Alexandra Ivy – Guardians of Eternity Series Reading Order

by Maryse on April 4, 2010 · 18 comments

in Reading Order Guide:

I was referred to this series by a reader and it looks awesome!

A quick excerpt from the author’s website:

For 341 years, Dante has stood as guardian to The Chalice, a mortal woman chosen to hold back the darkness. A terrible twist of fate has now made Abby that woman. Three hours ago, Dante would have used all his charms to seduce her. Now she is his to protect. And he will do so until his very death.


Sign up for my weekly newsletter

{ 18 comments… read them below or add one }

melissa May 14, 2010 at 12:17 AM

hello can anyone tell me if tha guardians of eternity have to be read in order!!!help

Maryse December 31, 2010 at 12:49 PM

I have not yet had the pleasure of starting this series, so I cannot say for sure, however, I have found something that suggests it is better to read this in the proper order:

In an interview found here (,

Alexandra Ivy states:

“I’m so excited about Tane’s story…it is truly a pivotal book in the series and an old enemy rises up to cause some serious trouble and new enemies are born. The storyline will actually run through at least the next four books (including Tane’s) although I haven’t yet decided the thrilling ending”

Hope that helps!!

Megan January 30, 2011 at 3:48 PM

I have started reading the books but i started with the 3rd book Darkness everlasting and then skipped to the 6th book. I think it helps if you read them in order it might make some kind of sense for some. however they only have a slight relation through characters not exactly a continuing series. Different stories that only have relations between characters.

Maryse January 31, 2011 at 5:30 PM

Thanks Megan! That helps tons! :)

melina February 10, 2011 at 8:31 PM

It helps to read them in the order they were written. If you skip say one and two then read three it will bring the characters from the books before and some talk about the events in those books and u will be like ok what happoened lol. Hope it helps.

Manda April 1, 2011 at 5:55 PM

Hi, I like the books i have read all 6 in order within a 1 week period and i loved them and suggest that the series is a wonderful collection. i would hope that one day that these books will come to life on the big screen because it is something totally that will be better than harry potter and twilight and lord of the rings i believe this is the next big thing that should happen. i believe everyone should read in order to get the full story how the next book was lead to the next.

Sylvie April 17, 2011 at 9:49 PM

I read the books in order, and I’m glad I did. Each book (for the most part) introduces the main character of the book that comes after. For example, When Darkness Comes (Dante’s book) introduces us to Viper, the hero of Embrace the Darkness, which in turn, introduces us to Styx, and so on. In other words, each book builds on the one that came before it. Hope this helps!

Maryse April 22, 2011 at 7:50 AM

Hi Sylvie! That helped a ton! I’ve just recently started the series and am going into book#4.

Reggie September 6, 2011 at 2:36 PM

I am absolutely enjoying this series – I’ve started from the first book “When Darkness Comes” and I’m now starting book 6 “Beyond the Darkness”. One of the things that I’ve enjoyed about the books (beside the hunky vampires) is like Sylvie said ” that each book introduces the main character of the book that comes after” – which it’s great ‘cause I like the way it falls on the story line.

Rebecca November 19, 2011 at 9:05 PM

Im really confused now lol ive read most of them im on book 7 now but I dont know which one comes next, the chapter at the back of my book sais bound by darkness but there are other books on the list on fantastic fiction such as yours for eternity, supernatural, the real werewives of vampire county and it also says that bound by darkness is book 11. Also when I went on Google to a list of them in order of the guardians of eternity they had a lust of descriptions of the characters in the series and they relate to the books im confused about lol HELP!! X

Rebecca November 19, 2011 at 9:11 PM

Hiya ive read the books in order it definatly helps, often the characters are in the same book and quite often the events that happen in the book your reading often reflect in the next book or say certain characters are in the book your reading apart from the main ones its often their book next and give you some incentive as to what is going to happen it just saves confusion lol. Thats if I havent already confused you lol I hoped I helped in some way though x

Danyelle May 23, 2012 at 2:39 PM

You need to read them in order. Each new book starts where the last book left off. I haven’t been able to put them down. So good.

Tamie March 14, 2013 at 1:58 PM

This is more of a question than a comment, hopefully someone can help:) I have read all of the books in this series and anxiously awaiting the new release Darkness Avengned but after reading the story description I feel like I’m going crazy. Wasn’t there already a story about Santiago and Nefri??? I know that they made an appearance in one of the other books but I could swear that there was a complete book with these two already.

Maryse March 14, 2013 at 2:31 PM

Hi Tamie!

It will be the last book on that list above. Darkness Avenged. :) (not yet released).

Tamie March 15, 2013 at 8:33 AM

Hi Maryse,
I know that’s why I’m confused because for some reason I thought I already read their story. Maybe I just read too much and keep it all straight! Lol

Sue August 20, 2013 at 2:37 PM

I just finished DARKNESS AVENGED….great read….this is the entire story of Santiago and Nefri….Next will be Roke’s story and I can hardly wait although I have a feeling it will be a while. I love the entire series….even the short stories and novellas.

Victoria November 25, 2013 at 3:55 AM

Is there an expected release date for the next one, about Roke and Sally?

Karen Gruen January 20, 2018 at 8:50 AM

Love all Alexander Ivy books. Looking for Biyou series.

Leave a Comment


Notify me of followup comments to this post via e-mail. You can also subscribe without commenting.

Previous post:

Next post: