Reader Question – Recommendations for more books like “My Name is Memory”

by Maryse on September 10, 2015 · 16 comments

in Reader Questions

It’s reader question day, and we’re starting with a super-intriguing one that Rosa found us. My Name is Memory by Ann Brashares. The thing is… she wants recommendations for more books like it (they keep being reincarnated, and keep finding each other, again and again…). Here’s a bit from the blurb.

“Daniel has spent centuries falling in love with the same girl. Life after life, crossing continents and dynasties, he and Sophia (despite her changing name and form) have been drawn together-and he remembers it all. For all the times that he and Sophia have been connected throughout history, they have also been torn painfully, fatally, apart.”

So I took it to Facebook and had a pretty good batch of suggestions come in, but I’m always looking for more, and plus, just in case you missed this on Facebook, I decided to turn it into an official post!! These sound great! :D

Niki: That was a great book! The Fallen Series by Lauren Kate (YA); Lake of Dreams by Linda Howard (it’s a novella in the book Strangers in the Night by Linda Howard (3 separate short stories/novellas in one book)).

Ann: Such a good book!

Sharon: Is she finishing the series though? I read it years ago and kept waiting for the next book but never heard anything. I ended up reading the fallen series to have closure.

Melissa: I loved this book!! I thought there was suppose to be a sequel but not sure if that’s the case anymore.

Maryse: Sounds like an author that we need to add to the “Where did they go? Currently seeking some of our missing favorite authors…” page… ‘kay I’m gonna start my research. ;)

Sofia: Another one that came out last year, in this genre, is Time After Time by Wendy Godding. This book sent chills down my spine – I loved it!

Lisa S: I LOVED Twisted By Love by Jasmine Haynes (Jennifer Skully) It had sibling rivalry, suspense, reincarnations… It is book 1, standalone, no cliffhanger. I wish there was more in the series.

Terri: Succubus Blues (Georgina Kincaid Book 1) series by Richelle Meade. Fabulous. It’s paranormal but more like contemporary romance than heavy paranormal. She and her star crossed lover have been reunited over the centuries but neither one realize it. Enough said you have to let it unfold for yourself. Edgy, sexy and super angsty. Highly recommended.

Rosa: Yay thanks for the recommendations! I’ve read the Fallen series and gonna look the others up! I just love this page!

    

Get Free Email Updates from me :)

{ 16 comments… read them below or add one }

Teri September 10, 2015 at 1:42 PM

Succubus Blues-Georgina Kinkaid series by Richelle Meade. Fabulous. It’s paranormal but more like contemporary romance than heavy paranormal. She and her star crossed lover have been reunited over the centuries but neither one realize it. Enough said you have to let it unfold for yourself. Edgy, sexy and super angsty. Highly recommended.

Maryse September 10, 2015 at 1:52 PM

Oh wow Teri that sounds perfect!!!

Tessa September 10, 2015 at 3:34 PM

Roam series by Kimberly Adams. She’s re-born constantly and he finds her each time.

Susan M September 10, 2015 at 4:34 PM

I loved My Name is Memory. Ann Brashares wrote on her website that there was not enough interest for a sequel and her publisher wanted more of her other series. I was so disappointed.

MichelleS September 10, 2015 at 6:03 PM

OMG!!! You MUST READ the Roam Series. MUST MUST MUST. Exactly what you are asking for. They have to fix what they have failed to do so many times before! 5 stars!!!

And also The Serpeant of Time. Same idea. Have been on this journey before. This one has werewolves and some elves. LOVED IT.

Maryse September 10, 2015 at 6:45 PM

YAY!!! Okay I’m adding it…

Thank you Tessa and MichelleS!!

And thank you Susan for that update. Sure enough… there is NO news on any subsequent books in that series.

MichelleS September 10, 2015 at 6:53 PM

Oh, and Immortals After Dark Book Book 9: Dreams of a Dar Warrior. It’s Regin’s story – with Aiden, her Berserker. Remember that one? Swoon.

Lisa September 11, 2015 at 1:15 AM

Hi Master. Ann Brashares released The Here and Now last year.
‘Follow the rules. Remember what happened. Never fall in love.’

Sounds wonderful…about a girl from another place and time and a boy who can never know her secret.

Lisa September 11, 2015 at 1:16 AM

Maryse!!! Maryse!! B*&%$y auto correct. Even though you are the book Master.

Maryse September 11, 2015 at 7:05 AM

LOL Lisa…

Master… that was funny!!! :P

Nikki September 11, 2015 at 9:18 AM

I love love love My Name is Memory. And I was devastated to learn that probably in likelihood, there will not be a sequel. I still cry myself to sleep at night over that one. :( I recommend it and buy it as gifts all the time, and then I feel slightly guilty when then come back to yell at me about no second book. But only for like a minute, because then I have another ally to stalk and harass Ann Brashares to finish the series. (insert evil laugh) But there is silver lining. All of It by Kim Holden. Read it. Devour it. Love it. You will not be disappointed. I promise.

Maryse September 11, 2015 at 10:00 AM

YAY!!! Thank you Nikki! :D

Maryse September 11, 2015 at 10:09 AM

P.S. Lisa that book SOUNDS AMAZING!!!!!!

Ela September 11, 2015 at 3:34 PM

I saw this book and it got me excited then I read it was supposed to be a trilogy but the publishers pulled that idea. I wish she could still write them and maybe publish as Indie????

Ela September 11, 2015 at 3:35 PM

MichelleS! YES IAD Regin and Aiden! Sooooooooooooo HAWT

cindy September 13, 2015 at 12:52 AM

It’smore time travel than reincarnation but the series that begins with Reflections on the Nile by Suzanne Frank is very good. The protagonists keep getting shifted in time through most of the ancient civilizations, have to find each other over again for a series of 4 books. I read this in real time as it was being published and I remember eagerly waiting (sometimes years) for the next installment to come out.
Elswyth Thane has an American history family saga that beings with Dawn’s Early Light. Begins with the Revolutionary War and ends with World War II In the final book the protagonists from the first book have circled around again to become the protagonists of the ending book.
Also try her book Tryst, which is old fashioned but lovely.

Leave a Comment

 

Notify me of followup comments to this post via e-mail. You can also subscribe without commenting.

Previous post:

Next post: