Mary Janice Davidson – The "Undead" series reading order:

by Maryse on March 22, 2009 · 9 comments

in Mary Janice Davidson, Reading Order Guide:

I love this series! Funny, romantic and a perfect mix of scary and silly. Sinclair is steamy, brooding, jealous and hot (the perfect vampire), and Betsy is a loveable (slightly dippy, fashion obsessed) goof, but with a lot of power (in and around her).

About book #1:

First Betsy Taylor loses her job, then she’s killed in a car accident. But what really bites is that she can’t seem to stay dead. And now her new friends have the ridiculous idea that Betsy is the prophesied vampire queen, and they want her help in overthrowing the most obnoxious power-hungry vampire in five centuries.


However, after perusing the author’s website, I was enlightened to some reading order details. Considering her books overlap (her werewolf series, vampire series, and mermaid series), this is her recommendation when reading her stories (including her novellas that are included in certain anthologies):

To keep continuity you should read the books in the following order:


Sign up for my weekly newsletter

{ 9 comments… read them below or add one }

Debra B March 30, 2011 at 2:18 PM

Best series I’ve read since the Sookie Stackhouse novels. Better in my opinion! (if you make a television series out of it, I hope YOU stay as close to the REAL story as possible!).
Great, funny and I laugh out loud so much my husband thinks I’m a nut case!
Thank you for all that you do.

Best Regards,

Debra B

ashleigh June 13, 2011 at 2:50 AM

I stared reading just the undead series, since i found this page I have decided to read the books I have missed, hoping to fill in some blanks. But I’m wondering about the rest of the books. Your list stops at undead and unwelcome. What should i read after i get there?


Maryse June 14, 2011 at 8:04 PM

Thanks Ashleigh! It’s updated now :) How are you liking the series. I LOVE it!

Khristine August 4, 2011 at 12:40 PM

The next Wyndam wolves ( is coming out in October. Maybe you wanted to add it to the list? Thank you for the reading order :)

Chrystal October 27, 2011 at 9:28 AM

Hi! I was wondering where Wolf At The Door falls in the series wise. It was a new release (Oct 4) and I wasn’t sure when to read it. I have the audio-books of 8-11 and haven’t listened to them yet because I didn’t know where Wolf At The Door fell. I hate spoilers, ya know? I

thanks so much


Rachel August 15, 2012 at 11:34 AM

I have read the first 6 books of the undead series, plus the novella’s inbetween…1.5 – Dead Girls Don’t Dance, 2.5 – Biting in Plain Site, 4.5 – A Fiend in Need. I however can’t seem to find anyone that mentions or even has the next novella 6.5 – A Honeymoon Story – have you read/seen it anywhere?

Deanna December 12, 2012 at 1:56 AM

It’s in Dead Over Heels.

Kathleen January 29, 2013 at 10:27 AM

This is great, thanks! I thought for sure I was missing something and I was. I am on Undead and Unworthy, and apparently missed Dead Over Heels. Now I have to catch up. ;-)

Nakina September 12, 2015 at 2:52 PM

If there are any readers out there who have not read the Charley Davidson series by Darynda Jones…then your life is incomplete. Ive tried to force all my friends and family to read them but they are allergic to anything that comes on paper i guess lol You’ll thank me i promise…

Leave a Comment


Notify me of followup comments to this post via e-mail. You can also subscribe without commenting.

Previous post:

Next post: