Ilona Andrews – Kate Daniels Series Reading Order:

by Maryse on June 21, 2009 · 3 comments

in Reading Order Guide:

This series comes highly recommended! As per fellow reader, Rose:

“… I might suggest the Kate Daniels series by Ilona Andrews. It’s artful mixing of magic and technology and realistic characterizations makes all the books a wonderful read. I stayed up four days straight finishing them.”

and Tanya says:

“Ilona Andrews Kate Daniels series is another very well written true urban fantasy. There’s romantic tension, but no action until later books.”

Tessa: I love the whole series, and can’t get enough of Curran.  :-)

As per the author’s website:

The world has suffered a magic apocalypse. We pushed the technological progress too far, and now magic returned with a vengeance. It comes in waves, without warning, and vanishes as suddenly as it appears. When magic is up, planes drop out of the sky, cars stall, electricity dies. When magic is down, guns work and spells fail.

It’s a volatile, screwed-up world. Magic feeds on technology, gnawing down on skyscrappers until most of them topple and fall, leaving only skeletal husks behind. Monsters prowl the ruined streets, werebears and werehyenas stalk their prey; and the Masters of the Dead, necromancers driven by their thirst of knowledge and wealth, pilot blood-crazed vampires with their minds.

In this world lives Kate Daniels. Kate likes her sword a little too much and has a hard time controlling her mouth. The magic in her blood makes her a target, and she spent most of her life hiding in plain sight.  But sometimes even trained killers make friends and fall in love, and when the universe tries to kick them in the face, they kick back.


Sign up for my weekly newsletter

{ 3 comments… read them below or add one }

Chinyere Ezinwanyi April 4, 2012 at 4:46 PM

Magic Dreams, the e-book, will be released separately on June 26, 2012. It was originally published in the Hexed Anthology, but it will be available on its own!
yeeeea, man!

cindy August 28, 2013 at 7:28 AM

Where do all the kindle only e-books go in the Kate Daniels series. In Magic Slays Kate tells Curran he can eat immortal apples and in another book she uses a torch from the a death god.

Angie May 4, 2015 at 8:15 PM

After Magic Breaks is Magic Steals. Novella book Inside of “Night Shift”. Here is her link.

3 years later Maryse, I still love your site. I’ve already read your top 10 what to read after Twilight.( and many others) Reading this one now. Thanks so much for your dedication, and the best book blog, ever!


Leave a Comment


Notify me of followup comments to this post via e-mail. You can also subscribe without commenting.

Previous post:

Next post: