Anne Rice – The Vampire Chronicles Series Reading Order

by Maryse on May 4, 2011 · 9 comments

in Reading Order Guide:

Thanks to Melissa for pointing out a very important (yet missing) series from my list. What was I thinking!? Especially considering I’ve already collected a bunch of these for my own reading pleasure ;)

About the series:

Here are the confessions of a vampire. Hypnotic, shocking, and chillingly erotic, this is a novel of mesmerizing beauty and astonishing force–a story of danger and flight, of love and loss, of suspense and resolution, and of the extraordinary power of the senses.

(Anne Rice then proceeds to cross over her Mayfair Witches series into the “wrap-up” of the Vampire Chronicles. You *might* want to catch up on her “Mayfair Witches” before continuing.  Click HERE for the Mayfair Witches reading order guide)

Sign up for my weekly newsletter

{ 9 comments… read them below or add one }

Penny December 5, 2011 at 11:17 AM

I really need to go back and reread these, it’s been so many years!

Maryse December 5, 2011 at 1:02 PM

I need to just read ‘em. My friend LOVES the series and can’t believe as much as I’m into the whole vampire thing, that i haven’t even started these yet… shameful, really *blush*

Penny December 5, 2011 at 2:58 PM

Well since its been 20 years since I read interview, it’ll be like the first time for me too!

Tara December 7, 2011 at 5:07 PM

I’m reading The Vampire Lestat and I absolutely love these books.

Cheryl Sroka February 6, 2013 at 2:55 PM

why does every Anne Rice novel AND every list on the web have a completely different order? I have NEVER run into so much confusion regarding a series before! In my experience, authors always list their series in reading order (inside the next novel) so their readers have no confusion on which book to read next. The year it was written isn’t necessarily the order it is meant to be read in. I am totally frustrated! Are you sure you have the vampire chronicles reading order correct? Please respond, I would very much appreciate it! Thanks,

Bruce October 31, 2013 at 9:15 AM

I’m reading the last book in the series. I don’t want to know how I’m going to feel after I flip to the last page. These books have been written tremendously well. I love Anne Rice!!!

Daniel Lewis Frommherz February 2, 2015 at 1:35 PM

Over the past about 40 years I have purchased most of the Anne Rice books and they stand mostly as first edition reading in my collection pirvate library. Now that the Vampire Chronicles is being revisited with Prince Lestat I decided to read the whole series again probably for the 3rd time. Presently I am reading “Queen of the Damned”. At this time my favorite Young Fledgling Vampire, all of you know him as “The Boy” in Interview, then introduced as “Daniel” who as a mortal built the “Night Island” with Armand has survived the old queens firery onslaught and with his lover Armand have escaped the scene of the Vampire Lestat Concert somehow simply being passed over. So I need advice from any of you who are reading the chronicles what book should be # 4? if any of the others are mentioned in the newest Prince Lestat Book. I guess that I would expect that David Talbot’s adventures in the Body Thief might need a reading and maybe Blackwood Farm. I have this feeling that some of the other individual books just describe the characters in more detail but I am really going to put my foot down and say no way will I ever read Memnoch again it really sucked. So what will I miss if I go straight to Anne’s latest Vampire Novel?

Vicki February 22, 2017 at 6:04 PM

What order do they go in cause I want to get them and read them in order cause I’m weird like that

Jason Wright February 23, 2017 at 11:28 AM

They generally take place in the order released but they also crossover with other series. The complete order (IMO) goes like this:

1976 Interview with the Vampire
1985 The Vampire Lestat
1988 The Queen of the Damned
1989 The Mummy (mentioned in the vampire books)
1990 The Witching Hour (Witch books crossover several times)
1992 The Tale of the Body Thief
1993 Lasher
1994 Taltos
1995 Memnoch The Devil
1998 Pandora
1998 The Vampire Armand
1999 Vittorio the Vampire
2000 Merrick
2001 Blood and Gold
2002 Blackwood Farm
2003 Blood Canticle
2014 Prince Lestat
2016 Prince Lestat and the Realms of Atlantis

Leave a Comment


Notify me of followup comments to this post via e-mail. You can also subscribe without commenting.

Previous post:

Next post: