Book Review – Be My Hero by Linda Cage

by Maryse on August 28, 2014 · 23 comments

in My Book Reviews

Be My Hero (Forbidden Men Book 3)
How sweeeeeet is this book?!!! It’s sweet, quirky, funny and fun. And at times, super-emotional! And even quite dark. Definitely explores some dark subjects, and very dark characters (the evil villains by way of family members), but overall a light, feel-good read that I throughly connected to. In fact, I absolutely LOVE these characters. I feel attached to them, and will be backtracking to book #1 (Price of a Kiss - he’s an escort!) and #2 (To Professor, with Love - teacher-student romance!!) to get their full stories.

While this one reads perfectly as a standalone, I kind of regret not having started at the beginning of this series (Forbidden Men Series) *waggles eyebrows* ;) since the previous “couples” are very prominent in this installment. And I bet I would have gotten to know the couple from this book better as they too, have appeared in the past installments.

Mind you, I went into it thinking it would have a darker edge, a more serious feel to it, and I’ll admit, at first, I was a bit taken aback by the writing style. Oh it was good… just… I dunno. I guess my expectations for that “intensity” and that biting internal dialogue would be a huge part of it. After all, per the blurb, they are both coming out of very traumatic experiences, and now, she’s pregnant and single…

For the first time in years, I finally felt free. I didn’t have to worry about any male in my home trying to get at me. I could just live, focus on my baby, and begin the rest of my life. Except, now that I could finally be me, I felt lost.

I had no idea who I really was.

…and he’s on parole for defending another woman and helping her raise her baby, but still hoping to find the love of his life (and what a STORY that part is!!).

Did I love Tristy? God, no. Most of the time I didn’t even like her. We’d survived through hell together, though, and you didn’t just turn your back on a fellow survivor. They became a part of who you were and left you bound to always keeping watch over them.

Yep… pure angst-potential!

I knew this one could be crazy and angsty. And it was!! I just went into it thinking it would be darker, but once I got used to the “feel” of this one, I fell in love with it! You know… that awesome “family feel”, the hilarious antics…

“She’s probably never going to leave him alone until someone takes her out.”

Eyes lighting with intent, she grabbed my hands and squeezed them hard. “Oh my God, E. Let’s take her out. Together. We’re in a big ass Jeep.” Her fingers clamped even tighter around mine. “When she comes back out. let’s gun the engine, pop this curb and run her wicked ass over. Oops, total accident. What was she thinking by jaywalking across a busy street in the middle of the night? And then…” She nodded, as if coming to the best part of the story. “While the car’s lying on top of her and the only things poking out are her glittery red Christian Louboutins, I say we steal her shoes and run.”

Wow, what was this, the homicidal version of The Wizard of Oz?

While yes, I had to agree Mrs. Garrison, Mason’s rapist – er – I mean the rapist of Mason since she wasn’t Mason’s anything – was the Wicked Witch of Florida, that still didn’t mean manslaughter was a good option.

And hello, how had I turned into the rational one?

“Yeah…” I said slowly before shaking my head. “No, I think maybe we should shy away from anything involving … murder.”

*snort*!!!! lol LOL!!!!!!!! I mean… can you just see these two?! In that dark jeep, the one cousin all excited and frantic and the other one thinking… “Oh… I’m gonna be on the news…” (a little “Friends” throwback there ;) )

But that’s just to give you an idea of the “feel”.

As dark as you *think* it sounded, it really isn’t. It’s out of sheer hilarious desperation between best friends/cousins. And I must tell you all, these are VERY sweet (and usually innocent) girls. I was snorting my way through this part! Pure comedic genius. Maybe you need to “read the rest” to get this in context. One of those “you had to be there” moments, but OMG this part will NEVER be forgotten. LOVED!!!

I loved the very obvious character traits (each one coming alive and having that special *something*), and yet, still with those dark pasts, tormented thoughts and obstacles to defeat. Evil… sometimes from those that should be the closest to you. I’d say it has that “Kerrelyn Sparks/Lynsay Sands” feel but without any of the paranormal stuff.

This book reminded me of those.

Eduarda: Which one are you picking Maryseeee ???

Maryse: Darn it! I can’t choose!!!! That “batch” that I listed up there in my “rambling” section… I still can’t figure out which. They all look equally good to me. I’m thinking one of the pregnant girls, ’cause I dunno. I think I’m in the mood for that situation. Er… not in real life mind you. LOL!!!

Maryse: Okay! I chose. Reading Be My Hero and it’s cute. I’m still “getting into” it, ’cause I think I was thinking it would be a bit more… serious or intense. Writing style is more light and quirky, but good so far. But 15% has me chuckling. A lot!

Maryse: Okay yah, if you go into this looking for funny and sweet, you got it! I’ve switched my reading “mode” into the right “mood” for this book, and I’m enjoying it.

Kandace: I’m 60% into Be My Hero. It’s a super easy read and I love how sweet he is. I thought it would be darker.

Maryse’s Book Blog: I thought it would be darker too, Kandace. I kind of regret not having backtracked and read #1 & #2 first since those characters are such a HUGE part of this one, but it read so well as a standalone anyway. Very cute and quirky and funny and fun and VERY emotional at times… good stuff! I’m happy with my choice.

Lauren: JUST finished Be My Hero before heading over to look @ this list….I LOVED it!!!! It had been a week or so since I’d read a book I didn’t skip thru. This one held me from beginning to end!!

Beverly: Loved Be My Hero by Linda Kage!

Michelle: Now I for sure need something light – picked up Be My Hero too and that sounds like a needed ‘cute’ read.

Amy: I must be in the mood for some single-mama angst ’cause Be My Hero and Surviving Love are realllllly looking good right now. ;)

Yep… I was totally in the mood for that, too!

And yet, as much as I giggled and highlighted entire pages of dialogue (GAH!!! These people are funny… but “just like us” kind of funny, ya know?) but I digress. As much as it has that comedic relief, it also had those deeply emotional parts that had me on the verge of tears. Absolute wet eyes, absolute believable pain, absolute sadness.

And that’s just to tell you, that it’s not lighthearted “fluff”. Because it made me feel the intensity, when it counted. Yessssss yes, at times it was way over the top. I mean… how much more could these people take!?? The amount of drama and crazies that comes at them is like… wow. Definitely fiction-like. Yikes!!! But if you just ‘go with it” you can have so much fun (and experience so many “feels”) with this anyway.

And you know what? I went with it. :)

It’s fiction, and it’s fun! Plus, I’ve read plenty of books/series that I absolutely loved where entire town is inundated with human-evil-doers, book after book, and still, I could totally connect. Because of that real-life friends-to-family feel. Like with this one!

4 stars!

Get Free Email Updates from me :)

{ 23 comments… read them below or add one }

Jodie Roach August 28, 2014 at 7:39 PM

Great review!! So…is this technically a love triangle? I’m a little confused but want to read it!!

bev August 28, 2014 at 7:57 PM

It sounds a lot like how Price Of A Kiss was. In that it to was sweet, funny, and touched on serious problems but never became dark.

Maryse August 28, 2014 at 8:08 PM

Hrmmm… a love triangle. Not like our traditional “triangles”… but definitely a difficult situation.

Maryse August 28, 2014 at 8:09 PM

I need to read that one, bev! :D

Renate August 28, 2014 at 8:11 PM

Price of A kiss was an awesome read! it helps to read it first to understand the story in more depth (Mrs. Garrison).
This one….I dunno maybe a little too much fiction…???

Maryse August 28, 2014 at 8:12 PM

Have you read this one yet Renate? I haven’t read the first two, so I can’t compare the “too much” aspect of it, yet….

Linda August 28, 2014 at 8:49 PM

The first two in this series are SERIOUSLY really really good!!! Miss Kage’s writing knows how to go straight to your heartstrings. I’ll definitely be reading this one very soon. My tbr list is sooo out of control!!!! But at least not alone with this dilemma right???!!! Please read this series from the beginning. So worth it I promise.

Sharon F. August 29, 2014 at 6:54 AM

I started Vain. What’s not to love about a book that starts off with the 6’4″ character covered in tats wagging his you know what! Thank goodness I will be reading at the beach with a ocean to cool me off!

Maryse August 29, 2014 at 9:27 AM

LOL!!!!

Renate August 29, 2014 at 11:33 AM

Hi Maryse, I read Price of a Kiss as well as this one….I enjoyed the first one more. This one was good too…Sometimes a reader needs a little extra fiction…!!!???

MichelleS August 30, 2014 at 8:04 AM

Bev – I am at 54% with Written in Red. So far so good. It reminds me of Patricia Briggs’ writing style – so any Mercy Thompson fans out there, heads up on that…. I love that I have no idea where it’s going, with the exception of a few plot lines that I am predicting. I LOVE the secondary characters and the slow build up. Sam just ate the “stag stick” (HA!). Simon is in full avoidance mode, and I love that his instinct is driving him to protect her, even though he obviously hates it (right now). Can’t wait to see where this story goes. I’m glad it’s a series because there is just too much to fit into the the second half of this book.

bev August 30, 2014 at 8:39 AM

Michelle S I’m so glad you are enjoying it, yay!!. It’s funny because I love Mercy, one of my favorite heroines.
I love how other she made them. Sometimes I read books like this and the world building and character traits are almost after thoughts.
One of my favorites is how she described the ponies, oh and the crows.

MichelleS August 30, 2014 at 11:24 AM

Bev – love the ponies and crows – and the girl whose hair changes (and no one knows what kind of “other” she is)…. oh oh… “black hair coming in”… love that! And the old vampire dude, and the girl on the lake… just all of it… is so so so out there and I love when an author has a wild imagination, as long as it is paired with good dialogue and great characters (and it is). Loving it so far…. (I could use less time of the dang postage sorting thing, how many packages could there be?)…. need more Simon time… I know it’s coming…. can’t wait.

MichelleS August 30, 2014 at 11:31 AM

Oh Bev – and the whole (how to do this without spoilers?)….. THING she does to her body because of the unique TALENT she has and how that shaped her world before escaping…. completely and utterly original, haven’t read anything like it. And I have no clue how the cop and that storyline is going to play out. Too many questions….. can you tell I am totally into it? Great recommendation (for fantasy fans).

bev August 30, 2014 at 11:44 AM

LMAO to both of those. I didn’t mind the post office, lol. One of my HUGE pet peeves is being told not show. But can totally see, and read a review that said almost exactly that, where others would be ok we get it about the mail. And more Simon is always good
Great way to say and not say at same time. Yeah totally unique. And I’m curious to see how some of the hrmm, ups and downs of that talent play out.

bev August 30, 2014 at 11:48 AM

I read WIR when it came out and then had no where to go. It was hard for me to leave that world. The third doesn’t come out until March. I think I’ll probably do a re read of Crows in Feb. I rarely re read whole books in a series but IDK enjoy it with this one.

MichelleS August 30, 2014 at 11:56 AM

Bev – since you loved Mercy and WiR, did you, by chance read Elemental Mysteries, Irin Chronicles, The Mageri Series, or Knights of the Black Swan series? They were all FANTASTIC fantasy / PNR reads!!!!

Oh Man! I didn’t know the third one wasn’t out yet. No cliffhangers, right?

bev August 30, 2014 at 12:06 PM

Michelle S no not cliff hangers. Sort of like Mercy where has an ending but not all questions answered.
I’ll look these up. Michelle had some recs I need to look up too. The next fantasy I was thinking of are the Downsider series and the Kate Daniels one. Have had those first books forever.

MichelleS August 30, 2014 at 2:35 PM

I tried Kate Daniels, couldn’t get into it…. may revisit that someday.
never heard of Downside, so, of course, I have to peek….

HIGHLY recommend the ones I listed. They are all so good I wouldn’t even know where to start! Based on yumminess of men, I would choose Black Swan. It’s also an “alternate universe” read. Write them down and pull them out in the winter when you have time to dig into a cool fantasy novel. And you never read Tairen Soul either? I am just flabbergasted that no one has read this since it is my all time number one epic fantasy read.

Kelly August 31, 2014 at 7:01 AM

I’m so glad I read your review before I started this one. I went back and read the first two books before reading it and I loved the whole series. I know that each book centers on a different main couple but I really think that these are better read as a series. The other couples appear really frequently and the story lines continue so that you get to see what’s happened to your favorite people. There is also quite a bit of growth for them from one book to the next.

Overall a very good series. Funny, drama-filled, and sweet. Plus they have some of our favorite angsty topics gigolo, teacher-student, bad boy with a heart of gold.

Mertxe August 31, 2014 at 9:00 AM

I loved the whole series and I loved “fighting fate”.

Michelle August 31, 2014 at 9:29 PM

MichelleS I just noticed some of the recs you posted. I loved the elemental mysteries and knights of the black swan series as well (some books in the later were great and some ok for me though). I just checked and actually have the mageri series on my kindle unread so I’m moving that one up on my list. The irin chronicles though is completely new to me so I need to look it up. The downsider and kate daniels series are fantastic Bev. Especially the kate daniels series which really every book just keeps getting better. It started a little slowish for me too but takes off so I would highly recommend sticking with it. Just think it’s on the seventh book so the awesomeness factor is off the charts with the last couple books and of course it has a slow building romance that adds to the books one it gets off the ground.

bev August 31, 2014 at 9:47 PM

Just finished Hard Knox and it didn’t really work for me. Really have to stop one clicking and read what I already have. So have just started Tall, Tatted and Tempting. Already had it and this is the one Michelle S really liked I think.
Michelle can not say enough how much I love the slow burn. And as Michelle S pointed out when an author takes the time to show us.
Both of those books I have to dig out from somewhere as both in paperback. I’ll have to look up both your suggestions.

Leave a Comment

 

Notify me of followup comments to this post via e-mail. You can also subscribe without commenting.

Previous post:

Next post: