A Note Direct From Christine Warren, Confirming the Reading Order of The Others

by Maryse on October 27, 2011 · 2 comments

in Christine Warren

I’ve been asked a few times for clarification on the Christine Warren “The Others” series reading order guide. I want to confirm that it is listed in the exact reading order (regardless of the publication date or “new book title” issues that seem to be confusing some readers). The older books are being re-released under new names, and therefore Christine has officially listed THE reading order for each of her books, in her latest publication, as it stands in 2011.

But there was still some confusion:

“I am still lost.  For example the ebook on Danica story was 34 pages and then today I find that there is a full novel.  Is there a way to get an update reading order that includes the old and the new and which books are replacing the old.”

“So book 15 can really be read as book 3?”

“Is it me or does Black Magic Woman seem like it could be Tess & Rafe’s story Fur For All redone? After Prince Charming Doesn’t Live Here I’m pretty sure its possible.”

Some were hoping to get direct confirmation, that this reading order was accurate. So I got it!! Here is the email directly from the author herself. She looked over my reading order guide and responded with this:

On Sun, Oct 2, 2011 at 9:32 PM, Christine wrote:

“Hi Maryse,

The info is all there in the list you provided. The order you copied from my letter is correct. The reason why Faer Fetched went from 34 pages to a full novel is because St Martin’s Press wasn’t interested in publishing a short story; they wanted a novel. So when I rewrote it, it became novel length. It doesn’t change the order of the chronology, and you have the correct titles old and new in the list you wrote. The only thing I can add is that the new novel listed as number six will be titled On the Prowl. And Fur Play (no new title yet) will be coming out in a year or two from St Martin’s.

Really, you can just take it on faith that the order in the letter in front of Black Magic Woman is correct. I wouldn’t lie to my readers :-D



So there you have it, friends! Read away in confidence! I hear this series is really good :)

Sign up for my weekly newsletter

{ 2 comments… read them below or add one }

Elaine Willis October 28, 2011 at 11:39 PM

I love these books and have been reading them since they were only available as ebooks.

I have purchased the print versions as well, but I have never understood why they weren’t released in order.

Jennifer July 20, 2012 at 11:09 PM

I heard about these books from others and stumbled across them in the bookstore while getting Lothaire. I had planned on just getting the new Kresley Cole, but… well… with so many people suggesting this series, I grabbed what they had. Which was all but six of them. Imagine my surprise when I got home and couldn’t figure out what order to read them in and the order seemed to change in each book… yada, yada. Googled and found this. Thank you, thank you, thank you! I hate reading a series out of order the first time through. (Also a huge BDB- JR Ward fan!!)

Leave a Comment


Notify me of followup comments to this post via e-mail. You can also subscribe without commenting.

Previous post:

Next post: