

You ladies have no idea how cool this whole conversation is for us. Thank you so much for trying something new and giving your feedback.

Becky November 2, 2012 at 8:52 PM

Ok, now that I devoured BOTH books in 24 hrs (and neglected my family); I’m totally team Vanni!

steven voight November 2, 2012 at 9:42 PM

So what did you think becky

Ginger November 3, 2012 at 1:43 AM

Silly question… some folks are saying their copies had weird editing and lots of distracting apostrophes. Is this a problem for anyone else?

Mint November 3, 2012 at 3:05 AM

Team Vanni!!!!!! >..<

Mint November 3, 2012 at 7:47 AM

When I had one individual book, yes. But when I returned it and bought the bundle, the problem’s gone. Surprised me too.

Becky November 3, 2012 at 8:20 AM

To answer your question steven….
I completely loved these books. I was going through a book depression and this was what I was missing. Ohhhh, the angst, it was perfect. I read several books a week and none in the last month have captured me quite like this one. I hope for a spoiler thread because I have my own theories about book 3. BTW, Feb/Mar is way too long to wait for book 3.

No weird editing for the bundle.

Sara J November 3, 2012 at 9:54 AM

Maryse! Just finished Groupie and I really like it but I’m SO nervous to start Rock Star. Did you finish it?? I just know there’s over the top drama and angst coming up and I know I’m going to be so pissed off at Vanni and probably Andy too… Grrr!! I don’t know if I can start it right now.. talk me into it!

Ginger November 3, 2012 at 10:34 AM

Thanks for the input. :) We’re fixing the file for book 1 (Groupie,) should be up within a few hours. Sounds like something went awry in the conversion process.

Sorry for the wait for Mogul. I’m writing it as fast as I can, I promise. :)

Maryse November 3, 2012 at 10:54 AM

Discussion/spoiler forum is up!! Have at it! (Oh it’s for both books in the one forum) so those who haven’t finished Rock Star might wanna hold on. OR go in with your eyes closed slip over the messages and rant away about Groupie ;)

Here is the direct link:

Maryse November 3, 2012 at 11:08 AM

In response to Ginger, I purchased the “bundle” and didn’t have any of those quirky issues with mine. :)

Mint November 3, 2012 at 1:53 PM

Just finished book 2. Gosh…. Problems never end. :(
Thanks for the discussion link, Maryse. Just in time. :)

Lindsey November 3, 2012 at 6:11 PM

Maryse, I’m totally jealous that you’d wasn’t quirky! All of my apostrophes are quotation marks. It’s so distracting. I wonder if it’s fixable….

Lindsey November 3, 2012 at 6:12 PM

*yours. Sigh.

Ginger November 3, 2012 at 6:31 PM

Lindsey, was it a bundle that was poorly formatted? What reader are you using?

Lindsey November 3, 2012 at 6:45 PM

Not the bundle. I’m read it on Kindle for iPad. I loved it, by the way!

Lindsey November 3, 2012 at 6:53 PM

*I, double sigh. I’m feeding my kid and typing at the same time. Not reccomended : /

Michelle November 3, 2012 at 8:18 PM

Just finished both books in 1 day after you recommended them.. These books were excellent! I can’t wait for the 3rd! Team Vanni!

Ginger November 3, 2012 at 9:44 PM

Thanks so much! :) There seems to have been some kind of wonky formatting error with the first book. It should be fixed now.

Thanks to everyone who read the book based on Maryse’s recommendation. I’m overwhelmed by all the support. You all took the Groupie/Rock Star bundle to the top #20 best seller spot yesterday, which was amazing, unexpected and basically a dream come true to see my name in such close proximity to those writers I had read in my teens.

So from the bottom of my heart I thank all of you. <3

Traci B. November 4, 2012 at 10:06 AM

Finished Rockstar yesterday…what to read after??? I am soo team vanni!!!

Ginger November 4, 2012 at 12:04 PM

If I might humbly suggest Love Plus One. I think you’ll see why when you read Mogul in February. ;)

Emily McDougal November 4, 2012 at 2:00 PM

Just finished Rock Star!! I LOOOVED them both!!!! But from now on I am not starting a series, until it is complete!!! I HATE waiting for the end to the story!!!! TEAM VANNI for sure, but I went back, and forth til the end! Because he pissed me off a lot ;)

Julie November 4, 2012 at 10:03 PM

My God Maryse!! Just finished Groupie last night, loved the book but I was nauseous and having a anxiety attack at the same time at 2 in the morning! Just started reading Rock Star and I’m already nervous!! Then I found out there’s going to be a book 3, help me now!!!!

Sara J November 5, 2012 at 6:54 AM

Julie~ I so know what you mean. I’ve decided to wait until #3 comes out before I read #2. I don’t think I can stand not being able to go directly to 3 right after 2!!! My nerves can’t handle it. Vanni will be the death of me. haha

Leave a Comment


Notify me of followup comments to this post via e-mail. You can also subscribe without commenting.

Previous post:

Next post: