Okay… This Isn’t the Review Just Yet, But I Loved This Book!! Perfection (A Neighbor from Hell) by R.L. Mathewson

by Maryse on January 31, 2012 · 23 comments

in Bad Boys & Rock Stars

Perfection (A Neighbor From Hell)
Some of you are still waiting on my book “reveal” after I teased ya’all on Facebook over the weekend.

Maryse’s Book Blog: “4.5 stars of grrrrr, and non stop chuckles, and sighs, and more grrrrrrr, – witty, fun, silly, and still deep enough to feel emotional on a personal level. These people are real, to me. LOVED it, and I’m onto the next. Review to come shortly, and the details for those in the mood for light-hearted and yet still a somewhat deep read.:”

*WOOPS!!* My bad!! I took my time, didn’t I? That wasn’t very nice. Hehe. ‘Cause you see… I’ve been called away out of town again, so I’m gonna make this one short and sweet (until I can get to the actual review). So consider this my *squee* pre-review, and it so deserves two reviews!!

This one was a total “accidental find” (I just happened upon it) but when I read the premise and some of the reviews, I was reminded of when I found “Sweet Dreams” by Kristen Ashley and had that same *feeling*. And I think I was right!!

Amazingly entertaining, unputdownable, wholeheartedly satisfying read. I read it in one sitting and can’t wait to move onto book #1 in the series (yep! I did it again. By accident I started book #2 – this one – and when I realized it, I shrugged and said oh well, this one’s too good to stop now). And guess what?! I don’t think I ruined anything for book #1 (Playing For Keeps (A Neighbor From Hell Series). I am DYING to get to know Jason (who is the annoyingly hot hero in the first book, and also this guy’s cousin).

So this is the gist. “Normal” girl (Zoe) moves next door to extremely annoying (but hot) neighbor (Trevor). He’s easy to figure out. He’s obsessed with hot women, and food. I’d almost say food over women. Anyway… They become friends. Well. Sort of. You’ll see.

I LOVED this book!! Amazingly sweet, and of course, an infuriating hero. I adored Every. Single. Character. The whole bunch of ‘em. A big family feel, with hilarious family quirks, very realistic conversations, moments, and introspective thoughts. I believed these people were real, and I couldn’t stop laughing. But it’s not just funny. The romantic tension is off the charts, and there are some deep and very sad moments too. Just a perfectly well rounded book, and one I’d easily give 4.5 stars too.

When I get back to my own “normal” I’ll be reading #1 next.

Get Free Email Updates from me :)

{ 23 comments… read them below or add one }

Mariel January 31, 2012 at 7:31 PM

unputdownable huh? I’ve been working my way back the reading list and just finished blindsided… Gosh Nate Stone is so sexy in my mind (sigh) ^_^ but thanks so much for your reviews I just bought the series and I’ll follow suit and start with number 2!!!! :)

Corrina January 31, 2012 at 8:14 PM

I agree this book was fantastic. But in my opinion the first one was much more. Laugh out loud moments, the hotness and the romance! I would say RL Mathewson is a close Kristen Ashley to me. Enjoy can’t wait to hear what you think of the first book.

patricia January 31, 2012 at 8:40 PM

Finally…..,..ty by the way…….

Missy January 31, 2012 at 11:08 PM

I agree book one made my heart jump more. I laughed a lot more too. But I still liked this book. I can not wait for book three.

Jodi February 1, 2012 at 1:18 AM

I like the first one better too but try humble heart and reclusive heart by the same author. Humble heart rocked although don’t judge by the first chapter or two. They were a completely different tone than the rest of the book that I didn’t quite get but the rest of the book was awesome!

Rebeka February 1, 2012 at 2:57 AM

MARYSE!!!

I needed a book to read so bad !

I was roaming the internet, having nothing to read, GOING OUT OF MY MIND.

Then i see this post !

YES MY HAIR PULLING CAN STOP.

Sounds amazing !
and super-duper cheap !
Only 99cents !

Bought both of them :)

Thanks xox

Maryse February 1, 2012 at 8:12 AM

Awesome! I keep hearing #1 is even better and as much as I loved #2 i can’t wait to read the first one! YAY ME!!!!!

Tina February 1, 2012 at 8:31 AM

After I read that one I went back and read the first of the series, which was just as good, although this one, Perfection, made me cry twice. Did not shed any tears with the first one.

And I’ve moved on to her Tall, Dark, and Lonely novel. He’s a cop AND an old vampire? Squee…..

DebLI February 1, 2012 at 9:38 AM

Thanks again! Just finished the first one and onto the second. Needed a mini-break from my Kristen Ashley marathon and these were just perfect!

Marcie Mendez February 2, 2012 at 12:12 AM

OH MY GOD…I’m @ 15% in the first book and I was laughing so hard I almost peed my pants…Maryse u just have to read this book its PRIORITY girl.

Lucia February 2, 2012 at 12:44 AM

just bought them both! Can’t wait! I’m super excited!

Nancy February 2, 2012 at 7:29 PM

Thanks again Maryse…yes Jason is much easier to adore than Trevor in my opinion!! These were great, easy, hilarious reads! Can’t wait for more from RL Mathewson.

Brandie February 3, 2012 at 9:39 AM

Just read the first and I LOVED it! I laughed out loud many times. I think my hubby thought I lost my mind;) Thanks Maryse!

Tess Eyre February 3, 2012 at 10:16 PM

Loved the first more than the second……

sandra February 4, 2012 at 4:00 AM

It’s not nice to tease us and leave us hanging! Grrrrrrrrr!! But the book sounds amazing so all is forgiven :) !

Cheryl February 4, 2012 at 9:04 AM

One of my favorite authors Tina Reber (Love Unscripted) gave Playing for Keeps 4 stars and Perfection 5 stars on Goodreads. I just moved them to the top of my reading list! :)

Jennifer February 4, 2012 at 5:31 PM

Just started the first book:)

Jennifer February 4, 2012 at 5:31 PM

Just started the first book, so excited!

Krystal February 6, 2012 at 12:57 PM

totally loved the 1st book !!! such an awesome story ! and it was a short read for me, short, sweet and light. !!! it was perfect in every way !!!!! thanks again for your reviews !!!! id be dead bored, at home as a stay at home mommy. :D

Patricia February 6, 2012 at 1:15 PM

oh Maryse…… I have moved on to Revlusive Heart (Hollywood Hearts series)…..talk about gasping for air, due to the size of the heros alpha male ego at times i wanted to bring him to the octogon…..or b slap him with my book and other i couldn’t help but love him a little more……swoon worthy man

Ivie February 6, 2012 at 2:50 PM

I read both. Loved them both. Unputdownable. (Is that a word? It is now.) But RL has a bunch of other books, and I’m not sure of reading orders. (I HATE reading out of order, that’s how I found you!) Can you post her series in order please???

Eva February 11, 2012 at 9:09 PM

Hey, such fun! I read this on your excellent recommendation. I haven’t had internet for a while so I’m inhaling everything on your list :) Thanks again!

I know it’s an old one but this book reminded me of ‘natural born charmer’ by Susan Elizabeth Philips with the extraneous stuff cut out, or like one of Shelly Laurenstons pride series.

Andrea September 18, 2012 at 9:58 AM

I love the Neighbor From Hell Series – So funny. I love how they love their food! I can’t wait for more books

The Hollywood Heart series is also fantastic! Hoping this series continues too!

Leave a Comment

 

Notify me of followup comments to this post via e-mail. You can also subscribe without commenting.

Previous post:

Next post: