Book Review – Lover Unleashed by J.R. Ward (and book giveaway)

by Maryse on April 4, 2011 · 66 comments

in J.R. Ward, My Book Reviews

Lover Unleashed (Black Dagger Brotherhood, Book 9)
This one is going to be hard to review without a few (very light) spoilers. DO NOT READ if you don’t want to know. While I keep it simple in regards to the “issues”, this series is close to my heart, and I want to “mull it over” out loud, if you will ;) Oh and – leave a comment for a chance to win a signed copy of this very book!

I have been somewhat missing in action, and it’s simply because…I went home again. Home, to my favorite group of vampires, humans, sympaths and “others”. I feel like I know these guys, and it’s because J.R. Ward keeps every character from the series past, integral to the BDB future. Home is where this book took me, and I didn’t want to leave. Considering I only get an “invite” once or twice a year, I wanted to make this visit last, but like usual, once I got started, I couldn’t put it down, and now here I am. Alone again, waiting for the next journey. I’ll happily wait, as long as the “invites” into their world keep coming.

I find it interesting how this series almost seems to have evolved somewhat into a “soap opera”. Oh God, I know that sounds off, but it’s the only thing I can liken it to. Okay let me clarify. Not the far-fetched, cliché, eye-rolling soap opera drama stuff (well a tiny bit of that, but in a good way). What I mean is, in the past, the books were clearly about one specific couple (with a “camaraderie” feel amongst the group). You got to know everyone, but, especially the “main couple”. As of late, while each book still focuses on a potential couple, there are a few other important side stories that are just as interesting, if not more, happening at the same time.

These side stories help expand the BDB world, and give it a potentially long life. And the “side-stories” progress as the series continues (everything is not necessarily resolved in one book). Often a specific storyline can continue to evolve throughout many books. As long as J.R. keeps writing these, the characters continue to “live” and change (progress, then regress), and their happily ever after, is never really quite what it seems. Nothing is set in stone with these guys. Expect the unexpected.

V, anyone? His story blew my mind in this installment. One of the main characters in the series (and pretty much, one of the most important ones) his story is never-ending (and YAY to that!). We knew he had issues with his goddess mother, found out about his twin sister (who’s also had it rough), and had a destructive past and ruined childhood. Of course, problems will continue to arise in his long life (and hopefully this long series), due to these numerous issues. But I thought his “happily ever after” was cinched. I was mistaken.

With him, she never knew what to expect, and not just because he was the son of a deity. He was sex on the edge all the time, hard-cornered and crafty, twisted and demanding.

And she knew that she merely got the watered-down version of him.

There were deeper caves in his underground maze, ones that she never visited and could never go.

Now wait, I’m not saying (or giving away) what happens to his love life in this installment, but what I am saying is, the Brothers may love intensely, but not perfectly. These “happily ever afters” have some serious bumps in the road, and the author doesn’t shy away from the drama, the heartache, and the “true-life” moments. These books are not pretty, and that’s how I like it. It makes these guys “real”, reminds me that if they were real, just maybe, we could be friends. Intimidating they may be (due to their size, and strength) but intimidating-ly perfect – they are far from it.

Actually, I will admit to be extremely surprised by the revelations in regards to V and Jane’s relationship. I always knew there was a closeness between V and Butch that *might* cause issues in the future (and there are some things here, but… different), however, there was a little surprise for me in this one that I wasn’t expecting. While I thought V and Jane were irrevocably in love after his “official” book, we were privy to some very human-ish resentments and insecurities, and maybe even regrets, in this one.

“Where did you go tonight,” she said, not expecting an answer.

And she didn’t get one. but he’d halted right under the ceiling fixture, so even from a distance, she could see his shoulders tightening up.

“Why aren’t you turning around, Vishous.”

Dear God…what had he done at the Commodore? Oh Jesus…

Funny, there was a reason that people “built” lives together. Although the choices you made as husband and wife were not bricks, and time was not mortar, you were still constructing something tangible and real.  And right now, as her hellren refused to come over to her – hell, even show her his face – and earthquake was rumbling under what she had thought was solid ground.

“What did you do tonight,” she choked out.

Bonded, these males might be, but infuriatingly and stupidly “guy-like” for many things (okayyy, guys, I take that back – boys are perfect, and don’t smell or act all “aloof” etc etc… ;) ).  Hehe. Anyway, this was my favorite story in this book.

We were also introduced to a new group of warriors that have the potential to go either way. They have a few paybacks to resolve, and perhaps, de-throne a vampire King or two…

The Bloodletter was dead. No longer living, he was a legend starting this night.

As as is right and proper, the son now stepped into the souls of his sire, commanding these soldiers who would serve not Wrath, the king who would not rule, not the Brotherhood, who would not deign to lower themselves to this level… but Xcor and Xcor alone.

“We go in the direction from whence the female came,” he announced. “We shall find her even if it takes centuries, and she shall pay for what she hath wrought this night.”

From the old world, and still living as such, these guys have the potential to give the Black Dagger Brotherhood a run for their money, and I feared them much, as I read this. While at first, I wasn’t all that interested in their story, (and somewhat irritated that they kept cutting into my “good parts”), I quickly realized their potential, and even started to bond with a couple of them. Some of them have a respectable sense of justice, and there was a “hotel” scene that I thought was going to be a bloody, deadly and violent mess, but ummm…nope :oops: . WOW. That was just… More of that please?

Blay and Qhuinn’s story continues, but from Qhuinn’s perspective (we barely get any Blay in this one). Qhuinn is suffering (good! you silly boy!). Fantastic progression into their situation, but J.R. Ward completely played us here. She knows what we want, but does she give it? Sort of…sort of not.

“I’m his lover, cousin – ”

“Whoa… he put his hand up. “That’s so none of my business – ”

” – not the love of his life.”

Mind you what we got was plenty emotional. That’s okay, I hear there will be more, and I’m good with it. I like to work for what I want (too easy means over too quickly). So keep the angst going, it will definitely be worth the ride she takes us on, I’m sure.

And now the main story, the “couple” that the book focused on. This one started as my second favorite part of the book, but I’ll admit, eventually, it took a back seat, for me.  Payne (V’s sister) is paralyzed from the waist down and being a warrior, feels her life isn’t worth living. They send Doc Jane to bring Manny (the surgeon) back to the mansion to “fix” her…

“Manny, I don’t have time to explain. I need you.”

He glared at her for a long moment. “You show up after a year of being dead, and you need me?”

…and then they make him leave, and mess with his mind, erasing his time amongst them, once he’s done all he can do. However before he leaves Payne, they accidently managed to forge a deep emotional connection, and with Manny now gone,  it does not go well for Payne. She’s lonely and depressed and still not walking and Manny is a mental mess, back at his regular day job. V must sacrifice his pride and bring Manny back for the good of his sister, and this is when all hell “officially” breaks loose for V.

The vampire got close. “Careful, human – you’re only alive because you’re useful to me.”

“She’s your sister?”

“Don’t forget it.”

Manny smiled by baring all his teeth. “Then there’s something you need to know.”

“What.”

Manny rose up on his toes and met the f****r eye-to-eye.

“If you think you want to kill me now, this ain’t nothin’ compared to how you’re going to feel when I see her again.”

Yah! You tell him, Manny!!

Their story was angsty, dramatic, and plenty good (and has a heartwarming message). Sexy and romantic, Manny rocked (I liked that he is human, and I really enjoyed his “integration” into their world).

He glanced over his shoulder at Goatee. “You need to back off, my man. I want you out in the hall.”

The response he got in return was… just fang-tastic: The bastard bared a pair of canines as long as his arm and growled, natch, like a dog.

“Fine,” Jane said, getting in between them. “That’s fine. Vishous will wait out here.”

Vishous? Had he heard that right?

I liked Payne enough, but… I dunno. At a certain point, when the focus went back to them, I’ll admit, I was, surprisingly, a bit bored. Eventually I bonded enough to them to enjoy the progression (and they do face some serious challenges), but this was not my favorite storyline.

So there you have it. I loved LOVED hanging out with the Brothers again, and this book just renewed my bond with them as a whole. I want MORE. These are not your typical heroes and I often wonder if they’re looking for a hero of their own (not that they’d ever admit to such). Okay okay okayyyyy – again!! I take it back! LOL! You guys do not need heroes. I get it. True? I feel you.

(*whispers* but I know the truth – shhhhhh – tee hee!!!)

So while it was not my favorite in the series, it did keep me on a journey that promises to entertain me for many books to come. But umm…J.R.? Rememberrrrr? ‘member??? when in the first few books…you’d blow our mind with the main couples a la “hotel-style” (sorta like in this one)? Rememberrrr?? MORE!!! Like before. Details! Lots and lots of pages of details and growling and emotion and intensity, and well you  know ;)   Okay? Okay! *blush*

Now for the book giveaway! It’s SIGNED!!! Yup! J.R. Ward had a virtual book-signing-fest, and I jumped on the occasion. Here it is. THE SIGNED by J.R. Ward “Lover Unleashed” book, waiting to go home to a lucky LUCKY winner! Leave a comment here, and I will have the randomizer thingie draw one winner on Friday April 8th at 9pm EST. Don’t worry about your address just yet. I will contact the winner for those details, directly. U.S residents only, please (although all are welcome to comment).

Get Free Email Updates from me :)

{ 66 comments… read them below or add one }

LilyofDarkness April 4, 2011 at 8:36 AM

Not entering, but this review cracked me up. MEMBER?! Member?! I know you member… LOL.

Maryse April 4, 2011 at 8:37 AM

hehehehe, I just wanted to make sure she remembered ;) LOL!

LilyofDarkness April 4, 2011 at 8:42 AM

Oh and still not entering but that Manny quote with V…one of my fave parts.

Lis April 4, 2011 at 9:06 AM

Great review, Maryse. I agree with you also like I did with Lily. I liked Payne well enough and did enjoy Manny, but my main focus was V & Butch. Oh and Jane. I think my favoriet scene was when V went looking for Butch and found him sitting on his bed. It was so very sweet. I guess that is the word I want to use. LOVED this part. had me hooked.
Qhuinn too, had me hooked. Tho it was only for a few pages, I needed to read about him and Blay. Q needs to feel what he’s done and he is. He’s gonna go thru hell before Blay comes back and I for one want to be on that ride. I also, remember, ‘member, the hot stuff from the early books and want that back too. Maybe it will be back in time for the M/M story?? Wwweeee….one can only hope.
Great, great review!!
Thanks.

Erika April 4, 2011 at 9:11 AM

Great Review! I am half through with the book and do not want it to end!! Hope I win that signed copy!!!

Barbara April 4, 2011 at 9:41 AM

I enjoyed reading your book review of “Lover Unleashed”. I love Payne! I thought JR Ward was very clever in this book. I was surprised by the V, Butch and Jane scenerios. I had been having forethoughts before this book came out about Manny, and how was he going to fit into the BDB world. I will say my hypothesis was dead on abut that outcome. I love how these humans keep being introduced into the vampire world. We have the half-bred queen Beth, the never dying human Mary, the human-turned-into-a-brother Butch, Doc Jane who is a “ghost”…and now Manny…who seems to be in great health and younger after Payne is with him, holding him because of her light. I wonder if Manny will decide to further investigate his heritage with ancestry regression like Butch?

Sherry April 4, 2011 at 9:48 AM

I think you hit everything on the “head” with this!! I had so many fav parts, but obviously it went on as the book went on. I keep getting new ones. I absolutely LOVED when Manny kept referring V to Goatee. I laughed every time :D
JR knows her readers and I know she won’t disappoint when it comes to Qhuay, so like you Maryse, we can only wait with baited breath and dream BIG..
As for my 2nd fav male, Xcor. I believe also that he is not as ugly as it seems and he’s going to be a heartbreaker…for me, anyways!! Loved this book, and will re~read when I get it back!! Need me more of the hotel scene, and soon :)

Rebecca April 4, 2011 at 10:09 AM

I love the BDB. I haven’t finished book 9 yet, but so far I like it.

Reena Jacobs April 4, 2011 at 10:17 AM

I’ve kind of put this series on the back burner after John Matthew’s book, though a voice in the back of my mind nags “read me.” I would love to win a copy of Lover Unleashed.

Jessica S April 4, 2011 at 10:22 AM

I am about 3/4 through the book right now and I love it. I love Payne and Manny, which shocked me since the moment I found out that Payne was the next book I was less then excited. I guess I was hoping Quinn and Blay would be next and Im still hoping they come next. I liked the side stories with V/Jane/Butch and Quinn story, but Im still not really enjoying the band of bastards. They are still better than the Lessening society and I LOVE that I havent really had to read much about them in this book.All and all I love the book so far and I can not wait for the next BDB book!

Laura April 4, 2011 at 10:27 AM

The hotel scene was crazy good, hopefully Z is in the next book with Tohr :) .

Sara April 4, 2011 at 10:31 AM

I loved this book. Great review. Agree with a lot of it. Loved Butch in this one. I loved when you realized he used the spoon and water.. even though that was a pretty intense seen, it made me say awwww. .. and V… well, ya know!<3

I'd love a signed copy.. will definitely be doing the VS next book!

Shauna April 4, 2011 at 10:37 AM

Wow – this series gets me everytime and I love how it gets more complex by adding the Bastard Soldiers – Xcor and his team. I’m thinking – ANOTHER JR SERIES….PLEEEESE – or just more fun added to the Brothers. I loved this book for more Vishous – it was AWESOME for that – V Story part 2. Yes – I agree the Manny and Payne was A-OK but it was sweet and I loved the ending for sure. JR always leaves me wanting more so I look forward to your NEXT review. Thank you for this site, your reviews/recommendations.

Tracy April 4, 2011 at 10:50 AM

Loved the review!! Can’t wait to read the book!!

Jackie April 4, 2011 at 11:05 AM

I so agree with you that JR is ‘playing us along’ with the Quay storyline. She isn’t about to give them their HEA just yet. She’s having too much fun leaving us all panting for more. Likewise I really don’t think that their story will not end up being a novella – they are too big a draw for that.

Loved your review…you really do know those boys.

* loved Manny and his distain for the ‘goateed hater’
* loved that the ‘bastards’ aren’t actually bastards at all, even if they may give our king a few headaches.
* loved that V and Butch didn’t get it together (and no I’m no a homophobe), they’re both comitted and it would have been wrong.
* love that we are so being played with the Quay storyline. We’ll be gagging for it by the time she writes it.
* loved that those irritating lessers weren’t around in this book at all
* even loved that the bloody horse was ok – but thats just me being a softie.

Don’t forget that I’m a honourary American for this one!
Jack xxx

Penny April 4, 2011 at 1:00 PM

I was suprised how much I ended up liking Manny. The V and Butch scenes didn’t feel sexual to me this time though, dunno, guess its just a different direction. I liked the hotel scene too and thought she was going to die smiling at least! Surprised by the new guys, definitely looking foward to more.

Mica April 4, 2011 at 3:47 PM

I still can’t get over chapter 37….. Xcor and Throe how long do you think we have To wait for a book?….These brothers are my heart I love this series……thanks for a great review

Jennifer April 4, 2011 at 3:55 PM

I loved this book…but I’ll admit V and Butch became the entire book for me…I enjoyed Payne and Manny, but I found myself flying through their parts to get to the uh—”good parts.” I also find it odd that I’m half hoping Marissa and Jane continue to allow V and Butch their…how shall I say it? Alone time together? I mean, V can have another breakdown and Butch can make it all better and I would be just fine with that. I knew back in Jane and V’s book that Manny would make some kind of re-introduction to the Brothers, as V thought “Brother” when he was in his office back in that book. I found myself enjoying his journey with Payne, but as I said before,still was super excited about the Butch and V part.

So anyone else think Payne might use her super healing abilities to cure Wrath’s eyesight?
Also, Xcor showing up has added even more depth to the ever evolving series…can’t wait for the next one!

Angi April 4, 2011 at 4:45 PM

Loved it! Its going to be torture waiting for the next one!

Maryse April 4, 2011 at 5:20 PM

Hey Jenn… yah I think the whole Payne and healing would be a neat twist to the Jane, Manny “hospital”.

I’m going to LOVE Tohr’s book I just know it. He’s already been through so much, he’s severely tortured, and I have a feeling he WILL resist his “happily ever after”, and make us work for it.

Also he’s one of the original brothers, so naturally, that automatically raises his HOT factor.

I hope it’s super-intense. Do not water this one down, J.R. We want the full range of angry, infuriating and steamy!! All at once!

Maryse April 4, 2011 at 5:24 PM

Agreed, Penny. This book was full of intimacy, but in a different way. Weirdly enough, the shellan’s sure gave lots of leeway, but J.R. kept it strapped in, I guess. LOL! In more ways then one.

And like Jackie quoted on our Facebook discussion, (a definite fav. quote) was:

“One other thing.”
“What?”
“I think we’re dating now.” As V barked out a laugh, the cop shrugged. “Come on…I got you naked. You wore adamn corset. And don’t get me started about the sponge bath afterwards.”

LOVE THEM to death!!!

Jennifer Brian April 4, 2011 at 5:29 PM

I can’t wait to read this one!

Maryse April 4, 2011 at 5:30 PM

Laura… more Z is EXCELLENT with me, but I have a feeling it’ll be awhile before we revisit his “issues”. He’s already had two books, so… :(

Z is my all time favorite (not just in the Brothers but all vamp/paranormal “heroes”). I adore him. Since J.R. has mentionned many times in the past that he’s her favorite, I do hope she’ll include him in more detail in future installments.

Maryse April 4, 2011 at 5:35 PM

Hey Shauna! My pleasure. You guys have suggested a ton to me also, so I’m thrilled :)

So, question?

Didn’t you just want to bonk Manny on the head when he didn’t even let Payne spill the good news. Instead he talked right over her saying it was useless…

which in turn made her feel dejected, and well you know how the rest turns out.

UGH!!! I was so mad at him! I guess that was the major “eye-rolling” moment for me. Drama for the sake of drama. There they are, and he’s healthier then ever and she’s been given Wrath’s “okay” and he goes into his “I’m human, you’re not” routine. Grrrrrrrrrr!!!!

I made a “note” at that part, and it wasn’t pretty. hehe (but I refrained from posting it here).

Maryse April 4, 2011 at 5:35 PM

Yup Jackie! You’re “in” on this one. Promise!

Maryse April 4, 2011 at 5:39 PM

Jessica… agreed! The lessers pretty much bored me (if only there was a way to I dunno, make them possibly redeemable, or something, maybe then we could have an interest)…

But with these “Bastards” I enjoyed that scene with the little “taste of the murderers blood” so they could hunt him down. How awesome that they help rid the earth of scourge. They’re a decent kind of “bad guy” (at least in this installment)…

Maryse April 4, 2011 at 5:42 PM

Lis…I had to use my imagination with that nice “downtime” between V and Butch. It was sweet, and beautiful, but I wish there had been a whole section of the book just for that. I guess she didn’t want to “cheapen” the moment, but imagine, had she taken the time describe it, the thoughts, the deep silence, the conversation, all of it… I think it would have made it all even better.

Kathryn H April 4, 2011 at 5:44 PM

I totally agree with every single thing you said about Lover Unleashed and the series. I devoured the book cover to cover this past weekend. I think the books need to get back to a little more of the “mating” action though. I’ve discovered an interesting thing about myself that at my age is surprising me. I enjoy being a voyeur to Vishous’ dark proclivities. I can’t get enough of the Black Dagger Brotherhood. To quote Claudia in Interview with the Vampire, “I want some more”.

Kathryn H April 4, 2011 at 5:45 PM

Correction on my e-addy.

Maryse April 4, 2011 at 5:46 PM

Barbara! I’m loving all the humans too!

In this series, many of them already do have, somewhat of a paranormal connection (the half vamps that don’t know it yet etc..), but there have been plenty of just plain ol’ humans (that of course change later) that I’ve appreciated.

And the fact that these guys just let ‘em in, as part of the group. LOVE it!!

Jessica April 4, 2011 at 5:52 PM

I have been checking your site daily since I finished the book to see your thoughts. I loved it!!! You talked about this series being home to you and I agree. I totally feel like I am hanging out with old friends when I read BDB. (Is it sick that i really wish they were my friends? Haha). My favs were def V and Butch. I couldn’t get enough of them. I was annoyed at the new “bad” guys for interrupting the story, but of course by the end, I wanted more. The hotel scenes are great but just like in real life, wish they were longer and a bit more frequent! Already can’t wait for the next book to come out. I still think it is weird how attached I can get to certain books. It blows my mind that JR is just a regular person, but she can write amazing books that can completely take over my life for a few days. I’m even left wanting more!

Maryse April 4, 2011 at 5:57 PM

Sherry… didn’t you just love how he stayed in the “dark” in the hotel while he got his groove on… it made him all mysterious.

But, I especially loved his sense of logic. He’s not just an all out killer.

I was so scared for that hooker. I mean I was CERTAIN it was going to end badly… but they rocked us all! ;)

P.S. Hands off “Z”!! LOL!!! (*hug*). I love teasing ;)

Maybe I should make that my permanent “signature” tee hee!!!

Jennifer Bakley April 4, 2011 at 6:09 PM

Hey Maryse…as always another great review! I was totally awsome how we all came together in all parts and read anticipated book…As for my thoughts…well…V and Butch really stole the show…I kind of would like to have gone more into Payne’s past ,,,all we really know is that she was V’s sister, and her mother kept her in a suspended prison,,and she killed there father…I would have liked to have more detail about the confronting of her father,,but all in all I really Liked Payne..
V…broke my heart, made me cry, made me smile, all the fabulous qualities I love in a man ..or vampire I should say..hehe..and I’m sorry to all of you BDB fans…please dont hold it against,,me cause I still love yall…but Im just not into Blay and Quhinn hooking up…I just cant get that worked out right in my hair…I guess because of all the womanizing Qhinn was into…I dont know but I still love them and want them both to be happy sooo I guess if that is what there destiny is then of coarse Ill be happy for them..
but…anyways…You know back in Vs book I knew something was going to be a big twist with Dr Manelo…that was a big ‘Iknew it, I knew it”,,,,but now Im curious about this mysterious “Father” of Butch’s and Manny’s…and as Im thinking of the future to come…Xcor has come to mind,,and finding happiness,,,cause this group of warriors,,has got me sooo curious…more curious than I would have expected from myself…and Murhderer,,,I noticed he was mentioned…what is going to come out with him….Hmm? well we all just sit and wait,,,for the next one…and Im like you Maryse..I will always,,keep going back cause J.R does make you feel like your home…where “Brothers” are concerned…sooooo Whats next girls…?
anyway,,as always..thanks for sharing..
jennifer

Jennifer April 4, 2011 at 6:10 PM

Oh…and another thought…I am to assume Del a Cruz’s new detective partner guy is the fallen angel in the next of the Covet series? I mean Ward spent way too much time with him to just leave it for the next books unless she’s somehow tying him in there. I think I read (Maryse prob on your blog or facebook page LOL) that one of the characters from this BDB was going to be a main character in that series.

Tammie April 4, 2011 at 6:47 PM

This book is next on my list to read….I love this blog.

Maryse April 4, 2011 at 6:56 PM

Hey Jenn!!

It was so fun reading the book “together” in our Facebook ;) And then going over every detail once we were all done!

What’s next, you ask? Well, our virtual Black Dagger Brotherhood Pajama Party, that’s what! I’m waiting for the majority of the girls to receive their PJ’s (me included), and then we set a crazy fun night of uploading silly pictures of ourselves in PJ’s and BDB books, chatting, squeeing and all that.

You too, right?! BDB PJ’s or not, just put on some PJ’s, and let’s make a “virtual slumber party” of it! It’ll be cool (and that’s an invite to all of you!!). I’ll make a blog post, so we know when to “get together” on my Facebook page and then it’s on! If you guys want to get some Black Dagger Brotherhood PJ’s (who doesn’t want to wrap herself in that?), here is the direct link to J.R. Ward’s store:

http://shop.cafepress.com/black-dagger-brotherhood

Next on my reading agenda… Infinity by Sherrilyn Kenyon (more about Nick)

JimiAnn April 4, 2011 at 7:18 PM

You know I would LOVE to win this books- Especially since I haven’t read it yet and after your review and Lily’s review I really feel out of the loop! Hook me up! LOL ;)

Jennifer April 4, 2011 at 8:29 PM

Well, I doubt I will have my BDB PJ’s by then…but I can’t wait to talk about the books :)

Jennifer Bakley April 4, 2011 at 8:53 PM

Im soooo in the pajama party! I just hope its on a nite,,that im not working…lol I dont think the Sheriff would like me prancing around in the Detention Center in front of Howard County’s finist, with Pjs on..lollol…its funny that you would come up with that…cause I was thinking the same thing,,when I first saw your post about the pjs..lol anyway,,,
but sign me RSVP…
…Im currently reading Pleasure Unbound…Im liking it alot…I didnt know how much I missed some “demon love” ,,,,lol Im fixing to start City of Fallen Angels by Cassandra Clare,,,the 4th installment in Mortal Instrument Series…its wasnt available in Ebook format,,so Im having to wait for it to ship,,,
anyway,,,again,,,I say
Thanks for Sharing…and will talk to ya soon..
Jennifer

Jennifer Bakley April 4, 2011 at 8:59 PM

And also to Jennifer’s comment a few up (my name’s Jennifer and her name is Jennifer,,,lol)anway,,about Jose’s new partner,,I didnt think about that…I was thinking more of lines a maybe becoming a head lesser or something,,,which brings…me to another thought..with Jose,,and recognizing Butch’s voice as the 911 caller ,,,,,any thoughts about what might come of that? I have some theories…..but I guess we’ll have to wait and see..
ok I think thats it,,,cant think….oh wait,,,no thats it…
jennifer

Adrienne April 4, 2011 at 10:55 PM

Great review. You hit all of the best parts. Hotel scene… Loved it. I forgot how much I enjoy reading about the Brothers and their world, until I start reading again. After every new book, I want to re-read the entire series again.

Amber Curry April 4, 2011 at 11:32 PM

Aside from the movie Pretty Woman, I have never wanted to be a hooker more than I did when I read the “motel scene!!!” Sweet Jesus!!! Oh…to be in the middle of a Xcor/Throe manwich!!! Ok, ok….I digress…back to the topic at hand. I truly enjoyed UL, it was not my fav but it was good. Like everyone else I am desperately waiting for more Qhiunn and Blay…! The whole scene where Qhuinn see’s the future and it somehow involves him impregnating Layla, I was not a fan of…! No. No. No. Im ok with it if it is done in a dr office and he never has actual sex with her. Anyway…loved the review Maryse and I couldn’t agree more…

JenM April 5, 2011 at 7:56 AM

I’m a couple of books behind. I just finished Lover Avenged and totally fell in love with Rev. Plus Wrath and Beth were so much in that book that it was a total bonus. I’ve got Lover Mine, but I’m waiting to read it. If I stretch out the time between books, JR Ward’s writing style doesn’t bother me at all whereas I think if I read them back to back, I’d go a little crazy. Plus, it’s nice to know that I have at least one sitting and waiting for me to pick up. This does tempt me to catch up, though, because I love V and Butch.

Karen April 5, 2011 at 8:47 AM

Loved your review as always! When I got home from work last night I had a message from the library that my copy was waiting for me! I was so surprised and so excited that I went right out again to pick it up. I love V & Butch and can’t wait to read more about them. Thanks for the opportunity to win this copy!

AmyP April 5, 2011 at 9:01 AM

Loved your review. I found the BDB series and became completely addicted. I’ve not received Payne’s book yet, but it should be here soon. So I kind of skip over some of the spoilers…lol! As I read each book, I get a new favorite Brother. This series is one that I will read again and again!

Jennifer April 5, 2011 at 1:13 PM

LOL yep look there’s two “Jennifer’s” now…this could get confusing…my students call me by my last name “Harrison” which is fine since you were here first and that might be less confusing LOL
Anyway…I had considered the idea of Jose’s partner becoming involved with the Lesser’s as well, and since they had a much “lesser” role (no pun intended) in this novel, I look for them to take a larger one in the next, unless with the whole “Wrath is going down” bit from Xcor, Xcor and his men become the greater protagonist.
I guess we’ll have to wait and see; I just know Ward never throws in stuff willy-nilly so I’m sure we got all that back story for a reason!

Jenn April 5, 2011 at 2:31 PM

Love the review. Looking forward to reading this series. It’s on my list for 2011.

Thanks again :)

Tamara April 5, 2011 at 6:56 PM

Okay, so yeah.. I’m partially posting just because I want the book… I”ll admit it… but you always say it ALL with your reviews. SOOOOOOO many theories about what Q saw at the door to the fade, still wanna know about the coffins…

and waiting for Tohrment… well, that’s torment!!!

Maryse April 5, 2011 at 10:26 PM

Torment is right! A whole year to wait!! Arrrrgghhhh!!!

Beth April 5, 2011 at 10:27 PM

Love Love the series! This book was not as hot and heavy or romantic as some of the others but still very good. I can’t wait for more!

Joanna April 5, 2011 at 11:21 PM

I absolutely love the BDB. Lover Eternal was the first one I started with, and by the time I was finished, I was hooked. Within the month, I had gotten the entire series for myself, which at the time only 7 novels had been written. Now, it kills me to have to wait in between.

I can’t wait to see what progress within this book, and I’ve been trying my hardest not to read spoilers, but I have caught a few. However, I still need to read the storyline for myself. Your so lucky you live close where authors have signings. I live in a little town if NW Florida where nothing like those events happen or I would so go. What a awesome giveaway! The chance to win is sweet.

Jilly B April 6, 2011 at 8:24 AM

I so want this book!! Waited and waited and reread the series to get ready for it and then bam, my hubby is making me wait to buy it. So unfair!! I cant wait to read it!!

Donna D April 6, 2011 at 11:47 AM

The book was FAB, V is so hot I would love to get “Dom” and dirty with him! I have started re-reading the series as I just love having the Brothers in my dreams. Read it and devour it as every intallment is just delicious ! Bring on Tohr!

Tammy April 6, 2011 at 12:16 PM

I have not gotten to read this yet. I have been working way to much and would really love to get this book. I miss the brothers. I cant wait to read it!

cher April 6, 2011 at 12:28 PM

Just finished the book last night.I sooo agree with your review. I liked Payne/healer but to me it was almost a side story instead of book just to them. I know I will get screamed at but I don’t like V.(I know, I know). Everybody loves this guy but I just don’t. I wasn’t a fan in the other books as well. It dawned on me throughout the book that I didn’t have any connection to Jane either but this book attempted me to like both.I wanted to, I really really did.I understood more about them by the end.I was interested in the Blay/Qhuinn story as well as some added new people (don’t want to give anything away).I will be reading the next book without question but I pray that it’s not another Butch/V and Jane book.I was curious that a lot of the story lines from previous book weren’t included in this book.What about Murhder, news people???

Jeanette Hanson April 6, 2011 at 4:15 PM

Great book review Maryse. I loved the V story, but I did enjoy the Manny/Payne story as well. I really liked the whole thing. As I mentioned in another post, I much rather a brotherhood/brotherhood story as opposed to a brotherhood/lesser story. I got bored with the lessers and grossed out by them as well. I loved this story. The “vampire” part is so sexy and the romance is my favorite part of all of the stories! :) I loved the length of it, kept me busy for a couple of days and revisiting the brotherhood was awesome! made me want to reread the whole series!!! THANK YOU JR WARD!!!!!!!!

Debbie April 7, 2011 at 12:22 AM

I’m never been too much of an reader, but one day I picked up a friend’s copy of Dark Lover and start reading. Instantly, I was a fan of the BDB. I own almost all of them now

Just the Brothers’ world, action, and characters draw me in. I’m so looking forward to this book, and seeing where the other storylines go.

Monica April 8, 2011 at 3:43 PM

Thank you so much for the review! You are the one who introduced me to the BDB and I couldn’t be happier! Love it!!

Rebecca April 8, 2011 at 3:51 PM

Love this series. Thank you for the review! Cant wait to read this one.

Debra April 8, 2011 at 4:32 PM

Couldn’t resist peeking at the review even though I don’t have my book yet. Can’t wait to read it!

Shana April 8, 2011 at 5:50 PM

Ever since I picked up and read Dark Lover, I became a die hard BDB fan. My favorite brother will always be Zsadist, but it’s so hard sometimes to wait to see what’s going to happen with all the hints given from the previous book. Even though it’s a killer to wait til the next one, it’s better to wait and get a great book than rush JR and have a not so great one. All I can say to JR is, I love your books and please please keep many more coming. *smiles*

Meg April 8, 2011 at 7:10 PM

I have to say that this is my least favorite of Ward’s books thus far. I love BDB and I am a loyal fan but this one was missing something I thought but I couldn’t quite put my finger on what.

sarah s April 13, 2011 at 1:36 PM

After being introduced by my friend Jackie (yes the one you will be meeting next week)i was hooked straight away ,the first book i loved with all the down town New York goings on,then the second one had me in tears when Mary had cancer & Rhage was soo in love with her & her body it just amazed me how easy you can become so addicted to their world.Every brother captivates you, making you laugh & cry.Loved Johns story from the start,and so clever that he really is D although he doesnt know that.V & Marys story also brill & loved when mummy dearest let mary come back & V brought tears to my eyes when he gave her the birds.I have read all the books & you are right to say that we need more then one fix per year so hurry up JR WARD give us more.The latest book was good with Payne & Manny especially when he squares up to V,he definitely has some balls but you know what all the brothers are FAB.The story just gets better & better -I know ive missed the cut off date but felt the need to leave a comment.

Maryse April 14, 2011 at 7:06 PM

So just an update! Barbara is the winner!! Congratulations Barbara. I hope you love your copy :)

*hug*

Thank all of you for commenting. There will be more giveaways. Promise!

Tamara L June 22, 2011 at 2:00 PM

Loved the latest in the BDB series, but then I enjoy them all! It’s like meeting up with old friends you haven’t seen in a while. I understand from this website that the next book doesn’t come out until April 2012. That will be a long tough wait but J.R. Ward doesn’t disappoint! I’m intrigued by the Blay/Quinn story, which surprises me since I’ve never read a gay love story and didn’t think I’d be interested. But it’s been written in such a beautiful and poignant way I’ve sometimes cried for them while reading. Love this author!!! I still need to read book 2 in the Fallen Angel series and love that the third will be out soon as well. At least that will take the sting out of waiting for another BDB book.

Danielle September 8, 2011 at 2:20 PM

Alot of people (inlcuding myself) didn’t get why the storyline of Detective de la Cruz and his new partner, Vincent DelVecchio was even in the story, because it just didn’t flow with the rest of the book. Now I know why it was in there! I just started reading JR’s new novel ENVY and…yep…it’s about DelVecchio!

Leave a Comment

 

Notify me of followup comments to this post via e-mail. You can also subscribe without commenting.

Previous post:

Next post: