Book Review – How to Kill a Rock Star by Tiffanie DeBartolo

by Maryse on July 29, 2011 · 83 comments

in Bad Boys & Rock Stars

How to Kill a Rock Star
Quick note – before we get started, I just wanted to say that I LOVED THIS BOOK. 5 star for me. You’ll see why I needed to make this clear…

Once upon a time (yesterday) I read a book. It enticed me from the very start. I was drawn in from the first few moments. I thought to myself…

“Self, isn’t this exactly what we’ve been looking for? An intelligent, thought provoking view into the lives of two people, seemingly fated for each other. Aren’t we having fun? Look at that silly smile on your face, Self. You’re so smug with your brand new shiny find. You know your readers are gonna love this, don’t you?”

It’s true. It hugged me and kissed me and made me laugh, swoon, worry and reflect. It provided me with all the delicious angst and love drama that I love so much in this genre… but just a little differently. An almost artsy, beautifully articulate brilliant little piece, and yet still modern and down to earth. Even a little gritty.

And then… it slapped me in the face! HARD!

I was so taken aback, so utterly surprised. Actually terrified that my heart was tearing in two. I avoid spoilers like the plague so I can enjoy the surprises, and feel the emotion in it’s truest form. I don’t want to know what to expect. This one had me frantic. I had to know. I searched for spoilers. And with all the positive reviews (and there are many), there was nobody out there willing to spill.

I chastised myself…

“Well, Self, I guess that’s just what you deserved for enjoying the angsty stuff so much. Loving the turmoil that these characters have to suffer, thriving in their agony. You were bound to hit one like this, sooner or later. It was only a matter of time before the character’s distress would actually turn you into a sobbing mess.”

It’s true. All day, all I could think about was finishing work so that I could get back to reading. All day… “the book. the book”.  I spent my entire evening NOT eating, just reading, loving every moment…and then, that’s when the slap came. I lost my appetite and felt sick to my stomach.

I preceded to email my best book bud, even though I knew it was so late in the night that she’d probably not be there to comfort me. I was willing to take my chances. She’s a night owl, and my sleeping husband might not be as understanding about my sob story. I even said a few bad words in my email to her. Please forgive ;)

Fri, Jul 29, 2011 at 12:30 AM

This book makes me so MAD – I hate it. God, and I loved the book the entire way through, too… finally getting to the “relief” part and LOOK what that stupid author does to me. I hate it!!

I considered quitting it, but instead, cried my eyes out and forged ahead.

Fri, Jul 29, 2011 at 1:01 AM

“I was crying my eyes out… like a mad lunatic and the author *spoiler* ! THE B*&CH!!!!!

Thank you lord if this is going where I think it is… I can stop crying.

Please don’t tell the author I called her a b*&ch.”

Fri, Jul 29, 2011 at 1:34 AM

“Tee hee… sorry ’bout that ;)

What’s a little lunacy between friends right? At least we know the book was effective. Awesome book, by the way. Damn. Glad it’s over and just a bit embarrassed.

Lucky I didn’t have a serious public freak out on my blog. Now… how to review this sucker?”

*blush* My bad. I lost my cool. And yes. I allowed you all into my little personal night delirium, right now. I know. That was my official freak-out. It’s the only way I know how to make you understand.

Annnnnd…apparently, there were some office laughs at my expense the following morning (when she finally read my emails). That’s okay, we all show our true colors eventually, and while I’m slightly embarrassed, the awesomeness of the book helps me get over my personal misgivings. ;)

So what’s the book about? Everything. *sigh* Best book ever. Almost.

Twenty-something year old Eliza moves from Ohio to New York to work for a music magazine. Her brother Michael already lives there, and is in a band on the cusp of being signed.

She moves in with her brother’s singer (Paul) and of course they all warn her – DO NOT SLEEP WITH HIM!!

All I knew about Paul was what Vera had already told me: “He’s talented as hell. But he can be pretty… um… erratic.”

“Is he cute?” I asked her.

“Cute? If you like the dysfunctional lunatic, male-slut vibe, sure.”

He is the typical rock-star (even though he’s not yet famous). Cute, a little self-indulgent, and “out there”, but he’s the real deal. Amazing voice, amazing song writing. A true artist.  And the girls just can’t get enough of him (and that’s where his stereo typical rock star shines through). Wam bam thank you ma’am.

We live with them through weeks of connecting, bonding over music, getting to know each other as friends.

In my mind, this elevated Paul to the status of a friend, although I was first to admit I didn’t have a lot of friends who made me dizzy and whose chests I longed to touch.

Despite her serious attraction, she resists. He persists. He sees something in her that calls to him.

I think we were having a moment but I’m not sure. By then I’d sort of lost myself in her face. No kidding, if you put me in a room with Eliza and a hundred beautiful girls, Eliza would be the one I’d walk over to.

He even believes that meeting her brother was fate, so that they could find each other. It’s inescapable. They fall in absolute love with each other, and he’s bound and determined to become a better person for her (and him).

Sometimes I would open my eyes when we were kissing, I would watch him and I could see it. I could actually see LOVE – not words, not an emotion, not an abstract concept or a subjective state of mind, but a living, breathing thing.

The love thing between her and the singer. It’s there, it’s intense, it’s private but it’s not the only thing.

With her connections, and his talent, they are discovered, and a huge dilemma ensues. Sign with the indie label and be artistically free (what he wants), or sign with the huge record label (which is what the rest of the band and entourage are encouraging him to do) and possibly be forced to sell out.

“I guess I need to find a happy medium, someplace between giving them what they want and ending up face-down in a pool of my own goddamn integrity.”

Sooooo… against his better judgement, the major label wins. They are thrown into a years worth of recording, touring and all of the drama that ensues when a music label now, contractually owns you.

But that’s not all. Not even close. Paul quickly realizes he will have to leave the love of his life behind. The one that helps completes him, his art, his being. She won’t follow. First, she has a job. Second and most importantly, she will not ever get on a plane (parents died in a plane crash). When he realizes she’ll never fly out with him while he’s on tour, he second guesses everything the band has just committed themselves too.

He LOVES her and doesn’t want to do this without her. Deep down, he doesn’t care for that kind of fame, hes happy to keep playing his music locally if it means he can be in love, and remain true to his art. His agent is appalled and confronts Eliza, tries to recruit her to help Paul see the light. If he doesn’t do this tour, hes throwing it all away, including her brother’s future! Her guilt is deep, and she’s determined not to have Paul’s “lovestruck” decisions ruin everyone’s chances.

She devises a plan. A sure fire way to entice him to go on tour without her – it’s just a year, after all. They can fix this when he gets back. She will not be the reason he threw away the perfect opportunity, the dream he’s been working for.

And the decision she makes to convince him to leave, is one that begins an absolute downward spiral in the lives of all concerned.

Curious aren’t you? Make sure to read this when you have plenty of time to devote to this book. Get all of your stuff done. Warn all who depend on you. Stock up on Kleenex. Keep an emergency phone number nearby.

And please. Don’t hate me.

Spill? Nope. You know I hate spoilers. I’m not about to change that now. I didn’t get any. And I won’t give any.

Just remember. I lived it. I loved it.

5 stars!!

Get Free Email Updates from me :)

{ 83 comments… read them below or add one }

Jane July 29, 2011 at 10:38 PM

I want it….. must read it……. but it’s not on Kindle?!?!?!?!?!?

Is it available anywhere as an eBook? Please, PLEASE send me a link…. :-)

Maryse July 29, 2011 at 10:50 PM

Hi Jane! That link brings you to the books main page where you can order both formats. You can order the paperback, or just click the link above the word “paperback” to download the Kindle version. Did that help?

Let me know :)

Jane July 30, 2011 at 3:18 AM

Thanks Maryse. Sadly, it’s not available on Kindle in my region (NZ). Doh!!!!

I’ll have to wait. Not very good at waiting, grrrr!

Wow! August 10, 2011 at 8:06 PM

Does he die? He doesn’t right? Lol! Damn, now I have to read it. You should defenitly check out Breath by Abbi Glines.

Maryse August 10, 2011 at 10:03 PM

LOL!

shhhhhh I can’t say ;) All I can promise is it is SO worth the read!!

Tess Eyre August 12, 2011 at 3:14 AM

WOW…this book just knocked my socks off!! Absolutely flawless…
Great review too!

patricia nesbitt August 20, 2011 at 8:21 PM

Just finished this book so so hmmm I think after reading this story Il need a pacemaker. I am sure once my heartbeat returns to normal range I would most defintely agree 5 stars all the way……….wow thanks for this expirence cuz I would hate to thinkthat I would have missed this ride…..again again

Maryse August 20, 2011 at 10:54 PM

So glad you guys enjoyed it as much as I did!! Now to find more like it! ;)

Maryse August 20, 2011 at 10:58 PM

A little jolt, huh? But that shot of adrenaline leveling out now will have a nice soothing calming effect, I promise ;)

Jennifer August 26, 2011 at 11:36 AM

My book bestie and myself stumbled upon your Blog through Jamie McGuire’s FB wall post since we are huge fans of Beautiful Disaster. Because of your Top 5 Summer Read List, we read Flat Out Love and LOVED IT. Sooo good and yet I never took the time to thank you for the recommend.

But now…..here I go…..next on the list to read for us was How to Kill a Rock Star. Admittedly, we were hesitant because we hadn’t ever read a book with the rock star theme.

WELLL……Just finished it LAST NIGHT. My book bestie Kellie is almost done. WHOA! WHOA! WHOA! Holy Crap, Maryse. I just wanted to thank you because if it wasn’t for your blog, I never would have taken a chance reading Tiffanie’s books. THANK YOU! What a friggin’ RIDE!!!!! I was mad texting my book bestie last night in the middle of reading….thest…ohhh…the angst!

Once again, THANK YOU. Please do more Top # Lists. Next up: Falling Star.

Maryse August 26, 2011 at 12:12 PM

Tee hee!!! I’m so glad you’re having as much fun as I am… ohhhhh the drama and angst in this one huh? WOW. I swear. I was sobbing!

amber October 29, 2011 at 10:00 AM

I dont know why I like putting myself through this torture reading these books…but I can’t help myself!

KelliAnne December 22, 2011 at 1:09 PM

Just finished this one at 3 o’clock this morning. It was amazing, absolutely fantastic. I had it on my TBR list, but for some reason I kept pushing it back in favor of something else. You talked me into it. I love Paul, don’t get me wrong, but I have to say “Loring=Yummmmm!!!”.

Alison March 9, 2012 at 2:33 PM

I just got this book and am going to start it tonight, I cant wait to find out what happens now. Ill be back :)

Maryse March 9, 2012 at 2:57 PM

Ooooh Alison. You are in for a good cry!

Jill April 25, 2012 at 11:05 AM

Oh, my gosh!!!! This looks great and yet…YIKES!

I know you wrote this review a while ago, but I was searching through your ‘Bad Boys and Rock Stars’ reviews to find my next book and this one caught my eye…. However, I just finished Love Unscripted and I don’t know if I can go through another night of ‘almost’ heartache! Seriously, I thought I was going to be sick while reading that certain part(s) in Love Unscripted! I was dying! So, this may be put on my TBR/wish list… or maybe I will be downloading it- NOW! ;)

Mary Beth Provence April 28, 2012 at 7:08 PM

OK, I am going to go for it. I have been flirting with this book for a couple of months, and I think I am ready to go all the way. I was a little gun shy after Thoughtless, but I’m going to do it anyway. I even made my husband let me get a nap this afternoon so I was ready for, what I am sure will be, the reading marathon tonight.

Mary Beth Provence April 30, 2012 at 10:56 AM

OK, I finished it. I have to say that my soul felt shattered for a little while. If my nook wasn’t so expensive I may have thrown it. (That is what I do to books that make me cry and feel in despair. Nicholas is still dead to me). I am glad I worked through the pain though. It was excellent and made my pancreas ache.

Christine May 4, 2012 at 4:37 AM

Wow..I don’t even know where to being with this book!! I literally went through all the emotions! From happy, to sad, to happy, sobbing, to angry and shock! I won’t even begin to talk about the ending!! Holy crap!! And I agree with Mary Beth, I’m pretty sure I cried so hard my pancreas ached..

Christine K. June 2, 2012 at 3:39 PM

Holy crap! I got to that crazy part of the story, where you want to call up the auther and ask her why she hates us so much, at work. I have never been so affected by a book that I would instantly get angry at the real world while im reading it. I had to stop right when we (find out). I couldnt concentrate on anything! My poor lady came in to get her hair done, AND I WAS GROUCHY WITH HER!
Loved this book! couldnt put it down, very emotional, and so sweet. Just read it!

Jill June 2, 2012 at 4:47 PM

I have it downloaded, but I am afraid to read it because of all the posts about it! :( Obviously things turn out okay or people would really dislike the book and Maryse would not highly recommend it – but – I am scared to death of it! I know, crazy when I haven’t even started it yet… ;)

Christine K. – Sounds like I am really, really going to need to prepare myself. I have four kids home on summer break and I don’t need to be upset with them for no reason at all…… ;)

Sara M June 19, 2012 at 5:26 PM

OK, this was a great read!! I wasnt so sure in the beginning but it hooked me. I could not put this book down!!

Maryse June 20, 2012 at 9:40 AM

Yep!! Some surprises along the way…

Becky June 24, 2012 at 3:23 PM

Ok, I started AND finished this book yesterday. I was literally sobbing in bed (my husband sound asleep next to me) at 1am, then I had to stay up and finish the book with the hope there was some resolution so I could sleep. I was actually laughing out loud at the end. Good book.

Brandi June 25, 2012 at 8:56 AM

One of my favorite books ever!! LOVED it :)

Maryse June 25, 2012 at 12:09 PM

Brandi! Agreed – I loved every bit of it.

Jill June 27, 2012 at 7:52 AM

How to Kill a Rock Star was GREAT —— However, I felt like I needed more interaction between Eliza and Paul in the beginning and in the end. I needed more to really get into their relationship. I didn’t question their love for each other at all, but I just wanted more time with them as a couple talking, having fun and really getting to know each other. That was my thought when it ended. I need more of them together!!! Did anyone else feel that way?

Holly July 13, 2012 at 10:21 PM

Jill I felt the same way!! I really wished that there had been more focus on them as a couple. It was a great book, and definitely had me ready to angry text in the middle of the night to anyone that was willing to listen. If I hadn’t read that there was a surprise, but everyone still loved it I think I would have thrown my kindle into the nearest wall about 2am. :) I’m glad that I managed to hold on until the end.

Niki July 24, 2012 at 2:51 PM

I am on page 47 and I am already in love with this book. Thank you!

Lauren August 8, 2012 at 8:49 PM

Literally just finished this and boy did I cry. I’m not usually a crier when it comes to books but this one done me in. I was in shock, took me a few moments to realise what happened and then the tears just fell and refused to stop, I was a sobbing mess. An amazing book, took me a little while to get into but once I did I couldn’t put it down.

Johanna August 9, 2012 at 1:05 PM

I just finished this book on Tuesday, and boy did i love it. I didnt cry, but i def had the lump the size of a volleyball in my throat..tee hee.. I loved this book! I agree that it could have been a little more focus between Paul and Eliza. But overall you get the gist, that this man cannot live without her :) My heart broke for him a couple of times throughout this book which left me feeling a mess…but heyyy thats what i signed up for :)

jen August 31, 2012 at 10:44 AM

I love you.
I hate you.
No, I love you.
Ah, crap.
This is going through my mind, referring to you, while reading this book. After going through your “what to read after Thoughtless” list, I chose this. And, halfway through, I hated myself for doing it. But, of course, come the end….I was so glad I did. Another gut punching, rip out my heart, kick me while I’m down book. I am so so glad I stumbled upon your site. Amazon is also very glad I stumbled. My credit card and husband…not so much. Thank you for all you do :)

Kimberly September 1, 2012 at 1:20 AM

Wow!!’ Just finished How To Kill A Rock Star and my stomach is still in knots!! Fantastic read but I have to admit that I had to walk away from it at times! My nerves couldn’t take it! Absolutely loved Paul!

Traci B. September 1, 2012 at 5:20 PM

So I started How to kill a rock star last night and didn’t stop until 3am…then got up to finishit at 8:30 am…It’s one of those books that you can’t put down…I’m glad i didn’t read any reviews or spoilers before I read it…It’s also one of those books where I still haven’t been able to get it out of my head and start another one….I totally fell in love with eliza and Paul…even though he’s not your typical rock star…he is still a rock star though lol…wish there was a sequel!!!! still havent found anyone better than kellan yet lol

Kellie September 2, 2012 at 11:16 AM

You warned me. I knew there was great promise that I would end up in an angsty mess off emotion. What I did not expect was to start this book and not do anything but read it until it was finished. I’m talking a marathon reading session without sleep, food, or outside contact.

I was going to go to bed, but instead I found myself a complete blubbering sobbing mess…..just like you said I would. I didn’t think it would be THAT hard. I was begging to no one around me that it could be fixed or changed. Ugh….it was such great torture.

Thanks for pointing me towards this gem. Now I need a nap to recover.

Maryse September 2, 2012 at 2:22 PM

I did, Kellie. I warned you ;) . Totally worth it though!

Suz September 3, 2012 at 11:54 PM

Wow Maryse, just finished this one. Just loved how much the characters made me laugh, so well written. However in future I might take your ‘warnings’ a little more seriously! My poor knotted stomach…
I love your blog, I found it after reading Fifty, what a lifesaver! I’ve become a bookaholic… :-)

Michele September 5, 2012 at 1:00 PM

WOW!!! I LOVED this book until…the part. Then I was really, really affected – I ended up staying awake until 3am and even jumped ahead hoping to calm my mind (I NEVER do that). Even after finishing the book, I was so out of it I had trouble sleeping. In hindsight, I am SO glad I read it, there’s no way I would’ve wanted to miss the amazing love story. Question? Any chance the author will do a sequel?? I really want more and feel like was left hanging a bit.

Lisa K September 5, 2012 at 9:16 PM

Oh my gosh, I loved this book…and NO! I don’t hate you!!! I live for books like this! I have to say, for awhile there, I wasn’t exactly sure who to root for…man alive I love the angst! Holy cow though…I totally felt like my pancreas was in serious pain when *spoiler!!* Thanks Maryse!! :)

Cheryl September 19, 2012 at 1:34 PM

OK, first let me say you have never stirred me wrong yet every book you love I love, so this book kinda caught me off guard at first BUT BUT I loved loved loved it ! Very well written ! I like everyone else could not put it down my GD pancreas was killing me trying to get to the end. WOW loved it 5 stars on Goodreads ! NOW onto the next Maryse invoked read !
Thanks Maryse you are so awesome !!!

Priscilla September 22, 2012 at 4:46 PM

Just finished this book ….. Oh my god it was freaking awesome and yup I cried …. I really wanted to slap Eliza around or kick her lol .. I’ve been reading most of the books on your bad boy and rock star list and they have been great :) )

Yvonne September 26, 2012 at 6:55 PM

my head is still pounding! WOW! I purposely didn’t read your review other than it was on your top 5 and now I see why. I was giggling from the start and enthralled with the passion for the music (as I’m very much a music tragic) and then BAM! I sat in bed a bawled, too upset to go on. It took me an hour to finish that chapter. Ended ringing my best friend for some verbal hugs but couldn’t say too much as I want her to read it now. What a great book, thanks again and again. About to start Slammed.

Melissa October 3, 2012 at 7:12 PM

This might be one of the best books I have read this year! Wow! Thank you for the recommendation! At first I was not sure if I would like the book. As I continued the story, it was a great read! I love books that are entertaining and realistic. I will not spoil anything but I was quite surprised with the book!

Sandy J. Long October 5, 2012 at 8:41 AM

OMG!!! first when i started the book… it was a slow mover in the beginning…then i was like…hhhhmmm its starting to pick up… I will not put out a spoiler but can i just say I HATED AMANDA… fake boobs and all..LOL… poor decisions on both parts and never never did a book make me have such anxiety where there’s a lump in my throat… and cry well close I live with 4 boys so to cry in front of them would be like asking for them to make fun of me..LOL.. i can hear it now… SERIOUSLY MOM your crying over a stupid book… so therefore i hide in my bedroom with a quick tear fall and a wipe to make it look like my contacts are bothering me..LOL.. GOOD READ..

Ashley October 16, 2012 at 9:31 PM

I finished this last night…at 2am. I had ugly, ugly crying. It’s def. close to the top of my book list now!

Bre October 27, 2012 at 3:22 PM

I absolutely loved this book, one of my favorites that I have read in a very long time. I loved it so much that I went to see what else Tiffanie DeBartolo wrote. She wrote a book called God Shaped Hole and I ordered it immediately. I just finished and still have not begun to process it all. I don’t want to say much about it, but I would HIGHLY recommend this book for a feel similar to How To Kill A Rockstar.

Lea October 28, 2012 at 12:32 PM

I loved this book so, so much. I also ordered God-Shaped Hole because I love the way this author writes and wanted more from her. I had no idea she has also written and directed Dream for An Insomniac, which is one of my favorites from the 90′s. Anyhow, GSH was amazing. I also suggest it to anyone who loved this book. There is a connection, I think, between the two books and I wish I knew some one who had read both so I could discuss it!!

Jaymi October 28, 2012 at 8:09 PM

OMG! Just finished this book. I know… a woman in her 40′s (sadly) shouldn’t be this excited and angry and heartbroken over these characters…but I was. I was feeling every emotion including denial. I’m glad that’s over. Now back to realy life….bummer :)

Jaymi October 28, 2012 at 8:10 PM

*real life… couldn’t even spell correctly; I was that emotional. tee hee

Julie October 29, 2012 at 4:01 PM

My god Maryse what a great book!! I have cried reading books before but with this one I was sobbing (glad my husband wasn’t home to witness my breakdown

Cynara October 31, 2012 at 6:27 PM

I loved the book, but did no one else fall in love with Loring?

Arryn November 1, 2012 at 9:01 AM

so ive been waiting and waiting for this to become available on my kindle! so i gave and bought the book from the states all the way to sunny scotland! eekk so happy its here!!

Joy Vincoy November 1, 2012 at 11:34 AM

hi maryse! do you think if there’s part 2 of this book.? i want to know what will happen to Europe?

Maryse November 3, 2012 at 11:22 AM

Cynara –> I LOVED Loring… It was a toss-up for me for a good part of it, but my heart certainly belonged to Paul.

Arryn : Let us know what you think once you’re done.

Joy: I don’t think the author intends on continuing it into a series. She wrote it quite awhile ago, it would seem. I *have* heard that “God Shaped Hole” has a tiny bit to do with HTKARS (a character that we meet in that one, I think sort of shows up in this book). I won’t go into detail here as I haven’t read the other yet, so I can’t confirm but I was given a good idea of how significant it is.

Maryse November 3, 2012 at 11:27 AM

Julie and Jaymi I know exactly how you feel. Sobbed, I tell you!! I was a wreck.

And to everyone else that took the time to let me know the book affected you as intensely as it did me, thank you!! I love sharing my pain. LOL!!!

*sorry for the sobbing spells* but hugs to every one of you!

Arryn November 4, 2012 at 9:03 AM

So i finished the book! and OH MY !!! i cried, i laughed and literally was speechless, at one point i put it down and opened a bottle of wine to calm me down!! I fell in love with paul and i hope to god one day i meet my own paul!
ive re read certain bits already just to make sure i read it right!!! I loved this book and its now one of my favourite reads of all time!!
I need something light hearted and funny now!!
xxx

Connie November 13, 2012 at 1:56 PM

Holy crow! Fan-flipping-tastic book. I thought I was in the words of Eliza “going to throw up” at one point. Talk about keeping a person on the edge of their seat.
The writing was awesome, witty, fun and serious. Thanks for the review. I would have never read it had it not been for your blog!

Jenni December 5, 2012 at 2:47 AM

VERKLEMPT! At one point I was crying… then I was mad, really irritated to the point I had to set the book aside as my palms were sweating. As I forced myself to pick up the book again….I was seriously not sure I could keep reading, still upset over everything.. the book takes another twist which was awesome!

Amy December 28, 2012 at 9:46 AM

I’m scared! I don’t know if I’m ready for this type of emotional commitment. Quick! Someone suggest a light read for when I’m done with this book! Here I go…

Ali December 29, 2012 at 9:00 PM

Thank you, thank you, thank you for the recommendation for this book! I read this in one day because I couldn’t put it down ( I didn’t even leave the house to get groceries…) Alot has already been said by others and I agree with their comments. My husband came running when he heard me yell “NO!!” When he realized it was in reaction to “the book” he told me “Calm down, it’s just a book.” He quickly realized how foolish his comment was and made a quick exit. I sat there stunned for a few minutes and then the tears started, LOTS of tears (and it was an “UGLY CRY!” Thankfully I stuck it out and greatly please with plot outcome. The characters were amazing!

Anne February 5, 2013 at 3:10 AM

This book literally BROKE MY HEART!!!!!
I was in pieces like it was really happening to me!!
Sobbing for ages and needing to cuddle my husband afterwards!!!
My chest and stomach was in knots…at one point i was struggling to breathe with the anxiety!!!!

Lauren February 8, 2013 at 3:52 PM

I finally read this, wow, I can’t express what a roller coaster ride, def rooting for Paul, but Loring was a good guy too! I cried didn’t think I would, but I can’t believe what he did to be with her. Thx for recommending!

Nabila mahmood May 9, 2013 at 1:52 AM

Read the book first. Then looked up your wonderful review. Awesome book. For a similar read, look up Liz Berry – easy connections. Brilliant rock star book.

Patti May 28, 2013 at 1:55 PM

I loved the 1st half of this book, then….OMG! What she did killed me, broke my heart!!!! I didn’t want to finish the book but I did and I’ll be honest, I couldn’t get over the heartache she caused.

Anne May 29, 2013 at 3:01 PM

Patti…. i felt the same :-(

April May 30, 2013 at 9:46 AM

It was everything you said it would be!! I’m so happy you referenced HTKRS in your Sweet Thing review. I am a total book zombie this morning! But worth it!

Simone August 10, 2013 at 10:36 AM

Amazing !!!! I love it !!!! Thank you !!! Thank you !!!
Thank you !!!

Lisa December 16, 2013 at 8:32 PM

This was AMAZING. This is the second book you’ve recommended that made me cry. In a good way of course :) I still can’t believe how this story grabbed at my heart. I could not put this down and I found I went through another box of tissues for this one. Thank you for another GREAT recommendation.

cheryl December 21, 2013 at 3:07 PM

Thanks for the recommendation. I LOVED this book although I felt like a had been on an emotional roller coaster!!!!! I definitely need something lighthearted and humorous now- what would you suggest?? You need a list of books that make you laugh.

Julie August 10, 2014 at 5:45 AM

Loved this book so hard! Ofcourse, it broke me and I suffered PTSD afterwards, but it was sooooo good!

Tracy August 10, 2014 at 7:38 AM

This has been on my wish list for a bit and my what to read next problem has just been solved. I can’t wait.

Tracy August 10, 2014 at 7:43 AM

Just went to one click and it is on Amazon Unlimted for those of you trying out the subscription.

Connie August 10, 2014 at 8:27 AM

Yea, been dying to read this book for a long time but it was way too expensive. I now find out it is 2.99 and I am going to one-click but its free on kindle unlimited. WOW!!!

Linda August 10, 2014 at 9:46 AM

One clicked this book on your recommendation like forever ago but have always been to wimpy to read it. I’m on my first day at the beach and trying to decide my reads. Thinking Spiral of Bliss series but this one has always had me curious and “tip toeing” around it!!! Help!!! Xoxo

MichelleS August 10, 2014 at 10:37 AM

Oh, why not? One more on my TBR list can’t hurt, right? We could have an apocalypse and then I’ll need lots and lots of reading material…. right? It could happen…..

Maryse August 10, 2014 at 10:56 AM

Then we need to stock up on solar chargers for our ereaders. ;) but then, we’re golden! ;)

MichelleS August 10, 2014 at 11:01 AM

Hadn’t even thought of that!!! I need a back-up generator or something… I freak out now if I run it down and have to charge it…..

Fabi August 10, 2014 at 2:43 PM

Officially on my TBR list now since I missed it the first time around. And, it doesn’t hurt that it’s free on Kindle Unlimited :-)

marina August 11, 2014 at 2:44 PM

absolutely loved this book! bump it up!

Maryse August 11, 2014 at 10:05 PM

I’m curious (without spoilers of course) where everyone’s at with this one… emotion-wise. ;)

whitney August 12, 2014 at 2:22 AM

Best review ever!!!! Perfect for a perfect book!

Penny August 17, 2014 at 10:05 PM

I can’t read this. Your review had my heart racing. I wish I was stronger but I’m not. I’d smash my kindle.

Antonella September 21, 2014 at 7:22 AM

I am so upset that this book is over…..i loved it and I’m all wound up because of it….I feel like I need to go for a run. There was quite a bit of cursing coming out of my mouth at various points but it was all tied up rather nicely. 5 stars from me.

Leave a Comment

 

Notify me of followup comments to this post via e-mail. You can also subscribe without commenting.

Previous post:

Next post: