Book Review – Taking Chances by Molly McAdams

by Maryse on September 7, 2012 · 46 comments

in My Book Reviews

Taking Chances (Taking Chances and Forgiving Lies Book 1)
Okay, here is another one that spontaneously rushed it’s way to the top of my list this week. I heard about it for the first time a few days ago, but over and over again, the enthusiasm was making me antsy. I just couldn’t put it off and had to see what all the craze was about. And… you guys did good! I’m on the fence with just how much I liked/loved it. I’m literally half and half with this book and I can’t commit to a grade, because there were some parts (big parts) that were full-on five star for me (loved and hated parts, but they affected me SO much that I was all “OMG this just became a 5 star read!!”) and theennnnn….. some other parts (or maybe just my “issues”) that give me that “3 star” urge. Half and half.

Either way, I have been talking Kirsten’s and Christina’s ear off about it, so it definitely affected me, and will be one I won’t forget.  Some parts were so titillatingly tense, and angsty. My heart was about to explode. Sure enough I CRIED my eyes out at a certain point (big fat non-stop tears that I couldn’t keep up with). True ALMOST *sob-like* tears that should make my “Books That Made Me Cry List” (the only reason I didn’t let go fully was ’cause yet again, husband was in the same room, so you know.. I have my pride. He wasn’t looking in my direction, so I got away with it. Tee hee!!). Had I been alone… OMG I would have been a wreck.

I gritted my teeth, I raged (while at the same time… delighted in the emotion). I felt guilty for… well… “getting” her. There were moments of … “Yep. I can see that.” It’s one of those books for sure, so if these things aren’t your kind of read… this one definitely plays in that “arena”. What arena? Just look at the cover. You know. Just sayin’… or warning.

Kirsten: “Right up your alley Maryse.  Keep the tissues handy!”

Lucy: “maryse you have to read taking chances by molly mcadams…it is soooo good…although i’ll warn you to have the tissues at the ready..i’ve had to take a break because i can’t read any more without crying (still crying now ha :| )…its kind of like beautiful disaster in some ways…put this to the top of your reading list :)

Nicki: Just finished Taking Chances by Molly McAdams. Reads alot like BD fanfic, but I liked it!! Super long, but you get the whole story, so totally worth not getting any sleep..lol.

Jill: The reviews leave me hesitant. The ending does not sound happy! :( Did it ruin the book for you?

Nicki: Not at all. It’s a longggg book, but I actually like it for this story Yes it has a super sad part, but (not to give the book away) you get the ending. The author could have easily divided this book up, but thank God she didn’t because that would have ruined it for me..lol. I really did enjoy reading this one!!!

Brooke: Thanks for recommending it! I just purchased it and can’t wait to get started. The reviews on good reads help sell it too, others loved it and anything like BD! :)

Erin: … today’s read is nothing short of breathtaking. The beginning was a little too much like Beautiful Disaster and Thoughtless combined into one book (I kept asking myself have I already read this book), but the book did take on a life of its own and I could not put it down. I cried and cried and cried… all while sitting at my desk in my office trying to pretend I was working and not reading this beautiful story. This one has definitely been moved into my top 10!

Maryse:  Yep. I have it. You guys are killing me. Another book where I’ve had it recommended 5 times at least in 24 hrs… YAY ME ’cause I have a feeling it’s going to rock my world. *hug* to you!!!

Guys I had no tissues ready despite your warnings. No need. I have my pajama top!! I soaked it, but it did the job great! ;)

Okay so I’m gonna give you some of my reaction “highlights” (no book quotes, y’all can get ‘em in the book. Hee hee!! We’re doin’ this one different!)

Maryse: Oh wow do I like the sexy buzz cut dimpled MMA fighter, or the longish haired tattoed tattoo artist?

Christina: Yesssss! Two yummies!!!!

Maryse: Ohhh nice. MMA fighter IS tattoed. Ok I choose him!

Maryse: Oh no. *spoiler*”s too sweet I decided I’m not gonna want her with *spoiler*. I’m nervous…

Christina: Haha ohhhh just wait

Maryse: Ack! Oh my gooooodness. This is crazy now. Wow quite intense and sad and now I feel bad. Hehe…. Ohhhh noooooooo!!!!

Christina: Oh it gets worse.

So what were my “issues” with it? Well, I don’t want to say too much, because I don’t want to give it away, but I’d say… hrmm. I needed more “growth”. Depth. More time. Lots more of that. Oh and this book is LONG (I love long books, so I’m usually good with that) but I feel the “extra length” of this book would have been better served… in another part (or two) of the story.

For this to have been a 5 star for me, I would have wanted more…. realism (and I’m not saying we aren’t slapped with a few doses of reality with this one, OMG be prepared for some surprises that are not in our usual “light-hearted reads”). But if you read this, you might notice the same “things” I did. These are the issues that I feel I need to point out. In this case, I don’t want to gloss over some of the stuff that made me cringe, or roll my eyes (let’s just put the word “convenient” in there), huff in exasperation, purse my lips, and raise an eyebrow… and I had those moments with this one. I loved the heroes. Reaaaally felt them. The heroine on the other hand… *purses lips*

While I won’t forget it, and it made me feel a ton, and I was barely able to put the book down, it is not “the perfect” read for me. I did find myself skimming towards the end. Huffing and puffing. Some eye rolls, here and there. When (if) you catch yourself eye-rolling. YES! There. ME too!!

Is it worth reading? If you’re in the mood for a SUPER-angsty, super-dramatic, somewhat over-the-top read, where you can overlook the issues I’m grumbling about, and just “go with it” (enjoy the ride, without getting too serious about the backstory, the “but what if’s…..” the OH PLEASE! moments), then yes!! Read it and have fun with it.

I loved it!

Annnnd….. I didn’t.

*shrug* heheheheh Oh come on. You know I kinda did. ;)

Either way, it’s pure guilty pleasure. Go into it for the ride, and don’t think too hard, and you’ll probably have a good time. And you’ll likely cry no matter what.

Read it and weep. ;)

P.S. I’m not gonna tell you what it’s about. Just look at the cover, and you’ll get the gist. College aged kids. Drinking, life situations. Stupid decisions, indecision, more… life situations. Sort of reads like a YA, but there are seriously steamy (yet not so detailed) moments, adult situations and shock-value drama.

3 stars!

5 stars!

P.P.S. —> The girls have already created a discussion forum for it, in the Spoiler Room. Even the author was (is?) there, answering questions. Have at it, if you’re so inclined. http://talk.maryse.net/threads/taking-chances-by-molly-mcadams.244/

ALSO her next book in the series will be called From Ashes with an expected release date of December 11th 2012.

Get Free Email Updates from me :)

{ 46 comments… read them below or add one }

Nicki September 7, 2012 at 6:47 PM

I have to say I really did love this one!! I think I’ve been looking for the BD angst..and your right..this one had it in spades!!! Almost to the point of too “angsty”..BUT I needed it. I think that’s why I’m having a hard time letting it go. Thanks for moving it up your TBR list. :)

Brenna September 7, 2012 at 7:20 PM

What’s YA?

Maryse September 7, 2012 at 7:22 PM

Young Adult. Hope that helps :)

Kirsten September 7, 2012 at 7:28 PM

As you know Maryse, I agree with you. I loved it, but there were some parts that did need more time, more development, more something. I am still having a difficult time articulating what. I did love it though (and yes hated it at times) and went through far to many tissues. Molly has helped clear some things up for me on the spoiler board and I did enjoy the book. I would suggest it and have to a few friends, but don’t forget the tissues!

Maryse September 8, 2012 at 1:06 PM

Yes, I was taken by surprise, and I too, second the tissues suggestion! Pajama tops work too.

Sara September 8, 2012 at 2:53 PM

I loved it too, but I also had my eye rolling, skimming over parts. It was long winded in some areas, hence the skimming and areas that needed more development and some that had too much development. I wasn’t as much of a fan of the heroine sometimes, but if you think of her character and how sheltered she was growing up, then it’s very possible that she really could be as ignorant and make stupid, immature mistakes. One area I was thinking, am I reading BD, which kinda irritated me.. but these were all small areas and overall, I couldn’t put the book down until I finished. Was up from 12:30 when my daughter woke me up during the night until 4 a.m. reading.. and then throughout today until about an hour ago, so, yes, it’s good enough to not be able to put down.

Gudy September 8, 2012 at 5:34 PM

This Book was recommended to fill in the kellen/ Travis void in my heart/stomach however I can’t find it on iTunes? :( HELPPPPP!!!

Chandra September 8, 2012 at 5:53 PM

So glad I downloaded this book! It was pretty drawn out, and a lot like BD….but I loved it! I cried like a baby, I even cried when I was telling my daughter about the book!

Caz September 8, 2012 at 7:40 PM

Wow, I’ve just finished. I loved it upto a point, I can’t believe THAT happened, I was crying my eyes out! But then the heroine was *spoiler* and I struggled a bit with it. I completely agree that she got off far to lightly sometimes but all in all I did enjoy the book..even thought I was heartbroken too or a good chunk of it!!

Erin September 9, 2012 at 10:52 AM

I just loved this book. Made me feel so much…

Jennifer R. September 10, 2012 at 12:36 PM

I have such mixed feelings about this book. I couldn’t put it down, but kept asking myself why I couldn’t. Achhhh….I don’t know. Maybe it should have been split into two books, maybe it was too cheesy in a few parts, maybe some parts were waaayyy too unbelievable. If we were only all that forgiving?? I honestly don’t know! I loved Brandon and Chase. I didn’t love Harper. I wanted to…I really did. I could not click with her. I understood her, but I didn’t understand what made her so attractive to everyone. It’s a worth while read, but Taking Chances is not BD/Thoughtless/Effortless caliber. Sorry.

Stacey September 10, 2012 at 3:38 PM

I live by your recommendations Maryse and you were (as always) right on target with this one. For some reason, it kept me up all night reading it straight through – it was 4 am at the tissue part and I was crying with a major WTH on my lips – but it kept me interested and reading on. I loved the book – maybe I was looking for some angst. BTW – Thanks for being you and all the great recommendations! I have had a tough year and your blog has been my path to reading and keeping me sane!

Maryse September 10, 2012 at 3:54 PM

*hug* Stacey! And thank you for taking the time to let me know you’re here and reading with me!!

julie September 10, 2012 at 7:30 PM

i was sad all day after reading this book. I liked the first part of the book but after the “big shocker” i just felt sad. I tried to shake it off so i could enjoy the rest of it but for some reason i just couldn’t shake it off. lol

Kellie September 10, 2012 at 8:32 PM

Ugh. I just hit 61% and I’m mad. My feelings keep going back and forth with this book. But this…this made me mad and I had to walk away for a bit. I’m not sure it’s safe to go back in. Ugh.

Takisha Bodley September 10, 2012 at 11:35 PM

I just started reading this book early this morning…i am @ the 62% mark and I WAS NOT READY!!!! For the events that have just taking place….i dont know if i can go on….WOW!

Takisha Bodley September 11, 2012 at 12:30 AM

Now at 69%, i had to step away…not really feeling this new turn of events, but im gonna get back in and try to finish tonight..hmmmm

sandy September 11, 2012 at 6:47 AM

overall i thought was a good book, cried alot:),, thanks Maryse for another great recommendation

Gudy September 11, 2012 at 8:43 AM

Yet another great recommendation… I started Sunday night and finished late last night/early this morning (which ever) I loved this book! So much pain went through me during the “shocker” I kept hopeing it was a dream but then Brandon was so wonderful I was and still am torn!!!

Takisha Bodley September 11, 2012 at 8:56 PM

Ok….i finally finished..read your review Maryse and totally agree completely with it! It was an overall 3 and definitely a 5 star at some points and some areas of the read I tried not to think so deep in to it but when I did that caused me to be over it and I couldnt wait until it was finished..lol On to the next book….

Missy September 11, 2012 at 10:46 PM

I did not think this was a good book. It was a 3 all the way. I just thought it tried to hard. The only person in the book you could connect with was Brandon. I just plain out felt sorry for the guy! Maryse still love you recommendations. Keep them coming.

Mercedes September 12, 2012 at 10:07 AM

I read this book and i really like it. I cried alot half way through the book when *spoiler*. I loved it though I havent cried for a while. :) . As always Maryse another great recommendation.

Elaine September 13, 2012 at 11:47 AM

I give this book a 3, however, I am still not over the part….I’m so mad, idk, but this book had my crying as well. I just don’t understand why it had to turn out this way. ugh

cortney September 13, 2012 at 2:48 PM

I so love this book. ive actually read it for a second time already i cant seem to put it down. i love the intense love chase and brandon shared for her. i cried when chase died and could feel harpers pain as she hurt for her loss as well as her babys. i like harper couldnt help really but to fall for brandon as well. i hope this book can turn in to so much more.

Tina Harris September 13, 2012 at 8:36 PM

I totally agree. Must have tissues ready. I was up most all night reading it and finished it today. Lots of twist and turns. But loved it!! I have already recommended it to all of my friends.

Meagan September 13, 2012 at 11:37 PM

Absolutely LOVED this book up until the “big incident”. I cried like I was there! After that, I was just mad. I hated that it happened that way. I couldn’t really get into the book after that. Like some of you on here, I also had to take a step back and stop reading it for a while. I did finally finish it but it just seemed like I was forcing myself to finish. I would still recommend it to a friend but I was a bit disappointed with how things turned out.

Mandy September 14, 2012 at 7:53 AM

OH MY… I am completely blown away by this book! Let me start out by saying that I am an avid reader, I’m talking a book a day to two days, everyday. So, I’m not usually surprised by much and not that many books are really great to me, but this book knocked me off my seat… literally, at a certain point in the book, at two in the morning, I was off the couch pacing in my living room, crying like a crazy person. This book was so emotional and the author really made you love all of the characters. I keep writing things here and having to delete them because I don’t want to spoil anything in any way, so let me just say… READ THIS BOOK! You will not be disappointed, I promise.

Stacey September 14, 2012 at 8:36 AM

I finished this book yesterday. It was amazing! I cried through almost the entire book. The story was wonderful and characters filled my dreams last night! I can’t wait to read her next book.

laura September 14, 2012 at 6:04 PM

I have never been such an emotional wreck at reading a book before! I loved this story x

mah September 15, 2012 at 10:11 PM

oh gosh.. i cried a lot.. a bit disappointed cos i want it to be *spoiler*.. but atleast.. the whole story went well.. Gosh.. i wish i was harper.. haha.

Danielle G September 15, 2012 at 10:54 PM

I loved it! I cried my eyes out the entire 2nd 1/2 of the book! My husband made me stop reading because he wanted me to stop crying. Loved it!

Jen September 16, 2012 at 12:41 PM

I absolutely loved this book until the last part. It was a little too campy at the end. I did see a lot of similarities to BD. I totally saw Chase as Travis (looking like M. Shadows of Avenged Sevenfold and Brian from Rock Me) and Brandon reminded of Andy Dalton of the Cincinnati Bengals for some reason. Two thirds of the book will stick with me, just not the last third.

kasey September 16, 2012 at 6:19 PM

This book sent me on a roller coaster. I felt like it put me through the ringer. The events were so quick to happen. I had to reread the info that happened with *spoiler*. I was blindsided.

Rebecca September 17, 2012 at 10:49 AM

I have to agree with Julie. I just can’t shake the sad feeling and be happy now. I’m going to finish though……just sooooo sad

Eunice September 19, 2012 at 1:33 PM

OMG I’m 80% into this book and I’m in hysterics!! WHAAAAA.. :’( totally unexpected ..

Karen September 20, 2012 at 12:45 PM

I am about 65% through this book and I am so emotional! AHHH! Great read thus far! Definitely recommend it! Thankyou for recommending it Maryse!

lisa September 23, 2012 at 7:55 PM

OMG I have been crying most of the day over this book! its good but I need something light to get out of my mood :)

Kellie September 29, 2012 at 3:34 PM

I know everyone loves this book. And I was right there with you up until about 60%. The last 40% I was just mad. I don’t think I had enough time to get over things and ended up talking back to the book when things would happen. It all felt too easy after that and it made me mad because I was still stuck back at 60%. I mean I was okay with the way the story ended up, but felt a little perturbed along the way. Still a thumbs up though.

Tracy October 5, 2012 at 1:05 AM

I came across it by accident, but I read it in a day, and loved it, couldn;t decide who I wanted her to be with, but I sat for an hour crying me eyes out reading it, but had to keep reading, I loved it all in the end tho

Christy October 12, 2012 at 7:54 PM

Finished this last night, OMG!! I was balling my eyes out a few times during the book. What a great read, it ripped my heart out. I tossed & turned all night last night thinking/dreaming about the *spoiler* part of this book. Thanks for the recommendations…I have loved every one of them so far. What to read now….hmmm….

Camille October 24, 2012 at 8:01 AM

ok..I started reading this book last night and can’t put it down. Based on some of the reviews I read I knew this would be a tear jerker but didn’t know why..so far everything seems good (almost too good)..I’m just waiting for the big shocker. It’s killing me..so I reread your review and am scrolling through some of the comments when I see someone posted the spoiler!!!! Now I just feel cheated…I won’t be able to experience the shock from reading it in the book like everyone else. Sorry..I know people don’t mean to post spoilers..and I probably was asking for it by not waiting until after I finished the book to read the comments but for those of us that are still reading this book (or any book) it would be helpful if people try not to post spoilers in the comments so it doesn’t ruin it for anyone. :)

Tiffany November 15, 2012 at 1:30 PM

this book was amazing!!! i read the whole book in one sitting, there was no way to put it down. I read it twice over hte long weekend.

Courtney January 7, 2013 at 3:54 PM

I LOVED Taking Chances sooo much! This has to be one of my favorite (if not my most favorite) book I’ve ever read. I did not want it to end and I was so sad it did. I loved how I really felt like I was apart of the story somehow so when the book ended, I almost felt like I was loosing friends as dorky as that may sound. That’s how much I loved this book. I am currently rereading it and I still love it just as much as when I read it the first time. I really want there to be sequel to it! Or even a trilogy! I would definitely buy them all! Please consider making more!

hason March 6, 2013 at 5:35 AM

i never read anything like this before.. this novel really moves me.. tnxs for this wonderful gift to all of us molly macadams.

Chris March 15, 2013 at 9:51 AM

Started this one last night and can’t put it down!!…BUT at the same time I don’t want to read till the end – its killing me to know this is all going to get screwed up in some way! UGH!!!…The whole love triangle is killing me!

Lisa K. July 11, 2013 at 10:11 PM

Okay, so if I comment on a book it’s always when I’ve finished reading it and have had time to process and either gush over or recover from the experience. I am currently only about 65% finished and I’m feeling so AGH!!!!! I was SHOCKED at what I read today and I would like to take a minute to thank whoever invented sunglasses because if I hadn’t had them on at the pool today, hundreds of people would have seen me openly crying in public. At this point I don’t even want to finish the story, but who am I kidding, I’m jumping right back in as soon as I finish this post!

Leave a Comment

 

Notify me of followup comments to this post via e-mail. You can also subscribe without commenting.

Previous post:

Next post: