Book Review – Thoughtless by S.C. Stephens

by Maryse on August 26, 2011 · 92 comments

in Bad Boys & Rock Stars, S.C. Stephens

I found it!!! I founnnnnnd it!! Another one that had me clutching my heart like Travis did. Heh. Some of you guys are trying to kill me… and I loved every sleepless moment of it. What a completely absorbing rock star recommendation you had for me, this time.

It usually takes me a day or two to come down from a book, so I can review it properly. But this one has me all twisted inside, and I need to deal with it now. And you know what? There’s a part TWO!! Guess what I’ll be reading all weekend? The only way to do that, without guilt, is to get this one off my chest now. There’s a lump in my throat, and it’s been there for three days straight. It kinda hurts.

Lily:  Good Morning
Maryse: Lily, I’m going to die of sleep exhaustion. Errr? I mean sleep deprivation.
Lily:  lol
Maryse:  3 freaking AM cause of another book that is KILLING me!! For real. I am tired. To death.
Lily:  These books are killing  you but it seems to be a happy death and you are glutton for punishment

This book, has probably been the worst of ‘em in terms of sleepless nights. Or maybe they’re all just catching up with me. “Indie” book after “indie” book of pure angst, emotion, anticipation and edge of your seat drama. I’ve gone from going to sleep by midnight every night (a few months ago), to 3am almost every night now. And I have to get up in the morning for work. It’s funny how I work through my days in a zombie-like exhaustion, thinking tonight, there is no way I can continue to read this book – I need sleep. Then, I pick it up for just a half hour or so and before I know it, it’s 2am and I’m wide awake and in an emotional book frenzy again.

This is what the book “cover” looked like back when I first read it (when it was on Fictionpress)

Yesterday morning, my husband so eloquently mentioned that I looked “frazzled”. I told him: “It’s ’cause I’m in the worse part of the book and I barely slept, and I still had to go to work, and because of that I can’t read and solve their problems for them!” My little outburst, had my index finger adamantly (yet aimlessly) pointing at… nothing. Invisible “them”? He raised an eyebrow at me.

Tee hee!! Somehow, in my sleep deprived world, I quit making sense. But *if* I could’ve solved something, it would have been by grabbing poor sweet gorgeous, bad-boy (yet vulnerable), rock star Kellan away from “Kiera” and smacking her. Maybe even put her in the corner for a time-out. She sure needed it, at that point in the book. And it only got worse (and so darn good) from there.

Where to start with this book? I would venture to say it’s close (in angst) to the “Travis/Beautiful Disaster” mess that I’ve been so intently searching for. I could *almost* say I like them both equally (I think Travis is still *it* for me, though. Ummm. Maybe. I heart Kellan. I mean Travis. *sigh* See what I mean?). They both took me on an emotional roller coaster with no safety harness! I had no idea if, who’s heart would make it out alive in the end (even mine was in question). And when I say it’s a mess, I mean it.

Quick synopsis: Kiera and her boyfriend Denny (he’s gorgeous and good-natured) move across the country for his internship at a prestigious company. To go with him, she is required to transfer to a new college, and find funding for school, but would do anything to follow him anywhere.

“Of course I miss my family, miss them terribly. But you are worth it, you’re worth anything.” My fingers stroked his cheek. “I love you. I want to be where you are.”

And luckily, everything manages to fall into place. They will even be “rooming” with his best friend, Kellan (you guessed it, the “bad-boy rock star”).

He stopped my breath.

“Wow,” I stated when my breathing started back up. “He’s… amazing.”

After weeks of Kiera and Denny living in bliss together…

I sighed and snuggled in bed with him later, happy, and loving my life here, finding enormous contentment in the fact that nothing about it would be changing again, for at least the next two years. It was nearly two weeks later, on a Friday evening at work, when something unexpectedly did change…

… Denny is asked by the company to go to another state for a few months, to work on an important project. It’s the chance of lifetime, but the news breaks Kiera’s heart. He reminds her, it’s only two months. They can get through this.

So there she is, living so far away from her family, in a brand new school, trying to find a job, roommates with a stranger.  Kellan (the stranger) helps keep her company (oh it’s innocent… at first. Well maybe a bit too cuddly for her boyfriend’s comfort…), but he comforts her when she cries…

The concern in his eyes and the unexpected tender touch set me right off, and the tears started streaming. Without hesitation, he pulled me to him in a tight embrace. He lightly rubbed my back and rested his cheek on my head. It was very comforting but I sobbed anyway, while the people around us stared. He ignored the stared and questioning looks (he did have a reputation after all) and held me until my tears stopped, all without comment or complaint.

… takes her to college orientation, let’s her hang with him and his friends, etc… As the two strangers become friends, Denny’s “I miss you” calls become infrequent.

From three times a day, to once a day, to missing days, to not returning her calls as quickly, to cutting their once sweet and long conversations, short.

The next afternoon, Denny finally called me after a two day absence. I felt like I hadn’t talked to him, really talked to him in forever. I ached to actually see him, hold him. The conversation was brief, he seemed distracted – like the call was an obligation, and not something he really wanted to be doing.

And then… to not calling her for almost 4 days. There’s a reason for avoiding her. He’s going to be dropping a bigger bombshell. One that devastates her. And the only one there to pick up her pieces is Kellen.

WOW, right!? Oh yes. WOW. WOW WOW WOW!!

Lily:  I have never seen you this tied up over a book for real you are knotted up and twisty
Maryse:  yah
Lily:  you were not this bad with Travis and you LOVED him
Maryse:  still do
Maryse:  but… *this one* is AMAZING OMG
Lily: You are so squeeing
Maryse:  oh yes

and then… OMG noooooooooooooo!


A few of the characters behave badly (albeit unwittingly) so badly at times, that you’ll find yourself terribly conflicted. You’ll essentially be enjoying an all-around, bad situation.  They almost don’t deserve anything but the heartache they cause for themselves, but at the same time, you find yourself hoping that the pain will lift, and that it will all work out in the end… even if you sorta/sometimes/mostly dislike one of ‘em (*ahem* Kiera).

Okay so let’s talk about her. A young college student who’s mostly sweet and likeable, in love, yet easily lonely, and can’t really cope with that feeling. Not a bad-bone in her body. But, situations arise and her selfish, self-centered, possessive, unfair side comes out. And yet she can be so darn human that at times, you… *feel* for her. Because she’s in love. While she’s not purposely trying to hurt anyone (she reasons that she doesn’t want to break anyone’s heart, so she just keeps “some issues” secret), she ends up resolving her own heartache issues by *ugh* I can’t even talk about it (’cause it’s painful, and ’cause it’s spoiler-ish)!

I called her a few bad words. One was really bad. Ask Lily. No don’t.

I was uncomfortable feeling for her. I sometimes hated feeling *like* her. Feeling her pent-up frustration, her confusion, the intensity of her love, her pain, because at times, it made me connect to her and I found myself sometimes making excuses for her behavior. After all, the catalyst to this downward spiral was her loneliness and growing insecurities, given life, by her “too busy to call” boyfriend, that she moved across the country for. See. I just did it again! I made an excuse for some of that inexcusable behavior. *sigh*

And that is how much this book affects your frame of mind. But, you’ll understand why she falls so hard for those she does. The betrayal (by a few of the characters) feels almost unforgivable. Lust, love, insecurities,  dishonesty and hard-learned lessons composes the foundation of this romance novel. This author doesn’t hold back the punches. And you’ll be in for a lot of *sigh-inducing* love, and heartache, because again, as in many of my favorite “indie” novels, the progression is slow, yet tight. Incredibly detailed, incredibly emotional, incredibly long, but SO worth it. Some of the most INTENSE passion scenes (even just the *almost* kissing ones). Love, game playing, and heartache. I felt it all. Especially those emotional gut-punches. Ugh. They hurt, and there are many of ‘em.

Here’s one that killed me (you’ll see why when you read it…):

“You don’t owe me an explanation…” he looked at the floor, “and you definitely don’t owe me an apology,” he looked back up at me, “so just… don’t say anything please.”

Guilt and sympathy for him washed through me, and I held my arms open for him. “Come here.” He hesitated a moment, a torn look on his face, then he slipped his arms around my waist and buried his head in my neck. I held him tight and rubbed his back. “I’m sorry,” I whispered in his ear. He may not want to hear it, but I needed to say it.

He exhaled softly and nodded in my shoulder, clutching me tighter.

Read it and weep!! I’m off to book #2 (Effortless). Or… maybe I should just get some sleep first? Nahhhhh!! ;)

Get Free Email Updates from me :)

{ 92 comments… read them below or add one }

Shreya August 26, 2011 at 2:11 PM

Being compared to TRAVIS is a big thing…!!!don’t you think???now you have simply raised my expectation level Maryse….. ;)
can’t wait to start the book…. :)

Trisha August 26, 2011 at 4:43 PM

Oh wow! 1 week later and I still can’t get Travis out of my head! I’m going to have to read this!! Thanks!

Maryse August 26, 2011 at 5:19 PM

Shreya… I admit, those are some pretty big pants to fill, but Kellan is quite something ;)

Maryse August 26, 2011 at 5:19 PM

I’m so tempted to re-read Thoughtless, nice and slow this time, to savor those intense moments a little more, before I go on to book #2…

Jessica D August 26, 2011 at 6:01 PM

Maryse, you are killing me!!! I finished Travis’s story yesterday and am OBSESSED!!! So, of course I pulled up your website today to see what I should read next. I expected to do a little searching, but all I had to read was, “I found it!!! I founnnnnnd it!! Another one that had me clutching my heart like Travis did,” and I immediately downloaded the book. I think i prefer when you are a little disappointed in books, then I don’t have to waste my time with them. Apparently, you and I are in sync with our books. Thank you!!!!! Here I go…….

Maryse August 26, 2011 at 6:10 PM

Tee hee!!!

Jessica… you MUST let me know what you think when you’re done!! I dunno if you should allow for a break between Travis and Kellan, or if you should just go right on in…

But either way, it was soooooooo good, so I’m sure you’ll have fun!

Terrah August 26, 2011 at 6:29 PM

Glad that you read it and enjoyed it as much as I did. The next one I found equally amazing, in a hold your breath, can’t wait to find out what happens next, “please dear Lord, don’t let it be over’ kind of way…just sayin.
Now, for the love of all that is holy, you need to get in touch with the author and convence her that she needs to write another one for us…FAST!!!!! I have been in withdrawl for the last week, lol. I did start reading Conversion by this same author and so far so good… but it’s just not Kellen, *sigh*.
Don’t forget, there is also the Kellen Kyle fan page on facebook, it’s kinda cute.

patricia nesbitt August 27, 2011 at 3:44 PM

Dear sweet Jesus……………….where do y’all find theese books? Do you know where I had to read this book????? Hiding in the laundry room (so they couldn’t find me) like some love stricken teenager hiding from her parents……..yes…..I know and let me tell you what it was………….ugh….amazing blew my socks off now I feel like I cheated on Travis…….shhhhhhh

Terrah August 27, 2011 at 4:09 PM

Hehe, told you it was good Nesbitt.

Maryse August 27, 2011 at 4:17 PM

Yup!!! I know exactly how you feel… I even had to stop reading book#2 (at about 38% in) for a bit just because:

1.) I have a wedding this weekend and need to go to it smiling and relaxed (instead of stressing over my book)


2.) ’cause I’m SCARED to go forward… scared I tell you!! I just left them at a MONUMENTAL moment, a life changing moment where it is all still “sweet”… for now. I have a feeling this one is gonna kill me too, so I have to mentally prepare first, and then I’m jumping back in. Hopefully Sunday afternoon…

patricia nesbitt August 27, 2011 at 5:51 PM

I also am scared…….I think I am stopping now why the getting is still good and let one of y’all finish first…………after this week of reading I don’t think my blood pressure can handle it………..your a strong woman Maryse this suspense alone………would cause me to tailspin into an emotional frenzie………yeah and that’s is a sight not a lot of people care to bare witness to. Right Terrah hehehehehe…

Jessica August 28, 2011 at 2:34 AM

Well, it is 2:30 am and I am exhausted!!! Just finished this book and am contemplating starting #2 (maybe just the first chapter). I am still totally in love with Travis but kellan is creeping up to the lead. I gotta love another book that drives me so crazy I have to shut it because I’m afraid of what will happen next, only to open it 30 seconds later. I definitely think jumping from travis to kellan so quickly was a pretty good idea. Can’t wait to finally go to sleep, wonder who I will dream about. I have been in an extra good mood for the past few days. I have no idea how you find all these books, but I can’t thank you enough for finding them and spreading the word here.

Terrah August 28, 2011 at 4:48 PM

You better get it read Nesbitt or you wont be able to get any work done tomorrow…and I need you to be able to talk with me about it. By the way, I am about half way through with Conversion and it is really good too.

Missy August 29, 2011 at 12:03 AM

I just finished book #2 and I have to say I liked Kellan after book #1 but now I am in love with him. But I still can’t stop thinking of Ryan from “Love Unscripted” I guess I have to see how book #2 is in that series. Maryse you are killing me with theses books.

Shreya August 29, 2011 at 10:18 AM

Ugghh….can’t sleep after finishing this book…… :( :(
It was soooooo touching!!!& i would say Kellan’s character has so much more depth than “Travis”…..Beautiful Disaster basically had a feel-good vibe…but Thoughtless is gut-wrenching……it’s an emotional roller-coaster….
thank you so much for the suggestion Maryse….. :)

Shreya August 31, 2011 at 4:44 AM

Fell in love with Kellan Kyle!!!!!
“Effortless” was mind-blowing…… :D :D
you’ve really FOUND “THE BOOK” Maryse……

Rebecca August 31, 2011 at 9:19 AM

I can’t wait to get to book 2, I’ve read the Converion Trilogy and it was really
good. I had a couple of sleepless nights reading it.

Jessica August 31, 2011 at 9:25 PM

WOW!!! Just finished Effortless. Loved, loved, loved it!!! I’m really exhausted. I could not stop thinking about Kellan while a lame thing called work wouldn’t let me read. I raced home to read. Then got annoyed when life got in the way and I had to go to a baseball game with my friends. I just wanted to go to Pete’s and hang out with the band. Sorry Travis, I’m 100% team Kellan. Anyone know where I can find a Kellan of my own? :-)

Rachael September 8, 2011 at 1:57 PM

I’m sooooo in love with Kellan right now! I did fall in love with Travis but I think Kellan is taking over. I went to download Effortless yesterday and *ugh* it’s not available anymore due to editing! AAARRGHH! So, if anyone would want to email it to me, please let me know…..I can’t take the waiting anymore! Maryse, you have AWESOME taste in books!

Peggy September 9, 2011 at 9:45 AM

You guys are killing me! Just when I thought I was on step 6 of getting over Travis! Now I want to read Kellan but darn if the books aren’t available! I hope the author finishes editing soon so I can download it on my kindle, laptop, ipad, droid…..I need a fix!

Donna September 20, 2011 at 3:35 AM

Here I am and just finished BD and I see this post…. OMG!!! I read BD twice in a 3 1/2 day time frame and stayed up late to do it. This is crazy and now I have to read this to get Travis out of my head. I am sooo in trouble. I gotta sleep. It is 1am here and I am on your site looking up my next book.. This is crazy. So what did I do?? I downloaded this book and starting to read. Just one chapter…..?? Right???? Gotta love 24 hour book stores!!! or not???….
Ha…. ;)
Thank You so much for your feedback on books. We are on the same level here when it comes to books. Sleep is over rated anyways!

JennM November 9, 2011 at 8:51 AM

I’m a little late in commenting here but I don’t care. I’ve been a fan of your blog for a couple of months now and because of you – THANK YOU, by the way – I found Flat Out Love and How to Kill a Rockstar! I found your site through my love of BD. sigh….Travis.

Anyhoo..I saw that you posted a “What to Read After Beautiful Disaster” commentary last month. I saw the list and made a mental note to revisit the list in a few weeks since I already had a huge TBR pile. So I started Thoughtless 2 days ago and was up until 3:11 friggin AM this morning reading to the end. I COULD NOT sleep until I knew what was going to happen. WOW!!! What a book. It is now up there in my Top 5.

So…THANK YOU once again! THANK YOU! THANK YOU! THANK YOU! for introducing me to S C Stephens. I’m off to start Effortless today but I’m kinda chewing my fingernails worried what’s going to happen in this book. : (

After Effortless, I will start the Fifty Shades of Grey trilogy.

I don’t know how you find these authors but please keep it up!! We share the same taste in male heros and I love it.

P.S. Kellan or Travis?

Maryse November 11, 2011 at 9:43 PM

Hey JennM!

You are in for some SERIOUS SERIOUS fun with Fifty. He ties with my #1′s and might even be slightly ahead of them ;)

I’m so glad you jumped in :) and let me know you’re having fun. You know I’m totally on a quest to find our next big thing! But you’re not even done the ones that had me going crazy yet, so you’ve got some catching up to do. Lucky you!!!!

Hrmmm… Kellan. Or Travis. Or Fifty (aka Christian Grey – you’re getting to him), and he has to be in my top three for sure. Ummm…. hrmmm.

Kellan is gorgeous, emotionally available, wants to cuddle on the couch, sweet, almost unattainable and a rock star. He’s protective and pretty much almost perfect.

Travis. Gorgeous, unattainable, full of attitude and self assurance, an alpha male and an unbeatable fighter that no one wants to mess with… and he has a HUGE heart of gold that he gives completely, albeit rarely.

And then there’s Christian. Rich, arrogant, pompous, in control. Gorgeous. Perfect, and so terribly scarred.

Well they all are. *sigh*. I can’t pick. I just can’t. Okay. Travis (he was just so WOW). No. Kellan. He’s a rockstar. No. Christian. He did something in book #2 that tore up my heart. See. I can’t choose.


Alison April 3, 2012 at 3:04 PM

I apparently jumped on the bandwagon a while late BUT this book is SO good. I am loving Kellan almost as much as Christian Grey (but no one can compare to him lol) Im still reading Thoughtless but my stomach flips when i open each page… All these books are killing me (and completely confusing my head LOL)

Debbie Besabella April 13, 2012 at 2:21 PM

I’m reading this right now and having such a hard time wanting to finish it. Kiera is killing me. I honestly hate the b****. I feel nothing for her. No sympathy or understanding. I don’t want to finish but I do like Kellan.

I also hate how little dialogue there is between the characters. Maybe thats why I’m not liking Kiera more and more because we’re stuck in her head all the time.

Roni April 22, 2012 at 12:36 PM

OMG I am at about the halfway mark, and can I say I am really hating kiera at the moment. How can she possibly have two amazing men swoon after her, and she is being selfish an hurting them both! Kellan has stole my heart. And I hate her more and more every chapter. I am hoping this turn around lol

Roni April 22, 2012 at 12:37 PM

Debbie aaahhhh I completely agree!!!!

Elizabeth April 27, 2012 at 1:07 PM

Kellan for sure….especially in Effotless….ahhhhhh….if only he were real :-)

Anabel June 12, 2012 at 2:52 PM

I loved Thoughtless like no other book. I fell in love with Kellan. It was gut wrenching and I couldn’t put it down. Read Effortless as well. Now what???? I need more.

Maryse June 13, 2012 at 10:55 AM

Have you tried my What to Read After Beautiful Disaster list? LOTS of great, angsty INTENSE books on that list, in fact, Thoughtless and Effortless are on it.

Here it is:

Let me know what you decide on next ;)

Krista June 13, 2012 at 12:33 PM

LOVED these books! Could not put effortless down. One of the most addicting I have read….dare I say…better than 50 for me. The characters we’re so raw and flawed and kept me coming back….now what to do…lol. Bye the way, thank you Maryse for your reviews and recommendations. You have a loyal follower in me!

Maryse June 13, 2012 at 12:47 PM

*hug* Krista!!

Now what to do? I recommend my What to Read After Beautiful Disaster list (if you haven’t read Beautiful Disaster yet, GO!!! haha! But lots of great stuff on there…)

Here it is:

Krista June 13, 2012 at 1:07 PM

I actually have! My niece turned me onto your site as we are both avid readers and were running out of things to read and she found you….then we found ALL of this, which is way better than any twitching

Robin July 6, 2012 at 1:39 PM

I need “Thoughtless Anonymous”. Holy crap I cannot stop reading this book over and over. First Fifty Shades and now this. I need more Kellan. STAT!

Elizabeth July 6, 2012 at 1:49 PM

@Robin – I have been the same way. If you haven’t read them yet, you should try Slammed and Point of Retreat. They will give you the same feel.

Maryse July 6, 2012 at 4:38 PM

Agreed Elizabeth!! They are certainly amazing books. Totally different story but I was caught off guard, and of course…cried later on! LOVE these books!

Maryse July 6, 2012 at 4:38 PM

Robin! LOL!!! I completely understand.

Robin July 8, 2012 at 6:11 PM

Thanks Elizabeth! Definitely gonna give them a shot!

Dina July 17, 2012 at 1:18 PM

Wow- I really need therapy after this one. :) I swear i have not felt soooo emotional or attached to a book after fifty and BD!!! I stayed up ALL night reading this one and just got the 2nd book.. wow oh wow…

Maryse July 17, 2012 at 8:54 PM

Dina… I know right!? Ugh… I was so mad and yet I understood her. I was totally mad at Denny too, at one point. And of course, at Kellan. I’m telling you! What a FUN mess!!

Nat July 23, 2012 at 9:51 AM

I have to jump in and rank my favorite unattainable alpha bad boys:

#3 Travis (also loved him with his family, surprisingly)
#2 Kellan (could have been #1 but all of his flirting with everyone and all the admirers absolutely constantly following him around would have driven me crazy)
#1 Christian (he’s got it all, and he only has eyes for Ana)

Maryse July 23, 2012 at 10:05 AM

I like this ranking. Mine fluctuates… but your top three are certainly mine, too.

Nat July 26, 2012 at 10:16 PM

Sorry if this comparison annoys anyone, but I couldn’t help but think of Thoughtless with all this Kristen Stewart cheating news. She cheated on her original boyfriend with Robert Pattinson and then cheated on Pattinson. Please don’t let this happen in Reckless!

Willow July 27, 2012 at 11:22 AM

Maryse, I stumbled onto your site after reading BD, loving Travis and wondering what to read next. Seeing your list, I read slammed and POR, which I loved. I have just finished reading Thoughless and omg, I have never actually cried at a book before, but I was so tied up with emotion with this book, I just let it out near the end of the book. I am about to start Effortless – which I am looking forward to, but hope it’s not as emotionally draining! Then I’ll be back on here regularly to check out other books – thanks for all the reviews and lists you do!

Yani July 30, 2012 at 3:21 PM

I love your website and all your book reviews….i have to say that i will start reading this book because of your reviews…and i have to agree with you…i LOVE travis, i have read the book 3 times already…i dont want to come to an end :(

maria August 2, 2012 at 4:08 PM

i never go to book reviews but just finished both books and i love kellen more than christian grey or any fictional character – the books were amazing my neice and my 2 sisters also agree-plan on reading bred to you next

Maryse August 2, 2012 at 5:05 PM

Yep! These books make you react, and that’s what I love about it. I wasn’t just reading about people, it felt like I was living it!!

Christina August 16, 2012 at 11:04 PM

I actually read Thoughtless and Effortless first and was trying to get over Kellan when I found this site. Thanks for recommending Beautiful Disaster… It helped with my Kellan addiction. Kellan is still number one for me but Travis is a super close second. I wonder if I had read BD first if this would still be the case or if Travis would be my number one? Anyway, wanted to say thanks!
P.s. Did you know Kellan has a Facebook page?

Ffion August 19, 2012 at 8:10 AM

Is both these books available in the UK? I’m dying to read them after falling in love with the book beautiful disaster :)

Leslie August 20, 2012 at 10:21 AM

Does anyone know where Kellan actually went for 4 days after he took Kiera to the Space Needle and told her about his family? He said he had to “take care of something”.

Andreamarina August 22, 2012 at 11:41 AM

@Leslie, I believe he went somewhere to write that awfully sad song that he performed for her later to say goodbye. But where, no clue.

Ana August 28, 2012 at 9:40 PM

OMG!!!!! You did it again Maryse! I fell in love all over again and his name is Kellan Kyle!!!! Travis, Christian, Guideon– my heart is on a roller coaster!!! Thank you again for another addicting, wonderful, heart-wrenching story!!! Your blog has become my “bible” on choosing what to read next!!! I’m desperately waiting for Reckless , but I’m off to embark on “Rock Me” — wish me luck! :) thank you, thank you, thank you!! You have a loyal fan in me, you rock!!!! :)

Minha August 29, 2012 at 5:22 AM

I was looking forward for more Kellan for Christmas (sigh…). Is it March 2013 yet??? :)

Gudy September 8, 2012 at 5:25 PM

OMG I LOVED Kellen/ Travis but which one has my heart I’m not sure! Lol Im so glad I found your blog (I was searching for taking chances and came across your blog) I love your reviews and seem to be on the same page as to books of interest! Keep me coming!!

Tammie September 18, 2012 at 4:49 PM

Okay I really want to read this book, totally fell in love with “Beautiful Disaster” read it in one day! However, I live in Canada and apparently this book is not due to be released until November! How did you ladies get a copy? I am desperate to know, please help me I am in need of a new book and just haven’t found one that appeals yet! PS Already read the Fifty Shades trilogy, Bared to You and the Gabrielle’s series….loved all of them need more!!!

Kimberly September 20, 2012 at 11:56 AM

is there a reason I cant find thoughtless and effortless for sale?? Ive been searching since your review and all I keep seeing is that is isnt released until nov 2012. Am I missing something?? Help

Tangie October 11, 2012 at 10:37 PM

(Long breath….) You are killing me! This was the perfect book to read after Beautiful Disaster. I’ve gone to going to bed at 3am and now waking at 5am just to start Effortless. I wasn’t sure about the rock star thing. Dear Lord, obviously, I’ve been reading about the wrong ones because I GET IT! I’ve been twisted around this book for two days. I didn’t think Travis Maddox could have any competition but Kellan Kyle, yep, I can’t even come up with words. I want to run to the front of the stage with the groupies. :)

shasta October 16, 2012 at 3:28 PM

I LOVED Kellan. Hated Kiera. Hated that she treated both men like crap. But, I thought the author did a great job at explaining the “why me” question with why Kellan loved her and wanted to be with her. Also, in comparing the bad boys Kellan, Christian/Fifty, and Travis for me it’s hands down either Kellan or Christina/Fifty. Kellan seems more attainable in this book because he’s still a regular guy. Travis didn’t do it for me. I think maybe he’s too bad boy and too scary obsessed.

Nicole October 29, 2012 at 11:41 AM

I read Thoughtless last week. I LOVED it! Hard to say if I fell in love with Kellen more or Travis. So of course I had to re-read Beautiful Disaster after. I haven’t started Effortless yet, but I did download it. I felt exhausted throughout some of book 1 so I’m taking a breather. Which is strange for me, usually I am racing to get to the next one. But I did love it and would highly recommend it. BTW, LOVE your book blog, Maryse! I find myself on ur site a lot. I’m finally not alone in my reading world. LOL

Kim December 28, 2012 at 2:01 PM

Just finished Thoughtless and I cannot believe a couple of things
-1st off…I read it in 2 days I could not put it down..had to know if all would work out…
-2nd off unbelievable story-I have not been this hypnotized with a book in forever….I have read some great stories but this one captivated me from beginning to end…and aggrivated me and made me cry and made me smile…I am very nervous about reading the second one…right now all is ok in their world…should I read 1st one again 1st…can’t. Remember when I wanted to turn around and reread a book so quickly …but here goes…starting Effortless …I am so nervous….

Nicole December 28, 2012 at 3:29 PM

Kim, Let me know what you think of Effortless. I didn’t read it yet but I loved the first one. If you liked Thoughtless you will LOVE Beautifil Disaster. I read that one twice back to back. Enjoy! :)

kim cheeseman December 28, 2012 at 5:50 PM

Nicole …I LOVED Beautiful Disaster also…just in 1st chapter still with Effortless…I am VERY anxious…like I am tip toeing…because I want their woworld to be OK…AREN’T I crazy…they’re NOT real people but I get so Su ked in to some of these stories like I am watching a really great movie…I also love maryse’s webpage…nice to meet other people that LOVE the same stuff I do…

kim cheeseman December 28, 2012 at 7:16 PM

In 2nd chapter…so far just picking up where 1 st left off…but I am not rushing this book…I am extremely nervous I don’t want a good thing their relatioship messed up…I get so invested in the characters like they are real…lol

Kim Cheeseman December 30, 2012 at 11:56 AM

69% through with Effortless and LOVING it!!!
Still hoping it ends ok…a couple of secrets betweent Kellan and Kiara still hopefully it will all be ok…

Kim December 31, 2012 at 12:10 AM

Just finished Effortless …I enjoyed it TOTALLY…see my comment on the Effortless review comments..if u really enjoyed Thoughtless then Effortless is a MUST read!!!

Nicole December 31, 2012 at 9:54 AM

Ok Kim. I’m sold. I will read it this week. I am currently reading Onyx, book 2 of the Lux Series and LOVING it. I should be done today. But I will check out your comment on the review page. Love talking with others about my love for books! Do you have any other good suggestions? (Not that we’ll starve thanks to Maryse’s blog. LOL)

Kim Cheeseman January 2, 2013 at 8:02 PM

Nicole…I am Kim Cheeseman…if you want to look me up on Facebook(it might be under Kimberly)…
But I just finished one of Maryse’s recommended 2012′s…”EASY”…very reasonable priced for my Kindle. The story was different and I ended up loving “Lucas” the main Guy in the story, but the female lead was also VERY good too…not as intense as Thoughtless, but VERY good!…read it very easliy in a few days!

Nicole January 4, 2013 at 9:43 AM

Kim….I read Falling Too Far, off Maryse’s 2012 list, yesterday and it was soooooo good. I loved Blair the main character I related to her in a “young me” way. And Rush, the guy……YUMMER! But I promise I will get through Effortless this weekend. I actually want to read all of the books on her top 25 list. I’ll be a busy girl – ;)
Oh, and I looked you up on FB but there are a few people with your same name. LOL Look me up……Nicole Schauer Kruppa.

Christina January 5, 2013 at 1:47 AM

Hey Nicole, I was wondering who was the author of the book you wrote about “Falling Too Far”? I tried looking it up but couldn’t find it. Also, you mentioned reading the Lux series earlier in this thread, just wanted to say I just read Opal which is the third in the series and it is so good.

Kim Cheeseman January 5, 2013 at 8:44 PM

I am not Nicole, but the Author of “Fallen to Far” is Abbi Glines. And it is really a great story…
Hope this helps.


Christina January 5, 2013 at 11:29 PM

Thanks Kim, that does help!

Anne January 6, 2013 at 7:40 PM

“Thoughtless” is hands down the BEST book I have ever read. The only problem is that is has forever ruined me for all other books. Its intensity was gut-wrenching.

Kim Cheeseman January 7, 2013 at 12:38 PM

Yes, I understand how you feel Anne, but you MUST read Effortless…it will be a little hard at 1st because it is about Leah, BUT you MUST read it…SO MUCH is revealed and important for you to know for the 3rd book whenever it comes out….You thought Thoughtless was intense-what’ll you finish and then post your thoughts – I DARE you…it is UNBELIEVEABLE!!!

Kim Cheeseman January 7, 2013 at 12:42 PM

I got a little mixed up in my comments above…I agree that Thoughtless was EXTREMELY intense, but I was referring to the 2nd book (Dirty
Red-about a character named Leah) and that 1st book was The Opportunist…and you talk about intense…that series will blow you away…sorry about the mix up…
After Thoughtless and Effortless I had no idea some other series could be as intense, but try the “Opportunist” & “Dirty Red” …you will not be disappointed…

Maryse January 7, 2013 at 1:18 PM

YES also very angsty…

Kim Cheeseman January 8, 2013 at 1:14 AM

Thankyou for staying so personal with all the “lovers” of your website and facebook and blogs! You are really cool and have made me pretty much give up TV…(only a few shows are still holding my interest…Walking Dead, Arrow, & Vamp Diaries-oh, and Nikita)
But wow, these last few series you have suggested have just SUCKED me in and I am spreading the word….
THANK YOU again-LOVE LOVE LOVE your website!

Christina January 8, 2013 at 6:41 PM

Haha, same here. My boyfriend always jokes that I don’t watch enough t.v. because I spend all my time reading. I can’t help it, the books that are recommended on this site keep me happily reading.

Kim Cheeseman January 9, 2013 at 7:13 AM

“touche”…happily and sometimes a MIX of other emotions reading…sometimes I just have to put the book down and get myself under control because it can get so intense…I mean intense….

Christina January 12, 2013 at 12:38 AM

Just read “The Edge of Never” and oh wow is it great. Seriously, touching and oh so emotional. Andrew gave Kellan a run for his money. Still love Kellan Kyle the most but Andrew Parrish is closing in on Travis Maddox for my number two.

Kim Cheeseman January 12, 2013 at 11:59 AM

Totally Agree….Andrew doesn’t get enough credit…I did Absolutely LOVE his character…What a GREAT book for ANYONE to read…Young adult, old adult…it is a PERFECT book!!!!

Kristy January 19, 2013 at 10:08 PM

OMG!! Just finished Thoughtless and Effortless, I am dying here…. Not sure if I can’t wait until march for Reckless???? :( Thank you so much for these recommendations! I loved them!! :) probably going to re-read them until March! Maybe throw BD back in there too!

Jennifer February 20, 2013 at 9:07 PM

I just finished Thoughtless and it definitely sent me into an emotional frenzy!!!!! It was just so….UGH. And totally swooning over Kellan (and sometimes *hating* Kiera!) Definitely waiting a couple of days to start the second book!!

Christina February 20, 2013 at 9:46 PM

Aww, I remember being a little hesitant about starting Effortless but oh wow was it worth it. Kellan is all kinds of sexy and I went from hating Kiera to only mostly disliking her.

shienna March 16, 2013 at 8:48 AM

i just read this trilogy last week after randomly selecting what to read after The Host.. i didn’t know then that it was a bestseller.. i was even surprised that it was actually a VERY good book!! hahaha.. my heart breaks every time kellan is hurt..
Gosh, i wish someone would love me as deep as kellan’s love to kiera!!

..2 thumbs up!!

Rachel at Backngroovemom March 26, 2013 at 2:47 PM

So….I have been putting off this series as a whole (I don’t know why), but now I am into it (half way thru effortless) ….and I am a bundle of sleepless nerves.

I still love Travis. BUT kellan is coming close…it’s just kiera – she makes me crazy the way she thinks of Denny from time to time. Gosh – kellan is the bees knees.

Jesica April 1, 2013 at 5:50 PM

:( PUFF I so want to read Thoughtles!!!!! I’m from Argentina and it seems that the book has´nt been translated yet nor arrived the English version and I don´t use a credit card! ¬¬ I’m just waiting for the book to be translated or someting so I can get my hands on it! I enjoyed your review! :D

Jean April 3, 2013 at 12:13 PM

I finished Thoughtless three days ago after a marathon session of reading it over the weekend and I can’t even bring myself to start Effortless and Reckless!! I am a wreck! The emotional rollercoaster was unbelievable! My friends are telling me to move onto Effortless and Reckless, but I don’t know if my heart and stomach can take it!! TALK ABOUT KNOTS IN MY STOMACH WHILE READING THIS BOOK?!?!? WTF! Can everyone please convince me to move onto the next books in this series?

melinda July 8, 2013 at 9:32 PM

This was it for me absolutely loved it!!!!!. Finished it rushed out bought Effortless Loved it!!!! Rushed out bought Reckless Loved it. Finished then all. Read them again. Then again. My absolute favourite better than beautiful disaster although that was good.

RM® February 3, 2014 at 8:03 PM

I absolutely loved BD and Walking Disaster (and all the other novellas after the 2 books). I’ve been trying to find another Travis and Abby when I stumbled on SC Stephen’s thoughtless series. I’ve downloaded the trilogy but it was buried under my to be read file. Now that I’m ready to read the series, I’m almost scared to read Thoughtless because I might not find Keira as morally upright as Abby Abernathy.

Jennifer July 31, 2014 at 6:33 PM

OMG S.C Stephens just posted on Facebook and on website new release thoughtful Kellans POV releases in 2015 ahhhhhhhh. Check it out

Shawn August 29, 2014 at 9:07 AM

Yet another series that I truly enjoyed.. It’s kept my interest in the BDSM life very interesting.. I’ve actually listen to most books listed on the what to read after Fifty Shade of Gray and have enjoyed them all!! I have a few that aren’t listed that are REALLY good just need to see where to post them for Maryse… They are really really good and I like you all would enjoy them as much as I did,

Jessie July 22, 2016 at 8:38 AM

Reading this now (a few years late) and DYING!!!

Leave a Comment


Notify me of followup comments to this post via e-mail. You can also subscribe without commenting.

Previous post:

Next post: