Book Review – The Mighty Storm by Samantha Towle

by Maryse on August 25, 2012 · 115 comments

in Bad Boys & Rock Stars

The Mighty Storm
*visible adrenaline induced excited-shivers run up my spine*
See them? Whoooooo!!!! Is this going to be the first one of the year where I blog-scream again… “I found it!!! I found another one!!!!?” (okay many of us found it at the same time, considering we’ve been reading it together), but you know what I mean. I am absolutely adding it to my favorites list. And, we found what, exactly? Another tear-your-heart out book-of-angst. That’s what! Is it? YES!!!!!

Have I done it already this year? Screaming at the top of my lungs about this kind of angst? Have I? Oh right. Yes… a couple of them for sure. I’ve been excited over some great ones (and even a few 5-star plus’ers – that remain at the top of my favorites list, I’ll remind you soon enough in an upcoming list), but it’s been a while since I’ve really freaked out hasn’t it? Well consider me freaking.  This one skyrockets to the top, with my favorites. It might not take their place, but it sits right there with them.

Admittedly, I’ve been quietly whining that my latest good/great reads are not hurting me enough… and OMG this one TOTALLY TOTALLLLLLY tore my heart out.

I cried. I did. At a VERY sad part. Full on tears. I was highlighting this book like crazy, all my favorite parts, and then when I hit *that* part (well… one of *those* parts because there are quite a few), I noted this:

I can’t even highlight this, it hurts me so bad.

It’s as if highlighting it would “brighten” it, and, I suppose symbolically, I couldn’t do it. I couldn’t put digital yellow highlighter on it. I couldn’t bring myself to feature any of it, it hurt too bad.  I’ll give you my location… 57%. And there are more after that, but even here, right now with it… it hurts. And then… it hurts worse.

Maryse: 73% and I’m crying … Gah. And now my husband is trying to show me videos of land speeders from star wars while I try to hide the crying…

It’s amazing… Loving it. So much raw emotion, especially once it hit 40%. I feel everything.

And at other parts, I couldn’t cry at all, because my shock was too great. Shaking from emotion, cold fingertips, trembling from anger, tears of heart-wrenching sadness and regret, and moments of exhilarating overwhelming soul-deep love. In that order? I’m not sayin’ But lemme tell you. This book runs the gamut. In fact. I think I need a drink after this one. You know. To calm me down a touch ’cause I’m still feeling way too hyper. That lump is still in my throat, and it hurts… sooooooo good. Remember that one time… when I went off on a rant in one of my reviews, about a certain author who tried to killed me with heartache? No? (here, to refresh your memory).

Well… this poor author almost got one of those, too. Tee hee!! *blush* Instead I gave it to Jenny.

Maryse: Oh god. Kill. Me. Now. Do it!! I’m cold. I just… Oh. … it’s so good, even though I hate it!!!

Ohhh me running around saying I like a book to hurt me. Ha! Be careful what you wish for, cause this one did it. And yet… I’m not regretting a moment of it. I love it.

She was a good buffer, and I was able to control myself somewhat where, instead, I only demanded a book #2. Demand I tell you! Not saying that this one has a cliffhanger or not… just saying… I WANT MORE!!!!!!

Maryse’s Book Blog: Omg I’m so tense. My fingers are cold. I love when I physically have a reaction while heart! Gah!

Jenny: Yes! Maryse! I know where you are! (hugs) xx

Maryse’s Book Blog: ‎”I feel sick and stupid, dizzy and my heart is physically hurting in my chest” …. ummmm, yep. I feel that.

Jenny: Oh good!! And I mean that in the nicest possible way you understand lol! Be sure to keep going after the end…. There’s something extra. ;)

Maryse’s Book Blog: tears…. Darn.

Jenny: (hugs) x

Samantha Towle Hugs from me too x

Maryse’s Book Blog: ‎Samantha Towle without sounding rude… Book # 2 NOW!! (please?)

Samantha Towle: Lol! I’m on it ;)

Jennifer: Just finished The Mighty Storm…..I’m pissed I read it so fast cuz I’m already done :( . It was excellent!!!!!

Kristin: Loved it too!!! I could so enjoy a Jake in my life…YUMMY!!!

Sabrina: Loved it!!! This is my favorite book of 2012!!! It had a little of everything in it!!!! Ahhhhh loved it!!!!!

Maryse’s Book Blog: I am speechlessly happy. However I need to regain my speech so I can review… Loved!!! Loooooved!

And this one will be a tough one, but if you enjoyed Thoughtless and Effortless, this one will be right up your alley!

So what’s it about?

Trudy and Jake were best childhood friends. Every moment of their lives together until they were teens. She knew his childhood secrets (some very sad) and he knew all of her hopes and dreams. They adored each other. But one day, Jake moved away, and he moved on with his teenage bad-boy life. They lost touch. He became a HUGELY famous notorious bad-boy rock star (key words right there!! bad-boy and rock star. Oh and here… lemme throw in another for maximum effect… TATTOOED ;) ) hehe…

Anyway. She is a small time music journalist, and is granted an unexpected opportunity to interview him. And whoa boy!! Her nerves are through the roof. Will he remember her? Will he be the same Jake that she once knew? Or will he be the infamous ass that he’s known for?

The world has him now, and I don’t want to share the Jake I had with anyone, because now, well… from what I see and read in the news, Jake’s not so much like the Jake I knew back then anymore.

He is now the epitome of the rock star he is meant to be.

It may have been years since they’ve seen each other, but Trudy has been pining for him since the day he left her. She may have moved on with her life. She may have a wonderful boyfriend that she loves. But Jake was bone-deep for her. And now here. He. Is.

WOW!!! Sparks fly from the start…

I wasn’t exactly sure why I was so terrified and nervous about seeing him. I just figured it was because of who he is now, his stature. But looking at him here, now, I know why I was so scared.

I was afraid that seeing him again after all this time would cause my old feelings to resurface. And seeing Jake, looking like this, I just know that I am so completely and totally f*&ked.

… tension mounts, things… happen.

When she is asked by her boss to tour with them to write his biography, her life changes drastically. She tries to control it. Things. Her “normal” with her boyfriend who is patiently trying to accept this…

He suddenly sounds all territorial. Not like Will at all.

“It’s not a date, silly. It’s just two old friends catching up.”

“Yes, and one half of those old friends happens to be my very beautiful girlfriend, and the other, the man-whore of the rock world.”

… vs. the mighty storm that takes place in her life, in her heart, while being in such close proximity to her once, best friend. His entourage, his fans, his magnetism, his rock star persona…. his real self. And she gets to experience it all, front row and center. What a whirlwind. And what a mighty storm it is.

And guess what? You get to experience every single bit of it, through her eyes.

Okay well you get to experience *most* of it. And that is my only complaint. At times I felt chunks were missing to skip us ahead to important parts of the story. Which is fine, every once in awhile, but there were two particular occasions where we were told what was happening, or what had just happened in the span of a few days that I would have preferred experiencing (even just a little). Perhaps might have connected me even more to the story in the beginning when things were… moving along. ;)  Once I hit the 30-40% mark though, the story found it’s pacing (or maybe I did), and I was in and feeling it all (although it’s good from the start. No worries. There is nothing boring about this one – at least not to me).

And there was one part that sort of skipped to the middle of something important (I wont say what) had me a touch surprised in regards to a sudden “tone-change”. Had I experienced it building, (even in bits and pieces), it might have had even more of an effect on my emotional turmoil.

Ahhhh emotional turmoil. Another keyword! ‘Cause this one is not an easy lighthearted read. These characters are far from perfect, and you will encounter some very raw and gritty situations. The author’s attention to detail, and I mean every little touch during integral parts, reactions and conversations… perfect!!! So REAL. There are cringe-worthy scenes, and MANY moments that make you feel bad for enjoying such an angsty read. Mistakes, heartbreaks, misunderstandings, the works. But if you like that kind of read (and soooo many of us do), THIS IS IT!!!!!!! MUST READ. MUST!!!

“You’re mine, Tru. I’m not sharing you with him anymore.”


5 stars PLUS!!!

P.S. Next up: My What to Read After Thoughtless List (should I give you a quick hint here? This book is pretty much first on the list.)

Here is a shortform version – I’m preparing my real version of the list and it will follow my usual format (with my reasons for picking them which is namely SUPER ANGSTY (<—key word) intense do-anything-for-love including deception, lies, secrets, involving love triangles and/or bad-boys or famous boys that will tear themselves apart for the one woman they can’t live without):

Get Free Email Updates from me :)

{ 115 comments… read them below or add one }

stief August 25, 2012 at 5:41 PM

Looks great! Can I have a wee spoiler though, with all the turmoil and angst… is there a happily ever after? Not sure I can put myself through it if there’s no HEA :( x

Maryse August 25, 2012 at 5:49 PM

hehe. I can’t say it here … Email me, and I’ll reply :)

Ruth August 25, 2012 at 6:51 PM

This review was made for me (self-centered moment). I just finished devouring Thoughtless yesterday and am was in limbo as to what to read next. I need a minute before Effortless. Thoughtless had me possessed. Thanks for the wooow review I now have a new book to obsess with. Yeah!

Maureen August 25, 2012 at 7:06 PM

Perfect timing! I’m starting this one tonight. I just finished re-reading Thoughtless. (Ruth, I loved it more the second time. Since I knew the outcome, I could relax and read it without being an emotional wreck.) Maryse, Thank you! I can’t wait for the real version of your SUPER ANGSTY list. Oh boy, oh boy, oh boy!

Samantha August 25, 2012 at 7:13 PM

I loved it! Wish i would have read slower. :(

Maryse August 25, 2012 at 7:18 PM

You know what? I was going over some parts in my head again, and thinking that this was totally a “re-read” book.

I bet, this one too, would be better the second time around. I could slow down and savor …. things. ;)

Carla August 25, 2012 at 7:20 PM

Oh my! Thoughtless feelings? :)
Omg! I love so much when I get in here and find you screaming “I found it! I found it” hahahaha I was missing this. It was the first time this year, wasn’t it? I was starting to think oh god when are we going to find some precious thing again?!
I was going to start reading “backstage pass” now but after this I’ll have to put it down again and start this one right now.
Is Jake like Kellan? ;)

Laura J. August 25, 2012 at 7:24 PM

I completely agree with you! This one sucker punched me and I actually feel sad tonight because I have no idea what to read to top this one! I am in “book mourning.” It hurt that good. :)

Kirsten August 25, 2012 at 7:32 PM

Ruth- I needed more then a minute after Thoughtless, although parting from Kellan for a day was difficult. Jake will help with that feeling. :)
I had a difficult time putting this one down, so I didn’t. I enjoyed each character in this book and thought they were developed nicely. I was emotionally involved with this pretty much from the start and I love that! The writing was excellent and Maryse’s review is of course spot on. Super Angsty indeed!

Anas Attic Sexy Tales August 25, 2012 at 7:37 PM

Wow. Now I’m scared to read it! Though I loved Beautiful Disaster and Love Unscripted, effortless, opportunist, how to kill, and sheet music were not my favorites. I don’t like liars and cheaters. So should I read anyway?

Michelle Russo August 25, 2012 at 7:41 PM

Can’t find it on Barnes & Noble???

Maryse August 25, 2012 at 7:50 PM

It should be up within the next day or so Michelle. You can get it on Smashwords I believe for now, but B&N should follow shortly.

Kirsten August 25, 2012 at 7:50 PM

Anas Attic I say YES!

Maryse August 25, 2012 at 7:53 PM

Carla… Jake was a wonderful character (sweet, beautiful, but flawed) but I love them that way. You know me…

Yes, I’d say I recognized Kellan moments and Travis moments if you’re trying to get a good idea of his character and moods, going in. At least, to me that’s who he reminded me of, and I loved that. Tortured bad-boy uber-famous that can have what he wants, but… you know. Can’t always handle that pressure, and wants something, but doesn’t always know how to go about it.


But this is a two-way street story, and you’ll see. He’s not the only one making waves. Their whole entourage (her crew, his crew, families etc..) fits in perfectly, and there are a few angsty *issues* that arise as the story progresses.

Maryse August 25, 2012 at 7:57 PM

Laura! Me too. I haven’t been in book mourning in ages. Well, I was when I re-read Beautiful Disaster a couple of weeks ago for the release party, but “officially” it has been quite a while.

I’m starting “If I Were You”, but not sure if I’m ready to leave Jake just yet, you know?

Maryse August 25, 2012 at 7:58 PM

Kirsten! I love that you were able to pick out the “parts” i was referring to in your email. Was fun to discuss that! :)

Maryse August 25, 2012 at 8:01 PM

Ana… eeeeep!! I don’t want to give anything away, and it would seem we have slightly different tastes on some of these books, so I don’t want to insist you read it in case it really isn’t your thing (because I know and can understand that some of this kind of subject matter definitely does not appeal to all).

I agree that kind of angst really is hurtful and emotionally draining, and sometimes while reading I ask myself… ack!! How can I be enjoying this so much?

But I dunno. They emotion is super-deep, the flaws and mistakes are kind of… real. So I guess that’s what keeps me coming back for more.

And overall, the whole thing, put together… the whole “effect” of this story was perfectly in tune with what I love to read because I became involved with it directly. Hated moments, loved moments, cried for some, I was back and forth and all over the place with how I felt, and who I was rooting for.

I like doing that, and I can say after everything I went through (they went through), I was exhilarated. I loved it.

Laura J. August 25, 2012 at 8:12 PM

I just bought “How to Kill a Rockstar.” I have stayed away out of fear of too much angst, but I think it is time. I’ve been flirting with it for months! Not starting tonight though because I need a full 8 hours after being up with Jake last night. :)

Ruth August 25, 2012 at 8:59 PM

Going to follow advice and reread Thoughtless until B&N has TMS. Thanks for the comments!

Scamp August 25, 2012 at 10:34 PM

Buying right now. I LOOOVE MY ANGST!!!

Lucy August 25, 2012 at 11:33 PM

i totally think we have the same tastes in books..i’ve read everyone of the books you mentioned above..and so many more!.. i love the angst in these books, i feel like some times something dramatic has to happen in a book to get me on that emotional level. This book went straight up there with my faves too. I cried my heart full on sobbing i couldn’t see the screen.. would have been highly embarrassing if someone came and saw me at that moment crying at a book but i cant help it when i get that involved with the story. Cannot wait for some of the major releases over the next couple of months, hoping they get to me like this book has..theres not enough of these amazing books around. I have to just keep rereading my faves but thats not all bad i suppose, i love them that much! :)

Cree August 26, 2012 at 12:15 AM

Just finished it…AWESOME! I want more!!! *sigh*

Sarah August 26, 2012 at 12:25 AM

I’m only 28% into it! After reading your reviews I Now I wish I didn’t have a life outside of reading! getting back to it ASAP!

Teresa H. August 26, 2012 at 1:07 AM

It is currently 2 a.m., and I am only 36% into it, but I am already loving this book. I guess that this will be another sleepless night. I need to quit reading your blog so late and downloading these books at 1 a.m. Books are my drug of choice, and I am pretty sure that you are my new drug pusher. My husband just kicked me out of the bed and told me to move my butt to the couch. It’s not my problem that he has to get up at 5 a.m. to go to work. Hee. Hee. I can’t wait to get to the angst, but I better get my HEA. Everyone……READ THIS BOOK!!!

Sabrina August 26, 2012 at 2:35 AM

OK, after reading this review and all the comments I have to get the book right now. I just hope that Jake and Tru will get a fantastic HEA.

Annie August 26, 2012 at 2:59 AM

Thanks again for an awesome review of an awesome book! TMS rightfully earns a top spot on the Thoughtless list. I absolutely loved it! I also agree that Ms. Towle needs to write a sequel. This is definitely a book worth re-reading. I know I’ll be re-reading it in the near future.

Minha August 26, 2012 at 6:13 AM

Half way through and loving it!!!! Thank you Maryse for another great recommendation. I am in book heaven right now… :)

Rebecka August 26, 2012 at 8:33 AM

Oh god my husband is gonna kill me. My kindle app got a workout yesterday while I devoured a book called Chaser. (On a side note it was super good and I had to message the author to tell him I wanted to bitch slap one of his characters. Lol.) and it looks like today I will be in a book-space (like sub-space for readers heehee) cause this sounds freaking awesome. But hey it’s my birthday.

Maryse August 26, 2012 at 8:52 AM

Happy birthday Rebecka!! It’s your party and you’ll read if you want to!! ;)

And you’ll likely cry a bit, too. Hehe.

sandy August 26, 2012 at 11:55 AM

i’m at 50% and loving it, but sadly i had to put the book down to prepare for a possible hurricane, (sad part to living in Florida) so now i’m hurring to get thru so i can get back to reading but i’m scared at same time this book is just as u said and its killing me though i’m loving it… ugghh, i live for these types of books but not sure my heart can take it, LOL:)

Ronnie August 26, 2012 at 1:08 PM

I’m so happy I listened to you and decided to read this book! Couldn’t help myself and I ended up reading the ENTIRE book last night! (went to bed at 5AM…but it was TOTALLY worth it!) I cried a few times too, but it was the BEST kind of crying! ;)

bookster August 26, 2012 at 2:48 PM

I’m so excited!!! Can’t wait to start it if it has all of you that excited.

Lise August 26, 2012 at 5:04 PM

I hurt myself today,
To see if I still feel,
I focus on the pain,
The only thing that’s real


Takisha August 26, 2012 at 7:42 PM

After reading this review I put “Stolen” on hold and checked out the sample of TMS. I bought this book at 1225am…was up reading until 5am and just finished now at 537pm….This book made me laugh, cry…had me happy, sad, mad…..This book was everything!!!

Tori August 26, 2012 at 8:45 PM

Loved it. In book mourning for sure. Is there really gonna be a #2, ’cause I agree with you, Maryse…it can’t be over!

Jessica LeBrun August 26, 2012 at 9:24 PM

I loved the book. Bought it around noon and just now finished. Mighty Storm was another book that caused me to ignore life around me. I hopw Towle writes a book for Tom and Will. I have not checked her website yet to find out that info but will do now!!

Maryse August 26, 2012 at 9:26 PM

Yep there sure is! Very anxious for more. I wonder where it’s going to go…

Tiffany August 26, 2012 at 10:21 PM

Amazing is all I can say. Seemed like this could be a real story to me. I could feel Tru’s pain regarding her love for him from the start and how nervous she was at there first encounter. Also love the spoiler at the end of the book! Can’t wait for the next book! Don’t think I will start anything new since Love Unrehearsed is coming out on Saturday!! Will just have to re read Love Unscripted through the week!!!

Bia August 26, 2012 at 10:39 PM

Teheeeeee..Maryse!! It HAS been forever since you “Squeeeeed” like, huh?? I was kind of waiting…and guess what? I’m on a “Thoughtless and Effortless” re-read this weekend, and then…BOOOM!! You SQUEEEEEEING about this one got me so, but so excited I just stopped Effortless right now and I’m on it… I know right? I think the same “What’s wrong that I like these really angsty books, but can’t help it too.
It’s too rel, and I. Love. It…thanks for Squeeing!!! Lol..

mhalou August 27, 2012 at 2:17 AM

purchased the ebook of TMS in amazon/kindle as soon as i read your blog yesterday. started yesterday afternoon and finished it before lunch today! the book was amazing. this is really a good read if you’re coming out from the thoughtless/effortless books. i’m glad i always look in your blog and was able to see your review regarding TMS. any more of these kind of themed books? what’s the next good book after this? otherwise, i might find myself re-reading this!

Elizabeth G. August 27, 2012 at 6:10 AM

This book was very reminiscent of Thoughtless…which I LOVED, so thank you for the recommendation. I loved Jake (though no one can live up to Kellan in my opinion.) I feel the same way about a sequel to this as I do the sequel to Thoughtless and Effortless….I can’t wait, but I really hate that they will have to go through even more. I feel bipolar because I want more which requires more angst, but I want them to be happy.

Elizabeth G. August 27, 2012 at 6:25 AM

PS – I think the Adele song that is her replacement ring tone is “One and Only” – just my thought :-)

stacy August 27, 2012 at 7:43 AM

You should try her vampire books series. I’ve been desperately waiting for the next one to come out and the feeling is the EXACT same as TMS. She is an excellent writer.

Lane August 27, 2012 at 9:10 AM

Will there be a second book in this series? I would Love from Jake’s POV:)

Nina Gomez August 27, 2012 at 9:18 AM

Loved the book! Couldn’t put it down. Thanks for recommending!

Erin August 27, 2012 at 10:04 AM

When will it be available on Nook? Read the preview now can’t wait to read more!!!!!

Cheryl August 27, 2012 at 10:05 AM

Another book I highly suggest that has angst + rock stars is “Fall from Grace” by Christine Zolendz. However, this book is paranormal as well. This was on Maryse’s release list last week $1.50. Highly recommend – great read if you like the above mentioned books.

Takisha August 27, 2012 at 10:10 AM

So as TMS is still playing in my head….it reminds me of a book I read few months back called “Strangers” by Barbara Elsborg. Jake & Charlie (guy in Strangers) are similar…has anyone read Strangers? Do you see the similarities?

Maryse August 27, 2012 at 10:40 AM

Yes there will be a second book (a sequel still from “Tru’s POV” but will have tidbits from Jake’s..

Here is what the author just blogged:

“Over the last few days I’ve been asked quite a few times if there will be a sequel to The Mighty Storm, the short answer to that is … yes! Like TMS, the sequel will be mainly told from Tru’s POV … but there will be some Jake ‘treats’ in there too ;)

Release date will be early Spring 2013″

*squeeeeeeeee* YES!!!!! Very excited!

and YES the book will be available on Nook, it appears it just takes a bit longer for them to post it, for some reason.

Angela August 27, 2012 at 10:56 AM

Finally one I read along with you, loved this one too! Only I read it super fast because I had to know what happened and I am having a hard time moving on to something new. Think I am going to have to go back and re-read this one slowly so I can take it all in…again! Thanks for all your amazing recommendations!

Nina August 27, 2012 at 12:42 PM

I read both the Opportunist and The MIghty Storm over the weekend. Two books I couldn’t put down! Like you, Maryse, I was trying to find different ways of interpreting the end of the Opportunist. I can’t wait for the sequel.
As for The Mighty Storm, it was such a heartfelt story. I cried when he was *spoiler*. His words were just so emotional, I couldn’t take it!

Shan August 27, 2012 at 4:19 PM

Maryse!!!! What are you doing!? *kicking my feet like a spoiled two year old* LMAO :D I am only midway through Avoiding Commitment and after reading this review I immediately went and got it for my Kindle, it sounds so darn juicy!!! And um, they did it right with the cover this time…DAYUUMMM!!! Don’t judge a book by it’s cover, um whatever, it helps ;) Can’t wait! Let me get through this train wreck that is Jack and Lexi so I can feel the pain all over again…hehehehe

Lesley August 27, 2012 at 4:42 PM

You’re killing me!!! Oh my goodness I so want to read ( I’m 1/3 in so far but had to stop when Will *spoiler* *** sorry if that was a spoiler) this but the angst is killing me and I’m going over and over it in my mind. I want to stop but I want to read it. I want a sequel now and then again …..UUUUUGGGGG I don’t always want there to be a happy ending because that doesn’t happen in real life and I’m not sure where this will end up but I can’t stop thinking about it. UUUGGGGGG

shadow August 27, 2012 at 6:31 PM

OH! I loved it! The ultimate book, with all the ups and downs. Tears and laughter. It will take me a few days (if I can) to get over this experience. Highly would advise to read and I’m glad we will get more from Tru and Jack.

Mint August 27, 2012 at 9:56 PM

OMG. I’m only at 27% and loving it. I already see heartache coming. Will. Oh. Tru. Oh. Please don’t make it too difficult on Jake.
I came over to your site just to check out the updates.. and I saw your review. Oh god. I skim through and see some word like “heartache” and “tore my heart out”. Oh god. I had to skip reading your review. Oh Jake. Oh Jake. Let me get back to read the book…. >.<

Tracy August 27, 2012 at 10:08 PM

Any word on a Nook release date? I am DYING to read this book…ugh…

Kristina August 27, 2012 at 10:42 PM

OMG, I am only 20% in and want to read all night. Problem is I have to work. I’m in so much trouble…

Maryse August 27, 2012 at 11:01 PM

Yep… all of you who are reading this now and have to work tomorrow… hehehe. You’ll be book-zombies!

I just checked on author’s Facebook and I do not see an announcement about B&N yet. Not sure when it will be available for Nook (takes a few days more I suppose…) but as soon as I know I’ll announce :)

and to all of you who’ve contacted me and/or left a comment … thank goodness I’m not alone in my intense book-angst-addiction.


Sara Minor August 28, 2012 at 12:14 AM

It was so good!! (and I just downloaded sheet music per your list above. I’ve read everything else!) TMS had me hooked. Loved the story and loved Jack and Tru. It really had me on edge until the very end. I would love more of Jacks pov….. Looking forward to book 2

lisa August 28, 2012 at 4:16 AM

all I could say is WOW! I will miss this book!

Keighley August 28, 2012 at 7:08 AM

Straight to th top of the TBR! anything that gets you this excited has to be read :-)

Jennifer R. August 28, 2012 at 12:35 PM

I just finished this emotion mover this morning at 6:30. I never once thought about sleep. All I can say is that if you like to read books that will stay in your thoughts for months then “The Mighty Storm” is for you!
Thank you so much for your site, Maryse. Since I found you earlier this year you have made this mother of three, sixth grade teacher, wife and all a very fullfilled person!

Bia August 28, 2012 at 2:25 PM

To: Jennifer R. (and Maryse)
WHAT an awesome, sweet, but TRUE compliment from Jennifer R. to Maryse!! ( Since you found her…made you a very fullfilled person..awww)..I know right?? Maryse’s EXCELLENT at this, and she’s just a very sweet, humble, nice, regular book lover, just like us! Because of those qualities, I believe that’s WHY all of us not only LOVE her Blog, but we also Connect with HER simply because she absolutely loves what she does! Since ALL of us found her (me about 1 1/2 ago), we’ve all been “Bank Broke” buying ALL her recommendations ..LOL…but happy about it… I’ve NEVER not liked/loved a book she read it..
And THIS one..just..WOW!
Thoughtless & Effortless + Beautiful Disaster has always been on my # 1 Contemp. Romance spot, but THIS ONE..(TMS) will definitely be right up there with the other 3.. couldn’t be??
Maryses the ONLY blog I follow, and I have recommended her to so many of my friends, I lost count…
I think she deserves to be recognized as “The Best” Blogger out there!! She doesn’t do it for $, she does it out of LOVE..AND IT SHOWS! Love of reading, love of sharing her excitment or a new “Indie Author’s” talent, talents that otherwise would never stand a chance. In my opinion, THAT is the reason “she’s a no-contest with any other Blogs out there” They can’t beat her Blog. It’s the “Ultimate” guide for us, lovers of books..
(BTW, I’m like you, Wife, Mother of 3, and Mid 30′s!)
Thank you Maryse, from all of us!

Dena August 28, 2012 at 5:30 PM

Just finished this and I have to say it is up there for me as one of the best after thoughtless books to read. I am in love with Jake. Had me missing sleep and crying at times. As always you are dead on with the types of books that are great!! Can’t wait until Spring 2013 for the next one =(

Sin August 28, 2012 at 7:00 PM

Maryse,your site is amazing.Always make sure to check your site every couple of days for your recommendations.I’ve searched the internet for other sites like yours, but couldn’t find any. You are UNIQUE!!! Keep the reviews & recommendations coming.

Anas Attic Sexy Tales August 28, 2012 at 7:57 PM

Turns out I ignored my kids all day (bad mommy) and I LOVED TMS. Though I didn’t love a number of the books I saw it compared to here, I loved The Mighty Storm. :)

connie morris August 28, 2012 at 9:52 PM

I loved this book . But I don’t think I want another book It would make me nervous.

Nat August 28, 2012 at 11:24 PM

I really enjoyed this book and the roller coaster ride of angst. But, and maybe I’m the only one…. I didn’t like Jake as much as I’d hoped to. Also, I felt the ending didn’t come together well (trying to avoid spoilers). This book had the feel of Thoughtless but wasn’t as well developed IMO. I really loved Kellan more and thought the ending made more sense than this one.

Jennifer C August 29, 2012 at 9:18 AM

JUST ADDED THIS TO MY FAVORITES LIST!!!! This ranks right up there with Beautiful Disaster! I Loved it!!!!!!!!!

Sara J August 29, 2012 at 11:50 AM

From you review:

Maryse’s Book Blog: Omg I’m so tense. My fingers are cold. I love when I physically have a reaction while heart! Gah!

I TOTALLY had a physical reaction too.. it was crazy. My stomach literally sunk like on a rollercoaster and I got cold. I have never had a reaction like that to a book. It was crazy! I’m thinking its the same part.. God, I loved this book, but wished there were more.. that it didn’t end there.

Maryse August 29, 2012 at 12:16 PM


There will be more, Sara!! She is writing a sequel.

Minha August 29, 2012 at 8:00 PM

I really enjoyed TMS, but I felt like something was missing. I cant really point it out… Maybe a deeper connection between the two main characters. I felt them individually, but when they were interacting it seamed like the feelings were not that deep… When they were together I could not feel their love in that painfully wonderful way I’ve felt when reading other books.

J'aime August 30, 2012 at 12:19 AM

Yessssss!!! Loved this book so much! Must go and find me a rockstar ASAP! Another outstanding review by you Miss Maryse :)

anne August 30, 2012 at 7:02 AM

Just finished The Mighty Storm and LOVED, LOVED, LOVED it! Some fantastic scenes – loved the whole Mr Brightside section!

stephanie August 30, 2012 at 1:21 PM

Just finished the mighty storm and what a ride! Loved it and can’t wait for the next one…. Hurry soon Samantha!

becky September 3, 2012 at 3:53 PM

really want to read this book but its not available at barnes and noble for the nook :(

Keighley September 5, 2012 at 3:52 AM

Finished TMS last night and loved it! As you said in th review slightly annnoying when story would skip ahead a few days and then the tone change when it took you right into the middle of something… it was like I was sorry i had turned the page, things were so perfect and then…:-(
I LOVED Jake, he was so emotional and knew exactly what he wanted from tru right from beginning.

I cant get an account with the forum, I’ve tried a few times but no success. I need to unleash my full book crazy :-0

KL September 6, 2012 at 4:53 AM

Maryse, I love your recommendations and I usually love everything you’ve raved about. You introduced me to some of my favorites (how to kill a rock star, the opportunist, thoughtless/effortless, BD, reluctant dom). But I must say, this book did not fulfill my angsty needs! I think i felt more angst from the fact that i was actually sitting through the book than the story line. From the looks of the comments, I must be the only one. It was terribly written (one line in particular stood out to me: “That obviously hasn’t changed obviously.” Really???!), I noticed one particular part was completey out of order (the show where jake talks about Jonny takes place after Tru and Jake supposedly discussed Jonny in bed. Then several chapters later during the affair, while in bed, Tru says Jake talks to her about Jonny for the first time. Hmmm…I actually had to rewind to make sure I read it correctly), and it was extremely predictable, especially with the author or narrator’s constant foreshadowing. “oh someone’s knocking at the door, it’s probably _____. Oh jk it’s Jake, what a surprise for the 10th time!” I’m sorry but this was way overrated in my opinion :( all of this ruined the intensity and angst for me that Thoughtless had. I don’t feel anything for Tru, not even irritation like I did Kiera for hurting the guys, just indifferent. Same goes for jake vs. kellan. There isn’t nearly enough passion there. I really felt Kellan’s pain, but not Jake’s. And it also had to do a lot with the skipping around the author did. Really kills the mood!

Maybe someone can shed some light and show me what is so great that these can all be overlooked?

Eunice September 6, 2012 at 8:39 AM

It is still not available for the nook.. super sad face

Sara J September 6, 2012 at 9:02 AM


You should be able buy it on smashwords, download the epub file version onto your computer and then transfer it to your nook.. I googled it and that what it says you can do…

Maryse September 6, 2012 at 10:24 AM

Hi KL!!

*hug* and thank you for the sweet comments about some of our favorite books!

As for your question, I get it, for sure. I can completely understand that not all of the books I loved will be loved by everyone (even for those of us that enjoy similar types of books).

For me, it was simply the progression of the story, the raw moments, and the emotions I felt while reading it that cinched this one as one of my favorites. I felt it, and I believed it, and I was able to visualize the good and bad moments, as if I were there. As if it were me.

Of course another round of editing could polish this one up beautifully, but I suppose I was so into it, that while I noticed the occasional editing issues, I wasn’t distracted by them (except for a few of those “skip-aheads” to another part of the story, especially that one that I mentioned in the review, that really should have been played out fully).

Overall though, this story still worked for me and made me feel all sorts of things. Even when I was upset, I was elated that I was reading it.

KL September 6, 2012 at 12:55 PM

Thanks for replying! I’ll admit though that it did come together more towards the end. (No it didn’t. Yes it did. Crap! *Tru’s constant thought process* :P ) but thank you so much for all your recommendations! My TBR list got so big that my tiny iPhone just wasn’t cutting it for my constant reading. Had to buy a reader!!!

Minha September 7, 2012 at 6:26 AM

kL, I agree with your comment. It really lacked passion… But it was still a good read.

Eunice September 7, 2012 at 2:46 PM

I finally read it and I LOVED IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Thanks!! xoxoxo

Nicola September 8, 2012 at 8:25 AM

Have you ever been reading and looked down at the page counter to see how much of the book you had left to go so you would know how much emotional turmoil the author was going to put you through? Well, I’m nearing the halfway mark but I’m really thinking Oh S#%t, i’m ONLY halfway through! I’m not sure my heart can handle it. I mean, of course, that’s why I read these books because I like the emotional turmoil and the fact that despite my subconscious reminding me that it’s only a book, my emotions are just as fierce as before. But right now I’m mentally bracing myself for the second half of this book (nearing 4 am my fiancé told me it was bedtime, lol). And to think I would not have read this book but for Maryse because she said it was 5plus stars and if she said it, it is true. So thanks, I think. Well, in true Maryse fashion, let me mull it over, after, I finish reading it, and I’ll get back to you on that.

Maryse September 8, 2012 at 12:57 PM

Yep Nicola!! Totally what I do! And when you really love a book, don’t you just keep looking at how fast it’s almost over?

Ruth September 8, 2012 at 8:06 PM

Well said Nicola! I’m with you!

Kim September 10, 2012 at 5:51 PM

Okay I’m reading this one now and I’m just at the part where she is joining the tour! I’m so cringing about the angsty parts! I just read The Memory Thief by Emily Colin a few weeks back and literally bawled my eyes out the whole time! My hubby has been warned.

Just bought Tempt Me today so so so can’t wait to read it! I have a list of over 161 Rock Star Romances on Goodreads :) I’m a tad bit obsessed! So glad I found you!!!

Eunice September 14, 2012 at 8:10 AM

The Mighty Storm… OMG OMG OMG OMG.. I think it has become one of my favorite books.. Love it from beginning to end.. Loved it!!

Robin September 14, 2012 at 8:15 PM

Hooooooly Craaaaaap!!! I love me some Jake Wethers! This book is SO good!

Andrea September 18, 2012 at 10:12 AM

When I thought I couldn’t love a book the way I love Thoughtless/Effortless – TMS was amazing! I still love Kellen but Jake is pretty amazing too! This book had me sitting w/a box of tissues. CAN’T WAIT for the next book!

Cassidy September 21, 2012 at 8:22 AM

Top 5!!!!!!! Loved this book and so ready for the follow up!!!!!

Ana September 21, 2012 at 2:59 PM

Thank you Maryse for another great book recommendation! You never dissapoint!! What a great story! I was possessed while reading Thoughtless & Effortless and I agree 100% that this was the perfect follow-up! Great characters, their bond is so bone-deep, and lots and lots of angst and purr moments — well maybe a little more would have been even better!! I agreed completely with your review, and I did LOVE this story from beginning to end and CANNOT WAIT for the 2nd book! Jake, Kellan, Christian, Travis, Caleb, Jack, Brian — can’t get enough of this!! ;) Thank you again so much and keep them coming!

lynn September 23, 2012 at 2:05 PM

Just finished it this morning….loved it:-):-)

Steph September 25, 2012 at 10:59 AM

Just finished it and I absolutely loved it! Cant wait for the sequel!!!

Muriel September 25, 2012 at 11:03 AM

Love this book. Although most of our heroes have a tragic flaw (all good characters have one) we don’t always get to see them as graphically as we see Jake’s. It was uncomfortable but realistic and Tru reactions were believable. Can’t wait for the next book!

On another note…thanks Maryse for such great recommendations. Now, before I pick a book I check what you have to say about it. Next to Mr. Grey, you are my favorite find of the summer!

zizz September 25, 2012 at 6:30 PM

I couldn’t finish the book I was reading and moved on to this based on your book review. I’m glad I did. In the middle though I was scared that it was going to turn into another Thoughtless. I know that book is so well-loved but I just couldn’t stand the girl MC with her indecisiveness and awful cheating. So glad when Tru finally decided to choose. I didn’t know what conflict to expect after she broke off with Will but the story moved along quite well after that. Does your heart beat so fast every time there’s a scene in there that alludes to the guy cheating?! Mine does – this one, The Opportunist, Clash – just to name a few….

I’m glad this wasn’t the case here. I don’t think I can live with a male MC who cheated. I am looking forward to the sequel.

Michelle September 26, 2012 at 8:15 AM

Just finished the book last night. Loved it!!!! I loved the deep connection between Tru and Jake. Oh and the angst… There were some parts that I wished she had written out completely instead of just telling us what happened, but i went through all the emotions with them. I think it was beautifully written…another rock star to add to my list. Thank you Maryse for the recommendation. So looking forward to the next book–will definitely be rereading TMS.

Maryse September 26, 2012 at 9:21 AM

Yep guys, this was a rock star book that I was craving and that fulfilled my “rock-star read” needs. The typical things you’d have to deal with being in love with a rock star, PLUS some extra stuff. I can’t wait for book #2!

Marta October 5, 2012 at 5:08 PM

Samantha Towle just posted today that she has decided to release the seque lto The Mighty Storm a lot earlier as in December 21st 2012 yay :) at the expense of some of her other work though..
I saw it on her goodreads blog entry

Kristin October 15, 2012 at 12:07 PM

Omg…loved it!!! Decided to buy it last night on the whim and was quickly in love. I couldn’t put it down but had to by the middle of the night..needed some in the morning. I just wanted to know more and find out what happens. I was so enticed by the book. Definitely recommending it to everyone that I know. If your looking for a great read that has your heart pumping this is definitely the one.

Maryse October 15, 2012 at 12:48 PM


Lauren October 27, 2012 at 3:53 AM

Yayyyyyy its finally available on the nook! I can’t wait to read it!

Marisa Bowman October 28, 2012 at 11:56 AM

I have been putting this book off for months now,only because of the comparison to How to Kill a Rockstar. I love,love that book! I was not expecting what I I got out of that book and am still in a “book depression”, but in a good way. TMS was great. I could not put it down. I love it when I get nervous reading a book. This one did it to me:) Thanks!!!!!!

Lisa October 30, 2012 at 1:02 PM

I haven’t felt this depressed since Fifty Shades, in the best way possible. TMS was my first bad-boy/rock star book and now I know why I was holding off for so long before starting a new genre of bad boys (but I don’t think I can stop now!) What an amazing book….from the story line, characters, and bad-boy meets girl-next-door gushy feelings I got! I totally agree that TMS should be part of a duet….I’ve already come up with a few good scenarios of my own ;-) ! Please, please, paleeeeese Samantha give us another one!!!!

Lisa October 30, 2012 at 1:06 PM

Ok, so evidentally she (Samantha Towle) has hear our requests….just went to her blog and saw the relase of TMS#2 is this Dec.!!! I just squeeled at work, lol, is that even aloud, hehe!!!!

Nikki Eddy November 9, 2012 at 3:10 PM

I know I’m a bit behind (darn Nook) but I have to agree with KL on this one. After reading all these opinions I kept thinking, “What am I missing?” My best friend recommended this one as her top 5 as well. Maybe it was just too pumped up for me and so I was expecting more. I didn’t get the angst every one else felt, although I did want to keep reading to see if everything ties up in a nice little bow…..maybe it does maybe it doesn’t…..but I think I was wanting more….like maybe he’d OD or attack her in a drug enduced state….isn’t that awful? I just needed something deeper. It felt a bit too PG-13 with the occasional cuss word. I never lost my breath or dropped my Nook once, my sign of true “on fire, hotness” – this one was a slow boil at best in the bedroom/bathroom/dressing room….department ;) anyway, if the sequel is just this book but from Jake’s perspective I may pass. If it is a new story I’m sure I’ll read.

Joy November 25, 2012 at 12:59 AM

I’m emotionally spent… Whew!!!

Katrina December 28, 2012 at 5:48 PM

So…… I really loved this book. I enjoyed Jake and Tru and they felt really real to me. I’m actually kind of missing them right now. I’ve read how people felt this book wasn’t great like Thoughtless- well, I never understood the whole Thoughtless craze :) This is definitely I’m my top of 2012 reads!!!

Patty January 24, 2013 at 9:20 AM

OK.. I am 60% in and I’m becoming afraid that I will be heart broken at the end….can someone just tell me if I will be or not……sorry…it’s killing me.

Patty January 24, 2013 at 9:22 AM

Oh yeah…also…does anyone know if there is a playlist out there for TMS…the music is amazing throughout the book!!!

Patty January 25, 2013 at 9:46 AM

OK… I just finished…absolutely loved it….BUT…..I think I would have liked 1 more Chapter that followed the girl’s public admission and apology….as well as a little bit of how she became more comfortable in his lifestyle…….. Hopefully when book 2 comes out from his POV it can be done.

april February 5, 2013 at 5:07 PM

Ok just finished Fallen Too Far and just bought this one!!! I NEED to stay away from your list! I’ve bought 5 books in less then 5 days!! But I am loving it!!!

Erica February 11, 2013 at 11:51 PM

Stumbled upon your blog while looking for books similar to Thoughtless. Ended up reading this one and LOVED IT! You know the author is creating a sequel that is due out in Aug ’13! It’s called “Wethering the Storm.” Can’t wait!

Nicole P June 9, 2013 at 10:25 AM

OMG!!! I absolutely LOVED this book. Read it in less that 24 hours. The emotions: powerful, raw, crying. This is exactly what I was looking for in a book. I was in a book funk, until I found this. This book goes beyond 5 stars. Thank your for posting this on your site. AMAZING!!! :)

Leave a Comment


Notify me of followup comments to this post via e-mail. You can also subscribe without commenting.

Previous post:

Next post: