Reader Question – Should the Marked Men series be read in order?

by Maryse on May 10, 2015 · 5 comments

in Reader Questions

I haven’t read all of these yet (I’ve read RULE and loved it!! <— my review) but I know this author is MUCH loved, all the way through! So I reached out to our Facebook crew…

Kristi has a “Marked Men Series“ question. Maybe you can help? She asks:

“Do you have to read the marked men series in order? Wanting to read Asa but didn’t know if I had to start with book 1?”

And BOY did you guys come through!!! :D

Tilly: I think they should be read in order. Each book focuses on a different couple and the next one builds on the last. Loved them all. Reading the whole series won’t be a chore.

Renate: standalone books with interconnected characters.

Suzanne: I would read them in order as the further along the series, references to previous books in the series are made and I agree they are not a chore to read. I loved the series

Tricia: You learn so much about Asa from the previous books so I don’t think you’d get as much from his book if you didn’t read the others.

Andrea: Start from Rule. It’s the best one

Barbara: I think it helps to understand to read them in order.

Jennifer: I would read them in order. Every story is a standalone but they all interconnect and go in a timeline starting with the first one.

Amber: You need to real Rule (it’s the best one IMO) to get introduced to all the characters and then Jet (book 2) because that’s where you learn about Asa. You could technically then skip to Asa because you learn all about who he is in Jet. If you want to see more of his transformation you should really read Rome also, but the others aren’t necessary if you then want to skip to Asa. I hope that makes sense.

Carol: Read in order. That’s your best bet. You won’t regret it.

Emily: In order. You will be missing information about secondary characters in each book if you don’t.

Cathy: You really can’t read Asa without reading Jet first. In Jet, Asa is introduced and builds the foundation for the issues found in Asa.

Paige: Technically I don’t think so. They are interconnected though and you learn a lot about the relationships Asa had in the other books. Plus they’re good.

Mikayla: she should start with book 1 because you see Asa’s character how he was to what he became

Kristi: Thanks ladies! I will start with number one tonight!

Thanks guys!!! :D


Sign up for my weekly newsletter

{ 5 comments… read them below or add one }

Lisa May 11, 2015 at 3:46 AM

Ive read all of the Marked Men series and loved them. Although they are separate stories with HEAs about each couple, all of the other characters feature in each story. It really would be best to read in order as there are weddings and events that follow on from each previous book. I hope you enjoy them as much as I did and don’t forget to read Jays other series starting with Better When He’s Bad….also really great.

Michele F May 11, 2015 at 5:59 AM

I agree with Lisa…. They should be read in order.

Jacque May 11, 2015 at 9:44 AM

I agree witht he above to read in order, and your in luck all of them are out so you read them all at one time! i loved them all.

Lisa May 11, 2015 at 7:18 PM

Actually there is a bundle of the first 3 books on Amazon at the moment. Rule, Jet and Rome.

Shane May 13, 2015 at 3:54 PM

Read this series, love them. Rule is still my favorite…

Leave a Comment


Notify me of followup comments to this post via e-mail. You can also subscribe without commenting.

Previous post:

Next post: