Book Review – Down To You by M. Leighton

by Maryse on September 27, 2012 · 40 comments

in Bad Boys & Rock Stars

Down to You (A Bad Boys Novel Book 1)
I fell in book-love a couple of nights ago. Yep! I know. ;) Again! But but!!! This one was unavoidable. I know so many of y’all are totally gonna love it. PLUS! It was TWO book heroes for the price of one and I hearted them both equally! Ohhh yes, I know… a lot of out books are “two” for the price of one, but this one had a little something extra. And usually, I tend to pick a “team”, right from the start in books, but this one was tough. Now I dunno if my love for them will stand the test of time when future potential book-loves come into play. After all, I only have about 5 or 6 true book-loves that can’t be toppled. I know…  ”onlyrolleyes hehe.

But so far, I can’t stop thinking about them, and while I was reading it, I couldn’t stop talking about them. My poor husband. Every few minutes I’d laugh out loud, or I’d interrupt him to read a part to him, or discuss the dilemma in the book… and then… I caught him rolling his eyes and he “air-strangled” me!! *blush* Yep. That’s when I knew I was in over my head, and he was quite over my book. Tee hee!! Ah well, I had you guys to gush with, and it was a really good day with that *book-love* glow all around me. Sigh…

Oh right! I’m rambling.

I mentioned something extra, didn’t I? Two you ask? Well yes. And yes, it is a love triangle, but a seriously unconventional kind. I told my husband all about it and he *squinched* his nose at me and said EW. LOL!!! Hey what’s so ewww about a girl having a crush on two gorgeous identical twins? TWINS!!! Two of ‘em. If you find the perfect ONE, there’s another one almost just like him! I mean… If you’re attracted to one, chances are, you’ll be attracted to the other, right? *shrug* Just sayin’ Hey you know I always wondered about… ahhh nevermind. That’s opening up a whole can o’ worms. Unless y’all have had that experience and wanna share, I suppose I won’t think too hard about it. I had to, in this case, though and it was REALLY hard to determine who my favorite was.

Yes… yes. There was a tattooed bad-boy version “Cash” (the sexy bar owner), but there was also a good boy professional version “Nash” (the lawyer). (P.S. this book is told from all of their perspectives. Very fun to get into the head of each character!)

“So you’re Nash.”

I nod. “Correct.”

“And you have a twin brother named Cash.”


“Cash and Nash.”

I shrug. “My mother had a thing for country music.”

But you know, eventually, I made up my mind, and now I *heart* only one, but I won’t tell you who. Oh I know. You think I’m all over that sexy bad-boy twin don’t you? But lemme tell you… Nash (the good boy) made me SWOON. SWOOOOOON I tell you!

And this was ANOTHER book that was recommended over and over again in such a short amount of time. Apparently, we were all swooning:

Michele: Okay guys I just found one – DOWN TO YOU by M. Leighton. It looks great … Anyway, this one looks great. The reviews are great!!!! I am going to start it today.

Maryse’s Book Blog: Yep this one is tempting me big time! Twins. A bad boy and a good boy, and one girl. Ruh roh!

Kirsten: I read it Michele, and liked it. Bad boy with a motorcycle and a tattoo, what more do you need? ;)

Maryse’s Book Blog: just “a” tattoo? hehehehe darn. Hope it’s a big tattoo at least!

Kirsten: Yes it’s big Maryse. :)

Joanna: I started Down to You this evening in the tub, sneaking away for a little me time. OMG. This book is making me SQUEEEEEEEE!!!!!!!

Joanna: Up half the night reading “Down to You.” This book was sexy as all hell… Weird ending, but I didn’t care. The ride was worth it!!! Although (like so many nights) I’m starting out another day exhausted, LOL. Some books should come with warning labels…

Angelia: Ok so I started and finished Down to you by M. Leighton last night, So yeah coffee is my best friend today, but OMG soo worth the read, and the end! Aughhh @ the ending I was so ready to start throwing a tantrum last night when I realized this was a series.. but Cash/Nash *sigh* loved it.

Maryse’s Book Blog: I’m on page 10% of “Down To You” and have already laughed hysterically at her embarrassing moment and laughed ever harder at what she said after. P.S. I’m already in super-heart with Cash and Nash. *waggles eyebrows*  Oh and, the cover. Just sayin’ ;)

Linda: Surprise awaits you!

Christine: The BATHROOM is my favorite scene. Oh. My. GOD! HOT!

Kristie: you are going to LOVE IT! It is GENIUS and HOT!!

Johanna: Sheesh woman lol how will I ever find a man when I stay home all day reading? Lmao

Maryse’s Book Blog: Well…. Whooo… Quite the body shot scene *blink blink* … You guys are blowing up my suggestion box with this one, I had to jump on…. And Johanna … These are highly informative and instructional… Tee hee! ;)

Johanna: Of course Professor Maryse!! Very instructional indeed ;-)

Maryse’s Book Blog: Oh god this is good. I feel like crying… Laughed, swooned and now sad heart tugs at 31%….

Claudia: Oh..this book is good….just finished today! I was like: WHAT?

Sarah: I know which part made you laugh. When I read it I had to text someone to share it! It was hilarious.


Yanira: To Cash: Hey I just met you and this is crazy…but I Love love love already!! Haven’t met Nash yet…but this is gonna be fun! Yay!

Maryse’s Book Blog: Ohhhhh yes! Yes. It. Is.

Aileen: I started it today and love it so far. Cash is so funny. I’m thinking I’m going to have a double crush with this book, and a sleepless night. :-)

Maryse’s Book Blog: I can honestly say right now, I like them equally.

Kirsten: hehe. @Maryse you know you like Cash a tiny bit more.

Yanira Maldonado Now I love Nash too…

Jeanette: I bought that today & am about 3/4 through it. HOTTTTTTT!!

Angie: Down to You by M. Leighton was great! Super sexy, good dialogue and such a thrill. Lots of fantasies played out for me in that one. It’s kind of like a soap opera with all of the naughty scenes left in. Olivia’s a strong female lead and Cash & Nash are well, very Alpha in all the right ways…times two! Ummm, well worth the price of admission so to speak, in my humble opinion. Thanks for another great suggestion!

Okay so what’s it about? Pretty obvious right? But wait! There’s more!

Good girl Olivia,  a little down on her luck moves in with “mean-girl” cousin, Marissa. Olivia meets sexy bad boy “Cash” at a bar one night, and it’s INSTANT and obvious attraction between the two of ‘em.

So I taunt her, hoping to feed  the feline that I’d be willing to bet is buried somewhere down deep.

“Oh, come on. Is that all you got?” I whisper.

But she can already tell what a bad boy he is, and she needs NO MORE of those kinds of love interests, in her life, so she grudgingly rebuffs him. If only…. “Cash” were a nice boy, instead.

God, I could’ve devoured him right then and there!

Damn the bad boys!

*giggle* Er, I mean… That’s right, Olivia!! Beware of those bad-boys. Grrrr! Damn them! *smirk*

But… her luck is turning around!!! She quickly discovers there’s another one JUST like him. IDENTICAL in all ways, but this one is of the “good-boy” variety. Tee hee!!

Oh right… that luck takes a bad turn, when she realizes GOOD boy hottie “Nash” is already spoken for. By her mean-girl cousin. Ugh! Of all the luck. But… you know, it’s not that easy to simply grin and bear it. Because they click. Click as intensely as she clicked with his bad boy brother. And Nash the good (and super-intelligent) boy, sees right through spoiled, rich girl, perfectly poised Marissa and deep down, can’t deny he prefers the sweet, somewhat rumpled, down to earth cutie “Olivia”. And while he tries to remain a good boy, it’s getting harder and harder each time the two of them are in the same room.

“Then why are you flirting with me?”

She’s serious. She’s not smiling or teasing, but she’s not judging me either. She’s just curious.

I’m fascinated and, for one second, completely honest with her.

“I can’t seem to help myself.”

And you can imagine how hard it is for Olivia, when she goes to work for bad-boy “Cash” at his bar. Good boy at home… bad boy at work.

“You’ve never ridden a motorcycle before?”


“What kind of bad-boy girlfriend are you?” I ask in mock dismay.

“Evidently a terrible one.”

I swing onto the bike and grab my only helmet. “Nah, you just haven’t met the right bad-boy.”

*blink blink*

I just got goosebumps. WOW!!! This. IS. FUN!!!

And… there are twists! Okay, wait. I’ll admit my mind went a little… “hrmmmmm???” at a twist or two, and I was a bit… perplexed. Vexed. After all, my late night, tired little mind (that’s right, I couldn’t put it down) was just enjoying the ride, and then went on a loop-da-loop that it didn’t even see coming. So there was a bit of a bump in my reading love, and I wondered if that bump was going to take me out of my happy place. That contemporary romance “angsty” place that I was so enjoying. The only way I can explain it, is that the book-rhythm changed. The feel of it changed. But I recovered well enough and can mostly say *whoooo* I LOVED IT!

Hurry with book #2!!! Oh right, yes. There will be a second book. Cliffhanger? Hrmmm… maybe. Sorta. Or just the perfect start to a second part. I’ll let you discover it.

4 to 4.5 stars! (I’m leaning towards 4.5 stars ’cause of the twins, and how perfectly in tune I was… she was… with both of them. I couldn’t put it down, after all.  4 stars ’cause of that … “bump”).

Get Free Email Updates from me :)

{ 40 comments… read them below or add one }

LucyLou September 27, 2012 at 11:04 AM

Looks Awesome! I’ll have to bump this one up on my TBR list. Thanks Maryse!

Maryse September 27, 2012 at 11:10 AM

Oh yes, this one is pure delicious book-candy!!

Michelle September 27, 2012 at 11:12 AM

I’m half way through this currently and LOVING it…. Give me some bad boy!! *sigh*

Eunice September 27, 2012 at 11:16 AM

Next book on my list.. Thanks!!

Jennifer C September 27, 2012 at 11:33 AM

LOVED IT!!!!! I can’t pick a favorite between Cash and Nash. I kept going back and forth…. I always love the bad boys who put it all out on the line…all he put it ALL out there!!! Love how forward he was from the start!! …..but I also loved Nash’s flirting….like the car ride to the museum. He was so cute!

Elizabeth September 27, 2012 at 11:34 AM

Great review! I’m reading it now and LOVE it so far! Do you know when the next book comes out?

chiqui September 27, 2012 at 11:34 AM

Im reading it at 16% Cash and Nash!!! **sigh***

Kirsten September 27, 2012 at 11:44 AM

The cover’s a 10 though Maryse. hehe
I liked Nash, but being the bad boy lover I am, I was swooning over Cash as soon as his shirt was off. ;) I of course wanted more in the end, and was a tiny bit annoyed I didn’t get more, but it was a good book.

Angela September 27, 2012 at 11:59 AM

You did it again, adding to my TBR and it has moved straight to the top!! Question though, who’s point of view is it from? From your excerpts it looks like it is from one of the twins.

BTW, my first bf was a twin and although his brother looked like him I had no attraction to him what so ever. He was so blah and good and a boy scout and volunteered at the homeless shelter while his brother rode BMX (omg BMX before we coudl drive was so cool!) I realize now 20 years later that I should have given the “good” boys a chance and I might not have had my heart broken so many times! Good thing my husband was a bad boy who converted to a good boy :) .

Maryse September 27, 2012 at 12:00 PM

Jennifer C —> and when Nash trailed his fingers over her cheek *shivers*

Maryse September 27, 2012 at 12:01 PM

Kirsten – yes… *Cash* swooooooon!!! And with that “best margarita scene” eeeeeeep!!!

Maryse September 27, 2012 at 12:02 PM

Angela – it is from all of them. Changes perspectives in each chapter. Her… then Nash, then Cash (depending on the flow of the story :) ). But it works! I wasn’t too distracted by that.

AND THANK YOU Angela for your own personal perspective on that!! I think we can all relate in one way, shape or form to the early “bad boy” years. haha!

Has anyone else dated twins? Er… I mean “A” twin? :P

Maryse September 27, 2012 at 12:17 PM

Okay and I just saw a recent”Tweet” from the author saying: “I’m hoping to get you book 2 in early 2013 ;)

sandy September 27, 2012 at 12:31 PM

ok i saw love triangle and i was in LOL,, guess i’ll be up all nite tonite reading:),, thanks Maryse,, my checking account should just be set up to go to Amazon HAHA!!!!

Kathryn Hughett September 27, 2012 at 12:49 PM

I went to Amazon to put it on my wish list. I love how Amazon always has similar books to recommend. I put white Trash Beautiful and Unravel Me in my wish list too.

CoCo September 27, 2012 at 1:03 PM

I’m married to an identical twin. The second time I met them I even confused my now husband for his brother (and was so disappointed bc there was ZERO attraction to his brother, who I thought was him, after a spectacular first meeting). I thought “we had such great chemistry, where did it go?” but it took only about 30 seconds once we spoke to eachother for me to realize that “you are not you, you are your brother” (which is of course are the exact words I said. I may or may not have been drinking at the time). On a rare occasion my husband will make a certain face or comment that immediately reminds me of his brother but other than that I have never thought my husband and his brother look anything alike nor are their personalities similar, but even my mother in law has trouble telling them apart sometimes.

Also, my husband and his brother were supposed to be named Lance and Chance but about a week before they were born a cousin named her child Chance so they replaced “Chance” with “Dustin.” What is it with naming twins rhyming names??

CATRINA September 27, 2012 at 1:12 PM

OH MY OH MY !! im in at 62% and sighhhh i luv Cash y cant he be real rt in front of me he!he! ….i luv the Chemistry between them im kinda already spectulating what the twist is hmmm but so far good cant wait finish it and u know its good if im reading in between work hahah im sneakin reads here and there i cant help myself and i cant wait till i get home to read either !!!! anywho im swooning :) must get back to cash latrz baby hahah!

Theresa September 27, 2012 at 3:42 PM

Maryse your killing me! I was telling myself that I would take a few days break after reading Fall from Grace, and TMS back to back and totally ignoring my husband and kids…I planned to wait until the 2nd when Reflected In You comes out…but Noooo. :)
I had to purchase this book and a few pages in I’m hooked! There goes my weekend. LOL

Cree September 27, 2012 at 10:17 PM

I just finished Down To You this afternoon – loved it! I enjoyed the alternating POV because it was done so well. The pacing was good, never a dull moment and we were always moving forward. I literally screamed when it ended with the “to be continued”…I was not prepared for the cliffhanger-ish ending, but am THRILLED we won’t have to wait too long for the next book. Hopefully!

sandy September 28, 2012 at 6:39 AM

OMG!!! loved this book but now how long do we have to wait for the next one:(,,

Minha September 28, 2012 at 7:00 AM

Coco thank you for sharing… I have always wondered that too. It is so amazing that your soul knows exactly who your match is… ;)

CAT September 28, 2012 at 10:12 AM

I FINISHED LAST NITE !!! Im in luv wiht Cash mmmmm and the bathroom scene OHMIGOSH!! had my u know what drop to the floor not my jaw either hahahah!!!! good book looking forward to book 2 for sure but i just didnt like the ending of it to much i wanted a lil bit more and but i know it will lead in to book 2 good :) … again Thanks Maryse

Joanne September 28, 2012 at 10:20 AM

Just started it and I am hooked. Thanks again for the excellent recommendation, as always! :)

krystle September 28, 2012 at 10:36 AM

loved this booked. read it after taking chances!! (which i still cant get chase out my head) anyhow i thought it was a lovely book to read and i am so with cash!! my only problem is book two!! why do these authors do this to us lol!!!! a must read but not a hot stopping emotional book

Catherine September 28, 2012 at 3:16 PM

Loved very,very much…..Cash is my new hero!
The bar and the bathroom scenes are the best! Can’t wait for the next!

zasshy September 29, 2012 at 12:31 AM

Loved it! I’m with Cash all the way! ;) Talking about hotness!

Kim September 29, 2012 at 12:52 PM

Reading this now mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm Cash!!!!

Kristina September 30, 2012 at 5:42 PM

Oh yeah yum….totally crushing on cash. The bathroom scene was so incredible. Once again I am in sequel limbo…:)

Tanya October 1, 2012 at 11:00 AM

I finished this book in one night! I LOVED IT….I am going to go back and re-read it now that I “know” what happended :) I can’t wait for book 2.

Rachel S. October 1, 2012 at 12:11 PM

I read this book on Friday afternoon/night. I think I finished it in like 6 hours. That has to be some kind of record, right?? Thanks for the suggestion. It was AH-MAY-ZING!! Oh Cash – yummy stuff!!! I cannot wait for the next book. Why do I do this to myself?? I have to write down all the dates of “the next book” coming out so I don’t miss anything!!

Susan October 5, 2012 at 11:12 AM

Another great read from your blog! I’ve excited excited everytime I see a new review or recommendation of a book because “we get each other. chicka.” I’m glad to know that I am not the only one “crazy over my book boyfriends” as my own bad boy says. But he shouldn’t be jealous, I married my bad boy (24 years ago). Thanks again for a great recommendation, I love it! I enjoyed the back and forth between the characters, It was very well done. :)

sandy October 5, 2012 at 1:07 PM

haha, i never thought about it but guess i married my own bad boy 22 years ago, I was actually married to another man when we met, my husband left for a 6 mo. cruise, (navy) and ask his friend to keep an eye on me while he was gone, opps, anyway was lots of drama, other people trying to keep us apart, maybe i should right a book haha:) or maybe why i’m so drawn to these type of books

Takisha Bodley October 10, 2012 at 8:17 PM

I just finished this one..,,sooo sooo good! Cant wait for the next one….what to read next???

Natalie October 15, 2012 at 11:26 AM

OMG I so could not put this one down either! I’m so glad that I searched for this book on your site :) I absolutely adored both brothers! but in the end, Cash won my heart! the second book better hurry up & come out because I’m dying to know what happens!

Lissa October 25, 2012 at 8:21 PM

I had downloaded this one some time back and started reading it today during a particularly boring meeting.. I LOVED IT! Luckily, I’m an English teacher. I asked my students if they would like silent reading for the entire period today and they said YES!! Guess what Mrs. G was reading? Great book and I wanted to scream when I saw book 2 would take a while…

Nikki Eddy November 10, 2012 at 6:56 PM

I wasn’t sure what to think the first 1/4 or so in. I was annoyed by how every guy wanted the girl. I mean, is she really that perfect? My feelings changed throughout the course of the story though and I kept “guessing” the ending and…..I was right! Which boosted my confidence. I read it in a single day and now I cannot wait for book 2.

Kat November 19, 2012 at 6:58 PM

I loved this book! At first I wasn’t going to read it b/c sometimes I can get caught up on names and I just refused to like a book with my heart throbs being named Nash and Cash. I mean come on folks, really? BUT… My friend started reading and when I saw how hooked she was I couldn’t help myself and thankfully I took the dive! Well worth it…. MUST read! :) Best part.. another book on it’s way :)

Lisa K November 20, 2012 at 10:06 PM

I saw on her website Book 2 is “Up to You” and she’s still hoping for a January release!!!!…oh the bathroom…HOLY COW!! xoxo

Jamie K. November 27, 2012 at 4:05 PM

LOVE LOVE LOVE and can’t wait for the next one!! yeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!!!

Tara January 18, 2013 at 12:36 AM

Oh my Lanta…um…that man is quite the lover. Is there anyone better? I kinda think not.

Leave a Comment


Notify me of followup comments to this post via e-mail. You can also subscribe without commenting.

Previous post:

Next post: